About Gwynnie Bee

By Autumn Yates
HighYa Staff Updated on: Jun 7, 2018

Gwynnie Bee is a monthly subscription service that allows members to rent articles of clothing for a flat fee. Users can make unlimited swaps, and shipping is free. Further, the number of items you can have out at any one time is determined by what subscription level you choose.

Gwynnie Bee’s clothing is gently used but kept in pristine condition and laundered before shipping out to the next member. There’s even a “buy it if you love it” option for those who can’t part with certain pieces.

Together, they claim it’s like having a whole department store as your closet. But, are they necessarily right for you? Let’s dive into the details to help you find out.

How Gwynnie Bee Works

Would-be members of Gwynnie Bee can create a guest account to browse their clothing selection by entering their email address and creating a password. The browsing experience is intended to emulate online shopping, and users can search within article categories and then filter based on size (sizes 0-32 available), color, and brand.

User’s “Closet” specific items that they’d like to have in their personal rotation. Gwynnie Bee recommends that you Closet a minimum of six items for every one item allotted in your subscription (or, at least 25 items); that way if something becomes unavailable, there are enough choices to avoid an interruption in your service. You’ll be able to prioritize any items in your Closet.

Additionally, users are invited to “Attic” items they would like to favorite for later Closeting, perhaps for a change of season or for special occasions.

Your first Gwynnie Bee box is shipped within 2-3 days of signing up, and you can keep items for as long as you’d like. There’s also no limit to how many times a month you swap items. Shipping is always free, and when you’re ready to return the clothing, you’ll find prepaid bags included in each box of clothing. Also, laundering items before returning isn’t necessary.

An additional nice touch is that you can notify Gwynnie Bee when you’re popping items back in the mail, and they’ll prepare your next box in advance in an effort to limit turnaround time.

But is wearing shared items sanitary? Gwynnie Bee's FAQ addresses this concern by promising that each piece is meticulously inspected three times before sending.

Another concern is the possibility of damaging rented clothing. This is also addressed in the site’s FAQs with a relaxed attitude. “Such is life!” says Gwynnie Bee, and does not mention any charges for damaged articles. They do ask that you email or call their customer service to give them a heads up that the item will need repair or replacement.

All items in Gwynnie Bee’s stock are available for purchase at a discount. However, you aren’t allowed to buy pieces before trying them. The site also claims that items are retired once light wear and tear begins to show, and then donated to a local charity.

How Much Does Gwynnie Bee Cost?

After a 30-day free trial, Gwynnie Bee’s rates are based on the number of items you can have in rotation at any given time and are charged monthly to your credit card on file. These rates are as follows:

  • One item for $49
  • Two items for $69
  • Three items for $95
  • Five items for $139
  • Seven items for $179
  • Ten items for $199

Gwynnie Bee also has a referral program, through which you can earn a free garment for a month each time you refer a friend who also subscribes.

Subscriptions can be canceled at any time, but all items must be returned within seven days to avoid being charged the full price. Support can be reached at 855-499-6643 or gwynnie@gwynniebee.com.

What People Think of Gwynnie Bee

Since writing our original article, more than 30 HighYa readers have provided feedback about their experiences with Gwynnie Bee, giving them an average rating of 2.2 stars. Compliments frequently referenced great selection of clothing and ease of use, while complaints often revolved around high prices, as well as clothing that didn’t meet taste or quality preferences.

Gwynnie Bee had a similar average rating of 2.7 stars among nearly 180 customer reviews on SiteJabber, with many of the same compliments and complaints.

We also encountered a variety of independent bloggers who wrote about their experiences with the company, many of whom remarked that they loved the service and appreciated what it had done for their fashion options.

Many seemed to appreciate that Gwynnie Bee also allows users to familiarize themselves with the sizes of different brands and find what works best for them before committing to an investment, although most were from several years ago when Gwynnie Bee specialized in plus size women’s clothing.

Related: 6 Top Tips to Buying Pre-Owned Designer Clothing Online (That You’ll Actually Love)

As a company, Gwynnie Bee Inc. is based out of Long Island City, NY and has been in business since 2011. They held an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 12 customer reviews and more than 50 closed complaints, as of 5/23/18. Most of these appeared to reference billing and/or service concerns, although a company representative responded in each instance with a resolution.

Gwynnie Bee vs. Rent the Runway, Stitch Fix, and Other Clothing Memberships

While we didn’t encounter any other companies with the exact same business model as Gwynnie Bee during our research, they are up against some stiff competition from other popular options like Rent the Runway, Stitch Fix, Le Tote, and Dia & Co.

Most of these companies (Gwynnie Bee, Rent the Runway, and Le Tote) allow their customers to receive clothing, add items to ‘Closets’ that are sent out on a regular basis, return clothing using pre-paid labels, provide coverage for light damage, and the ability to purchase clothing at a less-than-retail discount.

On the other hand, clothing memberships like Dia and Stitch Fix involve personal stylists sending you articles of clothing of the stylist's choice (you do not 'closet' items or get to choose what they send you). You also cannot wear, damage, and then return these items—you either keep them and wear them, or don't try them at all and simply send them back.

Company Price Notes
Gwynnie Bee $49 - $199, depending on the number of items Can have between 1 and 10 items out at any time, sizes 0-32 available, unlimited swaps per month
Rent the Runway $30 per rental - $159/mo Unlimited pieces. Fit guarantee. Also offers formal wear (including bridal wear), maternity.
Stitch Fix Items range in price between $20 and $600 (average $55 each). $20 per-box styling fee. Offers clothing for men (28-42W) and women (0-24W). Sends five pieces of clothing to your door, keep and pay for the ones you want (no rentals available). No subscription required. Includes maternity.
Le Tote $59 - $79/mo Unlimited totes per month. Thousands of brands and styles, including maternity.
Dia & Co. $20 per-box styling fee, which is credited toward any items you decide to keep Dedicated personal stylist, 25% off when you buy everything in your Style Box

How can you choose which of these is right for you? Like most other consumer buying decisions, it might largely come down to your specific needs and preferences.

For example, if you’re looking for maternity clothing, Le Tote and Stitch Fix might be solid options, while only Gwynnie Bee, Rent the Runway, and Le Tote were the only companies offering rentals, with an option to buy. Outside of this, you'll want to carefully investigate each company's online feedback, which could be a good indication of what you can expect after becoming a customer.

How does all of this stack up for Gwynnie Bee?

The Bottom Line on Gwynnie Bee

Whether or not it's actually a rotating closet, or simply the opportunity to try new brands, the worthiness of Gwynnie Bee's cost is wholly based on individual preference.

Based on extensive customer feedback, the company seems to deliver on their promise of variety, and there aren’t any hidden fees. So, if you feel like trying before you buy, or just sticking to trying and swapping, Gwynnie Bee’s service seems to keep most of their customers satisfied.

Originally Published on December 2, 2014, Revised by Derek Lakin on June 7, 2018

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

32 Consumer Reviews for Gwynnie Bee

Average Consumer Rating: 2.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 6 4 star: 2 3 star: 1 2 star: 5 1 star:  18
Bottom Line: 25% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 32
Sort reviews by:

  • Go with another option

    • Oxford, NC,
    • Jul 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    First, Gwynnie Bee does not care about its customers. I used the service and canceled and then decided to try again. Gwynnie Bee charged me for months I was not using the service. I emailed them and they would not refund the amount when I was not getting clothes. Gwynnie Bee is supposed to send your next shipment as soon as you have returned the current shipment. This has not been done. Sometimes there is a week lapse between returning and getting a new shipment. I have emailed about this as well, and nothing changed. Finally, there have been times when I don’t think the clothes were cleaned properly. I use other companies and do not have this problem.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Not much value

    • Michigan,
    • Apr 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Expensive subscription service for mediocre clothes. Plus if you want to purchase the items they send you the costs are prohibitive. Additionally, they ask you to fill out a clothing profile and don't send what you have asked for. It's a shame that this company feels they can charge first and then attempt to deliver after and what they deliver is not what you asked for.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Palm Bay, FL,
    • Mar 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up for Gwynnie Bee at the recommendation of a friend. We have both discontinued service at this point.

    I received my first order and neither product fit right. I'm horrible about returning things, and it wouldn't fit in my mailbox, so I rode around with the clothes (unworn and packaged) in my car for two months. Finally, I called and had the service canceled. At this point, I've already been billed twice, and they said they had to bill me a third time because I didn't give enough notice. This means that I have already spent $270 on two items.

    My service was discontinued in January. I know have two additional charges on my account from them. One is for $36 and the other is for $111. I have paid more than five times what either of these items is worth. This is absolutely ridiculous.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 14, 2018

      Lisa Baker

      This is to Kelly Owen of Tampa Bay, Florida! People like you irritate me! If you sent the clothing back, instead of riding around with it in your car for two months (which are your words, not mine) then you would NOT have been billed! Then, you have the nerve to give this company a bad review. You CLEARLY did NOT follow their instructions and then you write a comment saying "it's a scam," when you are clearly the one at fault. The ad says, keep clothing as long as you want, but you will be billed for the amount that YOU agreed to until you return the clothes and cancel it.

      You did neither of those things! So how is Gwynnie Bee at fault? I just joined this site, literally, less than 5 minutes ago and that's how I came across your ridiculous comment. I'm going to go out on a limb here and say that you are one of those people that nothing is ever YOUR fault. Just a wild guess! My suggestion is to stop commenting on companies services, trying to damage their reputation by giving the public your two cents! Go to Twitter, and I'm sure you can find some other person who is just as entitled and blameless as you! Gosh that felt good to get that off my chest! I can't wait to get my first outfit!

    • Jun 2, 2018

      Vawn S.

      Yeah I agree. Some of these concerns and reviews are legit, but this was totally your fault. You understood the terms of the service but you feel the rules don't apply to you. Your comment was so unhelpful, and just a reminder of how entitled some customers are.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Poor on all accounts

    Terribly run company. The price point is high to "borrow" two low-priced garments. You cannot cancel on the website. If you cancel in the middle of a billing period, you lose the days you already paid for. You must call on the last day of the billing cycle to avoid this. And of course, the wait is long to get someone on the phone. Save yourself a headache and skip this one.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Not good

    I returned my garments and terminated the free 30-day trial, and they still charged my account. Total scam and poor quality clothes. I would give them a negative star if it was possible.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 18 people found this review helpful

    All bad; products, customer service, pricing. All of it is horrible.

    All of the clothing sent to me appeared extremely worn out. I never wore a single piece.

    When I called to cancel, their customer service was incredibly cocky and condescending. They wouldn't accommodate my request to get the monthly membership reversed (charged yesterday) and cancel my membership because not only do I feel as though this membership just isn't for me but also, I'm a recently unemployed, single mother, affected by hurricane Harvey (unfortunately completely accurate). I was quickly told, "we don't do that." Though, even if I was employed, $80 a month for clothes the Goodwill wouldn't even sell is ridiculous and outrageous.

    Most expensive garage sale in the world!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Do not fall for this!

    My boyfriend saw the ad on TV, and I decided to try it.

    I started out with one item and months and months later, I realized it wasn't for me. So I emailed to cancel my subscription, and I was told that my bank account would no longer be charged. Since I have been paying the monthly fee all these months, over 6 months time, the dress should be considered mine, since I ordered no other items.

    I went into my bank account and saw they had continued to take the monthly fee out after it had been canceled. I just called and was told all the many points I had earned in an attempt to get me to stay with them. When I said I just want to cancel, I was then told I would have to return the one dress by the 19th. I argued that point since I have paid probably over $1000 in subscription fees and never ordered but one item!

    My fault for not staying on top of this, but this company is a rip-off. Do not fall for it!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Love it!

    I've been a Gwynnie Bee subscriber for over two years. In the last two years, they have really expanded the options available in different styles and sizes. They are always adding new brands. My closet currently has 200+ items in it, and with the ability to prioritize which items I receive, I always receive in-season items that fit my current tastes.

    There are a few tricks to maximizing your experience with this service. The first is to watch for new arrivals. New arrivals come to you just that: new. If you want to receive the best items, check every few days, there are three or four new arrival drops a week! And add new things from each one. Prioritize the ones you like best and you will receive them sooner.

    After a few months, I remove unreceived items from my closet, because yes, they have been worn and they might not be in the best shape. I have only ever (in two years) received 3 or 4 items that were damaged, but never beyond wearability (for example, one "damaged" item had a pen mark, easily missed among the blueprint on the dress). If you rarely closet items and never edit your existing picks, you will likely receive older items.

    Another trick is to shop the size charts. Because Gwynnie Bee carries so many brands and they all fit differently, you won't be able to always closet the same size. I am a size 14 and wear anywhere from a Large to a 3X; there is that much variance in each brand's size chart. Do your measurements and compare them against the included size charts. Also, read member reviews for clues about if you'll need to size up or down in a particular item. I always shop the size chart and read the reviews, and most of the items I receive fit well.

    Finally, if you have a multi-garment plan, always try to return more than one at a time. Not only does this help your closet "rotate," but you'll get more items, faster. Plus, you receive reward points for multi-item returns, which you can use for purchasing your favorite pieces. Remembering to notify Gwynnie Bee about your returns is also crucial because they will start prepping your next box right away. If you don't notify them, they can't send you something new until they receive your return, which means more turnaround time. They use 2-day shipping, so it is possible to receive muliple boxes a week if you return notify and send items back right away.

    I love Gwynnie Bee and plan to keep using it for as long as I fit into a size that it is relevant. I have been very pleased with the service overall. It's helped me find new styles that I love and become more confident. If I dress well, I feel good about myself, and Gwynnie Bee sends great items that help me look and feel my best.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 24 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Not worth the money!

    I was very excited to try this, but ended very disappointed. First of all, you choose items, two of them arrive and for me out of two months worth of items. ONE actually fit correctly, and I was able to wear. All others were terrible or came damaged. When I say all others, there were only six items in two months!

    I would receive the items, try on and send back the same day. Complete the online saying they were sent back and wait usually 2-3 weeks or longer to receive another two! I tried to cancel my "membership," and it was one day after my 30-day trial. When I called, I was told if I canceled I could not receive anything or finish out the month I just paid for! They will not just close at the end of the month you paid for, ONLY on the DAY you contact them. So you risk having to pay for another month, or you throw away $69.00!

    Not a good business practice. Never heard of such a thing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 8, 2017

      Amanda Evon Koen

      I'm in Eugene, Oregon. Your review was very helpful. I'm not going to sign up since they take so long to ship. Did you ever figure out why returning the old and receiving new product took so long?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 53 out 57 people found this review helpful

    Nice for selection of dresses, but not transparent

    I was a member of Gwynnie Bee for about nine months, receiving two items at a time. During that time, I found many dresses that I liked and bought, as well as a few tops. It was really nice to have a selection of clothes in plus sizes, plus reviews by others who had tried them before me. For that reason, I think the membership was worthwhile. I recently stopped my membership because there just weren't enough items other than dresses that I was interested in trying, and I had fully stocked my dress needs.

    Unlike some other reports I read, I had no problem canceling my membership. I suspect that it may be because I had been a member for a significant period of time, so they got the money they needed to out of me.

    My primary concern with the system is the complete lack of transparency on pricing for membership or the clothes. On the day my membership ended, I called to purchase one of the dresses that I still had at home. Although they tout deep discounts on the clothes, I never found them to be much different, and sometimes even more expensive than other stores.

    However, I was surprised to learn that she was unable to quote me the member price (I was considering renewing for one more month if the discount was significant) because apparently individual members are quoted different prices for the same items. The customer service rep (who was very nice) explained that a members' price depends upon all kinds of criteria, including how long you have been a member, whether you have ever had a return or payment "discrepancy," etc. Since that pricing criteria is not transparent to members, I assume you never get any opportunity to challenge anything that they deem a "discrepancy." I also don't know if I ever had one.

    I do not dispute Gwynnie Bee's right to price their clothes however they would like. However, failing to disclose that I may be paying a "member price" up to 30% more than another member is simply deceitful. Even when I am interested in stocking my closet again, I won't consider Gwynnie Bee an option for that reason.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 41 out 45 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Finally refunded

    After reviewing the screenshot (again) that I sent in that reflected a different "joined" date from what they were telling me, they agreed to refund me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • May 23, 2017

    Charged before trial ended

    They charged me a day before my documented trial date ended, that I sent them in a screenshot of. They are basically holding my money hostage until they get their clothes back through the mail. Ridiculous! I was already sending the clothes back, but now I have to wait until they get the package to get refunded money that NEVER should've been taken out in the first place. Very disappointed. I will be sure to discourage anyone from signing up.

    False advertising. And customer service was not very helpful in resolving the issue even though she also did not understand why I was charged and said that was misleading as well. Even their own customer service reps know they are faulty.

    (read moreread less...)

Showing 1-11 of 32

Write a Review for Gwynnie Bee!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review