What is PrettyLitter?

Published on: Jan 13, 2017

PrettyLitter cat litter takes the guesswork out of making the best life for your cat by alerting owners to any possible health concerns with litter that changes color after use—helping you to detect feline issues before your vet does.

Why would cat owners need color-coded kitty litter to alert them of potential illness?

Felines are great at hiding signs of not feeling well because animals who get sick in the wild get eaten. This means that cats rarely show any indication of illness until it’s progressed to a point that they can no longer hide what’s wrong.

Plus, not only will cats often disguise any symptoms, but a kitty who’s feeling under the weather will likely curl up in an out of sight area for several days, making signs of sickness more difficult owners to spot.

PrettyLitter CEO and co-founder Daniel Rotman invented the illness-detecting litter after the loss of his own beloved cat, Gingi from an illness that might have been treatable with earlier detection.

The complete PrettyLitter team also includes Product Advisor Carly Martinetti, who had previously created the popular animal blog Featured Creature, and Veterinarian in Chief Dr. Geoff DeWire, a graduate of U.C. Davis School of Veterinary Medicine (which is the top rated veterinary school in the country).

In short, the folks behind PrettyLitter appear to really know—and care—about animal health.

PrettyLitter 101: The Basics

PrettyLitter looks similar to the white, crystal-based litters that many cat owners are already familiar with. It’s made of silica gel, which means that it’s quite light when compared to clay litters. (A month’s supply only weighs four pounds!)

Silica gel, which you’re most familiar with seeing in those little packets that are tucked into shoe boxes to keep moisture out, is used because if offers superior odor protection. The water in your cat’s urine evaporates, while all that’s left is absorbed into the silica crystals—odor and all.

Note that silica gel litter is feline safe—meaning that if your cat were to ingest a crystal when grooming after using their box, it would simply pass through their system naturally.

Another perk to silica gel? Unlike clay litters, the substance is totally dust-free, which is great for those with allergies—plus, it’s healthier for cats, too. (It’s also eco-friendly.)

PrettyLitter is manufactured in China. Some consumers consider this to be an automatic strike due to economic or quality concerns. However, there are no US-based crystal cat litter manufacturers—and PrettyLitter states that, because they have the utmost concern for your pet’s safety and health, they perform extensive quality checks to ensure that their standards are met.

How Does PrettyLitter Work?

PrettyLitter is poured into your cat’s litter box like normal—ensure that the litter is at least two inches deep throughout the entire box.

Litter should be cleaned daily, with solid waste being removed with a scooper. As you’re cleaning the litter box, you’ll notice colored patches indicating where your cat has urinated. Here’s how to decode the colors of PrettyLitter:

  • Dark yellow/ olive green: Normal urine
  • Blue: High alkalinity which may indicate either FLUTD, Struvite Crystal formations or kidney issues.
  • Green: Abnormal acidity which may indicate either FLUTD, calcium oxalate crystals, urinary blockage in males or kidney issues.
  • Orange: Presence of bilirubin.
  • Red: Presence of blood, which may indicate Feline Lower Urinary Tract Disorder (FLUTD), Crystals (Crystalluria) or Interstitial Cystitis. In rare cases, it can also mean bladder cancer, an internal injury, poison ingestion, and/or if it's a female cat over four months old who hasn't been spayed, she may be in heat.

Note that sometimes temporary color changes can occur as a result of a new diet, changes in environment or temporary stresses that may cause a cat's pH levels to elevate or drop.

So, if you notice a color other than dark yellow or olive green, PrettyLitter instructs that you should closely monitor your cat’s behavior and urine for the next 24-48 hours. If the color change continues, you should consult your veterinarian.

If you have a multi-cat household and notice a change in color, PrettyLitter suggests isolating your cats into different rooms with their own litter box for a time until each urinates and you can determine which animal is possibly ill.

As explained in the Nat Geo Wild video above, PrettyLitter isn’t intended to be a diagnostic in and of itself. Instead, changes in color can offer early detection for health issues such as urinary tract infections, pancreatitis, liver failure, and diabetes. And, early detection can help you save on your vet bill—or possibly save your kitty’s life.

PrettyLitter does not clump to contain liquid waste like clay litters. Instead, you’ll need to thoroughly mix the litter every day to avoid your cat saturating the same area several days in a row—this keeps PrettyLitter’s health indicators and odor absorption operating at full capacity.

After using PrettyLitter for one month, it’s time to dump the whole bin into the trash and pour in a new bag. (Be sure to clean any residue that might be stuck to the bottom.)

How Much Does PrettyLitter Cost?

One four-pound bag of PrettyLitter is needed per cat, per month. To order PrettyLitter, first you select how many cats you have:

  • One cat: $21
  • Two cats: $39
  • Three cats: $68 (For four bags—includes a fourth bag for free.)

PrettyLitter is ordered online and ships for free. Your order of PrettyLitter is delivered straight to your door.

All PrettyLitter purchases are backed by a 30-day satisfaction guarantee. If you’re not happy with your order for any reason, let PrettyLitter know and they’ll refund your order immediately.

Note that purchasing PrettyLitter automatically signs you up for their litter club. This includes monthly auto-shipments of your litter—and monthly auto charges. We’re normally very cautious of auto-ship programs, as they can be difficult to cancel and are occasionally indicative of a questionable business.

However, PrettyLitter is very upfront about their auto-ship program and states that the litter club is intended for convenience. After all, who wants to think about litter each month?

PrettyLitter also states throughout their website that, if you’d like to opt-out of auto-renewals, you can do so anytime through the website or by calling (800) 838-3381. To test out how easy it is to cancel, we gave PrettyLitter a call and were connected to a service representative within one minute and once selection on the call menu.

What Customers Are Saying About PrettyLitter

Scrolling though PrettyLitter’s Facebook comments can give you a major case of the feels, as you read customer comments like the following:

“Pretty Litter is has helped my Oliver yet again. Without this litter I would never have known his UTI is back. Anyone who cares for a cat should have this litter.” Carrie Zrelak on December 17, 2016.

“I want to thank you for this fabulous product! Not only is it truly dustless and odorless, but it helped me detect one of my cats had a UTI long before he would have shown any symptoms. I've told everyone I know about this litter. It's a great invention for cat lovers!” Dee Dee Emry on December 17, 2016.

We went back several weeks and were unable to locate a single customer complaint regarding PrettyLitter’s performance or customer service.

Additionally, several customers wrote to say that they had been previously skeptical, but were very pleased with the product’s lack of dust or odor, as well as its ability to help them track their pet’s health. Multiple other customer comments remark that PrettyLitter allowed them to identify illness early, particularly UT infections.

Finally, the company’s dedication to customer service is immediately visible in their responses to each and every comment and question.

What’s the Bottom Line On PrettyLitter?

It’s rare that we get to write a product review that’s so overwhelmingly positive, but there simply aren’t any criticisms we can find regarding PrettyLitter’s product. Their customer service is responsive, the product itself is helpful, easy to use, and delivers on all of its claims.

PrettyLitter is slightly more expensive than other cat litter brands—although, how much more depends on which alternate product you choose to compare it to.

For example, a month’s supply of Arm & Hammer clumping litter is $12.59, which is half the price of PrettyLitter. Pro-Sense Crystal Silica Litter (which uses the same material, but doesn’t feature color changing illness detection), can be purchased for $9.

However, World’s Best Litter is $23.99 for a month supply—and only boasts of superior odor control. So, again, it’s not the cheapest product on the market, but PrettyLitter does provide a value in line with its cost.

Though, any pet owner who has had to pay to treat a UT infection that’s been allowed to develop to later states, possibly resulting in the need for a transfusion and more drastic treatment, understands the potential for PrettyLitter to help save on vet costs.

With the difference in price in mind, we think PrettyLitter is a worthy investment for cat owners, particularly for those who have an adult cat that’s nearing senior years or is prone to illness, such as UT infections or kidney problems.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

160 Consumer Reviews for PrettyLitter

Average Consumer Rating: 4.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 126 4 star: 8 3 star: 2 2 star: 8 1 star:  16
Bottom Line: 84% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 160
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through.
  • Wonderful product

    • Michigan,
    • May 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am very happy with the product and the customer care. This company is doing wonderful things. No complaints from me, and my cats love the toys that come with the shipments sometimes.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • My favorite litter

    • San Luis Obispo, CA,
    • May 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Low maintenance and kitty loves it! Also, a wonderful and responsive support team to help make sure you get the amount you need. I would definitely recommend using PrettyLitter.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • No "catplaints"

    • Salinas, CA,
    • May 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Buttercup seems ok with PrettyLitter, no dust not much odor.

    I have noticed with the current size box, very large, that the litter started to smell like urine before 23 days and was never very deep nowhere near one inch much less the two inches suggested.

    For the price, I cannot justify using two bags per month.

    When I can find another smaller sized box, I'll be purchasing. I haven't decided on one yet just know it'll be smaller.

    I'm happy that Buttercup is happy.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • So much easier and cleaner

    • Florida,
    • May 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started using PrettyLitter to monitor my cat's health, but I was pleasantly surprised to discover that it is also much cleaner than using standard clumping litter. My house is small (1000 sq ft) and it always smelled like cat litter no matter how much I cleaned. Since using PrettyLitter, I do not detect any smell whatsoever in my home anymore. I also have so much less scooping and overall kitty litter maintenance.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Life-saver

    • Wausau, WI,
    • May 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    PrettyLitter is by far the best cat litter I have ever used. At first, I loved it because my cat adapted to it immediately, it is light, and it doesn't smell even though I have a small apartment.

    For the piece of mind alone it is worth it! My cat is 15 years old, and last summer PrettyLitter turned blue (too alkaline). I am a nurse and I couldn't really see any behavioral indications that there was a problem. I was a bit skeptical, so I waited about two weeks to see if it would clear on its own. I figured that the statistical odds are that in 14 years of life he's likely had another infection and it resolved on its own. I do not recommend waiting, and I will never gamble like that by waiting again! Some infections just need antibiotics, and his body may not clear infections as easily at his age.

    Anyways, I brought him to the vet and the vet felt crystals in his bladder. Being an awesome vet that he is, the combination of feeling the crystals and the alkalinity indication from the PrettyLitter was enough to prescribe the antibiotic. We were able to avoid the additional charges and tests related to the normal best diagnostic practices. I'm not working as a nurse right now, so that was a financial blessing!

    I honestly think that saved my cat's life. I've had to put a cat down before after being unsuccessful in saving him. My son will be devastated when it is time for our current cat to go to heaven. I'm just glad it isn't his time yet!

    Thank you PrettyLitter for keeping our family whole.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Peace of mind

    • Gulf Shores, AL,
    • May 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was worried about my girl CJ having a UTI. I bought PrettyLitter and it turned out she didn't have one. It saved me a trip to vet and a lot of money.

    Good odor control. One bag, one cat, one month. So much better than regular cat litter.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Saved my cat!

    • Newark, Delaware ,
    • May 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Once I noticed my cat's urine turned the litter a dark blue/green, I took him right to the vet. He showed no other symptoms of being sick or uncomfortable, so to their surprise, they found blood/crystals in his urine and bacteria from a bladder infection. Also found out he has Lower Urinary Tract Disease. Thanks to PrettyLitter, my boy is now on antibiotics and a prescription diet to help him manage it all, and it was caught before he was put in much discomfort or a lethal blockage. I couldn't recommend this enough!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    PrettyLitter

    • Northfield, OH,
    • May 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been using PrettyLitter for three months now. My cat loves it! Plus I don't have cat litter tracked through my house. It does last for a whole month. I'm very happy I decided to use PrettyLitter!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    The best cat litter that I've ever used

    This litter is great! It has been life-changing for both my cat, Fritter, and me. It is now almost a pleasure and definitely not a chore to clean/scoop the litter box. Because of how light it is, it is so easy to pour and sweep. Fritter doesn't really track it, but she loves to energetically dig in it, so some does end outside of the cat box. It is so light, it's easy to sweep it and just pour back into the box. I like the fact that it monitors her urinary health. We both love PrettyLitter and give it an enthusiastic paw and thumb up. Free shipping is an added plus!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Low odor, less mess, easy, healthy!

    I was really, REALLY tired of the "clumping" kitty litters that had strong odors (not just kitty waste odors, but masking odors, too!).

    I was worried about my cats' health because they lick their paws, and I was so concerned that they'd eventually get ill from eating too much clumping litter that way.

    We have two Tuxedo Cats, and decided to try PrettyLitter out.

    What a difference! Our two cats took to it right away, and the odors INSTANTLY went down. My house has no "cat waste/kitty litter" odor anymore!

    Cleaning it is so easy, too! We scoop morning and night, and stir the litter for a minute or so, and voila! NOTHING to worry about!

    I also feel relief that if one of our cats becomes ill, several different challenges can be caught early-on by looking at the litter. SO happy!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Easiest litter experience ever

    • Kansas City, MO,
    • May 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    While I appreciate the indicator that there may something amiss in my cat Harry's health in the color changing feature, what I really value more is the light weight of the litter at every stage of use - from delivery, to fill, sift, and replace. I HATED hefting litter from store to home to clumped trash and replaced litter trash. I ABSOLUTELY LOVE this product because it weighs no more than a small bag of flour, comes straight to my door, leaves very little sifted trash to dispose of, and replacement too weighs very little! I do use two bags each month for my cat's large litter box.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 160

Write a Review for PrettyLitter!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review