What is PrettyLitter?

Published on: Jan 13, 2017

PrettyLitter cat litter takes the guesswork out of making the best life for your cat by alerting owners to any possible health concerns with litter that changes color after use—helping you to detect feline issues before your vet does.

Why would cat owners need color-coded kitty litter to alert them of potential illness?

Felines are great at hiding signs of not feeling well because animals who get sick in the wild get eaten. This means that cats rarely show any indication of illness until it’s progressed to a point that they can no longer hide what’s wrong.

Plus, not only will cats often disguise any symptoms, but a kitty who’s feeling under the weather will likely curl up in an out of sight area for several days, making signs of sickness more difficult owners to spot.

PrettyLitter CEO and co-founder Daniel Rotman invented the illness-detecting litter after the loss of his own beloved cat, Gingi from an illness that might have been treatable with earlier detection.

The complete PrettyLitter team also includes Product Advisor Carly Martinetti, who had previously created the popular animal blog Featured Creature, and Veterinarian in Chief Dr. Geoff DeWire, a graduate of U.C. Davis School of Veterinary Medicine (which is the top rated veterinary school in the country).

In short, the folks behind PrettyLitter appear to really know—and care—about animal health.

PrettyLitter 101: The Basics

PrettyLitter looks similar to the white, crystal-based litters that many cat owners are already familiar with. It’s made of silica gel, which means that it’s quite light when compared to clay litters. (A month’s supply only weighs four pounds!)

Silica gel, which you’re most familiar with seeing in those little packets that are tucked into shoe boxes to keep moisture out, is used because if offers superior odor protection. The water in your cat’s urine evaporates, while all that’s left is absorbed into the silica crystals—odor and all.

Note that silica gel litter is feline safe—meaning that if your cat were to ingest a crystal when grooming after using their box, it would simply pass through their system naturally.

Another perk to silica gel? Unlike clay litters, the substance is totally dust-free, which is great for those with allergies—plus, it’s healthier for cats, too. (It’s also eco-friendly.)

PrettyLitter is manufactured in China. Some consumers consider this to be an automatic strike due to economic or quality concerns. However, there are no US-based crystal cat litter manufacturers—and PrettyLitter states that, because they have the utmost concern for your pet’s safety and health, they perform extensive quality checks to ensure that their standards are met.

How Does PrettyLitter Work?

PrettyLitter is poured into your cat’s litter box like normal—ensure that the litter is at least two inches deep throughout the entire box.

Litter should be cleaned daily, with solid waste being removed with a scooper. As you’re cleaning the litter box, you’ll notice colored patches indicating where your cat has urinated. Here’s how to decode the colors of PrettyLitter:

  • Dark yellow/ olive green: Normal urine
  • Blue: High alkalinity which may indicate either FLUTD, Struvite Crystal formations or kidney issues.
  • Green: Abnormal acidity which may indicate either FLUTD, calcium oxalate crystals, urinary blockage in males or kidney issues.
  • Orange: Presence of bilirubin.
  • Red: Presence of blood, which may indicate Feline Lower Urinary Tract Disorder (FLUTD), Crystals (Crystalluria) or Interstitial Cystitis. In rare cases, it can also mean bladder cancer, an internal injury, poison ingestion, and/or if it's a female cat over four months old who hasn't been spayed, she may be in heat.

Note that sometimes temporary color changes can occur as a result of a new diet, changes in environment or temporary stresses that may cause a cat's pH levels to elevate or drop.

So, if you notice a color other than dark yellow or olive green, PrettyLitter instructs that you should closely monitor your cat’s behavior and urine for the next 24-48 hours. If the color change continues, you should consult your veterinarian.

If you have a multi-cat household and notice a change in color, PrettyLitter suggests isolating your cats into different rooms with their own litter box for a time until each urinates and you can determine which animal is possibly ill.

As explained in the Nat Geo Wild video above, PrettyLitter isn’t intended to be a diagnostic in and of itself. Instead, changes in color can offer early detection for health issues such as urinary tract infections, pancreatitis, liver failure, and diabetes. And, early detection can help you save on your vet bill—or possibly save your kitty’s life.

PrettyLitter does not clump to contain liquid waste like clay litters. Instead, you’ll need to thoroughly mix the litter every day to avoid your cat saturating the same area several days in a row—this keeps PrettyLitter’s health indicators and odor absorption operating at full capacity.

After using PrettyLitter for one month, it’s time to dump the whole bin into the trash and pour in a new bag. (Be sure to clean any residue that might be stuck to the bottom.)

How Much Does PrettyLitter Cost?

One four-pound bag of PrettyLitter is needed per cat, per month. To order PrettyLitter, first you select how many cats you have:

  • One cat: $21
  • Two cats: $39
  • Three cats: $68 (For four bags—includes a fourth bag for free.)

PrettyLitter is ordered online and ships for free. Your order of PrettyLitter is delivered straight to your door.

All PrettyLitter purchases are backed by a 30-day satisfaction guarantee. If you’re not happy with your order for any reason, let PrettyLitter know and they’ll refund your order immediately.

Note that purchasing PrettyLitter automatically signs you up for their litter club. This includes monthly auto-shipments of your litter—and monthly auto charges. We’re normally very cautious of auto-ship programs, as they can be difficult to cancel and are occasionally indicative of a questionable business.

However, PrettyLitter is very upfront about their auto-ship program and states that the litter club is intended for convenience. After all, who wants to think about litter each month?

PrettyLitter also states throughout their website that, if you’d like to opt-out of auto-renewals, you can do so anytime through the website or by calling (800) 838-3381. To test out how easy it is to cancel, we gave PrettyLitter a call and were connected to a service representative within one minute and once selection on the call menu.

What Customers Are Saying About PrettyLitter

Scrolling though PrettyLitter’s Facebook comments can give you a major case of the feels, as you read customer comments like the following:

“Pretty Litter is has helped my Oliver yet again. Without this litter I would never have known his UTI is back. Anyone who cares for a cat should have this litter.” Carrie Zrelak on December 17, 2016.

“I want to thank you for this fabulous product! Not only is it truly dustless and odorless, but it helped me detect one of my cats had a UTI long before he would have shown any symptoms. I've told everyone I know about this litter. It's a great invention for cat lovers!” Dee Dee Emry on December 17, 2016.

We went back several weeks and were unable to locate a single customer complaint regarding PrettyLitter’s performance or customer service.

Additionally, several customers wrote to say that they had been previously skeptical, but were very pleased with the product’s lack of dust or odor, as well as its ability to help them track their pet’s health. Multiple other customer comments remark that PrettyLitter allowed them to identify illness early, particularly UT infections.

Finally, the company’s dedication to customer service is immediately visible in their responses to each and every comment and question.

What’s the Bottom Line On PrettyLitter?

It’s rare that we get to write a product review that’s so overwhelmingly positive, but there simply aren’t any criticisms we can find regarding PrettyLitter’s product. Their customer service is responsive, the product itself is helpful, easy to use, and delivers on all of its claims.

PrettyLitter is slightly more expensive than other cat litter brands—although, how much more depends on which alternate product you choose to compare it to.

For example, a month’s supply of Arm & Hammer clumping litter is $12.59, which is half the price of PrettyLitter. Pro-Sense Crystal Silica Litter (which uses the same material, but doesn’t feature color changing illness detection), can be purchased for $9.

However, World’s Best Litter is $23.99 for a month supply—and only boasts of superior odor control. So, again, it’s not the cheapest product on the market, but PrettyLitter does provide a value in line with its cost.

Though, any pet owner who has had to pay to treat a UT infection that’s been allowed to develop to later states, possibly resulting in the need for a transfusion and more drastic treatment, understands the potential for PrettyLitter to help save on vet costs.

With the difference in price in mind, we think PrettyLitter is a worthy investment for cat owners, particularly for those who have an adult cat that’s nearing senior years or is prone to illness, such as UT infections or kidney problems.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

106 Consumer Reviews for PrettyLitter

Average Consumer Rating: 4.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 81 4 star: 5 3 star: 2 2 star: 7 1 star:  11
Bottom Line: 82% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 106
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Disappointing

    • Syracuse, NY,
    • Feb 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was very excited to try this product. I did everything I was told to do, scooping and stirring as instructed. My cat is very small and doesn't produce that much waste. So imagine my surprise when this litter lasted about as long as the store bought litter I'd been using (and I don't even scoop that stuff!).

    I bought this litter for the odor control, but by the time I finally changed it (about two weeks into what was supposed to last a month), the smell was so bad my housemates (who live upstairs from me) had begun complaining.

    I had friends who told me they'd like to get it for their two cats and I told them not to waste their money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 21, 2018

      Cassie Cobb, Director of Customer Experience

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts Samuel. I can understand your surprise when PrettyLitter didn't last as long as you expected, and your experience surprises me too! PrettyLitter's silica crystals have superior odor control technology, and one bag is designed to last one cat for one month. I'd love the opportunity to give you a call to determine why this wasn't the case for you. More importantly, I'd like the chance to make it right. Please send me an email at meow@prettylitter.com and indicate Attn: Cassie. I'll be happy to reach out to you directly. I hope to hear from you soon!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    PrettyLitter saved my male cat’s life!

    This litter is lightweight, odorless, dustless and extremely easy to keep clean. Simply scoop the poop and flush. Then stir litter, and it immediately absorbs urine and orders.

    We rescued cat bother and sister 10 years ago. At age 8, the male developed UTI. Had I not been using PrettyLitter I would not have known he had a problem. Blood was immediately evident in the litter. Got him to vet within 15 minutes, but he was already blocked. Thanks to PrettyLitter and our fabulous veterinarian, his life was saved! PrettyLitter’s color change shows the Ph of the urine so I can make dietary changes immediately if Havoc’s urines starts to be too acidic, which is his particular problem. He has had several episodes but has not been blocked again.

    Pretty Litter is cost effective. One bag lasts around 3 weeks with my two indoor only cats. It is delivered free to my home with a monthly subscription.

    I highly recommend PrettyLitter. The best litter ever!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 21, 2018

      Cassie Cobb, Director of Customer Experience

      Sherril, thank you so much for sharing your experience! We are a family of pet lovers, and your story has warmed our hearts. We are so happy to hear you are enjoying PrettyLitter, and that it was able to alert you to your little guy's UTI. We're grateful to have you and Havoc in the PrettyLitter family.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Magic crystals

    This product must have been made on another planet by unicorns I'm sure. I no longer have litter nightmares! My 4 cats are all loving digging in this, and a few now bury their waste, which they never did with clay or corn-based litters. This stuff is so light that my elderly mother-in-law can handle it without needing help like with other heavy litters. The fact, the litter changes color if there's a potential problem, and it is pure magic to us. We love this feature just as much as we love no clay paw prints all over the house. Thank you PrettyLitter!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 21, 2018

      Cassie Cobb, Director of Customer Experience

      Thank YOU Stephanie! We are delighted to hear that you're enjoying PrettyLitter, and that your cats are "digging" it too! Thanks so much for sharing your experience with us. We'll be sure to keep sending more magic your way!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Love PrettyLitter

    • Little River, SC,
    • Feb 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I saw this product advertised a few months ago. I was pretty skeptical, so I just read reviews and scrolled on by, thinking "if it's too good to be true, it probably is."

    We have 3 kittens, and I have a very scent sensitive nose. Needless to say, it was time to give this product a try! Last month was my first order. Since we have 3 kittens, and 3 litter pans, I ordered the correct amount of PrettyLitter (3 bags, plus the 4th free). I use all 4 bags, to get the correct depth for each litter pan.

    I will NEVER buy kitty litter out of the store again, and I did not buy cheap litter, to begin with. This product totally, with proper scooping and stirring, eliminated the cat box smells from our home.

    So if you are skeptical like I was, just give it a try for yourself! You won't be sorry!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Best kitty litter ever!

    No smells of urine or poop! Lasts up to the day my auto delivery arrives. My garbage people are not having to lift cement filled bins anymore because of no more heavy clay litter and no more lifting 50 lb buckets of litter for me either! I don’t know how it works, yet it does, and I’m so grateful for PrettyLitter!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Love PrettyLitter

    My cat has asthma. I love that this litter doesn’t track and there is no dust from her. I also love that I can watch her urine for health concerns. I have had no odor issues with this litter, it’s amazing! All I do is scoop her feces each day, mix the urine with the litter in the morning and at night, and I have never had any urine smell. I love PrettyLitter, and so does my cat!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Last resort

    I have two cats, and they will only go in certain places, which happen to be very close together. So I have a problem with odor. I read other reviews, and I decided to try PrettyLitter. So far I’m on the winning end of this trial. I don’t have to scoop urine, which was a problem of the smell. Now, if the Orange cat decides to pee outside the box or which Witchy frequently does, I put the litter on top of it, it dehydrates, and I just vacuum it up this is fantastic so far. I hope month too is as wonderful.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    It does what it says

    This litter is great! Saves time and my back. Having it delivered to my door was a definite plus. Assistance was needed to lift the bags of regular litter. PrettyLitter is easy to use and can let you know of some health problems. It doesn't track through the house and eliminates the smell almost on contact. PrettyLitter is now the only one I will use. A friend dropped their phone in the bathtub and we put it in a bag with some litter (we had no rice), and it seemed to work!

    Thank you, PrettyLitter, for making life easier!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Stopped my cat from going outside the box!

    My cat was a naughty carpet urinater for months, no matter what I tried. If any clothes were left on the floor, it was a guarantee that he'd peed on them. He nearly ruined my carpets. I used repellant sprays, treats when he used the litter box, switched the litter brands constantly; nothing worked. I was worried maybe he had some kind of UTI, but the vet never found anything wrong.

    I decided after much research to try PrettyLitter. I've used it for about two months now, and I have not seen him pee outside of the litter box since. One of my cats is long haired and it does stick to his paws a bit, but I'll happily deal with the minor tracking over the constant cat urine smell in my room! I'm very pleased with the product based on my experience, and I recommend it to anyone with cats.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Amazing litter

    • Myrtle Beach, SC,
    • Feb 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My household has 5 cats that use PrettyLitter. PrettyLitter helped us realize one of the cats had an illness that we could address immediately. 100% satisfied and pleased with this company.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Possibly saved my cat's life!

    • Bellevue, WA,
    • Feb 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My cat is on a prescription diet because of crystalluria. Unbeknownst to us, he had been sneakily eating his sister's non-prescription food, but we hadn't realized how much and how long he had been doing it.

    A few nights ago, his litter turned blue. The next morning, I booked an appointment immediately.

    PrettyLitter's early detection is a godsend. My cat's PH levels were high. Not only did PrettyLitter save us from a larger vet bill, it has more importantly saved his health, possibly his life.

    While I do need to give him some medication for a week, it did not get so bad that it got infected or obstructed. I'm truly grateful that a product like PrettyLitter exists. I'd be lost without my lil' ball of weird and love.

    I would like to add, this kitty litter might be expensive for most people. For my cat's health, it has been absolutely worth it. But if budget is a bit tight, I would recommend mixing it in with a cheaper corn-based kitty litter, because as I've experienced, it still works great.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 106

Write a Review for PrettyLitter!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review