About Luminess Air

By Autumn Yates
HighYa Staff

If you’ve ever dreamed of having magazine-ready, pearlescent skin at the touch of a button, Luminess Air’s at-home makeup application airbrushing kit might pique your interest. The system promises simple setup, easy maintenance and smooth, stunning results for a one-time cost that’s on par with a spa-day package, but with a better-lasting glow.

What’s Airbrushing?

The airbrushing method of applying foundation has been popular for professional artists working in film, theater, and even special events for several decades, and is most-loved for delivering superior, blendable coverage, despite using a minimal amount of product.

It works on the same principle as spray-paint (which is actually how the method was invented! You know, long ago before they cared about stuff like dying from toxins.)

If you haven’t ever seen airbrushing in action, the best way to imagine how it works is to compare painting a wall with a brush or sponge roller, which yields thick coats of paint and uneven application, to the fine mist and even coverage you get from spray-on methods.

Each airbrushing system uses a small, pen-size tool that holds foundation in a small reservoir and gently sprays it on the skin in a spray-dot pattern, which eliminates any visible brush strokes and results in a totally natural look (providing your foundation color is a good match.)

Luminess Air Everyday System – What to Expect

This is the Luminess Air “basic kit” (not their pro version). It promises a quick and simple learning curve, and to provide buyers with everything they need to get started applying airbrushed makeup, including:

  • Compressor, stylus & nozzle
  • Two .55 oz foundations
  • Blush
  • Bronzer
  • Glow
  • Primer / Moisturizer

To order a kit, you first have to select your skin shade from five groups. The kit will then come with two different foundation shades that you can mix to achieve a natural look. Luminess offers a color match service to those who have a difficult time choosing; simply upload a recent picture and submit it through their site in order to receive suggestions for your best fit.

The Luminess site also offers a bounty of “How To” videos that walk users through everything from their first time using the device, to basic application tips and advice from professionals, as well as suggestions for mature skin.

The foundation used with Luminess Air is promoted as oil-free and great for sensitive skin. Luminess claims applying makeup with their device has the following benefits as well:

  • A delicate and flawless finish that feels like you’re not wearing makeup, with minimized wrinkles and fine lines
  • Hygienic, since your hands or brushes never touch your face
  • Light to maximum coverage that delivers the appearance of younger skin, with reduced look of blemishes, age spots, redness, large pores, and acne
  • Great for use on the face and body

Setting up the device is as simple as plugging it in, depositing foundation in the stylus’s reservoir, and pulling back a lever to begin application.

Cleaning is required after every use to avoid gunking up the system, and is accomplished by placing a few drops of water into the reservoir, and then spraying the device onto a cloth until all remaining product has been pushed through the nozzle and the spray runs clear.

Caution: Luminess Air Will Cost You

The Luminess Air Everyday system costs $199, and is available in the website’s Online Shop section. Additionally, foundation refills cost between $18 and $40, depending on the line you choose.

However, Luminess Air offers multiple models and packaged kits, and many buyers report feeling tricked or confused by the pricing scheme offered on the Luminess home page.

It’s worth noting that the site appears to offer users an upgraded kit for a 30-day trial for $19.95, however in very fine print this also appears:

“Then after 30 days when you love Luminess, it’s yours for only 5 easy monthly payments of fifty-nine dollars and ninety-nine cents when you order today!”

That is a whopping $299! And it’s unclear whether or not the initial $19.95 fee to “try” their system is deducted from your total cost.

The Luminess Air return policy promises that dissatisfied buyers can return it for a full refund within 30 days of delivery, minus shipping and handling, as well as an “initial trial cost” that isn’t fully explained in their terms.

To return a Luminess Air, the device must be thoroughly cleaned and not show any wear and tear. Returns must also be authorized by customer service before they may be sent in.

A one-year manufacturer's warranty does cover buyers if their Luminess Air breaks, but is considered void if any non-Luminess brand makeup is used.

What Are Reviewers Saying about the Luminess Air?

Luminess Air has over 300 registered complaints on the site PissedConsumer.com alone, many of which reference:

  • Difficulty returning the product and being charged the full amount
  • Negative customer service experiences
  • Not allowed to return a device that had been used
  • Unclear pricing
  • Unreasonably long shipping times (up to 4 weeks)

Unhappy buyers have also turned to Yelp, giving Luminess Air an overall rating of 1.2 out of 5 stars. Complaints include more mentions of poor customer service and potentially shady pricing:

“It's been more than 4 weeks since I've placed my order with the promise of receiving it before the holidays. Now 2 days before Christmas, several hours on hold, several threatening emails, and a dispute with my bank later, my order has finally shipped. It is expected to come January 2nd. More than 6 weeks after my original order.” Source

“The advertisement makes it seem like you can get the machine and makeup kit for $20.00. That may be unrealistically cheap, but they seem to promise that. Once you are on the phone they try to tell you it's $300.00. But they just don't tell you that, they try to go through this hokey spiel about easy payments and how they can make lower payments for you.” Source

That’s Not To Say There Aren’t Positive Luminess Air Reviews

If you’re searching for folks who have nice things to say about the Luminess Air, you don’t have to look too far – YouTube is full of tutorials where bloggers and home-beauty-buffs show their prowess with the device, although some of these are paid endorsements.

Pros and Cons of the Luminess Airbrush Makeup System

The brand lives up to its promise of providing easy-to-use, professional quality makeup and tools in its airbrush makeup system. You can choose from a wide range of makeup colors available, so it’s stress-free to find the right color range for you.

Perhaps the only concern that buyers have expressed about this product is the customer support and confusing pricing plans – both of which need some improvement. But if you’re patient enough to wait for shipping and understand what the final cost is, you might be very happy with this product.

The Verdict

Overall, the Luminess Air airbrush makeup system is priced similarly to others on the market. With their complete range of makeup, you can create a natural look that appears flawless with minimal practice.

But airbrushing kits aren’t cheap! Since there are quite a few options on the market, potential buyers interested in learning more might do best comparing a few models and brands before purchasing one.

When doing this, be sure to compare all the parts included in your kit. Also, consider the products you’ll have to use, and whether or not they meet your skin’s needs.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 203 Luminess Air Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 21 4 star: 7 3 star: 1 2 star: 12 1 star:  162
Bottom Line: 15% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 203
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Complaint

    • Clarksville, TN,
    • May 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Buyer beware. This experience has been a NIGHTMARE. DON'T BUY THIS.

    In January 2019 I ordered the machine and makeup...somehow got an older machine, not the one I ordered. Returned it in February...got the right machine. In March I canceled and mailed machine back. I didn't like the makeup. Not the right colors. Machine and makeup not worth the money. Since March I have been trying to get my refund. It's now May 14, 2019. I still don't have my refund but money comes out of my account EVERY MONTH for products that I DON'T HAVE. I have called the post office in my home town plus Texas where Luminess Air is located. No one is helping me...keep getting the runaround.

    I'm out over $240.00 for something I don't even have. RIDICULOUS.

    DO NOT ORDER THIS. Customer service is AWFUL. Been told money will be refunded in 3 to 5 days 3 times. Been 2 months...10 phone calls...nothing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Broken bottles of makeup never end

    • Florida,
    • May 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Over a year later and they just can't seem to understand you can't expect a plastic bottle of makeup is not going to make it unbroken from Texas to Florida in a bubble mailer envelope. Not only that, the bottles are poorly made and leak soon after the seal is taken off and are shaken. The shaking is needed to mix the product before each use so I found myself trying to hold my fingers over the crack in the bottles with the lid off and the hole at the top to shake and I just had a mess.

    After being patient waiting for new and improved bottles to be made and then sent out, I found that the new bottles are just as bad and as of today with the beauty club shipment received broken and makeup all over the inside of the invoice and mailer again, I called and canceled. Because again, I did not want another bottle sent where they would be more careful this time with the shipment and they were so sorry it happened again. I wanted to talk to someone with some clout in the company and find out why they can't get it right the first time. Why I am going to be charged $3.00 for another bottle to be sent out to me when it's their fault the bottle did not make it to me intact?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    SCAM and RIP OFF!

    • Georgia,
    • May 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I read the fine print, the system would cost me over $160.00 plus refill. I never opened the product and when I called for a return, I was told I would not receive a refund because of the introductory period. I was told I would have to write the refund authorization number on the OUTSIDE of the box, which I did; all over the box! Terrible customer service!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Do not purchase

    • Buffalo, NY,
    • May 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After using several times I realized this product wasn't for me. Did not like the product itself as well as not being practical to use. They kept insisting I give it more time and refused to give me a return number. It was a complete hassle and spent a lot of time trying to return. Don't fall for this, it's a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 17 people found this review helpful

    WARNING, don't risk it!

    • Dayton, OH,
    • May 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    If you do try this, get a disposable prepaid debit card because if they get your real bank card or credit card information they will charge you as many times they can and you will not get it back. I've begged them to stop and to find the worker who clearly stole everything I sent back because that person scanned in 1 makeup item and not the other 10 items so now they won't stop charging me. This company is literally setting people up to get ripped off knowingly or they have a thief stealing returns. Don't trust it, I'm dead serious.

    I got the system and the man said they do not charge you for 2 weeks but your 2 weeks don't start until you find a match. Well, that's a serious lie. Also, they have scandalous workers. I returned the system with absolutely everything they sent me, and they still won't stop taking money and have taken over $400 and had it back February 21st, 2019. Every time I called they said they can't prove they got it back without a tracking number but never told me to get one, but every time I call they claimed they never got it. Then a manager told me she found it in the system on April 1st and said she would check to make sure everything was there and call me back and never did, so I've called like 20 times since and now everyone saying it's not there. But the last manager slipped up and said on February 29th 1 bottle of makeup was scanned in and I told her all 11 bottles and the system and everything was all in the same box, and I sent them a pic and video to prove it but they claim that's all they got - 1 bottle of makeup. So whatever workers get the return they had to have stolen everything else. And I told the manager that someone better review their camera feed because I sent everything back, but yet everyone kept saying nothing came back at all. Then one manager found it, then it was magically not found again, then another manager says we got 1 makeup scanned in on February 28th and she was supposed to look into it and call back and never did. So I emailed everything I had proving everything was in that same package, that they better check the camera feed because someone stole the rest and I'm not going to sit back and be ripped off and robbed.

    For two months I called every day to talk to a manager after the first manager said she found my package in the system on April 1st and every time I called for a manager after that day every day all managers were in meetings all day. Then I emailed and told them I'm about to file theft charges and sue for damages and our stress, and heck, I've been put through over them stealing the only money I had for my kids.

    This system does not do what they advertise either, if you have deep smile lines it won't fill it in or cover. And if you have deep creases around your nose it won't cover or fill in and makes you look old. Also, it's like wearing chalk, and if you mess up you have to wash it all off and start over. It's junk and that's god's honest truth.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Can't use the makeup due to very sensitive skin and now I have to pay to return it?

    I called Luminess about a month ago to get an RA#, and that the product wasn't for me as I have very sensitive skin and it was causing more irritation, to my already irritated skin. The representative that I spoke with said that he could send me a product that is for sensitive skin "Ultra Foundation" to try and that he would extend my trial out another month. I agreed because I was very excited about using this product. The commercials made it look so easy. False advertising! After receiving my two new foundations, I immediately tried them and to my dismay, they didn't work. I even tried several times and I just couldn't use the product. I was very disappointed. I have super sensitive skin due to a skin condition caused by lupus. I was even more disappointed when I found out that I would have to pay my own shipping costs, for a product that didn't even work. Also, after paying $29.95 for a trial product, that should have been my first clue...in paying for a free trial. I am disabled due to my illness and am on a limited income. I am always careful about what I spend my money on...I should have followed my instinct and researched this company before I committed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Unbelievably expensive and misleading

    • Rockford, IL,
    • May 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the Luminess system on a 30-day trial basis. I ordered it online and was only told the system would be $19.95. I was NOT informed of any further payments. I get the original system and the paperwork in the box said there will be three more payments. I guess that was expected so I bite the bullet and accept it. I get another order about 30 days later, that I was not expecting. I called to cancel my account and the lady on the other end informs me that I owe two more payments for the system itself plus one more payment for the order I received (I already paid one payment). Now, I'm not only making payments on the system, but I'm also making payments on the additional order that I didn't order. Now I'm up over $200. I ask her to explain what all the charges are for, multiple times because I can't understand her (she's obviously not from this country). She starts raising her voice at me and then I lost it. I yell back and inform her that I am the customer and she is not to yell at me. I tell her again, for the 8th time, that I want to pay off the balance and cancel my account. She informs me I still owe two payments of $44.94 for the system and one payment for the additional order. She ended up charging me two payments of $44.94 and two payments of $39.95. UGH! I call back and speak to someone else. She informs me that a refund for the 2nd payment of $39.95 has already been issued but it will be 3-5 business days to get my money back. I say...so you can take money out of my account immediately, but I have to wait 3-5 business days to get money returned...even when it's your fault.

    Do NOT buy from this company! The charges never end!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Terrible!

    • Bay Minette, AL,
    • May 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a terrible experience with this product. It was splotchy and very uneven. I called to cancel my order and they talked me into trying it again for two more weeks. I was still unsatisfied and called again to return the product. They gave very specific instructions for returning the product including having to have a tracking number which requires priority mail. I followed their instructions and sent it back. In the meantime, my husband cleaned out the car and threw my receipt away. Of course they charged me and took the installment payment from my account. They claimed they didn’t receive it. Really, how many times do priority packages not get delivered?! I feel like this is a scam, betting on customers not having their tracking number. How many other people have had the same problem?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Scam company

    • Texas,
    • May 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    They offer you a free trial for 30 days for $19.95. My credit card showed Luminess Air hit me for $32.00. This company has very bad reviews on which their clauses are hidden. People do not get tangled in that money-making company. Besides, their products are awful. Their makeup stinks and is sticky on your face. A 500% RIP off.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Killeen, TX,
    • May 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My wife ordered the airbrush online with the understanding if she did not like it she could return it. Well, she did not like it at all so she called them and they gave her a number to place on the return box, and we mailed it back. Months later they called and said we owed them money. We told them that we sent it back, they wanted the tracking number, which I lost. Keep your receipt because they do not keep track on what comes back to them and they are counting on that. It's a scam. Terrible customer relations.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    False advertising

    • Minnesota,
    • Apr 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I think that Luminess Air is a scam! The TV ad is false advertising. They tell you "if you call right now" you'll receive their product for 1/2 off of the original price. They do not tell you that you will be billed 3 more times unless you return their product within 30 days.

    So my question is; why would I purchase this item only to have to return it?

    I feel that Luminess Air is a rip off!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 203

Write a Review for Luminess Air!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review