What is PrettyLitter?

Published on: Jan 13, 2017

PrettyLitter cat litter takes the guesswork out of making the best life for your cat by alerting owners to any possible health concerns with litter that changes color after use—helping you to detect feline issues before your vet does.

Why would cat owners need color-coded kitty litter to alert them of potential illness?

Felines are great at hiding signs of not feeling well because animals who get sick in the wild get eaten. This means that cats rarely show any indication of illness until it’s progressed to a point that they can no longer hide what’s wrong.

Plus, not only will cats often disguise any symptoms, but a kitty who’s feeling under the weather will likely curl up in an out of sight area for several days, making signs of sickness more difficult owners to spot.

PrettyLitter CEO and co-founder Daniel Rotman invented the illness-detecting litter after the loss of his own beloved cat, Gingi from an illness that might have been treatable with earlier detection.

The complete PrettyLitter team also includes Product Advisor Carly Martinetti, who had previously created the popular animal blog Featured Creature, and Veterinarian in Chief Dr. Geoff DeWire, a graduate of U.C. Davis School of Veterinary Medicine (which is the top rated veterinary school in the country).

In short, the folks behind PrettyLitter appear to really know—and care—about animal health.

PrettyLitter 101: The Basics

PrettyLitter looks similar to the white, crystal-based litters that many cat owners are already familiar with. It’s made of silica gel, which means that it’s quite light when compared to clay litters. (A month’s supply only weighs four pounds!)

Silica gel, which you’re most familiar with seeing in those little packets that are tucked into shoe boxes to keep moisture out, is used because if offers superior odor protection. The water in your cat’s urine evaporates, while all that’s left is absorbed into the silica crystals—odor and all.

Note that silica gel litter is feline safe—meaning that if your cat were to ingest a crystal when grooming after using their box, it would simply pass through their system naturally.

Another perk to silica gel? Unlike clay litters, the substance is totally dust-free, which is great for those with allergies—plus, it’s healthier for cats, too. (It’s also eco-friendly.)

PrettyLitter is manufactured in China. Some consumers consider this to be an automatic strike due to economic or quality concerns. However, there are no US-based crystal cat litter manufacturers—and PrettyLitter states that, because they have the utmost concern for your pet’s safety and health, they perform extensive quality checks to ensure that their standards are met.

How Does PrettyLitter Work?

PrettyLitter is poured into your cat’s litter box like normal—ensure that the litter is at least two inches deep throughout the entire box.

Litter should be cleaned daily, with solid waste being removed with a scooper. As you’re cleaning the litter box, you’ll notice colored patches indicating where your cat has urinated. Here’s how to decode the colors of PrettyLitter:

  • Dark yellow/ olive green: Normal urine
  • Blue: High alkalinity which may indicate either FLUTD, Struvite Crystal formations or kidney issues.
  • Green: Abnormal acidity which may indicate either FLUTD, calcium oxalate crystals, urinary blockage in males or kidney issues.
  • Orange: Presence of bilirubin.
  • Red: Presence of blood, which may indicate Feline Lower Urinary Tract Disorder (FLUTD), Crystals (Crystalluria) or Interstitial Cystitis. In rare cases, it can also mean bladder cancer, an internal injury, poison ingestion, and/or if it's a female cat over four months old who hasn't been spayed, she may be in heat.

Note that sometimes temporary color changes can occur as a result of a new diet, changes in environment or temporary stresses that may cause a cat's pH levels to elevate or drop.

So, if you notice a color other than dark yellow or olive green, PrettyLitter instructs that you should closely monitor your cat’s behavior and urine for the next 24-48 hours. If the color change continues, you should consult your veterinarian.

If you have a multi-cat household and notice a change in color, PrettyLitter suggests isolating your cats into different rooms with their own litter box for a time until each urinates and you can determine which animal is possibly ill.

As explained in the Nat Geo Wild video above, PrettyLitter isn’t intended to be a diagnostic in and of itself. Instead, changes in color can offer early detection for health issues such as urinary tract infections, pancreatitis, liver failure, and diabetes. And, early detection can help you save on your vet bill—or possibly save your kitty’s life.

PrettyLitter does not clump to contain liquid waste like clay litters. Instead, you’ll need to thoroughly mix the litter every day to avoid your cat saturating the same area several days in a row—this keeps PrettyLitter’s health indicators and odor absorption operating at full capacity.

After using PrettyLitter for one month, it’s time to dump the whole bin into the trash and pour in a new bag. (Be sure to clean any residue that might be stuck to the bottom.)

How Much Does PrettyLitter Cost?

One four-pound bag of PrettyLitter is needed per cat, per month. To order PrettyLitter, first you select how many cats you have:

  • One cat: $21
  • Two cats: $39
  • Three cats: $68 (For four bags—includes a fourth bag for free.)

PrettyLitter is ordered online and ships for free. Your order of PrettyLitter is delivered straight to your door.

All PrettyLitter purchases are backed by a 30-day satisfaction guarantee. If you’re not happy with your order for any reason, let PrettyLitter know and they’ll refund your order immediately.

Note that purchasing PrettyLitter automatically signs you up for their litter club. This includes monthly auto-shipments of your litter—and monthly auto charges. We’re normally very cautious of auto-ship programs, as they can be difficult to cancel and are occasionally indicative of a questionable business.

However, PrettyLitter is very upfront about their auto-ship program and states that the litter club is intended for convenience. After all, who wants to think about litter each month?

PrettyLitter also states throughout their website that, if you’d like to opt-out of auto-renewals, you can do so anytime through the website or by calling (800) 838-3381. To test out how easy it is to cancel, we gave PrettyLitter a call and were connected to a service representative within one minute and once selection on the call menu.

What Customers Are Saying About PrettyLitter

Scrolling though PrettyLitter’s Facebook comments can give you a major case of the feels, as you read customer comments like the following:

“Pretty Litter is has helped my Oliver yet again. Without this litter I would never have known his UTI is back. Anyone who cares for a cat should have this litter.” Carrie Zrelak on December 17, 2016.

“I want to thank you for this fabulous product! Not only is it truly dustless and odorless, but it helped me detect one of my cats had a UTI long before he would have shown any symptoms. I've told everyone I know about this litter. It's a great invention for cat lovers!” Dee Dee Emry on December 17, 2016.

We went back several weeks and were unable to locate a single customer complaint regarding PrettyLitter’s performance or customer service.

Additionally, several customers wrote to say that they had been previously skeptical, but were very pleased with the product’s lack of dust or odor, as well as its ability to help them track their pet’s health. Multiple other customer comments remark that PrettyLitter allowed them to identify illness early, particularly UT infections.

Finally, the company’s dedication to customer service is immediately visible in their responses to each and every comment and question.

What’s the Bottom Line On PrettyLitter?

It’s rare that we get to write a product review that’s so overwhelmingly positive, but there simply aren’t any criticisms we can find regarding PrettyLitter’s product. Their customer service is responsive, the product itself is helpful, easy to use, and delivers on all of its claims.

PrettyLitter is slightly more expensive than other cat litter brands—although, how much more depends on which alternate product you choose to compare it to.

For example, a month’s supply of Arm & Hammer clumping litter is $12.59, which is half the price of PrettyLitter. Pro-Sense Crystal Silica Litter (which uses the same material, but doesn’t feature color changing illness detection), can be purchased for $9.

However, World’s Best Litter is $23.99 for a month supply—and only boasts of superior odor control. So, again, it’s not the cheapest product on the market, but PrettyLitter does provide a value in line with its cost.

Though, any pet owner who has had to pay to treat a UT infection that’s been allowed to develop to later states, possibly resulting in the need for a transfusion and more drastic treatment, understands the potential for PrettyLitter to help save on vet costs.

With the difference in price in mind, we think PrettyLitter is a worthy investment for cat owners, particularly for those who have an adult cat that’s nearing senior years or is prone to illness, such as UT infections or kidney problems.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

221 Consumer Reviews for PrettyLitter

Average Consumer Rating: 4.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 178 4 star: 11 3 star: 2 2 star: 10 1 star:  20
Bottom Line: 86% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 221
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    I wanted this to work

    • Bensalem, PA,
    • Aug 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was excited about buying this litter because a previous cat I owned had urinary issues and I would love to be able to keep track of my cat's health before he starts showing signs. The litter was also very light and seemed like it tracked around the house less, and I loved not having to scoop anything besides the stool.

    Unfortunately, the litter did not absorb any of the urine odor. The smell became so bad I had to throw out the litter in about two weeks. My cat also has two litter boxes - one upstairs in the second bathroom with the PrettyLitter and one in the basement with Tidy Cats. So he only used the PrettyLitter box about half of the time. I can't imagine how bad the smell would have been if this was his only box.

    I did try it for two months, just in case, and even added baking soda to the second bag of PrettyLitter, but it did nothing to mask the smell. I ended up just canceling my subscription because it seems very pricey for less than two weeks of litter. I'm hoping in the future there is something that can track a cat's urinary health and absorbs odor but, sadly, this is not it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 13, 2018

      Cassie Cobb, Director of Customer Experience

      Thanks for reaching out, Samantha. We're happy to hear of your excitement to use PrettyLitter and we'd love the opportunity to help make it work for you! Odor issues are usually caused by not having enough depth of PrettyLitter in your litter box. We recommend filling each litter box to a minimum of two inches per cat. That usually means one bag per cat, but it can vary! There are many different sizes of litter box, and it sounds like yours might be on the larger size.

      We want to make sure you get to experience PrettyLitter's advanced odor control technology as intended, so please email us at meow@prettylitter.com (attn: Cassie), and we'll make this right for you! We look forward to hearing from you soon!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Take a leap of faith

    • Peculiar, MO,
    • Aug 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    PrettyLitter was recommended to me, so I took the leap of faith to try it. No dust, no smell, cats like it, and (bonus) diagnosed urinary tract infection before it really got going due to the color change of material. Yep, I'm sold.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Loving this litter!

    • Houston, TX,
    • Aug 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have two cats and I was tired of buying the same old heavy containers of litter that didn't work well. So, I decided to try PrettyLitter after seeing it on social media. As soon as I poured it into their litter box, they were loving it! My kitten played in it at first. She was loving it. I was excited to see the color of their urine to make sure they were healthy. My cats are a year and a half apart, so it's easy to tell which one urinates. I can check it for the correct color.

    This litter is so easy to keep clean. I clean it every morning and all you have to do is mix the litter around after you scoop out the poop. Right now I'm using one bag for two weeks for both cats, and I have to say, it doesn't smell after two weeks. I also like the idea of the litter being delivered to me. I do not miss carrying those heavy containers of the old litter that I use to use. I have told all of my fellow cat-loving friends and my vet about this great litter!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great stuff

    • Pompano Beach, FL,
    • Jul 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love it! My cats took to it immediately. No smell, low maintenance - just scoop the poop. It gets tracked around the house but no more than with other litter. I tell every cat owner I know about this litter. Two of my friends ordered it right away. It’s easy and comes right to your door at the same time every month.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Two paws up

    • Birmingham, AL,
    • Jul 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    PrettyLitter is amazing. There aren’t random litter pieces all over the place, less scooping, and I don’t have to worry about the cat's health. Carrying the clumps of pee to the trash really adds up, especially when loving on the 3rd floor of an apartment.

    Also, the delivery to the door every month is amazing.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Good for about two weeks

    • California,
    • Jul 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Then, the urine smell became overwhelming and I had to throw it out. Granted, it is not as messy as regular kitty litter; however, I couldn't get rid of the urine smell - each day it grew stronger.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 24, 2018

      Cassie Cobb, Director of Customer Experience

      Thanks for reaching out, Marta, and for sharing your experience! We’d love the chance to make it right. If your PrettyLitter isn’t lasting the whole month in terms of odor control, it’s usually because you didn’t get enough depth in your litter box. There are many different sizes of litter box out there, and we want to make sure you’re getting enough PrettyLitter to fill your box, whatever the size! Please email us at meow@prettylitter.com (attn: Cassie) and I’ll be happy to help. Talk to you soon!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Best litter I've ever used

    • Denver, CO,
    • Jul 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had cats for most of my life (I'm in my 60's) so have had a LOT of experience trying various types of cat litter. My cats stay indoors, so odor has always been a primary concern. Currently, I have two cats, meaning two cat boxes. Dust has also become a significant issue. I started using PrettyLitter a little over a month ago, so am on my second shipment. I am even more pleased with this product than I had hoped I would be. No odor, no dust, lightweight, and very easy maintenance (less scooping), not to mention the ability to monitor my cats' health by watching the color.

    Yes, it's somewhat expensive, but the benefits make it worthwhile. My cats even seem to prefer it too!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Love this litter!

    • Sachse, TX,
    • Jul 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My senior cat, Jasmine, has had kidney issues since she was about 5 years old. She would get infections and I didn't know anything was wrong until she would cry while using her cat box and she had peed on my bed and I saw it was a light red color. I took her to the vet and she had stones, so got those removed. Now I can see her daily activity when cleaning her litter box and her urine was looking too yellow, so I am now giving her a supplement in her food to hopefully ward off any further issues. She seems to be doing great now but being able to monitor her urine really gives me comfort.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • My three cats love the litter!

    • Shillington, PA,
    • Jul 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just received my second month (auto delivery) of PrettyLitter. My cats are loving the litter, however, I believe I am loving it more! Why? Well, I no longer have to clean up clumps of urine because it evaporates right into the litter and all that is left is the feces to clean, and with the color chart that is provided I am able to monitor the health of my cats! What more can I say, it's a win-win all the way around. I have forwarded on my Facebook page the information for PrettyLitter so all my friends can see my reaction to your product. I hope they all call to place orders for this product. Keep up the great work!

    Thank you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Better than the others

    • La Plata, MO,
    • Jul 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It is way less messy and way less smelly than clay litters. I was buying Tidy Cat Lightweight before and spending the same amount with more mess and smell. I like that the urine doesn't clump and there is no ammonia smell. I like not smelling the clay smell either, and I don't want my cats licking clay off their paws or tracking it in the house. So far no blue or red hues, just yellow and green, but I am glad for that safety measure.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • PrettyLitter is awesome!

    • Keithville, LA,
    • Jul 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using PrettyLitter for about a month now and I can say that I enjoy this brand of litter. No tracking it across the house, no smell, and fairly cheap! I will always use PrettyLitter until I no longer can! Help protect your cat too and try a bag!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 221

Write a Review for PrettyLitter!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review