101 Consumer Reviews for Opendoor - Page 2

Average Consumer Rating: 3.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 45 4 star: 5 3 star: 2 2 star: 10 1 star:  39
Bottom Line: 50% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 101
Sort reviews by:

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    The worse buying experience ever

    • North Carolina,
    • Dec 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It is impossible to get anywhere with a company who doesn’t use a dedicated agent/point of contact for their listings.

    At offer, Opendoor provided my agent with a long list of things they said their contractor repaired. After my home inspection showed 10 pages of problems, all of which were supposedly repaired by Opendoor before putting this home on the market, they refuse to correct any of the items? Excuse me? They already paid a contractor to fix these things, send the contractor back out to get the job done right.

    BUT NO! Opendoor just keeps giving my agent the runaround while the clock is ticking. Over 10 days and no response from them on a decision about negotiating repairs.

    And my agent still does not have a single point of contact for this home contract.

    Stick to a flesh and blood agent. Sometimes in our now virtual world, we still need humans.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 5, 2018

      Tirza D., Community Manager

      Hi Corey,

      We're sorry for what sounds like a very frustrating experience. Would you be able to send an email to community@opendoor.com with the address of the home and any additional details you would like to share with our team? Thank you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great way to sell

    • Nashville, TN,
    • Nov 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Opendoor was surprisingly great to work with. I admit I was skeptical going into it and kept waiting for the "hidden fees" and "surprises" I had read about from others online; however, that NEVER happened. They were honest and upfront throughout the process! The only thing I may have done that others did not was after my initial offer, I requested a review of that offer, and after that, the offer increased! I’ve sold two homes the "traditional" way, and the "Opendoor" way was by far the easiest and least stressful. And for those thinking I sold my house for "pennies on the dollar," you are wrong. I ran the comps with a realtor and Opendoor’s offer was in line with the comps. We had $0 in repairs and even closed in the convenience of our own home with a mobile notary! Overall, selling a house was never easier!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Rip off, don't waste your time

    • Tomball, TX,
    • Nov 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Unless you're desperate and willing to walk away from your house with nothing or able to pay to get rid of it, don't waste your time. I just received an offer on our house, which was a joke. First they claim the average home sale in our neighborhood was $250,000 and roughly $80.00 a square foot, but that was one house that sold, and it was going to go into foreclosure. Every other house is listed and sold for right at $100.00 a square foot to $135.00 a square foot. A house one street over just sold for $135.00 a square foot, so right off the bat they low ball. Then with closing costs, they preach not having to pay for an agent, but their service fee is higher than if you listed it with an agent. Then they tacked on another almost $14,000.00 in closing costs on top of the $21,000.00 service fee so, in the end, they absorb every bit of equity we had in the house and it looks like they have us paying all the closing costs. These people are a joke. Don't waste your time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Almost a great experience

    We had a wonderful experience with Opendoor until...

    We now realize we were low balled with the maker value of our totally renovated home. We sold to Opendoor for $277k - fees and repairs for a net of $251k. Opendoor listed our home for $309k and it sold for $311k. Opendoor made $60k, clearly exceeding the market value they quoted to us. We are disappointed with this transaction for that reason.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Did not receive a quote

    • Tampa, FL,
    • Nov 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After filling out all the information, I received an email that says they’re backed up and working on it. That was over a month ago, and now I’m starting to wonder if they just wanted my email address to sell it or spam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 27, 2018

      Tirza D., Community Manager

      Hi Elaine,

      Truly apologize for the delay, please send an email with your address to community@opendoor.com. We will take a look at what happened here.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Avoid!

    • Charlotte, NC,
    • Nov 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Waste of time! It is designed for desperate sellers only! First, they send lowball email offers $110K below market, then machine call on scheduled time and hang up! Comps are the ones that are most convenient for them!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    100% transparent! This is going to be the future of real estate!

    • Tucker, GA,
    • Nov 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wanted to sell my home and thought I would give Opendoor a try because it seemed like a great concept. I submitted my info and was offered more for what I thought my home was worth, so that was a pleasant surprise. Then they came by and inspected my house and let me know specifically what needed to be repaired and gave me the opportunity to fix it or let them just deduct it from my offer, which I went ahead and did because the cost was very fair and reasonable. Then we just closed the sale and everything was so fast and smooth, like it all went down within a two week period! Irene was there with me on every step of the process and everything, I mean everything, was simple and transparent!

    I am so happy and satisfied with Opendoor and would really recommend this to everyone hands down! Also, Anitra, Michelle, Chris and Jennifer from O'Kelley & Sorohan, the closing law firm that was used, were fantastic and very helpful, making sure my closing happened when they said they would. Opendoor deserves 100 stars because this was the most simple, honest, profitable, transparent, stress-free deal I have ever made in my life! This is going to be the future of real estate!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Opendoor

    • Tennessee,
    • Oct 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It was the easiest real estate transaction that I have ever done.

    It was accurate, quick, and easy. I would recommend this to anybody who wants to buy or sell any real estate. Everybody at Opendoor was very professional. I would use this company again.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Good option if you need to sell quick

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Oct 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It provides an option if you are in a crunch, need to sell quick, and are willing to lose some profit.

    Pros: Fair offer, quick process.

    Cons: Their service fee is more than a realtor, they use their own contractors to assess damages and come up with unnecessary repair items, which they then use to deduce the value of your home. This service would be a good option if you have high equity and your home is in perfect condition (updated home with zero damages). In my case, they offered $236K but then came up with a bid of $40K for repairs, which disqualified me.

    I was content with the outcome because I got to keep the option fee money and made more profit selling my home using iList. I sold my home for $226K with no repairs and only 1% listing fee and 3% to the buyer’s agent, a tremendous savings from the $17K that Opendoor was asking for plus the cost of repairs.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    WOW Opendoor

    • Thompsons Station, TN,
    • Oct 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    WOW...how seamless and easy. IF we got a FULL PRICE offer with a realtor, and the buyer didn't demand many concessions, we would have made about $4000 more.

    BUT we never had to show, no open houses, no de-cluttering, no cleaning, NO HASSLE WHATSOEVER. Well worth the price.

    We were skeptical all along the process because it seemed too good to be true. Right up to the final walk-through, we were saying this is going to blow-up somehow because it's too easy. WE WERE WRONG! What a great way to sell our house.

    We had two realtors price our house at $305,000 and $319,000. Opendoor paid us $313,000. A no-brainer for us.

    We highly recommend Opendoor.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Bad experience

    • North Carolina,
    • Oct 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This was a bad experience. Please be careful and research them. Our experience was from a cash sale offer. I will never to a cash offer again. Only a traditional sale if I decide to sell another home.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 23, 2018

      Tirza D., Community Manager

      Hi Ann,

      We appreciate your feedback and would like to learn more about your experience. Please send any additional feedback to community@opendoor.com. Thank you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 12-22 of 101

Write a Review for Opendoor!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review