Read 134 Opendoor Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 3.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 65 4 star: 7 3 star: 2 2 star: 11 1 star:  49
Bottom Line: 54% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 134
Sort reviews by:

  • Better than I expected!

    • Tampa, FL,
    • Apr 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We went into this experience with Opendoor as doubtful and not expecting it to be as they said based on reviews, but it was a truly excellent experience. They offered us market value for our house (literally $1000 less than Zillow for all you nonbelievers), they were extremely communicative, let us do things on our schedule, were flexible, and very easy to work with. Their evaluation was fair, we were able to make the repairs that they wanted and leave the rest to them, and they were more than fair in the final walk through. The entire process from day 1 to receiving funds from my sale was less than 2 months and that was due to our timeline. I would highly recommend if anyone is considering selling their home and wants an easy sale.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 2, 2019

      Opendoor

      Thank you so much for sharing your experience! We'll be sure to share your kind words with our internal teams.

      We wish you and your family all the best in this new chapter!


  • Great experience

    • Richmond, TX,
    • Apr 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We used Opendoor to avoid the stress of selling our home. The cleaning up, the open houses, and the uncertainty of selling our house. I was very skeptical at first but the offer was very competitive compared to the traditional way of selling. The repairs? Far less than what I thought it would be. Opendoor took care of that. Opendoor is not for everyone but it was for us, just do your homework and test your financial threshold. Weigh convenience vs. stress and see what you come up with.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 2, 2019

      Opendoor

      We're so glad you were able to experience the benefit the Opendoor process provides!

      Thanks for sharing your story!


  • Almost perfect

    • Houston, TX,
    • Apr 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Ray buys houses. Cash. Call (713) xxx-xxxx. Ray or whomever with the signs on the corner of every intersection. Low-ball, slimy, and other words too impolite to include in a review.

    I really expected nothing less from Opendoor. Frankly, I was quite surprised. The starting number was okay. I was going to have to spend between $12-$15k to get the house ready for the traditional realtor route. Not to mention our time involved in either doing the work ourselves or contracting it out. Further the delay in time to get out of the house, if we performed the repairs.

    I was skeptical and remained so throughout the entire process, always waiting for the "I got you". It didn't happen.

    The NUMBERS:

    1) The original offer number (be realistic with yourself about your home's value).

    2) Their fees (typical realtor fees, maybe a little higher than I would have liked, but fair).

    3) Then the home inspection and the repair costs.

    4) Closing costs.

    I was wary of them having taken value off the top end and then banging hard on the repairs on the back side. Didn't happen - my number for repairs was +/- $2,450. So between a value chop off the top for the known repairs and the final repair cost, I got to walk away from the house without lifting a finger on repairs or spending hours, if not weeks of time fixing up the house.

    Closing day walkthrough was a breeze.

    The most difficult part of vacating the house was emptying and moving our STUFF. Be prepared for that.

    The ONLY bad part of this entire experience was closing day at the title company. They didn't have the paperwork ready and threatened to have to delay the closing until the following week. After raising holy heck, we ended up closing at 5:00 PM on a Friday evening.

    I have already recommended OpenDoor to several friends, co-workers, and neighbors.

    It's NOT for everyone. But it's also NOT just for folks who want/need to "dump" a house. A loose analogy for folks from Texas may be "Give Me The VIN.com". Opendoor is fair, quick and trustworthy. If you WANT to do it all yourself to squeeze out every nickel and do all the work along the path, then traditional methods are the way to go. If you want a quicker but virtually painless path, Opendoor will give you that advantage.

    I do wish they offered referral bonuses.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 2, 2019

      Opendoor

      We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience in detail!

      We will be sure to pass along your feedback regarding your experience with the title company. Please know that we rely on honest feedback like yours as we continue to work to optimize the process for both buyers and sellers.

      We wish you all the best and appreciate you spreading the word about Opendoor!


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Scam to get your personal info for real estate leads

    • Ponte Vedra Beach, FL,
    • Apr 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I put my information about my property in Opendoor online because I fell for their false representations also on their website. Then I was informed after I had given them the address and location and other confidential information about my plans to sell that they weren't interested in buying condos in gated communities. Well, in the location I live in there are only gate condo communities because it is the top-rated county in the State of Florida for quality of living, income, and schools. Then I am told if I give them more confidential information they will reach out to their partners to see if they are interested. Then I get an email that no one wants to buy my condo when these condos in my complex are listed as the top condo community by Folio Weekly as rated by their viewers in Jacksonville, Florida and are very easy to find sellers. So my point is, this is just a scam website to get people to enter their confidential information by them promising to make the selling process simpler and you will not get anything for following for this scam like I did.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 2, 2019

      Opendoor

      Hi Laura,

      We appreciate your feedback and we apologize if you felt uncomfortable with the level of information we request. Please know all customer information is protected by our privacy policy. Feel free to view our privacy policy on our website: https://www.opendoor.com/w/privacy

      We've worked with thousands of customers and rarely do we receive negative feedback like this so we will make sure to share this internally should other customers feel this way.


  • Best real estate experience ever

    • Georgia,
    • Apr 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We had a fantastic experience with Opendoor. The price we got was right in line with what others in the neighborhood were selling for. The amount taken for repairs was reasonable. We had to do almost nothing. They took care of everything. We got to the closing attorney's office - ten minutes from home - exactly on time at 3 pm. The attorney was waiting, and we went right in. Twelve minutes later we left, within a couple of hours the wire transfer showed our proceeds in the bank. It was completely painless.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 2, 2019

      Opendoor

      Thanks for sharing your experience! We're so glad you were able to benefit from the Opendoor experience.

      We truly appreciate you choosing Opendoor for such an important transaction!


  • Smooth as silk

    • Arizona,
    • Apr 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This was the smoothest and easiest home sale I have ever done! Our home was a rental and tenants had moved out. We decided to get an offer from Opendoor and we're so happy we did. Their offer was right there with the comps for the neighborhood. We chose our closing date and closed on time. No issues, no problems what so ever. We paid a 6% fee at closing. No biggie, same as a realtor charges. No-stress sell. We will use them again when we sell our Texas home. Thank you Opendoor.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Easiest home selling experience I ever had

    • Charlotte, NC,
    • Apr 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I want to say that Opendoor and the entire team I dealt with are top notch professionals. This was by far the easiest home sales experience I have ever encountered. I was actually skeptical at first, thinking I was going to be offered and extremely low price for my home. I was wrong. I followed their instructions, went online and completed the questionnaire about my home. I was truthful about my house and what it needed and what I have done to it. The questionnaire took me about 10 minutes to complete. I did send over some pictures but was not required to do so. The next day I had an offer online. I was surprised, because 2 years ago I had my home on the market and after 1 month I took it off. I just could not stand people coming in and out, telling me my yard was too small, the driveway too steep, etc., etc. Each time I had to leave my house while people went through it. In the meantime, I had to try and find a place to move to.

    Along comes Opendoor and I get a good offer in 1 day, with no showings. I agreed to the offer, and the Opendoor team set up the inspection. Four people came to my home. It took about 45 minutes. One was a local roofer, and one was a local HVAC technician. The other two took measurements of the rooms, and took pictures of the house. They were extremely polite and were in and out quickly. They did find a few items that needed attention and notified me of it. At that time I had the choice to either do the repairs myself or have them taken out of the proceeds. The repair amounts were very fair. I then had the option to pick my own closing date. They gave me up to 90 days. I chose 30. And picked my date. I next heard from the attorney the have on retainer. He told me what I needed to bring to the closing. On the morning of the closing, I met with the Opendoor inspector who did a final walk through with me to make sure the home was empty, and in the same condition it was when they inspected. After that, my wife and I drove to the attorney's office, and closed the deal. My remaining funds were in my bank account that evening.

    Easy, straight forward, and honest. I have already recommended them to many friends and will continue to do so. Great experience!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 2, 2019

      Opendoor

      Thanks for sharing your experience in such great detail!

      We appreciate you choosing Opendoor for such an important transaction!


  • Amazing experience.

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Apr 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Opendoor was a true blessing. They came to our home and did a full inspection on the inside and out. I thought they were going to ask for a lot of repairs and updates. I was wrong, they actually asked for less than what normal homebuyers would normally ask for. They have us a fair market value for our home. They were communicative and forthcoming through the whole process and helpful throughout the whole process. Closing was a breeze, we received all funds in the same business day.

    I would highly recommend anyone to Opendoor, especially if you need to sell your house quickly.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Smoothest home sale process

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Apr 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have bought and sold numerous homes since 1975. Without a doubt, this was the smoothest home sale I have ever done.

    I was in a situation where my siblings and I needed to sell my mother’s home. Due to the fact that no one lived in the house and I lived 200 miles away, I had concerns about trying to line up contractors to patch/paint the home, replace the flooring, fix the landscaping and do other needed repairs to get the house in a marketable condition. I did research on the value of homes in the area to get an estimate of the fair market value on the home, along with estimates to get the repair work completed. I contacted Opendoor.com to request a quote for my mom’s home. Opendoor.com came back within a few days with an offer that was a fair market offer, especially considering the needed repairs to the house. As backup to their offer, they provided three comparables from recently sold homes in the neighborhood. We agreed to the offer, pending the home inspection and any subsequent needed repairs. I selected the closing date. We spent a month clearing the house of all personal items, broom cleaned it and turned it over to Opendoor.com. Closing was easy and the money was wired to my mom’s account that same day. We never had to deal with any contractors nor did we have to have potential buyers traipsing through the house.

    Throughout the process Opendoor.com communicated with me frequently, keeping me appraised of the process and the next steps. There were no surprises. I can’t say enough about how stress-free it was and how professional Opendoor.com was. I highly recommend them.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Thankful for Opendoor!

    • Eden Praire, MN,
    • Apr 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I currently reside in South Carolina and I have had a rental property in Minnesota for about 10 years. It was originally my first home, and after meeting my husband I moved south to be with him. At the time, I couldn't bear to sell the townhome and decided to keep as a rental.

    While I've been blessed with great renters over the years, rental properties are work (and worry!). Repair expenses, finding renters, dealing with complaints, etc. always created additional anxiety for me. It was also difficult to manage living 1000 miles away. With the market plunge in 2008...it took a while for selling to make sense so I wouldn't lose money.

    Once the market picked up and selling made sense to consider, the logistics were intimidating. Finding a realtor you could trust, finding someone on the ground who could help with local details, making the updates/repairs necessary to put on the market...all so daunting I simply kept putting it off.

    ...until Opendoor. I was familiar with a similar service I discovered during my own home search in South Carolina...but that one was not available in MN. At the same time I was searching, I received a letter from Opendoor and my problem was solved.

    From DAY ONE...every person I interacted with was incredible! Tonya Sims, Bob McCoin, and the folks at the title company - Jordyn Williams and Sheila Kemlein - provided excellent service. I said numerous time during the process "this is way too easy" and it was! Just way too easy. There truly was little to do on my part as they made sure all the t's were crossed and i's were dotted.

    The only hitch I was concerned about was the inspection. Not being present I was anticipating repair requirements that I wouldn't be able to personally verify and might be so high I couldn't do it. But again, no worries. The repair requirements were totally in line with the expectation Bob set in advance and I was pleased. So my anticipated "hitch" never happened.

    I closed last week. All in the process was less than 6 weeks total. One less thing (a big thing) for me to worry about. Plus another thing paid off!

    I could not be more pleased with my experience and would use them again in a heartbeat! Thank you OpenDoor! You've made someone in South Carolina VERY happy!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Efficient, fair, responsive

    • Chapel Hill, NC,
    • Apr 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I prevailed in a bidding competition...an auspicious start for a process that continued positively and ended about a month later with me the owner of a perky little duplex in a sought after location. No need to attend a closing, as everything happened electronically.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 134

Write a Review for Opendoor!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review