43 Consumer Reviews for Opendoor - Page 2

Average Consumer Rating: 3.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 20 4 star: 3 3 star: 1 2 star: 4 1 star:  15
Bottom Line: 53% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 43
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Opendoor is a phenomenal company to work with

    Claudia Thomas was our representative. She is awesome! Opendoor made the sale of our home worry and stress-free. We had to change our closing to a later date. The contract stayed the same. The entire Opendoor team and the title company they used were always friendly, understanding and extremely accommodating. I highly recommend to anyone to use Opendoor to sell their home. The best part about the process is that our lives were not disrupted at all by "showings."

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 20, 2018

      Cole Wallace, Head of Customer Success

      Hi Gregory,

      Thank you for sharing your Opendoor story! We wish you the best in this next chapter of your life.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Very upset

    I am BEYOND FRUSTRATED with this company.

    The biggest issue - communication. They are absolutely terrible at it. It took them forever to get back to us after their initial inspection, but we went ahead because it was the holidays.

    When we got the results back, they told us that we are welcome to do any repairs ourselves. We decided to take on the foundation ourselves because there was a high contingency cost and we just wanted a few different quotes. They let us do the foundation ourselves.

    And we did. We got a couple of quotes, had a certified construction engineer come out and confirm what needed to be fixed. We had it fixed. Another certified engineer came out and confirmed it was fixed. We had a plumber confirm our plumbing was still good. Great! I sent the results to Opendoor. They came back and said they wouldn't accept it. Because the engineer THEY had come out recommended a different number of piers. Even though we had a certified report that we were completely up to code. Even though THEY SAID we could do this on our own.

    Mind you, this is all 10 days before we close. So we ask them to send their engineer out ASAP to come through the house again to check it once more. We scheduled for the next day at 11:00. NO ONE shows up. My husband checks his email to see that they went ahead and emailed him a few minutes before 11:00 to let him know they went ahead and rescheduled for the next day at 8:00 AM without any other communication. The next day the engineer doesn't bother showing up until 8:38 AM.

    He goes through the house. He tells my husband everything is up to code, and he originally wanted the extra piers just to be safe. He tells him he is going to go back and take it off the list of repairs.

    Turns out he completely lied. Opendoor called us again today to say that they wanted to go ahead and do the extra work. WE CLOSE IN A WEEK.

    I can absolutely, in no way, recommend a company who acts like this. Such poor communication. If only they would have been more clear from the beginning, communicated effectively throughout this entire process, and told us earlier that essentially we had no choice but to use them to repair our foundation, that would have been a different story.

    Beyond frustrated. I don't like being lied to, and I don't like being tricked. Here we are, a week from closing with absolutely no power. Mad is an understatement.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 20, 2018

      Cole Wallace, Head of Customer Success

      Hi Brittany,

      Thank you for reaching out and taking the time to share your feedback with us. We apologize for the scheduling error and the inconvenience it may have caused. Our team has also reached out to follow up on the repairs.

      We appreciate you sharing your experience and will use it as an opportunity to improve. Please feel free to get in touch with us at community@opendoor.com if you have any other questions or concerns.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Happy seller

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Feb 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    From the beginning to the end of the selling process, I was very happy with the way things were handled. The day my condo was being inspected six people showed up each having their own specialty. I had people inspecting my roof while someone else was checking for termites, another inspecting plumbing and so on, but everybody was very respectful of my property.

    My main contact at Opendoor was Rae Peterson, who answered all my questions promptly and helped guide me through the process. She was very pleasant to work with. It took just one month to finish the sale without having to go through an open house, keeping it clean or leaving the premises when being shown.

    I also like the option of being able to use your own people to do any repairs that may be needed.

    I have already recommended Opendoor to a neighbor who is thinking of selling her condo.

    I would use Opendoor again without any hesitation.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 20, 2018

      Cole Wallace, Head of Customer Success

      Hi Wendy,

      Thanks for your feedback. It makes our day to hear that you enjoyed the Opendoor experience!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Best way to sell your home!

    • Rowlett, TX,
    • Feb 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This was by far the best home selling experience we have ever had. It is our fourth time selling, and this was the easiest time yet.

    We never had a realtor, never had to show our home, completed almost everything on the Opendoor website, and then they paid to have a closer come to our location for the closing.

    Trevor and Morgan Cole were very professional and easy to work with. Morgan followed up on everything and assisted when we needed her to and had all specifics lined out to a "T."

    The inspection was comfortable and professional and fair. The final walkthrough was simple and easy, and the funds transferred when promised.

    I will recommend them to all of our friends and will use Opendoor.com again if we ever sell!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 20, 2018

      Cole Wallace, Head of Customer Success

      Hi Duane,

      Thanks for sharing your story! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the Opendoor experience. We wish you the best in this next chapter of your life.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Year old comps!

    • Georgia,
    • Feb 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It takes at least 5 days to get your offer! Then when you get it, expect it to be WAY LOW if there aren’t sales in your neighborhood because people like to stay! Because of the downturn, people had to sell low in the past. The comps they used were from a year ago, which isn’t how it’s done. There were sales that were newer at prices $100,000 or higher. Now I will list it for sale by owner.

    This is for people who got in when they bought a foreclosure, not those who actually could afford the neighborhood they live in. It is so sad that these companies even think they are helping people who actually paid to live in our expensive homes. People who sell their homes for nothing are ruining the market.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 16, 2018

      Cole Wallace, Head of Customer Success

      Hi Pamela,

      We’re sorry that our offer didn’t work out for you. Our goal is to make the most competitive offer we can by reviewing the sale prices of comparable homes in your neighborhood and the unique information you provide. If you think we may have missed a comp or an important feature of your home in our offer, please don’t hesitate to send us an email at community@opendoor.com to let us know.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Sale of my home.

    I closed on my home today, and it went very smooth due to the great people at Opendoor. If you need a fast, easy sale, Opendoor is the way to go. I received a good and fair price for my home. Thank you Opendoor.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 15, 2018

      Cole Wallace, Head of Customer Success

      Hi Bessie,

      It makes our day to hear that you enjoyed our fair offer and the Opendoor experience! Thank you for sharing your story.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Excellent and easy home selling experience

    We needed a quick way to sell our second home due to some unexpected changes in our lives. We happened to hear one of Opendoor's commercials and decided to do a little research into the company and see if this process would work for us. This company isn't a "flipper," but they are a VERY thorough buyer and seller of real estate.

    The inspection process was a bit overwhelming (as noted above, they are VERY thorough), but the onsite Opendoor representative did a good job explaining the process as we went through it and setting expectations. Although the repair list was long, almost everything on it was as we expected.

    So, if you're realistic about your home and what it needs to meet Opendoor's standard to put the home on the market, then this process is definitely the way to go. Very fair offer on the home, and a fair price on the repairs. And definitely a lot faster and easier than any other way to sell your home!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 14, 2018

      Cole Wallace, Head of Customer Success

      Hi Kenryu,

      Thanks for sharing your Opendoor experience. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed working with us. We wish you the best in this next chapter of your life.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Best experience EVER!

    We just sold out home to Opendoor, and it has been the best experience ever! We originally just wanted to see what our home was worth so filled out an online form to get an "offer." We fully expected a cheap offer like one of those we buy ugly home ads. NOT! We were offered way over what we thought we would. Very pleased, we sat down and decided we should sell and went on to the next step.

    Everyone is extremely knowledgeable and helpful. We didn't have to fix anything. We also didn't have to mess with finding some place to take the kids and dogs while an agent showed the house. It was easy, seamless and painless. The BEST experience at selling a home we have ever had. Thank you Opendoor!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 13, 2018

      Cole Wallace, Head of Customer Success

      Hi Katherine,

      Thank you for sharing your story! It makes our day to hear that you enjoyed our fair offer and the Opendoor experience. We wish you the best in this next chapter of your life!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great sale!

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Feb 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The sale of our home to Opendoor went extremely well, and we were delighted with the entire experience! From the minute we received an offer we found the whole process timely, efficient an effortless. The digital documentation was straightforward and easy to prepare. The home inspection was easy to schedule, and we found all of the inspectors to be courteous and efficient. The final closing with OS National was fast and the people extremely friendly and knowledgeable. Overall we would give the whole experience a 5-star rating!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 12, 2018

      Cole Wallace, Head of Customer Success

      Hi Conrad,

      Thanks for sharing your story! It makes our day to hear that you enjoyed the Opendoor experience. We wish you the best in this next chapter of your life.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great experience

    I initially looked into Opendoor after visiting one of their open houses. I had already talked to two separate realtors regarding the sale of my house. Both realtors told me to steer clear of the service. I figured it couldn't hurt to at least get a quote.

    Much to my surprise, the initial offer came back at market value. We moved forward with the assessment and was pleased with the responsiveness and guidance provided by staff. They were attentive and explained every step of the process. The credits they asked for regarding repairs were fair and in the end, they were able to close quickly and efficiently.

    I was going to rate them 4 stars because I don't give perfect reviews, but then I changed it to 5 stars because I couldn't think of any ways for them to improve my experience. They are professional and fair in their offer, and their customer service is prompt and courteous.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 9, 2018

      Cole Wallace, Head of Customer Success

      Hi Jason,

      We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed our fair offer and the Opendoor experience! We wish you the best in this next chapter of your life. Thank you for sharing your story with us.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Think twice, maybe three times, before doing business with Opendoor

    • Orlando, FL,
    • Feb 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Unless your house is in perfect shape, don't bother. They will make you an offer. Send out a team of 6 inspectors to photo and inspect every little thing. After that, they will deduct all of the repairs that this team of inspector find according to their repair estimates. If not within their profit margin, they cancel the contract. They do this by overpriced repairs and watch that crack on the light switch plate and the electric outlet that does not work; oh wait, that's a security device disguised. Bottom line is, do not expect much. Good luck.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 6, 2018

      Cole Wallace, Head of Customer Success

      Hi Ron,

      We’re truly sorry for the negative experience you had during your home assessment. Our goal is to provide an assessment that is both fair and painless, and it sounds like we didn’t hit that mark. Would you be able to email us at community@opendoor.com with more information? We’d like to hear more about your experience and improve the home assessment experience for Opendoor customers.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 12-22 of 43

Write a Review for Opendoor!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review