About Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn

By Derek Lakin
Updated on: May 10, 2018

After attaching to any garden hose and setting the dial, Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn’s eco-friendly Spray n' Stay hydroseeding technology ensures its seeds attach firmly to the soil, while also reducing the surface tension and increasing its water absorption ability.

Each container covers up to 100 square feet with a "high-quality seed mixture" that "blends perfectly with your existing lawn,” making it ideal for many different applications, including dry spots, dog spots, and high traffic and shaded areas. It even grows in hot or cold weather.

Together, the website advertises this green mousse formula eliminates guesswork by showing where you’re planting, makes reseeding as easy as watering your lawn, and reduces the likelihood of losing seeds to birds or weathers. Is this what you can realistically expect?

We’ve learned a lot from the 280+ HighYa readers who have provided feedback about their experiences with Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn, as well as from our in-depth research into the manufacturer’s core claims.

In this article, we’ll walk you through each of the product’s important details. In the end, you’ll have a better idea of which step you should take next. Let’s start with the price.

How Much Does Hydro Mousse Cost and Where Can You Buy?

Hydro Mousse is available in two different kits:

  • Standard Kit – Includes one sprayer with attached seed container. Enough for 200 spots or 100 square feet: $19.95 plus $7.95 S&H, bringing your total to $27.90 (or, about $0.28 per square foot)

  • Best Value Kit – Includes everything in the Standard Kit, in addition to five seed refill bags for $79.80 plus $29.95 S&H, bringing your total to $109.75 (or, about $0.18 per square foot)

The manufacturer also offered the Standard Kit on Amazon for $24.99, with free shipping available for Prime members.

Regardless of which direct option you choose, Hydro Mousse comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges. Note: This means that if you order the Best Value Kit and request a refund, you’ll have to send six bags of seed back to the manufacturer, which could cost a decent chunk of change in return S&H charges.

To request a refund, you’ll need to contact customer service at 888-405-8997.

Now, let’s dive into perhaps the three important aspects of Hydro Mousse’s functionality.

How Does Hydro Mousse’s Spray n’ Stay Hydroseeding Technology Work?

DoItYourself.com explains that hydroseeding (also frequently referred to as hydraulic mulch seeding, hydroseeding, and hydro mulching) involves using a hose to spray a special mixture of “water, seeds, fertilizer, cellulose fiber or wood mulch, and soil treatment agents” onto the ground.

Not only does this mixture help “shelter your seeds from sunlight, wind, and soil erosion,” they explain that it also “helps create a bond with the soil” and “releases a wide range of nutrients that help your seeds thrive” during its natural decomposition process.

Furthermore, this mixture is typically dyed green to a) make it easier to apply and b) help make it less of eyesore immediately after application, until the seed has had time to germinate and grow.

Hydroseeding was initially used for large agricultural purposes, such as restoring burned areas and controlling erosion, so it required application by trained professionals. Recently, however, products like Hydro Mousse have entered the marketplace, promising to provide many of hydroseeding’s same benefits, but at a scaled-down size useful for residential applications.

What Ingredients and Seed Types Does Hydro Mousse Contain?

Other than telling us Hydro Mousse contains a “high quality” seed mixture that’s resistant to extreme heat and cold and will blend perfectly with your existing lawn, the manufacturer doesn’t provide any information about the exact species of grass seed it contains, nor the specific ingredients found in their eco-friendly slurry.

We reached out to several support representatives during our research, none of which were able to provide additional insight.

However, according to the EpicReviewGuys YouTube channel, the only active ingredient in Liquid Lawn’s green foaming agent is alpha-olefin sulfonate (15%), with 85% ‘other ingredients.’ The seed mix includes:

  • Xtreme Green Tall Fescue 39.94%
  • Corsair Kentucky Bluegrass 19.82%
  • Radar Chewings Fescue 19.77%
  • Academy III Perennial Ryegrass 19.55%

Are these ideal? According to Lowe’s, the ‘best’ seed type for your particular application will depend on a wide variety of environmental factors, such as climate and soil type, in addition to other considerations like sun/shade levels, amount of traffic, and even how short you choose to mow your grass.

With this said, fescue grass is adaptable to a wide range of climates and soil conditions (even in drought areas), although it typically thrives in moist environments in transition zone states like AR, GA, KY, OK, MO, NC, TN, TX, and VA.

Kentucky Bluegrass has a shallower root system than fescue and typically requires a greater amount of water during the summer, although it goes dormant during the winter and requires no watering at all.

Finally, Perennial Ryegrass boasts high traffic tolerance and naturally prevents the growth of weeds, but doesn’t withstand cold temperatures well, requires a great deal of maintenance, and can crowd out other beneficial grasses and plants.

USDA Hardiness Zones Map In this hardiness zones maps from the USDA, we can see that the type of grass you should plant (and when you should plant it) depends largely on your climate. Credit: SeedLand.com

Is Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn Really as Easy as Watering Your Lawn?

If you fast-forward to the 1:20 mark in this instructional video posted by Hydro Mousse’s manufacturer, you’ll see that even if you only cover dog spots or fill in high-traffic areas, the surface area must be prepped. This involves removing all dead vegetation (including your existing grass), loosening the topsoil, and watering your lawn three times daily after application.

Depending on the size of the area you’re looking to apply Hydro Mousse, this prep work requirement could translate into a meaningfully more labor-intensive endeavor than the commercial might make it seem.

A Look at Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn Reviews and Complaints

Customer Reviews

Since writing our original article, more than 280 HighYa readers have chimed in about their experiences with Hydro Mouse (as of 5/8/18), giving it an average rating of 1.4 stars. While a handful of customers reported good results, in general, most complaints appeared to revolve around:

  • Difficult application – Many customers indicated the container doesn’t eject its contents properly, resulting in most of the seeds remaining in the bottom after all of the green mousse had sprayed out. In fact, more than one customer stated that it worked better by simply by unscrewing the cap and pouring the mixture out by hand.

  • Spot treatment functionality – Multiple customers reported that the bottle trigger shown in the commercial isn’t functional. Instead, once you turn on your water, they indicated everything in the bottle comes out all at once (including the mousse and the seeds), which meant there isn’t an ability to spot treat.

  • Much less coverage than advertised – Many customers claimed there was only enough mousse in the bottle to cover about 20 square feet.

Note: The instructional video linked to earlier covers everything from unpacking the system and choosing an application area, to how to clean up afterward. This could potentially help clear up any user errors that may have caused some of the experiences noted above.

Additional common complaints included:

  • Inferior seed varieties – Many reviewers claimed that you could purchase similar seed mixes from local hardware stores for much less (we’ll discuss this important aspect again, soon).

  • Staining & potential toxicity – Several customers stated that Liquid Lawn stains, so be sure to wear gloves and old clothes when applying, while also taking care around driveways, sidewalks, and other concrete areas. Also, some claimed the mousse made their pets sick and/or the chemicals it contains burned their carpeting.

Hands-On Reviews

A Canadian network news team conducted a 14-day Hydro Mousse review in July 2014 and found that the treated area grew only in patches. However, they pointed out that an area of fresh dirt on the same piece of property filled in much better.

FeXNet Review also found that after two weeks, Liquid Lawn had only grown in patches in a small area, which was prepped according to the manufacturer’s recommendations (tilling topsoil a full 3” from the surface, as well as removing any existing grass or weeds). In fact, they reported standard grass seeds planted alongside performed better than Hydro Mousse.

On the other hand, YouTuber Steve Johnson created a short four-part series examining Hydro Mousse, from initial spraying to nine days after application, and seemed to experience better results. He even posted a follow-up video revealing that some of his leftover seeds inside the sprayer had germinated after a few days.

Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn vs. Grass Shot

The only other at-home hydroseeding product currently competing for the same customers as Liquid Lawn is Grass Shot, which also attaches to a garden hose, ejects a green foam that promises to hydrate and nourish the soil and features replacement kits for refilling.

Although they were found in different percentages, both of these formulas also contained two types of Fescue, one type of Kentucky Bluegrass, and one type of Perennial Ryegrass:

Price / Quantity Seed Mix
Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn $19.95 + $7.95 S&H / 100 square feet Xtreme Green Tall Fescue (39.94%), Corsair Kentucky Bluegrass (19.82%), Radar Chewings Fescue (19.77%), Academy III Perennial Ryegrass (19.55%)
Grass Shot $27.90 + $9.35 S&H / 700 square feet Rhizing Star Tall Fescue (24.94%) All Star 2 Perennial Ryegrass (20.64%), Boreal Creeping Red Fescue (14.80%), Harmonie Kentucky Bluegrass (9.98%)

Comparing these two side-by-side, we can see that Hydro Mousse comes with a lower price, but it also covers a meaningfully smaller area than what’s advertised by Grass Shot’s manufacturer.

Grass Shot also came with very similar Amazon customer reviews and an overall average rating of 1.9 stars at the time of our research. As with Liquid Lawn, common complaints referenced difficult application, no grass growth, and high price.

Given their similar seed mixes, claims, price points, and average customer ratings, how can you choose which of these options—if any—is the right one for you?

The Bottom Line

Here at HighYa, our goal is to present you with the facts, let them speak for themselves, and leave the final decision up to you.

Based on what we learned during our research, it seems most online customers who left reviews about their experiences were disappointed with Hydro Mousse’s performance, whether during the application, weeks later, or both.

Many who used it to spot treat seemed to report better results than those who applied the formula to larger areas.

Even if Hydro Mousse were reported by customers to work exactly as advertised, though, as consumers ourselves, we’d question its overall value. For example, let’s run some quick numbers based on reseeding an entire lawn:

  • The average lawn size in the U.S. is 1/5 of an acre, or about 8,712 square feet (front and back).

  • With 100 feet of coverage at the cost of $20 per bottle, this means that you'd likely spend around $1,742 in order to apply Hydro Mousse to your entire lawn.

  • However, we learned earlier that customers commonly complained that Hydro Mousse only covered about 20 square feet, since the seeds and “mousse” often seemed to come out all at once. In this scenario, you’d spend more than $8,700 to apply Liquid Lawn to your whole lawn.

  • On the other hand, professional hydroseeding generally costs $0.10 - $0.12 per square foot, resulting in a cost of $800 - $1,000 to have it professionally done for you.

Together, the manufacturer’s claim that Hydro Mousse will provide “professional results at a fraction of the cost” doesn’t seem to add up.

Furthermore, based on what we learned from customer reviews, Liquid Lawn might not deliver meaningfully better results than standard bluegrass, fescue, and ryegrass seed blends, which can often be purchased locally for less than $15 and cover a minimum of 750 square feet (or, about $0.02 per square foot). Which works out to much less money than at-home hydroseeding products like Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn and competitors.

» Read Next: 5 Tips for Achieving the Greenest Grass on the Block This Spring


Customer Reviews

Start your review of Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn:
  • 317 Customer Reviews
  • 10% Recommend This Company
1.3 out of 5
5 star: 5% 4 star: 1% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 2% 1 star: 88%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Worse product I ever bought

    • By Doug W.,
    • Davenport, FL,
    • Jul 2, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Product containers are absolutely worthless. After being "snookered" in by their advertising I bought four. The longest any one container lasted was less than two minutes using very little water pressure. Despite following recommended procedures, there was no influx of new grass. This stuff is a joke. I will consider my mission accomplished if I persuade just a person not to buy. Hopefully more, a lot more.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Their ability to sell junk
    • They are selling a worthless product

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Highly unsatisfied with service

    • By Stephen E.,
    • New Jersey,
    • Jun 10, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I don't know how good the product is but the customer service sucks. You can't get hold of a human and they don't provide an email address. The order was supposed to ship in 3 weeks. I am now approaching the 6th week, no product. I have been trying to call to cancel, well, you can't. There is no way to contact a human. I have been on hold the first time today for 1 hour and now an additional half-hour. The only good thing is they at least have not charged me.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • No way to get service

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Half order received

    • By Colin J.,
    • United Kingdom,
    • Jun 4, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered this product however received no Hydro Mousse Liquid or seed. It is impossible to email them and the number they give is not recognized. I tried to return it under the 30-day but they don't give you a return address.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Instructions on its use
    • Total lack of information with regards a query
    • No complaints system

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • It's a joke

    • By Gerald C.,
    • Kissimmee, FL,
    • Jun 3, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    After waiting over a month, the kit arrived. I spent two days prepping the ground and removing all the weeds. I practiced spraying with just water like it said, anticipating what it would be like with foam and seed. Well, there was no mousse, just a lot of green staining water. The handle leaked and stained my hands green. My kit was to cover 200 sq feet. It came with 1/2 pound of seed which really is not enough to cover 200 sq feet even if broadcast. After spraying green water over 300 sq feet, I stopped and checked the bottle and half of the seed was still in the bottle. Useless.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not impressed

    • By Cherie H.,
    • Utah,
    • May 28, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have tried to contact this company multiple times through email and phone. NOTHING! I have not received this product to even try it out! Thus far, product reviews and customer service warrants -10! What a waste of time and money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Inefficient system

    • By William W.,
    • Cincinnati, OH,
    • Apr 24, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I attempted to order the $19.99 package on the phone.

    System automatically ordered the $79.95 package.

    Phone system did not respond to my repeated attempts to cancel or amend my order. On hold for 45 minutes trying to get through to customer service. Message stated that I could check my order online.

    No luck.

    INEFFICIENT AND DECEPTIVE.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Out of date and did not mousse up

    • By Doug L.,
    • Leavenworth, KS,
    • Apr 4, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Bought this product from Ace Hardware late March 2021. After getting the product home we noticed that the "Use By Date" was September 2019. Used it anyways. Result was that it did not mousse up at all. It only sprayed out the seeds with a blue clear liquid. Immediately afterward, there was NO mousse mulch present at all cornering the ground. Only a bunch is plain seed on bare ground. What a rip off.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • This stuff is worthless

    • By Joe D.,
    • Ventura, CA,
    • Dec 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I paid $20.00 for a "double order" of this stuff then spent whatever it cost to water it 3 times a day for 3 weeks until I gave up. All I got was mud, no grass.

    This stuff is totally worthless and I think the ad I saw for it was misleading. I have reported it to the FCC.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Big green mess

    • By James Q.,
    • Denver, CO,
    • Oct 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Don’t buy it.

    Don’t do it.

    Don’t waste your money.

    It’s a gimmick with a cool commercial and that’s it!

    Sprayer is cheaply made, so it’s not a tight fit and water sprays out at the connector point, you’re better off to spray paint your lawn green! God forbid you get the slightest particles of that darn mousse on you and it comes in contact with water! Your hands go green, it’s a mess! Product would make a good trick to play on a lousy neighbor! DO not try and mix the packet indoors! You can have a small disaster...but don’t waste your money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Clueless

    • By Kennedy B.,
    • Fort Mohave, AZ,
    • Aug 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered this and got nothing. I called and called, nothing but clueless customer service representative, and very useless supervisor. If I don't get it by tomorrow, I will call my bank and have it refunded to my account in 4 minutes. So my review about if it works, no idea. I can't get a straight answer, a lot of clueless and useless runaround redundant nonsense.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Did not come as they said

    • By Jean H.,
    • Bremerton, WA,
    • Aug 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    After waiting for almost two months my Hydro Mousse arrived without any seed in it I was very disappointed! I have no one to contact nor time to wait another two months and now they are restricting my words.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 317

Write a Review for Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn