Read 40 Ipsy Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 6 4 star: 3 3 star: 0 2 star: 6 1 star:  25
Showing 23-33 of 40
Sort reviews by:

  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Don’t give them your money.

    • Bowling Green, KY,
    • Mar 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    For two months straight they have taken my money but haven’t delivered their bag. I have emailed their customer support everyday trying to figure out why I still haven’t received anything and they keep telling me they will send me a replacement immediately.

    I still haven’t received anything from them and they refuse to refund my money even though they know that the Shipping website/tracking number they gave me says it was never sent/invalid.

    This is the most ridiculous company. I have since canceled my subscription. Thought it was just me until several people I know that have subscriptions said they’ve gone through this never-ending loop with them as well. I wouldn’t advise anyone to subscribe to this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Nice makeup bags

    $10 monthly is one of the most affordable subscriptions. I estimated how much the bag and shipping would cost them, including their pay for the staff (online workers, warehouse, and office advertising staff), and dealing with the brands for the "deluxe" and full-size sample size products. I would understand that they are a business too and they have to earn too. And you wouldn't have a five out of five votes for the five products on your bag. In two years of my subscription, I am happy with the three items but not ALL five. Anyhow, it's good to be updated with beauty brands in the market, and you can try what's really worth buying.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Never got anything

    • Virginia,
    • Mar 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was charged $10 twice and never received anything from them except an inbox flooded with emails! Nowhere to complain except here in the reviews and they did not offer any kind of refund, just an optional opt-out.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 17 people found this review helpful

    My goodness

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Jan 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Before you order, you kind of fill out a questionnaire about what you are looking forward to and what best fits you. My goodness, I was moped with brown eyeshadow and pink lip products. I am a very dark skin tone as I stated to Ipsy. As we all know dark skin and bright pink lip products does not look good on us! Very disappointed. What was the point of the questionnaire if no one was going to read it?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 16 out 18 people found this review helpful

    What the?

    • Ohio,
    • Dec 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have done many, many monthly subscriptions and this one is hands down the worse.

    I subscribed for a 3-month subscription and after paying, my page suddenly said I was on a waitlist BUT I can skip it if I share their site on social media. Uh, no! THAT wasn't part of signing up. I just paid and nowhere did it say there was a waitlist prior to paying, nor that they would hold my membership hijacked unless I shared.

    I emailed them and said there was nothing stating the waitlist and they reassured me my box will be sent sometime next month (of course no date is given). I said I'm not waiting over a month for something to be sent out when I just paid in full, and I'm not sharing their site until I get the boxes to see if I like it or not. If I'm on a waitlist, I wanted to cancel, and then suddenly I get an email stating there isn't a waitlist for 24 hours starting on December 18th.

    I contacted customer service again saying if I can do that then keep my subscription. No response. I emailed back after another day and said I'm very confused as to what is going on with my account. The employee told me that the offer ended on the 14th. I sent him a snapshot of the email, and now I'm done.

    Way too confusing, unprofessional, bad communication, no phone number to call. Definitely, buyer beware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    They plainly suck

    • Delaware,
    • Dec 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The only good thing that comes from Ipsy is the cute pouches. Not one single time have they sent me something of the "wow" factor, everything has been boring, and to me, it looks like they are not even trying. I have enough brown eyeshadow from them, no variety or anything, but they promote what you could get in the pouches, but it's never what you were hoping for. They use all these big named makeup companies to hook you, but what you get is definitely not what you get.

    Are they scam? Yes and no. Do I have plans to renew my subscription to them after 2017? Probably not, just extremely disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware!

    • USA,
    • Dec 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Please, no one waste their time or money on this hack service. It really sounds like a neat idea, except it's a scam. I joined Ipsy three years ago but only recently signed up for the Glam Bag subscription. Mistake!

    I received my supposed shipping label for tracking purposes, but it either never shipped or was lost, because the shipping information never updated and Ipsy couldn't explain what had happened to it. But instead of solving my problem, their customer service chastised me for sending more than one response that was to fix their problem! So now I'm out the November bag, just in time for the December one to ship.

    Also, word to those disgruntled as I: it will take about 7 steps to cancel your subscription, and even then you're not canceled until you accept their automated email. Such a disappointment, as I heard many good things. I guess you really can't believe everything you hear.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Canceled and won’t sign up again

    • Florida,
    • Nov 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up in October with Ipsy. A coworker told me about it. As most people who have tried it know, if someone sends you a free glam bag, your first bag is free and you pay monthly after that month.

    My free bag should have shipped November 1st. I didn’t hear anything so I actually forgot all about it. On November 9th I got an email that my first bag shipped. On November 11th I got another notice that it has reached DHL for final delivery on November 13th. I decided to cancel so they don’t charge me the next month in December because I was now skeptical because of the timing.

    Here it is November 15th and it wasn’t delivered. Ipsy actually canceled the delivery the day it was supposed to arrive because I canceled the next month subscription. They had the delivery reversed back to them. I don’t actually care because the products they were sending were not products I indicated having any interest in when I did the personalized quiz, so I’m not going to be missing anything, but the fact that it was free and they reversed it because I canceled a future subscription is kind of shady. That’s the end of that.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Don't bother

    • Hutchinson, MN,
    • Nov 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I never received my August bag, so I emailed them (because they don't offer customer service over the phone, RED FLAG) and they said they would send me a replacement bag. I never received that one, and on top of that, I haven't received my September or October bag now either. I contacted customer service again, and was told since it's past 45 days since the August bag, they couldn't do anything for me, even though I DID originally contact them within 45 days of it receiving it.

    So since they screwed up and didn't send me my stuff within the time frame, I get nothing, and they get my money. Waste of $30, that I got literally nothing for.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    October bag is the worst

    I enjoyed getting my Ipsy bag monthly, but lately, their products have gone seriously downhill! You need to put in an explanation with the products that you deliver. Half the time I don't know what to do with it and end up throwing it away. Very disappointed for October.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Great value for price, plus makeup bag each month

    I just joined Ipsy last month and got my first bag a week ago. What first attracted me was that it was only $10 a month and came with a bag. I wasn't interested in the August bag, so waited for a little while and then signed up.

    I didn't special request any item (though you can from one of the spoiler lists,) but I hoped to get the Tarte Light, Camera, Lashes mascara and Smashbox radiance primer. I got both in my first bag!

    The September bag was classy, and I plan to eventually use the bags I get for small complete makeup kits (so I can just grab one and go for traveling.)

    In addition to the Tarte Mascara and Smashbox primer, I received some Elizabeth Mott eyeshadow in toasted, Pixie blush in a peachy duo, and two MANEFIT masks. I thought it was nice to get a mix of things I knew I would use and things to try out.

    Both the eyeshadow and blush ended up working out great. The eyeshadow, especially, was long-lasting and had a wonderful consistency and pigment to it.

    I'd estimate the value of the bag (minus the neat bag itself) to be around $35. From what I understand from other reviews I have seen online, that's actually the low end for an Ipsy bag. However, a great value for $10 and I liked the mix of things which I received.

    I'll see how I like it month to month, but for now, I would say it was a good first impression, and I definitely would recommend it to anyone looking to build up a stash or try new things without needing to pay a lot in a store.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 23-33 of 40

Write a Review for Ipsy!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review