Start your review of LA Fitness:
  • 22 Customer Reviews
  • 5% Recommend This Company
1.3 out of 5
5 star: 0% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 13% 2 star: 4% 1 star: 81%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • DON'T!

    Overall Experience:

    I bought personal training. The first training nobody showed up. Reason - snow. For the next two months, I had four! Different coaches. None of them knew my goals. None of them were interested in doing a great job, they were boring, did everything mechanical. Reason - two of them told me straight "I earn $10 an hour so why do I need to do any effort..."

    I also had problems with the agreement - without details, management was changing like a few times during the year, for a few months, there wasn't a manager, only someone who was responsible. They couldn't help me, worse, they lied to me every time I asked them.

    I wrote a few letters about this situation to the head office - NO RESPONSE!

    This is the worst place ever! Don't even start with them. There are so many other gyms - much better.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not sign a contract!

    • By Glenda D.,
    • 8505 cooper Creek,
    • Oct 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Do not sign a contract with them! Make sure you get it printed out and take it home, review every single paragraph. Cody A, the salesperson who sign me into a YEAR contract for a personal trainer for an additional cost of $360 monthly, when it was supposed to be for a month ONLY! And right after, he moved to the Bradenton location (conveniently). Additionally, he signed me paying a monthly membership for a year to make it clear.

    I call the manager several times, he’s always at lunch, he’s never at the location. They don’t face you. And nobody knows anything!

    In my opinion, they are well train to scam you and walk away. The worst experience ever! Do not sign with them!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst and aggressive customer services from manager Skye!

    • By Maria Z.,
    • Miami Gardens, FL,
    • Oct 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I canceled my membership. I have been a customer for two years, but one day at this gym crossed everything. I was recording myself for a personal vlog, suddenly the "manager" Skye, came to me and in an aggressive manner started to yell at me for my video. I told her that I recorded myself, but still she forced me to delete the video. I tried to cancel my membership with another representative, but she started shouting again and told me that only she can do a cancellation here. Then she proudly stated that she has been a manager there for the last 20 years and started to ask me for how long do I live in the country (I have a record of this discrimination). Worst customer service I had ever see.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Less value going forward

    • By Fred S.,
    • Roswell, GA,
    • Aug 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been a member for about 15 years and have generally been a satisfied customer. But I think the company is changing its business strategy for the worst. A fairly new club that opened near me about two years ago offers no racquetball, no sauna, no jacuzzi, and a very narrow pool. I was told that will be typical for new clubs going forward. Thus, the amenities mentioned in the article cannot be taken for granted.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Sales associates do not listen actively

    • By Kyle W.,
    • Irving, TX,
    • Jul 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I signed up for a 5-day free pass to try out the club. I wanted to see what the basketball games were like. I was given a 1-day pass even though they emailed a 5-day pass. I was told if I didn't go through their questionnaire and tour I'd have to pay $15. They asked what my goal was and I said to play basketball. They tried to force personal training on me when it is completely irrelevant. I told them I will sign up if the games are good. They tried to force me into a 1-year membership. Salespeople are a joke there. They just kept data dumping on me rather than understanding what I want. Nice club, mentally challenged staff. Games were pretty weak. 24 Hour Fitness Irving is much more competitive and safe (lots dudes fouling in jorts and sandals).

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible

    • By David G.,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jun 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The air conditioner is not on at certain times, and the Wi-Fi is on a timer and doesn’t work in most parts of the gym. The staff just does not care at all any time it’s a problem. Their response is "we have to contact the head office," which is just a BS answer and nothing changes. I would not recommend LA Fitness at 1628 N el-central. I'll do my two months here and am going to a better gym like Equinox gym; it’s more, but I’m sure it's better than this dump. I hate LA Fitness. Stay away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Never sign up with LA Fitness!

    • By Heather T.,
    • Florida,
    • May 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Don't EVER sign up for services with LA Fitness. They make false promises, their trainers are dangerously incompetent, and they will NOT let you out of your contract, even after THEY have injured you and you can NO LONGER receive their services. Worst decision I ever made was to sign up with LA Fitness!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Personal training scam

    • By Eric Ruiz,
    • Texas,
    • Mar 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    ‪Anyone who has an LA Fitness membership, be warned. They are running a personal training scam and will try to get you to pay month to month. But they actually are signing you up for a year. Corporate didn't help at all! Worst customer service!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • If you like spit on your work out machines, this is the place for you!

    • By J. W.,
    • Beverly Hills, CA,
    • Feb 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My letter to the LA Fitness CEO - Louis Welch says it all.

    Hello Mr. Welch,

    I am contacting you today because I have been a member of LA Fitness in Beverly Hills for about 6 months. In that time I have enjoyed my time going to the club and regularly visit it about 5 days a week for about 2 hours a day.

    To cut to the chase, today I cancelled my membership. The reason is, because a little over week ago a member, was using the elliptical machine next to me. Out of the side of my eye, I noticed he kept leaning forward, and I would hear a hocking noise through my head phones. This was about every 30 seconds or so.

    I tried not to look over thinking he just had a cold or whatever. But it quickly became obvious that he was spitting into a towel he had laid across and into the cup holder on the machine. I was shocked. It was gross. All the machines were full on that first day so I kept up my routine, hoping one would open up. Before one did, I noticed he took a second towel he had draped across the monitor and switched it with the spit soaked one. (Putting the spit one onto the monitor.) (At least there is no flu going around... right?) Finally a machine opened up and I switched to it to get away from the guy.

    A couple of days later, I'm working out on the same row of machines, and several are open, yet this guy now picks the one right next to me and starts up again. Coincidence or not, I just go there to work out and want no trouble with anyone. So I move.

    Today, I was working out again on the same row and again several machines are open around me, and I hear someone whistling from beside and behind me. I don't pay it any mind then I see a towel go down over the cup holder and the guy then comes around to the front of the machine and hangs a towel on the monitor, still whistling. I look over at him, he looks at me and he hocks a wad of spit into the towel.

    I stopped and asked him what he was doing? He said what? I said did you just spit onto the machine? He said so what if I did its none of your business and mind your own business. I told him it was and is my business. I work out on these machines and its gross and nasty. Not to mention everyone is trying not to get sick. And I said do not do it again. Again he said who are you to tell me what to do. That's when I said lets go see the manager and see if he's ok with your routine of spitting onto the equipment.

    I went up and found GM Mr. Crosby. A very nice gentleman. He was appalled by what I told him and we went looking to find the member. The member had left the area. When we came back up to the front the member was now talking with PTD Mrs. Alex Valero. I told Mr. Crosby that this was the person. The member admitted to what he was doing and again said over and over in an aggressive manner that it was none of my business. He was not apologetic; in fact he said that he was not scared of me and that he would break me in two. At which point I did say well do it then. I had every right to stand up for myself and will always stand up against bullies. He did not break me in two.

    I then walked away with Mr. Crosby and he thanked me very much for being there and bringing this disgusting event to his attention. I told him that I did not want to be in a gym with this person again. And no one should spit on the equipment or threaten members. I then went back to work out.

    To my surprise, Mrs. Valero and OM Mrs. Ruta came up to me when I was back on the machine, and I thought they were going to apologize and maybe thank me for taking the steps that I did, as Mr. Crosby had. Instead they told me the member was going to simply be given a warning. And that I was going to be given a warning too.

    I asked for what? Mrs. Valero said I was aggressive. I stated that if I was going to be given a warning then I was going to cancel my membership immediately. When we walked back up front Mrs. Valero now said I said that I was going to kick the member's a**. I was with Mr. Crosby the entire time. I asked Mr. Crosby if I had said that, and he said no I had not said that. Mrs. Ruta then let me know that I should have told them sooner that the member was spitting. Really nice.

    The fact that a member spits on the equipment and then found it entertaining to get up next to me on several occasions like a bullying stalker should be of great concern to Mrs. Valero and Mrs. Ruta.

    LA Fitness should not be a High School. Mrs. Valero however, since I have been a member, is seemingly unable to even answer a simple "Hi" or "Good morning"... so much so that I gave up even saying it to her. Because she'd look you straight in the face after hearing a "Good morning" and act is if you weren't even there. That aside, her handling of this event, should be troubling for LA Fitness as it was for me. I guess she was friends with the human sprinkler.

    If you like people spitting on your work out machines, well this is the place for you!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I do not recommend this club to anyone, especially those who have children!

    Overall Experience:

    When you want to register in LA Fitness, completely pay attention to all the terms of their contract!

    If you want to cancel your membership, even after the first meeting, and only after a week of using this club, you will experience the worst customer service among American clubs!

    They make money with their unfair policies! They will charge you for two months at first, and you just have three days for canceling with a refund! This means you have no time to change your mind. This time for cancellation means no refund after registration.

    I tried two different locations (San Francisco on Highway 121 and McKenny in Custer), and both have similar problems. The children's care club is awful, it is an empty room without proper toys and someone who cares them continuously. The lowest standard and quality in their small swimming pool and bathroom.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do NOT sign up for personal training

    • By Roshni P,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Dec 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Please save yourself the time and money and DO NOT sign up for personal training. To save face I won't name names, but they put on this persona that they are really in it to help you and further your goals, but really when the time comes for renewals, cancellations, etc., they clearly don't care about you other than squeezing all they can out of you and getting in their numbers.

    It's a horrible game preying on the vulnerable. I was so excited and had high hopes for personal training at LA Fitness, but could not have been more disappointed with my experience. There are so many other superior options, not to mention more affordable. Please don't fall into this awful trap!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 12-22 of 22

Write a Review for LA Fitness!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
LA Fitness