Hims Hair Loss Treatment Reviews

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Hims Hair Loss Treatment

Overall Rating

2.2

43 Customer Reviews

Summary

Hims offers a hair loss treatment that allegedly helps address male pattern baldness (androgenetic alopecia). Learn how customers are rating their experiences with the product.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

2.2 Stars out of 43 Reviews
5 Star:25% 4 Star:4% 3 Star:0% 2 Star:2% 1 Star:67%
33% Recommend This Brand
Start your review of Hims Hair Loss Treatment:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Jan 21, 2018

No info about my order

By Gamaliel, Miami, FL, Verified Reviewer

I made my order two weeks ago, and I don't get any order status or info about my order. I send an email and they never responded, and when I try to call this company, they are never answering, you just get the voicemail. I think I'm going to cancel my order and call my credit card company.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 45 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 2, 2018

Thief

By They Will Steal From You, New York City, NY, Verified Reviewer

Do not sign up for this service. They will charge your credit card non-refundable charges and deliver nothing. After a lengthy sign-up process and doctor questionnaire, they will deny your service and keep your money, recommending you see a real doctor.

Do not sign up! Do not give information to them!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 45 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 8, 2018

Horrible customer support!

By H. Fernadez, Tampa, FL, Verified Reviewer

No update on order status. The card was charged a week ago. There is no way to contact customer service. Emails are ignored, and no one ever answers the phone number. The only option is to leave a voicemail, and that is never returned.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 37 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 22, 2018

Not a happy customer

By Tom Lotman, Los Angeles, CA, Verified Reviewer

Hims products weren't delivered as advertised. They harvest your personal information, photos taken during the consultation, and then your credit card information. The company doesn't respond to phone calls or voicemails either.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 32 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 28, 2018

Not a pleasant experience.

By Thomas Riddell, Ohio, Verified Reviewer

The products I received seemed ok, most of which I could have ordered Amazon, but the effort spent navigating possibly the worst website I’ve seen since the 1990’s and the constant need for “medical review” had me pulling my hair out. The irony. Nothing seems to function properly on their site.

When I asked their representative questions, he usually responded with vague answers, not really answering my question. I found the whole thing extremely frustrating to the point of giving up. They didn’t even respond to my last email asking about my order. They have a clever concept for a business but their implementation sucks. If they fail, it’ll be for that reason.

Almost everything I buy, I buy online, and I can’t remember the last time I posted a negative review. I’m not even sure that I’ve ever posted one, but this time it’s warranted.

I was looking forward to convenient monthly shipments of the products I wanted, but it turns out, it’d be a lot more convenient to call off work and go to my doctor and get the rest from Amazon.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 35 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 15, 2018

Horrible/non-existent customer service

By Alex, Boulder, CO, Verified Reviewer

I saw an advertisement for Hims haircare product on my Instagram and thought I'd give it a try. I signed up for the monthly service, sent in a couple of pictures of my hairline and a brief description of my medical history (I have a completely healthy record), and thought everything was good to go.

The next day I received a pre-written mass email from one of the so-called "doctors" explaining how I should use the product on a daily basis. I was really looking forward to receiving the product in the mail and start using it to preserve my hair before I start losing it.

After about a week I received a vague pre-written email explaining that my order has been canceled due to my medical history. I have never even been to the hospital for anything other than a cold, nor am I taking any other medication or have any allergies. I then emailed Hims asking for more information as to why my order was canceled. It's been two weeks, and I haven't heard back from either the "doctor" or the main support@forhims.com email address provided on the website. It seems as if Hims either ignored my inquiry or they just don't have the infrastructure to support the amount of potential clients. I wouldn't recommend this service to anyone.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 24 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 17, 2018

Poor products and experience.

By Andrew, Seattle, WA, Verified Reviewer

Their marketing is trendy and the simplicity of online ordering is very appealing. Having said that, I would never work with this company again. Their customer service is atrocious. After my order, I didn't hear anything from them for over six days (only after I contacted them) despite them saying I would hear from them the next day regarding the status of my order. No information on when my doctor's consultation would begin or when my information has been reviewed.

It's borderline impossible to cancel orders or talk to a customer service rep. They also save your personal information and credit card information, and there is nowhere on the site where you can delete this info. Very shady company. Stay away.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 30 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 27, 2018

Seems like a scam

By Jesse Villanueva, Chicago, IL, Verified Reviewer

I placed an hour for the $5 welcome kit and provided some information about myself and received an email a day later from a supposed doctor. Then two days later they cancel my order based on my medical history. Even though I’m rarely sick and don’t take any other prescriptions, they still canceled my order. This seems like a big scam.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 22 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 29, 2018

Your order will not ship

By Kevin Elschlager, Missouri, Verified Reviewer

I paid for my order about three weeks ago, there is always a problem, and my order still has not shipped. No customer service to call, only email, and you will get a generic response. I am wondering if this is a scam. I paid for my order and want my order shipped or I want my money back. I cannot tell you if the product works for I never received my order, and I tried to express my concerns with no answers to when my order will ship. STAY AWAY from this company!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 24 People Have Voted

Posted on May 16, 2018

Bad

By James Webster, New York City, NY, Verified Reviewer

You have to pay $5 just to get "diagnosed" on the website, as to what basis they do this I don't know. They can then just turn you down without so much as a word. Just go see a doctor in person and save yourself some trouble.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 29 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 15, 2018

Never got anything

By Tony R., San Francisco, CA, Verified Reviewer

I paid the five bucks and two weeks later still never got anything. I go on the web page and emailed them to both emails they have up and never got a real response. I don’t even see a phone number so I can call them or else I would call and see why I haven’t got anything. Don’t buy it.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 29 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 18, 2018

Hims scam

By Michael J., Wisconsin, Verified Reviewer

So first off, let start off saying that I was recommended by a friend to use Hims, so I said why not. They ask questions about ED, so I told them my experience, and from what doctors told me, this is how I answered their questions. So I was denied by them. Their response was to see my primary doctor, which I did. This is why I came to their website, because my doctor wouldn't help me.

So I wait a while and try again. Now this time they tell me there's something wrong with my photos, I have to upload it, which I did FIVE TIMES! I get a few more emails, so today, 6/11/2018, I decided to call. Now mind you, I check my account and it says my order is being packaged, but once I get on the phone with customer service, they tell me the doctor denied me and I should check my messages again. Another doctor denied me for the fourth time.

Now let me say this, my brother is in his late twenties, and I'm in my early forties, and he has been approved. LOL. I don't feel like I should have to lie to receive their products, but I'm very disappointed with how things went.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 30 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 25, 2018

Very disappointing service

By Soumanjoy D., New Jersey, Verified Reviewer

Ok, it's not Amazon. But if you're providing a service, there needs to be a modicum of responsibility and promptness, which was not met.

I have no complaints against their products. I did not see any improvement after five months on my sightly thinning patch on my crown, but I was willing to give it a long-term shot. I also have no problems against their questionnaire. In fact, I find that commendable, as the whole thing can be done at my leisure instead of going to a doctor.

My complaint is against customer service. Someone said that they're a startup that's struggling with increasing volume of customers. Time to restructure. This cannot be an excuse in a competitive market where customers can't wait for days for a response. If you can't handle it, either improve or give up, instead of displeasing customers.

The doctors are weird. They either don't look at your case or don't read your emails properly. I get advice that I didn't ask for, and don't get the advice I asked. They also got my two subscription plans mixed up.

The moment they took away the option to pause or cancel orders from the website, I smelled a rat. They took away control from the customer in order to manipulate them into dependence on their customer service, which apparently didn't exist. Two of my emails from three months ago went unanswered, even after follow up. When I asked to pause my subscription, no answer for days. Now they're notifying me that my order will ship soon. So their decision about the website was to basically stall until your credit card was charged, then frustrate you by emails up until you give up.

I'm not giving up - the cancellation, I mean. I've emailed them for that. If that goes ignored, I'm disputing the case with the help of my credit card. Discover is great that way. If forhims.com is inept enough to ignore Discover's investigation, is a foregone conclusion. If they do respond, I have evidence of their lack of service and response. I'm pretty sure it'll be the former.

No, I'm not paid by a competitor, although now I'm going to find one. Save your money, and yourself from frustration.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 61 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 16, 2018

2 weeks late

By Adam B., USA, Verified Reviewer

No, I do not recommend this company.

I ordered a subscription from them and I have been waiting two weeks for it and they haven’t shipped it yet. And after two weeks of waiting for it and emailing back and forth, nobody can help me. It’s been exhausting trying to get customer service to help me. They just blame it on the medical team.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 19 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 27, 2018

Mad

By John C., Florida, Verified Reviewer

I never received any product. I made several attempts to resolve. Just one more company to deal with that never sends the product. After two weeks of calling, I finally got through to be aggravated trying to cancel. What a job. BUYER BEWARE.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 25 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 4, 2018

Hims - customer service is terrible

By Chris I., California, Verified Reviewer

I'm sad to say the customer service has been terrible for me. They have had a lot of trouble getting my orders on time and have charged me for orders that never came. Even after having them issue me refunds and supposedly fixing the problem, I'm still not receiving orders in a timely manner.

I wanted to like this service, but it simply has been an awful experience for me.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 23 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 21, 2018

Wasn't approved and still charged a fee

By Dan M., San Diego, CA, Verified Reviewer

I've heard this from several people, "I wasn't approved but I was still charged a doctor fee." There was almost zero communication basically after submitting all my information, I got an email saying they wouldn't serve transgender people taking hormones. Then was charged, and never received the actual product. I wouldn't recommend them. I've heard of several people who got a similar email, some who had no medical history but were randomly disapproved and charged. I would stay away and use one of the more highly-rated similar websites.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 26 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 14, 2018

Money trap

By Todd S., Fort Lauderdale, FL, Verified Reviewer

Do not go for the $5 trial. I did and could not get out if it. There is NO way to cancel online. If you can get through to "support" they will say that they'll cancel your account but you will still get billed.

Also, they charge $18 for one bottle of minoxidil and I went to Walmart and got three of the exact same thing for $14.

Seriously a big rip off. STAY AWAY!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 27 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 16, 2018

Just because it's on TV doesn't mean it is not a scam.

By Chris P., Spokane, WA, Verified Reviewer

So far everything that they said has been a lie, from the prices to the products, and even opting out of there so-called monthly scam. There is no way I would ever do business with this company again. I was smart enough to start this on a PREPAID debit card so they can't charge what is not there, since when they found out they could charge me for more crap. They went into beast mode, sending multiple emails a day that I owe them money and "would you like to purchase more products from us." Lol, really? If a customer supposedly owes you, why would you try to sell them more? Just a scamming company. I should have put two and two together when I saw the snopp selling it. After going to Walmart and Target, I saw that the same products just in different packaging for a much lower cost and better online reviews. Save your money and save your sanity, do your business locally.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 28 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 4, 2018

Impossible to cancel

By D D., Georgia, Verified Reviewer

I have been going back and forth with their "customer service" to cancel the subscription that I did not know I was signing up for. So far, it is not canceled yet, so I am disputing charges with my credit card company and blocking future charges. This is not cool.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 17 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 1, 2018

This company is awful

By Mike F., California, Verified Reviewer

I ordered Hims five days ago. They took my money immediately and now no response. I’ve sent several messages with no reply. I have no idea if I’m getting hair loss pills or not. I’m going to dispute the charge with my bank because this company lacks customer service. I have no idea why they suck so much. I’ve read several reviews, and this seems to be a pattern. There are plenty of other legit companies.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 5, 2018

Save your money

By Steve C., Columbus, OH, Verified Reviewer

I heard about them on a podcast. After signing up for the $5 first month, I was surprised when I got charged $50 instead. I am still waiting three days for a response. The order has not shipped yet either. They ship slowest mail USPS first class. I also found out you still have to go to the pharmacy. This is something I signed up to not have to do. They fill your finasteride prescription, and it is generic. Not that this is a big deal, but it is because they charge $28 which you can nearly buy brand name Propecia for. You are overpaying a lot monthly when you can get generic for $10 or less a month.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 6, 2019

Scam, zero stars

By Nadia P., Marietta, GA, Verified Reviewer

I ordered the so-called sample for $5.00 for my husband. They never sent me the sample and they told me that the $5.00 is a doctor’s fee and it is not refundable. They are crooks. Do not deal with this horrible company.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 7, 2019

Awful customer service

By T G., New York, NY, Verified Reviewer

I've had numerous terrible customer service experiences with this company. They act like they're not in competition with a bunch of similar businesses. I will take my business to their competitors instead.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 10, 2019

Rip off

By Rafael R., California, Verified Reviewer

Rip off. The process to order is not easy but the real problem was being charged monthly hidden fees after my order was complete for several months. This isn't explained in checkout. They don't email you or provide terms of service on their website. There is no receipt emailed to you and no way to review your order on their website. Customer service was unhelpful.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 1, 2019

They have shady business practices

By Jared v., Georgia, Verified Reviewer

They do not let you cancel your subscription in the app. You must speak to them directly. You can pause your subscription, but be warned that they will process your order two days before your subscription is supposed to resume, and then they will refuse to give you a refund or cancel the order (even if it hasn't shipped yet).

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Posted on Jul 12, 2019

Slickly produced pick-pockets: "Membership fees" cost me $120 without warning over 8 months.

By Dustin B., Seattle, WA, Verified Reviewer

So, you're looking to get some hair-loss, ED, or anxiety medication online. Cool. Take care of yourself.

So you sign up with Hims - they have good articles written about them, their website is super slick, you get a prescription, they deliver genuine product. Over three months you get three months worth of your prescription of medication. You're happy, but you don't need any more medication. So you let your prescription lapse. If you need more, you figure, you'll renew it and continue the monthly refills at $35 a month. Fair.

Then, 8 months later, long after you've gotten your last batch of medication and Hims is just a distant memory you finally notice a monthly charge of $15 on your credit card statement from "HIMS & HERS HEALTH FORHIMS.COM CA". Strange. You quickly search Mint and realize that you've been charged $15 eight times, totaling $120, for each month you haven't used their services.

Did you miss some email notifications? Were you asleep at the wheel when you could've put a stop to this back in November 2018, the first month it happened? You search through all your emails, because you use Gmail, you never delete your emails, so you expect receipts, right?

Well. Not for these charges. You search and all you find are 17 promotional emails from them between November 2018 and June 2019. You email customer service looking to get your money back. Customer service explains that "this membership fee was previously bundled and included in the price of the products you were receiving each month". You look at you email receipts and on your website profile - no such "bundle" is indicated. If it said "$20 - medication, $15 - membership fee", fair. But no, it's just $35 for the medication.

When you weren't getting medication, they still charged you $15. For the privilege of sending a single email to a doctor who'd rubber-stamp your prescription renewal for the next three months.

Imagine if Amazon Prime was free if you buy something every month - but as soon as you don't, you're charged $15. Not participating is when they pick your pocket. Hims is a company that punishes you for not ordering.

$15 a month for a membership that took you mere minutes of effort to join.

The "best they can do" is refund 3 months. Hims, a company with a potential valuation of over $1 billion, apparently can only afford to refund $45, and pocket the remaining $75 of your money.

Use some other service and pay attention to their business model. Cancel accounts and memberships when no longer needed, restart them quickly when you need to start again.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Showing 1-27 of 43

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.