53 Consumer Reviews for Opendoor - Page 2

Average Consumer Rating: 3.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 27 4 star: 3 3 star: 1 2 star: 6 1 star:  16
Bottom Line: 58% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 53
Sort reviews by:

  • 23 out 25 people found this review helpful

    If you are in a hurry

    • Texas,
    • Jun 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I would not recommend Opendoor if you are trying to sell your house and have the option to do it the traditional way. The numbers they estimate are very far from what you actually get at the end. If you are in a hurry to sell and don't care about the net you'll get, they are fast with the process and very easy-going.

    In my case, I need it to sell fast. I accepted an offer that was around $20K lower than comparables in the area, even with the low ball offer, they will nick-and-dime you for what they call 'repair credits.' They basically go to your house and expect everything to be in brand new condition, or they will charge you fully to get it replaced, even so when the offer said 'as is' condition. So be prepared that if it is not in perfect condition, you'll get charged. I lost close to $5K on 'repair credits,' and only $1K made sense, the other $4K was just trivial. If I had the time I would have fix all for probably $500.00.

    In the end, from a $220K offer, I ended up leaving with only $194K.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 24, 2018

      Tirza D., Community Manager

      Hi Edwin, Thank you for your comments. We rely on feedback like this to improve the buying and selling experience for all customers. Please know that we take this to heart and will use it as an opportunity to improve. Thank you for choosing OpenDoor. We wish you the best of luck in your next chapter.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 32 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Don't believe the price they offer you

    • Raleigh, NC,
    • May 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company comes across as a homeowner's dream. Do NOT believe this! After an inspection, they come up with ridiculous demands and outrageous prices to mitigate imagined problems. That initial price you offered is only a starting point and not to be believed. Don't waste your money making last-minute repairs because their list will be unreasonable. Take your chances on the open market; you will do much better.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 15, 2018

      Tirza D., Community Manager

      At Opendoor we aim to offer market value for your home and take a service charge that enables us to provide a streamlined experience and world-class service from offer to closing. As part of this process, we work hard to ensure that our repair asks are transparent and fair to all of our customers.

      You can read more about the types of repairs we commonly ask for here:

      https://www.opendoor.com/blog/what-to-expect-from-opendoors-home-assessment-and-repair-process.

      Please feel free to direct message us if you believe we have overlooked something and we will be happy to take a look. Know that your feedback helps us to create an even better experience for all of our customers moving forward.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 33 out 37 people found this review helpful

    NEVER use this company!

    All of the good reviews are made up from people who work at Opendoor. They are the worst. They take 8%-12% fees! That's twice as much as what realtors take, and realtors are much better than Opendoor. No one can replace an agent. Just no one.

    I can't even begin to tell you how awful Opendoor is. They wrote me an offer for $70k under the market price. I didn't accept, and then I put my house on the market for $85k more, and it went under contract in three days. A friend of mine used Opendoor to buy a property, and they told her everything was fixed and repaired with no issues. She still got her own inspector and they found SO many issues, including issues with the things they said they fixed. She backed out immediately.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 15, 2018

      Tirza D., Community Manager

      We know you have a lot of options when it comes to selling your home, and we’re sorry to hear that our fees were higher than you were expecting.

      For more information about our fees, you can visit the fee page below - https://www.opendoor.com/w/faq/what-does-it-cost-to-sell-to-opendoor/.

      Please know that we’re actively working on ways to lower our fees and pass savings along to our customers. We truly appreciate your feedback and we are glad to hear you were able to sell your home in a timely manner on your own. Good luck with your next chapter!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 25 out 26 people found this review helpful

    I was excited initially

    • Garland, TX,
    • Apr 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After reading mixed reviews, I was excited to receive the initial offer from open door despite the offer being somewhat less than what I would have expected to sell for. I set my assessment date for Wednesday then contacted the closing manager to see if she had any earlier appointments. Not only did they not have anything earlier; apparently there was a problem with the scheduling system, and Friday was their first available appointment.

    On Friday morning everyone began to arrive shortly after 8 am. During the assessment process, I began to feel a little awkward as the inspectors would ask questions about previous repair work, however, not really provide any insight into their findings, as if for some reason they couldn’t share the information. One assessment team member even had the audacity to use my bathroom without asking; which was really unsettling.

    The following Tuesday, today, the results were in, which were completely ridiculous. They were suggesting thousands in repairs. I politely passed on the offer.

    I was warned about their business tactics prior to engaging this company. It clearly came to reality today. The initial offer in my case was close to market value, but they pulled a fast one when it comes to repair work. Thanks but no thanks Opendoor. I will pass.

    In addition to this, the termite inspection guy damaged my attic entry while he was here. When I mentioned it to the closing manager, she immediately dismissed it as an existing condition. No big deal as I was able to quickly repair it.

    If you're not in a rush to sell, please consider other options or you will leave money on the table with Opendoor.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 30 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Satisfied with our sale to Opendoor. Thank you.

    Since writing my initial review about two months ago, I have been in communication with the Opendoor team regarding the sale of our previous property. After reviewing our case, Opendoor reached out to us with a resolution. We have received a fair settlement amount from the company. The company proved itself to be a company of integrity. Their goal was to simplify the home selling process and make us a fair offer; and in the end, we feel that this goal was ultimately accomplished. Because of this, I am updating my review to 5/5.

    I would also like to mention that I am updating my review simply because I decided to so. The company did not, in any form or fashion, ask me to update my review. There was no persuasion, coercion, or harassment. I just feel that if Opendoor did what they could do to rectify this situation, then the least I could do is make readers aware that the company did make things right for us. And we truly appreciate it. If I owned a business, I would hope for the same.

    So I hope that this updated review gives you some reassurance if you are indecisive about selling to the company. Overall, we had a hassle-free and great experience. Given the opportunity to do it all over again, the one thing I would do differently is to make sure that I'm satisfied with my offer prior to closing. Just know that if you are in question and do not think your offer is fair (based on market value and comps), you are able to request a reassessment or appeal the offer prior to accepting and closing.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 5, 2018

      Tirza D., Community Manager

      Hi Courtney,

      Thank you for providing this feedback. Our aim is to provide competitive, market value offers to every seller. We’re reaching out to you via email to dig into this a little further and try to understand why this might have happened.

    • Apr 16, 2018

      Robert Adams

      More people should get an estimate of their bottom line from Opendoor and also from another agent, to see how much money they are giving away for convenience. I bet a lot of people would be surprised at how much they are losing with Opendoor.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Feb 5, 2018

    Low-balled...

    We took an offer from Opendoor. The offer was low, but out of desperation for funds to close on another home, we accepted. When we initially filled out the online survey, one of the questions asked, “How much do you think your home is worth?” Our home was in exceptional condition. We had recently spent over $3,000 in upgrades to the flooring, HVAC, the roof was new, etc. The offer they gave us was well below what we thought our home was worth. They offered us $205,000, which was $10,000 less than we felt our home was worth.

    A realtor was certain they could sell our house for much more than the $205k they offered us, but we did not want to risk not having the funds to close on our new house in time. We moved forward with the process. Everyone was courteous and professional, I can honestly say that.

    So after an inspection, they ended up deducting over $2,500 in repairs from us even though when the inspectors did their walk-thrus, they told us our home was in excellent condition, aside from needing some new paint and a few tiles (which we had stocked) in areas. We did not argue with the fees since they told us there was no room for negotiation. We accepted the $205,000 and closed.

    So, then Opendoor turned around and marketed/sold the house for $230,000. They marketed it for $25,000 more than they offered us. And with all of their deductions, repair fees, title fees, “Opendoor experience” fees, etc., that they’d already pocketed, there was about $35,000-$40,000 (or more than they profited overall), considering the payoff amount of the house.

    I was in disbelief. I did not expect the difference to be so drastic. I knew we weren’t getting a fair offer, but I didn’t think we were getting ripped off at the time, not until I saw the home listed and sale pending on the market. I feel like they did everything in their power to pocket our profits. If they had even offered us $210,000, I probably would’ve been able to sleep better and brush this off. But sadly, I feel like we were extremely low-balled and ripped off, which is why I’m expressing my opinion here.

    Once again, I will say that the team was very professional and nice, and the process itself was smooth, but that sort of all goes out the window when you’ve gotten cheated out of your well-deserved money.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 17 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Asked for a copy of the invoice for plumbing or foundation work. Invoice was billed to an address that is not Opendoor?

    • Garland, TX,
    • Apr 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    When Opendoor made us an offer, it seemed fair, and until the end, we were told they needed to hold back money for a special plumbing test and if they did not need to use the full amount withheld, we would be reimbursed for any money left. After calling every Friday for five weeks, I was told they had to use all the money. I asked for a copy of the billed invoice, and the invoice looked odd. The address on the invoice is not an Opendoor address. The invoice looks funny. Just make sure they tell you everything before you sell to Opendoor.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 10, 2018

      Tirza D., Community Manager

      Hi Mona,

      Thank you for sharing this feedback! We apologize for any confusion that the billable address on the invoice from our vendor caused. The address listed on the invoice is our previous office location before we moved to our current Mockingbird Station location. We'll use this as an opportunity to improve the context we provide around plumbing contingencies and invoices for work. Please feel free to email us at community@opendoor.com, if you have any other questions or concerns.

    • Apr 11, 2018

      Mona Trevino

      The invoice is very vague for 19K worth of work. The invoice is only billed to a wrong address and it should have the Opendoor name on it. I am not happy with this invoice, and I wonder about the authentication of the invoice. I will not recommend Opendoor.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Dap to Opendoor

    My Opendoor experience went quite well. At first, I was skeptical about them. With all of the scams going on that look very real. But the process was very simple. I did very little by providing a few things to help complete the transaction. Everyone I worked with, Aubrey (Opendoor) and Lakeisha (OSN), were there for any concerns that I had. It was best for my family to avoid the regular real estate showings for we needed to have a quick turnaround.

    If Greed is not your Master then you can benefit from selling your home to Opendoor. Expect what you expect from what you present.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 1, 2018

      Tirza D., Community Manager

      Hi Timothy,

      Thank you for sharing your Opendoor story! We're so happy to hear that we were able to make home-selling a simple and pleasant process for you and your family. We wish you the best in this next chapter of your life.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Couldn't be happier

    I loved my home, but could not afford to maintain it. It had fairly substantial foundation issues which had caused widespread damage to the interior, and my yard needed major help.

    I knew I had substantial equity built over the ten years I lived there, however, I also knew that even if I provided a generous allowance the work to repair would be daunting to a potential buyer. So, I figured what the heck and submitted a request for an offer to Opendoor.

    I submitted my request on January 4th. I received an immediate response from Katie (my Home Advisor) on the 5th, received my very fair offer same-day and signed it on the 8th. I was then turned over to Morgan (my Experience Manager) who coordinated my inspections. Morgan is seriously awesome; responsive, straight-forward and accommodating of my endless questions and nerves. I am very grateful to her.

    The inspection team was fantastic. I had my results quickly and decided to move forward with the sale. Closing was February 15th and took about 30 minutes, start to finish. The folks at the title company were super friendly and efficient and made the process smooth and simple.

    Y'all, if you want the most pain-free home selling experience, Opendoor is the way to go. From start to finish the entire team was first-rate. No constantly getting ready for showings, corralling the cats...somewhere? No last minute hiccups or funding falling through. Peace of mind, ease of transaction, no hassle. I don't think I would ever sell my home any other way.

    Thank you, Opendoor, for making this experience the BEST!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 26, 2018

      Tirza D., Community Manager

      Hi Sheri,

      Thank you for sharing your Opendoor story! It makes our day to hear that we made the process simple and hassle-free for you. We wish you the best in this next chapter of your life.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 25 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Not a fair and honest experience

    All was good until I was waiting for the inspection report. They said 4-7 days, but I don’t see how that would work if we wanted to close in a few days like they offer. We knew the house needed some work, but nothing major. They estimate up to $8k, and received a repair list for $15k! They “say” they ask for necessary repairs, but charging $25 to tighten a bolt on the stairway railing and $20 to tighten a toilet screw seems totally crazy.

    So we fixed what we could since we were closing in a week, and Aubrey said all repairs were needed two days prior to signing, so clearly don’t want you to be able to fix stuff. And not to mention when I had questions about repairs. Aubrey had no clue how to answer them and had to check with her team every time, and that took forever. She even said she tries to respond to emails within 24 hours. That’s definitely not acceptable in this line of work when people are trying to move and make plans.

    The WORST part of it all is seeing that they DO NOT fix half of the items they list on the repair report you have to pay from your proceeds. A patio roof “needed” fixing, and they charged $2000 for that, which wasn’t done. T,hey charged $300 to replace a shower door, that was NOT done. $300 to fix windows that were NOT done. Seeing your “flipped” house posted on their website and realizing what kind of company they truly are is very frustrating. The work that was done was below average as well. I really feel sorry for the next buyer. PLEASE be cautious of this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 27, 2018

      Tirza D., Community Manager

      Hi Samantha,

      Thank you for your feedback. Our team has reached out to you to clarify and address your concerns. Please feel free to email us at community@opendoor.com if you have any other questions.

    • Feb 28, 2018

      Samantha Harris

      Yes. Someone contacted me Monday night to discuss this and listened to all my concerns. After, she told me that she would get back to me that night or the next morning. Of course, I'm still waiting for that phone call.

    • Jul 6, 2018

      Chris B.

      Probably the worst experience I have ever gone through/going through. This company has completely dragged out everything they possibly could on their end. They have two excuses, “we are upfront about a 24-48 hour response time”, and “keep in mind we are corporate”. It’s not my problem Opendoor that you are slow. This line of business needs speed. I wouldn’t recommend this company to my worst enemy and no way would I EVER do business with them again.

      Save yourself and don’t sell or buy from them. You will REGRET it.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great experience

    We could not be more pleased. The entire process of selling our house was simple and streamlined with a fair offer; zero hitches or complaints. I would definitely recommend Opendoor to friends and family.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 22, 2018

      Tirza D., Community Manager

      Hi Melissa,

      We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed the Opendoor experience! We wish you the best in this next chapter of your life.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Opendoor is a phenomenal company to work with

    Claudia Thomas was our representative. She is awesome! Opendoor made the sale of our home worry and stress-free. We had to change our closing to a later date. The contract stayed the same. The entire Opendoor team and the title company they used were always friendly, understanding and extremely accommodating. I highly recommend to anyone to use Opendoor to sell their home. The best part about the process is that our lives were not disrupted at all by "showings."

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 20, 2018

      Tirza D., Community Manager

      Hi Gregory,

      Thank you for sharing your Opendoor story! We wish you the best in this next chapter of your life.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 12-22 of 53

Write a Review for Opendoor!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review