About Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Updated on: May 10, 2018

After attaching to any garden hose and setting the dial, Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn’s eco-friendly Spray n' Stay hydroseeding technology ensures its seeds attach firmly to the soil, while also reducing the surface tension and increasing its water absorption ability.

Each container covers up to 100 square feet with a "high-quality seed mixture" that "blends perfectly with your existing lawn,” making it ideal for many different applications, including dry spots, dog spots, and high traffic and shaded areas. It even grows in hot or cold weather.

Together, the website advertises this green mousse formula eliminates guesswork by showing where you’re planting, makes reseeding as easy as watering your lawn, and reduces the likelihood of losing seeds to birds or weathers. Is this what you can realistically expect?

We’ve learned a lot from the 280+ HighYa readers who have provided feedback about their experiences with Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn, as well as from our in-depth research into the manufacturer’s core claims.

In this article, we’ll walk you through each of the product’s important details. After just a few minutes, you’ll have a better idea which step you should take next. Let’s start with the price.

How Much Does Hydro Mousse Cost and Where Can You Buy?

Hydro Mousse is available in two different kits:

  • Standard Kit – Includes one sprayer with attached seed container. Enough for 200 spots or 100 square feet: $19.95 plus $7.95 S&H, bringing your total to $27.90 (or, about $0.28 per square foot)

  • Best Value Kit – Includes everything in the Standard Kit, in addition to five seed refill bags for $79.80 plus $29.95 S&H, bringing your total to $109.75 (or, about $0.18 per square foot)

The manufacturer also offered the Standard Kit on Amazon for $24.99, with free shipping available for Prime members.

Regardless of which direct option you choose, Hydro Mousse comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges. Note: This means that if you order the Best Value Kit and request a refund, you’ll have to send six bags of seed back to the manufacturer, which could cost a decent chunk of change in return S&H charges.

To request a refund, you’ll need to contact customer service at 888-405-8997.

Now, let’s dive into perhaps the three important aspects regarding Hydro Mousse’s functionality.

1. How Does Hydro Mousse’s Spray n' Stay Hydroseeding Technology Work?

DoItYourself.com explains that hydroseeding (also frequently referred to as hydraulic mulch seeding, hydraseeding, and hydro mulching) involves using a hose to spray a special mixture of “water, seeds, fertilizer, cellulose fiber or wood mulch, and soil treatment agents” onto the ground.

Not only does this mixture help “shelter your seeds from sunlight, wind, and soil erosion,” they explain that it also “helps create a bond with the soil” and “releases a wide range of nutrients that help your seeds thrive” during its natural decomposition process.

Furthermore, this mixture is typically dyed green to a) make it easier to apply and b) help make it less of eyesore immediately after application, until the seed has had time to germinate and grow.

Hydroseeding was initially used for large agricultural purposes, such as restoring burned areas and controlling erosion, so it required application by trained professionals. Recently, however, products like Hydro Mousse have entered the marketplace, promising to provide many of hydroseeding’s same benefits, but at a scaled down size useful for residential applications.

2. What Ingredients and Seed Types Does Hydro Mousse Contain?

Other than telling us Hydro Mousse contains a “high quality” seed mixture that’s resistant to extreme heat and cold and will blend perfectly with your existing lawn, the manufacturer doesn’t provide any information about the exact species of grass seed it contains, nor the specific ingredients found in their eco-friendly slurry.

We reached out to several support representatives during our research, none of which were able to provide additional insight.

However, according to the EpicReviewGuys YouTube channel, the only active ingredient in Liquid Lawn’s green foaming agent is alpha olefin sulfonate (15%), with 85% ‘other ingredients.’ The seed mix includes:

  • Xtreme Green Tall Fescue 39.94%
  • Corsair Kentucky Bluegrass 19.82%
  • Radar Chewings Fescue 19.77%
  • Academy III Perennial Ryegrass 19.55%

Are these ideal? According to Lowe’s, the ‘best’ seed type for your particular application will depend on a wide variety of environmental factors, such as climate and soil type, in addition to other considerations like sun/shade levels, amount of traffic, and even how short you choose to mow your grass.

With this said, fescue grass is adaptable to a wide range of climates and soil conditions (even in drought areas), although it typically thrives in moist environments in transition zone states like AR, GA, KY, OK, MO, NC, TN, TX, and VA.

Kentucky Bluegrass has a shallower root system than fescue and typically requires a greater amount of water during the summer, although it goes dormant during the winter and requires no watering at all.

Finally, Perennial Ryegrass boasts high traffic tolerance and naturally prevents the growth of weeds, but doesn’t withstand cold temperatures well, requires a great deal of maintenance, and can crowd out other beneficial grasses and plants.

USDA Hardiness Zones Map In this hardiness zones maps from the USDA, we can see that the type of grass you should plant (and when you should plant it) depends largely on your climate. Credit: SeedLand.com

3. Is Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn Really as Easy as Watering Your Lawn?

If you fast-forward to the 1:20 mark in this instructional video posted by Hydro Mousse’s manufacturer, you’ll see that even if you only cover dog spots or fill in high-traffic areas, the surface area must be prepped. This involves removing all dead vegetation (including your existing grass), loosening the topsoil, and watering your lawn three times daily after application.

Depending on the size of the area you’re looking to apply Hydro Mousse, this prep work requirement could translate into a meaningfully more labor-intensive endeavor than the commercial might make it seem.

A Look at Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn Reviews and Complaints

Customer Reviews

Since writing our original article, more than 280 HighYa readers have chimed in about their experiences with Hydro Mouse (as of 5/8/18), giving it an average rating of 1.4 stars. While a handful of customers reported good results, in general, most complaints appeared to revolve around:

  • Difficult application – Many customers indicated the container doesn’t eject its contents properly, resulting in most of the seeds remaining in the bottom after all of the green mousse had sprayed out. In fact, more than one customer stated that it worked better by simply by unscrewing the cap and pouring the mixture out by hand.

  • Spot treatment functionality – Multiple customers reported that the bottle trigger shown in the commercial isn’t functional. Instead, once you turn on your water, they indicated everything in the bottle comes out all at once (including the mousse and the seeds), which meant there isn’t an ability to spot treat.

  • Much less coverage than advertised – Many customers claimed there was only enough mousse in the bottle to cover about 20 square feet.

Note: The instructional video linked to earlier covers everything from unpacking the system and choosing an application area, to how to clean up afterward. This could potentially help clear up any user errors that may have caused some of the experiences noted above.

Additional common complaints included:

  • Inferior seed varieties – Many reviewers claimed that you could purchase similar seed mixes from local hardware stores for much less (we’ll discuss this important aspect again, soon).

  • Staining & potential toxicity – Several customers stated that Liquid Lawn stains, so be sure to wear gloves and old clothes when applying, while also taking care around driveways, sidewalks, and other concrete areas. Also, some claimed the mousse made their pets sick and/or the chemicals it contains burned their carpeting.

Hands-On Reviews

A Canadian network news team conducted a 14-day Hydro Mousse review in July 2014 and found that the treated area grew only in patches. However, they pointed out that an area of fresh dirt on the same piece of property filled in much better.

FeXNet Review also found that after two weeks, Liquid Lawn had only grown in patches in a small area, which was prepped according to the manufacturer’s recommendations (tilling topsoil a full 3” from the surface, as well as removing any existing grass or weeds). In fact, they reported standard grass seeds planted alongside performed better than Hydro Mousse.

On the other hand, YouTuber Steve Johnson created a short four-part series examining Hydro Mousse, from initial spraying to nine days after application, and seemed to experience better results. He even posted a follow-up video revealing that some of his leftover seeds inside the sprayer had germinated after a few days.

Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn vs. Grass Shot

The only other at-home hydroseeding product currently competing for the same customers as Liquid Lawn is Grass Shot, which also attaches to a garden hose, ejects a green foam that promises to hydrate and nourish the soil, and features replacement kits for refilling.

Although they were found in different percentages, both of these formulas also contained two types of Fescue, one type of Kentucky Bluegrass, and one type of Perennial Ryegrass:

Brand Price / Quantity Seed Mix
Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn $19.95 + $7.95 S&H / 100 square feet Xtreme Green Tall Fescue (39.94%), Corsair Kentucky Bluegrass (19.82%), Radar Chewings Fescue (19.77%), Academy III Perennial Ryegrass (19.55%)
Grass Shot $27.90 + $9.35 S&H / 700 square feet Rhizing Star Tall Fescue (24.94%) All Star 2 Perennial Ryegrass (20.64%), Boreal Creeping Red Fescue (14.80%), Harmonie Kentucky Bluegrass (9.98%)

Comparing these two side-by-side, we can see that Hydro Mousse comes with a lower price, but it also covers a meaningfully smaller area than what’s advertised by Grass Shot’s manufacturer.

Grass Shot also came with very similar Amazon customer reviews and an overall average rating of 1.9 stars at the time of our research. As with Liquid Lawn, common complaints referenced difficult application, no grass growth, and high price.

Given their similar seed mixes, claims, price points, and average customer ratings, how can you choose which of these options—if any—is the right one for you?

Our Final Thoughts About Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn

Here at HighYa, our goal is to present you with the facts, let them speak for themselves, and leave the final decision up to you. We’re not here to tell you how to spend your hard-earned money.

Based on what we learned during our research, it seems most online customers who left reviews about their experiences were disappointed with Hydro Mousse’s performance, whether during application, weeks later, or both. Many who used it to spot treat seemed to report better results than those who applied the formula to larger areas.

Even if Hydro Mousse were reported by customers to work exactly as advertised, though, as consumers ourselves, we’d question its overall value. For example, let’s run some quick numbers based on reseeding an entire lawn:

  • The average lawn size in the U.S. is 1/5 of an acre, or about 8,712 square feet (front and back).

  • With 100 feet of coverage at the cost of $20 per bottle, this means that you'd likely spend around $1,742 in order to apply Hydro Mousse to your entire lawn.

  • However, we learned earlier that customers commonly complained that Hydro Mousse only covered about 20 square feet, since the seeds and “mousse” often seemed to come out all at once. In this scenario, you’d spend more than $8,700 to apply Liquid Lawn to your whole lawn.

  • On the other hand, professional hydroseeding generally costs $0.10 - $0.12 per square foot, resulting in a cost of $800 - $1,000 to have it professionally done for you.

Together, the manufacturer’s claim that Hydro Mousse will provide “professional results at a fraction of the cost” doesn’t seem to add up.

Furthermore, based on what we learned from customer reviews, Liquid Lawn might not deliver meaningfully better results than standard bluegrass, fescue, and ryegrass seed blends, which can often be purchased locally for less than $15 and cover a minimum of 750 square feet (or, about $0.02 per square foot). Which works out to much less money than at-home hydroseeding products like Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn and competitors.

» Read Next: 5 Tips for Achieving the Greenest Grass on the Block This Spring

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

296 Consumer Reviews for Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn

Average Consumer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 19 4 star: 6 3 star: 3 2 star: 10 1 star:  258
Bottom Line: 11% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 296
Sort reviews by:

  • I have not received the product yet ordered 2 month ago.

    • Georgia,
    • Jul 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I think this company takes too long to get there product to the customer, I ordered something from Amazon and received it in 3 days. Why would it take this long to receive the product they already have the money?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Not satisfied

    • California,
    • Jul 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased this from Home Depot and used it as directed. I broke up the top layer of soil, sprayed the mix and kept it moist. Now its been four weeks and hardly any new grass. I did follow directions, and it did not work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Beaumont, Alberta, Canada,
    • Jul 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought on Facebook the Hydro Mousse kit for $60.00. It took nine weeks to get here and when it finally got here, I opened the parcel, and I got the spray bottle (?) and that's it! Only the applicator - no seed, no mousse, nothing for $59.00, what a joke junk! I am so mad that I must tell everyone out there looking at this product do not buy this! Scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Garbage

    • Ohio,
    • Jul 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The whole top blew off when I hooked the hose up to the canister, cutting my finger. What a piece of garbage. I did everything the instructions told me to. I'm tired of people taking advantage of my money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Dud

    • Carlsbad, NM,
    • Jul 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I read the instructions and planted in spring as directed, and not one blade came up! NOTHING. I am so disappointed in this product, and to think that I believed in the TV hype. Never again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Do not be fooled

    • Florida,
    • Jul 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Just another scam. It will not grow like on TV. As a matter of fact, ours did not grow at all. Just a big green mess. Do not waste your money. A cheap sprayer and a pain to use and spray. Just like many of the As Seen On TV junk. It's a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • New South Wales, Australia,
    • Jun 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    What a load of rubbish. I just received my Hydro Mousse...it was delivered in a plastic bag, not protected. The container was smashed in so badly it could not even be dented out. The trigger sprayer's trigger was faulty and not able to move. The product was delivered without the seeds. Only the tented container, faulty trigger sprayer and the liquid formula we're thrown in the bag. What a scam! Stay away and go somewhere else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Very poor product but excellent marketing

    • West Yorkshire, England,
    • Jun 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    When my Hydro Mouse kit arrived the MOUSSE was missing and when the emphasis of the product promotes MOUSSE I thought that was rather ironic. My hose system is manufactured by HOZELOCK who are the market leaders in the UK, but sadly COULD NOT connect to my Hydro Mousse applicator. An adapter should be provided when marketing this product in the UK.

    Very poor service. I would not recommend this product to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Worst customer service ever

    • Texas,
    • Jun 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered it and they only came with just a bottle, didn't come with anything else, and they still can't find my order which I still paid for, and he will do nothing about it. And they still won't do anything about it. I called four times.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Customer service doesn't exist

    • Concord, NC,
    • Jun 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered on the first of May, and it still hasn't arrived in June. The pitiful tracking number for delivery still shows it hasn't left the factory. Email to support gets no reply, messages left to customer service gets no answer or return call. I am going to report this to my credit card company today as a scam and get my charges reversed. What looked very promising on the internet is probably a rip-off. Just shows everything you hear online isn't true. I don't want to seed grass in July. I only showed one star because I had to, I would rate as negative one if allowed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    It's a joke

    • Michigan,
    • Jun 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I read the directions and did exactly what it said, the control head leaks horribly, the dial doesn't work well at all, and all that came out was grass seed. There was no green top coat, I should've just used food coloring. I would not recommend this to anyone at all!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 296

Write a Review for Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review