78 Consumer Reviews for Opendoor - Page 3

Average Consumer Rating: 3.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 36 4 star: 4 3 star: 1 2 star: 9 1 star:  28
Bottom Line: 53% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 78
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Easy sales experience

    • San Antonio, TX,
    • Aug 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is the second home I’ve sold, and the process with Opendoor could not have been easier. With three kids and a dog, having a home ready to show would be a nightmare and Opendoor's offer came in at the amount we wanted to sell for with no hassle. My wife and I kept waiting for something to unravel with the deal, but it never did, the process was smooth and easy.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 27, 2018

      Tirza D., Community Manager

      Thanks so much for sharing your story, Mike! We're so glad that the Opendoor process was able to support you and your family through the sale of your home. Wishing you all the best in this new chapter!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Do not use them

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Aug 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received a quote from them to buy my home after they came out to inspect the property and gave me the final contract, where they charged 17K in fees, more than the cost of using a realtor. They wanted me to pay closing cost on top of that.

    I rejected the offer and you would think that would be the end of it. But it was not the end of it, they had all of my utilities switched over to their name. When I realized what they had done and changed them back, I was then required to put deposits back on all my utilities because Opendoor discounted my services and put them in their name when we had no signed contract, just a quote.

    Do not use this company, the hassle-free quote cost me $2000 in utility deposits and they never responded to any of my calls asking them to fix the problem. Big time scam. I'm warning everyone because of the many hidden fees.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Falsely advertised as "Fair"

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Aug 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We purchased our home a year ago, but we are moving for a job relocation. I submitted my home to Opendoor, just to see if the reviews were true. Our home has a market value of $298k and their offer was $271k, and after the fees, we would walk away with $254k max. We paid $280k a year ago. We put in $15k to the home over the past year and the home was completely renovated right before we moved in. I can't imagine how much they would knock the price down with "repair credits." This company is clearly trying to take advantage of sellers who need to sell as soon as possible. Fortunately, that wasn't the case for us, and we can choose to decline a pitiful offer from Opendoor. DO NOT USE.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 24, 2018

      Tirza D., Community Manager

      Thank you for your feedback, Katie. Our goal is to make the most competitive offer we can, by reviewing the sale prices of comparable homes in your neighborhood and the unique information you provide. If you think we may have missed a comp or an important feature of your home in making your offer, please don’t hesitate to send us a direct message letting us know. You can learn more about how Opendoor calculates your offer, you can visit our website, https://www.opendoor.com/blog/how-opendoor-calculates-your-homes-value. Feel free to email community@opendoor.com.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Not a good experience

    • Tennessee,
    • Aug 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We had our house on the market and found a house to buy fairly quickly. Our realtor suggested OpenDoor, so we can try and get a quick buyer for our home. Their offer was low but decent, so we accepted and moved forward. OpenDoor sent an inspector to our house and demanded repairs or an additional $11,000 in lieu of the repairs.

    The repairs they are demanding are ridiculous:

    * Complete carpet replacement; we offered to clean the carpet.

    * Complete house repaint; we have patched holes from pictures and repainted those areas.

    * Repair linoleum floor in a closet; it has scuff marks on it, and we offered to clean.

    * Replace unstable deck and railings; our deck is not unstable, we use it daily.

    * Replace upstairs AC unit; we recently replaced the downstairs unit and the upstairs unit is older, but it works. I would understand wanting a home warranty or a letter from our AC company, but to replace a unit that currently works is not reasonable.

    Our final straw was after when we made the repairs, they refused to remove the wording from the contract that said the buyer has the right to refuse the repairs and the seller will be required to pay. This company is trying to nickel and dime us everywhere they can. We are trying to get the equity out of our home while they are trying to take as much money from us as possible. Thanks but no thanks, I like to deal with people that are reasonable. This has been a horrible and incredibly annoying experience for us.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 21, 2018

      Tirza D., Community Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We apologize for what sounds like a frustrating experience. Would you mind sharing the address of your home with us so we can take a look at what happened? We would like to use this as an opportunity to improve.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Home warranty

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Aug 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We bought a home from Opendoor last December, the home warranty they provided me with OneGuard Home Warranty is a scam, they will not cover anything. I would ask for a home warranty from a different company other than OneGuard.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 21, 2018

      Tirza D., Community Manager

      Thank you for your feedback. Please understand that we take this kind of feedback to heart, and we will circulate it with our internal teams immediately. We appreciate you choosing Opendoor to purchase your home, and we truly apologize for any inconvenience regarding your OneGuard warranty. If you have any additional feedback you would like to share, feel free to email community@opendoor.com.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    So much easier!

    • Tennessee,
    • Aug 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    With a messy teen, the thought of showings was intimidating. When I received a mailer from Opendoor, I hesitantly investigated. The process was much simpler from start to finish. Along the way, I kept waiting for the other shoe to drop, but it never did. Perhaps, I could have gone the traditional route and made a bit more money but maybe not. For me, less stress and headache was totally worth any potential shortfall. I highly recommend this company.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 21, 2018

      Tirza D., Community Manager

      Thanks so much for taking some time to review your experience, Dan! We're so glad that you gave Opendoor a shot and it ended up being the right fit for your family. We appreciate you choosing Opendoor for such an important transaction. Wishing your family all the best!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Opendoor solved all my problems

    • Nashville, TN,
    • Aug 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Opendoor stepped in and saved me a year of my life. I was looking to sell my home in Nashville, Tennessee as the real estate market heated up to prices I wanted to sell at. I tried listing with a real estate agent but the volume of showings and the low offers was too much to deal with day after day. I really needed to spend months with contractors fixing some issues outside with a retaining wall having to be rebuilt, trees that needed to be trimmed, a front porch that needed work, and a very small structural problem. I called Opendoor and received a quick offer at the marker price. I had a quick inspection and their quotes to fix the issues in my house were all cheaper than the prices I had quoted! They also deducted the fixing costs from my offer price so I had no out of pocket costs.

    My Opendoor experience was of excellent responsive customer service, quick turn around, and I think they are the future of real estate acting as the buyer, seller, and fixer leaving the home seller to avoid the hassles of selling a home and leaves you to live your life.

    I would recommend anyone using Opendoor and have already done so with friends in Nashville. I think Opendoor is the Uber of Real Estate, making the complex simple and the hard work easy.

    Thanks to Opendoor for making my house sale easy and allowing me to retire to my dream home in the country and live happily ever after.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Excellent job

    • Charlotte, NC,
    • Aug 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Opendoor made an offer the same day I filled out the questionnaire. That offer turned out to be more than what traditional real estate companies said they could sell the house for, so we went with Opendoor. The process was fast, three weeks from offer to check received. The inspectors were thorough, and the repairs they wanted were very minor and fair. The online staff was attentive and easy to work with - we closed long distance, and the check was overnighted. It could not have gone better.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 21, 2018

      Tirza D., Community Manager

      That's awesome David! We're so glad we were able to quickly help your family move onto your next chapter. Wishing you all the best!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great experience

    • Cibolo, TX,
    • Aug 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was SO very skeptical when this started. I closed today at 8 am, just two weeks after I started this process, and the deposit hit by 3 pm.

    The offer was slightly lower than I had hoped but not having to pay another (or six) months mortgage payments, and utilities, and lawn service, etc.

    The inspection process was very easy and they asked for zero, yes zero, fixes. I am very happy and the wife and I went out to celebrate how well this went. I will be interested in how much they list it for and how long it takes to sell. I would absolutely recommend using this service and if the offer is even in the ballpark, especially if you live in a tough market.

    I have watched homes in my neighborhood stay on market for months at $200k a month they could have accepted an offer $12k lower and still been in the same place and be out of the showing and stress business.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 8, 2018

      Tirza D., Community Manager

      Hi James,

      Thanks so much for sharing your experience! We're so happy to hear that you and your family were able to benefit from the ease and flexibility the Opendoor process provides. We truly appreciate you choosing Opendoor for such an important transaction. We wish you all the best in this next chapter!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    After my experience, I would definitely not use this company.

    • Fort Worth, TX,
    • Aug 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was initially excited about my offer until I saw the 7.5% fee plus closing fees. Then the inexperienced, unqualified estimators marched and made a list of roofing concerns, foundation concerns, and AC service requirements. All a bunch of nonsense. I just had a new roof two years ago, foundation work was done three years ago by a reputable, licensed company with a lifetime, transferable warranty, a heating and AC annual service agreement, and a pest control annual service agreement.

    I had a licensed engineer's report that the foundation was perfectly fine, and they still wanted more. There is absolutely nothing wrong with this home as it has been completely remodeled over the past three years, top to bottom. After two months, I finally just told them to cancel the contract. These people are inexperienced, uncooperative, and every time I talked to someone it was like they were reading from a script. Definitely not fast and easy like they want to claim.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 8, 2018

      Tirza D., Community Manager

      Thank you for your feedback, Denise. We apologize for what sounds like a very frustrating experience. Please know that your feedback will be shared internally with our teams, so we can continue to improve the experience for buyers and sellers.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Flawless process

    • San Antonio, TX,
    • Aug 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    From the beginning to the closing, the whole process was painless, and communication was open and honest at every junction. This new way of selling a house is a long overdue solution, and we are glad we used it. We keep telling people that are thinking of selling their house.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 6, 2018

      Tirza D., Community Manager

      That's awesome to hear Frank! We wish you and your family all the best in this next chapter. Thank you very much for choosing Opendoor.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 23-33 of 78

Write a Review for Opendoor!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review