Jump To:
Our Editorial Review
Customer Reviews

Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn

Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn

Overall Rating

1.3

331 Customer Reviews

Summary

Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn combines four different seed varieties with a formula that is designed to hydrate and nourish the soil to help you achieve a great-looking grass. In this analysis, we take a detailed look at its formula and effectiveness to help you decide if this product is the right choice for you.

Write a Review

Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn Review

By Derek Lakin

Updated on: Aug 19, 2020

Hydroseeding: How It Works

Hydroseeding involves using a hose to spray a special mixture of “water, seeds, fertilizer, cellulose fiber or wood mulch, and soil treatment agents” onto the ground.

Not only does this mixture help “shelter your seeds from sunlight, wind, and soil erosion,” they explain that it also “helps create a bond with the soil” and “releases a wide range of nutrients that help your seeds thrive” during its natural decomposition process.

Furthermore, this mixture is typically dyed green to make it easier to apply and help make it less of eyesore immediately after application, until the seed has had time to germinate and grow.

Hydroseeding was initially used for large agricultural purposes, such as restoring burned areas and controlling erosion, so it required application by trained professionals.

Recently, however, products like Hydro Mousse have entered the marketplace, promising to provide many of hydroseeding’s same benefits, but at a scaled-down size useful for residential applications.

What Seed Types Does Hydro Mousse Contain?

Other than telling us Hydro Mousse contains a “high quality” seed mixture that’s resistant to extreme heat and cold and will blend perfectly with your existing lawn, the manufacturer doesn’t provide any information about the exact species of grass seed it contains, nor the specific ingredients found in their eco-friendly slurry.

However, according to the EpicReviewGuys, the only active ingredient in Liquid Lawn’s green foaming agent is alpha-olefin sulfonate (15%), with 85% ‘other ingredients.’ The seed mix includes:

  • Xtreme Green Tall Fescue 39.94%
  • Corsair Kentucky Bluegrass 19.82%
  • Radar Chewings Fescue 19.77%
  • Academy III Perennial Ryegrass 19.55%

Are these ideal? The best seed type for your particular application will depend on a wide variety of environmental factors, such as climate and soil type, in addition to other considerations like sun/shade levels, amount of traffic, and even how short you choose to mow your grass.

With this said, Fescue grass is adaptable to a wide range of climates and soil conditions (even in drought areas), although it typically thrives in moist environments in transition zone states like AR, GA, KY, OK, MO, NC, TN, TX, and VA.

Kentucky Bluegrass has a shallower root system than fescue and typically requires a greater amount of water during the summer, although it goes dormant during the winter and requires no watering at all.

Finally, Perennial Ryegrass boasts high traffic tolerance and naturally prevents the growth of weeds, but doesn’t withstand cold temperatures well, requires a great deal of maintenance, and can crowd out other beneficial grasses and plants.

Is Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn Effective?

Over 300 customers have reviewed Hydro Mouse on our website, giving it an average rating of 1.3 stars. While a handful of customers reported good results, in general, most complaints appeared to revolve around:

  • Difficult application – Many customers indicated the container doesn’t eject its contents properly, resulting in most of the seeds remaining in the bottom after all of the green mousse had sprayed out.

  • Spot treatment functionality – Multiple customers reported that the bottle trigger shown in the commercial isn’t functional. Instead, once you turn on your water, they indicated everything in the bottle comes out all at once (including the mousse and the seeds), which meant there isn’t an ability to spot treat.

  • Much less coverage than advertised – Many customers claimed there was only enough mousse in the bottle to cover about 20 square feet.

Additional common complaints included:

  • Inferior seed varieties – Many reviewers claimed that you could purchase similar seed mixes from local hardware stores for much less (we’ll discuss this important aspect again, soon).

  • Staining and potential toxicity – Several customers stated that Liquid Lawn stains, so be sure to wear gloves and old clothes when applying, while also taking care around driveways, sidewalks, and other concrete areas. Also, some claimed the mousse made their pets sick and/or the chemicals it contains burned their carpeting.

A Canadian network news team conducted a 14-day Hydro Mousse test in July 2014 and found that the treated area grew only in patches. However, they pointed out that an area of fresh dirt on the same piece of property filled in much better.

On the other hand, YouTuber Steve Johnson created a short four-part series examining Hydro Mousse, from initial spraying to nine days after application, and seemed to experience better results.

He even posted a follow-up video revealing that some of his leftover seeds inside the sprayer had germinated after a few days.

The Bottom Line

Most customers who left reviews about their experiences were disappointed with Hydro Mousse’s performance, whether during the application, weeks later, or both.

Many who used it to spot treat seemed to report better results than those who applied the formula to larger areas.

Furthermore, Liquid Lawn might not deliver meaningfully better results than standard bluegrass, fescue, and ryegrass seed blends, which can often be purchased locally for less than $15 and cover a minimum of 750 square feet (or, about $0.02 per square foot).

Customer Reviews

1.3 Stars out of 331 Reviews
5 Star:5% 4 Star:1% 3 Star:0% 2 Star:2% 1 Star:88%
9% Recommend This Product
Start your review of Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Jun 23, 2021

Crap

By Al F. , St. Louis, MO

I paid almost $75 and have not received anything yet. A bunch of crooks. Crap. Don't buy.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 16, 2021

Patching spots on my lawn

By David N., Windham, NH, Verified Reviewer

I bought the kit sprayer and six bags of this product last month at Home Depot. Did the same thing last summer and got the same results. Nothing, it's a waste of time buying this product and it costs big bucks. I bought a bag of grass seed yesterday because I am tired of waiting to see grass. I have an irrigation system so water was not the reason I see nothing. Maybe I should hire that woman in their commercials to get my grass to grow. Buy a bag of grass seed.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Does not work

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 2, 2021

Total junk

By Jonathan A., Colorado, Verified Reviewer

The plastic tank just pops off the handle as soon as there is any pressure. Regardless if you leave it on the spray position as soon as there is any pressure in the tank, off it comes from the head. And know it is not cross-threaded, it is just junk. Handle leaks all over the place, what a joke after waiting almost two months to get.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Poor construction

Did not ever work

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on May 25, 2021

Don't waste your money

By Bill S. , Oklahoma

It is all a scam. Go to your local nursery or coop and get your grass seed and spread it and rake it in and water it. It is that simple (and much cheaper).

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on May 25, 2021

Terrible product

By Bill M., Michigan, Verified Reviewer

Terrible product, a total waste of time and money. Search and watch "deal or dud" FOX 4 News Fort Worth, Texas full report with video on Hydro Mousse - wish I had watched it before I wasted all my time and some money.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Does not work

TV ad and website videos are totally deceiving

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on May 11, 2021

Really bad, don't waste our money

By Thomas K., Robesonia, PA, Verified Reviewer

I purchased this product from my local hardware store. I also purchased a refill kit. The total cost was $44.00. When I hooked up the spray bottle and opened up the seed that was in the container, I dumped it into the bottle and began spraying. Was not green like commercial shows. Then I find out that there should have been a packet included that creates the mousse, there was no packet included in the bottle. I opened up the refill packet and used that along with the mousse packed that was included with that, needless to say, again was not like the commercial depicted. Do not buy this product, a total waste of money!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Did not work as advertised

Mousse pack missing

Too expensive for a cheap product

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on May 6, 2021

Do not purchase this product.

By Lonnie H., Clemmons, NC, Verified Reviewer

First I purchased the Hydro Mousse at my local ACE Hardware instead of thru the company. This was the worst product that I have ever purchase. Did all the pre-work for some small bare spots in my yard. Started spraying the Hydro Mousse and it came out just green water, no mousse, and later just turn to plain water. Contacted the company and was told since I did not purchase it through them that there was nothing that they could or would do about the problem, in other words, they will not stand behind their product in any way.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Did not do as indicated it would work

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 27, 2021

Scam city

By Charles S., Tampa, FL, Verified Reviewer

No seed was included with both kits I bought. Went out and bought seed. Despite following instructions, and with the lid properly screwed in, I turned on the water and the screw-on top exploded off the bottle...both times. Ruined $30.00 in grass seed, most of which exploded onto me.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Not as advertised

Totally useless waste of money

Worst thing I bought in a long time

No “cons” were specified in this review

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 23, 2021

Poor standard product

By Chris O. , Manchester, United Kingdom

Spray bottle is of poor quality, so much so that water came out of every gap in the handle except the nozzle where it should have come from. I didn't even get the point of getting the seed and mousse on the lawn.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

It's is a complete waste of money

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 21, 2020

Two orders

By David A., Allen, TX, Verified Reviewer

I have ordered this 4 times and the first time got only the sprayer and container with no grass seed or liquid. The other order came with the sprayer, container, and liquid but again no seed as was advertised in the how-to video.

Way overrated!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Misleading advertising and missing components

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 4, 2020

Very poor product - do not recommend

By Krys L., Chicago, IL, Verified Reviewer

I purchased this for the bald spots on my lawn. The product doesn't have any seals so water leaks everywhere. The top "off, light seed, heavy seed" does nothing. The "mousse" isn't a mousse. It dyed the water green, and my hands, and my shoes as it sprayed everywhere. No seed even came out of the spray!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Not as advertised

No seal

No mousse or seed comes out

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted
Showing 1-11 of 331

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.