Start your review of HelloFresh:
  • 136 Customer Reviews
  • 41% Recommend This Company
2.7 out of 5
5 star: 29% 4 star: 11% 3 star: 4% 2 star: 4% 1 star: 50%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • Stealing money

    • By Staci B.,
    • Bristol, RI,
    • Sep 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My family and I decided to give them a try. The first week, they sent the wrong recipe card. We understood and got the right one. The second week, we received the right meats but the wrong ingredients for the dish. I was given a $23.00 refund for that meal for the following week.

    Next week, I DID NOT receive a box! I called and was told to give it 24 hours. 48 hours later I called and asked for my refund, which I received no problem. The problem was when I asked for a cash refund for the $23.00 because I was canceling the program and since I never received the meal or the "free meal." I was told they can't refund that, it's against their policy, that I could only receive it as a credit. This was after I told them I was canceling and it's not right because I never received that meal in the first place. So that's now three meals I never received. I was told there was nothing they could do.

    The first woman I talked to was fantastic and told me if the supervisor did not provide me with my refund to call corporate that they could assist me. This supervisor told me that they were the highest and that there was no one else I could speak to. When I was first on this program in June, they credited me a whole meal price because I told them one of the limes for the recipe was rotted. Obviously, they have been getting many complaints now because they are holding onto money and no longer the great customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Two reasons I won't be ordering again

    • By Amy H.,
    • Georgia,
    • Sep 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I finally decided to try HelloFresh after seeing a Groupon. The food arrived well-packaged but portions were super small, even for me and my husband, and we are fit/average size 45-ish adults. The printed instructions were well done (good marketing) and attractive. The chicken smelled funky, so I used my own one recipe. Plus it was one breast split in half, so not enough anyway.

    My biggest "beef" is discovering that the fine print somewhere must have committed me to a weekly delivery when I placed my first order. I had no idea until an email tells me my box will be here Monday. The worst part is the meals they sent, we cannot eat. Gluten in every single one. Sooo, that's going to waste.

    I canceled online once I knew I needed to.

    So for these two reasons, I will not be using this meal delivery service again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Dumbest idea ever

    • By Steve K.,
    • Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Sep 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The problems with this dumb idea...

    1. I pay them to shop for me in Toronto and ship the food to me in Vancouver - how the heck is this environmentally sound?

    2. The potions for two people is less than needed for one.

    3. Could I have not just gone to the store and buy the ingredients myself?

    At the end of the process, I prep and cook the food. What do they do? Go shopping for me 4,400 Km away.

    4. One of the ingredients was moldy - could have been a one-off, so I won't fault them.

    I have read some good reviews. Are they mental?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Disappointing customer service

    • By Molly S.,
    • Washington,
    • Sep 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I contacted HelloFresh customer service via the online messaging feature because it was too late to call. I explained how I saw an email notifying me that a package was being delivered, but explained that I had not ordered this package and that the food was not selected by me. They told me it was too late to send it back.

    I asked if they could do anything to help me because I thought I had pushed cancel for this period and I didn't choose this food and cannot eat these options. They said I had canceled the previous 12 weeks but after that, it auto-renews to automatically select an order for me. I told them I didn't realize that is how it worked. I thought I was able to cancel all the future and just select when I wanted to make a shipment, but I misunderstood how the company works. When I did it before, I thought it was all in the red. I also did not get emails notifying me in advance that an order was upcoming. I only received an email the day before telling me the shipment was already on its way. I didn't feel that I had a chance to even try to cancel it.

    They told me they couldn't do anything for me and I told them I don't think that is a good practice, and if that is how the company works, taking money from the customer with no regard for their happiness with the product, I would like to cancel my subscription. Their response was to say goodbye and essentially "hang up" on our conversation.

    Today, I called HelloFresh customer service and spoke to a manager. They essentially did the same thing. The only difference was to cancel my subscription for me when I asked. Otherwise, they did nothing for me and gave me absolutely no incentive to stay on with their service. There is a lot of competition out there and many other services like this, and there is no way this company will last with service like this - I was shocked at the lack of care for my issue, especially because this is the first time I have had an issue. You could tell they just wanted to be off the phone and finished with the conversation, they were not worried at all that they lost a potentially long-paying customer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Theft

    • By Roger W.,
    • Oregon,
    • Sep 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    If you are as dumb as I and you enter your credit card information and don't see anything you like, too bad, they will take your money and send whatever they want. They will take the money no matter what you want. It is theft. THEFT. Run away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    • By Jasmine M.,
    • Tampa, FL,
    • Sep 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I signed in through Facebook to see the recipes. They made me enter card information, but I did because I was curious about meal plans. I didn't see anything I liked, so I exited the page. Then they charged me $10 and shipped out random meals. I only knew this because I got an email from UPS. THEN I asked for the subscription to be cancelled because I never signed up for a subscription. They said they would cancel, and didn't.

    Long story short, I've been scammed out of $60 for food I don't want. The selection is garbage and the random meals they sent were things I had no interest in. If I had the time and money I'd sue just to be petty.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Rotten food and rotten customer service

    • By Ian W.,
    • Surre, England,
    • Aug 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Rotten food, rotten customer service. We've parted ways now; I realize that this is a new segment. If a food delivery company can't deliver its food in one piece, not left out in the rain and with all the ingredients ok, then they should close up shop. Last straw for me was when the meat was not refrigerated properly and stank with two days to go. Here's a 20% discount. What for, no meals? No thanks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hello Fresh is "sorry (not sorry)" about your problem

    • By Micaela A.,
    • California,
    • Aug 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I recently joined HelloFresh and had a terrible experience! I had tried other home prep food delivery services and thought I'd try HelloFresh. My first red flag was that they didn't provide all of the ingredients for my meal like other services such as Blue Apron do. Sure it was just small things like garlic, butter, and oil, but sometimes it can make or break a meal if you don't have it at home. My second my delivery date somehow got changed without me knowing until it was being shipped, and was too late to change.

    The customer service I received was horrible. Sure they responded quickly, but it was like "we're sorry(not sorry) that this happened. Oh well! They did absolutely nothing to help me and seemed to be responding with autogenerated messages. They never explained how it happened or expressed regret or tried to make it better. It was just "sorry you just wasted $60, and there is nothing we can do! Do yourself a favor and order from Blue Apron or Purple Carrot instead!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Charged for two boxes

    • By Amanda L.,
    • Ohio,
    • Jul 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I usually get my boxes on Thursdays. I was showing someone what I had coming. One meal wasn’t what I ordered. I checked my account, and I was charged twice.

    I called their customer service. I got someone I couldn’t understand. She told me I had set up two accounts and had my box I ordered coming on Thursday and another box coming on Friday! I said why would I set up two accounts and order the same thing to come on Thursday and then the same box coming on Friday? She said people do it all the time! She said she couldn’t give me my money back but would give me one free meal ($17.95). After she charged me $56 twice. No way!

    The customer service was in no way helpful partly due to the language barrier! I ordered from Blue Apron and had a problem, but they were really helpful and accommodating. Customer service is everything to a business!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Threatening emails after cancellation

    • By Kristin A.,
    • Berlin, Germany,
    • Jul 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I'm sad to write this because I used to really like the convenience of HelloFresh, but I had preselected meatless meals after going vegan and realized the day before shipping that the system had totally reset my choices. It had done that before but I caught it sooner. I wrote to the company to try to get it fixed or block shipment and they told me there was nothing they could do and it was too late - this, before shipment.

    PayPal reversed the charge, then I got a collections notice from HelloFresh. They deny any wrongdoing and tell me that I must pay the balance and then they'll give me a $15 credit, to my canceled account. So basically I must agree to buy another box to even use this credit. That's such a scam, and very sad.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They say "free," but it's not.

    • By Syrena K.,
    • Beaumont, TX,
    • Jul 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    HelloFresh is using the ruse of a free week's worth of meals with free delivery to cheat customers out of $60.00 each. You receive an email, follow the prompts in the email, create an account, and get told your account has been credited the cost of one week's meals, but you are charged for the meals anyway. This was my experience with HelloFresh.

    A colleague had forwarded this offer to me via her HelloFresh mobile app. I checked my bank account immediately after placing the order to make sure I wasn’t charged, but I was. I called the company but was answered by an exacerbated woman. She instructed me to forward her the email (she didn’t believe there was no coupon code provided) and she would issue a refund, which I would get in 3-5 business days. I called the next day to verify the refund was processed and was told it was. Nothing else was offered. No additional discount for future orders was offered for the trouble I had encountered. It’s like they didn’t care if I continued to order or not.

    If I hadn’t immediately checked my account for the charge, it may have gone unnoticed because it is an auto-renewal delivery. By the time I would have balanced my checkbook, I would have thought the charge was for the next week's order. I don’t know if the email was intentionally misleading or if it was an error in coding, but either way, it was not handled well by customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 23-33 of 136

Write a Review for HelloFresh!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
HelloFresh Review: A Detailed Look