Sani Sticks Reviews

Sani Sticks

Overall Rating

1.4

28 Customer Reviews

Summary

Sani Sticks are sanitation sticks that allegedly help clear and prevent drains and stop unwanted odors when placed into your drain once per month. Learn how customers are rating this product.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

1.4 Stars out of 28 Reviews
5 Star:7% 4 Star:3% 3 Star:0% 2 Star:0% 1 Star:89%
14% Recommend This Product
Start your review of Sani Sticks:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Jul 3, 2020

So disappointed

By Steven M., South Central, PA, Verified Reviewer

We put Sani Sticks in our drains every 4-6 weeks thinking we were doing the right thing. But I started noticing the bathroom sink was draining slower and slower. So I decided to get this plastic thing with barbs on the sides designed to hook the clog so you can pull it out. When I used it I got a big wad of hair tangled up with 5 big yellow worms that used to be Sani Sticks. Save your money.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Their flashy advertising

The sticks don't dissolve

They don't even go down the drain

Wasted my time and money

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 14, 2020

Melted on my hand

By Nancy M., Atoka, OK, Verified Reviewer

I used the Stick in my bathtub and it seemed to work. Three days later I saw a blue residue around the drain and I put my hand down to remove it. I had forgotten the Stick was blue. Gummy and very soapy, when I remembered the Stick, very scary. On the package only info about eyes and mouth. Washed my hand for 10 minutes and let water run for 5 more minutes. I hope my hand is okay. Why no warning about potential back-up with chemical residue?

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 13, 2019

Wouldn't buy them again!

By Velma H., Oklahoma, Verified Reviewer

Well, I saw it on TV, so thought I would give them a try! Bought some at Walmart. Well, my husband put them down our kitchen sink. Within few days our sink was stopped up! Had to pay someone to come out and unstop it! I put one in a cup of water and it just got a really gummy feeling! I wouldn't tell anyone to buy them!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 15, 2019

Sani not-so-hot Sticks

By James S., West Milton, OH, Verified Reviewer

We attempted to use Sani Sticks. However, we usually use cold water. When the Sani Sticks seemed to fail, we put in another...and another. Soon our drain was clogged up with Sani Sticks. Apparently, they may work as a prevention if you use boiling hot water...maybe.

The device I used pulled out several of the Sticks but the others are still clogging.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 18 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 19, 2019

Sani Sticks

By Sarah C., Montgomery, AL, Verified Reviewer

In my experience, they do not work. During a stay in an upscale hotel in NC recently, our room began to smell like a sewer. Later, a downstairs hallway smelled even worse. Hotel maintenance staff put Sani Sticks in our sink and in the shower. They did nothing! It only got worse as our stay wore on. We had no option. We were at a convention in the hotel and the hotel was booked solid. Others complained about the smell, too. Don't waste your money! Baking soda and vinegar work better.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 21 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 8, 2019

Not worth the headache

By Rachael H., Birmingham, AL, Verified Reviewer

Roommate bought these unknowing to me and put them down my bathroom and kitchen sinks. I've noticed the kitchen sink slowly backing up and the bathroom is completely blocked. Thought they were doing a good thing to keep smelling it. But I use eight bleach and Pine-Sole cleaning the house, it wasn't needed. Now I have to hire a plumber to come to clean them out. Liquid fire and plunger not working.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 21 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 22, 2019

Worse than junk

By Sharon Y., Marietta, GA, Verified Reviewer

Just cost me $224 to pay a plumber to unclog my sink and what he got out was undissolved Sani Sticks turned to a chewing gum like substance that clogged my sink. I do not recommend this product and wish I had never used them. Will not make this mistake again!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 43 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 27, 2019

Sani Stick scam

By Celine N., Mokena, IL, Verified Reviewer

I tried the Sani Sticks per the commercial review. It has cost me $550 to fix my plumbing because the sticks are a no-do. They do not help unclog your sink; they clog them. Per my plumber, the worst idea yet. I WANT MY MONEY BACK. For $9.99 per pack, rip off big time.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 43 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 18, 2019

DON’T BELIEVE IT!

By Kathy H., Atlanta, GA, Verified Reviewer

I only gave it a "1" because "0" is not available. The Sani Sticks are misrepresented. They do NOT dissolve and actually clog your pipes. It took me a few years using them to find out it is the Sani Sticks that is the problem. I regret spending all that money on a scam.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 41 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 23, 2019

They don't work!

By Leila F., Wisconsin, Verified Reviewer

I bought a pack of 60 orange Sani Sticks in July of 2017 from seeing a commercial on HSN for $19.95, which I thought was a deal, no tax, and no shipping and handling. After I got them I put one down in the drain every month in my bathroom sink drain until the odor went away and the drain would stop being sluggish, it took about three months.

Every time the pipes would start stinking I’d put one down for about three months to stop the smell and unclog my sluggish drain. Little did I know that they were just collecting in our pipes and not dissolving at all. My husband just today took the pipe out and found all the Sani sticks that I’d put in the drain, almost 12 months’ worth. They had swollen into a sponge-like mess that backed up in the pipe until no water would drain out. Several of them had broken into small pieces that hadn't dissolved.

Don’t waste your money - they don’t work, they don’t dissolve even though the description says that they are all natural and are biodegradable, they’re supposed to be "drain cleaning and sanitation sticks specially created to stop greasy buildup, and even dissolves hair, food, organic deposits, and other things. These sticks are so concentrated that can effectively prevent your drains from clogging" but THEY AREN’T, THEY DON’T! Since I bought them almost two years ago, I have to eat the $19.95 I spent to get five packs of 12 sticks each of orange scented Sani Sticks. WHAT A RIP OFF!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 49 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 21, 2019

I love them

By Jennifer C., Marysville, CA, Verified Reviewer

I have found that they do help with keeping drains cleaner and as a result smell, which can occur when things are just hanging out in your drain. I have not found any increased plumbing problems with their use. Like I said, I really like them. A four-star review only because they can be hard to find locally.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 19, 2019

Maybe they work

By Larry P., Whiting, LA, Verified Reviewer

I am unable to remove the stick from packaging without breaking into pieces using scissors or a utility knife.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 24 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 19, 2018

Another scam

By James W., Gig Harbor, WA, Verified Reviewer

I ordered their drain sticks and made the mistake of accepting one of their "gifts". Suddenly the shipping charge increased to more than the original order. A dishonest company out to rip you off. Stay away.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 39 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 10, 2018

Unsatisfaction of the product

By Rita C., Lady Lake, FL, Verified Reviewer

Rather than the advertised Sani Sticks keeping my drains clear, my drains kept clogging up worse than before the use of this product. A complete waste of $9.99 plus tax. I would not recommend this product.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 31 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 17, 2018

Terrible!

By Dotty J., New York, Verified Reviewer

This is the worst product EVER! I never had drain problems like this. I used them twice and they totally plugged by drain BAD! I took alot of Drano and plunging to get the drain to open up, thought I would have to call a plumber. Don't pay them, you will be sorry!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 31 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 14, 2018

Junk product

By Ron B., Nevada, Verified Reviewer

Sani Sticks break easily, and once broken, Sani Sticks wash right down the drain and do not remain within the drain trap. It’s like dumping money down the drain. Most packages that are on store shelves are broken in two or more pieces. Plus, after placing lemon scented sticks in the drain and leaving them overnight in a closed bathroom as a test to see if there would be a noticeable fresh scent in the morning, I found no scent. Also, we went away for three days and I expected to smell lemon scent throughout our home after we came back and there was absolutely no lemony scent. Do not buy.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 29 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 30, 2018

This is a crappy product - don't buy it!

By Bruce N., Paradise, CA, Verified Reviewer

My wife purchased one box of the Sani Sticks 360 at Kmart to see if the TV advertisements were all they claimed to be. She used the entire box of 24 sticks in her bathroom sink. The sticks DID NOT keep her sink from closing up. The sticks DID NOT give off any lemon-scented odor at any time. A total waste of money. Do not buy this product.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 36 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 12, 2018

Sani Sticks are a terrible product!

By Judith F., Ohio, Verified Reviewer

I purchased two packages of Sani Sticks. I used them according to directions for four months and my kitchen drains clogged. I hired a plumber to snake the drains and found that the Sani Sticks were the problem as they were a messy glob. Expensive lesson. I would NEVER RECOMMEND this product to anyone! I still have a partially used package but do not have my order number.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 47 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 6, 2018

Plugged drains

By Richard Grossmeyer, New Berlin, WI, Verified Reviewer

After using Sani Sticks for six months in my bathroom sink, the drain was clogged. I took the trap off, and all six sticks were in it. I removed them and the drain works fine now. I threw the rest away. Do not buy these, they are a waste of money.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 50 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 19, 2018

Sani Sticks sounded like a good idea, BUT!

By Fran Helland, Alberta, Canada, Verified Reviewer

I saw the ad on TV and thought it sounded like a great idea so bought some a few weeks ago. What a disappointment! There was the faintest smell from one of the drains of the supposed lemon scent, but it didn't last long. That particular drain seemed to take even longer to drain with the Sani Stick inside it until I ran a lot of hot water down there, which made some improvement. I am not sure about using the remaining sticks at this point. I am rapidly thinking they are a waste of money ($17.99 Canadian). Maybe someone else has a more positive experience!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 47 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 6, 2017

Love this product

By Gale O, New Jersey, Verified Reviewer

My sink had a foul-smelling odor every time the water was run in the bathroom sink. I purchase Sani Sticks. I don't even remember how much I paid, but it wasn't much though. I came home and put them in, ran water, and the smell was gone. It has been about six weeks the smell has not come back. The water runs down the drain a lot better than it did before I used them. I have them in all of my drains. Love this product.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 26 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 10, 2017

Horrible

By Janet Fritts, Oklahoma, Verified Reviewer

We paid about $10 for a package of these. Within a day or two, a horrible smell came wafting out of every sink we used them in. The rest will go in the trash. Don't waste your money on these stink sticks.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 45 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 11, 2017

Complete rip off - will cost you more than doing nothing

By George Wehnert, Haskell, NJ, Verified Reviewer

These things should be taken off the market. I had been using them for a slow drain (which kept getting worse) until it stopped up completely. A plumber's bill later to snake the drain, I now have a free-flowing drain and a jumble of softened, twisted Sani Sticks that never dissolved. My guess is they are meant to give off the pleasant odor for a few days to make you think they work, then soften and make their way down the drain to make you think they have dissolved.

Save your money as these are worse than useless and will cost you more than doing nothing as they will clog your drain and force you to clean your drain earlier.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 73 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 20, 2017

Bad product

By Rose Kiziah, North Carolina, Verified Reviewer

I thought Sani Sticks would be the greatest thing invented. I realized, however, that they are actually stopping my drain up because all they do is collapse and curl up like a little snake and stay in the bottom of my drain. I've been putting one down for about six months, and well, today, when I took my piping apart, there's six sticks still intact and caught in my drain. Besides that, all they did was make my drain almost completely charcoal black.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 90 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 13, 2016

Like them

By Shannon, Shelton, NE, Verified Reviewer

The Sani Sticks work great. Would use them again and again if I needed to.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 21 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 15, 2016

Sani Stik Ripoff

By Wallace, Louisiana, Verified Reviewer

I bought a pack and dropped one in a drain that had an odor and a week later nothing changed. Put a piece of PVC on an elbow to simulate drain trap. It appears that after they get wet they get soft and collapse and as soon as you run water the go straight down the drain. Doesn't take long to collapse so there's no way they could last a month in the trap. Total rip off.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 78 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 28, 2016

Did not work

By Tammi , Erie, PA

I tried these for my bath tub which gets clogged a lot. It only made it worse. Not worth buying!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 190 People Have Voted
Showing 1-27 of 28

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.