About Gwynnie Bee

By Autumn Yates
HighYa Staff Updated on: Jun 7, 2018

Gwynnie Bee is a monthly subscription service that allows members to rent articles of clothing for a flat fee. Users can make unlimited swaps, and shipping is free. Further, the number of items you can have out at any one time is determined by what subscription level you choose.

Gwynnie Bee’s clothing is gently used but kept in pristine condition and laundered before shipping out to the next member. There’s even a “buy it if you love it” option for those who can’t part with certain pieces.

Together, they claim it’s like having a whole department store as your closet. But, are they necessarily right for you? Let’s dive into the details to help you find out.

How Gwynnie Bee Works

Would-be members of Gwynnie Bee can create a guest account to browse their clothing selection by entering their email address and creating a password. The browsing experience is intended to emulate online shopping, and users can search within article categories and then filter based on size (sizes 0-32 available), color, and brand.

User’s “Closet” specific items that they’d like to have in their personal rotation. Gwynnie Bee recommends that you Closet a minimum of six items for every one item allotted in your subscription (or, at least 25 items); that way if something becomes unavailable, there are enough choices to avoid an interruption in your service. You’ll be able to prioritize any items in your Closet.

Additionally, users are invited to “Attic” items they would like to favorite for later Closeting, perhaps for a change of season or for special occasions.

Your first Gwynnie Bee box is shipped within 2-3 days of signing up, and you can keep items for as long as you’d like. There’s also no limit to how many times a month you swap items. Shipping is always free, and when you’re ready to return the clothing, you’ll find prepaid bags included in each box of clothing. Also, laundering items before returning isn’t necessary.

An additional nice touch is that you can notify Gwynnie Bee when you’re popping items back in the mail, and they’ll prepare your next box in advance in an effort to limit turnaround time.

But is wearing shared items sanitary? Gwynnie Bee's FAQ addresses this concern by promising that each piece is meticulously inspected three times before sending.

Another concern is the possibility of damaging rented clothing. This is also addressed in the site’s FAQs with a relaxed attitude. “Such is life!” says Gwynnie Bee, and does not mention any charges for damaged articles. They do ask that you email or call their customer service to give them a heads up that the item will need repair or replacement.

All items in Gwynnie Bee’s stock are available for purchase at a discount. However, you aren’t allowed to buy pieces before trying them. The site also claims that items are retired once light wear and tear begins to show, and then donated to a local charity.

How Much Does Gwynnie Bee Cost?

After a 30-day free trial, Gwynnie Bee’s rates are based on the number of items you can have in rotation at any given time and are charged monthly to your credit card on file. These rates are as follows:

  • One item for $49
  • Two items for $69
  • Three items for $95
  • Five items for $139
  • Seven items for $179
  • Ten items for $199

Gwynnie Bee also has a referral program, through which you can earn a free garment for a month each time you refer a friend who also subscribes.

Subscriptions can be canceled at any time, but all items must be returned within seven days to avoid being charged the full price. Support can be reached at 855-499-6643 or gwynnie@gwynniebee.com.

What People Think of Gwynnie Bee

Since writing our original article, more than 30 HighYa readers have provided feedback about their experiences with Gwynnie Bee, giving them an average rating of 2.2 stars. Compliments frequently referenced great selection of clothing and ease of use, while complaints often revolved around high prices, as well as clothing that didn’t meet taste or quality preferences.

Gwynnie Bee had a similar average rating of 2.7 stars among nearly 180 customer reviews on SiteJabber, with many of the same compliments and complaints.

We also encountered a variety of independent bloggers who wrote about their experiences with the company, many of whom remarked that they loved the service and appreciated what it had done for their fashion options.

Many seemed to appreciate that Gwynnie Bee also allows users to familiarize themselves with the sizes of different brands and find what works best for them before committing to an investment, although most were from several years ago when Gwynnie Bee specialized in plus size women’s clothing.

Related: 6 Top Tips to Buying Pre-Owned Designer Clothing Online (That You’ll Actually Love)

As a company, Gwynnie Bee Inc. is based out of Long Island City, NY and has been in business since 2011. They held an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 12 customer reviews and more than 50 closed complaints, as of 5/23/18. Most of these appeared to reference billing and/or service concerns, although a company representative responded in each instance with a resolution.

Gwynnie Bee vs. Rent the Runway, Stitch Fix, and Other Clothing Memberships

While we didn’t encounter any other companies with the exact same business model as Gwynnie Bee during our research, they are up against some stiff competition from other popular options like Rent the Runway, Stitch Fix, Le Tote, and Dia & Co.

Most of these companies (Gwynnie Bee, Rent the Runway, and Le Tote) allow their customers to receive clothing, add items to ‘Closets’ that are sent out on a regular basis, return clothing using pre-paid labels, provide coverage for light damage, and the ability to purchase clothing at a less-than-retail discount.

On the other hand, clothing memberships like Dia and Stitch Fix involve personal stylists sending you articles of clothing of the stylist's choice (you do not 'closet' items or get to choose what they send you). You also cannot wear, damage, and then return these items—you either keep them and wear them, or don't try them at all and simply send them back.

Company Price Notes
Gwynnie Bee $49 - $199, depending on the number of items Can have between 1 and 10 items out at any time, sizes 0-32 available, unlimited swaps per month
Rent the Runway $30 per rental - $159/mo Unlimited pieces. Fit guarantee. Also offers formal wear (including bridal wear), maternity.
Stitch Fix Items range in price between $20 and $600 (average $55 each). $20 per-box styling fee. Offers clothing for men (28-42W) and women (0-24W). Sends five pieces of clothing to your door, keep and pay for the ones you want (no rentals available). No subscription required. Includes maternity.
Le Tote $59 - $79/mo Unlimited totes per month. Thousands of brands and styles, including maternity.
Dia & Co. $20 per-box styling fee, which is credited toward any items you decide to keep Dedicated personal stylist, 25% off when you buy everything in your Style Box

How can you choose which of these is right for you? Like most other consumer buying decisions, it might largely come down to your specific needs and preferences.

For example, if you’re looking for maternity clothing, Le Tote and Stitch Fix might be solid options, while only Gwynnie Bee, Rent the Runway, and Le Tote were the only companies offering rentals, with an option to buy. Outside of this, you'll want to carefully investigate each company's online feedback, which could be a good indication of what you can expect after becoming a customer.

How does all of this stack up for Gwynnie Bee?

The Bottom Line on Gwynnie Bee

Whether or not it's actually a rotating closet, or simply the opportunity to try new brands, the worthiness of Gwynnie Bee's cost is wholly based on individual preference.

Based on extensive customer feedback, the company seems to deliver on their promise of variety, and there aren’t any hidden fees. So, if you feel like trying before you buy, or just sticking to trying and swapping, Gwynnie Bee’s service seems to keep most of their customers satisfied.

Originally Published on December 2, 2014, Revised by Derek Lakin on June 7, 2018

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

65 Consumer Reviews for Gwynnie Bee

Average Consumer Rating: 3.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 28 4 star: 6 3 star: 3 2 star: 6 1 star:  22
Bottom Line: 55% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 65
Sort reviews by:

  • Don't do it, it's a scam!

    • New York,
    • Sep 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wish I had read the reviews on this site before trying Gwynnie Bee, as many people have had the same negative experience. I have tried lots of different subscription boxes, including clothes, food and beauty products, and this is the ONLY one I've ever had a bad experience with.

    Overall, the clothes were meh. It is nice that they have a selection for larger sizes. But out of the several shipments I got over my month-long trial, I only wore one piece out.

    I then canceled the subscription as I had planned to do after the trial period. No problems.

    Fast forward to two months later when I see a charge for $86 from Gwynnie Bee on my statement. I called and they said they hadn't received a shipment of 2 dresses that I had sent back to them with their shipping label. On that phone call, they stated they would "look around the warehouse" and if still not found, would open a ticket with USPS to look for the package.

    The following day I received an email asking about my customer service experience, and when I clicked on it, the site stated the ticket had already been closed and that I could not comment on it.

    After waiting two weeks with no response, I called back. Again the rep stated they would look around the warehouse. I said that wouldn't be necessary, as they'd already done that and not gotten back to me. I asked if they keep the details of the return shipping labels they send out, and she said yes. I asked why they couldn't just track the label since they have it on file. She said it was my responsibility to provide it, and they couldn't do anything else. I asked to speak with a supervisor, was told there were none in the building, and that I would get a call back from one within 24-48 hours.

    When (SHOCKER) I had not received a call back from management within the promised time, I called back yet again. This time they gave me a ticket #, said it was being escalated, and again to expect a call from a supervisor. I'm not holding my breath.

    TL;DR - They charged me for items I returned with their shipping label. Per other reviews on this page, this seems like a common occurrence that the company should have resolved by now. Instead of apologizing and returning my money, they have given me the runaround. I'm going on three weeks of fighting with them for a refund. If my money is not returned soon, I will have to work with my bank to reverse the charges.

    I will be sure to tell my friends and family to stay away from this business, as well as leaving this review everywhere I can. I am also going to file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau, at https://www.bbb.org/ and encourage anyone who's had a similar experience to do the same.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Changed my work life!

    • Delaware,
    • Sep 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love Gwynnie Bee. I don't even have to think about clothes for work anymore because I always have something to wear. I love the options, love the dresses with pockets! It has been wonderful.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great clothing for plus size!

    • Flushing, NY,
    • Sep 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I truly love Gwynnie Bee. I love having access to a much wider closet of clothing. Being plus-sized can be tough. You get tired of Lane Bryant, Torrent, etc. But with Gwynnie Bee, I have been able to wear beautiful clothing by designers for a fraction of the cost. It's really forced me to step outside my comfort zone and try clothing I never would have before. I also love that I have the option to buy the pieces that come home, and they are almost always at a deep discount.

    Please don't ever change, Gwynnie Bee. And please always stay affordable. There are many plus-sized gals out there that need you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    No worries/less stress

    • Georgia,
    • Sep 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My experience with the company has been great with no problems. Having the Gwynnie Bee subscription has allowed me to not worry about what I will wear each week. I attend church every Sunday, and when most people are trying to decide what to wear or go shopping weekly, I just open my box. When I get home, it is great that I can just fold up and place in the return bag-never having to wash. Also, I do have the opportunity to purchase if I choose to. Thanks for this opportunity!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Love this so much

    • Carthage, TN,
    • Sep 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I look so forward to my arrivals from Gwynnie Bee. The quality overall is amazing. I buy as many pieces as I can afford and am constantly getting compliments on the pieces. I am so hooked on this and it is the most customer-friendly company I do business with. Love, love, Gwynnie Bee!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great service for plus sized women, but not Misses size

    • New Hope, AL,
    • Sep 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I thought the service was outstanding when I wore Plus sized clothes. However, after I had weight loss surgery, I found the size calculator was not responsive to my change in sizes. I’ve also noticed that there is not much offered in the size 10 to 12 range, which is my current size range. I’ve also noticed there is not a large variety of styles or fabrics. The patterns and colors have a great variety, but all the dresses are of similar style and fabric. Overall, I still recommend the service for my plus size friends and family, but the service is no longer meeting my personal needs.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Better for bigger ladies

    I started with Gwynnie Bee when I was a size 14/16 and loved it! Especially the retro style dresses and wide selection of jeans. But I lost weight, and now I struggle to find anything in my size. The size suggestions just give me the smallest size, and that is often way too big. Also, the cool retro dresses have become so popular that you can't even closet them leaving me with boring choices. Gwynnie Bee needs to add more choices from brands like Hellbunny, Modcloth, Cherry Velvet, and EShakti not just one or two from each brand. At size 10/12 I'm too big for most of Le Tote's inventory but too small for Gwynnie Bee and it's very frustrating.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great service, styles need improvement

    • Duluth, GA,
    • Sep 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had this service for a while now and I think the business concept is fantastic. I have bought many pieces, and it's amazing to be able to wear it before you buy it. Now that I've had the service for a while I am beginning to feel like all the pieces are looking the same and I am finding less and fewer items I want to closet. They could definitely improve their styles. A lot of the items look similar and I have found myself thinking while scrolling through new arrivals, "Whoever their buyer loves a weird pirate sleeve! Ugh!"

    Overall, this is a great service, but their styles could use improvement. I would recommend to a friend but warn them that the styles might get stale after a while.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    I love it

    • Owings Mills, MD,
    • Sep 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started the subscription at the urge of my husband, and initially, I was very hesitant. I think it was because it would be a waste of time. NOT! I LOVE going online, choosing clothes, getting them, trying them on at home, wearing or sending back, and waiting on the next box. I love the fact that it looks like I have a vast wardrobe because I send items back after wearing once. The ones I've purchased have always been at a major discount.

    I understand that it's not for everybody, but I love it. In fact, I was wearing a different dress each Sunday, and as soon as I walked in, my admin assistant asked if it was new, then we would say together, "Gwynnie Bee baby, Gwynnie Bee."

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Decline in quality and service over the past year

    • Austin, TX,
    • Sep 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’ve been with Gwynnie Bee for about five years now and it’s totally helped transform me into a budget-friendly fashionista. But over the past year, I’ve seen a hefty decline in my overall experience and will probably be closing my account soon.

    The style and quality of clothes have not been as appealing to me. At first, I thought it might be the season or the styles that were popular at the time, but after a year I am still feeling this way. I can barely keep 25 items in my closet that I’m interested in, let alone 30-35 as GB requests. I used to love so many of my dresses that I purchased way too many of them. Now I’m lucky if I even end up actually wearing one of the five that are sent to me.

    The turnaround has also gotten noticeably slower. What used to be 4-5 days has turned into 5-7. I have similar subscription services who have been able to keep up with the faster turn around even as they have expanded as a company.

    I just don’t feel like I’m getting my money’s worth.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Horrible service

    • Florida,
    • Sep 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up for the free trial. It says on their website you will not be charged for thirty days. Not so free. I was charged immediately upon signing up for $74. It hit my bank immediately. When I complained, they said the money was being "held" until my trial was up and then if I decided to continue I'd be "charged." Umm, if I can't access the funds, as far as I'm concerned, you took my money. That's a week of groceries for me. Some people don't have three or four days to wait until "the bank refunds you upon cancellation." What a rip-off. They are liars.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 65

Write a Review for Gwynnie Bee!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review