Start your review of Opendoor:
  • 231 Customer Reviews
  • 72% Recommend This Company
3.9 out of 5
5 star: 66% 4 star: 4% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 4% 1 star: 23%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Smooth from start to finish

    • By Robert B.,
    • Arizona,
    • Oct 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The communication was timely. The evaluation was fair. The inspection was painless. The closing was professional. The walkthrough was punctual. The funding was fast. I have zero complaints from start to finish. After reading other reviews of those that had problems, I have to say that our transaction was flawless.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 14, 2019

      Company Response from Opendoor

      So glad to hear this Robert. Thanks for letting us know! We're so glad you were able to benefit from the ease and certainty the Opendoor experience provides!


  • Extremely dishonest marketing

    • By Emrie O.,
    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Oct 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Opendoor came back with an offer $62k below fair market value for our home. Within 24 hours of listing our house, we had an above-asking price offer in hand.

    They lowball offers, despite saying they're competitive. Not renovated, half the size, half the lot sized homes in our neighborhood sold for more than they offered...even our county tax assessment is $27k more than they offered.

    Huge waste of time. I do not suggest using them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 11, 2019

      Company Response from Opendoor

      Emrie, We always want our customers to have a great experience with Opendoor, and we’re sorry if this hasn’t been the case for you. We'd like to learn more - please email us at community@opendoor.com. Your feedback matters to us and we will take this into consideration.


  • Great experience

    We had an amazing experience with Opendoor. We had found our dream home and wanted to put our current home on the market. It was in great condition needing only a few repairs which we already had quotes for.

    We were skeptical of an offer by Opendoor but had actually viewed a couple of the homes they had on the market and liked the concept. So we decided to go online and see what they would offer us for our home. We had done our research and knew what we wanted to list it for and what would be the least we would take.

    We were pleasantly surprised with the offer - it was very close to our anticipated list price. Next, we decided to move forward. I CLEARLY made sure we could back out at any time and was assured that (at no cost to us) we could back out of the deal if we felt uncomfortable. The next step was the assessment.

    We figured this is where the loophole would be. That they would come in and hit us up with tons of repairs. Again, we were pleasantly surprised. We had already gotten repair costs for the things we knew would need replacing or repaired. There were two big repairs that we were worried about. Their pricing for the repairs were below what we had gotten quoted and several of the things that we thought we would have to fix they did not charge us for because they were standard costs in selling a house like painting, cleaning, replacing a door our kids had put a hole in. These are extra expenses we WOULD have had to incur if we were selling it through an agency or by owner

    We were amazed with how easy it was to sell our home to Opendoor. They worked with us through the whole process and answered all my crazy questions. We were able to buy our new home and Opendoor worked with us on our closing date so we never had to make two mortgages.

    We felt like the fees were a little high but when we figured all the fees associated with a realtor plus the extra repairs, staging and time it would take to sell the house the fees were worth it. Plus the fact that we didn’t have to make two mortgages was also a deciding factor.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 9, 2019

      Company Response from Opendoor

      That's amazing to hear! We strive to provide a great customer experience with Opendoor and your feedback is incredibly valuable to us. Thanks for taking the time to share this, Tom and Chrissy.


  • Great experience!

    • By Tim Q.,
    • Minneapolis, MN,
    • Oct 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have been pleased with every step of this process. A very fair offer followed by a reasonable repair assessment left us extremely satisfied. We also give very high grades to everyone involved with the process. Everyone was very professional and responsive! It was great to sell this house as is and avoid all of the hassles that go with a traditional sale!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 9, 2019

      Company Response from Opendoor

      That's awesome! Happy to hear that Tim. Thanks for sharing your feedback with us!


  • Could not have done it without Opendoor

    • By Aaron S.,
    • Tucson, AZ,
    • Oct 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We work too much and with teenagers and two dogs showing our house, possibly for months, was not going to work for us. The offer was solid and the service was excellent. Without Opendoor I doubt we would be moved by now. I do not know how it could be made easier.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 9, 2019

      Company Response from Opendoor

      That's amazing to hear! We strive to provide a great customer experience with Opendoor and your feedback is incredibly valuable to us. Thanks for taking the time to share this, Aaron.


  • Wonderful experience!

    • By Christy V.,
    • Minnesota,
    • Sep 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We had a great experience with Opendoor. After receiving a very low-ball offer from another company, we were skeptical, but Opendoor gave us a more than fair market value basis, a fee structure similar to local realtors, and repair estimates that were better than any other bids we received. Start-to-finish, the process was done in around 3 weeks. I would highly recommend their services to anyone looking to sell their house quickly for a fair price.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 25, 2019

      Company Response from Opendoor

      So glad to hear this Christy. Thanks for letting us know! We're so glad you were able to benefit from the ease and certainty the Opendoor experience provides!


  • Great experience!

    • By Dan B.,
    • Newbury Park, CA,
    • Sep 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The whole process was extremely smooth, easy, and fast. The price I was offered was fair, the people I dealt with at Opendoor were professional, courteous, patient, and very knowledgeable. I still cannot believe it can be this easy to sell a house.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 24, 2019

      Company Response from Opendoor

      Dan, great to hear you've had a positive experience with Opendoor! Thank you for choosing Opendoor for such an important transaction.


  • Opendoor

    • By Jennie K.,
    • Texas,
    • Sep 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    So, my husband and I have recently begun relocation cross country to his hometown. When I got a very good job offer it put some urgency into selling our home. We only had it on the market about a month before we decided to go with Opendoor. I knew we would not make a big profit, but since I had good equity, we would be okay with the settlement. I had read all the reviews, done some research and even retained my agent for the process at my expense. The offer was very low, and the fees are very high, the cost of convenience I suppose. At this point, the repairs came out to $4,300. A bit high, as if I am paying for improvements for them to flip it, but again, perfect victim due to urgency.

    This is where it gets bad, really bad, I am already losing tens of thousands versus a market sale, I am in my new hometown closing remotely. The mobile notary comes to my Airbnb on Wednesday, we sign, husband signs in Texas. Done. Nope, TWO hours after closing I am informed the math was wrong and it would be $6k less! After closing! People, I cannot stress enough the fact that this was AFTER closing! The first story was Opendoor commission, the second was taxes, nobody really knows. They just want an extra $6k and since I am even more pressured with a pending home purchase, I believe they thought I would have no choice. Wrong, I went through the settlement sheet and every department that let the error slip was forced to rebate their fees, my agent reduced hers and they made up the difference. Did I mention I am in leadership?

    The story is not over though, as I sit here on the east coast on Friday afternoon, still no funds. They can’t seem to put a trace on the wire that they documented as executed on Thursday and was not executed until this morning. But, still NO funds. I call the closer and she informs me that that they accidentally sent a live check via FedEx to the property address they now own, in Texas, and the wire transfer tracking number I was provided was for my agent's funds, not mine. Please note the finance company and title company are owned by Opendoor. To conclude, it is 5:15 EST on Friday and I just got funded on a transaction from Wednesday. My closer was genuinely upset and did resolve it, but had it not been for multiple calls to the office, my bank, my mortgage company and agent it could have been weeks.

    Only use Opendoor to get rid of a mortgage payment, nothing more. There are people that depend on the equity to buy a new home and with Opendoor you will not be sure even after closing.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 25, 2019

      Company Response from Opendoor

      Hi Jennie, This is not the Opendoor experience we strive for and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback to help us grow from this situation. I do see that this was resolved internally and was responded to publicly on Reviews. But if there's something further we can help with, please reach out at community@opendoor.com so we can look into the matter.


  • Exceptional service with Ms. Lori Fitzgerald

    • By Dereje B.,
    • Nashville, TN,
    • Sep 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I believe selling my house to Opendoor is one of the best things that surely happen to me in 2019 which was certainly hassle-free and even better than advertised! Especially Ms. Lori Fitzgerald from Opendoor team was exceptional with no equivalency on the team. She was a wonderful and great lady. I can’t thank her enough! Opendoor is lucky to have an exceptional, talented, motivated, friendly, easy to talk to, and above all work very hard to easy the process of selling a home for her customers and made Opendoor viable. Ms. Lori, you are simply exceptionally great! Thank you so much! I recommend anyone who anticipates to sell his/her house use Opendoor and in particular Ms. Lori. You won’t be disappointed.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 20, 2019

      Company Response from Opendoor

      Thanks for the love Dereje! We will be sure to share your kind words with the team.


  • Opendoor was a Godsend!

    • By Dawn S.,
    • Austin, TX,
    • Sep 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was very nervous about selling my home of thirteen years but Opendoor has perfected a smooth process.

    Everything went as Opendoor promised starting with a fair market value offer. The repair estimates were also fair and not overblown.

    When I had a question or issue I always received a quick response. The title company was also very responsive and helpful to me with an issue in my heirship papers.

    All in all, I would definitely recommend Opendoor to anyone wanting to sell their home quickly or not wanting the pressure of staging their home for sale.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 14, 2019

      Company Response from Opendoor

      That's wonderful feedback to hear, Dawn! We always strive to provide a great customer experience with Opendoor and your feedback is incredibly valuable to us. Thanks for taking the time to share!


  • Impressed professional couple

    • By Kenneth K.,
    • Florida,
    • Sep 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We were delightfully surprised and impressed with how efficient this process went. As with most transactions, there were some negotiations, but in the end, we came to an agreement and the transaction was flawless and expeditious. We would recommend Opendoor too many of our friends who will be putting their houses on the market.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 14, 2019

      Company Response from Opendoor

      So glad to hear this Kenneth. Thanks for letting us know! We're so glad you were able to benefit from the ease and certainty the Opendoor experience provides!


Showing 23-33 of 231

Write a Review for Opendoor!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Opendoor