About Luminess Air

If you’ve ever dreamed of having magazine-ready, pearlescent skin at the touch of a button, Luminess Air’s at-home makeup application airbrushing kit might pique your interest. The system promises simple setup, easy maintenance and smooth, stunning results for a one-time cost that’s on par with a spa-day package, but with a better-lasting glow.

What’s Airbrushing?

The airbrushing method of applying foundation has been popular for professional artists working in film, theater, and even special events for several decades, and is most-loved for delivering superior, blendable coverage, despite using a minimal amount of product.

It works on the same principle as spray-paint (which is actually how the method was invented! You know, long ago before they cared about stuff like dying from toxins.)

If you haven’t ever seen airbrushing in action, the best way to imagine how it works is to compare painting a wall with a brush or sponge roller, which yields thick coats of paint and uneven application, to the fine mist and even coverage you get from spray-on methods.

Each airbrushing system uses a small, pen-size tool that holds foundation in a small reservoir and gently sprays it on the skin in a spray-dot pattern, which eliminates any visible brush strokes and results in a totally natural look (providing your foundation color is a good match.)

Luminess Air Everyday System – What to Expect

This is the Luminess Air “basic kit” (not their pro version). It promises a quick and simple learning curve, and to provide buyers with everything they need to get started applying airbrushed makeup, including:

  • Compressor, stylus & nozzle
  • Two .55 oz foundations
  • Blush
  • Bronzer
  • Glow
  • Primer / Moisturizer

To order a kit, you first have to select your skin shade from five groups. The kit will then come with two different foundation shades that you can mix to achieve a natural look. Luminess offers a color match service to those who have a difficult time choosing; simply upload a recent picture and submit it through their site in order to receive suggestions for your best fit.

The Luminess site also offers a bounty of “How To” videos that walk users through everything from their first time using the device, to basic application tips and advice from professionals, as well as suggestions for mature skin.

The foundation used with Luminess Air is promoted as oil-free and great for sensitive skin. Luminess claims applying makeup with their device has the following benefits as well:

  • A delicate and flawless finish that feels like you’re not wearing makeup, with minimized wrinkles and fine lines
  • Hygienic, since your hands or brushes never touch your face
  • Light to maximum coverage that delivers the appearance of younger skin, with reduced look of blemishes, age spots, redness, large pores, and acne
  • Great for use on the face and body

Setting up the device is as simple as plugging it in, depositing foundation in the stylus’s reservoir, and pulling back a lever to begin application.

Cleaning is required after every use to avoid gunking up the system, and is accomplished by placing a few drops of water into the reservoir, and then spraying the device onto a cloth until all remaining product has been pushed through the nozzle and the spray runs clear.

Caution: Luminess Air Will Cost You

The Luminess Air Everyday system costs $199, and is available in the website’s Online Shop section. Additionally, foundation refills cost between $18 and $40, depending on the line you choose.

However, Luminess Air offers multiple models and packaged kits, and many buyers report feeling tricked or confused by the pricing scheme offered on the Luminess home page.

It’s worth noting that the site appears to offer users an upgraded kit for a 30-day trial for $19.95, however in very fine print this also appears:

“Then after 30 days when you love Luminess, it’s yours for only 5 easy monthly payments of fifty-nine dollars and ninety-nine cents when you order today!”

That is a whopping $299! And it’s unclear whether or not the initial $19.95 fee to “try” their system is deducted from your total cost.

The Luminess Air return policy promises that dissatisfied buyers can return it for a full refund within 30 days of delivery, minus shipping and handling, as well as an “initial trial cost” that isn’t fully explained in their terms.

To return a Luminess Air, the device must be thoroughly cleaned and not show any wear and tear. Returns must also be authorized by customer service before they may be sent in.

A one-year manufacturer's warranty does cover buyers if their Luminess Air breaks, but is considered void if any non-Luminess brand makeup is used.

What Are Reviewers Saying about the Luminess Air?

Luminess Air has over 300 registered complaints on the site PissedConsumer.com alone, many of which reference:

  • Difficulty returning the product and being charged the full amount
  • Negative customer service experiences
  • Not allowed to return a device that had been used
  • Unclear pricing
  • Unreasonably long shipping times (up to 4 weeks)

Unhappy buyers have also turned to Yelp, giving Luminess Air an overall rating of 1.2 out of 5 stars. Complaints include more mentions of poor customer service and potentially shady pricing:

“It's been more than 4 weeks since I've placed my order with the promise of receiving it before the holidays. Now 2 days before Christmas, several hours on hold, several threatening emails, and a dispute with my bank later, my order has finally shipped. It is expected to come January 2nd. More than 6 weeks after my original order.” Source

“The advertisement makes it seem like you can get the machine and makeup kit for $20.00. That may be unrealistically cheap, but they seem to promise that. Once you are on the phone they try to tell you it's $300.00. But they just don't tell you that, they try to go through this hokey spiel about easy payments and how they can make lower payments for you.” Source

That’s Not To Say There Aren’t Positive Luminess Air Reviews

If you’re searching for folks who have nice things to say about the Luminess Air, you don’t have to look too far – YouTube is full of tutorials where bloggers and home-beauty-buffs show their prowess with the device, although some of these are paid endorsements.

Pros and Cons of the Luminess Airbrush Makeup System

The brand lives up to its promise of providing easy-to-use, professional quality makeup and tools in its airbrush makeup system. You can choose from a wide range of makeup colors available, so it’s stress-free to find the right color range for you.

Perhaps the only concern that buyers have expressed about this product is the customer support and confusing pricing plans – both of which need some improvement. But if you’re patient enough to wait for shipping and understand what the final cost is, you might be very happy with this product.

The Verdict

Overall, the Luminess Air airbrush makeup system is priced similarly to others on the market. With their complete range of makeup, you can create a natural look that appears flawless with minimal practice.

But airbrushing kits aren’t cheap! Since there are quite a few options on the market, potential buyers interested in learning more might do best comparing a few models and brands before purchasing one.

When doing this, be sure to compare all the parts included in your kit. Also, consider the products you’ll have to use, and whether or not they meet your skin’s needs.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

125 Consumer Reviews for Luminess Air

Average Consumer Rating: 1.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 16 4 star: 7 3 star: 0 2 star: 9 1 star:  93
Bottom Line: 19% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 125
Sort reviews by:

  • Happy customer!

    • Arizona,
    • Sep 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had to return my Luminess before my 30 days was up, simply because I lost my job. My rep "Ivy" was so understanding and really sweet. I will be using Luminess Air in the future. I just want to say that I have found, for the most part, people are understanding and willing to work with you. I was prepared to accept responsibility if I owed them anything. I was very happy that I did not.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Pricing is not as it appears! Read the Terms & Conditions!

    • Stafford, VA,
    • Sep 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the Luminess Air system during their $19.95 trial.

    I ordered, paid nearly $30 with tax and shipping and handling. Easy to use with good coverage. BUT, I can't get the right color without mixing. I have no interest with this hassle. I will be returning it for that reason. You MUST return before your deadline date to avoid paying the REAL cost of this machine - $140.00 (three payments of $39.95). The TRIAL price of $19.95 plus tax and shipping etc. does not factor into your purchase price, NOR is it eligible for any refund.

    To quote their site terms and conditions page:

    "The 30 Day money back guarantee applies to purchase price and excludes money paid for the 30-day trial (rent to try) cost and paid s/h."

    So, be aware! The "trial price" is what you pay to "RENT" Luminous Air for 30 days while you decide if you want to buy it for $140. THEN the 30-day money back guarantee would apply.

    I am not AT ALL happy with this shell game.

    It is a decent product. So why not be upfront about pricing?

    I would not recommend because of the product but due to business practices.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Love it

    • Southwest, VA,
    • Sep 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I previously ordered the basic system one year ago and everything was explained to me by the rep. I actually love the product, and since using it, I can't stand the old makeup I used, it's so thick and caked. Luminess is lightweight and does minimize the appearance of aging. I love the bronzer in the summer I can add to the foundation without having to buy extra summer foundation. It's so quick and easy.

    I just last week decided to purchase the pro systems since my daughter wanted to have her own system. It is a little pricey, but you get what you pay for. The bottles do break easily, but the website clearly tells you to not close tightly to just twist cap to seal bottle. If you research the website, it does tell you of the full price, and they do work with people as far as monthly payments.

    I can't speak for any return or refund because I've never had to return anything. My original system still works great and is easy to clean. If it starts sputtering, there are instructions to take apart the clean needle, or you can replace the needle. I hope this helps someone because even though I've used this for a long time, after reading these reviews, I almost got scared of my last order. I know there can't be a system perfect for everybody, but a lot of the reviews are solely because of cost, but my product has lasted a long time and is definitely worth the price. With this I pray the new system is just as good.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Don't do it - you can never cancel! Scam!

    • LaVerne, CA,
    • Sep 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    While I used the makeup and liked it for a while, I decided to cancel. The site makes it next to impossible to find out how to cancel. Every time I call, the office is closed and the chat link doesn't work. I found the email address and sent a cancellation request which they responded to on 4/5/18 and confirmed my subscription is canceled. However, they continue to bill my Amex. I opened a claim with Amex and sent another email. Do yourself a favor and don't subscribe. It's a nightmare to try and cancel. Next stop - BBB to file a formal complaint.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    I love my Luminess Air, only thing wrong is airbrush spray quit working less than a year

    • Atmore, AL,
    • Sep 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love my Luminess Air makeup, it was perfect. I received so many comments on it. My problem is the airbrush quit working in less than a year. I followed all the instructions, even bought the special cleaner, and it still quit working. I was very disappointed that it was not any better built than that. For what I paid it should have been a lot better quality.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    I have to close my account

    • Peoria, IL,
    • Sep 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Let me just tell you this, I didn't realize they have been charging my card this whole time and now I get a letter from my bank stating my account is on hold because of these people. I'm so beyond pissed. I have children and I need somewhere I can deposit my child support checks into. My mortgage is due today, and my account is on hold because of them. Not to mention, this whole time I've not been receiving any product to let me know I was even supposed to be getting anything from this company. They will hear from me on Tuesday since it's Labor day weekend and now we can sit and wait for that too. It's all being disputed. I want my money back, my children's money, and I want it back now! After reading all these reviews, how I wish I would have read them beforehand. Do not buy this; you will be robbed over and over again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware

    • Monroe, CT,
    • Sep 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    If there was worse than a "really bad experience" option, I would have chosen that. Not only was this product of poor quality, I did not work as claimed and ruined some expensive clothing.

    The only thing worse than the Luminess Air products is their customer service. After three cancellations of product (with confirmation numbers) they are still charging my card monthly for the product, and have never refunded me the $299 for the machine itself, which was returned exactly according to their RA requirements.

    You will be sorry on all levels getting involved with this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy

    • Oregon,
    • Sep 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have pictures on how I received my product in the mail yesterday, but can't submit them here. I did post on another site. When I email and sent the pictures to customer service they sent me back an email stating I had to call, that they could not assist me via email. I am on the West Coast and work 8-5 M-F, and their customer service department is only open 8-5:30 M-F Central Standard time. This meant I had to call during my working hours.

    When on the phone the idiot that was helping me, told me it wasn't their fault. At that point, I told him to issue me a refund. At first, he refused, but I insisted and eventually got a return number, which took forever due to him reading all this crap and telling me how it has to be returned or they won't accept it and will return it back to me and then charge my credit card again. He then proceeded to tell me that I have a shipment in October that will be shipped out and my credit card will be charged, and if I wanted it returned, then I would have to call them back and go through the process for another return number. I told him NO. And he stated it can take up to 8 weeks to get the refund. They take the funds out of our accounts immediately, they need to return our funds immediately.

    Unfortunately, he is just a customer rep and could NOT do anything, so I requested to speak to a manager, and of course, no one was available. I don't recommend this product. It is not worth the price nor the hassle of their system. Please do yourself a favor and find a different product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Scam! Be aware!

    • California,
    • Sep 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company should be shut down immediately! So many bad experiences, complaints, reviews, monetary losses, etc. all over the internet but they are still active and still deceive unsuspecting people like myself! They never accept a "no" after the trial period. The product itself is useless. Your face has to be literally like porcelain slate to be able to use this foundation. It makes all your wrinkles and imperfections stand out instead of hiding them because of the design error. I cannot believe I did not see it. Their TV commercial has nothing to do with actual results. In addition, they will rip you off even if you return their product. Just avoid Luminess Air! I wish I could give them negative feedback, but I had to go with one star.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 18 people found this review helpful

    This company took advantage of my father.

    • Kalispell, MT,
    • Aug 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My father ordered just after having a stoke; they confused him into buying this garbage! When he tried to return it, they refused it and month later sent more and charged more. Again, they would not return it. A horrible company takes advantage of your parents and grandparents! His name is Doug, call him if you would like.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 25 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Florida,
    • Aug 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It is a scam! Your credit card will continuously be billed! After canceling my account I am still being billed. It is a scam!! Do not purchase. I would definitely not recommend!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 125

Write a Review for Luminess Air!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review