About Navage Nose Cleaner

Pull, don’t push!

This is the main idea behind Navage Nose Cleaner, a self-proclaimed “game changing” nasal hygiene system that can help you breathe better now—and forever.

Instead of pushing water through your nostrils like most other cleaning systems, Navage Nose Cleaner works by using gentle powered suction to help flush out everything from microscopic particles and pollen, to dust and environmental pollution. Not only will you breathe better without drugs, but Navage can also eliminate the fuss and mess you might find with other products.

And with Navage’s SaltPod capsules, you’ll experience a soothing, refreshing, perfectly balanced saline rinse every time, without having to worry about pre-measuring. You might even reduce your snoring!

Regardless of whether you’re thinking about using Navage Nose Cleaner only when needed, or are planning to use it several times per day, is it really everything it’s cracked up to be?

Let’s start by looking at what causes nasal congestion.

What’s Causing Your Nasal Congestion?

Like pain (and many other medical conditions), long-term nasal congestion is more of a symptom than a cause. The causes of congestion, however, are many and include:

  • Bacteria and viruses (e.g. common cold or flu)
  • Allergies
  • Chronic sinusitis
  • Hay fever
  • Environmental pollutants
  • Medical conditions, like nasal polyps and deviated septums
  • … and more.

With this in mind, even if Navage Nose Cleaner works exactly as advertised, it will only temporarily relieve your congestion, but won’t address the underlying cause.

As such, we’d strongly recommend visiting your doctor, who can recommend treatment options based on your specific diagnosis.

Is nasal irrigation a healthy way of relieving your congestion?

Is Nasal Irrigation Safe for Everyday Use?

There are some clear advantages to using nasal irrigation systems like Navage Nose Cleaner, since they can flush away accumulated mucus and help you breathe better. And in general, these devices are completely safe.

However, in order to prevent possible infection, the FDA recommends only using filtered, treated, or processed water. This can help avoid any bacteria, protozoa, and amoebas that might be found in tap water.

Also, keep in mind that how often you should irrigate is up for debate and can vary between patients. For example, the American Association of Family Physicians claims that you can do it twice per day as part of your normal routine.

On the other hand, WedMD writes that irrigation doesn’t just flush out mucus, but also “very important immune elements that are the first line of respiratory defense against infections,” including “beneficial antibacterial, antifungal, and antiviral agents.” In fact, the article cites one study where participants’ nasal health actually improved after they stopped regular irrigation.

So, before you go overboard with products like Navage Nose Cleaner, you might try irrigating only when you have symptoms, and then proceeding from there. Just be sure to use filtered water!

Speaking of which, is there anything else out there quite like Navage Nose Cleaner?

Other Irrigation Systems Like Navage Nose Cleaner

According to the company, Navage is “the world’s only nasal irrigator that uses powered suction.” Is this actually the case?

In short, it appears so. Yes, there are thousands of different nasal hygiene systems available, and hundreds of them are powered, but none of them use suction like Navage.

Here’s the catch though: Navage’s manufacturer doesn’t provide any clinical evidence showing that its suction provides any better results than traditional methods like neti pots. We didn’t locate any clinical evidence elsewhere online, either.

Yes, since the saline solution doesn’t pour out of your nostril, Navage Nose Cleaner will almost certainly be less messy. But this doesn’t mean you’ll achieve more thorough results—but you will spend more money.

Exactly how much does Navage cost?

Navage Nose Cleaner’s Price

Navage Nose Cleaner will cost you $49.95 plus $7.95 S&H. If you spend more than $100, you’ll receive free shipping.

There are also other products sold on the Navage site, including:

  • SaltPod Packs: One or two 30-packs are priced at $14.95 each. If you buy three or more, you’ll pay $9.95 per pack.
  • Drying Rack: $14.95
  • Travel Case (Black or Teal): $19.95
  • Replacement Silicone Nose Pillows (pair): $6.95
  • Replacement Nasal Dock: $9.95

All Navage Nose Cleaner purchases come with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges, as well as a limited one-year parts and labor warranty against manufacturing defects.

In order to request a refund or process a warranty claim, you’ll need to call (800) 931-7828.

We’ve talked about the Navage system a lot already, but what’s up with these SaltPod packs?

What’s the Deal with Navage’s SaltPod Packs?

If you’ve searched online for powered nasal irrigation systems before, you almost certainly found ones that used pre-measured salt packages. Just insert them into the appropriate place and turn on the machine, which will automatically mix it with water and create a perfectly balanced saline solution.

According to the product’s website, Navage’s SaltPods contain only pure sea salt and purified water, which mix to yield “isotonic saline of 0.9% w/v sodium chloride when its contents are mixed with 7.8 ounces of water.”

Yes, this will almost certainly be more convenient than mixing your own solution, but you’ll pay for this convenience. For example: If you paid $14.95 for a 30-pack, each pod will cost you about $0.49. If you paid $9.95 per pack, each pod will cost you $0.33.

Sure, this might not sound much, but if you’re using your Navage Nose Cleaner 2-3 times daily, this can quickly add up.

Are Navage’s customers complaining about the expense?

Navage Nose Cleaner’s Online Customer Reputation

At the time of our research, there were 34 customer reviews posted on the Navage website, with an average rating of 5 stars. There, common compliments cited ease of mess-free use, better breathing, and solid design. Despite this positivity, more than one user mentioned that it takes some getting used to.

Canada.com featured a quick video review of someone who had never used a nasal irrigation system. Overall, they found that Navage Nose Cleaner definitely helped them breathe better (and even gave it a “big thumbs up”), but repeatedly mentioned that it was “very uncomfortable.”

Outside of this, there weren’t any online reviews of customers who had actually used Navage.

From a company perspective, Navage Nose Cleaner is manufactured by RhinoSystems Inc. based out of Brooklyn Heights, OH, which had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau with no closed complaints (as of 10/22/15).

Does Navage Nose Cleaner Suck?

Nose irrigation has been used for thousands of years to help people breathe better, and it seems like Navage Nose Cleaner has brought the process into the 21st century by using gentle suction.

But the key here is that there’s no clinical evidence showing mechanical suction can provide better clearing than traditional methods like neti pots. Yes, Navage will be slightly less messy than other methods, but only you’ll be able to decide if this benefit is worth the extra money—especially when you consider that Navage will cost you between $0.33 and $0.49 per use.

Our recommendation? Talk with your doctor first. Then, try less expensive irrigation systems from your local pharmacy.

If you find you’re not getting the results you want, then Navage Nose Cleaner might present a solid option for helping you breathe better.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

16 Consumer Reviews for Navage Nose Cleaner

Average Consumer Rating: 4.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 12 4 star: 2 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  2
Bottom Line: 88% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 16
Sort reviews by:

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Relief at last!

    I have been suffering with my sinuses for the last two months. I went to my primary care physician, who has been treating me for ten years, and he will no longer give me antibiotics or steroids but tells me to take over the counter products. I have been MISERABLE for two months!

    I saw Navage on a commercial two weeks ago and decided to give it a try. I have never tried Nasal Irrigation of any kind prior to today (1/8/2018), when my Navage arrived. OMG, what a relief I have experienced after my first use of Nasal Irrigation with Navage! I can breathe again and had zero problems with being a first-time user.

    If my first experience means anything, as a long time allergy and asthma sufferer, I will never be without this device again. Thanks Navage. I am not a professional writer; just a long time sufferer. This product is the REAL DEAL!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Works very well

    I have had sinus problems most of my life. I finally got into Neti Pots, which offered some relief but were very had to use.

    I found a device that is like a big syringe with rubber nose converters and works much better than Neti Pots and somewhat easier to use. The biggest drawback of both systems is prep and cleanup times, plus the length of time to use. I used it mostly right before bedtime and this prevented use because of being tired and not wanting to take time.

    Navage takes care of all these issues; easy to use, which encourages more use, and makes my sinus feel much better quickly.

    I would recommend it to anyone in need of extra help with sinus problems. I would like to have packets for use in very dry air that helps dryness in sinus here in Arizona.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Love, love it

    • California ,
    • Dec 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is the best system for clearing up leftover goop after blowing your nose. It gets out the mucus from your forehead, nose, and throat and actually cleared up my stuffy ears. I always rinsed from a cup, but it was messy each time. This is an amazing little machine. I highly recommend it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 9, 2018

      Brenda Sue

      Thank you so much for your comment! After reading it I just ordered the system. I, like a lot of people, thought I'd be stuck with the mess of a Neti pot forever. It's such a messy job that I don't do it as often as I should be. I really loved that you said it helped clear up your stuffy ears, that's what I have! I've suffered with allergies long enough! I can't wait to get this! Thank you, thank you, thank you for taking the time to add your thoughts!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 20 people found this review helpful

    I do not recommend to use in India, no customer support

    • India,
    • Sep 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    No customer support in India. After fixing the power button, I am not able to turn on the unit and the unit is not working. And I saw all the videos on YouTube and tried it a lot of times, a total waste. I even do not hear the unit running sound.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    • San Diego, California,
    • Jun 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I saw this product advertised on the internet and thought that this would solve a problem my mother-in-law has, which is Rhinitis. I bought this basic package and tried it for myself before setting it up for my mother-in-law. My wife and mother-in-law raved how wonderful this is at cleaning out her nose without getting soaked.

    Definitely a five-star product. Thank you for a great product. I will have to order more saline pods in the near future.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 7, 2017

      Jack Baldwin

      Arthur, if you're getting soaked using a neti pot, you're not doing it right. Just a thought.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Excellent pre-emptive action

    • Santa Barbara, CA,
    • Jun 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have a terrible problem with sinusitis. Living here in California with all of the new growth (pollen, spores, etc.) really aggravates my sinus. In the past, whether it be an allergy or cold, I would develop post-nasal drip then terrible bronchitis.

    Since I have been using the system, ALL of this stopped. In the eight months I have been using this, not a "hint" of congestion, and my sinuses are cleared out. Last month I ran myself down and got what seemed to be some sort of sinus infection. The gentle "suction" cleared out the worst of the goop accumulating in my lungs. I use the Navage rather than blow my nose because it really clears out any and all debris or mucous build up. I have used all sorts of remedies before this. Navage is a little more "assertive," but gentle. Two friends now use this system.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 22 people found this review helpful

    The suction is the key.

    Like the others, I have problems year around. I'm alergic to something in every season, and nothing I have tried has worked, and I believe I've tried them all; Flonase, Naslicrom, Singular, Zyrtec, all the other stuff, the list is extensive, but you get the point. I've used Neti Pots without much success. I used one of those squeeze bottles and had a bit better luck, but still left wanting.

    Then I bought the Navage. Wow, what a difference. The gentle suction makes all the difference because I can hold my head upright and the water gets all the way to the back of my lower sinus where it really had trouble getting to before. As they say, it's better to pull than try to push the mucus out. Now I'm breathing better than I ever had in my life.

    There is another product I like to use sometimes in the water called Alkalol Nasal Wash, it's a mucus solvent. I like to put about a shot glass worth in it first, then the distilled water. It's safe to use every time, but you really only need it when you are congested, and it leaves your sinus fresh feeling and clean as a whistle. The only drawback is that the salt pots are way overpriced. I will be searching YouTube for that workaround that was mentioned. I do recommend this product, especially to people like me that's tried everything else.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Shocked it worked the first time

    • Calgary, Alberta, Canada,
    • Apr 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received the unit yesterday and set it up. I had watched many of the videos made by other users on YouTube, and it properly psyched me out. What did I get into?

    Fortunately, many of the users just didn't seem to read the instructions, which resulted in the often hilarious looking videos. Use warm water and say "ahhhhhh." Don't try to talk when it is running. I was shocked that I barely felt anything when it was running and before I knew it, it was finished. I blew my nose, and there was certainly no mess on the counter.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 28 out 30 people found this review helpful

    The "powered" nose vacuum

    • Washington,
    • Feb 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have a chronic nasal restriction. Often I can't taste or smell due to the congestion. For several years I have been using the squeeze bottle with pre-measure salt packets. Since I will do most anything to get a better sinus and nasal state, I bought into Navage.

    It works in a more gentle and less messy way than the squeeze and blow bottle method. Navage is less messy, but it doesn't seem to that the power to really evacuate nasal cavities that are even moderately blocked. After using the device, I will blow out (I know it's gross, but effective) the backed up solution and more mucus often is expelled. That means it didn't get sucked out with Navage.

    I get a good feeling, however, knowing that I'm tackling the problem from another angle. I would also suggest looking up the YouTube work around video to lower costs by using the less expensive salt packets rather than the Navage pre-packaged ones.

    One tip; after loading the Navage, express a bit of solution by activating the switch. I experienced the first flow of solution being cold, and that wasn't comfortable, so just get a bit started in the sink and the rest will be at the temperature of the solution you have loaded.

    The machine is bulky and not really stable on its stand. The more frustrating part is that I forget to take it with me when I'm relocating to my mid-week lodging, or on trips. If you like it and get used to it, you might need to invest in two or get the carrying case.

    I'd also like tips on the best way to clean it out. The configuration of the device and the bottom tank are such that some of the solution stays in the unit. There isn't really a good way to dry it out.

    It works, and if you have chronic problems, it's worth a try. If you have only occasional issues, it's probably too expensive for a moderately effective remedy.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 56 out 58 people found this review helpful

    Navage

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Nov 8, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have suffered from a deviated septum and constant every season post nasal drip which I've tried to treat with sinus pills, cough syrup, puffers, nasal sprays, etc.

    I had a pituitary tumor removed through my nose years ago and was supposed to irrigate with a Neti pot but never did get the procedure right. The Navage does the work and does it well.

    I saw the Navage nose cleaner and decided to give it a try. This is my third day of doing it twice each day and I can't praise it enough! I can smell things I haven't smelled in many years and breathe through my nose. I no longer feel stuffed up and I add 1/2 teaspoon apple cider vinegar for an antibacterial.

    I know the saline pods are pricey but my health is more important and the medications I tried didn't help like this.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 39 out 42 people found this review helpful

    Excellent Product!

    • Chino Hills, CA,
    • Oct 12, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have suffered from sinus congestion and allergies for as long as I can remember. I have used the NetiPod, NeilMed Sinus Rinse and various allergy medications. However, any relief I received was temporary. In hopes of finally clearing my sinuses, I purchased the Navage and it did not disappoint! For anyone who has used a NetiPod or Sinus Rinse, you know the mess it can make, the Navage does not make a mess. Using the Navage may take a couple attempts to get used to but once you get comfortable with it, you'll be amazed. I have been using mine for over a month and have noticed a significant change in my sinuses. I would recommend this product to a friend and have bought one for my dad.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 26, 2016

      Mary

      What's this "big mess" you and Navage Nose Cleaner are referring to while using a Neti Pot? All you do is pour in the saline packet, fill it up with distilled water, use it over a sink and then rinse it. It takes me less than two minutes to prepare, use and clean unless you have two hooks for hands. I'm not sure why your Neti Pot is so messy.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 16

Write a Review for Navage Nose Cleaner!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review