About Luminess Air

If you’ve ever dreamed of having magazine-ready, pearlescent skin at the touch of a button, Luminess Air’s at-home makeup application airbrushing kit might pique your interest. The system promises simple setup, easy maintenance and smooth, stunning results for a one-time cost that’s on par with a spa-day package, but with a better-lasting glow.

What’s Airbrushing?

The airbrushing method of applying foundation has been popular for professional artists working in film, theater, and even special events for several decades, and is most-loved for delivering superior, blendable coverage, despite using a minimal amount of product.

It works on the same principle as spray-paint (which is actually how the method was invented! You know, long ago before they cared about stuff like dying from toxins.)

If you haven’t ever seen airbrushing in action, the best way to imagine how it works is to compare painting a wall with a brush or sponge roller, which yields thick coats of paint and uneven application, to the fine mist and even coverage you get from spray-on methods.

Each airbrushing system uses a small, pen-size tool that holds foundation in a small reservoir and gently sprays it on the skin in a spray-dot pattern, which eliminates any visible brush strokes and results in a totally natural look (providing your foundation color is a good match.)

Luminess Air Everyday System – What to Expect

This is the Luminess Air “basic kit” (not their pro version). It promises a quick and simple learning curve, and to provide buyers with everything they need to get started applying airbrushed makeup, including:

  • Compressor, stylus & nozzle
  • Two .55 oz foundations
  • Blush
  • Bronzer
  • Glow
  • Primer / Moisturizer

To order a kit, you first have to select your skin shade from five groups. The kit will then come with two different foundation shades that you can mix to achieve a natural look. Luminess offers a color match service to those who have a difficult time choosing; simply upload a recent picture and submit it through their site in order to receive suggestions for your best fit.

The Luminess site also offers a bounty of “How To” videos that walk users through everything from their first time using the device, to basic application tips and advice from professionals, as well as suggestions for mature skin.

The foundation used with Luminess Air is promoted as oil-free and great for sensitive skin. Luminess claims applying makeup with their device has the following benefits as well:

  • A delicate and flawless finish that feels like you’re not wearing makeup, with minimized wrinkles and fine lines
  • Hygienic, since your hands or brushes never touch your face
  • Light to maximum coverage that delivers the appearance of younger skin, with reduced look of blemishes, age spots, redness, large pores, and acne
  • Great for use on the face and body

Setting up the device is as simple as plugging it in, depositing foundation in the stylus’s reservoir, and pulling back a lever to begin application.

Cleaning is required after every use to avoid gunking up the system, and is accomplished by placing a few drops of water into the reservoir, and then spraying the device onto a cloth until all remaining product has been pushed through the nozzle and the spray runs clear.

Caution: Luminess Air Will Cost You

The Luminess Air Everyday system costs $199, and is available in the website’s Online Shop section. Additionally, foundation refills cost between $18 and $40, depending on the line you choose.

However, Luminess Air offers multiple models and packaged kits, and many buyers report feeling tricked or confused by the pricing scheme offered on the Luminess home page.

It’s worth noting that the site appears to offer users an upgraded kit for a 30-day trial for $19.95, however in very fine print this also appears:

“Then after 30 days when you love Luminess, it’s yours for only 5 easy monthly payments of fifty-nine dollars and ninety-nine cents when you order today!”

That is a whopping $299! And it’s unclear whether or not the initial $19.95 fee to “try” their system is deducted from your total cost.

The Luminess Air return policy promises that dissatisfied buyers can return it for a full refund within 30 days of delivery, minus shipping and handling, as well as an “initial trial cost” that isn’t fully explained in their terms.

To return a Luminess Air, the device must be thoroughly cleaned and not show any wear and tear. Returns must also be authorized by customer service before they may be sent in.

A one-year manufacturer's warranty does cover buyers if their Luminess Air breaks, but is considered void if any non-Luminess brand makeup is used.

What Are Reviewers Saying about the Luminess Air?

Luminess Air has over 300 registered complaints on the site PissedConsumer.com alone, many of which reference:

  • Difficulty returning the product and being charged the full amount
  • Negative customer service experiences
  • Not allowed to return a device that had been used
  • Unclear pricing
  • Unreasonably long shipping times (up to 4 weeks)

Unhappy buyers have also turned to Yelp, giving Luminess Air an overall rating of 1.2 out of 5 stars. Complaints include more mentions of poor customer service and potentially shady pricing:

“It's been more than 4 weeks since I've placed my order with the promise of receiving it before the holidays. Now 2 days before Christmas, several hours on hold, several threatening emails, and a dispute with my bank later, my order has finally shipped. It is expected to come January 2nd. More than 6 weeks after my original order.” Source

“The advertisement makes it seem like you can get the machine and makeup kit for $20.00. That may be unrealistically cheap, but they seem to promise that. Once you are on the phone they try to tell you it's $300.00. But they just don't tell you that, they try to go through this hokey spiel about easy payments and how they can make lower payments for you.” Source

That’s Not To Say There Aren’t Positive Luminess Air Reviews

If you’re searching for folks who have nice things to say about the Luminess Air, you don’t have to look too far – YouTube is full of tutorials where bloggers and home-beauty-buffs show their prowess with the device, although some of these are paid endorsements.

Pros and Cons of the Luminess Airbrush Makeup System

The brand lives up to its promise of providing easy-to-use, professional quality makeup and tools in its airbrush makeup system. You can choose from a wide range of makeup colors available, so it’s stress-free to find the right color range for you.

Perhaps the only concern that buyers have expressed about this product is the customer support and confusing pricing plans – both of which need some improvement. But if you’re patient enough to wait for shipping and understand what the final cost is, you might be very happy with this product.

The Verdict

Overall, the Luminess Air airbrush makeup system is priced similarly to others on the market. With their complete range of makeup, you can create a natural look that appears flawless with minimal practice.

But airbrushing kits aren’t cheap! Since there are quite a few options on the market, potential buyers interested in learning more might do best comparing a few models and brands before purchasing one.

When doing this, be sure to compare all the parts included in your kit. Also, consider the products you’ll have to use, and whether or not they meet your skin’s needs.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

153 Consumer Reviews for Luminess Air

Average Consumer Rating: 1.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 19 4 star: 7 3 star: 0 2 star: 12 1 star:  115
Bottom Line: 18% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 153
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    SCAM!

    • Arkansas,
    • Jan 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the airbrush and doesn't work...I haven't even tried it with the makeup. They claim to give a full refund. THEY DO NOT. And I've not even tried it. The contour tool takes way too much time to sit down and work with. I did try it, you could basically use a vacuum cleaner, it's really the same suction. I started calling on Monday, this is Thursday and not a return call at all. I spent the past two hours talking to one very rude salesman. You cannot return the contouring device without the airbrush, which I really wanted to try, but if you keep one you have to pay for both whether you want it or not. And there is no full refund. I haven't even tried my trial. It's false advertisement. It's a scam. It's a lie! I'm out $58.00 for something I haven't even opened. Don't order anything from this company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Bate and switch scam

    • Arlington, TX,
    • Jan 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the airbrush for my wife based on a $19.95 deal from a TV commercial. The received airbrush did not perform at all like stated on TV. I called to get a refund and was told the real cost is $150 in three monthly installments. Luminess Air's terms and conditions never mention the $150. Then the agent on the phone tried to sell us a $300 unit. The TV commercial shows the high-end product but they send the low grade then push a high-pressure sale for the $300 unit. They also auto-enroll you in their $39.95 makeup club without your permission. We demanded they cancel the entire order and we would send the machine back. The agent argued for 20 plus minutes and pushed a sale as hard as she could. We finally demanded and insisted to cancel the order immediately.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    So complicated you will be pulling your hair out

    • Minnesota,
    • Jan 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I couldn't even see if this product worked or not as you have to be a professional makeup artist just to figure out how to use it! It was so complicated to try to use that I gave up after like a half hour of getting frustrated and angry trying to use it!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Stay away from this company!

    • Sacramento, CA,
    • Jan 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company is a fraud! I paid for an airbrush system and nothing was included that was promised. The only thing I got was the system. No foundation, and nothing else promised. It’s not even listed on my packing slip, but it is on my receipt. Now they refuse to issue me the products they didn’t give me, they will not answer when I call and when I email they tell me to call. When I called, they said email and photo of what I received and it will be replaced. When I did that they said I have to call to fix this and stop using email. Now I can’t get through when I call. They are continuing to charge my credit card so I asked them to take back what they sent and give a refund, but they are telling me I have to pay for return shipping and they won’t give my money back for 8 weeks! Stay away from this company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 27 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware!

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Jan 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am going to caution each and every one of you who thinks you want to order this product. What a scam! Don’t do it! I ordered it and changed my mind. I didn’t even open the box and they only refunded $8.99 of my $79.95! This is atrocious! They will be hearing from my attorney as I’m a member of LegalShield thank heavens! I demand a refund!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 25 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Luminous Air makeup

    • Yorktown, VA,
    • Jan 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the Luminess Air silk makeup and machine. First I received the old Luminess makeup machine, not the new one advertised on TV. The old machine requires a lot more makeup drips than what was advertised with the new machine. Second, I’m not sure if I received old makeup or what, but I never had the coverage results as the women did in any video I watched from their website or from the TV ads. As a result, I would not recommend buying this system.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Excellent

    • Calgary, Alberta, Canada,
    • Dec 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This airbrush system and the products/foundations are superior and water based. There’s a wide array of correcting products and color matching foundations.

    Simple to remove and non-irritating. I recommend this product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 8, 2019

      Laurie Farnam F.

      OMG! I have never ever heard a "recommendation" such as this that didn't sound exactly like a SHILL! Whoever wrote this should do a "commercial" on Fox News, that is if you haven't already.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 59 out 60 people found this review helpful

    Total scam!

    • Clermont, FL,
    • Dec 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I made a mistake and got the gadget and one set of makeup. Now, they are charging my card every month. They charge $1.00 first and if it goes through they charge me $42.95, and $38.95 every month in different days. When I realized in August (I bought the machine in July), I called them and told them that I do not want to be a member, I do not do makeup every day. They agreed, I paid whatever I owed. I thought that will be the end of Luminess. Now every month since August, September, October, they have been charging me twice with the above amounts, totaling $250. I called again, demanded to speak with a supervisor. They said, she/he will call in an hour. Nobody called of course.

    This is illegal to begin with, I did not authorize anybody to charge my card every month, and they are just charing for nothing, the gadget has been paid already. It was a terrible mistake. I am waiting to see another charge, I will sue them this time. This is the biggest scam I ever had an experience with. Shame on you. The person who spoke to me told me that the only thing they can do refund the last payment! Unbelievable!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 49 out 50 people found this review helpful

    Horrible company

    • Massachusetts,
    • Dec 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I placed one order with Luminess and was charged 16, yes, SIXTEEN TIMES. Now because I opened a dispute, they won’t send me the product. Seriously! Also, when I first received the machine, it was not working. I stated that I wanted to return it. Funny, they dropped the price by 1/2. When I contacted customer service, the woman who I spoke with was less than helpful.

    HORRIBLE, horrible customer service!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 66 out 68 people found this review helpful

    Worse customer service managers who don't have time to talk!

    • Texas,
    • Dec 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    You're welcome for my 100% real experience review everywhere! And all my conversations were recorded for training purposes by Luminess Air LLC Stafford (use them, management included).

    110% dissatisfied customer! This is all because of the customer service manager refusing to speak directly with a customer. Along with being dishonest during the entire process! I would like to say that the customer service representative did his best! The supervisors have no time to speak with an upset customer!

    On 12/13/18 I called to inquire about my purchase for my daughter (a 45-minute call I might add). They told me it was shipped and should have arrived. Ok...it didn't no surprise due to all the holidays shipping going on.

    I told the CSR gentleman that it's very important for me to have it as I need to mail it out ASAP. He excused himself, talked to the supervisor, and came back and said they will ship out another item and it will most likely not make it to me on time for Christmas. I told him I was greatly disappointed even more now! I asked because I can see on their website to expedite the package! He excuses himself and says he can't. I ask him to ask his supervisor, he comes back and says the supervisor said to cancel my order and then reorder it with expedited shipping!

    I said that's absurd! I ask for the supervisor to speak with me and guess what folks? The supervisor is too busy to talk with me! I ash the CSR to ask the supervisor to figure something out better for this situation, as I live less than 1 mile away, I wanted to just come in person and sign for it the very same day so I could mail it out. Well, the CSR says his manager said no! I tell them to ask the manager to reship it Priority Mail! He then came back and said now she can do that! Really...

    So I waited the four days to receive the product and two days extra because of Christmas shipping issues. I called today, 12/19/18 and he told me it wasn't shipped out until 12/17/18 and it won't make it to me in time! I asked to speak with the manager, he came back and says that they won't talk with me, they are too busy to handle my situation now of after another 30+ minutes wasted in this call today!

    I told them to cancel my order. He excuses himself and comes back and says his manager said they cannot cancel my order! So now there is smoke flying out of my ears and I've had enough! I called the location directly and the office manager won't speak with me either!

    I choose what companies I buy from and Luminess Direct LLC Stafford will not directly get my money! I have good credit and pay all my bills on time and my creditors love me. I filed a dispute with Mastercard and they assured me I will get my money back!

    Hey folks, there's this place called something "_bay" that has the exact product with exceptional service too!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 61 out 62 people found this review helpful

    The WORST makeup EVER!

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Dec 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is such a scam! The makeup is so crappy, my wrinkles came out more than ever, it made a shiny oily look, it takes forever to clean the machine, and they even want you to take it apart after every use, but I couldn't get it apart! And it's so time-consuming. I thought finally something to hide my defects? NOT AT ALL! It's blotchy, runny, shows blackhead pores, wrinkles, freckles, and it looks so fake! It made me look WORSE.

    I CANNOT BELIEVE I fell for such a scam! And an EXPENSIVE scam at that! And you can't even get ahold of customer service. And if it was so great, how come there is only one operator taking calls to order? I got the same guy every time I tried calling to complain, and he just hung up on me every time!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 153

Write a Review for Luminess Air!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review