About Hint Water

Founded by Kara Goldin in 2004, Hint Water is a line of all-natural, unsweetened, ultra-pure water that’s infused with a variety of natural fruit flavors, and is made without sugar, diet sweeteners, preservatives, calories, trace minerals, or GMO ingredients. On top of this, Hint Water is vegan and gluten free.

In other words, Hint Water is claimed to contain nothing but natural fruit oils and essences, all of which are extracted using various combinations of pressing, heating, cooling, filtering, and dissolving. And if you need a little carbonation in your day, there’s even a version called Hint Fizz to satisfy your cravings.

Because of this, Hint Water is claimed to be a healthy, sugar free drink alternative to sodas that tastes great without tasting sweet, so you can stay hydrated without worrying about calories or diet sweeteners.

Whether you’re diabetic, pregnant, have a gastrointestinal issue, or simply can’t stand the taste of plain water but are focused on your health, is Hint Water the right healthy choice for you? Consider the following:

Why Does Hint Pasteurize Their Water?

According to Hint Water’s FAQ, “Purification systems vary depending on the type of water available at each bottler. Techniques can include reverse-osmosis, de-ionization and ultra-violet purification before adding flavors. As a final step, Hint Water is pasteurized.” But what does this mean?

At its most basic, pasteurization is a process that involves heating a liquid to a high enough temperature, so that any disease-causing organisms it contains are killed by exposure, thereby making it safe to drink.

While you’ve almost certainly heard about pasteurization related to milk products, the fact is that most bottle water manufacturers also pasteurize their products for safety. However, keep in mind that pasteurizing water also kills many of the “good” organisms often found water, so this might mean that you’re also missing out on some of the benefits.

Similar Options to Hint Water

Also, keep in mind that fruit-infused water is nothing new, which means that there are dozens of other products available similar to Hint Water. Granted, some of these may use artificial sweeteners or include sugar in their formulas, but the point is that you have options.

In fact, if you’re looking to save money while formulating your own unique flavor profiles, you can create fruit-infused water at home for a fraction of the cost of Hint Water. In fact, you can even add carbonation for your own version of Hint Fizz.

In order to see for yourself, type in the phrase “fruit infused water” or “DIY fruit water” into your favorite search engine.

Do Customers Like Hint Water?

There were more than 7,400 customer reviews featured on Hint Water’s website at the time of our research, with an average rating of 5 stars. There, common compliments appeared to revolve around the great taste, lack of sugar and other added ingredients, and that it helps reduce (or eliminate) soda consumption.

There were also 872 Amazon customer reviews for Hint Water’s Blackberry flavor, with an average rating of 4.1 stars. While many of the compliments mirrored those found on Hint’s website, complaints also included reduced quality compared to original batches, a “chemical” taste, and even some complaints that the water had gone bad (e.g. a “rancid” taste). Several customers also stated that they contacted the company for a resolution, but didn’t receive a response.

From a company perspective, Hint Inc. is based out of San Francisco, CA, although they weren’t listed with the Better Business Bureau. With this said, Kara Goldin took Hint Water from a small startup in her garage to a $30 million per year business in the span of a decade, so the company’s story has been featured in a variety of popular publications, including Forbes, Fast Company, The Wall Street Journal, and many others.

Hint Water Pricing & Refund Policy

Hint Water is available only in 16oz bottles, and Hint Fizz in 16.9oz bottles, which are priced as follows (directly through the company):

  • 12 bottles of Hint Water: $16-$18
  • 12 bottles of Hint Fizz: $18
  • 60 bottles of Hint Water: $80
  • 120 bottles of Hint Water or Hint Fizz: $160

Keep in mind that Hint Water offers a subscription service named Club Hint that will provide you with regular shipments of the product of your choice. There, you can choose which products you’d like to receive, how much you want, and how often you’d like to receive them, and your subscription can be paused or cancelled at any time. Upon enrollment, you’ll receive the following benefits:

  • 10% off each order
  • Free shipping on 3 or more cases.
  • Early access to new flavors
  • … and more.

While no refunds are available for purchases made directly through Hint Water, you can alter or cancel your subscription plan via your account dashboard, by using the online contact form, or by emailing hello@drinkhint.com

Finally, keep in mind that Hint Water is available through several national retailers, including Whole Foods and Safeway. To find a store in your area that carries Hint Water, be sure to visit their Store Locator page.

Is Hint Water a Tasty, Healthy Choice?

Chopping to the point: Overall, it seems that most customers who try Hint Water enjoy the experience, so it’s likely that you will too. And it’s also positive that Hint Water contains nothing except pure water and natural fruit infusions.

However, keep in mind that everyone has their own taste preferences, so what you might find to be the best taste on the planet someone else might find to be awful.

As such, we might recommend purchasing a single bottle of Hint Water or Hint Fizz from a local retailer in order to try it out. Then, if you like the taste, you can purchase greater quantities directly from the company.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

41 Consumer Reviews for Hint Water

Average Consumer Rating: 3.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 17 4 star: 2 3 star: 3 2 star: 7 1 star:  12
Showing 1-11 of 41
Sort reviews by:

  • 0 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Where’s the flavor Hint

    • Valparaiso, IN,
    • Nov 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was very excited to try this water because of its flavored water, zero sugar, and no artificial sweeteners. I ordered two of the flavored waters and one blackberry carbonated water to try. I first tried the pear flavored water that came in my order. It has zero pear flavor at all. It tastes like water, and that’s it. I also after trying that flavor proceeded to try the blackberry carbonated water. Okay, this was disgusting. Carbonated water with a flavor that tastes nothing like blackberry. It was worse than the flavored water. Buyer beware. Big rip off!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Love!

    • Lago Vista, TX,
    • Oct 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I absolutely LOVE Hint Water. I have tried so hard to quit drinking soda many times with other beverages and had always failed. I have FINALLY been able to kick soda to the curb for 6 months now all because I found Hint Water. I love the flavors, and it feels refreshing while regular bottled water does not give that clean feeling. I am so glad to have found this!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Chemical taste from propylene glycol

    • New York, NY,
    • Sep 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It has a strange kind of chemical-sweet taste and an aftertaste that lingers. It's weird. This is probably from propylene glycol that is an ingredient according to a lawsuit over the use of the ingredient. Propylene glycol is synthetic.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Enjoyable alternative to sugary drinks

    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Sep 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hint Water has become my favorite flavored water brand. There is an abundance of tasty flavors, so it’s easy to switch things up if you want a change. I’m also a big sparkling water fan, but sometimes I don’t want the fizzy drink. Hint is a great alternative to the fizz without giving up the fun flavors.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Save your money

    • Laurel, MD,
    • Sep 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I do not like the flavor of this stuff at all. I got suckered into ordering this via facebook. I tried three flavors and don't like any of them. I still have at least 85% of the order taking up space in my kitchen. I thought I had canceled out of any subscription that I may have gotten myself in to and yet today, another huge box of Hint Water shows up. Grr! Their website is useless and there is no phone number to call, only a "contact us" form. According to their website, I do not exist which makes it impossible to "manage subscriptions." I'm waiting to hear back from the company and I am hoping they are upstanding and will fix the issue and refund my money. Buyer beware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    It's nothing to rave about

    • Texas,
    • Jul 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Something in Hint leaves an aftertaste and leaves my mouth feeling extremely dry. Like that feeling after drinking cranberry juice or using the sweetener Stevia or chlorinated tap water. It doesn't quench my thirst so I have to keep drinking bottle after bottle and the dryness never goes away. I could taste the hint of fruit flavor, but it needs a little more, and some of the flavors taste artificial. Very unsatisfying.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Love Hint

    • Concord, CA,
    • Jul 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been drinking Hint for a few years now. I like all the flavors. I love it because it is NOT soda, or excessively sweet. Like the name says, it is slight but perfect. I have shared it with family and friends, most find it a refreshing change from high-calorie soda, juice or diet products. My favorite flavor is strawberry kiwi, but can’t find it anymore. My second choice is blackberry.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 10, 2018

      Jessica W.

      You can buy it on their website.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Awesome taste

    • West Virginia,
    • Jul 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I think Hint is awesome and tastes great. I don't know why people are complaining of no flavor, hence the word "HINT." I would definitely recommend it if you're trying to get off soda and want to be healthy. Plain water is awful in my opinion and infusing your own takes time, too much time.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Hotel perks at home! This is the best stuff.

    I travel a lot for work, and at many of the hotels where I stay, they have fruit infused water in the lobby. I love it, and I wanted to have it at home. For a short time, I was creating it for myself, but then the fruit I bought would go bad, and I had to make it so often. Then, I read about Hint on Facebook. I loved her entrepreneurial story, as I am an entrepreneur myself, and I decided to try it out. I started by buying a bottle at the airport, the crisp apple, and when I got home, I ordered several cases of it. I just ordered five cases for the 4th of July.

    Once you connect with them, you can receive emails with special offers. I love so many of them, and I am drinking so much more water again. They are not sweet. So many of the negative reviews point this out. They are not meant to be, thus the name Hint. That is what I love about them! Watermelon is amazing. Cucumber is my favorite. Raspberry is great. My husband loves lime. I get excited every time I try a new flavor. They ship right to my door. Great through the hot summer to have on hand, and a healthy alternative.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Expensive; tastes okay but not great.

    • Chester County, PA,
    • Jul 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    If this were a dollar a gallon (like spring water), I would buy it just to give myself some variety. I like some of the flavors, but not all. The after-taste lingers. I bought this on a special, and when my credit card statement arrived, I found I had been WAY overcharged (to the tune of $32), but they did credit me when I complained. Bottom line is, this is ok, but not great. I used up what I had and took the flavors I did not like to work and left them in the lunch room.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 10 people found this review helpful

    No way, it is awful!

    • Lexington, KY,
    • Jun 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This water tastes nothing like water. Aall the flavors are very strange versions with a weird aftertaste, also a chemical water taste. None of these are good. The price is outrageous. Also, they smell awful and are way overpriced. Just nasty.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 41

Write a Review for Hint Water!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review