About Ipsy

Created by Youtube makeup tutorial maven Michelle Phan, ipsy is a monthly beauty and makeup subscription mailer service that delivers trending beauty products directly to your door, at up to 70% savings.

For several years, Michelle’s makeup tutorials have gone viral, as she clearly and simply explains how to duplicate her near-magic cosmetic transformations with a few products and some precise application techniques.

Now for $10 a month, Michelle’s fans and beauty product aficionados alike can become ipsy members and receive a mix of “deluxe” sample sizes and full-size products from popular manufacturers such as Urban Decay, NYX, and Smashbox, all packaged in a kitsch travel size makeup bag.

What ipsy Offers

To complement its subscription service, ipsy has created an online community where users can chat about products with each other, ask questions about techniques for application, and offer advice.

More tips n’ tricks are available by viewing ipsy’s beauty tutorials, which cover everything from contouring basics and how to use the products included in each month’s bag, to creating specific looks after your favorite celebs.

But you may be thinking: “Beauty product purchases are a pretty personal endeavor, so how does ipsy know what to send me?”

With a quiz, of course!

Ipsy’s service differentiates itself by offering a level of customization not seen with other monthly beauty subscription services. Upon signing up, users are directed through the “ipsy Beauty Quiz” which ipsy promises will help their team of stylists and curators best understand your personal style, and then tailor product boxes to your tastes.

The quiz walks users through questions such as, “Which describes your personal style best,” “Which ipsy stylist do you relate most to,” and “Rate your overall comfort with applying cosmetics.”

Designed to appeal to beginner makeup lovers looking to recreate Angelina’s famous cateye liner, as well as to those with RuPaul-level contouring ability, ipsy welcomes members of all experience levels to dig in and learn how to feel a little prettier.

Want To Feel Glam?

Ipsy’s monthly delivery of Glam Bags is available for $10 per month. Shipping and handling is free for US orders, while it costs $4.95 to ship to Canada. The service isn’t yet available for international orders.

Annual subscriptions are also available for $110, giving members who commit to a year-long subscription one month for free.

Subscribers won’t ever know what’s coming in next month’s bag, but hints are available by viewing ipsy’s Facebook and Instagram pages.

If you’re not happy with what’s arrived, unfortunately refunds for the contents of your Glam Bag aren’t available. However, if products have arrived damaged or missing, subscribers are directed to contact ipsy’s customer care at ipsyCare.

Ipsy also allows members to earn ipsyPoints to spend on special products released on their site. New members earn 100 points for signing up and active members can earn 250 points for referring a friend! There are lots of ways to earn ipsyPoints, and the complete list can be found here.

Ipsy’s subscription service currently has a wait list, but for eager members who can’t bear a few months of suspense, ipsy offers a program called “Skip the Wait” to “reward their biggest fans.” Members who gain referrals through likes and shares on Facebook, message invites to Facebook friends, as well as who subscribe to their Instagram and YouTube channels, will be moved from the Waitlist and set to receive their first Glam Bag the following month.

Although the term “subscription” is used to describe their service, those interested in signing up for ipsy should understand that this means your credit card will be charged monthly, and cancelling your subscription requires a call to customer service.

What ipsy Reviewers Are Saying

As with many beauty products or services, it can be difficult to tell which positive reviews are sponsored and which are possibly biased.

While a quick Google search for ipsy reviews yields a range of beauty bloggers who wax poetically about their monthly bags, with posts accompanied by professional-looking photos, member review sites reveal some less-than-positive experiences along with positive ones:

“I never received my ipsy bags for December or this month. I jumped through all the loops (free advertising and following) to get off the waiting list. I have been charged for two months, yet to no avail. I never got my bags, and when I told them, they refused a refund because it's "policy". So there's a policy covering them for STEALING my money? Not good. No thanks.” (Source)

“I loved my ipsy subscription in the beginning, (yeah u read it right LOVED).. I ended up cancelling it though because it seems that they just dont care.. I paid for my subscription every month and enjoyed getting my goodies.. it was like christmas every month BUT it got really old when they would start sending me the previous months bags because they "RAN OUT". They did this to me 2 times which was 2 times too much! I was upset and contacted them and they basically brushed me off! I think that since they made us wait for an invitation for about a month until there was availability then this shouldnt be happening! I sent over referrals after I joined and they got added AFTER ME and were receiving their correct bags. I thought if the problem would be corrected, maybe I would have stayed but after the initial response I received after I first contacted them, I WILL NEVER GIVE THEM MY MONEY AGAIN!” (Source)

Many reviewers who were disappointed with their ipsy shipments state similar complaints:

  • A lack of variety in the products and brands
  • Multi-month-long line when placed on the wait list
  • Missing shipments
  • Unresponsive customer service when attempting to cancel

Ipsy holds an A+ Better Business Bureau rating with 73 closed complaints (as of 3/16/15). Similar to reviews elsewhere online, some of the most common complaints also revolve around long wait list times, difficulty processing returns/cancelling subscriptions, and missing shipments.

Final Thoughts On ipsy

For cosmetics lovers with a real eye for trends and a desire to be on the cutting edge, ipsy appears to offer a wide variety of new products and a supportive community that helps members learn how to best create the looks they desire.

However, makeup is such a personal thing, and it’s really important to buy flattering shades and products that work for your skin tone and type, making it much more of a challenge for ipsy to send out products that will work for everyone on their subscription list. Because of this, while you might find many of ipsy’s products work with your skin type and personal style, there will likely be a few you’re dissatisfied with.

Also, keep in mind that there are several other popular beauty-based subscription services available, including BirchBox, Beauty Box 5, Wantable, and many more. So get out there and explore!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

29 Consumer Reviews for Ipsy

Average Consumer Rating: 2.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 5 4 star: 3 3 star: 0 2 star: 5 1 star:  16
Showing 1-11 of 29
Sort reviews by:

  • I would never do this again!

    • Winchester, CA,
    • Oct 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The only reason they get one star is because you have to give them something...I bought this as a one time gift for a friend. Before the year was up, I emailed Ipsy and told them I do not want to renew, I bought it as a one time gift. They said no problem..your subscription will not be renewed, and then, of course, a few months later I was charged $119.63. I have proof that they sent me an email canceling after the one year was up, and they still won’t give me back my money.

    I can’t believe even though I have the confirmation email say that they would not renew my subscription they will not refund me. I wish I knew how to attach the email so I could show you my proof. I would never recommend this to a friend.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Continued charging after cancellation

    • Cherry Hill, NJ,
    • Oct 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It was great quality stuff until I went to cancel my subscription and they kept charging my account! I had to cancel FOUR separate times (they also make it nearly impossible to do so), and I was somehow still being charged. I stopped getting bags back in March 2018 but was charged every month through July 2018! I called and emailed Ipsy’s customer service several times with no response.

    I finally had to call our bank and report them as a scam so they could cut them off from the source.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Worth the money

    • Texas,
    • Oct 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been getting my Ipsy bag for over a year now, and I love it. I feel I get more than my money's worth every single time (I haven't had to purchase mascara or eyeliner in the entire time I've been getting the bag!). I hardly recognize any of the brands, but they have all been super great quality. There's always plenty in each sample to use more than once, and many times you get a full sized product. And the bags are so cute!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Disgusted

    • Castle Pines, CO,
    • Sep 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Not only is Ipsy a complete ripoff with pathetic "samples" from mostly unheard of brands, but canceling your membership is comparable to leaving the mafia. I’ve never been so disgusted with a company. Don't do it!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Definitely worth it

    • Idaho,
    • Aug 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It is definitely worth the $10 if you love makeup and want to try out new products. I have gotten three months so far and have really enjoyed most of the products. It has given me makeup that I normally would not go out and spend money on, and I also found out I loved it. Every box I have gotten has a value of over $50. My last bag had a value of over $100 full retail price (I look up my products). If you aren't getting products you like, then try changing your preferences. There are many tutorials on how to get a better bag. Not all the products that you get are going to be your favorite. I have gotten at least one product for each bag that I didn't really like or use. I have tried to use all the products with an open mind and have LOVED most of them. This is a cheap subscription but be careful because once you try it you might get addicted!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    My experience with Ipsy

    • South Carolina,
    • Aug 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I don't understand why so many are having this issue. I've been with Ipsy since May of last year. I never had to sign up and be on a waitlist.

    Within the year of having Ipsy, I've received one broken product, which I emailed their support after reading on their page what to do if you don't receive an item or receive a broken item. They were quick to email me back and sent out a new one very quickly. I've also had two bags not arrive on the time they said it would one last year and on a few months ago and emailed them again. Again they quickly emailed back and sent out a replacement bag, no questions asked. Both times I ended up receiving a replacement bag and later my original bag, so I ended up with two.

    Ipsy's bag timing is a little late. I got my bags the last week of each month for the longest time and the date was not guaranteed. I moved in December and now get them on the 10th every month.

    I've not always been happy with my bags. But there have only been two times where I looked at the size and thought "what the heck." I started Ipsy last year because I had no makeup. And didn't have the funds to be buying a bunch of it. I have now a very large collection of makeup all from my Ipsy bags. Lots of full sizes as well as good sized samples. I suppose if people are huge makeup people and are using it every day then the sample sizes are probably not going to last long at all. But I don't use makeup every day. Actually, even when I do most of the time, it's just a light eyeshadow and mascara. Unless I'm taking pictures for Facebook, I don't use much at all. I've received three small mascara samples, and those have lasted me for a year and I'm still using two of them, LOL.

    I've put my bag on pause for a total of three months. They never charged me. Also completely canceled for one month. I never had any issues.

    Now they do push you to share and to invite. I've never invited anyone. I just ignore their asking.

    As for sharing, you earn points which you can redeem for full sized extra products each time you review. If you share your review to Facebook or Twitter, you get more points. Simple thing to do is put your Facebook post with the review so only you can see it. Twitter I don't use so I don't know. Or after you post it to Facebook, just go into your app and delete it. I personally do not care about sharing my reviews. I don't think my friends and family really care either.

    I really like my Ipsy bags each month. Yes, there are duds. But I have grown my makeup collection from non-existent to abundant. I've been able to experiment with products and learn what I like.

    I am 28 years old and the majority of my life I've rarely worn makeup. Usually just a lippie and a sheer eyeshadow. Never experimented either. Now I love makeup. I have a good amount to choose from.

    And the biggest thing is I don't have much money. I don't buy myself things. I suppose I have a minimalist outlook. Even when my bf tells me to take his card to buy myself something nice, my brain puts need over want so I end up buying something we need in the house, or if I don't need something I get something our furbabies need or my bf needs. I come home with what I get, and my bf's face palms every time, LOL.

    Ipsy is the only thing I get myself each month that I do not need. And I look forward to getting my pink parcel in the mail.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Junk products. Don’t review your preferences. Automatic recurring subscription.

    • Fairfield, CA,
    • Aug 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Scam. You never get anything good. You advise Ipsy what you don’t like, and it still keeps coming. Watch the annual recurring subscription. If you don’t cancel prior to your current subscription you have to pay for another full year. Products are absolute garbage!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Worth it!

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jul 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I want to start off this review by commenting on how many bad reviews there are, with so many consumers complaining they didn’t yet everything they wanted in their bags! You’re only paying $10 a month for these products, and the whole concept of this is to try new things. These products are worth a lot more, and you get some really good quality brushes, etc. I don’t always get everything I want, but at least three or four out of the five I’m super happy with and the others are good to try out. I guess it’s super hard to please everyone.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 22 people found this review helpful

    So sad...I loved my Ipsy bag.

    • Paola, KS,
    • Jul 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started getting Ipsy 2 and 1/2 years ago. I loved the bag, best bag in the $10 lane. I unbox on social media so I'm familiar with Allure Beauty Box, PLAY! by Sephora, BOXYCHARM, Lola Beauty Box, YesOhYas, and of course, Ipsy.

    Ipsy always got me! I loved everything in my bag, every month. The profile rang true for me, they sent me samples I could and did use, many times purchasing the full-size products.

    In their promo vids and the postcards they sent with the bags, often times were men in makeup. I am not a man, and their target customers are women.

    The month of June sent me over the edge - tons of promotions and testimonials about gay men and makeup, none of which I can relate. I am a housewife in the Midwest, and I want to see what the product will look like on me. Or someone with a bone structure like me (a woman).

    June is autism awareness month, but Ipsy chose to make it all about pride month. My bag and the contents of it was all about LGBTQ and companies who are part of that "community," and some proceeds of the June bag went to support the LGBTQ.

    Further making me feel that Ipsy does not know their customer. My guess would be that they lost a lot of business after last month's bag...they lost me and that was my favorite bag

    I don't need your agenda shoved down my throat...I just wanted the bag I loved and to feel included in Ipsy because that is my favorite bag.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 13, 2018

      Lacey L.

      Pretty sure they didn't lose a lot of customers. You are the minority in Ipsy's consumer base. Most of us are all for LGBTQ rights and LGBTQ awareness. Ipsy has a theme each month. Please tell me how Autism Awareness would fit into a beauty theme? It wouldn't. I have nothing against Autism Awareness, and in fact, I think that is an extremely important thing to raise awareness for because just like LGBTQ people are misunderstood and called names and are subject to ignorant people behind hateful so are children and adults with Autism.

      But the simple fact is there is countless brand supporting the LGBTQ community. It's a marketing tactic as well because the LGBTQ community already uses makeup. And the LGBTQ community is already very known to everyone to be beauty conscious. Marketing wise Autism Awareness is not an Ipsy bag theme.

      Also, most of Ipsy's base is very happy to see them including everyone, not just women because not only women wear makeup. We are very happy that Ipsy is making a statement when it comes to equality. A man having different bone structure does not make it any harder to see the outcome of the product. Women have different bone structures. Some women even have a more masculine bone structure. I bet that doesn't bother you because what offends you is the LGBTQ community and men wearing makeup.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    I would not recommend Ipsy to any makeup lover!

    • Bradenton, FL,
    • Jun 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Okay, so I love makeup. For years I’ve gone to all of the popular makeup stores, dropping hundreds of dollars on the newest products, and loving every minute of it. So of course when I heard about Ipsy, I was all for it. Ten dollars a month for "top of the line" beauty samples? Hello! Sign me up!

    Taking the beauty quiz was probably the best part of my whole experience, selecting all of my favorite brands and products I wanted to receive was exciting! So you can imagine my disappointment when I received my "glam bag." My first impression was that the makeup bag was cheaply made BUT very cute (hey, $10 a month what did I expect right?). However, I did expect to receive at least one product I had marked as being interested in, or a brand I had actually heard of before.

    So, save your money people! It’s a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Charged money for no subscription

    I subscribed to Ipsy two months ago, and they put me on a waitlist I guess. Then they charged me for April and I received my first bag, but I got no confirmation email with a tracking number, which they promise to send out. Now I got charged for May, and I decided to get this month's bag and cancel my membership because I don't like the products, plus you can get way better deals on full-size items, for example, BOXYCHARM, my roommate subscribes it.

    So I went to my Ipsy account and it says that I don't have a membership and that I'm not even on waitlist and there is no billing information. So that leaves me with the impossible to cancel my membership, and they will keep charging me money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 29

Write a Review for Ipsy!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review