105 Consumer Reviews for Opendoor - Page 3

Average Consumer Rating: 3.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 46 4 star: 5 3 star: 2 2 star: 10 1 star:  42
Bottom Line: 50% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 105
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Opendoor

    • Tennessee,
    • Oct 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It was the easiest real estate transaction that I have ever done.

    It was accurate, quick, and easy. I would recommend this to anybody who wants to buy or sell any real estate. Everybody at Opendoor was very professional. I would use this company again.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Good option if you need to sell quick

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Oct 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It provides an option if you are in a crunch, need to sell quick, and are willing to lose some profit.

    Pros: Fair offer, quick process.

    Cons: Their service fee is more than a realtor, they use their own contractors to assess damages and come up with unnecessary repair items, which they then use to deduce the value of your home. This service would be a good option if you have high equity and your home is in perfect condition (updated home with zero damages). In my case, they offered $236K but then came up with a bid of $40K for repairs, which disqualified me.

    I was content with the outcome because I got to keep the option fee money and made more profit selling my home using iList. I sold my home for $226K with no repairs and only 1% listing fee and 3% to the buyer’s agent, a tremendous savings from the $17K that Opendoor was asking for plus the cost of repairs.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    WOW Opendoor

    • Thompsons Station, TN,
    • Oct 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    WOW...how seamless and easy. IF we got a FULL PRICE offer with a realtor, and the buyer didn't demand many concessions, we would have made about $4000 more.

    BUT we never had to show, no open houses, no de-cluttering, no cleaning, NO HASSLE WHATSOEVER. Well worth the price.

    We were skeptical all along the process because it seemed too good to be true. Right up to the final walk-through, we were saying this is going to blow-up somehow because it's too easy. WE WERE WRONG! What a great way to sell our house.

    We had two realtors price our house at $305,000 and $319,000. Opendoor paid us $313,000. A no-brainer for us.

    We highly recommend Opendoor.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Bad experience

    • North Carolina,
    • Oct 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This was a bad experience. Please be careful and research them. Our experience was from a cash sale offer. I will never to a cash offer again. Only a traditional sale if I decide to sell another home.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 23, 2018

      Tirza D., Community Manager

      Hi Ann,

      We appreciate your feedback and would like to learn more about your experience. Please send any additional feedback to community@opendoor.com. Thank you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Outrageous repair request

    • North Carolina,
    • Oct 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Opendoor assessment took over 3 hours. They took pictures on every little corner and requested for repairs to be a brand new home, new roof, new HVAC, new windows. Their offer is fair market. Their commission is higher than traditional buyer's agent 3%. There will be a loss of $20K+ for us to sell to Opendoor comparing to a traditional sale.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 23, 2018

      Tirza D., Community Manager

      Hi Tina,

      We apologize if you felt the home assessment took over the normal two-hour allotment. Our staff is there to complete a thorough assessment, but do also want to be respectful of your time, should you be at home during this part of the process. We overall truly appreciate your feedback and wish you all the best moving forward.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Great experience without the hassle!

    • Madison, TN,
    • Oct 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    At first, I was a little hesitant, being that they are new in Tennessee. They were prompt with the first walkthrough. Everyone was just a call or email away for any questions. They definitely are who they say they are. I would definitely use them again. I sold my house in a week!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 23, 2018

      Tirza D., Community Manager

      Thank you for sharing your story Shemeika!

    • Oct 25, 2018

      Ann D.

      I totally agree it was the same with us. If I ever sell again it will be a traditional sale and not a cash offer, sometimes the old original ways are the best option.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 25 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Total scam!

    • Arizona,
    • Oct 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Ok, so I'm going to give you all the details of my interaction. First off, I will say everyone I talked to was extremely professional and courteous. The home I'm selling is at 15514 e Jojoba Lane Fountain Hills, AZ 85268. If you Zillow it, it'll show a value of $503,229. Opendoor made me an offer of $455,000. That was extremely low I thought, but hey, after 6% realtor fee, it's not too far off the mark. I say ok, then read the fine print at the bottom, saying I'd walk away with $402,000. I asked why and they said, "oh, it's our 10.5% admin fee!" So not only do they make an almost insulting low offer on the house, they take almost double the average realtor fee out of it!

    Then looking at online reviews, they send a team out to your property and zap you for everything they deem wrong. I read one review that said that his A/C units were 20 years old, and that they only last 25 on average, so they nicked him $2k for that! So I decided to go the realtor route, sold my house in 2 hours, and am walking away with $446,500. That's $46K MORE, AND it sold in TWO HOURS.

    One of their pros on the website is not having to show your house to people - for $46k I'll show the house morning, noon and night! Not that you'd have to in this market. I honestly believe I'll have the money in the pocket going this route FASTER than Opendoor. The takeaway is this - unless you're in a HORRIBLE market, get a realtor.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 25, 2018

      Ann D.

      Agreed, I will only go with traditional from here on out. The old way is sometimes the best.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 24 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Fraudulence practice and lies from Opendoor

    • Spring Hill, TN,
    • Oct 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Opendoor presented an offer to my house with 8% fees for them. They won't negotiate and won't let you use your own title company. When inspectors came to the house, they found nothing wrong, nothing to fix. Then I received an email from the broker saying "Not Satisfied," and they also demand that I sign to agree in returning the earnest money. My house is like new. Only two years with plentiful upgrades. If they have decided not to pursue on, they should take the courtesy to call me and explain the reasons. The title company blocked my number immediately and won't take calls. I have never seen the earnest money in the first place. The OS Nation Title Company never called nor spoke to me, which Opendoor said they would. Suddenly Opendoor SHUTS their doors without replies. BEWARE of SCAMS!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 25, 2018

      Ann D.

      I had the same awful experience. I am so glad to have it over with and never deal with them again!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Buyers beware

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Oct 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Warning, this company is very shady. The sales person tried to say I had to use them as a realtor and lender if I liked one of their homes. The home was listed for a maximum value, but the roof and A/C looked outdated. So I contacted a realtor to see if they will represent me to make sure I was getting value. My realtor tried to contact the listing agent for that house, but instead, she was channeled thru an automated system. After numerous attempts, she finally got hold of someone. When she asked for a document that should be available or given to me when I requested information, they told her to get them herself and hung up on her...and then called me and yelled at me for getting a realtor. Told me whatever offer they gave me was off the table.

    My realtor emailed Texas Real Estate Association to inform them of her treatment, and how they treated me, and they helped her locate the actual listing agent...

    We thought we fanned out the attitude with their agents, found out they are private investors so they don't have to follow the same laws the real estate agents have to follow, so the only interests they have is their own.

    They claim they will negotiate repairs. WRONG. They buy distressed properties. Slap lipstick on a pig and sell it for top dollar. They don't want you to get a realtor because they look out for the buyer's interests. Not only do they not guarantee their work like it says on their website, but they won't give you a home warranty, and when you move in, you are stuck having to buy a new roof and air conditioner, that's about $23,000. I'm glad I had gone with my gut because these people are used car salesmen. You're better off finding a home where a seller will repair the home or give you a home warranty because people like this could care less about your home falling apart after you close. If you got approved for this place, you can get a home anywhere!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 25, 2018

      Ann D.

      Agreed!

    • Oct 27, 2018

      Wanda L.

      Seller beware. I just experienced a buyer paying 10% of purchase price for a "service fee" and 3% commission, the standard commission for a seller is 6%, typically NO service fees and realtors do not mandate repairs. Buyers get the opportunity to negotiate with the seller.

    • Nov 12, 2018

      Tirza D., Community Manager

      Hi Kay,

      We apologize for what sounds like a frustrating experience. The customer service you are describing is very out of the norm for our team that is trained to always put the customer first. It also sounds like there was some confusion around our process, so we will take ownership of that and will escalate your feedback internally with our teams.

      We appreciate your feedback and will make sure this is seen by our internal teams. If you have any additional insights you would like to share, feel free to email community@opendoor.com.

    • Nov 14, 2018

      Kay R.

      Sure, you might want to start by telling people you own the home, you lend the money, and you own the title company. You can also inform your customers that you are not bound by the same laws that a realtor is bound by. So you can sell them whatever you like to sell them, and not be held accountable. I already researched their company and spoke with several people at TREC, they clarified what this company does. It's very shady. They have a conflict of interest when you have an equity stake in everything that creates your business (ie., title company, mortgage bank, you conducting the appraisals), I don't see anywhere in that statement that they represent the interest of the buyer.

      People look to professionals to get what that tells me is that this company has a tremendous amount of conflict of interest. The agent that helped me lives in California. That is how I found out that they are not bound by the same laws that regulate the real estate industry. They are just another "We buy ugly houses" guy and fix the cosmetic piece, pretends they are helping a customer, when in fact, all your doing is find out how much you can get out of a person. This company only posts comments from sellers, the people you buy these train wreaks from. Most of the complaints I see are from buyers who you don't repair the home, even after they say they will. Some of these people lose money. And guess what, there is no one that regulates this, even though they have a brokers license.

      This company is considered a private holding. Which means you can hire an unlicensed person in California to create contracts, negotiate terms of an agreement, and submit offers. What does this do? Well for one, they are not being honest with your buyer. If you have issues with the home, do you really think you will disclose them? I asked if there was anything wrong with the home and I was told no, but after digging a little, it was time for a new roof and a new AC. Their associates did not provide me with the right documentation, like the seller's disclosures which tell a buyer what is wrong with the home.

      Instead, one of their associates told my agent to get it herself. We couldn't file a complaint because their company is considered a private investment firm. I'm pretty sure the sellers are happy, but as I said if you dig deep enough in a company, you will find the only ones that are happy are the ones you buy. If you want my suggestion. Hire a licensed professional who is bound by TREC laws. Private investors are exempt from these laws because it's not covered under RESPA. Maybe you should inform their buyers that before selling them a lemon.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Dishonest

    • Trinity, FL,
    • Oct 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Opendoor had us sign a late checkout addendum and held $1,000 in escrow. We were fine with that. The addendum we signed stated the money would be sent within 5 days. It has been 3 weeks and no money. No right to withhold it. Zero right. The home is the same as it was when they made the offer to purchase it. I would NOT recommend this company to anyone. Now we have to hire an attorney just to get our money back that was promised to us within 5 days. Do NOT use this company to sell or buy!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 9, 2018

      Tirza D., Community Manager

      Hi Frank,

      We apologize for what sounds like a very frustrating experience. Would you be able to email community@opendoor.com with your address so we can quickly take a look at what happened? Thanks so much.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Fast, easy, convenient

    • Clearwater, FL,
    • Sep 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The whole experience was much better than we ever expected from start to finish. Opendoor did exactly what they promised us. The staff was kind and helpful. They walked us through every step. Julie and Michael were very quick to respond to our questions and highly professional. They made us a fair offer on our home. I would recommend Opendoor to anyone.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 23-33 of 105

Write a Review for Opendoor!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review