About Gundry MD Primal Plants

Gundry MD Primal Plants is an apple-flavored supplement that promises to deliver an “authentic solution” to your facial redness. Not just this, but Gundry MD claims Primal Plants is also effective for addressing discoloration, age spots, blackheads, whiteheads, pimples, ingrown hairs, dry patches, and—in some cases—premature aging.

How? Using only 100% natural ingredients, this “revolutionary, cutting-edge” formula is designed to target your skin problems from the inside out. Packed with polyphenol-rich superfruits and other ingredients, Primal Plants also claims to provide improved digestive health, faster metabolism, younger-looking skin, boosted energy, healthier cholesterol levels, and more.

According to Gundry MD, all you have to do is mix one scoop of Primal Plants into the beverage of your choice, and drink one glass per day on a consistent basis. Doing this, you might feel a “distinctive and noticeable charge of energy” as soon as the first day, although maximum results will manifest over the course of 2-3 weeks.

Despite Primal Plants’ ability to solve your “frustrating skin issues,” it comes with no reported side effects.

Facial redness or other chronic skin issues can be devastating to your self-esteem, so you’re here to find out if Primal Plants is the real deal. In other words, have you finally found something that works, or is the company only targeting your emotions? We’ll help you find out.

What Causes Facial Redness?

While millions of people suffer from facial redness, not everyone’s symptoms are triggered by the same underlying cause.

In other words, similar to asking “what causes a headache,” there can be dozens (or even hundreds) of different causes of facial redness, also known as flushed complexion, including rosacea, acne, hormone fluctuations as a result of menopause, certain diseases like lupus, medical conditions like hyperthyroidism and anxiety, and much more. And as you might imagine, each of these conditions likely involves a different treatment approach.

However, Gundry MD claims their Primal Plants supplement can address your facial redness, apparently regardless of the cause. In fact, Primal Plants’ promo video indicates that the supplement has been proven to reduce facial redness by up to 77% in one month, regardless of your skin type.

Does the clinical evidence for Primal Plants’ ingredients support these claims?

Are Primal Plants’ Ingredients Clinically Proven?

Based on Primal Plants’ label, here’s what we’re told it contains:

Of these ingredients, taking thiamin by mouth may help “correct metabolic disorders associated with genetic diseases,” although there’s no evidence it can boost metabolism.

Niacin (1,200 to 3,000mg per day), selenium, citrus pectin, and berberine (when taking 500mg twice daily for three months) may be effective for reducing some measure of cholesterol. However, for selenium, the data appears to be of questionable quality.

Vitamin B6 and folate might help reduce high blood pressure, biotin may address a specific type of rash (seborrheic dermatitis) in infants, and bitter melon may help reduce blood sugar and ease some gastrointestinal problems.

Capros is a proprietary ingredient manufactured by Natreon that’s claimed to provide cardiovascular support. The company provides a handful of studies to back up their claims, although it’s important to keep in mind that a few studies doesn’t mean something is clinically proven.

Finally, as we’ve discussed on many occasions, probiotics are well understood to help balance digestion, reduce bloating and gassiness, and even boost immune function. For more, be sure to read Probiotics 101.

Outside of these, there doesn’t appear to be sufficient evidence that any of Primal Plants’ ingredients can provide any other reliable benefits. Gundry MD also doesn’t provide any evidence to support their “proven to reduce facial redness by up to 77%” claim.

Are There Any Potential Primal Plants Side Effects?

While they might not provide the “revolutionary” benefits claimed by the company, the positive news is that you likely won’t experience anything worse than mild digestive upset from Primal Plants’ ingredients. Assuming you experience anything at all, that is.

However, flushing (the very thing you’re trying to get rid of) is a common side effect related to niacin. Probiotics can also temporarily cause gassiness, which should balance out within a few days of regular use.

Lastly, selenium might not be safe for long-term use. Here’s how WebMD puts it: “Poisoning from long-term use is similar to arsenic poisoning, with symptoms including hair loss, white horizontal streaking on fingernails, nail inflammation, fatigue, irritability, nausea, vomiting, garlic breath odor, and a metallic taste.”

Hold on a second, though. What about the polyphenols mentioned repeatedly in the Primal Plants video?

Are Polyphenols Good for You?

Technically, polyphenols are “secondary metabolites of plants [that] are generally involved in defense against ultraviolet radiation or aggression by pathogens.” Some fruits, like grapes, apple, pear, cherries, and berries are especially high in polyphenols, which are thought to contribute to their “bitterness, astringency, color, flavor, [and] odor.”

Over the past several years, polyphenols have been studied for their ability to deliver antioxidants to humans, which could help fight free radicals, thought to cause diseases like cancer. Other common antioxidants you likely consume regularly include vitamins A, C, E, folic acid, beta-carotene, and more.

Now, the important thing to remember here is that, while consuming antioxidants (whether derived from polyphenols or other substances) can certainly be beneficial to your health, eating more doesn’t necessarily translate into better health. This is because, as WebMD puts it, “Benefits depend on how the food's antioxidants are absorbed and utilized in the body.”

How Much Does Primal Plants Cost?

Gundry MD’s Primal Plants supplement is available in the following quantities:

  • 1 Jar: $59.99
  • 3 Jars: $161.97
  • 6 Jars: $299.94

Important note: These prices were pulled from InnerSkinFix.com. However, another Gundry URL indicated the price was $99, although both images referenced a 5.2oz jar.

Regardless, all Gundry MD orders come with free U.S. shipping and a 90-day satisfaction guarantee, less S&H. In order to request a refund, customer support can be reached at (800) 852-0477.

The reality is that you’d probably pay just about any price to end your facial redness or other skin problems. Is this what Primal Plants’ customers are experiencing?

Are Primal Plants Customers Leaving Positive Online Reviews?

As is the case for many of the nutritional supplements we review, Primal Plants was a brand new product without any customer feedback at the time of writing.

Fortunately, we’ve reviewed several of Gundry MD’s other products, including Vital Reds, Correct + Calm Redness Relief, and Lectin Shield. Overall, HighYa readers seem pleased with their purchases, with common compliments referencing effective results (increased energy, reduced redness and cholesterol, etc.) and great taste.

On the other hand, what few complaints there were seemed to cite failure to experience results and billing concerns. The company appeared to respond directly to many of these complaints.

We’ve already given you a lot to think about when it comes to Primal Plants, but let’s provide a few more key points as we wrap things up.

Should Gundry MD Primal Plants Be Your First Choice for Skin Problems?

As someone who’s suffered from eczema as long as I can remember (not to mention ultra-sensitive skin and frequent flushing), I can empathize with much of the pain and embarrassment that led you here today. But have you found a solution to this very real problem with Primal Plants?

On one hand, like many of Gundry MD’s other products, it seems that the available clinical evidence doesn’t directly support many of the company’s claims for Primal Plants. And for those that are supported, it seems like the supplement’s ingredients might be most effective for reducing cholesterol—not for reducing facial flushing or addressing any other skin concerns.

On the other hand, it seems like most customers (at least among those who took the time to leave a review) are highly pleased with their results, clinical substantiation aside.

Where does this leave you? If you feel like giving Primal Plants a try, you can always take advantage of the company’s 90-day refund policy, although you’ll lose a few bucks in S&H in the process. Before you do, there are a couple more things we think it’s important to address:

Are Primal Plants’ Marketing Messages Mixed Up?

We made it about 30 minutes of the way through the Primal Plants promo video before moving on, but we noticed in several places that the narrator referenced topical probiotics (specifically, Bonicel and “eight additional ingredients”). However, Primal Plants doesn’t contain Bonicel or any other topical probiotics, so it seems the video was referencing their Correct + Calm cream instead.

Given this, we can’t be sure which marketing claims are supposed to apply to Correct + Calm, and which are intended for Primal Plants. After all, outside of this video, neither Primal Plants websites referenced anything other than boosting “skin health”—no facial flushing or other types of skin problems.

Is Primal Plants Meaningfully Different Than Vital Reds?

If you compare the Primal Plants and Vital Reds formulations side-by-side, you’ll find that the only differences are:

  1. Their superfood blends (different food-based antioxidants, which, as we discussed previously, might not provide any better benefits), as well as
  2. Primal Plants’ addition of a Heart Health blend, which only involves a single proprietary ingredient.

Despite these relatively minor differences, they’re advertised as addressing vastly different conditions.

Can You Trust Dr. Steven Gundry?

Prior to developing his line of skincare products and supplements, Dr. Steven Gundry worked within the medical field for more than three decades, including as a heart surgeon, inventor, and most recently, founder of The Center for Restorative Medicine.

Dr. Gundry also authored the best-selling book titled Dr. Gundry's Diet Evolution: Turn Off the Genes That Are Killing You and Your Waistline, and he appears to have positive online patient feedback.

Did you use Gundry MD’s Primal Plants supplement? Did it deliver any benefits—skin-related or otherwise? Whatever happened, give us the inside scoop by writing a review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

447 Consumer Reviews for Gundry MD Primal Plants

Average Consumer Rating: 4.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 316 4 star: 107 3 star: 13 2 star: 4 1 star:  7
Bottom Line: 97% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 447
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • Psoriasis leaky gut syndrome, chronic inflammation in my body

    • Massachusetts,
    • Dec 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just started taking Primal Plants about three weeks ago as I wanted to check with my doctor first. He did give me the okay. I have been moving my bowels better than ever, I have more energy, and I have less inflammation already in my body and less body pain. I am noticing sugar is a big enemy so I've been cutting that out and just starting my journey. I am watching for my psoriasis to start clearing, that hasn't happened yet, but eating gluten-free had already been making it a little better. I've been gluten-free for over a year due to gut problems. Thank you so much!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • This product delivers

    • Orlando, FL,
    • Dec 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I can't believe it works! I've tried everything. I'm 41 and a healthcare provider and I'm telling you, I have tried everything. I not only cleared my skin, I lost 3 lbs, and off my blood pressure medicine. I adore this product...I became a VIP member almost immediately. I believe it's my third week on the product. Thank you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Primal Plants review

    • Fruitvale, TX,
    • Dec 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been drinking the Primal Plants powder in water since 11/16/18. I actually believe I see a difference in the texture of my skin, not just on my face, but on my arms as well. The taste is pleasant and tastes like an apple to me. However, the price is too stiff for my pocket, so I will not be ordering it again. If it weren't for that, I would drink this the rest of my life!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Back pain

    • Irving, TX,
    • Dec 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’ve been taking this product for a few weeks and my back pain is almost gone. I have diverticulosis which causes the back pain. I feel great and I have lots of energy. My daughter is taking it too. We also ordered his cookbook and have changed our eating habits. I’m excited about all the weight that I’m going to lose. Thanks.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • More energy

    • Tennessee,
    • Dec 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I did not purchase Primal Plants for the energy, I did for the nutrients and to get my body as healthy as possible. I can actually feel the difference in myself. I use the bathroom more, which is a problem I have. But man oh man, I have tremendous ENERGY. Sometimes I drink two glass a day. I love the Reds. I just feel wonderful.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Cannot give a proper review...

    • Arizona,
    • Dec 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Let me begin by giving you a little of my most recent medical history...

    June 26th this year, I had HF, which was totally unexpected but life altering. I had two stents implanted in arteries with 80 and 95% blockage leading to my heart, which was only functioning 30% due to HF. As of November 21st, there had been no improvement in my heart function. The doctor immediately changed my heart meds from Brilinta to Entresto.

    In the meantime, I'd received my first month's supply and took the supplement for seven days but stopped after giving my brother my share of what was left in the tub after seeing my brother's skin condition. My main reason for taking Primal Plants was for Atopic Dermatitis. My brother's skin, however, looked like the worst case of Psoriasis I've ever seen. I wanted to give him as much relief as I could due to the severity of the lesions all over his body...

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Definitely more energy

    • Jersey City, NJ,
    • Dec 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am almost through my first container of Primal Plants. I take it every morning with Vital Reds, so I'm not sure that I can separate one from the other.

    I was dragging every morning before I started taking them, and then heard Dr. Gundry explain how polyphenols are energy. So I thought I should start taking polyphenols. I do feel bright and alert in the morning now.

    I can't say I've noticed any of the other supposed benefits, like weight loss or better skin. But it's only been a month, I guess. I like it just for the energy.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Fresh start

    • Melrose, MA,
    • Nov 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Primal Plants has been a delightful product, added to PrebioThrive and Vital Reds first thing in the morning to jump start the day! It’s tasty and refreshing. Helps keep me sharp and energetic.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Has done nothing

    • Gladstone, MO,
    • Sep 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been drinking this for three weeks, have seen NO results with anything. In fact, I have been more tired and feeling bad more since I started. I have fibromyalgia, sleep apnea, IBS, and very dry skin. I bought this because of the email about having skin problems. It has done nothing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 25, 2018

      Gundry MD Customer Support ., Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hello Jill,

      My name is Aria, thank you so much for leaving us a review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with Primal Plants. We take these reviews very seriously and I want to personally make sure that we resolve this. While many of our customers experience the amazing benefits of Primal Plants, we understand that it may not work for everybody. In addition, we always recommend that you speak to your primary physician prior to beginning any new product to ensure that it is right for your specific needs. We also wholeheartedly stand by our money back guarantee. While the timeline is for 90-days, we always want to make sure that our customers are having the best experience possible so we do everything we can to make sure that we achieve this. I would be more than happy to assist you with a full refund, regardless of how long it has been. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com to get this process started. I look forward to making this right!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Healthy is only for the wealthy it seems

    • New Jersey,
    • Sep 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have to first say that Gundry's videos always end with "I'm always looking out for you." Well, if he really was, he'd make his products way more affordable so more people could be healthier. I am finding in this country, the best health access and products are only for the wealthy.

    Having said that, here is my review of the products I use.

    So I've been using Primal Plants and Vital Reds for about 6 months now. I am taking them with other supplements prescribed by my doctor. I began the two Gundry products above after taking my other supplements for awhile so I would say the difference I noted was from PP and VR. Two things:

    Primal Plants: reduced - zero gassiness and, how to be delicate here, much more complete/regular elimination.

    Vital Reds: I believe I can attribute some energy boost to that or at least the ability to power through stressful and tiring times better.

    PreBiothrive: was using that for 4 months but had to cut back expenses so dropped that and haven't noticed any major downside effect. If pricing dropped overall I would order this one again. These would be the three I'd stick with for me.

    Please also keep in mind how I eat also follows Gundry's book fairly closely with few exceptions. So I think the more you embrace what he's showing you via his book which is well-written, the better you will feel. Obviously exercise is essential too, but you don't have to go crazy. I have changed over my pantry to include some of the products he recommends that synch with my meal prep. You do the best you can. Even if you eat better and get rid of lectins, you should start feeling better even if you don't buy his supplements. He also gives you other options, but again you'd be buying a whole host of individual supplements and need a storage bin to house them all.

    When the Gundry Stormtroopers called me to find out how I was liking the products I did share my views on the cost. I got the stock answer of "well the high-quality ingredients cost a lot," to which I replied yes and with economies of scale since he's selling so much he should be able to drive down the price. He's not looking out for "us"...just the people who can afford to pay boatloads for using his products. Something seems off to me. No response back.

    So my rating of 3 is based on the cost factor (kind of like Martin Shkreli (pharma CEO) who jacked up the price of critical medication for people who really needed it and didn't blink and who is now serving time).

    I would rate the product effectiveness of those mentioned above at a 4-4.5. I am clicking yes I would recommend to a friend with the cost caveat. I am shopping for other brands that have same effectiveness/similar ingredients/sources as his costs are so prohibitive and I cannot get better deals on eBay at this time. I have had some luck ordering through eBay for way less (still pricey), and now Primal Plants is nowhere to be found. Very tough, $99 for a 30-day supply of Primal Plants? Get real Dr. Gundry. I paid anywhere between $33-$38 for Primal Plants on eBay. I will keep checking there unless I find a substitute. Vital Reds you can get for $40-$50+ on eBay versus $70 at Gundrymd.com. I am still going to look for substitutes.

    I hope this helps.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 19, 2018

      Gundry MD Customer Support ., Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hi Karla, my name is Aria with Gundry MD. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I'm happy to hear that you were able to see the efficacy of our products. The price of our products reflects the high quality of ingredients and the extensive research, development, and testing that each product and each batch undergoes. Additionally, in regards to purchasing Gundry MD products cheaper on eBay, Amazon, or any third party site, we strictly do not authorize the reselling of our products on any third party site. When customers purchase from these sites, we cannot guarantee the quality of ingredients, the proper storage, or price changes that these products may undergo.

      We encourage our customers to purchase from our official site as this is the only way we can guarantee the integrity of our products and the only way that customers can take care of our 90-day money back guarantee if they so choose. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com, and I will be more than happy to further discuss your experience.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Primal Green

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Sep 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased three jars at first for my daughter. It worked really good with her skin allergies. I purchased another five jars through my colleagues, but this time, it didn't work anymore for my daughter's skin allergies. It didn't do any good at all. I asked her to stop using it maybe because her system got immune to it. Then after a month or two, she tried again but still didn't work on her skin allergies.

    I tried to return the remaining two sealed jar and half of a used jar, but it passed the 90-day money back guarantee. So, overall rating not good and I won't recommend it. If and only if they will refund at least the sealed jar then I will be happy and be convinced that perhaps it doesn't work with my daughter but to others, it might since they have a good refund policy to show that they stand to their products and a good company policy that cares.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 20, 2018

      Gundry MD Customer Support ., Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hi Catherine, my name is Aria with Gundry MD. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that this was your daughter's experience. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com, and I will be more than happy to begin the refund process for your remaining jars.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 447

Write a Review for Gundry MD Primal Plants!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review