About Navage Nose Cleaner

Pull, don’t push!

This is the main idea behind Navage Nose Cleaner, a self-proclaimed “game changing” nasal hygiene system that can help you breathe better now—and forever.

Instead of pushing water through your nostrils like most other cleaning systems, Navage Nose Cleaner works by using gentle powered suction to help flush out everything from microscopic particles and pollen, to dust and environmental pollution. Not only will you breathe better without drugs, but Navage can also eliminate the fuss and mess you might find with other products.

And with Navage’s SaltPod capsules, you’ll experience a soothing, refreshing, perfectly balanced saline rinse every time, without having to worry about pre-measuring. You might even reduce your snoring!

Regardless of whether you’re thinking about using Navage Nose Cleaner only when needed, or are planning to use it several times per day, is it really everything it’s cracked up to be?

Let’s start by looking at what causes nasal congestion.

What’s Causing Your Nasal Congestion?

Like pain (and many other medical conditions), long-term nasal congestion is more of a symptom than a cause. The causes of congestion, however, are many and include:

  • Bacteria and viruses (e.g. common cold or flu)
  • Allergies
  • Chronic sinusitis
  • Hay fever
  • Environmental pollutants
  • Medical conditions, like nasal polyps and deviated septums
  • … and more.

With this in mind, even if Navage Nose Cleaner works exactly as advertised, it will only temporarily relieve your congestion, but won’t address the underlying cause.

As such, we’d strongly recommend visiting your doctor, who can recommend treatment options based on your specific diagnosis.

Is nasal irrigation a healthy way of relieving your congestion?

Is Nasal Irrigation Safe for Everyday Use?

There are some clear advantages to using nasal irrigation systems like Navage Nose Cleaner, since they can flush away accumulated mucus and help you breathe better. And in general, these devices are completely safe.

However, in order to prevent possible infection, the FDA recommends only using filtered, treated, or processed water. This can help avoid any bacteria, protozoa, and amoebas that might be found in tap water.

Also, keep in mind that how often you should irrigate is up for debate and can vary between patients. For example, the American Association of Family Physicians claims that you can do it twice per day as part of your normal routine.

On the other hand, WedMD writes that irrigation doesn’t just flush out mucus, but also “very important immune elements that are the first line of respiratory defense against infections,” including “beneficial antibacterial, antifungal, and antiviral agents.” In fact, the article cites one study where participants’ nasal health actually improved after they stopped regular irrigation.

So, before you go overboard with products like Navage Nose Cleaner, you might try irrigating only when you have symptoms, and then proceeding from there. Just be sure to use filtered water!

Speaking of which, is there anything else out there quite like Navage Nose Cleaner?

Other Irrigation Systems Like Navage Nose Cleaner

According to the company, Navage is “the world’s only nasal irrigator that uses powered suction.” Is this actually the case?

In short, it appears so. Yes, there are thousands of different nasal hygiene systems available, and hundreds of them are powered, but none of them use suction like Navage.

Here’s the catch though: Navage’s manufacturer doesn’t provide any clinical evidence showing that its suction provides any better results than traditional methods like neti pots. We didn’t locate any clinical evidence elsewhere online, either.

Yes, since the saline solution doesn’t pour out of your nostril, Navage Nose Cleaner will almost certainly be less messy. But this doesn’t mean you’ll achieve more thorough results—but you will spend more money.

Exactly how much does Navage cost?

Navage Nose Cleaner’s Price

Navage Nose Cleaner will cost you $49.95 plus $7.95 S&H. If you spend more than $100, you’ll receive free shipping.

There are also other products sold on the Navage site, including:

  • SaltPod Packs: One or two 30-packs are priced at $14.95 each. If you buy three or more, you’ll pay $9.95 per pack.
  • Drying Rack: $14.95
  • Travel Case (Black or Teal): $19.95
  • Replacement Silicone Nose Pillows (pair): $6.95
  • Replacement Nasal Dock: $9.95

All Navage Nose Cleaner purchases come with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges, as well as a limited one-year parts and labor warranty against manufacturing defects.

In order to request a refund or process a warranty claim, you’ll need to call (800) 931-7828.

We’ve talked about the Navage system a lot already, but what’s up with these SaltPod packs?

What’s the Deal with Navage’s SaltPod Packs?

If you’ve searched online for powered nasal irrigation systems before, you almost certainly found ones that used pre-measured salt packages. Just insert them into the appropriate place and turn on the machine, which will automatically mix it with water and create a perfectly balanced saline solution.

According to the product’s website, Navage’s SaltPods contain only pure sea salt and purified water, which mix to yield “isotonic saline of 0.9% w/v sodium chloride when its contents are mixed with 7.8 ounces of water.”

Yes, this will almost certainly be more convenient than mixing your own solution, but you’ll pay for this convenience. For example: If you paid $14.95 for a 30-pack, each pod will cost you about $0.49. If you paid $9.95 per pack, each pod will cost you $0.33.

Sure, this might not sound much, but if you’re using your Navage Nose Cleaner 2-3 times daily, this can quickly add up.

Are Navage’s customers complaining about the expense?

Navage Nose Cleaner’s Online Customer Reputation

At the time of our research, there were 34 customer reviews posted on the Navage website, with an average rating of 5 stars. There, common compliments cited ease of mess-free use, better breathing, and solid design. Despite this positivity, more than one user mentioned that it takes some getting used to.

Canada.com featured a quick video review of someone who had never used a nasal irrigation system. Overall, they found that Navage Nose Cleaner definitely helped them breathe better (and even gave it a “big thumbs up”), but repeatedly mentioned that it was “very uncomfortable.”

Outside of this, there weren’t any online reviews of customers who had actually used Navage.

From a company perspective, Navage Nose Cleaner is manufactured by RhinoSystems Inc. based out of Brooklyn Heights, OH, which had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau with no closed complaints (as of 10/22/15).

Does Navage Nose Cleaner Suck?

Nose irrigation has been used for thousands of years to help people breathe better, and it seems like Navage Nose Cleaner has brought the process into the 21st century by using gentle suction.

But the key here is that there’s no clinical evidence showing mechanical suction can provide better clearing than traditional methods like neti pots. Yes, Navage will be slightly less messy than other methods, but only you’ll be able to decide if this benefit is worth the extra money—especially when you consider that Navage will cost you between $0.33 and $0.49 per use.

Our recommendation? Talk with your doctor first. Then, try less expensive irrigation systems from your local pharmacy.

If you find you’re not getting the results you want, then Navage Nose Cleaner might present a solid option for helping you breathe better.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

25 Consumer Reviews for Navage Nose Cleaner

Average Consumer Rating: 4.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 17 4 star: 3 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  4
Bottom Line: 80% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 25
Sort reviews by:

  • Works great!

    • Louisiana,
    • Nov 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have allergies, and my sinuses stay blocked most of the year. I've been using the leading nose sprays for many years and was dependent on using them to breathe. Since I started using the Navage sinus irrigation/nose cleaner, I actually breathe a lot better! I'm on a CPAP machine at night and I usually use the Navage right before bedtime and after I wake up in the morning. So far, I'm a lot less dependent on nose sprays, which saves me a lot of money. My opinion is, it works for me!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Best device ever

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Nov 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am over seventy years old and have had nasal congestion and post nasal drip all of my life due mainly to a deviated septum. When I was a young adult, I had surgery to correct the problem, but it did not work. As a result, I have been taking decongestants like Flonase for years but still was breathing mainly through my mouth.

    I had never tried nasal irrigation before, so I cannot compare other methods to Navage. I saw an ad for Navage on TV and decided to try it out. As I stood in the check out line at the pharmacy, another customer came up to me and exclaimed that it was the best thing she had ever found to clear her nasal passages.

    There is a learning curve to its use, but if you carefully read the detailed instructions, you should find it works perfectly after a few uses.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Awesome nose cleaner

    • Spring Valley, NY,
    • Sep 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm a chronic allergy sufferer. I've used different products. This one is by far the most expensive, but it's less messy. I love it. It is also extremely easy to use...at least for me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Great product for sinus suffers

    • Tennessee,
    • Sep 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used this twice a day for three days, and I can breathe much better now. My wife says I don't snore as much now. I was having a lot of draining in my throat, to the point it was waking me up at night. It is much better now. Thank you Navage for a great product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Good, but with caveats

    • Columbus, OH,
    • Jul 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    One of the first things I noticed is the Navage is cleverly designed to force you to use up those cartridges. I am fighting really bad allergies right now and I need to run two or three fills of water before I can breathe through both nostrils.

    The instructions say the cartridge system is designed so you cannot feel the shock or discomfort or whatever of running straight water. And it seems like they've done a good job of stopping you.

    Except you CAN run straight water. Here's the hack. Leave your last used cartridge in there. Then run warm water over the back of the lid, over the lid hinges. The water will seep into the tank. You can run a cycle or two on straight water, then a final cycle with a cartridge. With my passages clear, I immediately inhale a nasal spray type anti-allergy treatment.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Works ok at first, then not, doesn't work, no way change the battery

    • Willmar, MN,
    • Jun 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It is a ripoff. I don't fully understand how it works. I tried for two times and it worked, then I tried the third time and it doesn't work anymore. The product has no way to change the battery. What a piece of crap.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Horrible

    • New Smyrna Beach, FL,
    • Jun 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This thing is a big waste of money. It does nothing to help breathing. Don't waste your time or money. My nose runs worse after using. Again, don't waste your time or money. Sorry, sorry, sorry is the best way to describe it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    My husband bought the Navage for me, as I suffer with sinus issues. It took me several times to master the technique. But once I did, I fell in love with the system. I can breath better and do not suffer from allergies like I did. The cost of the pods can get expensive, so I learned to make my own solution. Best to use distilled water, not tap water. I would recommend this product to anyone!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 24 people found this review helpful

    The BEST, turned into bad!

    • Omaha, NE,
    • Mar 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought NAVAGE on Tuesday, March 5, 2018. I used it that night. I had some problems getting it to work its power. Once I was done, I went to sleep, and I slept wonderfully well without my nasal passages plugged. I used it again on 3/6/2018. As I write this, I'm experiencing an ear infection. Hm...it hurts! Might this "irritating" system have caused this? I haven't had an ear infection in over a quarter century. Not very pleased anymore!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 25, 2018

      Kurt

      Yes, but can you really blame Navage for your ear infection, when it could very well be a coincidence? Especially since you were soo "plugged up" before. You could have easily had the infection already well on its way when you used it, and since it isn't "medicine" it would not have stopped a progressing infection. Secondly, did you use purified/filtered/treated water or tap? If you used tap water, that's your fault.

    • Mar 28, 2018

      Robert John Crowley

      You know any kind of irrigation can leave water up there, and it pools in those sinus cavities when you sleep. This is kind of like blaming a pregnancy on a turkey baster.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 29 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Relief at last!

    I have been suffering with my sinuses for the last two months. I went to my primary care physician, who has been treating me for ten years, and he will no longer give me antibiotics or steroids but tells me to take over the counter products. I have been MISERABLE for two months!

    I saw Navage on a commercial two weeks ago and decided to give it a try. I have never tried Nasal Irrigation of any kind prior to today (1/8/2018), when my Navage arrived. OMG, what a relief I have experienced after my first use of Nasal Irrigation with Navage! I can breathe again and had zero problems with being a first-time user.

    If my first experience means anything, as a long time allergy and asthma sufferer, I will never be without this device again. Thanks Navage. I am not a professional writer; just a long time sufferer. This product is the REAL DEAL!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 29 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Works very well

    I have had sinus problems most of my life. I finally got into Neti Pots, which offered some relief but were very had to use.

    I found a device that is like a big syringe with rubber nose converters and works much better than Neti Pots and somewhat easier to use. The biggest drawback of both systems is prep and cleanup times, plus the length of time to use. I used it mostly right before bedtime and this prevented use because of being tired and not wanting to take time.

    Navage takes care of all these issues; easy to use, which encourages more use, and makes my sinus feel much better quickly.

    I would recommend it to anyone in need of extra help with sinus problems. I would like to have packets for use in very dry air that helps dryness in sinus here in Arizona.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 25

Write a Review for Navage Nose Cleaner!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review