Start your review of Opendoor:
  • 232 Customer Reviews
  • 72% Recommend This Company
3.9 out of 5
5 star: 66% 4 star: 4% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 4% 1 star: 23%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Excellent and easy home selling experience

    Overall Experience:

    We needed a quick way to sell our second home due to some unexpected changes in our lives. We happened to hear one of Opendoor's commercials and decided to do a little research into the company and see if this process would work for us. This company isn't a "flipper," but they are a VERY thorough buyer and seller of real estate.

    The inspection process was a bit overwhelming (as noted above, they are VERY thorough), but the onsite Opendoor representative did a good job explaining the process as we went through it and setting expectations. Although the repair list was long, almost everything on it was as we expected.

    So, if you're realistic about your home and what it needs to meet Opendoor's standard to put the home on the market, then this process is definitely the way to go. Very fair offer on the home, and a fair price on the repairs. And definitely a lot faster and easier than any other way to sell your home!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Feb 14, 2018

      Company Response from Opendoor

      Hi Kenryu,

      Thanks for sharing your Opendoor experience. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed working with us. We wish you the best in this next chapter of your life.


  • Sale of my home.

    Overall Experience:

    I closed on my home today, and it went very smooth due to the great people at Opendoor. If you need a fast, easy sale, Opendoor is the way to go. I received a good and fair price for my home. Thank you Opendoor.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Feb 15, 2018

      Company Response from Opendoor

      Hi Bessie,

      It makes our day to hear that you enjoyed our fair offer and the Opendoor experience! Thank you for sharing your story.


  • Best way to sell your home!

    • By Duane Fecher,
    • Rowlett, TX,
    • Feb 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This was by far the best home selling experience we have ever had. It is our fourth time selling, and this was the easiest time yet.

    We never had a realtor, never had to show our home, completed almost everything on the Opendoor website, and then they paid to have a closer come to our location for the closing.

    Trevor and Morgan Cole were very professional and easy to work with. Morgan followed up on everything and assisted when we needed her to and had all specifics lined out to a "T."

    The inspection was comfortable and professional and fair. The final walkthrough was simple and easy, and the funds transferred when promised.

    I will recommend them to all of our friends and will use Opendoor.com again if we ever sell!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Feb 20, 2018

      Company Response from Opendoor

      Hi Duane,

      Thanks for sharing your story! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the Opendoor experience. We wish you the best in this next chapter of your life.


  • Happy seller

    • By Wendy Larkin,
    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Feb 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    From the beginning to the end of the selling process, I was very happy with the way things were handled. The day my condo was being inspected six people showed up each having their own specialty. I had people inspecting my roof while someone else was checking for termites, another inspecting plumbing and so on, but everybody was very respectful of my property.

    My main contact at Opendoor was Rae Peterson, who answered all my questions promptly and helped guide me through the process. She was very pleasant to work with. It took just one month to finish the sale without having to go through an open house, keeping it clean or leaving the premises when being shown.

    I also like the option of being able to use your own people to do any repairs that may be needed.

    I have already recommended Opendoor to a neighbor who is thinking of selling her condo.

    I would use Opendoor again without any hesitation.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Feb 20, 2018

      Company Response from Opendoor

      Hi Wendy,

      Thanks for your feedback. It makes our day to hear that you enjoyed the Opendoor experience!


  • Opendoor is a phenomenal company to work with

    Overall Experience:

    Claudia Thomas was our representative. She is awesome! Opendoor made the sale of our home worry and stress-free. We had to change our closing to a later date. The contract stayed the same. The entire Opendoor team and the title company they used were always friendly, understanding and extremely accommodating. I highly recommend to anyone to use Opendoor to sell their home. The best part about the process is that our lives were not disrupted at all by "showings."

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Feb 20, 2018

      Company Response from Opendoor

      Hi Gregory,

      Thank you for sharing your Opendoor story! We wish you the best in this next chapter of your life.


  • Great experience

    Overall Experience:

    We could not be more pleased. The entire process of selling our house was simple and streamlined with a fair offer; zero hitches or complaints. I would definitely recommend Opendoor to friends and family.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Feb 22, 2018

      Company Response from Opendoor

      Hi Melissa,

      We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed the Opendoor experience! We wish you the best in this next chapter of your life.


  • Couldn't be happier

    Overall Experience:

    I loved my home, but could not afford to maintain it. It had fairly substantial foundation issues which had caused widespread damage to the interior, and my yard needed major help.

    I knew I had substantial equity built over the ten years I lived there, however, I also knew that even if I provided a generous allowance the work to repair would be daunting to a potential buyer. So, I figured what the heck and submitted a request for an offer to Opendoor.

    I submitted my request on January 4th. I received an immediate response from Katie (my Home Advisor) on the 5th, received my very fair offer same-day and signed it on the 8th. I was then turned over to Morgan (my Experience Manager) who coordinated my inspections. Morgan is seriously awesome; responsive, straight-forward and accommodating of my endless questions and nerves. I am very grateful to her.

    The inspection team was fantastic. I had my results quickly and decided to move forward with the sale. Closing was February 15th and took about 30 minutes, start to finish. The folks at the title company were super friendly and efficient and made the process smooth and simple.

    Y'all, if you want the most pain-free home selling experience, Opendoor is the way to go. From start to finish the entire team was first-rate. No constantly getting ready for showings, corralling the cats...somewhere? No last minute hiccups or funding falling through. Peace of mind, ease of transaction, no hassle. I don't think I would ever sell my home any other way.

    Thank you, Opendoor, for making this experience the BEST!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Feb 26, 2018

      Company Response from Opendoor

      Hi Sheri,

      Thank you for sharing your Opendoor story! It makes our day to hear that we made the process simple and hassle-free for you. We wish you the best in this next chapter of your life.


  • Dap to Opendoor

    Overall Experience:

    My Opendoor experience went quite well. At first, I was skeptical about them. With all of the scams going on that look very real. But the process was very simple. I did very little by providing a few things to help complete the transaction. Everyone I worked with, Aubrey (Opendoor) and Lakeisha (OSN), were there for any concerns that I had. It was best for my family to avoid the regular real estate showings for we needed to have a quick turnaround.

    If Greed is not your Master then you can benefit from selling your home to Opendoor. Expect what you expect from what you present.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 1, 2018

      Company Response from Opendoor

      Hi Timothy,

      Thank you for sharing your Opendoor story! We're so happy to hear that we were able to make home-selling a simple and pleasant process for you and your family. We wish you the best in this next chapter of your life.


  • Updated review

    Satisfied with our sale to Opendoor. Thank you.

    Overall Experience:

    Since writing my initial review about two months ago, I have been in communication with the Opendoor team regarding the sale of our previous property. After reviewing our case, Opendoor reached out to us with a resolution. We have received a fair settlement amount from the company. The company proved itself to be a company of integrity. Their goal was to simplify the home selling process and make us a fair offer; and in the end, we feel that this goal was ultimately accomplished. Because of this, I am updating my review to 5/5.

    I would also like to mention that I am updating my review simply because I decided to so. The company did not, in any form or fashion, ask me to update my review. There was no persuasion, coercion, or harassment. I just feel that if Opendoor did what they could do to rectify this situation, then the least I could do is make readers aware that the company did make things right for us. And we truly appreciate it. If I owned a business, I would hope for the same.

    So I hope that this updated review gives you some reassurance if you are indecisive about selling to the company. Overall, we had a hassle-free and great experience. Given the opportunity to do it all over again, the one thing I would do differently is to make sure that I'm satisfied with my offer prior to closing. Just know that if you are in question and do not think your offer is fair (based on market value and comps), you are able to request a reassessment or appeal the offer prior to accepting and closing.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • Feb 5, 2018

    Low-balled...

    We took an offer from Opendoor. The offer was low, but out of desperation for funds to close on another home, we accepted. When we initially filled out the online survey, one of the questions asked, “How much do you think your home is worth?” Our home was in exceptional condition. We had recently spent over $3,000 in upgrades to the flooring, HVAC, the roof was new, etc. The offer they gave us was well below what we thought our home was worth. They offered us $205,000, which was $10,000 less than we felt our home was worth.

    A realtor was certain they could sell our house for much more than the $205k they offered us, but we did not want to risk not having the funds to close on our new house in time. We moved forward with the process. Everyone was courteous and professional, I can honestly say that.

    So after an inspection, they ended up deducting over $2,500 in repairs from us even though when the inspectors did their walk-thrus, they told us our home was in excellent condition, aside from needing some new paint and a few tiles (which we had stocked) in areas. We did not argue with the fees since they told us there was no room for negotiation. We accepted the $205,000 and closed.

    So, then Opendoor turned around and marketed/sold the house for $230,000. They marketed it for $25,000 more than they offered us. And with all of their deductions, repair fees, title fees, “Opendoor experience” fees, etc., that they’d already pocketed, there was about $35,000-$40,000 (or more than they profited overall), considering the payoff amount of the house.

    I was in disbelief. I did not expect the difference to be so drastic. I knew we weren’t getting a fair offer, but I didn’t think we were getting ripped off at the time, not until I saw the home listed and sale pending on the market. I feel like they did everything in their power to pocket our profits. If they had even offered us $210,000, I probably would’ve been able to sleep better and brush this off. But sadly, I feel like we were extremely low-balled and ripped off, which is why I’m expressing my opinion here.

    Once again, I will say that the team was very professional and nice, and the process itself was smooth, but that sort of all goes out the window when you’ve gotten cheated out of your well-deserved money.

    • Feb 5, 2018

      Company Response from Opendoor

      Hi Courtney,

      Thank you for providing this feedback. Our aim is to provide competitive, market value offers to every seller. We’re reaching out to you via email to dig into this a little further and try to understand why this might have happened.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Glad I used Opendoor

    • By Denise B.,
    • Texas,
    • Jul 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was getting nowhere this spring with decluttering and cleaning my home while working the night shift at the hospital, so I kept putting off the appointment with a realtor. I received the Opendoor card in the mail. I was hesitant, but it seemed to be made for me so in the middle of the night I logged on, read as many reviews as could, and put my info into the website. I had an offer in minutes. I was pleasantly surprised that the offer was better than I expected from this online company and actually was very fair considering all the benefits to me of not having to declutter, clean, stage, show, wait, negotiate, wait...you know the drill.

    I already purchased a home out of state, so I wanted to sell sooner than later. I read a little more about the company and e-signed to accept the offer. I was called in the morning by someone who told me what to expect and assigned me to someone who was working in our local market. Everything went as Opendoor described and every person involved was pleasant and professional. The assessment was scheduled for the following week and rescheduled at my request because of my work schedule. Opendoor was very accommodating, even when I expected they would not want to change the appointment just one day before the original appointment time. No problem for them.

    The assessment took a little over an hour. The repair results were reasonable at less than $520. I gave that credit to Opendoor, and I would not have to fix the fence or replace the door with the cat door installed, or rid the garage eaves of wasp nest remnants, or refill my AC unit with coolant, etc. I did, however, have to refill my AC unit with coolant a couple of weeks later when my AC froze because of the heat and humidity of South Texas. Opendoor provided a credit at closing for the coolant I had refilled against the assessment repair quote.

    I started the Opendoor process in early May and closed at the end of June. This gave me time to continue working, sorting and packing on my schedule. When I stopped working, I had enough time to move my belongings to my new home in Ohio and return to close. At the final walk through, Opendoor just wants to be sure your belongings are gone. My house was empty except for the paperwork and keys left for the buyer. Opendoor does not require the house to be clean, but I vacuumed everywhere and cleaned the bathrooms and kitchen. The carpet had some damage and stains, and there were holes in the walls from pictures, but I was able to just walk away from them. An electronics outage delayed the closing paperwork from the title company to the notary, so my closing appointment was delayed for 4 hours while we waited.

    Other than that delay, I had no problems with any of the Opendoor process. I am well satisfied that I sold my home without ever having to have it "on the market." I tell anyone who will listen about my excellent experience with Opendoor.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Jul 24, 2018

      Company Response from Opendoor

      Thank you so much for sharing your story! We wish you the best of luck in your next chapter.


  • Excellent process

    • By Jessica H.,
    • San Antonio, TX,
    • Jul 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We did not know what to think about Opendoor, because we were not familiar. However, the entire process was easy and seamless. The process was quick to fit our needs. Every question we had were answered swiftly.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Aug 2, 2018

      Company Response from Opendoor

      Hi Jessica,

      Thank you so much for sharing your story! We're so glad to hear you had a smooth experience. We wish the best for you and your family in this new chapter!


Showing 12-22 of 232

Write a Review for Opendoor!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Opendoor