About Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff
Updated on: May 10, 2018

After attaching to any garden hose and setting the dial, Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn’s eco-friendly Spray n' Stay hydroseeding technology ensures its seeds attach firmly to the soil, while also reducing the surface tension and increasing its water absorption ability.

Each container covers up to 100 square feet with a "high-quality seed mixture" that "blends perfectly with your existing lawn,” making it ideal for many different applications, including dry spots, dog spots, and high traffic and shaded areas. It even grows in hot or cold weather.

Together, the website advertises this green mousse formula eliminates guesswork by showing where you’re planting, makes reseeding as easy as watering your lawn, and reduces the likelihood of losing seeds to birds or weathers. Is this what you can realistically expect?

We’ve learned a lot from the 280+ HighYa readers who have provided feedback about their experiences with Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn, as well as from our in-depth research into the manufacturer’s core claims.

In this article, we’ll walk you through each of the product’s important details. In the end, you’ll have a better idea of which step you should take next. Let’s start with the price.

How Much Does Hydro Mousse Cost and Where Can You Buy?

Hydro Mousse is available in two different kits:

  • Standard Kit – Includes one sprayer with attached seed container. Enough for 200 spots or 100 square feet: $19.95 plus $7.95 S&H, bringing your total to $27.90 (or, about $0.28 per square foot)

  • Best Value Kit – Includes everything in the Standard Kit, in addition to five seed refill bags for $79.80 plus $29.95 S&H, bringing your total to $109.75 (or, about $0.18 per square foot)

The manufacturer also offered the Standard Kit on Amazon for $24.99, with free shipping available for Prime members.

Regardless of which direct option you choose, Hydro Mousse comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges. Note: This means that if you order the Best Value Kit and request a refund, you’ll have to send six bags of seed back to the manufacturer, which could cost a decent chunk of change in return S&H charges.

To request a refund, you’ll need to contact customer service at 888-405-8997.

Now, let’s dive into perhaps the three important aspects of Hydro Mousse’s functionality.

How Does Hydro Mousse’s Spray n’ Stay Hydroseeding Technology Work?

DoItYourself.com explains that hydroseeding (also frequently referred to as hydraulic mulch seeding, hydraseeding, and hydro mulching) involves using a hose to spray a special mixture of “water, seeds, fertilizer, cellulose fiber or wood mulch, and soil treatment agents” onto the ground.

Not only does this mixture help “shelter your seeds from sunlight, wind, and soil erosion,” they explain that it also “helps create a bond with the soil” and “releases a wide range of nutrients that help your seeds thrive” during its natural decomposition process.

Furthermore, this mixture is typically dyed green to a) make it easier to apply and b) help make it less of eyesore immediately after application, until the seed has had time to germinate and grow.

Hydroseeding was initially used for large agricultural purposes, such as restoring burned areas and controlling erosion, so it required application by trained professionals. Recently, however, products like Hydro Mousse have entered the marketplace, promising to provide many of hydroseeding’s same benefits, but at a scaled down size useful for residential applications.

What Ingredients and Seed Types Does Hydro Mousse Contain?

Other than telling us Hydro Mousse contains a “high quality” seed mixture that’s resistant to extreme heat and cold and will blend perfectly with your existing lawn, the manufacturer doesn’t provide any information about the exact species of grass seed it contains, nor the specific ingredients found in their eco-friendly slurry.

We reached out to several support representatives during our research, none of which were able to provide additional insight.

However, according to the EpicReviewGuys YouTube channel, the only active ingredient in Liquid Lawn’s green foaming agent is alpha olefin sulfonate (15%), with 85% ‘other ingredients.’ The seed mix includes:

  • Xtreme Green Tall Fescue 39.94%
  • Corsair Kentucky Bluegrass 19.82%
  • Radar Chewings Fescue 19.77%
  • Academy III Perennial Ryegrass 19.55%

Are these ideal? According to Lowe’s, the ‘best’ seed type for your particular application will depend on a wide variety of environmental factors, such as climate and soil type, in addition to other considerations like sun/shade levels, amount of traffic, and even how short you choose to mow your grass.

With this said, fescue grass is adaptable to a wide range of climates and soil conditions (even in drought areas), although it typically thrives in moist environments in transition zone states like AR, GA, KY, OK, MO, NC, TN, TX, and VA.

Kentucky Bluegrass has a shallower root system than fescue and typically requires a greater amount of water during the summer, although it goes dormant during the winter and requires no watering at all.

Finally, Perennial Ryegrass boasts high traffic tolerance and naturally prevents the growth of weeds, but doesn’t withstand cold temperatures well, requires a great deal of maintenance, and can crowd out other beneficial grasses and plants.

USDA Hardiness Zones Map In this hardiness zones maps from the USDA, we can see that the type of grass you should plant (and when you should plant it) depends largely on your climate. Credit: SeedLand.com

Is Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn Really as Easy as Watering Your Lawn?

If you fast-forward to the 1:20 mark in this instructional video posted by Hydro Mousse’s manufacturer, you’ll see that even if you only cover dog spots or fill in high-traffic areas, the surface area must be prepped. This involves removing all dead vegetation (including your existing grass), loosening the topsoil, and watering your lawn three times daily after application.

Depending on the size of the area you’re looking to apply Hydro Mousse, this prep work requirement could translate into a meaningfully more labor-intensive endeavor than the commercial might make it seem.

A Look at Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn Reviews and Complaints

Customer Reviews

Since writing our original article, more than 280 HighYa readers have chimed in about their experiences with Hydro Mouse (as of 5/8/18), giving it an average rating of 1.4 stars. While a handful of customers reported good results, in general, most complaints appeared to revolve around:

  • Difficult application – Many customers indicated the container doesn’t eject its contents properly, resulting in most of the seeds remaining in the bottom after all of the green mousse had sprayed out. In fact, more than one customer stated that it worked better by simply by unscrewing the cap and pouring the mixture out by hand.

  • Spot treatment functionality – Multiple customers reported that the bottle trigger shown in the commercial isn’t functional. Instead, once you turn on your water, they indicated everything in the bottle comes out all at once (including the mousse and the seeds), which meant there isn’t an ability to spot treat.

  • Much less coverage than advertised – Many customers claimed there was only enough mousse in the bottle to cover about 20 square feet.

Note: The instructional video linked to earlier covers everything from unpacking the system and choosing an application area, to how to clean up afterward. This could potentially help clear up any user errors that may have caused some of the experiences noted above.

Additional common complaints included:

  • Inferior seed varieties – Many reviewers claimed that you could purchase similar seed mixes from local hardware stores for much less (we’ll discuss this important aspect again, soon).

  • Staining & potential toxicity – Several customers stated that Liquid Lawn stains, so be sure to wear gloves and old clothes when applying, while also taking care around driveways, sidewalks, and other concrete areas. Also, some claimed the mousse made their pets sick and/or the chemicals it contains burned their carpeting.

Hands-On Reviews

A Canadian network news team conducted a 14-day Hydro Mousse review in July 2014 and found that the treated area grew only in patches. However, they pointed out that an area of fresh dirt on the same piece of property filled in much better.

FeXNet Review also found that after two weeks, Liquid Lawn had only grown in patches in a small area, which was prepped according to the manufacturer’s recommendations (tilling topsoil a full 3” from the surface, as well as removing any existing grass or weeds). In fact, they reported standard grass seeds planted alongside performed better than Hydro Mousse.

On the other hand, YouTuber Steve Johnson created a short four-part series examining Hydro Mousse, from initial spraying to nine days after application, and seemed to experience better results. He even posted a follow-up video revealing that some of his leftover seeds inside the sprayer had germinated after a few days.

Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn vs. Grass Shot

The only other at-home hydroseeding product currently competing for the same customers as Liquid Lawn is Grass Shot, which also attaches to a garden hose, ejects a green foam that promises to hydrate and nourish the soil and features replacement kits for refilling.

Although they were found in different percentages, both of these formulas also contained two types of Fescue, one type of Kentucky Bluegrass, and one type of Perennial Ryegrass:

Price / Quantity Seed Mix
Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn $19.95 + $7.95 S&H / 100 square feet Xtreme Green Tall Fescue (39.94%), Corsair Kentucky Bluegrass (19.82%), Radar Chewings Fescue (19.77%), Academy III Perennial Ryegrass (19.55%)
Grass Shot $27.90 + $9.35 S&H / 700 square feet Rhizing Star Tall Fescue (24.94%) All Star 2 Perennial Ryegrass (20.64%), Boreal Creeping Red Fescue (14.80%), Harmonie Kentucky Bluegrass (9.98%)

Comparing these two side-by-side, we can see that Hydro Mousse comes with a lower price, but it also covers a meaningfully smaller area than what’s advertised by Grass Shot’s manufacturer.

Grass Shot also came with very similar Amazon customer reviews and an overall average rating of 1.9 stars at the time of our research. As with Liquid Lawn, common complaints referenced difficult application, no grass growth, and high price.

Given their similar seed mixes, claims, price points, and average customer ratings, how can you choose which of these options—if any—is the right one for you?

Our Final Thoughts About Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn

Here at HighYa, our goal is to present you with the facts, let them speak for themselves, and leave the final decision up to you. We’re not here to tell you how to spend your hard-earned money.

Based on what we learned during our research, it seems most online customers who left reviews about their experiences were disappointed with Hydro Mousse’s performance, whether during the application, weeks later, or both.

Many who used it to spot treat seemed to report better results than those who applied the formula to larger areas.

Even if Hydro Mousse were reported by customers to work exactly as advertised, though, as consumers ourselves, we’d question its overall value. For example, let’s run some quick numbers based on reseeding an entire lawn:

  • The average lawn size in the U.S. is 1/5 of an acre, or about 8,712 square feet (front and back).

  • With 100 feet of coverage at the cost of $20 per bottle, this means that you'd likely spend around $1,742 in order to apply Hydro Mousse to your entire lawn.

  • However, we learned earlier that customers commonly complained that Hydro Mousse only covered about 20 square feet, since the seeds and “mousse” often seemed to come out all at once. In this scenario, you’d spend more than $8,700 to apply Liquid Lawn to your whole lawn.

  • On the other hand, professional hydroseeding generally costs $0.10 - $0.12 per square foot, resulting in a cost of $800 - $1,000 to have it professionally done for you.

Together, the manufacturer’s claim that Hydro Mousse will provide “professional results at a fraction of the cost” doesn’t seem to add up.

Furthermore, based on what we learned from customer reviews, Liquid Lawn might not deliver meaningfully better results than standard bluegrass, fescue, and ryegrass seed blends, which can often be purchased locally for less than $15 and cover a minimum of 750 square feet (or, about $0.02 per square foot). Which works out to much less money than at-home hydroseeding products like Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn and competitors.

» Read Next: 5 Tips for Achieving the Greenest Grass on the Block This Spring


Read 309 Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 19 4 star: 6 3 star: 3 2 star: 9 1 star:  272
Bottom Line: 10% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 309
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Big green mess

    • Denver, CO,
    • Oct 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don’t buy it.

    Don’t do it.

    Don’t waste your money.

    It’s a gimmick with a cool commercial and that’s it!

    Sprayer is cheaply made, so it’s not a tight fit and water sprays out at the connector point, you’re better off to spray paint your lawn green! God forbid you get the slightest particles of that darn mousse on you and it comes in contact with water! Your hands go green, it’s a mess! Product would make a good trick to play on a lousy neighbor! DO not try and mix the packet indoors! You can have a small disaster...but don’t waste your money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Clueless

    • Fort Mohave, AZ,
    • Aug 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered this and got nothing. I called and called, nothing but clueless customer service representative, and very useless supervisor. If I don't get it by tomorrow, I will call my bank and have it refunded to my account in 4 minutes. So my review about if it works, no idea. I can't get a straight answer, a lot of clueless and useless runaround redundant nonsense.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Did not come as they said

    • Bremerton, WA,
    • Aug 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After waiting for almost two months my Hydro Mousse arrived without any seed in it I was very disappointed! I have no one to contact nor time to wait another two months and now they are restricting my words.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Total waste of money and time

    • Denmark,
    • Jul 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Cheapest quality you will ever find!

    When connecting the hose it fills up and then pops off the container, resulting in the green liquid and the seeds splash all over the place. Even with reduced pressure on the water. This will never work with such thin plastic.

    Don't waste your money on this product!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money

    • Arkansas,
    • Jul 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Only got 3 containers, no seed, took forever to arrive. Not sure if I will get my money back. Buyers beware, please pass this on so others are aware. I hope the Attorney General in each state gets a copy of the scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money!

    • Oregon,
    • Jul 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    First of all, it took over a month (6 weeks) to finally receive this product. Upon unpacking, the first thing I noticed was that there was no grass seed or instruction manual as demonstrated in their video. The second thing I noticed was how cheap and flimsy the plastic was that the canister was made of. I supplied my own grass seed and proceeded to follow the video instructions. Three times I tried but the cheap plastic canister would not stay on under the pressure and weight of the water. Each time the canister and top that was attached to the hose came apart, it splashed all over me. The trigger didn't work and I had to use pliers to turn the dial. When I finally got the dial to turn and manage to keep the canister on long enough to spray, it never did spray out green solution/seed. Only water. Then the canister would pop off again. I threw it away and wasted $25!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Where's the grass?

    • Michigan,
    • Jul 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I followed the directions and then sprayed in areas where needed but NOTHING CAME UP! No grass and not one blade of new grass anywhere I sprayed it! Horrible and a total waste of money! I bought this at Walmart, and don't waste your time and money with this product!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Got NO seed!

    • Salina, KS,
    • Jul 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got the spray bottle, but they did NOT send any seed. Wrote them and had NO reply! Be aware! Hope this review will help me get the seed for the spray bottle!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Took forever to deliver, wouldn't work when it got here, didn't send any seed.

    • Towanda, KS,
    • Jun 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It took over a month before they even shipped. After one month I asked for a refund since it hadn't even shipped from their warehouse yet. They refused. I asked for a refund a week later. It still hadn't shipped. They said the courier must have lost it. Three days later still hadn't shipped, no refund either. I finally received part of the product one and a half months after I ordered. They didn't send any grass seed, and refused any reimbursement. Said they no longer included grass seed with the order. I received one applicator and six 2oz bottles for $ 89. I tried to apply using my own grass seed and the applicator exploded before anything could be applied. I'm still trying for a refund. Hopefully, PayPal will help.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Junk

    • Yelm, WA,
    • Jun 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Bought 3 sets. Took 2 months to get. Came from Korea. CHEAP! CHEAP! CHEAP! Trigger will not work, can't turn dial. Bottle builds up pressure the blows off of lid. Don't waste your money. What a joke.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    A joke

    • Florida,
    • Jun 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Packages didn't even come with grass seed as described. A scam. Want my money back. Buyers beware. Spent 63 bucks for nothing and it took forever to arrive. I expect my money back. Won't be buying this again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 309

Write a Review for Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review