About Luminess Air

If you’ve ever dreamed of having magazine-ready, pearlescent skin at the touch of a button, Luminess Air’s at-home makeup application airbrushing kit might pique your interest. The system promises simple setup, easy maintenance and smooth, stunning results for a one-time cost that’s on par with a spa-day package, but with a better-lasting glow.

What’s Airbrushing?

The airbrushing method of applying foundation has been popular for professional artists working in film, theater, and even special events for several decades, and is most-loved for delivering superior, blendable coverage, despite using a minimal amount of product.

It works on the same principle as spray-paint (which is actually how the method was invented! You know, long ago before they cared about stuff like dying from toxins.)

If you haven’t ever seen airbrushing in action, the best way to imagine how it works is to compare painting a wall with a brush or sponge roller, which yields thick coats of paint and uneven application, to the fine mist and even coverage you get from spray-on methods.

Each airbrushing system uses a small, pen-size tool that holds foundation in a small reservoir and gently sprays it on the skin in a spray-dot pattern, which eliminates any visible brush strokes and results in a totally natural look (providing your foundation color is a good match.)

Luminess Air Everyday System – What to Expect

This is the Luminess Air “basic kit” (not their pro version). It promises a quick and simple learning curve, and to provide buyers with everything they need to get started applying airbrushed makeup, including:

  • Compressor, stylus & nozzle
  • Two .55 oz foundations
  • Blush
  • Bronzer
  • Glow
  • Primer / Moisturizer

To order a kit, you first have to select your skin shade from five groups. The kit will then come with two different foundation shades that you can mix to achieve a natural look. Luminess offers a color match service to those who have a difficult time choosing; simply upload a recent picture and submit it through their site in order to receive suggestions for your best fit.

The Luminess site also offers a bounty of “How To” videos that walk users through everything from their first time using the device, to basic application tips and advice from professionals, as well as suggestions for mature skin.

The foundation used with Luminess Air is promoted as oil-free and great for sensitive skin. Luminess claims applying makeup with their device has the following benefits as well:

  • A delicate and flawless finish that feels like you’re not wearing makeup, with minimized wrinkles and fine lines
  • Hygienic, since your hands or brushes never touch your face
  • Light to maximum coverage that delivers the appearance of younger skin, with reduced look of blemishes, age spots, redness, large pores, and acne
  • Great for use on the face and body

Setting up the device is as simple as plugging it in, depositing foundation in the stylus’s reservoir, and pulling back a lever to begin application.

Cleaning is required after every use to avoid gunking up the system, and is accomplished by placing a few drops of water into the reservoir, and then spraying the device onto a cloth until all remaining product has been pushed through the nozzle and the spray runs clear.

Caution: Luminess Air Will Cost You

The Luminess Air Everyday system costs $199, and is available in the website’s Online Shop section. Additionally, foundation refills cost between $18 and $40, depending on the line you choose.

However, Luminess Air offers multiple models and packaged kits, and many buyers report feeling tricked or confused by the pricing scheme offered on the Luminess home page.

It’s worth noting that the site appears to offer users an upgraded kit for a 30-day trial for $19.95, however in very fine print this also appears:

“Then after 30 days when you love Luminess, it’s yours for only 5 easy monthly payments of fifty-nine dollars and ninety-nine cents when you order today!”

That is a whopping $299! And it’s unclear whether or not the initial $19.95 fee to “try” their system is deducted from your total cost.

The Luminess Air return policy promises that dissatisfied buyers can return it for a full refund within 30 days of delivery, minus shipping and handling, as well as an “initial trial cost” that isn’t fully explained in their terms.

To return a Luminess Air, the device must be thoroughly cleaned and not show any wear and tear. Returns must also be authorized by customer service before they may be sent in.

A one-year manufacturer's warranty does cover buyers if their Luminess Air breaks, but is considered void if any non-Luminess brand makeup is used.

What Are Reviewers Saying about the Luminess Air?

Luminess Air has over 300 registered complaints on the site PissedConsumer.com alone, many of which reference:

  • Difficulty returning the product and being charged the full amount
  • Negative customer service experiences
  • Not allowed to return a device that had been used
  • Unclear pricing
  • Unreasonably long shipping times (up to 4 weeks)

Unhappy buyers have also turned to Yelp, giving Luminess Air an overall rating of 1.2 out of 5 stars. Complaints include more mentions of poor customer service and potentially shady pricing:

“It's been more than 4 weeks since I've placed my order with the promise of receiving it before the holidays. Now 2 days before Christmas, several hours on hold, several threatening emails, and a dispute with my bank later, my order has finally shipped. It is expected to come January 2nd. More than 6 weeks after my original order.” Source

“The advertisement makes it seem like you can get the machine and makeup kit for $20.00. That may be unrealistically cheap, but they seem to promise that. Once you are on the phone they try to tell you it's $300.00. But they just don't tell you that, they try to go through this hokey spiel about easy payments and how they can make lower payments for you.” Source

That’s Not To Say There Aren’t Positive Luminess Air Reviews

If you’re searching for folks who have nice things to say about the Luminess Air, you don’t have to look too far – YouTube is full of tutorials where bloggers and home-beauty-buffs show their prowess with the device, although some of these are paid endorsements.

Pros and Cons of the Luminess Airbrush Makeup System

The brand lives up to its promise of providing easy-to-use, professional quality makeup and tools in its airbrush makeup system. You can choose from a wide range of makeup colors available, so it’s stress-free to find the right color range for you.

Perhaps the only concern that buyers have expressed about this product is the customer support and confusing pricing plans – both of which need some improvement. But if you’re patient enough to wait for shipping and understand what the final cost is, you might be very happy with this product.

The Verdict

Overall, the Luminess Air airbrush makeup system is priced similarly to others on the market. With their complete range of makeup, you can create a natural look that appears flawless with minimal practice.

But airbrushing kits aren’t cheap! Since there are quite a few options on the market, potential buyers interested in learning more might do best comparing a few models and brands before purchasing one.

When doing this, be sure to compare all the parts included in your kit. Also, consider the products you’ll have to use, and whether or not they meet your skin’s needs.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

108 Consumer Reviews for Luminess Air

Average Consumer Rating: 1.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 14 4 star: 7 3 star: 0 2 star: 6 1 star:  81
Bottom Line: 20% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 108
Sort reviews by:

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Highly disappointed

    • California,
    • Jul 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered my first trial kit and the make-up leaked within its packaging. This is a huge red flag and a sign of a faulty product. It took me three emails and a phone call before being told I could return the unused system and product, but at my own expense. Not regular mail, but certified mail, which will cost more than what I paid. On top of all this, there is a note inside like an IOU for a product that is out of stock...really? I also submitted pictures along with the complaint, and I still received rude and unhelpful service. Why should I have to pay to return the product that came to me as faulty?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Product delivery delays

    • Duvall, WA,
    • Jul 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    As much as I like the product, getting the product in a timely manner seems to be difficult, and the bottles have a tendency to leak a lot. I've only just started with the product, and have ordered a lot of replacement foundation in order to get the color right. However, since most of the bottles I received leaked I lost at least half of the product down the drain and it certainly makes a mess on my bathroom counters.

    I ended have to order quite a bit of new replacement product. I placed an order over a week and half ago and it will not get to me until July 18th (it's now July 12th), which is really disappointing since I'm completely out of the foundation. I've gone back to my old powder foundation, which works but since I believe I'm still in the 30-day trial period, I've not been able to use the product for nearly a week. The product is supposedly being shipped FedEx, so I don't understand it takes more than two weeks to get to me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Why behave this way?

    • Colorado,
    • Jul 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Why set up a sales model where you 1) try to trick the people on what the cost will actually be, and 2) force them into shipments they might not want, and refuse to honor their products by refusing to issue any returns.

    The products are good enough that they don't need to piss off tons of customers with these sleazy tactics.

    Probably just another example of corporate greed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    It's a scam, a rip-off

    • Indiana,
    • Jul 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    For starters, when I first ordered it in May 2018, I didn't get charged the $20, I got charged $37. Then since May they have pulled over $300 from my bank acct. That's the full amount of the system, yet I'm still getting charged $43 and change, and when I called I was told I have two more payments and then the system will be fully paid for. The $300 I've already paid should be the end of it, but it's not.

    I explained that I ordered it because I have stage III cancer and its taken a toll on me, especially how I look, I look 20 years older than I am. I told them I have not opened up or used any of the make-up or the system, and not even the free gifts. So I asked if I could send it back and was told no because it's past the 30 days. Then I asked if I can cancel the auto-ship and was again told no. I asked because I haven't used anything yet and four of the times they pulled a payment they made my bank account overdrawn and I had to pay for that.

    All they have done is refund a whole whopping $20 (which they said is a late fee charge, but how can it be a late fee when they get their money every time they have pulled it from my bank account), to my account and cut my shipments to every four months and for only $9.95 (which is supposedly 75% off). So I guess I'm going to have to report them to the BBB and get a lawyer and sue them. They have left me no other choice.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Worst customer service ever

    • Owasso, OK,
    • Jul 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I don’t like the product. It’s just not compatible with my skin. It makes me feel sticky and just gross. The customer service guy that I called to return the item wouldn’t listen and repeatedly tried to sell me more product. I get it’s his job to try to sell the product but when I have to tell you more than three times I’m not interested in the product and just give me an RA number to have him try to once again sell me more product is ridiculous. I don't know if customer support is on commission or what, but that’s ridiculous. After that I’ll never suggest this product to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Not for mature ladies

    • West Mifflin, PA,
    • Jul 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I quit using the product because it was difficult to get full coverage quickly and the product emphasized lines. Too expensive, slow delivery, and inferior products were only worth one star. Not worth any investment whatsoever!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Product is excellent

    • Savannah, GA,
    • Jul 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My daughter bought this product over five years ago and it makes her face look beautiful each time.

    No, it is not a scam. The makeup goes on easily and looks flawless. It really does not need a lot of liquid foundation in it to cover your face. My daughter demonstrated and it was easy as one, two, three.

    By the time she applied the foundation, she looked red carpet ready. Take it from a true customer that modeled for years and had to apply their own makeup. This is way easier.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 17 people found this review helpful

    This is what you do

    • Kentucky,
    • Jul 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got caught up in one of these type scams about a year ago. The first bottle of stuff was dirt cheap, and the second bottle billed my credit card for $99. I returned it, no credit given.

    I called customer service and told them if I didn't have credit by the next day, I would contact my State's Attorney General. I had a credit the next day and no more problems.

    Don't mess with Customer Service, just tell them "I WILL contact my State's Attorney General about your fraud."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 12, 2018

      RONALD K.

      IF I am reading your review, it states that you got caught up in a similar scam. However, what your review did not include was what your experience was with the Luminess. Just because you got taken to the cleaners and had to threaten the state attorney generals office regarding a business with a completely different company, does not make every other offer you may deem as a scam.

      If you get a bad lunch you don't stop eating. I have been doing business with Luminess for over 20 years and never have they tried to put one over on me. They have an efficient customer concierge with little to no hold time, even on Mondays when they have been closed. Just the length of time that the company has been in business speaks for itself. If they were in the business of scamming their customers they wouldn't be where they are today shipping globally, let alone, be allowed to have a merchant account in order to process credit and debit card transactions.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 30 out 30 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware!

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Jun 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Of course, you will be drawn to the infomercial it speaks to anyone with flaws! My makeup containers exploded both times (first order and replacement order). I thought this might be intentional, so it buys them time. Because after 30 days you are stuck with the product! I had to pay to return it, and you are not refunded all your money, so $50 later I had a two-day trial.

    This machine jams easily and is not easy to clean. If you have any type of peach fuzz on your face, it will accentuate your flaws! The colors are very hard to match, and it takes a lot of makeup to even cover your skin (way more than the directions suggest) they say 2-3 drops try 20! I’m good with makeup and have never had a problem making it look natural and flawless. This is a subscription service, don’t get caught in the trap!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 27 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Busted bottle

    • North Carolina,
    • Jun 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    So I have been using Luminess Air for about seven months now. Their product is simple to use and works fairly well with my skin. I am (was) on the auto-ship and today I received my order, and one bottle was busted. I called customer service to let them know they said they will replace the bottle for a processing fee. Now I have already paid for the product and didn't feel I needed to pay a processing fee for something that came to me busted.

    So I explained that and he keeps trying to ask me if I have tried all this other stuff and to smooth things over. I told him I didn't want something free, I just didn't think I should have to pay a processing fee. He persisted and got me to the point that I got aggravated. So I just told him to remove me from any more shipments and I didn't want the product anymore.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 25 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware! Do not give them bank information!

    • North Carolina,
    • Jun 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried this product from a special offered on the sprayer and basic products. I called to say that I had an allergic reaction. The customer service (the first one) was nice and professional. He refunded my last charge of $30. Then I received a charge of $50+ from Luminess.

    I called for a second time and spoke with a rude, sarcastic man. I was traveling, and they deducted that amount two more times.

    I had to cancel my credit card and have received threats from Luminess daily. Currently, I have a complaint in with my bank.

    If I had no skin issues, I would not have continued. I am quite adept with make-up but could not get the results they showed.

    Try Christian Dior spray. Quality and honesty.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 108

Write a Review for Luminess Air!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review