What is PrettyLitter?

Published on: Jan 13, 2017

PrettyLitter cat litter takes the guesswork out of making the best life for your cat by alerting owners to any possible health concerns with litter that changes color after use—helping you to detect feline issues before your vet does.

Why would cat owners need color-coded kitty litter to alert them of potential illness?

Felines are great at hiding signs of not feeling well because animals who get sick in the wild get eaten. This means that cats rarely show any indication of illness until it’s progressed to a point that they can no longer hide what’s wrong.

Plus, not only will cats often disguise any symptoms, but a kitty who’s feeling under the weather will likely curl up in an out of sight area for several days, making signs of sickness more difficult owners to spot.

PrettyLitter CEO and co-founder Daniel Rotman invented the illness-detecting litter after the loss of his own beloved cat, Gingi from an illness that might have been treatable with earlier detection.

The complete PrettyLitter team also includes Product Advisor Carly Martinetti, who had previously created the popular animal blog Featured Creature, and Veterinarian in Chief Dr. Geoff DeWire, a graduate of U.C. Davis School of Veterinary Medicine (which is the top rated veterinary school in the country).

In short, the folks behind PrettyLitter appear to really know—and care—about animal health.

PrettyLitter 101: The Basics

PrettyLitter looks similar to the white, crystal-based litters that many cat owners are already familiar with. It’s made of silica gel, which means that it’s quite light when compared to clay litters. (A month’s supply only weighs four pounds!)

Silica gel, which you’re most familiar with seeing in those little packets that are tucked into shoe boxes to keep moisture out, is used because if offers superior odor protection. The water in your cat’s urine evaporates, while all that’s left is absorbed into the silica crystals—odor and all.

Note that silica gel litter is feline safe—meaning that if your cat were to ingest a crystal when grooming after using their box, it would simply pass through their system naturally.

Another perk to silica gel? Unlike clay litters, the substance is totally dust-free, which is great for those with allergies—plus, it’s healthier for cats, too. (It’s also eco-friendly.)

PrettyLitter is manufactured in China. Some consumers consider this to be an automatic strike due to economic or quality concerns. However, there are no US-based crystal cat litter manufacturers—and PrettyLitter states that, because they have the utmost concern for your pet’s safety and health, they perform extensive quality checks to ensure that their standards are met.

How Does PrettyLitter Work?

PrettyLitter is poured into your cat’s litter box like normal—ensure that the litter is at least two inches deep throughout the entire box.

Litter should be cleaned daily, with solid waste being removed with a scooper. As you’re cleaning the litter box, you’ll notice colored patches indicating where your cat has urinated. Here’s how to decode the colors of PrettyLitter:

  • Dark yellow/ olive green: Normal urine
  • Blue: High alkalinity which may indicate either FLUTD, Struvite Crystal formations or kidney issues.
  • Green: Abnormal acidity which may indicate either FLUTD, calcium oxalate crystals, urinary blockage in males or kidney issues.
  • Orange: Presence of bilirubin.
  • Red: Presence of blood, which may indicate Feline Lower Urinary Tract Disorder (FLUTD), Crystals (Crystalluria) or Interstitial Cystitis. In rare cases, it can also mean bladder cancer, an internal injury, poison ingestion, and/or if it's a female cat over four months old who hasn't been spayed, she may be in heat.

Note that sometimes temporary color changes can occur as a result of a new diet, changes in environment or temporary stresses that may cause a cat's pH levels to elevate or drop.

So, if you notice a color other than dark yellow or olive green, PrettyLitter instructs that you should closely monitor your cat’s behavior and urine for the next 24-48 hours. If the color change continues, you should consult your veterinarian.

If you have a multi-cat household and notice a change in color, PrettyLitter suggests isolating your cats into different rooms with their own litter box for a time until each urinates and you can determine which animal is possibly ill.

As explained in the Nat Geo Wild video above, PrettyLitter isn’t intended to be a diagnostic in and of itself. Instead, changes in color can offer early detection for health issues such as urinary tract infections, pancreatitis, liver failure, and diabetes. And, early detection can help you save on your vet bill—or possibly save your kitty’s life.

PrettyLitter does not clump to contain liquid waste like clay litters. Instead, you’ll need to thoroughly mix the litter every day to avoid your cat saturating the same area several days in a row—this keeps PrettyLitter’s health indicators and odor absorption operating at full capacity.

After using PrettyLitter for one month, it’s time to dump the whole bin into the trash and pour in a new bag. (Be sure to clean any residue that might be stuck to the bottom.)

How Much Does PrettyLitter Cost?

One four-pound bag of PrettyLitter is needed per cat, per month. To order PrettyLitter, first you select how many cats you have:

  • One cat: $21
  • Two cats: $39
  • Three cats: $68 (For four bags—includes a fourth bag for free.)

PrettyLitter is ordered online and ships for free. Your order of PrettyLitter is delivered straight to your door.

All PrettyLitter purchases are backed by a 30-day satisfaction guarantee. If you’re not happy with your order for any reason, let PrettyLitter know and they’ll refund your order immediately.

Note that purchasing PrettyLitter automatically signs you up for their litter club. This includes monthly auto-shipments of your litter—and monthly auto charges. We’re normally very cautious of auto-ship programs, as they can be difficult to cancel and are occasionally indicative of a questionable business.

However, PrettyLitter is very upfront about their auto-ship program and states that the litter club is intended for convenience. After all, who wants to think about litter each month?

PrettyLitter also states throughout their website that, if you’d like to opt-out of auto-renewals, you can do so anytime through the website or by calling (800) 838-3381. To test out how easy it is to cancel, we gave PrettyLitter a call and were connected to a service representative within one minute and once selection on the call menu.

What Customers Are Saying About PrettyLitter

Scrolling though PrettyLitter’s Facebook comments can give you a major case of the feels, as you read customer comments like the following:

“Pretty Litter is has helped my Oliver yet again. Without this litter I would never have known his UTI is back. Anyone who cares for a cat should have this litter.” Carrie Zrelak on December 17, 2016.

“I want to thank you for this fabulous product! Not only is it truly dustless and odorless, but it helped me detect one of my cats had a UTI long before he would have shown any symptoms. I've told everyone I know about this litter. It's a great invention for cat lovers!” Dee Dee Emry on December 17, 2016.

We went back several weeks and were unable to locate a single customer complaint regarding PrettyLitter’s performance or customer service.

Additionally, several customers wrote to say that they had been previously skeptical, but were very pleased with the product’s lack of dust or odor, as well as its ability to help them track their pet’s health. Multiple other customer comments remark that PrettyLitter allowed them to identify illness early, particularly UT infections.

Finally, the company’s dedication to customer service is immediately visible in their responses to each and every comment and question.

What’s the Bottom Line On PrettyLitter?

It’s rare that we get to write a product review that’s so overwhelmingly positive, but there simply aren’t any criticisms we can find regarding PrettyLitter’s product. Their customer service is responsive, the product itself is helpful, easy to use, and delivers on all of its claims.

PrettyLitter is slightly more expensive than other cat litter brands—although, how much more depends on which alternate product you choose to compare it to.

For example, a month’s supply of Arm & Hammer clumping litter is $12.59, which is half the price of PrettyLitter. Pro-Sense Crystal Silica Litter (which uses the same material, but doesn’t feature color changing illness detection), can be purchased for $9.

However, World’s Best Litter is $23.99 for a month supply—and only boasts of superior odor control. So, again, it’s not the cheapest product on the market, but PrettyLitter does provide a value in line with its cost.

Though, any pet owner who has had to pay to treat a UT infection that’s been allowed to develop to later states, possibly resulting in the need for a transfusion and more drastic treatment, understands the potential for PrettyLitter to help save on vet costs.

With the difference in price in mind, we think PrettyLitter is a worthy investment for cat owners, particularly for those who have an adult cat that’s nearing senior years or is prone to illness, such as UT infections or kidney problems.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

255 Consumer Reviews for PrettyLitter

Average Consumer Rating: 4.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 203 4 star: 12 3 star: 3 2 star: 14 1 star:  23
Bottom Line: 84% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 255
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Best cat litter out there!

    • Ormond Beach, FL,
    • Oct 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had cats for 30 years! We currently have four! One is a mature sick cat with kidney issues! This litter helps us monitor our Phoebe's health, and the other cats love it too! Easy cleanup! No smell! No dust! We buy extra litter every month because we have so many litter boxes inside and out! I recommend this to EVERYONE.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Perfect kitty litter

    • Capital Heights, MD,
    • Oct 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This cat litter is the best. It's easy to maintain for the 28 days. You scoop out the poop then stir the remaining litter to absorb the urine. You can use the color guide to monitor your cat's health. It's lightweight, and they deliver to your door when it's time to change it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    A nice surprise

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Oct 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was hesitant at first about trying PrettyLitter as I am on a tight budget right now. But I was pleasantly surprised at how it kept odors away. That's what I look for in a litter, as well as "no scatter" ability. Usually, after my cat does a #2, you can sure tell, and I have to get rid of it right away, but not so much with PrettyLitter. So if you can't get to it right away, you don't have to deal with nasty odors much at all. The litter color from what I can tell is in the safe range. So good job guys!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Lightweight, lost-lasting, color-changing!

    • Denver, CO,
    • Oct 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is one of the rare products that I was targeted with on Facebook, but I decided to give it a go...and I've never looked back! It lasts for a full month and conveniently arrives on my doorstep through my subscription, so I know exactly when it's time to change it. On top of that, the litter is lightweight enough to manage without being so lightweight that it sticks to my cat's fluffy paws and tracks throughout my house like Tidy Cats Lightweight did.

    Above all else, though, is that the litter changes color to alert you if the pH of your cat's urine is too alkaline or too acidic, indicating health issues; cats are notoriously good at hiding symptoms, often until it's too late to help. I've noticed a slight discoloration before and have been able to take my Bianca to the vet for a quick check. It's so comforting being able to monitor her health a little bit better, even though she's still quite young!

    On top of all of that, it costs the same as any other litter because it lasts longer. I recommend it to every cat owner I meet!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    PrettyLitter review

    • Boca Raton, FL,
    • Oct 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had this kitty litter for two weeks and it STINKS! I don’t know why my cat would ever go in her litter box with it smelling so strongly of urine! I’m canceling my monthly subscription.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • PrettyLitter this

    • Trenton, NJ,
    • Oct 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started to use PrettyLitter about six months ago. I love it. I am a senior and using PterryLitter has made caring for my cat a breeze. I have one cat. He likes to scratch. I had to get a tall box to contain the litter. I order two boxes per month. This works out best for me. Using a more shallow box would be a problem. He would make a mess. Although this litter is more expensive, it is well worth the cost. I like the fact that it doesn’t clump but evaporates. I just have to scoop the fecal matter. It really has made my care for my cat so much easier.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Never go back

    • Texas,
    • Oct 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started using PrettyLitter a few months ago. I noticed the litter was bluish when my cat used the box. Sure enough, when I took her to the vet, it was a UTI. An antibiotic and anti-inflammatory shot was all it took to get her on the road to recovery. Now her litter is pale yellow when she goes.

    I will never go back to regular litter.

    Thank you, PrettyLitter!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • She loves it

    • Delmont, PA,
    • Oct 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My Paca took to this right away. She was just diagnosed with Diabetes, so I feel better using this. I like that it doesn't clump, it is certainly easier to toss just the poop. I smell NOTHING!

    I am so glad to have purchased this product. It is much easier to carry also.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy this litter

    It does NOT work.

    It's a great concept, but the litter doesn't work well. It tracks everywhere and only lasts three weeks at best before smelling so bad (with daily cleaning) you will choke.

    I have a sick kitty. I was recently at the vet and none of his urine showed a change of color in the litter. Also, the fine sand stuck to him, and he got an infection from it.

    The customer service people are weeks behind in responses. They didn't honor coupons on charges, and I've been fighting a double charge with them for 3 months. They take 3 weeks to get back to you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great product and customer support!

    • Washington,
    • Oct 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been using PrettyLitter for well over a year now and I love it! It's so nice that it just arrives at my house every month and I don't have to stress about picking it up at the store. It's also a relief to know that I can watch out for weird colors in the box and know if something is up with my furbabes.

    I have a Maine Coon and she loves it too. It never gets stuck on her furbutt or paw tufts and covers up the smell quite nicely (not in a gross smelling chemically way).

    Their customer support is really good too - they've always been responsive and kind with me. They even sent us a sweet little care package with some cat toys and a handwritten note after we'd been subscribed for so long!

    I really can't say enough good things about it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Best litter out there!

    • Tucson, AZ,
    • Oct 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have two cats and always had problems with odor control. Since using PrettyLitter, this is BY FAR the best litter made. There is absolutely no smell, and the litter doesn't clump, so it is easy to clean up. Plus I'll always know if my cat is sick with the color change in the litter if they have a UTI. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 255

Write a Review for PrettyLitter!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review