Luminess Air

Luminess Air

Overall Rating

1.6

273 Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Summary

The Luminess Air airbrushing system lets you create a flawless makeup look at home. However, high prices and an unclear “rent to try” program might be a reason to stay away.

Pros

  • Customer reviews indicate the product works as described for applying makeup
  • Lots of makeup types and shades to choose from
  • Long-lasting coverage when used correctly
  • Can be more subtle than traditional makeup

Cons

  • Makeup containers are small, expensive compared to competitors
  • It takes time to perfect the application technique
  • “Rent To Try” pricing system tricks many people
  • Difficult to get refunds

Customer Reviews

1.6 Stars out of 273 Reviews
5 Star:10% 4 Star:2% 3 Star:0% 2 Star:6% 1 Star:79%
15% Recommend This Company
Start your review of Luminess Air:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Mar 23, 2020

Not happy

By Shellie A., Canada, Verified Reviewer

You sent me your product and I plugged it in and it doesn't work, so I contacted your company to get a replacement and was sent another stylus gun. The machine doesn't work, it is not the gun, and onto of all that I tried to call and cancel my subscription and plan to send back. To add insult to injury, I find out I have to pay to send it back to you. I feel scammed and will not recommend to anyone!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 24 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 15, 2020

Scammed!

By Curt M., Ohio, Verified Reviewer

Luminous Silk uses dubious business practices to sell their product. A commercial shows all the actual products at an advertised price of $19.95. Then without your permission, they will slowly extract $200 from your checking account. Then to top it off, you only have 1 month's ability to return, of course, it takes a month to get the product in the mail. So my complaints fell on deaf ears. Thank you for the high tech scam, I enjoyed being taken to the cleaners...

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 40 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 5, 2020

Buyer beware

By Toastie H., Jacksonville, FL, Verified Reviewer

This product is a SCAM, do not give them your credit card number! Do not buy this product. It is grossly overpriced and they will continue to send you worthless product every 30 days...and charge your card. NOT AN ETHICAL BUSINESS!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 46 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 1, 2020

Same

By Judy B., Myrtle Point, OR, Verified Reviewer

This is the worst product there. It does not work as stated. The advertisement they show I am sure are models being paid for this.

Do not order this as it's a scam.

Try to return it and you get the runaround.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 42 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 29, 2020

It’s a nightmare to buy the Luminess Air.

By Yi S., Lawrence, KS, Verified Reviewer

My husband bought me this as a gift. I got it but I didn’t like it. The Luminess Air is like painting a wall. It sucks. So I just put it aside. I didn’t know that I need to return it within 7 days, if not the company will charge us monthly. This happened almost a year ago. I wrote emails to the company trying to stop them from charging me and told them clearly that I don’t need any of their products in the future. But the company kept trying to charge me. I closed my bank account to escape this. But I still got the company letter that says "we have made several attempts to process payments with the credit card information provided and have been unable to collect payment...therefore your account is in danger of being sent to our collection agency". My husband only bought once and paid about $39 something, we received one product. But the nightmare began from the moment we supplied our bank account information - we don’t want to do business with them but we don’t know how to stop them from doing business with us.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 53 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 27, 2020

So far so good

By Wendy H., Chicago, IL, Verified Reviewer

So far I like this product, my friend complimented me the other day and asked what I was using because my face looked really nice. At age 60 I find that it doesn’t accentuate the wrinkles as much as a regular liquid foundation applied with the fingers or sponge.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 11, 2020

SCAM

By Lucy D., Austin, TX, Verified Reviewer

This is a rental unit! You will be signed up for monthly payments and if you are late with a payment, you will be subject to a $20 late payment, plus ALL collection fee, including without limitation, attorney fees that may result. You will also be charged a 25% re-stocking fee for the returned product, and NO REFUNDS, even if the product makes you break out. Makeup has a foul smell, and feels like plastic.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 60 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 10, 2020

SMOKE AND MIRRORS

By Cathy Q., Roswell, GA, Verified Reviewer

Why aren’t consumers being better protected?! I was really hoping for a great deal on a product I have always wanted to try. However, all it turns out to be is an illusion. It's too difficult to create the same results at home. This isn’t for older ladies with wrinkles. This type of makeup goes right into the crevices leaving highlighted ridges around every wrinkle on your face!

It is another scam to stick you with a costly membership which you must tangle in the courts to get out of. Don't do it! This is it for me! I will never watch an infomercial ever again! In addition, I am no longer watching QVC and its’ types again.

I conclude all of it is reminiscent of the "snake-oil" salesmen of yesteryear!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 66 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 6, 2020

I like it

By Chris G., Springfield, MO, Verified Reviewer

Well, my first week didn't go so well but when I called Luminess, the lady asked what I didn't like. After explaining, she told me what I needed and it has worked out fine. During the first week of trials and big errors, I had to explain to my clients that I was trying out new makeup. They were very understanding. I once had a face that looked like my head lived in Florida. I went back to my old makeup for a few days and then went back to Luminess. This time I put my glasses on when I picked up the small bottle of bronzer and realized I had put eye shadow over my entire face!! (I thought it was like a bronzer we might use in the summertime for a little extra color. How embarrassing! It was 2 weeks before I could admit what I had done to my best friend!)

Anyway, I just called them again a few minutes ago to tell them I have way too much makeup and I needed to change the frequency and the man set it for every 4 months. Not sure what the final charges up to this point are but I will check it out.

The best thing I like is that I don't have makeup all over my fingers like the old bottle kind.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 19 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 30, 2019

It's junk...the free items are even junk.

By Steven A., Michigan, Verified Reviewer

This product is not even worth the restocking fee...I am even returning the free items that came with it. The mascara was broken and went all over and to those of you that know, mascara is hard to wash off/out. Very disappointed.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 45 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 13, 2019

Scam! Fraudulent company!

By Joy P., Cottage Grove, OR, Verified Reviewer

Saw the product on an infomercial one night and decided to give the product a try thinking that I would only pay $30 to try it just like other makeup I have tried in the past, only to discover they were pinging my bank card two times in a four day period of almost $50 each time so now we are at $130. So then I called the company to cancel the subscription I knew nothing about when ordering, because they didn’t tell me anything about it and I also did not give them permission to auto-charge my card. I had no clue they would hold onto my banking information! When I called the lady on the phone started reading a script and each time I said I would like to cancel she would go on and read a second script and a third script and a fourth script with each one getting more and more intense. So when she said that I would continue to be charged because I signed up for this and I couldn’t cancel the next shipment coming to me January 4 which is a month away. I said I don’t want it and she said I would be charged as stated in something I never saw or heard or read when ordering!

I finally decided to hang up as I was getting nowhere with their customer service and I called my bank to report this as fraud as nobody should be forced to buy anything they don’t want. Obviously it’s overseas and they are scamming as many people as they can. My bank stopped them from being able to charge my card. Thank you Wells Fargo for your insurance! Bank manager says this happens all the time but it was my first and I was in shock! I did try the product and was not thrilled. Now I don’t even want to use it as they made me so angry! I prefer Mac makeup and the like at Ulta...where I am in control of when I want more and buy on my own terms!

No, I would not recommend to ANYONE! They should be put out of biz in my opinion! Don’t buy! You have been warned!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 115 People Have Voted
Showing 12-22 of 273

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.