About Hint Water

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Jun 19, 2015

Founded by Kara Goldin in 2004, Hint Water is a line of all-natural, unsweetened, ultra-pure water that’s infused with a variety of natural fruit flavors, and is made without sugar, diet sweeteners, preservatives, calories, trace minerals, or GMO ingredients. On top of this, Hint Water is vegan and gluten free.

In other words, Hint Water is claimed to contain nothing but natural fruit oils and essences, all of which are extracted using various combinations of pressing, heating, cooling, filtering, and dissolving. And if you need a little carbonation in your day, there’s even a version called Hint Fizz to satisfy your cravings.

Because of this, Hint Water is claimed to be a healthy, sugar free drink alternative to sodas that tastes great without tasting sweet, so you can stay hydrated without worrying about calories or diet sweeteners.

Whether you’re diabetic, pregnant, have a gastrointestinal issue, or simply can’t stand the taste of plain water but are focused on your health, is Hint Water the right healthy choice for you? Consider the following:

Why Does Hint Pasteurize Their Water?

According to Hint Water’s FAQ, “Purification systems vary depending on the type of water available at each bottler. Techniques can include reverse-osmosis, de-ionization and ultra-violet purification before adding flavors. As a final step, Hint Water is pasteurized.” But what does this mean?

At its most basic, pasteurization is a process that involves heating a liquid to a high enough temperature, so that any disease-causing organisms it contains are killed by exposure, thereby making it safe to drink.

While you’ve almost certainly heard about pasteurization related to milk products, the fact is that most bottle water manufacturers also pasteurize their products for safety. However, keep in mind that pasteurizing water also kills many of the “good” organisms often found water, so this might mean that you’re also missing out on some of the benefits.

Similar Options to Hint Water

Also, keep in mind that fruit-infused water is nothing new, which means that there are dozens of other products available similar to Hint Water. Granted, some of these may use artificial sweeteners or include sugar in their formulas, but the point is that you have options.

In fact, if you’re looking to save money while formulating your own unique flavor profiles, you can create fruit-infused water at home for a fraction of the cost of Hint Water. In fact, you can even add carbonation for your own version of Hint Fizz.

In order to see for yourself, type in the phrase “fruit infused water” or “DIY fruit water” into your favorite search engine.

Do Customers Like Hint Water?

There were more than 7,400 customer reviews featured on Hint Water’s website at the time of our research, with an average rating of 5 stars. There, common compliments appeared to revolve around the great taste, lack of sugar and other added ingredients, and that it helps reduce (or eliminate) soda consumption.

There were also 872 Amazon customer reviews for Hint Water’s Blackberry flavor, with an average rating of 4.1 stars. While many of the compliments mirrored those found on Hint’s website, complaints also included reduced quality compared to original batches, a “chemical” taste, and even some complaints that the water had gone bad (e.g. a “rancid” taste). Several customers also stated that they contacted the company for a resolution, but didn’t receive a response.

From a company perspective, Hint Inc. is based out of San Francisco, CA, although they weren’t listed with the Better Business Bureau. With this said, Kara Goldin took Hint Water from a small startup in her garage to a $30 million per year business in the span of a decade, so the company’s story has been featured in a variety of popular publications, including Forbes, Fast Company, The Wall Street Journal, and many others.

Hint Water Pricing and Refund Policy

Hint Water is available only in 16oz bottles, and Hint Fizz in 16.9oz bottles, which are priced as follows (directly through the company):

  • 12 bottles of Hint Water: $16-$18
  • 12 bottles of Hint Fizz: $18
  • 60 bottles of Hint Water: $80
  • 120 bottles of Hint Water or Hint Fizz: $160

Keep in mind that Hint Water offers a subscription service named Club Hint that will provide you with regular shipments of the product of your choice. There, you can choose which products you’d like to receive, how much you want, and how often you’d like to receive them, and your subscription can be paused or cancelled at any time. Upon enrollment, you’ll receive the following benefits:

  • 10% off each order
  • Free shipping on 3 or more cases.
  • Early access to new flavors

While no refunds are available for purchases made directly through Hint Water, you can alter or cancel your subscription plan via your account dashboard, by using the online contact form, or by emailing hello@drinkhint.com

Finally, keep in mind that Hint Water is available through several national retailers, including Whole Foods and Safeway. To find a store in your area that carries Hint Water, be sure to visit their Store Locator page.

Our Bottom Line: Is Hint Water a Tasty, Healthy Choice?

Overall, it seems that most customers who try Hint Water enjoy the experience, so it’s likely that you will too. And it’s also positive that Hint Water contains nothing except pure water and natural fruit infusions.

However, keep in mind that everyone has their own taste preferences, so what you might find to be the best taste on the planet someone else might find to be awful.

As such, we might recommend purchasing a single bottle of Hint Water or Hint Fizz from a local retailer in order to try it out. Then, if you like the taste, you can purchase greater quantities directly from the company.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 67 Hint Water Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 3.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 28 4 star: 2 3 star: 3 2 star: 9 1 star:  25
Showing 1-11 of 67
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    They couldn't pay me to drink that swill

    • Georgia,
    • Aug 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Lousy taste, overpriced, and poor customer service. Check out the lawsuit on undisclosed ingredients. I don't trust them. I have tried both the carbonated and carbonated. The customer service person who responded to my reasonable request was rude and condescending. They don't seem to care if anyone buys. Very arrogant. I decided it is better to use fruit to infuse your own water rather than waste money on their inferior product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    A nice hint

    • Boston, MA,
    • Jul 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’ve only had watermelon and black raspberry but they were both really good. I don’t usually like the super sweet-flavored waters because they taste fake but Hint waters aren’t like those. It really is just a hint and I didn’t notice it at first but it has a lovely aftertaste, and once you drink a few sips it tastes stronger. I really recommend this and I’m glad it doesn’t have the weird artificial taste/sweeteners.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Bad tasting water

    • Virginia,
    • Jul 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I only bought one bottle of this water and I didn't like the taste so I just dumped it out and I will never buy anymore. It has no flavor, why put a picture on a bottle of water if the flavor is not in the water when you drink it? It's the most nasty tasting water I ever had.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    The Hint Water in 200 ml container is tasteless

    • Miami, FL,
    • Jul 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    In my opinion, Hint Water advertising exaggerates the taste of its products. I've tried all of the flavors intended for school lunches. Although these Hint Water products are considered to be healthier than other flavored drinks, I've found that all of the Hint Water flavors are tasteless.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    So refreshing!

    • Austinburg, OH,
    • Jun 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love this water! The first time I tried a bottle of Hint it was just so refreshing. It is so difficult to describe how refreshing this water is! I have been trying different flavors and they are all good. I do have favorites which are the pineapple and the peach flavors!

    This water is addicting! Once you try it, Hint is the only water you will want to drink!

    I've found different prices at different retailers from $1 - $1.50/bottle. It is a little pricey. I found it on sale for $0.79 one day and stocked up on it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Best flavored water for a sugar-free, carb-free lifestyle.

    • Lansdale, PA,
    • Jun 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started Keto several times with my fiancé...always ending in failure.

    Several months back I was in a bad place with my body image. I’m 55 and most of my life had been in excellent physical condition. Two surgeries, a bad break up, and several unhealthy pounds later...I knew I was going to do something. I wasn't going to diet, I was going to change my eating habits and start a healthy lifestyle. Either that or throw ALL of my clothes out the window. I started an interval fast 16/8 along with a strict no-carb, no-sugar (poison) regiment. I was strong, dedicated and determined. 10 weeks in, I was struggling with drink choices. My morning started with hot tea/no sugar and a couple of bottles of water until 12-2 o’clock (my fast). I felt my drink choices where so limiting. My idea of a cheat was unsweetened iced tea with lemons...lol.

    One day my fiancé comes home with a case of Hint Water, asking me if I wanted to try it. I was very skeptical...most flavored waters had sweeteners, artificial or otherwise. I’m not a watermelon guy but was shocked at how sweet the product seemed. Pouring over the label and internet looking for the secret to this witchcraft, lol. I was shocked at how refreshing a drink with no sugar could be.

    Fast forward 5 successful months of a healthier lifestyle. I still drink my tea, my waters, but Hint is a staple that keeps a "sweet" treat in my diet that helps me stay "on the wagon." I favor the Crisp Apple and the Pineapple. BlackBerry isn’t bad...drinking it currently. Need to try the Peach as I’m on a Ginger Peach tea kick. The flavors are subtle, but not for a drink that has no sugars/carbs. I highly recommend Hint Water. I feel as though it was a building block in that helped me attain my goal of a sugar-free happy/healthy lifestyle.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    I think it's great!

    • Tennessee,
    • Jun 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is such a great refreshing water with just a HINT of flavor. I think many of the negative reviews are expecting it to be fruit flavored water. I quit drinking soda of any kind around 4 years ago and switched strictly to flavored or bottled water. I think a lot of it has to do with what you're used to. If you drink soda and other sweetened drinks (artificially or not), your taste may not be as receptive to the flavors as someone who drinks only water or eats a healthy clean diet. The first drink does taste like plain water but it leaves a pleasant after taste of real fruit. No artificial sweeteners or synthetic fruit flavoring. I picked up BlackBerry, Pineapple, and crisp apple at my local store and love them all. My 10-year-old son loves them as well. I plan to order more from the Hint website after trying a couple more flavors. It's definitely worth trying. I know it's not for everyone. Just keep in mind this will not have an overwhelming flavor, but a hint...just like the name.

    I would like to add one more thing, as far as the price. $1.50 is what you would pay for an average bottle of water or soda, in fact, usually these cost a little more...so I'm not really sure what the negative reviews on pricing per bottle are about.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Good/bad list

    • Kentucky,
    • Jun 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'll start out by stating, "I hate to drink water." I need to because it's healthy but it's got to have some flavor! I work in an office with several other people. One guy recommended we get some Hint Water for the office fridge. He'd bought a bottle of the Lemon at an airport and loved it. Over the past 3 or 4 months we've purchased almost every flavor available, and the Hint "Kick" (caffeinated) and "Sparkling." We've come up with a "Good" and "Bad" list of Hint. The watermelon, grapefruit, honeydew, blood orange, and peach are on the "bad" list. We found that these had little to no flavor. The lime is on the "Really Bad" list. The general consensus is that it tastes like "dishwater." We also didn't care for the Hint Sparkling waters. The flavors were ok, but the "sparkle" was nasty. On the "Good" list: blackberry, pineapple, peppermint (reaction to this flavor is mixed; girls like it..guys not so much), green apple, cherry, strawberry-kiwi, and lemon. Both caffeinated flavors, green apple-pear, and black raspberry are really good. There are several other flavors we've not tried yet, but when we do I'll report back! This water is a little pricey, but we signed up for a subscription and received a pretty good discount per case and free shipping. We've had lots of water products in our office, i.e., Propel Fitness, SoBe, Bai, etc. After trying Hint it's hard to go back to the artificially sweetened waters.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Tastes like regular water.

    • Georgia,
    • Jun 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've recently gone on a diet and wanted to drink water (which I do not like). I used to drink flavored water but it has artificial sweeteners which of course they are not good for you. So I decided to try Hint and ordered the TV promo. I am very disappointed in the flavor! Hint is right, no flavor at all! You could smell the fruit flavor somewhat, but when it came to the taste you could not taste it at all! Soooo back to the hunting grounds I go.

    The only way I would recommend this is if someone really likes the taste of just plain water and I can't emphasize enough how much I HATE water!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Not much to it!

    • Gilbert, AZ,
    • Jun 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I did the trial order (supposedly a great price at $1 per bottle). I drink a LOT of water so thought this would be a nice alternative to add some flavor. Boy was I disappointed. When they say a hint of fruit flavor that is exactly what they meant, a hint. Not much flavor at all. I tried all 3 of the trial flavors and all I can say is I would NOT buy it again. Then I go to Sam's Club and see it for less than what the trial offer was, so I paid more than I could have gotten for locally.

    I have since bought a glass with metal cover infusion pitcher and found I can make it for pennies for a glass of fruity (and you can actually taste the fruit flavor) water. Not only is it more economical, but it actually has flavor.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Watermelon flavor change

    • Boyertown, PA,
    • Jun 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I don't like drinking water, but found that I enjoyed the Hint watermelon water and have been drinking it for over a year. I subscribed for home delivery and have been receiving it pretty regularly. I noticed when I received the last package that the label had changed, but also the flavoring has changed. Since I had 2 bottles, one from each shipment, I could really taste test pretty accurately to notice a difference. I want to know why they did this? The new flavoring is NOT as good as the old one. What happened? It has an almost artificial taste. If this is what Hint is producing, I will be canceling my order and trying other brands. I am so disappointed. It was such a good product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 67

Write a Review for Hint Water!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review