It’s Just Lunch

It’s Just Lunch

Overall Rating

1.1

28 Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Summary

It’s Just Lunch is a personalized matchmaking service designed to help business professionals go on dates with others. However, customer reviews indicate many members think the service overcharges for the quality of their matches.

Pros

  • Great way to meet local people without online dating
  • Many people found love
  • You can pause your membership if you click with someone

Cons

  • No refunds
  • Many people shared their matches were nothing like their specifications
  • A small pool of potential dates unless you are willing to go to a major city

Customer Reviews

1.1 Stars out of 28 Reviews
5 Star:0% 4 Star:0% 3 Star:3% 2 Star:0% 1 Star:96%
4% Recommend This Service
Start your review of It’s Just Lunch:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Apr 9, 2019

Waste of money

By Tim A., Minnesota, Verified Reviewer

I was contacted several times and promised a lot of things before finally agreeing to pay the high enrollment fee. I gave them very specific details of what I was looking for before I agreed to sign up. I was told repeatedly they had many matches that fit my expectations and it would be no problem. I had my first two dates and neither was anything like they had described to me. In fact, on the first date I mentioned details they had given me about her, and when I brought them up in conversation, she had no idea what I was talking about. I did go on several more dates, most of which were also not successful. I felt I continued to give the same feedback over and over. One of the important criteria I gave them was that I still wanted to have kids so I wanted to meet someone younger.

After running through the first series of dates I was told that they just did not have anyone for me that was interested in meeting someone of my age. That would have been helpful to know before I forked over the huge enrollment fee. So then they said we can match you with people more your age who don't want kids. Since I knew they would not refund me, I reluctantly agreed. I have been on a few dates since without any real success. And most I have nothing in common or any attraction. I have now not had any matches in over 6 months. The last 4 have all canceled, yet they still billed my monthly fee.

If you are expecting them to really be able to find you matches that are detailed to your liking, you will be disappointed. If you just want to meet people and don't care who then maybe you would find value in this service. I myself have found it a big mistake.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 21 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 25, 2019

Poor saleswoman

By Jan S., Minneapolis, MN, Verified Reviewer

I have received many calls/emails from IJL with special offers. I’ve even spoken with a few ladies over a period of time. I had a phone interview with Sjerstin Meyer, March 21,19. She asked me to pay her upfront $860 which I thought was a little crazy because I hadn’t gone on a date, or she nor I had determined if I was a good fit. And I thought I had to sign a contract first to get started. This is very suspicious to me. I’m not sure if I would recommend this place to a friend. It’s very costly so invest your time into researching this company’s reputation before investing your money or time!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 21 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 23, 2019

Total scam!

By Jack M., New Orleans, LA, Verified Reviewer

I was sold an entirely different service than what I actually received. The salesperson "selling" the service to me promised MUCH more than they could deliver. But once they have your money, there is no recourse. No refunds. No help. No service. After promising me that I would be matched with people who lived in my "area," my first match was someone who lived 80 miles from me. Of course, you are not told where your match lives until you meet them in person. So if you accept a match (at $500 each), it's just hit or miss as to where they live. After I paid my money, I was informed that the JLK definition of "area" is about 100-mile radius from my location.

When I met my first match, she informed me that she herself was not a paying member of IJL (another omitted detail when you sign up is that you may be matched with anyone in the database, not just other members). She actually told me that she was not interested in dating but was just "doing my recruiter a favor" by meeting with me.

There is not enough time or space in this review to go through all the details of how awful this service is. Of course, they will taut their few success stories, but they are few and far between. Apparently, the pool of candidates is not very deep either. After only three matches, they start re-sending me previous matches that I had already declined. After declining them a second time, the marketing department started applying the pressure to be "open to new experiences." Which is code for just accept what we have because we have nothing else to offer you. I (pre)paid for 4 total matches at $2000 total. After asking me specifically what I was looking for in a match, only one of the four actually met all of the criteria I had listed.

Total waste of money.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 25 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 21, 2019

Don't waste your money

By Tina B., New York, Verified Reviewer

They are over-priced and pressure you that you only have three times to decline a selection they pick for you, so you are pressured into going onto a date with someone your not even attracted to.

So you do the whole date thing and may/or may not work out and then done. You're dropped like a bombshell unless you plan on paying them money to find you another date.

Don't waste your time on them and their high pressured sales team. They just boost your ego, make you feel like they are going to find the one who best matches you and they drop the bomb of no real prospects.

My prospects didn't even live within 100 miles of my location.

Be warned and trust your instincts as their sales team are highly manipulative personal who work on commissions to draw you in. Worse than a used car salesperson!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 16 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 18, 2019

Worst dating experiences I have ever had in my life

By Toby P., Spring, TX, Verified Reviewer

They absolutely misrepresented themselves. The people I was matched with I would never have considered if I had met them my self. They try to finesse you they are totally not interested in your experiences or opinions. At one point my matchmaker in a ranting email told me my last date was a tall dark handsome man. He was short, light, and pleasant looking, not someone I would call handsome. When I asked her to explain this and other mistakes, she just did not get back to me. This is a scam.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 17, 2019

Did not honor contract in the end

By Kendra G., Simi Valley, CA, Verified Reviewer

I am in the second biggest market of theirs, LA. There are hardly any matches, period. And, even less f you are a woman who wants to have children and are over 35. Most of the men who join this are serious about relationships but are done having kids. They did give me men to choose from. However, they decided I was taking too long to pick a guy I liked for my final match. So, they lied and said that I said yes to some guy and then changed my mind for the fourth match. That was not true - I have e-mail evidence. They then ghosted me. Stay far away! If you go with this, make sure to get done within the 6 months because they don't honor the number after a year in which they say you have "forever."

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 15 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 11, 2019

Unethical and unprofessional

By Chris L., Minneapolis, MN, Verified Reviewer

Wish I had known about the recent class action lawsuit against IJL before giving them almost $3000. Also, wish I had known about the Matchmaker job posting that doesn't have that skill as a prerequisite, but did ask for, "shouldn't shy away from objections and should excel at closing," and looking for, "friendly competition in the office."

After being sent on 3 ridiculously inappropriate meetings, I tried to contact the Matchmaker. Front desk person belittled and tried to shame me, and Matchmaker yelled at me that she "doesn't fail!" and "isn't in customer service!"

They lied in documents to the Better Business Bureau and the MN Attorney General's office. I write this in the hope no one else is harmed by this company.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 16 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 20, 2019

Don't waste your money!

By Peggy T., Baltimore, MD, Verified Reviewer

I had one date in a year, and he lived over an hour away. Because I didn't reply to a match they sent that I wasn't interested in, they put my account on hold until it ran out. When I called to complain, she was pretty nasty and told me she could give me more time at a discounted rate, and kept telling me I didn't read the contracts. Supposedly, if you don't reply to a match, they put you on hold...forever...and you're beat out of your money. Bottom line, don't waste your money...I would give a zero if I could.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 13, 2019

It's Just Lunch is a scam ran by con artists!

By Alexis B., Saint Louis, MO, Verified Reviewer

I joined It's Just Lunch on 9/30/18 and during a phone call when I was promised:

1. You WILL go on dates.

2. You will ONLY be matched with men serious about finding a partner.

3. It's Just Lunch will do ALL the work so you can relax.

10/12/18: My matchmaker Natalie sends my first match. I give date options for three weeks.

10/31/18: Natalie never responds. I ask if I should send more dates. She says yes. I send date options for four weeks. Natalie never initiates contact after that.

11/8/18: Another matchmaker, Jasmine, sends a new match. I ask what happened to the first one but she doesn't acknowledge my question. I send four weeks of date options.

11/15/18: I find out my first date will be 11/30/18.

11/30/18: My match cancels. I'd arranged and paid for a babysitter for the night. No apologies from Jasmine. She pressures me to reschedule for the weekend. I tell her I don't want to date someone who cancels at the last minute. I'd been with It's Just Lunch for two months, had wasted enough time/money, and had zero dates. I tell Jasmine/Natalie I want to cancel and get a refund. Natalie responds that she is working on my next match. She doesn't acknowledge my dissatisfaction or request for a cancellation/refund. Nobody from It's Just Lunch speaks to me for over two months.

1/27/19: I call It's Just Lunch to complain and ask for a cancellation/refund again. I'm told that only Natalie can help. I'm sent to Natalie's voicemail but she doesn’t answer or return my calls. I send another email.

1/28/19: Natalie calls and says she's not the one to talk to about cancellations/refunds. She says a supervisor will call in 48 hours. Still no apologies.

1/31/18: A supervisor calls 24 hours late. He apologizes but refuses my request. He says they can't do refunds. The contract I signed disproves this. I ask him to cancel my membership. He refuses. He is in a hurry to get off the phone, and tells me that my next match will be coming soon.

This company is a scam. They prey on optimists. Please help me and other potential victims from being prey to their scheme.

Thank you.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 22 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 7, 2018

Fraudulent and confrontational

By Janey H., Florida, Verified Reviewer

DO NOT use this "service!" This company will lie to get you in the service but then faces no repercussions for any misrepresentation or lack of service. They’ve faced many lawsuits for not fulfilling the contract and not actually being personalized. The matchmakers are robotic and rude, there is nothing personalized. When I requested a new one they had the women call and confront me. The next matchmaker was no better, same tone and script. Once they have your money, they do not care about you or the service and will go out of their way to not communicate. I’ve read so many complaints and I feel like an idiot for signing up...don’t be an idiot.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 20 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 27, 2018

OK, but depends on owner

By Sandy J., New York, NY, Verified Reviewer

I've tried It's Just Lynch in two different cities. The first one had great matchmakers, treated me reasonably, and most of my matches were acceptable matches even though I didn't end up with any of them long term. Then I moved to NY and tried another It's Just Lyncg branch and it was the opposite - unprofessional matchmakers, slow service, poor quality matches. I don't know what accounts for the huge difference, but the verdict on It's Just Lynch - it might be OK depending on your location, but do your research. You can use Yelp, BBB, and comparematchmakers.com to help you.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted
Showing 12-22 of 28

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.