About Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Updated on: May 10, 2018

After attaching to any garden hose and setting the dial, Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn’s eco-friendly Spray n' Stay hydroseeding technology ensures its seeds attach firmly to the soil, while also reducing the surface tension and increasing its water absorption ability.

Each container covers up to 100 square feet with a "high-quality seed mixture" that "blends perfectly with your existing lawn,” making it ideal for many different applications, including dry spots, dog spots, and high traffic and shaded areas. It even grows in hot or cold weather.

Together, the website advertises this green mousse formula eliminates guesswork by showing where you’re planting, makes reseeding as easy as watering your lawn, and reduces the likelihood of losing seeds to birds or weathers. Is this what you can realistically expect?

We’ve learned a lot from the 280+ HighYa readers who have provided feedback about their experiences with Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn, as well as from our in-depth research into the manufacturer’s core claims.

In this article, we’ll walk you through each of the product’s important details. After just a few minutes, you’ll have a better idea which step you should take next. Let’s start with the price.

How Much Does Hydro Mousse Cost and Where Can You Buy?

Hydro Mousse is available in two different kits:

  • Standard Kit – Includes one sprayer with attached seed container. Enough for 200 spots or 100 square feet: $19.95 plus $7.95 S&H, bringing your total to $27.90 (or, about $0.28 per square foot)

  • Best Value Kit – Includes everything in the Standard Kit, in addition to five seed refill bags for $79.80 plus $29.95 S&H, bringing your total to $109.75 (or, about $0.18 per square foot)

The manufacturer also offered the Standard Kit on Amazon for $24.99, with free shipping available for Prime members.

Regardless of which direct option you choose, Hydro Mousse comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges. Note: This means that if you order the Best Value Kit and request a refund, you’ll have to send six bags of seed back to the manufacturer, which could cost a decent chunk of change in return S&H charges.

To request a refund, you’ll need to contact customer service at 888-405-8997.

Now, let’s dive into perhaps the three important aspects regarding Hydro Mousse’s functionality.

1. How Does Hydro Mousse’s Spray n' Stay Hydroseeding Technology Work?

DoItYourself.com explains that hydroseeding (also frequently referred to as hydraulic mulch seeding, hydraseeding, and hydro mulching) involves using a hose to spray a special mixture of “water, seeds, fertilizer, cellulose fiber or wood mulch, and soil treatment agents” onto the ground.

Not only does this mixture help “shelter your seeds from sunlight, wind, and soil erosion,” they explain that it also “helps create a bond with the soil” and “releases a wide range of nutrients that help your seeds thrive” during its natural decomposition process.

Furthermore, this mixture is typically dyed green to a) make it easier to apply and b) help make it less of eyesore immediately after application, until the seed has had time to germinate and grow.

Hydroseeding was initially used for large agricultural purposes, such as restoring burned areas and controlling erosion, so it required application by trained professionals. Recently, however, products like Hydro Mousse have entered the marketplace, promising to provide many of hydroseeding’s same benefits, but at a scaled down size useful for residential applications.

2. What Ingredients and Seed Types Does Hydro Mousse Contain?

Other than telling us Hydro Mousse contains a “high quality” seed mixture that’s resistant to extreme heat and cold and will blend perfectly with your existing lawn, the manufacturer doesn’t provide any information about the exact species of grass seed it contains, nor the specific ingredients found in their eco-friendly slurry.

We reached out to several support representatives during our research, none of which were able to provide additional insight.

However, according to the EpicReviewGuys YouTube channel, the only active ingredient in Liquid Lawn’s green foaming agent is alpha olefin sulfonate (15%), with 85% ‘other ingredients.’ The seed mix includes:

  • Xtreme Green Tall Fescue 39.94%
  • Corsair Kentucky Bluegrass 19.82%
  • Radar Chewings Fescue 19.77%
  • Academy III Perennial Ryegrass 19.55%

Are these ideal? According to Lowe’s, the ‘best’ seed type for your particular application will depend on a wide variety of environmental factors, such as climate and soil type, in addition to other considerations like sun/shade levels, amount of traffic, and even how short you choose to mow your grass.

With this said, fescue grass is adaptable to a wide range of climates and soil conditions (even in drought areas), although it typically thrives in moist environments in transition zone states like AR, GA, KY, OK, MO, NC, TN, TX, and VA.

Kentucky Bluegrass has a shallower root system than fescue and typically requires a greater amount of water during the summer, although it goes dormant during the winter and requires no watering at all.

Finally, Perennial Ryegrass boasts high traffic tolerance and naturally prevents the growth of weeds, but doesn’t withstand cold temperatures well, requires a great deal of maintenance, and can crowd out other beneficial grasses and plants.

USDA Hardiness Zones Map In this hardiness zones maps from the USDA, we can see that the type of grass you should plant (and when you should plant it) depends largely on your climate. Credit: SeedLand.com

3. Is Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn Really as Easy as Watering Your Lawn?

If you fast-forward to the 1:20 mark in this instructional video posted by Hydro Mousse’s manufacturer, you’ll see that even if you only cover dog spots or fill in high-traffic areas, the surface area must be prepped. This involves removing all dead vegetation (including your existing grass), loosening the topsoil, and watering your lawn three times daily after application.

Depending on the size of the area you’re looking to apply Hydro Mousse, this prep work requirement could translate into a meaningfully more labor-intensive endeavor than the commercial might make it seem.

A Look at Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn Reviews and Complaints

Customer Reviews

Since writing our original article, more than 280 HighYa readers have chimed in about their experiences with Hydro Mouse (as of 5/8/18), giving it an average rating of 1.4 stars. While a handful of customers reported good results, in general, most complaints appeared to revolve around:

  • Difficult application – Many customers indicated the container doesn’t eject its contents properly, resulting in most of the seeds remaining in the bottom after all of the green mousse had sprayed out. In fact, more than one customer stated that it worked better by simply by unscrewing the cap and pouring the mixture out by hand.

  • Spot treatment functionality – Multiple customers reported that the bottle trigger shown in the commercial isn’t functional. Instead, once you turn on your water, they indicated everything in the bottle comes out all at once (including the mousse and the seeds), which meant there isn’t an ability to spot treat.

  • Much less coverage than advertised – Many customers claimed there was only enough mousse in the bottle to cover about 20 square feet.

Note: The instructional video linked to earlier covers everything from unpacking the system and choosing an application area, to how to clean up afterward. This could potentially help clear up any user errors that may have caused some of the experiences noted above.

Additional common complaints included:

  • Inferior seed varieties – Many reviewers claimed that you could purchase similar seed mixes from local hardware stores for much less (we’ll discuss this important aspect again, soon).

  • Staining & potential toxicity – Several customers stated that Liquid Lawn stains, so be sure to wear gloves and old clothes when applying, while also taking care around driveways, sidewalks, and other concrete areas. Also, some claimed the mousse made their pets sick and/or the chemicals it contains burned their carpeting.

Hands-On Reviews

A Canadian network news team conducted a 14-day Hydro Mousse review in July 2014 and found that the treated area grew only in patches. However, they pointed out that an area of fresh dirt on the same piece of property filled in much better.

FeXNet Review also found that after two weeks, Liquid Lawn had only grown in patches in a small area, which was prepped according to the manufacturer’s recommendations (tilling topsoil a full 3” from the surface, as well as removing any existing grass or weeds). In fact, they reported standard grass seeds planted alongside performed better than Hydro Mousse.

On the other hand, YouTuber Steve Johnson created a short four-part series examining Hydro Mousse, from initial spraying to nine days after application, and seemed to experience better results. He even posted a follow-up video revealing that some of his leftover seeds inside the sprayer had germinated after a few days.

Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn vs. Grass Shot

The only other at-home hydroseeding product currently competing for the same customers as Liquid Lawn is Grass Shot, which also attaches to a garden hose, ejects a green foam that promises to hydrate and nourish the soil, and features replacement kits for refilling.

Although they were found in different percentages, both of these formulas also contained two types of Fescue, one type of Kentucky Bluegrass, and one type of Perennial Ryegrass:

Brand Price / Quantity Seed Mix
Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn $19.95 + $7.95 S&H / 100 square feet Xtreme Green Tall Fescue (39.94%), Corsair Kentucky Bluegrass (19.82%), Radar Chewings Fescue (19.77%), Academy III Perennial Ryegrass (19.55%)
Grass Shot $27.90 + $9.35 S&H / 700 square feet Rhizing Star Tall Fescue (24.94%) All Star 2 Perennial Ryegrass (20.64%), Boreal Creeping Red Fescue (14.80%), Harmonie Kentucky Bluegrass (9.98%)

Comparing these two side-by-side, we can see that Hydro Mousse comes with a lower price, but it also covers a meaningfully smaller area than what’s advertised by Grass Shot’s manufacturer.

Grass Shot also came with very similar Amazon customer reviews and an overall average rating of 1.9 stars at the time of our research. As with Liquid Lawn, common complaints referenced difficult application, no grass growth, and high price.

Given their similar seed mixes, claims, price points, and average customer ratings, how can you choose which of these options—if any—is the right one for you?

Our Final Thoughts About Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn

Here at HighYa, our goal is to present you with the facts, let them speak for themselves, and leave the final decision up to you. We’re not here to tell you how to spend your hard-earned money.

Based on what we learned during our research, it seems most online customers who left reviews about their experiences were disappointed with Hydro Mousse’s performance, whether during application, weeks later, or both. Many who used it to spot treat seemed to report better results than those who applied the formula to larger areas.

Even if Hydro Mousse were reported by customers to work exactly as advertised, though, as consumers ourselves, we’d question its overall value. For example, let’s run some quick numbers based on reseeding an entire lawn:

  • The average lawn size in the U.S. is 1/5 of an acre, or about 8,712 square feet (front and back).

  • With 100 feet of coverage at the cost of $20 per bottle, this means that you'd likely spend around $1,742 in order to apply Hydro Mousse to your entire lawn.

  • However, we learned earlier that customers commonly complained that Hydro Mousse only covered about 20 square feet, since the seeds and “mousse” often seemed to come out all at once. In this scenario, you’d spend more than $8,700 to apply Liquid Lawn to your whole lawn.

  • On the other hand, professional hydroseeding generally costs $0.10 - $0.12 per square foot, resulting in a cost of $800 - $1,000 to have it professionally done for you.

Together, the manufacturer’s claim that Hydro Mousse will provide “professional results at a fraction of the cost” doesn’t seem to add up.

Furthermore, based on what we learned from customer reviews, Liquid Lawn might not deliver meaningfully better results than standard bluegrass, fescue, and ryegrass seed blends, which can often be purchased locally for less than $15 and cover a minimum of 750 square feet (or, about $0.02 per square foot). Which works out to much less money than at-home hydroseeding products like Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn and competitors.

» Read Next: 5 Tips for Achieving the Greenest Grass on the Block This Spring

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 297 Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 19 4 star: 6 3 star: 2 2 star: 9 1 star:  261
Bottom Line: 11% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 297
Sort reviews by:

  • Horrible product

    • Lihue, HI,
    • May 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this at Home Depot for 20 bucks, expecting it to be similar to the commercial sprayers working on our new subdivision. We saw the commercial sprayers had hydro-seeded the community park with actual, real hydroseed.

    I followed the directions religiously. The canister leaks badly, and the garbage that comes out of this thing is cheap, green food coloring that quickly fades to nothing. The canister contains a very small packet of fake green dye, and about 5 cents worth of ryegrass (ryegrass!). After a few seconds, the cheap fake green dye and the nickel's worth of ryegrass are gone and you've been suckered out of 20 bucks plus tax for a complete scam! Shame on Home Depot for selling this garbage. They should be ashamed of themselves. Let's break it down: 5 cents for the fancy looking canister, 5 cents for the tiny sack of fake green dye, and 5 cents for the pitiful little sack of rye seed. Using rye seed is a gimmick. It says "proprietary blend" but if you look at it, it's cheap plain die off early rye. Ryegrass can grow fast but it will die in 6 months.

    After I used this product, there was no growth at all, nothing. Not even any residue was left, nothing at all. Horrible scam, and these thieves have probably made a fortune ripping off people one at a time. Way to go Home Depot!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Worthless

    • Asheville, NC,
    • May 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    A waste of $20 and my time. Do not buy this product because it does not work and can be difficult to apply. After 10 days I still had the green dye still on my hands after numerous hand washings, and grass did not grow even after a month and watering at least twice a day. The spots in the yard are still bare and before applying, I did use a rake and tear up the dirt and followed the directions, but still no grass.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Total crap!

    • Texas,
    • May 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Exactly a month. Where are my seeds? Turning you into the BBB. I was so ready to get the grass growing. This product sucks. Just got off the phone with customer service. Was told they are sorry, nothing they can do for me. Total BS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    DISSASTISFIED

    • Queensland, Australia,
    • Apr 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received the spray container, nothing else - no seed mix, no Hydro Mousse. Just a rip-off. Will be getting in touch with right authorities to deal with this. WILL ALSO BE IN CONTACT WITH police crime investigations division and federal police. People cannot be ripped off by these online companies all the time and get away with it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    No seeds in nox

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Apr 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Just got my Hydro Mousse in the mail. No seeds, just empty container. Rip off. How do they get away with this? Took over a month to get this empty container. Wow! Was ready to see some results.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Rip off

    • London, United Kingdom,
    • Mar 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Totally useless, do not waste your money. Nothing works as it should. Instructions are useless and dispensing the seed is a complete nightmare. I am now confining this useless piece of equipment to the trash can.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    I didn't get any seeds

    • Victoria, Australia,
    • Oct 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I didn't get any seeds with my purchase, where are my seeds? I need my seeds to grow grass. I am not happy with my current purchase. Can you please send me the seeds that I paid for now?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Rip off

    • Melbourne, Australia,
    • Oct 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Lesson learned...read reviews before purchasing. The bottles arrived with no seeds. IT doesn’t do what it says it does. One of the best money making scams I’ve come across. Don’t be fooled by the commercial, it’s not what the ad makes it out to be. I think they spent more money on creating the ad then they did to develop this useless product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy.

    • Howell, MI,
    • Sep 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It says it does 200 square feet with the double speed offer, but only lasted 9 square feet. A big waste of money. It also leaked. Seeding by hand would be quicker and easier. I called customer service, and they told me you can't go by what the commercial does. WHAT.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Where is my seed?

    • Stevensville, Ontario, Canada,
    • Aug 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered this product that I saw on TV, I paid for it and waited for the product to be delivered. I received my spray bottles but NO seed! This is BS, and then you took my money, but they never deliver what I had ordered. I sent an email to this company, but as of yet, I have NOT heard back from them. Do they have a manager that I can speak to?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Total ripoff!

    • Maryland,
    • Aug 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It did not come with seeds. It's overpriced and has a cheap applicator. It's nothing like advertised. I will not recommend this and the ad should be stopped. It's a very poor product. Please do not waste your money. Huge scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 297

Write a Review for Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review