Read 40 Ipsy Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 6 4 star: 3 3 star: 0 2 star: 6 1 star:  25
Showing 12-22 of 40
Sort reviews by:

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    I would never do this again!

    • Winchester, CA,
    • Oct 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The only reason they get one star is because you have to give them something...I bought this as a one time gift for a friend. Before the year was up, I emailed Ipsy and told them I do not want to renew, I bought it as a one time gift. They said no problem..your subscription will not be renewed, and then, of course, a few months later I was charged $119.63. I have proof that they sent me an email canceling after the one year was up, and they still won’t give me back my money.

    I can’t believe even though I have the confirmation email say that they would not renew my subscription they will not refund me. I wish I knew how to attach the email so I could show you my proof. I would never recommend this to a friend.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Continued charging after cancellation

    • Cherry Hill, NJ,
    • Oct 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It was great quality stuff until I went to cancel my subscription and they kept charging my account! I had to cancel FOUR separate times (they also make it nearly impossible to do so), and I was somehow still being charged. I stopped getting bags back in March 2018 but was charged every month through July 2018! I called and emailed Ipsy’s customer service several times with no response.

    I finally had to call our bank and report them as a scam so they could cut them off from the source.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Worth the money

    • Texas,
    • Oct 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been getting my Ipsy bag for over a year now, and I love it. I feel I get more than my money's worth every single time (I haven't had to purchase mascara or eyeliner in the entire time I've been getting the bag!). I hardly recognize any of the brands, but they have all been super great quality. There's always plenty in each sample to use more than once, and many times you get a full sized product. And the bags are so cute!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Disgusted

    • Castle Pines, CO,
    • Sep 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Not only is Ipsy a complete ripoff with pathetic "samples" from mostly unheard of brands, but canceling your membership is comparable to leaving the mafia. I’ve never been so disgusted with a company. Don't do it!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Definitely worth it

    • Idaho,
    • Aug 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It is definitely worth the $10 if you love makeup and want to try out new products. I have gotten three months so far and have really enjoyed most of the products. It has given me makeup that I normally would not go out and spend money on, and I also found out I loved it. Every box I have gotten has a value of over $50. My last bag had a value of over $100 full retail price (I look up my products). If you aren't getting products you like, then try changing your preferences. There are many tutorials on how to get a better bag. Not all the products that you get are going to be your favorite. I have gotten at least one product for each bag that I didn't really like or use. I have tried to use all the products with an open mind and have LOVED most of them. This is a cheap subscription but be careful because once you try it you might get addicted!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    My experience with Ipsy

    • South Carolina,
    • Aug 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I don't understand why so many are having this issue. I've been with Ipsy since May of last year. I never had to sign up and be on a waitlist.

    Within the year of having Ipsy, I've received one broken product, which I emailed their support after reading on their page what to do if you don't receive an item or receive a broken item. They were quick to email me back and sent out a new one very quickly. I've also had two bags not arrive on the time they said it would one last year and on a few months ago and emailed them again. Again they quickly emailed back and sent out a replacement bag, no questions asked. Both times I ended up receiving a replacement bag and later my original bag, so I ended up with two.

    Ipsy's bag timing is a little late. I got my bags the last week of each month for the longest time and the date was not guaranteed. I moved in December and now get them on the 10th every month.

    I've not always been happy with my bags. But there have only been two times where I looked at the size and thought "what the heck." I started Ipsy last year because I had no makeup. And didn't have the funds to be buying a bunch of it. I have now a very large collection of makeup all from my Ipsy bags. Lots of full sizes as well as good sized samples. I suppose if people are huge makeup people and are using it every day then the sample sizes are probably not going to last long at all. But I don't use makeup every day. Actually, even when I do most of the time, it's just a light eyeshadow and mascara. Unless I'm taking pictures for Facebook, I don't use much at all. I've received three small mascara samples, and those have lasted me for a year and I'm still using two of them, LOL.

    I've put my bag on pause for a total of three months. They never charged me. Also completely canceled for one month. I never had any issues.

    Now they do push you to share and to invite. I've never invited anyone. I just ignore their asking.

    As for sharing, you earn points which you can redeem for full sized extra products each time you review. If you share your review to Facebook or Twitter, you get more points. Simple thing to do is put your Facebook post with the review so only you can see it. Twitter I don't use so I don't know. Or after you post it to Facebook, just go into your app and delete it. I personally do not care about sharing my reviews. I don't think my friends and family really care either.

    I really like my Ipsy bags each month. Yes, there are duds. But I have grown my makeup collection from non-existent to abundant. I've been able to experiment with products and learn what I like.

    I am 28 years old and the majority of my life I've rarely worn makeup. Usually just a lippie and a sheer eyeshadow. Never experimented either. Now I love makeup. I have a good amount to choose from.

    And the biggest thing is I don't have much money. I don't buy myself things. I suppose I have a minimalist outlook. Even when my bf tells me to take his card to buy myself something nice, my brain puts need over want so I end up buying something we need in the house, or if I don't need something I get something our furbabies need or my bf needs. I come home with what I get, and my bf's face palms every time, LOL.

    Ipsy is the only thing I get myself each month that I do not need. And I look forward to getting my pink parcel in the mail.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Junk products. Don’t review your preferences. Automatic recurring subscription.

    • Fairfield, CA,
    • Aug 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Scam. You never get anything good. You advise Ipsy what you don’t like, and it still keeps coming. Watch the annual recurring subscription. If you don’t cancel prior to your current subscription you have to pay for another full year. Products are absolute garbage!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Worth it!

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jul 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I want to start off this review by commenting on how many bad reviews there are, with so many consumers complaining they didn’t yet everything they wanted in their bags! You’re only paying $10 a month for these products, and the whole concept of this is to try new things. These products are worth a lot more, and you get some really good quality brushes, etc. I don’t always get everything I want, but at least three or four out of the five I’m super happy with and the others are good to try out. I guess it’s super hard to please everyone.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 32 people found this review helpful

    So sad...I loved my Ipsy bag.

    • Paola, KS,
    • Jul 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started getting Ipsy 2 and 1/2 years ago. I loved the bag, best bag in the $10 lane. I unbox on social media so I'm familiar with Allure Beauty Box, PLAY! by Sephora, BOXYCHARM, Lola Beauty Box, YesOhYas, and of course, Ipsy.

    Ipsy always got me! I loved everything in my bag, every month. The profile rang true for me, they sent me samples I could and did use, many times purchasing the full-size products.

    In their promo vids and the postcards they sent with the bags, often times were men in makeup. I am not a man, and their target customers are women.

    The month of June sent me over the edge - tons of promotions and testimonials about gay men and makeup, none of which I can relate. I am a housewife in the Midwest, and I want to see what the product will look like on me. Or someone with a bone structure like me (a woman).

    June is autism awareness month, but Ipsy chose to make it all about pride month. My bag and the contents of it was all about LGBTQ and companies who are part of that "community," and some proceeds of the June bag went to support the LGBTQ.

    Further making me feel that Ipsy does not know their customer. My guess would be that they lost a lot of business after last month's bag...they lost me and that was my favorite bag

    I don't need your agenda shoved down my throat...I just wanted the bag I loved and to feel included in Ipsy because that is my favorite bag.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    I would not recommend Ipsy to any makeup lover!

    • Bradenton, FL,
    • Jun 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Okay, so I love makeup. For years I’ve gone to all of the popular makeup stores, dropping hundreds of dollars on the newest products, and loving every minute of it. So of course when I heard about Ipsy, I was all for it. Ten dollars a month for "top of the line" beauty samples? Hello! Sign me up!

    Taking the beauty quiz was probably the best part of my whole experience, selecting all of my favorite brands and products I wanted to receive was exciting! So you can imagine my disappointment when I received my "glam bag." My first impression was that the makeup bag was cheaply made BUT very cute (hey, $10 a month what did I expect right?). However, I did expect to receive at least one product I had marked as being interested in, or a brand I had actually heard of before.

    So, save your money people! It’s a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Charged money for no subscription

    I subscribed to Ipsy two months ago, and they put me on a waitlist I guess. Then they charged me for April and I received my first bag, but I got no confirmation email with a tracking number, which they promise to send out. Now I got charged for May, and I decided to get this month's bag and cancel my membership because I don't like the products, plus you can get way better deals on full-size items, for example, BOXYCHARM, my roommate subscribes it.

    So I went to my Ipsy account and it says that I don't have a membership and that I'm not even on waitlist and there is no billing information. So that leaves me with the impossible to cancel my membership, and they will keep charging me money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 40

Write a Review for Ipsy!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review