About Hubble Contacts

Published on: May 16, 2017

By avoiding steep industry markups that can cause you to pay way more than you should, Hubble Contacts promises to deliver high-quality daily contact lenses right to your door, at half the prices of the other guys.

In fact, the company allows all patients with a valid prescription to receive 12 pairs of lenses for free upon signing up for a subscription. Then, you'll pay about $1 per day after that.

To sign up for a Hubble account, you’ll only need to enter your left and right eye power, your doctor’s state and name (you can also search by address and business name), and your name and email address, and then check out. If you need an eye exam, they’ll also help you schedule a doctor’s visit in your area.

For many of us, contact lenses are an essential part of everyday life. In other words, our quality of life could be severely impacted if we didn’t have them. They’re also expensive and not always convenient to pick up, which is where Hubble Contacts claims to help.

Are they necessarily your best, or least expensive, option? Are there any considerations to keep in mind before signing up for a subscription? Find some answers here by reading about what we learned during our research.

Looking For More About Hubble’s Contacts Lenses?

The Hubble website tells us their lenses are manufactured using state-of-the-art injection molding by Taipei-based St. Shine Optical Co., from a “high-grade methafilcon-A hydrogel material with 55% water content, UV protection, and a thin edge.”

We’re told they have been approved by the FDA for sale in the US for more than 14 years and are “designed for easy insertion, all-day comfort, and crystal clear vision.” Through an independent University of Houston College of Optometry double-masked study, they were even verified to be as comfortable and sharp and popular U.S. brands.

Powers range from -0.50 to -12.00, and +0.5 to +6.00, with a base curve of 8.6 and a diameter of 14.2.

As noted earlier, all Hubble Contacts orders require a valid prescription from a doctor, including:

  • Your name
  • Prescription expiration date
  • Prescriber's name
  • Power, base curve, manufacturer, diameter, and contact lens material

Important note: Hubble’s contact lenses are only designed for individuals with no or mild astigmatism (less than -1.00 cylinder). If you have a more significant diagnosis, the company’s site indicates they’re planning to offer toric lenses (those specially designed for astigmatism) soon.

Finally, while they currently only sell daily lenses, Hubble tells us that they’re also investigating bi-weekly and monthly lenses, although they’ll need to meet the same safety and comfort standards as their dailies.

For more detailed specifications, we’d strongly recommend reading through Hubble’s Wearers Guide.

Exactly what price will you pay?

How Much Does Hubble Contacts Cost & Are They Covered by Insurance?

Even with Hubble’ initial free offer, keep in mind that you’ll still pay $3 S&H, which will take about 5-10 business days to arrive in a 100% recyclable box. The service is currently only available to residents of the United States, certain U.S. territories, and U.S. Military locations.

14 days after your initial two-week free trial, you’ll pay $30 per month, plus $3 S&H, for 30 pairs of lenses. You can change how frequently you receive shipments and Hubble will always reach out to you before contacting your doctor to re-verify your prescription.

The contats provider doesn’t deal directly with insurance providers, although you can use your emailed receipt to apply for reimbursement through your carrier. You can pay using your FSA or HAS account, as long as it’s associated with a major credit card.

All orders come with a 30-refund policy, but this only applies to those where the outer shipping box remains unopened. If your prescription changes, you can ship your old strength back and they’ll re-send the correct pair.

If you have questions, Hubble’s support department can be reached at 844-334-1640 or help@hubblecontacts.com

What Can We Learn From Hubble Contacts Customer Reviews?

StarterNoise found Hubble’s sign up process super simple and the shipping much faster than it would have taken to get an appointment with their doctor, place the order, and drive to pick them up. Not to mention the much lower price.

Their first impression was that the lenses were incredibly comfortable. Although they found them a little difficult to take out, resulting in some red, irritated eyes for a couple of minutes afterward.

Similarly, Bre Payton at The Federalist writes that her Hubble Contacts were very soft and flexible, didn’t cause dry eye, and were very competitively priced. “The guys over at Hubble should really be paying me to be their spokesperson, because I have yet to shut up about them,” she concluded.

A handful of readers also left their firsthand feedback on a Reddit thread. As might be expected, some noted they were comfortable and didn’t feel the lenses at all, while another noted they weren’t as comfortable as their current Acuvue lenses.

One doctor chimed in noting that, in their experience, lenses that use the same methafilcon A material (55% water) and feature a DK value of 18 as Hubble’s lenses “are not very popular.”

From a company perspective, Hubble Contacts was co-founded in May 2016 by Ben Cogan and Jesse Horwitz.

Ben earned his degree in Philosophy from Princeton and previously worked as a Senior Customer Insights Associate for Harry’s Grooming and an Associate at The Boston Consulting Group. Jesse graduated from Harvard Law School and held positions as Founder of Gadfly Capital and Investment Analyst at Columbia Investment Management Company.

Vision Path Inc. (aka Hubble Contacts) wasn’t rated with the Better Business Bureau as of 5/16/17, although they did have four closed complaints. Only one of these provided details, which referenced difficulty obtaining proof of purchase.

Hubble vs. LensDirect, 1800Contacts, & Lens.com

Type the phrase “discount 1-day contact lenses" into any search engine, and you'll be met with hundreds of relevant results, including national brands like Acuvue from big hitters like 1800contacts, Lens.com, and LensDirect, to name just a few.

Many of these companies claim to offer 70% (or more) off name brand contact lenses, but how do their prices compare to Hubble? Here’s a quick sampling of some of the prices we encountered at the time of our research:

Company Lens Model Price/Quantity Details
Hubble Contacts 1-Day Contact Lenses $30, 60 lenses Methafilcon-A, 55% water content
LensDirect 1 Day Acuvue Moist 30 Pack $30.58, 30 lenses 42% etafilcon A, 58% water content
Lens.com 1 Day Acuvue TruEye $54.94, 90 lenses 54% narafilcon A, 46% water content
1800Contacts 1-Day Acuvue Define $94, 90 lenses Etafilcon A, 58% water content

According to Everyday Health, 90 percent of contact lens wearers use soft options, the same as Hubble. And while daily disposable lenses might offer the lowest maintenance, they also tend to cost more, but they might be ideal for those with allergies.

Pro tip: All About Vision emphasizes that, while daily disposables might cost more than their longer-term brethren, this could be offset by the money saved on care products.

The American Optometric Association also notes that daily disposable contact lenses can work great for those with active lifestyles and often involve a very short adaptation period, but they’re not available for all vision problems and may not offer the same level of crispness as longer-wear models.

The best way to decide? Talk with your doctor who can recommend options based on your specific diagnosis, needs, and preferences.

Our Final Thoughts About Hubble Contacts

As we can see from the table above, the cost of Hubble’s lenses comes in right at $1 per day, which is about half the cost of a similar daily from Acuvue through LensDirect and 1800Contacts.

Coming in a little closer, Lens.com’s 1 Day Acuvue TruEye was priced at about $1.22 per day, while the Acuvue Oasys 1-Day with Hydraluxe was slightly higher at $1.45 per day.

Bottom line? It seems that Hubble has found itself a niche in the marketplace by manufacturing their own high-quality contact lenses and shipping them directly, thereby providing prices that are anywhere from 20 to 50 percent less expensive.

In addition, the company appears to have mostly positive—although somewhat limited—online feedback from customers.

Perhaps the only downside is that, like any other contact lens retailer, you can’t return your Hubble Contacts if they don’t match your preferences. However, all new subscriptions come with a free two-week trial (less $3 S&H), which should be more than enough time to figure out if they work for you before receiving your next shipment.

Did Hubble’s contacts help you see better at a lower price, or did they not meet your needs? Whatever happened, tell us all about it by writing a review below.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

1251 Consumer Reviews for Hubble Contacts

Average Consumer Rating: 4.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 866 4 star: 165 3 star: 30 2 star: 37 1 star:  153
Bottom Line: 83% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 1251
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Best deal ever, and the price rocks

    These contacts are wonderful, super soft, and I know it is said by all, but I REALLY can't feel them. I inserted them, and I could see perfectly. I did not experience any adjustment time, just clear vision. I appreciate the fact that since I still like to wear my glasses, I can change my delivery times and not have to spend money every month. So far, I can't imagine going back to expensive Dr.'s office contacts or even 1-800 Contacts. I am xcited about my new relationship with Hubble and say it is worth the $3 to try them out!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Unparalleled

    • Asheville, NC,
    • Jun 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've worn contacts off and on for the last 25 years. Due to overwearing, I stopped for a few years in my late 20's to try and clear up the damage that I had done. After a couple of years, I tried, unsuccessfully, to go back. Every couple of years, I ask my doctor to let me try the newest thing out. They never work out. Ever. Too dry, too "gummy," too painful. Some will work for a couple of hours then give me a headache. Some made me blink excessively, some even made my vision feel altered and a little cross-eyed. You name it, I've tried it. My expectations at this point were pretty low.

    For the price, however, I thought I'd give Hubble a shot. Just $3 for the first two weeks and they arrived within a few days. I put them in and IMMEDIATELY knew these would be different. I can't feel them. Like at all! They don't stick when I look quickly in another direction, they don't feel like they're going to fall out, and they don't feel too thick. I honestly can't feel them at all. Day one, I put them in around 2 pm and almost forgot to take them out when I went to bed at 2 am! Unbelievable!

    Today is my day off, and I normally wouldn't even consider putting in contacts because of the discomfort. Not with Hubble! I should also add that I have a fairly high prescription at -6.5. This makes applying eye makeup nearly impossible without glasses or contacts. By the time I get close enough to the mirror, I have no room to maneuver the wand. My eyeliner has never looked better. After wearing these for a day, I was interested to hear what everyone else was saying about them. Aside from the website, I couldn't find a whole lot.

    I typically do not write reviews, but I felt like my experience could be helpful to others that struggle with finding a good fit. The low price is just icing on the cake.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    I am happy with them!

    I like them very much. For the first few days they felt a bit dry, but now I am used to them. I have been using them for six months now. It is very convenient and I like that I put in a fresh sterile pair every day. Just be careful when you are tearing each contact off the strip, so you don't accidentally open more than one at a time. Otherwise, they will dry up, and that one will be wasted. Overall a great deal, and shipping is very fast.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Great customer service

    They have very prompt and courteous customer service. They have a very fast response team and were very helpful. I really appreciate all of their help and would recommend their services to anyone that is willing to try new products. They have a 100% guarantee and they stand behind their products. This is hard to find in companies these days. Thank you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 29, 2017

      Claire, Customer Service Representative

      Hi Meaghan,

      We take reports of adverse reactions very seriously. I've just contacted you by email, and I hope you'll give us permission to follow up with your doctor to investigate how this could have occurred. I've verified that your account has been canceled and refunded.

      I've put you in touch with our Director of Quality Control by email, and I hope you'll allow us to follow up with your prescribing OD.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Jun 29, 2017

    Horrible is the only word that comes to my mind

    These are horrible!

    They came apart in my eyes and led to a horrible infection. I had to have a doctor peel the tiny particles out of the lids and bottoms of my eyes. I was in horrible pain putting these in from day one. There was a burning sensation when I put them in and always felt like a had a ripped contact in. I wasted so many by taking them out and throwing them out and putting another in thinking it was defective. I could not wear them longer than three to four hours at a time. And when I took them out my eyes were so red and relieved from taking them out.

    They are not that much cheaper than my others, and I will never fall for a deal like this again. I have paid for it in medical bills. Also, you can not even get in touch with Hubble's customer service. I call and am on hold for hours to cancel my subscription. So I have boxes of contacts I will never use. I finally have emailed them and told them to cancel. We will see what happens with this junk service. I hope I don't go blind from these horrible so called contacts!

    They also are not my prescription. I cannot see clearly with them, and they never cleared it with my doctor. I asked my doctor, and they never got a call, email or fax from Hubble, so that's pretty illegal!

    (read moreread less...)

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    • New Jersey,
    • Jun 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been wearing contacts for over 30 years and have always been steered by optometrists towards the household names. Other contacts always gave me the feeling of having something in my eyes, but Hubble contacts are very comfortable and unnoticeable. Great product at a great price - what else can you ask for?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Love these contacts!

    • Alabama,
    • Jul 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I really love my Hubble contacts! They are very comfortable. I'm a busy mom of four, and the convenience of having affordable and comfortable dailies is great. I love that I can wear them to bed to read or watch TV and then just take them out and toss them in the trash before I go to sleep. I also like the fact that they just show up on my doorstep when I need them. This is truly a very beneficial subscription service. Thank you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Highly recommend

    I love these contacts! As someone who struggled to wear weekly contacts, I love the dailies! I used to only be able to wear my contacts for about four hours at a time and then I would get an awful headache, but not anymore! The free trail was a no brainer. It was only $3 and so worth it! Signing up was super easy, I had no issues with them contacting my eye doctor. I like being able to skip an order on occasion since I don't use my contacts every day.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    In love with Hubble lenses!

    • California,
    • Jul 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love these lenses! I was allergic to the last three prescriptions (B&L Acuvue Oasys) purchased through Kaiser Optical (eyes itched all the time and I was getting bad eye wrinkles), so frustrating! I saw a Hubble ad and loved that I could have them delivered, and the cost was roughly 40% less, so I thought I'd give them a try. These saved me! They are so comfortable, and the whole process is easy. I love that I can change the delivery schedule also. Just a note, these definitely are a true daily lens. I tried to wear it for two days, and no, that didn't work for me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Loving my lenses!

    • Santa Maria, CA,
    • Jul 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I couldn't be happier. I've been going through 1-800 Contacts before and was paying twice as much for Acuvue Dailies. These are super comfy! I would highly recommend these to all my friends or anyone overpaying for lenses.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 5 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Fast company.

    Very nice company.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Jun 30, 2017

    I've never had this much pain!

    I have received my Hubble contacts today and was excited to try them out. When I first put them in they were not too bad, but after a couple hours, they became ridiculously uncomfortable. It got to the point where my eyes were burning and bright red. I took them out and put in eye drops, and they wouldn't stop burning. My eyes have finally calmed down, but they are still very sore. I don't know if it was an allergic reaction or just a crappy product.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Cheap, good, convenient

    My contacts always arrive on time and in excellent condition. They are much cheaper than the dailies I used to wear, and they cause no problems to my eyes. An added bonus is that the packaging is very cute and compact.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 1251

Write a Review for Hubble Contacts!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review