42 Consumer Reviews for Opendoor - Page 3

Average Consumer Rating: 3.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 20 4 star: 3 3 star: 1 2 star: 4 1 star:  14
Bottom Line: 55% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 42
Sort reviews by:

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Great experience with Opendoor

    I just sold my rental property through Opendoor and the experience was wonderful. From the very beginning, in getting a quote from Opendoor, they made the process easy. They clearly explained the process and made the paperwork easy to complete. I couldn't be happier with the entire process. From the quote on the property to the final walkthrough and closing, everything was made easy to understand. I would recommend Opendoor to anyone who wants to sell a property.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 5, 2018

      Cole Wallace, Head of Customer Success

      Hi Katherine,

      We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your Opendoor experience! We wish you the best in this next chapter of your life.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Could not have been happier with the process!

    I was skeptical when I pulled up the website. I figured I would get a lowball offer and possibly get jerked around. But I did it out of curiosity. We needed to sell quickly, and I hated the thought of hiring a realtor and having the house possibly sit on the market for months. So I told myself “If they offer me enough to pay off the loan and cover fees, I’ll do it.” So I filled out the questionnaire.

    That evening, I got an email, a text, and a phone call. They had my offer ready. Chris and I went over the offer together. My jaw about hit the floor. The offer was WAY more than I expected! I had checked comps in my neighborhood, and this was up to par with those.

    I still waited several days before accepting the offer, simply because we were in the middle of packing and I knew they’d be wanting to schedule an inspection and get things moving. I accepted the offer, and their team of inspectors came out. Everyone was SO professional and courteous. They were on time, got in and out, so we were able to move on with our day. Results came back within the four business days stated, and their repair estimates were extremely fair. (Totaling only $415 for everything that needed repair in the entire house!)

    Their team of people was so friendly and helpful every step of the way. I was SO stressed out about having to sell the house, but I felt no stress whatsoever dealing with them! They kept me well informed of exactly what was going on. We set up our closing date, with the final walk-through the day before. We got a text from Robert about an hour before walk-through to confirm. He pulled up to the house right behind us, a few minutes early. He was in and out within about 10 minutes.

    We were sitting at our closing, and I looked at the calendar. It was exactly three weeks to the day from the time I requested an offer to when we signed the papers. We could have closed quicker - there were a few times my husband and I dragged our feet a little though. I cannot say enough good things about the process, as well as everyone that I had to come in contact with during. I’ve been telling EVERYONE about Opendoor!!

    Oh yeah, I was skeptical of all the positive reviews too. I said, “They weed out all the bad reviews.” But I would give them 10 stars if I could!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 5, 2018

      Cole Wallace, Head of Customer Success

      Hi Joandrea,

      Thank you for sharing your Opendoor story! It makes our day to hear that we were able to simplify the home-selling process and provide a stress-free experience for you. We wish you the best in this next chapter of your life!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Seamless selling experience

    Opendoor was very professional, and for a slightly higher cost from that of a real estate agent, we could avoid all of the painful hassles of selling. Their repair credits were reasonable, and between initial contact to closing, it was just 20 days.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 31, 2018

      Cole Wallace, Head of Customer Success

      Hi Prabir,

      Thank you for sharing your experience. We wish you the best in this next chapter of your life!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Wonderful experience

    After investigating many companies, Opendoor provided us with the best offer for our home, with no huge extra fees. Some companies charged an additional $1,300 for the privilege of using their service. All personnel at Opendoor were most professional providing constant communications during the process. The electronic paperwork was efficient and simple. Opendoor is the way to go when selling a house.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 19, 2018

      Cole Wallace, Head of Customer Success

      Hi Howard and Alice,

      Thank you for sharing your Opendoor experience! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed our fair offer and the hassle-free experience. We wish you the best in this next chapter of your life.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Cheap company

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Jan 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am signing for my home tomorrow. They will scam you to the very end about things they will fix in a home, they make deals about fixing the home with only things they don't have to put any money into.

    1. They said they would match and replace a floor. Their solution was to move it from other areas that now do not have a floor.

    2. They said they would fix a cartridge in a shower. They turned up the water heater to leave sinks boiling. This they did the day before closing to try to make me feel like I did not have a choice. They would not even change a light bulb they signed to fix.

    Message to agents stays clear with your buyers. My agent paid for the repairs to get me into the house and now has to bill Opendoor.

    Buyers, plan to fix everything after the inspection, hire your own inspector, not one from Opendoor. This part will hurt you dearly.

    You will pay for everything extra, and they will try to scam you into paying for things they are supposed to cover.

    It has been a nightmare dealing with this company. If I knew what I was getting into I would never have tried to work with them. It has been such a headache.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 18, 2018

      Cole Wallace, Head of Customer Success

      Hi S. Susser,

      Thank you for the feedback. We’re committed to delivering a sound home in good repair, and we’re sorry to hear that you're having a frustrating experience. Would you be able to email us at community@opendoor.com with a little more information, so that we can properly address the issue?

    • Apr 16, 2018

      Robert Adams

      Low purchase prices, a lot of excessive fees, high commissions, and poor communication etc., are the common things I am hearing with Opendoor. I'd suggest getting an estimate of your bottom line from a traditional agent and Opendoor, and then make a choice.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Worst experience of my life

    • Goodyear, AZ,
    • Jan 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Where do I begin? I got an offer on my house. The offer was great compared to the the other offer they gave me a year prior. This time it was actually market value. There was the 6% Opendoor "fee" off of that price. No biggie because I would be paying a total of 6% to realtors anyways.

    They came to do the inspection and did it with a fine tooth comb. ANY TINY THING they wrote down and the repair estimates were insane! They wanted $4000 credit for all that. I told them I would fix them. They wanted proof via pictures and receipts. Ok, fine. I do half of the stuff, and after sending the pictures, nobody ever sent a new addendum reflecting that the credit I had to pay them was lessened.

    THREE DAYS BEFORE CLOSING I contacted them over and over and over because, without this addendum and confirmation, I wasn't going to rent an apartment, U-Haul, lose of on first last month's rent, etc. The day of closing, still no word! Can you imagine if I would have moved out? They wouldn't even return my calls on the close date! I had to call Title and cancel because of no communication by Opendoor.

    As soon as I canceled with Title, Opendoor called me. They said my case manager Guy had been on vacation that's why he never got my pictures of my repairs. That was complete B.S. because the first like 4 times I sent him all of the pictures, he kept asking me to send them again instead of just looking back through his email and finding them, so each time I had to send them over and over and over thinking that this guy was never going to even look at them. Also, who goes on vacation when a house they are covering is about to close?

    The date of closing after I called Escrow to cancel I was asked again to send the pictures! Finally about two weeks later we were ready to close again. Because Opendoor took so long on their end, we had to extend the close date, and Opendoor said we had to have a new inspection! So after all of that time because they took so long to actually look at the pictures and make a new addendum for the credit they wanted, now I have to have a new inspection. So what? Is everything going to happen again and all these credits are going to happen again? We were absolutely furious. We fought so hard to get that credit back and now they're saying that we have to have another inspection because it took too long to close? I feel that they did this to punish us for not giving them all the credit.

    We had a new inspection with an old guy who wrote down even more stuff than the first time and who actually damaged my house and created a leak in the backyard. I had two faucets outside, one which I never used since being in the house because it was right next to the AC unit. Well, he turned that on and apparently when he tried to turn it off, it was leaking, so instead of being a great guy and letting us know, he just left it and we didn't even discover it until days later, and at that point it had gone underneath the AC unit and flooded a little portion of the yard.

    It was only several days before closing again, and we were still waiting to hear about the inspection results of the second inspection it was getting down to the wire, and we were nervous to find a new place because for all we knew Opendoor was not going to pull through again. All of it started to sound like a sham for more credit, and finally, I wrote to him and told him that I thought it was a sham for more credit. After stating that, finally everything came through and they did not ask for more credit. Thank God.

    Three days before close the Title company they chose tells me that they do not have my payoff statement. While I'm supposed to be packing and boxing up things in a rush, and I had to get the U-Haul at 10 that morning, I'm getting calls from Title saying they don't have my payoff statement!? This is something they were supposed to get an order from my mortgage company right off the bat, not three days before close. I gave them my mortgage information as soon as we opened Title back up a month prior.

    I called my mortgage company, and they would not allow me to have my payoff statement, it had to be requested from Title and given straight to Title, which is the law, and they should know because that is what their business is. My mortgage company told me it usually takes about a week for them to get my payoff statement to the Title company. Opendoor chose this crap Title company, and now I'm two days before closing and I have the U-Haul in my front yard half full. I'm sitting here packing like crazy getting everything out of my house, and I'm still wondering if I'm actually moving out.

    I called Title and spoke to the agent who was working on my case's boss and complained about her incompetence because of this and with my efforts alone I was finally able to get this deal done. By a miracle of God, it pulled through. I gave them half of the credit they originally wanted and they took possession of the house with me rushing out of the house because of all the crap I had to deal with I was struggling to get out on time.

    All in all I'm happy with the results of what they paid me, but the entire process was the hardest process I've ever gone through in my ENTIRE life and the most unprofessional one. The level of stress my family and I went through was ridiculous. The only solace I have is that they still have my house on the market and it has not sold for them at what they want. When they listed that house, it was barely above what they paid me and they've been lowering the price. I feel justified and will always tell people not to deal with Opendoor.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 16, 2018

      Cole Wallace, Head of Customer Success

      Hi Sam,

      Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback with us. We'd like to better understand your situation and concerns. Can you please email us your contact information and the address of the home you sold to us at community@opendoor.com, and we'll have someone on our team reach out to you as soon as possible?

    • Apr 16, 2018

      Robert Adams

      I'd suggest getting an estimate of your bottom line from a traditional agent and Opendoor, and then make a choice. You will see how much you are giving away before you decide.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Pleasantly surprised.

    The wife and I were starting to downsize before retirement and were looking into selling our home. We decided to give Opendoor a chance. I didn't know anyone personally that had used Opendoor, so I was somewhat skeptical of the company.

    We had an acceptable offer within the hour after requesting an offer online. We accepted this offer, but after 24 hours, we received another offer via email from another Opendoor representative that was substantially lower than the first offer. We obviously ignored the second offer but it kind of reinforced my skepticism.

    A word of advice, be ready to clear your house out. We were not ready and had to scramble and work very hard to get the house empty and ready for the final walkthrough.

    Once you accept their offer, things move really fast. From the home inspection team to closing. I was still uneasy about using Opendoor and thought they might try to lower their offer with high-cost repairs after the home inspection. The home inspection went very well, and I happily agreed to pay for the requested repairs.

    The final walkthrough was quick and easy with no issues. No problems at closing, but I did have a couple of issues with the title company. After accepting the offer, the title company seemed to be pushing me to hurry up and close. The wife and I had a lot to move out of the home, and it just felt like the title company was breathing down our neck. The other issue I had with them was that after the final walkthrough, they slowed down and were hard to communicate with during closing. The title company is why I'm rating Opendoor a 4 instead of a 5.

    Overall a good experience and I will highly recommend!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 16, 2018

      Cole Wallace, Head of Customer Success

      Hi Jeffrey,

      Thank you for sharing your Opendoor experience with us. We'll definitely relay your comment about the title company to our team. We appreciate you taking the time to share it with us, as honest customer feedback helps us improve our business. We wish you the best in this next chapter of your life.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Exactly what I hoped for.

    We had considered selling our house a few times and originally planned on selling the traditional way. After speaking with a few realtors, we decided we weren't open to showing our home any time a possible buyer wanted to stop by.

    I contacted Opendoor after receiving a flyer in the mail and requested an offer. Within a day or two, I received an offer that I felt was very fair. I was a little nervous since I didn't have any friends or family members who had used Opendoor before, but as I interacted with the team, my worries subsided. I enjoyed how well Opendoor broke down the offer and the ease of scheduling the inspection, closing, etc. on my own time. Anytime I had a question, and I had quite a few, I'd just shoot an email to a member of the Opendoor team and I'd get a response immediately.

    I'm thankful to the Opendoor members for their transparency, customer service, and organization throughout this process.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 10, 2018

      Cole Wallace, Head of Customer Success

      Hi Kayleigh,

      We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed the Opendoor experience. We wish you the best in this next chapter of your life!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Good offer with a ridiculously smooth process

    • Buckeye, AZ,
    • Jan 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We had just gone under contract on our new house, which we could only get if we didn't rely on selling our current house, when I decided to look at Opendoor and OfferPad on a whim. I had seen their signs popping up all over our neighborhood and had heard they paid cash for a super quick close.

    After getting a joke of an offer from the other guys, Opendoor had offered us what I thought at the time was actually higher than the market offer. We decided to move forward, knowing we could cancel the contract at any time (which they explicitly put in the real estate purchase agreement - something I was concerned about). We kept waiting for the moment when they would try and "get us" with something - we'd read stories of Opendoor charging thousands of dollars for repainting, or ridiculous repair requests, etc., so we kind of figured after the inspection that we would walk away.

    Well, the inspection team came in, took a look at our house (which had custom paint throughout, to include very custom boy and girl rooms), and they sent us a request for a repair credit of, $650. Completely below what we expected! It was extremely reasonable things that would need to have been repaired anyways. AND, they didn't even ask us to repair things I fully expected to have to repair! So, we moved forward and just closed today.

    Looking around now, I believe we MAY have been able to sell our house for more the traditional way, but the looming threat of carrying two mortgages and associated bills, we decided it wasn't worth it. Especially considering our neighbors' homes have been on the market for months, with their prices dropping.

    I give Opendoor a 5-star review based on their very fair offer, their RIDICULOUSLY easy process (I seriously didn't even talk to anyone on the phone until the day before we were closing just to confirm our appointment time and their office location, not because they avoided me, it was because of how smooth everything is), and how quickly they can close.

    Keep in mind, for the reviews talking about being "low balled," they are effectively flipping your house, and you are paying a bit of a fee for the quick close and easy process. If you come in with that in mind, you will NOT be disappointed!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 8, 2018

      Cole Wallace, Head of Customer Success

      Hi K Frauenthal,

      We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our fair offer and hassle-free experience! We wish you the best in this next chapter of your life.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    They made it right

    • Mesa, AZ,
    • Dec 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Opendoor reached out to us, and after several days of them getting numbers together, they are sending us a check for an appropriate amount. They were very apologetic, which makes me believe it was an honest mistake. But I still encourage you to do your research before selling your house so this doesn’t happen to you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 30, 2017

      Michael

      Why would you sell it to Open Door without doing some research on the proper value of your home first? This is completely your fault!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Nov 9, 2017

    We've been duped

    Do your homework because they will take full advantage of a young family trying to sell their house to move out of state.

    We did all high-end upgrades to our house and just had a brand new roof done. The only thing they needed to do was put a new AC unit in and paint the interior walls. Other than that, our house was top notch. They made nearly $40k from all our hard work and hard earned money that we put into that house. They offered us $220k, and less than a month later, they put it up on the market for $255k and sold it for $257k.

    These people don't have a conscience, and they will lowball you with an offer and rip your heart out and laugh as they take nearly $40k that should've been yours if you had gone through a realtor. If there is anything positive I can say about this company, it would be that the process was fast and easy.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    From a homebuyer's perspective

    We had a horrible time locating a home within our price range in a suitable neighborhood. My wife, ever-growing frustrated with the search, downloaded their phone app.

    We found several homes that fit what we were looking for. The next step was a great experience; no waiting for an agent, hassle-free walking through with information on the kitchen counter!

    Simply open the app and, if the home is available, you unlock the door from the app! We did visit a couple of listings that were already under contract by the time we arrived to walk through. No problem, move on to the next.

    We finally found our home. Opendoor accepted our offer and, as it turned out, was $5K higher than the appraisal. No problem, they dropped the price to meet the appraised value.

    They supplied us with their inspection report (we also did our own) along with work/repair orders. We discovered their contractor did about half of what they said they repaired. Upon bringing it to their attention, all the necessary work was completed before the closing, which was a week later! They repaired everything that required attention!

    Here's what really blew us away. It's an 18-year-old house with the original roof. We asked for the damaged shingles and flashing be replaced. They replaced the entire roof! New architectural shingles, felt underlayment, drip edge, flashing, everything, including the back porch roof. While there are some personal touches we plan to make like replacing the laminate flooring with ceramic tile, this is move-in ready!

    No hassle walkthrough, the full disclosure of the condition, repairs done before closing and no bickering back and forth about who pays, repairs or attends to anything. What could be easier? Even our agent, who's dealt with Opendoor on several other transactions, was very impressed with how easy they are to work with!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 19, 2017

      Cole Wallace, Head of Customer Success

      Hi Rhett,

      Thank you for sharing your Opendoor story! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the Opendoor experience and we wish you the best in this next chapter of your life.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 23-33 of 42

Write a Review for Opendoor!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review