About Hint Water

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Jun 19, 2015

Founded by Kara Goldin in 2004, Hint Water is a line of all-natural, unsweetened, ultra-pure water that’s infused with a variety of natural fruit flavors, and is made without sugar, diet sweeteners, preservatives, calories, trace minerals, or GMO ingredients.

On top of this, Hint Water is vegan and gluten free.

In other words, Hint Water is claimed to contain nothing but natural fruit oils and essences, all of which are extracted using various combinations of pressing, heating, cooling, filtering, and dissolving.

And if you need a little carbonation in your day, there’s even a version called Hint Fizz to satisfy your cravings.

Because of this, Hint Water is claimed to be a healthy, sugar-free drink alternative to sodas that tastes great without tasting sweet, so you can stay hydrated without worrying about calories or diet sweeteners.

Whether you’re diabetic, pregnant, have a gastrointestinal issue, or simply can’t stand the taste of plain water but are focused on your health, is Hint Water the right healthy choice for you? Consider the following:

Why Does Hint Pasteurize Their Water?

According to Hint Water’s FAQ, “Purification systems vary depending on the type of water available at each bottler. Techniques can include reverse-osmosis, de-ionization and ultra-violet purification before adding flavors. As a final step, Hint Water is pasteurized.” But what does this mean?

At its most basic, pasteurization is a process that involves heating a liquid to a high enough temperature, so that any disease-causing organisms it contains are killed by exposure, thereby making it safe to drink.

While you’ve almost certainly heard about pasteurization related to milk products, the fact is that most bottle water manufacturers also pasteurize their products for safety. However, keep in mind that pasteurizing water also kills many of the “good” organisms often found water, so this might mean that you’re also missing out on some of the benefits.

Similar Options to Hint Water

Also, keep in mind that fruit-infused water is nothing new, which means that there are dozens of other products available similar to Hint Water. Granted, some of these may use artificial sweeteners or include sugar in their formulas, but the point is that you have options.

In fact, if you’re looking to save money while formulating your own unique flavor profiles, you can create fruit-infused water at home for a fraction of the cost of Hint Water. In fact, you can even add carbonation for your own version of Hint Fizz.

In order to see for yourself, type in the phrase “fruit infused water” or “DIY fruit water” into your favorite search engine.

Do Customers Like Hint Water?

There were more than 7,400 customer reviews featured on Hint Water’s website at the time of our research, with an average rating of 5 stars.

There, common compliments appeared to revolve around the great taste, lack of sugar and other added ingredients, and that it helps reduce (or eliminate) soda consumption.

There were also 872 Amazon customer reviews for Hint Water’s Blackberry flavor, with an average rating of 4.1 stars.

While many of the compliments mirrored those found on Hint’s website, complaints also included reduced quality compared to original batches, a “chemical” taste, and even some complaints that the water had gone bad (e.g. a “rancid” taste). Several customers also stated that they contacted the company for a resolution, but didn’t receive a response.

From a company perspective, Hint Inc. is based out of San Francisco, CA, although they weren’t listed with the Better Business Bureau.

With this said, Kara Goldin took Hint Water from a small startup in her garage to a $30 million per year business in the span of a decade, so the company’s story has been featured in a variety of popular publications, including Forbes, Fast Company, The Wall Street Journal, and many others.

Hint Water Pricing and Refund Policy

Hint Water is available only in 16oz bottles, and Hint Fizz in 16.9oz bottles, which are priced as follows (directly through the company):

  • 12 bottles of Hint Water: $16-$18
  • 12 bottles of Hint Fizz: $18
  • 60 bottles of Hint Water: $80
  • 120 bottles of Hint Water or Hint Fizz: $160

Keep in mind that Hint Water offers a subscription service named Club Hint that will provide you with regular shipments of the product of your choice.

There, you can choose which products you’d like to receive, how much you want, and how often you’d like to receive them, and your subscription can be paused or cancelled at any time. Upon enrollment, you’ll receive the following benefits:

  • 10% off each order
  • Free shipping on 3 or more cases.
  • Early access to new flavors

While no refunds are available for purchases made directly through Hint Water, you can alter or cancel your subscription plan via your account dashboard, by using the online contact form, or by emailing hello@drinkhint.com

Finally, keep in mind that Hint Water is available through several national retailers, including Whole Foods and Safeway. To find a store in your area that carries Hint Water, be sure to visit their Store Locator page.

Our Bottom Line: Is Hint Water a Tasty, Healthy Choice?

Overall, it seems that most customers who try Hint Water enjoy the experience, so it’s likely that you will too. And it’s also positive that Hint Water contains nothing except pure water and natural fruit infusions.

However, keep in mind that everyone has their own taste preferences, so what you might find to be the best taste on the planet someone else might find to be awful.

As such, we might recommend purchasing a single bottle of Hint Water or Hint Fizz from a local retailer in order to try it out. Then, if you like the taste, you can purchase greater quantities directly from the company.


Read 71 Hint Water Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 29 4 star: 2 3 star: 3 2 star: 9 1 star:  28
Showing 1-11 of 71
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Hint Water taste

    • New Jersey,
    • Oct 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I saw Hint Water advertised on the internet and thought I'd give it a shot. I have been consuming flavored water for years and Hint seemed to be appealing. I ordered 3 cases; 1 case of regular and 2 cases of sparkling. I tried the non-sparkling and found the taste to be horrible. The infused fruit flavor was non-existent and the water itself tasted a bit odd. I won't mention the brand names that I often purchase, but they are far superior to Hint. I asked to return the product and was told that because it is a consumable that they could not process my request. I'll use the remaining 35 bottles to water plants in and outside of my home. I would not recommend this product to anyone!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Didn't like it and neither did my family or co-workers

    • California,
    • Oct 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I saw it advertised on TV but I didn't want to get 36 bottles. While we were at Target they had a 12-pack for $10 and I thought that this was a great deal until me and my granddaughter tasted it. It was really nasty and a waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Something is wrong.

    • Oklahoma,
    • Sep 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased the 36 for $36. I was really excited and optimistic. I was let down on the first sip. Something is really wrong with this water. Not only is the name Hint an understatement, but the water itself seems thick, granulated, old and stale. It is very unpleasant and even upset my stomach. I will never purchase this water again and what I have purchased is going straight down the drain. Such a shame and waste of money. I really wish items like this were better regulated.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Great alternative to soda

    • Nevada,
    • Sep 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Just tried Hint water for the first time, I found some on clearance at Walgreen's for 53 cents a bottle, so I bought 5 bottles. I am trying to reduce my intake of soda. I have a hard time drinking plain water. So far I have tried just blackberry and watermelon flavors. The water has a pure cool taste, even unrefrigerated, with a hint (please note that the important word is 'hint') of natural fruit flavor, I really like the blackberry flavor. The watermelon is also good. I will go back to Walgreen's tomorrow to buy some more bottles. I may have found my new favorite beverage.

    Those who think that making your own fruit-infused water is less expensive obviously don't take into consideration the cost of the fruit unless you also consume the waterlogged fruit when the infuser container is emptied.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    They couldn't pay me to drink that swill

    • Georgia,
    • Aug 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Lousy taste, overpriced, and poor customer service. Check out the lawsuit on undisclosed ingredients. I don't trust them. I have tried both the carbonated and carbonated. The customer service person who responded to my reasonable request was rude and condescending. They don't seem to care if anyone buys. Very arrogant. I decided it is better to use fruit to infuse your own water rather than waste money on their inferior product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 5 people found this review helpful

    A nice hint

    • Boston, MA,
    • Jul 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’ve only had watermelon and black raspberry but they were both really good. I don’t usually like the super sweet-flavored waters because they taste fake but Hint waters aren’t like those. It really is just a hint and I didn’t notice it at first but it has a lovely aftertaste, and once you drink a few sips it tastes stronger. I really recommend this and I’m glad it doesn’t have the weird artificial taste/sweeteners.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Bad tasting water

    • Virginia,
    • Jul 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I only bought one bottle of this water and I didn't like the taste so I just dumped it out and I will never buy anymore. It has no flavor, why put a picture on a bottle of water if the flavor is not in the water when you drink it? It's the most nasty tasting water I ever had.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    The Hint Water in 200 ml container is tasteless

    • Miami, FL,
    • Jul 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    In my opinion, Hint Water advertising exaggerates the taste of its products. I've tried all of the flavors intended for school lunches. Although these Hint Water products are considered to be healthier than other flavored drinks, I've found that all of the Hint Water flavors are tasteless.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 8 people found this review helpful

    So refreshing!

    • Austinburg, OH,
    • Jun 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love this water! The first time I tried a bottle of Hint it was just so refreshing. It is so difficult to describe how refreshing this water is! I have been trying different flavors and they are all good. I do have favorites which are the pineapple and the peach flavors!

    This water is addicting! Once you try it, Hint is the only water you will want to drink!

    I've found different prices at different retailers from $1 - $1.50/bottle. It is a little pricey. I found it on sale for $0.79 one day and stocked up on it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Best flavored water for a sugar-free, carb-free lifestyle.

    • Lansdale, PA,
    • Jun 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started Keto several times with my fiancé...always ending in failure.

    Several months back I was in a bad place with my body image. I’m 55 and most of my life had been in excellent physical condition. Two surgeries, a bad break up, and several unhealthy pounds later...I knew I was going to do something. I wasn't going to diet, I was going to change my eating habits and start a healthy lifestyle. Either that or throw ALL of my clothes out the window. I started an interval fast 16/8 along with a strict no-carb, no-sugar (poison) regiment. I was strong, dedicated and determined. 10 weeks in, I was struggling with drink choices. My morning started with hot tea/no sugar and a couple of bottles of water until 12-2 o’clock (my fast). I felt my drink choices where so limiting. My idea of a cheat was unsweetened iced tea with lemons...lol.

    One day my fiancé comes home with a case of Hint Water, asking me if I wanted to try it. I was very skeptical...most flavored waters had sweeteners, artificial or otherwise. I’m not a watermelon guy but was shocked at how sweet the product seemed. Pouring over the label and internet looking for the secret to this witchcraft, lol. I was shocked at how refreshing a drink with no sugar could be.

    Fast forward 5 successful months of a healthier lifestyle. I still drink my tea, my waters, but Hint is a staple that keeps a "sweet" treat in my diet that helps me stay "on the wagon." I favor the Crisp Apple and the Pineapple. BlackBerry isn’t bad...drinking it currently. Need to try the Peach as I’m on a Ginger Peach tea kick. The flavors are subtle, but not for a drink that has no sugars/carbs. I highly recommend Hint Water. I feel as though it was a building block in that helped me attain my goal of a sugar-free happy/healthy lifestyle.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 9 people found this review helpful

    I think it's great!

    • Tennessee,
    • Jun 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is such a great refreshing water with just a HINT of flavor. I think many of the negative reviews are expecting it to be fruit flavored water. I quit drinking soda of any kind around 4 years ago and switched strictly to flavored or bottled water. I think a lot of it has to do with what you're used to. If you drink soda and other sweetened drinks (artificially or not), your taste may not be as receptive to the flavors as someone who drinks only water or eats a healthy clean diet. The first drink does taste like plain water but it leaves a pleasant after taste of real fruit. No artificial sweeteners or synthetic fruit flavoring. I picked up BlackBerry, Pineapple, and crisp apple at my local store and love them all. My 10-year-old son loves them as well. I plan to order more from the Hint website after trying a couple more flavors. It's definitely worth trying. I know it's not for everyone. Just keep in mind this will not have an overwhelming flavor, but a hint...just like the name.

    I would like to add one more thing, as far as the price. $1.50 is what you would pay for an average bottle of water or soda, in fact, usually these cost a little more...so I'm not really sure what the negative reviews on pricing per bottle are about.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 71

Write a Review for Hint Water!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review