About Gwynnie Bee

By Autumn Yates
HighYa Staff Updated on: Jun 7, 2018

Gwynnie Bee is a monthly subscription service that allows members to rent articles of clothing for a flat fee. Users can make unlimited swaps, and shipping is free. Further, the number of items you can have out at any one time is determined by what subscription level you choose.

Gwynnie Bee’s clothing is gently used but kept in pristine condition and laundered before shipping out to the next member. There’s even a “buy it if you love it” option for those who can’t part with certain pieces.

Together, they claim it’s like having a whole department store as your closet. But, are they necessarily right for you? Let’s dive into the details to help you find out.

How Gwynnie Bee Works

Would-be members of Gwynnie Bee can create a guest account to browse their clothing selection by entering their email address and creating a password. The browsing experience is intended to emulate online shopping, and users can search within article categories and then filter based on size (sizes 0-32 available), color, and brand.

User’s “Closet” specific items that they’d like to have in their personal rotation. Gwynnie Bee recommends that you Closet a minimum of six items for every one item allotted in your subscription (or, at least 25 items); that way if something becomes unavailable, there are enough choices to avoid an interruption in your service. You’ll be able to prioritize any items in your Closet.

Additionally, users are invited to “Attic” items they would like to favorite for later Closeting, perhaps for a change of season or for special occasions.

Your first Gwynnie Bee box is shipped within 2-3 days of signing up, and you can keep items for as long as you’d like. There’s also no limit to how many times a month you swap items. Shipping is always free, and when you’re ready to return the clothing, you’ll find prepaid bags included in each box of clothing. Also, laundering items before returning isn’t necessary.

An additional nice touch is that you can notify Gwynnie Bee when you’re popping items back in the mail, and they’ll prepare your next box in advance in an effort to limit turnaround time.

But is wearing shared items sanitary? Gwynnie Bee's FAQ addresses this concern by promising that each piece is meticulously inspected three times before sending.

Another concern is the possibility of damaging rented clothing. This is also addressed in the site’s FAQs with a relaxed attitude. “Such is life!” says Gwynnie Bee, and does not mention any charges for damaged articles. They do ask that you email or call their customer service to give them a heads up that the item will need repair or replacement.

All items in Gwynnie Bee’s stock are available for purchase at a discount. However, you aren’t allowed to buy pieces before trying them. The site also claims that items are retired once light wear and tear begins to show, and then donated to a local charity.

How Much Does Gwynnie Bee Cost?

After a 30-day free trial, Gwynnie Bee’s rates are based on the number of items you can have in rotation at any given time and are charged monthly to your credit card on file. These rates are as follows:

  • One item for $49
  • Two items for $69
  • Three items for $95
  • Five items for $139
  • Seven items for $179
  • Ten items for $199

Gwynnie Bee also has a referral program, through which you can earn a free garment for a month each time you refer a friend who also subscribes.

Subscriptions can be canceled at any time, but all items must be returned within seven days to avoid being charged the full price. Support can be reached at 855-499-6643 or gwynnie@gwynniebee.com.

What People Think of Gwynnie Bee

Since writing our original article, more than 30 HighYa readers have provided feedback about their experiences with Gwynnie Bee, giving them an average rating of 2.2 stars. Compliments frequently referenced great selection of clothing and ease of use, while complaints often revolved around high prices, as well as clothing that didn’t meet taste or quality preferences.

Gwynnie Bee had a similar average rating of 2.7 stars among nearly 180 customer reviews on SiteJabber, with many of the same compliments and complaints.

We also encountered a variety of independent bloggers who wrote about their experiences with the company, many of whom remarked that they loved the service and appreciated what it had done for their fashion options.

Many seemed to appreciate that Gwynnie Bee also allows users to familiarize themselves with the sizes of different brands and find what works best for them before committing to an investment, although most were from several years ago when Gwynnie Bee specialized in plus size women’s clothing.

Related: 6 Top Tips to Buying Pre-Owned Designer Clothing Online (That You’ll Actually Love)

As a company, Gwynnie Bee Inc. is based out of Long Island City, NY and has been in business since 2011. They held an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 12 customer reviews and more than 50 closed complaints, as of 5/23/18. Most of these appeared to reference billing and/or service concerns, although a company representative responded in each instance with a resolution.

Gwynnie Bee vs. Rent the Runway, Stitch Fix, and Other Clothing Memberships

While we didn’t encounter any other companies with the exact same business model as Gwynnie Bee during our research, they are up against some stiff competition from other popular options like Rent the Runway, Stitch Fix, Le Tote, and Dia & Co.

Most of these companies (Gwynnie Bee, Rent the Runway, and Le Tote) allow their customers to receive clothing, add items to ‘Closets’ that are sent out on a regular basis, return clothing using pre-paid labels, provide coverage for light damage, and the ability to purchase clothing at a less-than-retail discount.

On the other hand, clothing memberships like Dia and Stitch Fix involve personal stylists sending you articles of clothing of the stylist's choice (you do not 'closet' items or get to choose what they send you). You also cannot wear, damage, and then return these items—you either keep them and wear them, or don't try them at all and simply send them back.

Company Price Notes
Gwynnie Bee $49 - $199, depending on the number of items Can have between 1 and 10 items out at any time, sizes 0-32 available, unlimited swaps per month
Rent the Runway $30 per rental - $159/mo Unlimited pieces. Fit guarantee. Also offers formal wear (including bridal wear), maternity.
Stitch Fix Items range in price between $20 and $600 (average $55 each). $20 per-box styling fee. Offers clothing for men (28-42W) and women (0-24W). Sends five pieces of clothing to your door, keep and pay for the ones you want (no rentals available). No subscription required. Includes maternity.
Le Tote $59 - $79/mo Unlimited totes per month. Thousands of brands and styles, including maternity.
Dia & Co. $20 per-box styling fee, which is credited toward any items you decide to keep Dedicated personal stylist, 25% off when you buy everything in your Style Box

How can you choose which of these is right for you? Like most other consumer buying decisions, it might largely come down to your specific needs and preferences.

For example, if you’re looking for maternity clothing, Le Tote and Stitch Fix might be solid options, while only Gwynnie Bee, Rent the Runway, and Le Tote were the only companies offering rentals, with an option to buy. Outside of this, you'll want to carefully investigate each company's online feedback, which could be a good indication of what you can expect after becoming a customer.

How does all of this stack up for Gwynnie Bee?

The Bottom Line on Gwynnie Bee

Whether or not it's actually a rotating closet, or simply the opportunity to try new brands, the worthiness of Gwynnie Bee's cost is wholly based on individual preference.

Based on extensive customer feedback, the company seems to deliver on their promise of variety, and there aren’t any hidden fees. So, if you feel like trying before you buy, or just sticking to trying and swapping, Gwynnie Bee’s service seems to keep most of their customers satisfied.

Originally Published on December 2, 2014, Revised by Derek Lakin on June 7, 2018

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 170 Gwynnie Bee Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 3.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 96 4 star: 24 3 star: 11 2 star: 8 1 star:  31
Bottom Line: 75% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 170
Sort reviews by:

  • SCAM

    • Texas,
    • Apr 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I decided to give them a look and went to the website where apparently I inadvertently signed up! However, I never ordered/received anything. Now I find out they have been charging my card for 9 months. While it's my fault for not noticing before 9 months, I still feel like this was done intentionally and is definitely an unsavory business practice. They did offer a partial refund and a sort of apology. JUST BEWARE!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great service!

    • Apex, NC,
    • Mar 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been loving my Gwynnie Bee subscription. Not only do I get to wear fun, fashionable clothes to work and social outings, my laundry load has lightened each week. I do not have to worry about dry cleaning. Shipping is simple and fast. The customer service is also excellent and a no-hassle experience. I also love that they incentivize loyalty by offering points, rewards, discounts, and surprise upgrades. I am so glad this service exists!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • The Netflix of clothes!

    • Baltimore, MD,
    • Mar 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love Gwynnie Bee and have been a member since 2014. I am the worst at style, and I loathe clothing shopping. Gwynnie Bee makes it easy for me to try new things without the traumatic fat-inducing-mirrors and aging-lights and annoying salespeople. I can give it a whirl - love it and keep it! Or give it a try, and put it right back into the purple bag and get something else. It's a great way to shop, and I much prefer it to things like Stitch Fix and Did & Co, since I can wear things to really test them out first. Seriously, try it! My whole closet is thanks to Gwynnie Bee!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • I've never been better dressed

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Mar 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I found Gwynnie Bee a few years ago, and I can't imagine life without this company and their service. It ticks many of the boxes of things I'm looking for. Convenience is huge. The clothes show up at my house and include return packaging. All I have to do is drop it in the mail. My closet has changed with me. I started losing weight and this way, I can adjust my size needs. I constantly have access to clothes that fit, and I don't have to worry about making do with the clothes I have. I also get a constant assortment of clothes, and I don't show up to events in the dress I wore before. I've found brands I've never had retail access to, and now they are my new favorites and I know for sure how they will fit.

    The closeting app also helps me filter. For example, I always need a purple dress for an event in the summer. I can filter for purple, add the winners to my priority list, and I get the perfect selection of purple dresses sent to me. If I had to hit the mall to find a purple dress, I'd probably end up in tears. I've branched out and tried so many new looks with Gwynnie Bee and being able to purchase the favorites at such great prices is also a bonus!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • A happy customer

    • New York,
    • Mar 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am well pleased with my decision to give Gwynnie Bee's service a try. I've been a customer ever since - almost two years now. There are hundreds of items to choose from, the website is easy to use, the service is prompt, the customer service reps are always polite and accommodating. I am always pleased with the dresses I borrow, they are ready-to-wear from the box which makes dressing for work a breeze. I can't say enough good things about this company, and I recommend them at every opportunity.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Not as advertised

    • Cheyenne, WY,
    • Mar 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Regretfully I am very busy and pay the almost $80.00 for two pieces of clothes I have had for over one year. It was confusing what you get...I was not even able to get a full outfit, but a skirt and dress. This is the first follow up. I will be sending it back (though I more than paid for it multiple times) and CANCEL my subscription. It is almost impossible to effectively cancel.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Love it!

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Mar 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I feel like there are too many dresses at times and I'd like to see more pants. I've gotten some great pieces after I tried them and was sure I loved them. I really love this service, the best of all subscription boxes I have done. I would also like to buy an item I've tried before it's retired, sometimes I don't have the money when I have it, but later on I can afford it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Terrific

    • Clovis, CA,
    • Mar 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Although there aren’t as many "full figure" sizes available in the items I am most interested in - the items I have purchased are in good condition and as shown in the photos. Items on "favorite" list aren’t sent in the order chosen most often I haven’t received these "favorite" items at all. The "suggested items" page never have any items I would ever wear - so I have little use for that page. I do purchase many items from the outlet - some are still listed on the main page for higher prices - so always check outlet before you purchase anything. Would like more top choices without off the shoulder or cold - shoulders - because many of those I would have purchased but not showing shoulders!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great service with room to grow

    • Mar 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’ve tried a few different mail clothing subscriptions, and once I met Gwynnie Bee, I knew I had found my fit. I love the selection and the fit predictability is on point, foundational to making the service work well. I have bought many pieces including from the outlet and marketplace.

    There are a few nagging issues that I hope to see addressed. My largest hangup is how long it takes to get my next shipment! I understand the shipping process is going to take time but it often takes 3+ days from the time I notify shipment or purchase an item to get a new one on the way and that drives me crazy, I feel like I don’t get full value from my membership.

    The other issues are with the mobile UI. When an item in my closet is no longer available in my size, please auto remove it from my closet, I’ve had to go through my closet so many times to get rid of old stuff and it’s tedious. And finally a little request - please link the "reviews" button to the actual reviews, right now it goes nowhere and isn’t intuitive. Thanks for asking for feedback, I am a fan and appreciate you asking!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great experience

    • Kerrville, TX,
    • Mar 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been very happy for the most part with Gwynnie Bee. Their customer service is great. And I really enjoy the clothes, I have bought quite a few pieces because I like them so much. Prices, for the most part, are not too bad. Some are pretty pricey, but I usually wait till the price comes down.

    There have been a couple of pieces that I have been disappointed with. The quality, some are very worn out. But most are great. So all in all, I love Gwynnie Bee.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Thanks for keeping me in style under budget!

    • Denver, CO,
    • Mar 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been a member of Gwynnie Bee for over 5 years. I love this service! I am able to stay stylish and relevant for a low monthly fee. Everyone is always complimenting me on my clothing and how I have such great style...it is all because of Gwynnie Bee. I hate ordering clothes online because I never know how plus size clothes will fit. Gwynnie Bee has helped me find inclusive brands that I want to support.

    I can’t say enough how much I love Gwynnie Bee. I am always telling anyone who will listen they need to use it too!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 170

Write a Review for Gwynnie Bee!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review