About Luminess Air

By Autumn Yates
HighYa Staff
Updated on: Mar 31, 2017

If you’ve ever dreamed of having magazine-ready, pearlescent skin at the touch of a button, Luminess Air’s at-home makeup application airbrushing kit might pique your interest.

The system promises simple setup, easy maintenance and smooth, stunning results for a one-time cost that’s on par with a spa-day package, but with a better-lasting glow.

What’s Airbrushing?

The airbrushing method of applying foundation has been popular for professional artists working in film, theater, and even special events for several decades, and is most-loved for delivering superior, blendable coverage, despite using a minimal amount of product.

It works on the same principle as spray-paint (which is actually how the method was invented! You know, long ago before they cared about stuff like dying from toxins.)

If you haven’t ever seen airbrushing in action, the best way to imagine how it works is to compare painting a wall with a brush or sponge roller, which yields thick coats of paint and uneven application, to the fine mist and even coverage you get from spray-on methods.

Each airbrushing system uses a small, pen-sized tool that holds the foundation in a small reservoir and gently sprays it on the skin in a spray-dot pattern, which eliminates any visible brush strokes and results in a totally natural look (providing your foundation color is a good match.)

Luminess Air Everyday System – What to Expect

This is the Luminess Air “basic kit” (not their pro version). It promises a quick and simple learning curve, and to provide buyers with everything they need to get started applying airbrushed makeup, including:

  • Compressor, stylus & nozzle
  • Two .55 oz foundations
  • Blush
  • Bronzer
  • Glow
  • Primer / Moisturizer

To order a kit, you first have to select your skin shade from five groups. The kit will then come with two different foundation shades that you can mix to achieve a natural look. Luminess offers a color match service to those who have a difficult time choosing; simply upload a recent picture and submit it through their site in order to receive suggestions for your best fit.

The Luminess site also offers a bounty of “How To” videos that walk users through everything from their first time using the device, to basic application tips and advice from professionals, as well as suggestions for mature skin.

The foundation used with Luminess Air is promoted as oil-free and great for sensitive skin. Luminess claims applying makeup with their device has the following benefits as well:

  • A delicate and flawless finish that feels like you’re not wearing makeup, with minimized wrinkles and fine lines

  • Hygienic, since your hands or brushes never touch your face

  • Light to maximum coverage that delivers the appearance of younger skin, with a reduced look of blemishes, age spots, redness, large pores, and acne

  • Great for use on the face and body

Setting up the device is as simple as plugging it in, depositing foundation in the stylus’s reservoir, and pulling back a lever to begin an application.

Cleaning is required after every use to avoid gunking up the system and is accomplished by placing a few drops of water into the reservoir, and then spraying the device onto a cloth until all remaining product has been pushed through the nozzle and the spray runs clear.

Luminess Air Cost

The Luminess Air Everyday system costs $199 and is available in the website’s Online Shop section. Additionally, foundation refills cost between $18 and $40, depending on the line you choose.

However, Luminess Air offers multiple models and packaged kits, and many buyers report feeling tricked or confused by the pricing scheme offered on the Luminess home page.

It’s worth noting that the site appears to offer users an upgraded kit for a 30-day trial for $19.95, however in very fine print this also appears:

“Then after 30 days when you love Luminess, it’s yours for only 5 easy monthly payments of fifty-nine dollars and ninety-nine cents when you order today!”

That is a whopping $299! And it’s unclear whether or not the initial $19.95 fee to “try” their system is deducted from your total cost.

The Luminess Air return policy promises that dissatisfied buyers can return it for a full refund within 30 days of delivery, minus shipping and handling, as well as an “initial trial cost” that isn’t fully explained in their terms.

To return a Luminess Air, the device must be thoroughly cleaned and not show any wear and tear. Returns must also be authorized by customer service before they may be sent in.

A one-year manufacturer's warranty does cover buyers if their Luminess Air breaks, but is considered void if any non-Luminess brand makeup is used.

What Are Reviewers Saying About the Luminess Air?

Luminess Air has over 300 registered complaints on the site PissedConsumer.com alone, many of which reference:

  • Difficulty returning the product and being charged the full amount
  • Negative customer service experiences
  • Not allowed to return a device that had been used
  • Unclear pricing
  • Unreasonably long shipping times (up to 4 weeks)

Unhappy buyers have also turned to Yelp (editor’s note: the Yelp page has since bee removed), giving Luminess Air an overall rating of 1.2 out of 5 stars. Complaints include more mentions of poor customer service and potentially shady pricing:

“It's been more than 4 weeks since I've placed my order with the promise of receiving it before the holidays. Now 2 days before Christmas, several hours on hold, several threatening emails, and a dispute with my bank later, my order has finally shipped. It is expected to come January 2nd. More than 6 weeks after my original order.”

“The advertisement makes it seem like you can get the machine and makeup kit for $20.00. That may be unrealistically cheap, but they seem to promise that. Once you are on the phone they try to tell you it's $300.00. But they just don't tell you that, they try to go through this hokey spiel about easy payments and how they can make lower payments for you.”

That’s Not to Say There Aren’t Positive Luminess Air Reviews

If you’re searching for folks who have nice things to say about the Luminess Air, you don’t have to look too far – YouTube is full of tutorials where bloggers and home-beauty-buffs show their prowess with the device, although some of these are paid endorsements.

Pros and Cons of the Luminess Airbrush Makeup System

The brand lives up to its promise of providing easy-to-use, professional-quality makeup and tools in its airbrush makeup system. You can choose from a wide range of makeup colors available, so it’s stress-free to find the right color range for you.

Perhaps the only concern that buyers have expressed about this product is the customer support and confusing pricing plans – both of which need some improvement.

But if you’re patient enough to wait for shipping and understand what the final cost is, you might be very happy with this product.

The Verdict

Overall, the Luminess Air airbrush makeup system is priced similarly to others on the market. With their complete range of makeup, you can create a natural look that appears flawless with minimal practice.

But airbrushing kits aren’t cheap! Since there are quite a few options on the market, potential buyers interested in learning more might do best comparing a few models and brands before purchasing one.

When doing this, be sure to compare all the parts included in your kit. Also, consider the products you’ll have to use, and whether or not they meet your skin’s needs.


Read 256 Luminess Air Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 29 4 star: 7 3 star: 1 2 star: 16 1 star:  203
Bottom Line: 15% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 256
Sort reviews by:

  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    SCAM

    • By Lucy D.,
    • Austin, TX,
    • Jan 11, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a rental unit! You will be signed up for monthly payments and if you are late with a payment, you will be subject to a $20 late payment, plus ALL collection fee, including without limitation, attorney fees that may result. You will also be charged a 25% re-stocking fee for the returned product, and NO REFUNDS, even if the product makes you break out. Makeup has a foul smell, and feels like plastic.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 20 out 20 people found this review helpful

    SMOKE AND MIRRORS

    • By Cathy Q.,
    • Roswell, GA,
    • Jan 10, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    Why aren’t consumers being better protected?! I was really hoping for a great deal on a product I have always wanted to try. However, all it turns out to be is an illusion. It's too difficult to create the same results at home. This isn’t for older ladies with wrinkles. This type of makeup goes right into the crevices leaving highlighted ridges around every wrinkle on your face!

    It is another scam to stick you with a costly membership which you must tangle in the courts to get out of. Don't do it! This is it for me! I will never watch an infomercial ever again! In addition, I am no longer watching QVC and its’ types again.

    I conclude all of it is reminiscent of the "snake-oil" salesmen of yesteryear!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    I like it

    • By Chris G.,
    • Springfield, MO,
    • Jan 6, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    Well, my first week didn't go so well but when I called Luminess, the lady asked what I didn't like. After explaining, she told me what I needed and it has worked out fine. During the first week of trials and big errors, I had to explain to my clients that I was trying out new makeup. They were very understanding. I once had a face that looked like my head lived in Florida. I went back to my old makeup for a few days and then went back to Luminess. This time I put my glasses on when I picked up the small bottle of bronzer and realized I had put eye shadow over my entire face!! (I thought it was like a bronzer we might use in the summertime for a little extra color. How embarrassing! It was 2 weeks before I could admit what I had done to my best friend!)

    Anyway, I just called them again a few minutes ago to tell them I have way too much makeup and I needed to change the frequency and the man set it for every 4 months. Not sure what the final charges up to this point are but I will check it out.

    The best thing I like is that I don't have makeup all over my fingers like the old bottle kind.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 20 out 20 people found this review helpful

    It's junk...the free items are even junk.

    • By Steven A.,
    • Michigan,
    • Dec 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product is not even worth the restocking fee...I am even returning the free items that came with it. The mascara was broken and went all over and to those of you that know, mascara is hard to wash off/out. Very disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 73 out 74 people found this review helpful

    Scam! Fraudulent company!

    • By Joy P.,
    • Cottage Grove, OR,
    • Dec 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Saw the product on an infomercial one night and decided to give the product a try thinking that I would only pay $30 to try it just like other makeup I have tried in the past, only to discover they were pinging my bank card two times in a four day period of almost $50 each time so now we are at $130. So then I called the company to cancel the subscription I knew nothing about when ordering, because they didn’t tell me anything about it and I also did not give them permission to auto-charge my card. I had no clue they would hold onto my banking information! When I called the lady on the phone started reading a script and each time I said I would like to cancel she would go on and read a second script and a third script and a fourth script with each one getting more and more intense. So when she said that I would continue to be charged because I signed up for this and I couldn’t cancel the next shipment coming to me January 4 which is a month away. I said I don’t want it and she said I would be charged as stated in something I never saw or heard or read when ordering!

    I finally decided to hang up as I was getting nowhere with their customer service and I called my bank to report this as fraud as nobody should be forced to buy anything they don’t want. Obviously it’s overseas and they are scamming as many people as they can. My bank stopped them from being able to charge my card. Thank you Wells Fargo for your insurance! Bank manager says this happens all the time but it was my first and I was in shock! I did try the product and was not thrilled. Now I don’t even want to use it as they made me so angry! I prefer Mac makeup and the like at Ulta...where I am in control of when I want more and buy on my own terms!

    No, I would not recommend to ANYONE! They should be put out of biz in my opinion! Don’t buy! You have been warned!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 53 out 53 people found this review helpful

    Refund

    • By Lori P.,
    • Texas,
    • Dec 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered it and returned it before the 30 says and they keep giving me the run-around for refund. I paid for something that I returned. Scam company. Will take your money and won't return.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 53 out 53 people found this review helpful

    Great makeup, worse customer service ever

    • By Denise S.,
    • Vermont,
    • Nov 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    So I absolutely love the product. However, I am retired and do not use enough for a monthly or even bi-monthly shipment. I have canceled this 3 times. Once by phone call, once by mail. I know they received it because I received a refund. I received another shipment after that. I returned on my dime with a letter. Received credit. I just received another shipment. The aggravations are not worth it. I have a dear friend who uses it and the same type of issues. Get it together Luminess!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 55 out 56 people found this review helpful

    Liars and scam artist

    • By Sara Z.,
    • Nebraska,
    • Nov 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I would give 0 stars if I could. One of their clients lied and sent me an airbrush through her gift account and somehow signed me up and they have been taking money from my finances account ever since, even after I canceled everything. I also have proof of all of this and was told to send it back on MY expense after I canceled and filed a complaint. The system does not even work as they say it does. It's a complete scam if you ask me. Nor are they any help, clearly their employee is not the only con artist there. This is not a fake review, like I said I have proof of this nonsense from the client and the company. I truly hope that they do what is right and correct the many wrongs made.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 57 out 58 people found this review helpful

    Read small print!

    I received the item on 7/21/2019. After attempting to use the product I immediately realized it did not work as advertised. There was no coverage and the makeup came out in visible droplets. On 7/22/2019 I contacted Luminess and explained I did not want to continue a subscription plan. I did not want this item. I received an email stating the membership was canceled. I did not realize I had agreed to an installment plan. It must have been in very small print. Three weeks later $48.65 is charged to my account. I called Luminess customer service, the person I spoke to was super angry. I explained that I called and canceled, was not interested in owning this product. He said I canceled a beauty membership not the installment payment plan. I said I don't want this, it doesn't work, I don't want to pay an unknown amount. After much arguing, he said he would send me instructions on how to mail the item back. Most online purchases provide information on how to return trial items when first mailed, they did not, nor did they pay for the return of the item. I was responsible for all shipping costs of return. I mailed it back. The next installment payment I was charged again, a slightly different amount, so I did not notice when it came through. I called bank to dispute charges.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Love the product

    • By Rena L.,
    • California,
    • Oct 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I must say that I absolutely love this product. I am close to my 50's, I have rosacea and dry skin. I have been using this product for about a year now and I have found that I absolutely love it! I am not comfortable applying makeup and would rather just not wear any at all. But since society thinks that all women should wear makeup I attempt to wear makeup. I have made every mistake there is while applying makeup, and I have discovered that with Luminess I have very little issues to worry about. Yes, when I first purchased the product I used the wand to close or didn't keep my hand moving around thus creating blotchy uneven tones or wet streaks, but if you do follow the instructions your makeup will look perfect. I have used the 4 in 1 foundation and the mystic. I prefer the 4 in 1 because it covers my rosacea better. With any new product, you need to practice applying it. I have not used the blush or the eye shadow because frankly, I'm scared too, but who knows, maybe someday I will get the courage to try that too.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Luminess Air brush

    • By Pamela C.,
    • Ravenna, OH,
    • Oct 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the air brush and it really worked well. Color #3 matched my skin tone and really covered all blemishes and age spots. The bronzer is beautiful. The eye shadow is fine and it really was easy to use. Only, being 70 years old, my wrinkles are just too deep to be covered up. So I requested a return. Luminess was very helpful and returned my purchase price.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 256

Write a Review for Luminess Air!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review