Ipsy

Ipsy

Overall Rating

1.9

45 Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Summary

Ipsy offers monthly subscriptions for beauty products that let you receive deluxe-sized samples and full-sized products based on your preferences.

Pros

  • Guaranteed $50+ in value for each $12 subscription box
  • Customers can choose one item per month
  • Possible to purchase full-sized products from Ipsy
  • An affordable way to experiment with new brands

Cons

  • Ipsy might not take your preferences into account
  • Some customers found sample sizes too small to test thoroughly
  • Customization items tend to sell out quickly

Customer Reviews

1.9 Stars out of 45 Reviews
5 Star:13% 4 Star:8% 3 Star:0% 2 Star:13% 1 Star:64%
24% Recommend This Company
Start your review of Ipsy:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Jan 17, 2019

Don't buy into this "beauty bag"

By Debbie G., California, Verified Reviewer

It's all lies. First, you fill out a beauty survey, next, you get nothing that is on your survey. You end up with 10,000 eyeshadow brushes and 9,000 ugly lipsticks/glosses. Eyeshadow you don't request because you don't wear eyeshadow. Broken items and no help from "customer service."

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 15, 2019

This company is a scam

By Becky B., Atlanta, GA, Verified Reviewer

Forking over your money to Ipsy is a GAMBLE. You may or may not receive what you ordered. If you do run into any issues, "IpsyCare" will refuse to do anything for you. They acknowledge the orders have not shipped, but they will not refund you. They will not make sure you get your order. I am missing an order from nearly two months ago and my most recent ones still haven't shipped either (orders placed about two weeks ago). I thought the missing order was a one-off, but it WAS NOT. Please do not believe the good reviews online. Ipsy gives their customers points for leaving positive reviews. They are NOT reliable.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 8, 2019

Worst customer service

By Haley M., Georgia, Verified Reviewer

WORST! Don't waste your money, I got better products from PlayBox. The last two boxes I had I got duplicate eyeliners and customer service just argued with me about it until I gave up! Why would I make up being sent two crappy $5 eyeliners? I don't know if they just reserve the worst products for new subscribers or what.

Also, the survey they give you means nothing...I specifically said no hair tools (does my hair look long enough for wands or straighteners?) and my last box had, you guessed it, a flat iron as the "high-value item." Good luck unloaded unwanted items on eBay, there are so many postings (maybe other unhappy customers?) listing items that they are worth next to nothing. I'd suggest skipping the subscription, and if you see a product you want, go on eBay and buy it cheap. So happy it's my last month this month!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 23, 2018

Okay in the beginning, bad at the end.

By Jaden P., Hamilton, OH, Verified Reviewer

I originally got excited for Ipsy for its affordable price and the fact you get a bag every month. The first couple were okay, stuff I was wanting to try out. But then it turned into products I either don't use or colors I prefer not using. It truly feels like they don't care about your preferences and just give you what they have in stock. I would not recommend Ipsy to anyone.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 20, 2018

Not good with shipping

By Gina G., New York, Verified Reviewer

I signed up and paid at the beginning of the month, and even though it said it shipped, supposedly it will take weeks to get to me, which means I'm not going to get it until the following month, even though I paid at the beginning of the previous month. The pushback date keeps changing, so I'm sure it will be even longer than what it says now. If I paid for a certain month, I should get it that month, not months down the line.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 13, 2018

I would never do this again!

By Rushka K., Winchester, CA, Verified Reviewer

The only reason they get one star is because you have to give them something...I bought this as a one time gift for a friend. Before the year was up, I emailed Ipsy and told them I do not want to renew, I bought it as a one time gift. They said no problem..your subscription will not be renewed, and then, of course, a few months later I was charged $119.63. I have proof that they sent me an email canceling after the one year was up, and they still won’t give me back my money.

I can’t believe even though I have the confirmation email say that they would not renew my subscription they will not refund me. I wish I knew how to attach the email so I could show you my proof. I would never recommend this to a friend.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 7, 2018

Continued charging after cancellation

By Abby W., Cherry Hill, NJ, Verified Reviewer

It was great quality stuff until I went to cancel my subscription and they kept charging my account! I had to cancel FOUR separate times (they also make it nearly impossible to do so), and I was somehow still being charged. I stopped getting bags back in March 2018 but was charged every month through July 2018! I called and emailed Ipsy’s customer service several times with no response.

I finally had to call our bank and report them as a scam so they could cut them off from the source.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 2, 2018

Worth the money

By Beth R., Texas, Verified Reviewer

I've been getting my Ipsy bag for over a year now, and I love it. I feel I get more than my money's worth every single time (I haven't had to purchase mascara or eyeliner in the entire time I've been getting the bag!). I hardly recognize any of the brands, but they have all been super great quality. There's always plenty in each sample to use more than once, and many times you get a full sized product. And the bags are so cute!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 9, 2018

Disgusted

By Niki C., Castle Pines, CO, Verified Reviewer

Not only is Ipsy a complete ripoff with pathetic "samples" from mostly unheard of brands, but canceling your membership is comparable to leaving the mafia. I’ve never been so disgusted with a company. Don't do it!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 24, 2018

Definitely worth it

By Carley S., Idaho, Verified Reviewer

It is definitely worth the $10 if you love makeup and want to try out new products. I have gotten three months so far and have really enjoyed most of the products. It has given me makeup that I normally would not go out and spend money on, and I also found out I loved it. Every box I have gotten has a value of over $50. My last bag had a value of over $100 full retail price (I look up my products). If you aren't getting products you like, then try changing your preferences. There are many tutorials on how to get a better bag. Not all the products that you get are going to be your favorite. I have gotten at least one product for each bag that I didn't really like or use. I have tried to use all the products with an open mind and have LOVED most of them. This is a cheap subscription but be careful because once you try it you might get addicted!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Aug 18, 2018

My experience with Ipsy

By Lacey L., South Carolina, Verified Reviewer

I don't understand why so many are having this issue. I've been with Ipsy since May of last year. I never had to sign up and be on a waitlist.

Within the year of having Ipsy, I've received one broken product, which I emailed their support after reading on their page what to do if you don't receive an item or receive a broken item. They were quick to email me back and sent out a new one very quickly. I've also had two bags not arrive on the time they said it would one last year and on a few months ago and emailed them again. Again they quickly emailed back and sent out a replacement bag, no questions asked. Both times I ended up receiving a replacement bag and later my original bag, so I ended up with two.

Ipsy's bag timing is a little late. I got my bags the last week of each month for the longest time and the date was not guaranteed. I moved in December and now get them on the 10th every month.

I've not always been happy with my bags. But there have only been two times where I looked at the size and thought "what the heck." I started Ipsy last year because I had no makeup. And didn't have the funds to be buying a bunch of it. I have now a very large collection of makeup all from my Ipsy bags. Lots of full sizes as well as good sized samples. I suppose if people are huge makeup people and are using it every day then the sample sizes are probably not going to last long at all. But I don't use makeup every day. Actually, even when I do most of the time, it's just a light eyeshadow and mascara. Unless I'm taking pictures for Facebook, I don't use much at all. I've received three small mascara samples, and those have lasted me for a year and I'm still using two of them, LOL.

I've put my bag on pause for a total of three months. They never charged me. Also completely canceled for one month. I never had any issues.

Now they do push you to share and to invite. I've never invited anyone. I just ignore their asking.

As for sharing, you earn points which you can redeem for full sized extra products each time you review. If you share your review to Facebook or Twitter, you get more points. Simple thing to do is put your Facebook post with the review so only you can see it. Twitter I don't use so I don't know. Or after you post it to Facebook, just go into your app and delete it. I personally do not care about sharing my reviews. I don't think my friends and family really care either.

I really like my Ipsy bags each month. Yes, there are duds. But I have grown my makeup collection from non-existent to abundant. I've been able to experiment with products and learn what I like.

I am 28 years old and the majority of my life I've rarely worn makeup. Usually just a lippie and a sheer eyeshadow. Never experimented either. Now I love makeup. I have a good amount to choose from.

And the biggest thing is I don't have much money. I don't buy myself things. I suppose I have a minimalist outlook. Even when my bf tells me to take his card to buy myself something nice, my brain puts need over want so I end up buying something we need in the house, or if I don't need something I get something our furbabies need or my bf needs. I come home with what I get, and my bf's face palms every time, LOL.

Ipsy is the only thing I get myself each month that I do not need. And I look forward to getting my pink parcel in the mail.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted
Showing 12-22 of 45

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.