It's Just Lunch

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
It's Just Lunch

Overall Rating

3.2

85 Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Summary

It’s Just Lunch is a personalized matchmaking service designed to help business professionals go on dates with others. However, customer reviews indicate many members think the service overcharges for the quality of their matches.

Pros

  • Great way to meet local people without online dating
  • Many people found love
  • You can pause your membership if you click with someone

Cons

  • No refunds
  • Many people shared their matches were nothing like their specifications
  • A small pool of potential dates unless you are willing to go to a major city

Customer Reviews

3.2 Stars out of 85 Reviews
5 Star:43% 4 Star:12% 3 Star:5% 2 Star:0% 1 Star:37%
60% Recommend This Service
Start your review of It's Just Lunch:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Jan 13, 2022

Really fun, fast, and safe dating service

By Kelly S., Sacramento, CA, Verified Reviewer

I worked with Sarah V from IJL once I entered their database. I'm not currently a paying member, but I have gone on several dates with their service. I genuinely really like the service. I've always felt safe, taken care of, and I've had the dates planned and vetted before I've ever even met them.

All you really have to do is go through an interview process and background check (which makes me feel better about how they vet the men too vs. traditional dating app dating). Some of the men were duds, but Sarah is EXCELLENT at protecting me and protecting my privacy from the men I didn't like from the service.

I like that there's always a date, restaurant, time, and reservations booked prior. A lot of the back and forth/coordinating is pretty much taken care of on their end so all you really have to do is show up and have a good attitude.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Easy dates

Love how organized it is

Safety and privacy are top-notch and high priority

Some of the men aren't my favorite to date

Since you don't have contact info ahead of time, dates can run late or have things happen and you won't "know"

Company Response from It's Just Lunch

Jan 18, 2022

Thanks for the positive feedback on the IJL Process!

Posted on Dec 29, 2021

Overall I've been impressed with IJL and most satisfied with my matchmaker!

By Dianne M., Rockville, VA, Verified Reviewer

When I first started IJL I didn't have just one matchmaker. It was a rocky start. I had Lisa G at one point and had difficulty understanding her and I just didn't connect with her. I then had other matchmakers call me.

Finally, I had consistency with Debra and she and I definitely connected! She is down to earth and has been positive about the dating experience. Her best quality is that she listens and gets to know her people! I always enjoy talking to her and she calls to follow up after every date. She has also been available at hours that are helpful to me. She has made my IJL experience well worthwhile!

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

I love that the matchmaker coordinates the whole experience

The restaurants have been great

I like having one consistent matchmaker

At first I didn't care for my matchmaker

Company Response from It's Just Lunch

Jan 3, 2022

We love to hear this great feedback about Debra and will make sure to share it! We are happy you are enjoying your experience as much as we have enjoyed working with you. Thank you!

Posted on Dec 26, 2021

A match in the making

By Maria A., New York, Verified Reviewer

I have a great matchmaker – Shaun. He spends time listening to you and getting to know your personality. After one date, he is receptive to hearing all about my experience. He makes you feel very comfortable. Shaun is a great listener!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The matchmaker gets to know you

Great communication with matchmaker

The cost

Company Response from It's Just Lunch

Jan 3, 2022

We love to hear the positive feedback about your matchmaking team! The feedback you provide from each date will help us fine-tune the matchmaking process. Thank you for being an IJL client!

Posted on Dec 23, 2021

Off to a great start

By Amy S., Portland, OR, Verified Reviewer

I signed up with this service just a few weeks ago having been out of the dating game for many years. My first contact was with Heather, who explained the program and got me started thinking about my dating priorities. Subsequently, I was assigned to work with Sarah, who has gotten me off to a great start in dating attractive eligible men in my area. From my first date, my criteria has been met and the experience has been easy, fun, and pleasant.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Very responsive

Matchmaker works hard to secure suitable match

Encouraging and understanding

Not inexpensive

Company Response from It's Just Lunch

Jan 3, 2022

Thanks Amy! We are happy to hear your first membership is off to a great start! We look forward to sharing more fun date ideas with you soon! Happy Dating!

Posted on Oct 19, 2021

Update

By Michael P., Palm Beach, FL, Verified Reviewer

The liars just responded here. Even what they said here are lies, none of what they say is true. Just stay away and don't lose your money as I did.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

They lied

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 4, 2021

This is a scam

By Amal A., Illinois, Verified Reviewer

I would give no stars if I was able to post this review and not give a star (it is a requirement to be able to post). Horrible, horrible experience.

They lied about everything promised on their website and during the process tried to convince me to pay for membership. After I paid they kept trying to set me up with men older than the max age I requested, not from the religious background I requested, and these men also drink alcohol despite my specification of no consumption of alcohol regardless of amount, and from ethnic backgrounds I clearly stated I was not interested in.

After they got my money their attitude and how to speak over the phone changed and they were like robots repeating sentences and ignoring my concerns and questions of why what they are doing is different than what was agreed upon. I didn't go on any of the 3 dates they chose because of the issues I mentioned and I kept asking them to give me my money back since it became obvious they don't have potential matches within what I was promised to respect what I clearly specified I cannot accept to meet. I am filing a lawsuit for their scam and the distress they have caused me.

For all the people who got scammed too, I hope you don't let them get away with taking your hard-earned money and disrespecting your time.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from It's Just Lunch

Oct 8, 2021

Unfortunately, this reviewer has never actually utilized our services since deciding to become a client. We do not guarantee any age, religion, or parental status that is outside of the original preferences discussed during our interview process. In this case, the preferences discussed meant that we were able to work with her as a client. After contacting her with her first match, she provided availability and a date was scheduled. She then contacted our team to cancel the date and said that she did not want to meet him and began listing requirements of matches that were different than what was discussed during the interview process and are things that we do not guarantee.

While our responses to her questions about this may have seemed robotic, it’s simply because our entire team knows what we can guarantee and what we can’t, so the answer never changed to what this reviewer was demanding to hear. We’ve been matching our clients since 1991 and we stand by our services. We wish this person the best.

Posted on Oct 3, 2021

Best dating coach ever!

By Sharon R., Indianapolis, IN, Verified Reviewer

The first thing I liked about IJL is that everyone is vetted. Your date is at a nice upscale location convenient to where you live or work. They listen to your feedback and improve upon your dating goals after each date. My experience with Kevin as a Dating Coach has been the best one I've ever had. He is quick to respond and selects the matches according to my criteria. Keep up the good work Kevin!

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Saves time and matches are based on your criteria

You will meet others that want a real connection

May take a little time in between matches

Company Response from It's Just Lunch

Oct 12, 2021

We are happy to hear you are enjoying your experience and working with your Matchmaker. We are hard at work on your next date. Happy dating!

Posted on Sep 24, 2021

My first date

By Veronica O., Royal Palm Beach, FL, Verified Reviewer

I have only had contact with It's Just Lunch for a couple of weeks. They are very professional and I hope through their services I can find a couple.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

They know their business and understand the client

Personalize service and very kind

Appropriate restaurant for dating

They said I can have 12 dates, they didn't tell me it's just one every month

Company Response from It's Just Lunch

Oct 4, 2021

Thanks Veronica! We are enjoying our relationship with you so far and look forward to scheduling your next fun first date! Happy dating!

Posted on Sep 22, 2021

It’s Just Lunch - excellent experience

By Margaret Y., Dayton, OH, Verified Reviewer

It’s Just Lunch matches like-minded people for casual unpressured get-togethers at lunch or a drink or coffee after work. It’s Just Lunch has already done the screening for you, and finds compatible people for you to connect with.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The personnel at It's Just Lunch

Helpfulness

Quick to respond

No “cons” were specified in this review

Company Response from It's Just Lunch

Oct 4, 2021

Thanks Margaret! From the entire IJL team, thank you for being an IJL client. We love taking all of the hard work out of dating so you can have fun!

Posted on Aug 28, 2021

IJL matchmaking, way to go!

By Simon K., Arlington, TX, Verified Reviewer

I joined IJL a month ago and my matchmaker Erin has been an incredible person. She has set me up on 3 successful dates already! I have developed a good rapport and trust in my matchmaker and that is key for success. Erin is a superwoman matchmaker, please request to be her client should you join IJL.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Professionalism

Quality dates

Quality matchmaker

No “cons” were specified in this review

Company Response from It's Just Lunch

Aug 31, 2021

Thanks Simon! We look forward to hearing more feedback from you on future dates, we are hard at work on your next fun first date!

Posted on Aug 19, 2021

I would definitely recommend IJL.

By Stephanie D., Cincinnati, OH, Verified Reviewer

I live in a rural area where dating and options are challenging. Kevin has reached into the Columbus and Cincinnati markets to find me a couple of dates. Although neither of these are the ONE for me, he continues to aggressively search for my true love match.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Private

The search is done based on wants and needs

Quality people

Expensive

No guarantee

For maximum benefit you need to live in a large urban area

Company Response from It's Just Lunch

Aug 31, 2021

Thanks Stephanie! We appreciate the open and honest feedback and are committed to helping you find your special someone!

Showing 12-22 of 85

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.