SmileDirectClub

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
SmileDirectClub

Overall Rating

3.3

664 Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Summary

SmileDirectClub promises to give you a straighter smile within six months of wearing its customizable aligners. While this procedure can straighten teeth for some people, it has limitations compared to traditional braces.

Pros

  • More cost-effective than braces
  • Many positive customer success stories
  • Simple pricing plan, often covered by insurance
  • Faster results than traditional braces

Cons

  • Only works for mild to moderate tooth issues
  • Didn’t work for everyone
  • Some customer complaints about quality, receiving the wrong aligners
  • You won’t undergo comprehensive medical testing beforehand as you would with traditional dental procedures

Customer Reviews

3.3 Stars out of 664 Reviews
5 Star:50% 4 Star:4% 3 Star:1% 2 Star:6% 1 Star:36%
56% Recommend This Company
Start your review of SmileDirectClub:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Oct 21, 2021

My Smile Guide Ashley showed me the way

By Brooke G., King of Prussia, PA, Verified Reviewer

The consultation with Ashley was enjoyable - she is very professional, knowledgeable, and fun. SmileDirectClub is a very efficient process of straightening teeth, and I do look forward to beginning the process. The way they visualize your teeth in their software is fascinating, and very assuring that the smile adjusting process will be comfortable, professional, and precise.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

They make it efficient yet easy to straighten teeth

Fun commercials

Affordable, reasonable price

No “cons” were specified in this review

Company Response from Smile Direct Club

Oct 22, 2021

Wow! This means a lot to us, Brooke. We sure are proud of both our team and the technology we use in order to give our customers a cost-effective and convenient option. Thank you so much for your kind words of support.

Posted on Oct 21, 2021

I’m smiling already!

By Danielle C., Toronto, Ontario, Canada, Verified Reviewer

Max was a pleasure to meet and talk with. He answered all my questions and didn’t make me feel rushed in any way. I feel more confident already!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Friendly staff

No charge for the consultation

30 days to decide, with a full refund

No “cons” were specified in this review

Company Response from Smile Direct Club

Oct 22, 2021

Hi Danielle, thank you for your kind review. We are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at SmileDirectClub!

Posted on Oct 19, 2021

Interested in the $25 incentive for the "free scan?"

By Jennifer H., Belton, MO, Verified Reviewer

After purchasing their at-home whitening kit and liking my results, I became interested in the aligners. I saw the $25 incentive and free swag and thought, "Great! I'll make an extra trip to Overland Park."

Cat met with me, gave me the swag stuff, then canceled the scan despite being explicitly told that I was anticipating the gift card and I was interested in the procedure in the future. I wanted to see what my teeth would look like, but since the technician seemed interested in skipping it, I didn't press. She went over payments and financing with me, and then the company refused to give me the $25 gift card because I wasn't scanned, even though I drove 30 minutes out of my way to get scanned.

Personally, I don't think they give out the gift cards. I think it's a scam to get you to the appointment. At first, they were all but accusing me of lying about showing up, then today, they switched their story to "you went, but because she didn't scan you, it doesn't count." Can you imagine putting a potential thousand-dollar sale through this hassle? Do not trust this company with something as important as your teeth if they can't even be honest about $25.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Deceptive

Unprofessional

Company Response from Smile Direct Club

Oct 21, 2021

Hi Jennifer. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We're concerned to hear about your experience. If you have any issues, feel free to send us an email at reviews@smiledirectclub.com so that we can assist further. Best.

Posted on Sep 22, 2021

SmileDirectClub

By Eldin R., Brooklyn, NY, Verified Reviewer

The customer service is great and super helpful. I was helped by Annabel who was great and really made the appointment super simple and fun.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The price

How simple and easy the process is

The convenience of getting everything at once

No “cons” were specified in this review

Company Response from Smile Direct Club

Sep 22, 2021

Hi Eldin, thank you so much for your positive comments about SmileDirectClub!

Posted on Sep 11, 2021

Ripoff

By Audrei G., Michigan, Verified Reviewer

SmileDirect is a complete ripoff!

When I received my aligners they did not fit (well, the bottom ones did but that’s it). I contacted them, kind of got the runaround, then finally they stated oh, well, we can set up a video chat with one of our dentists, specialists, or whoever was in charge of possibly making corrections so they could see what was needed. No one called.

I reached back out and they stated ok, we see the problem (I seen in photos as they requested.) It took forever to get the new ones and they were worse than the first pair. Did not fit whatsoever. It was like they were for baby teeth.

I contacted them again angry. Days later someone calls and states that she has seen my photos and that the top one is supposed to fit that way! Mind you the top ones didn’t “snap” in place, had a huge space between the bottom of my tooth and the aligners, and since the aligners didn’t fit on my teeth properly, it caused the top part to cut the inside of my lip. So how can that possibly be how they are supposed to fit?

She told me to get dental wax to prevent them from cutting. Are you serious? That’s your answer to the whole situation?

I kept reaching out and reaching out and reaching out - pure silence. This was over 4-5 months ago. They have no problem with taking your money. It’s crazy that I’m still expected to pay when you guys did not provide the service. Out of the whole ordeal, I was only able to wear week 1 bottom aligners. Really?

Great job SmileDirect! Not to mention the quality of the aligners are also trash. I’m convinced 90% of the good views are paid for.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Posted on Sep 9, 2021

Aligners

By Casanova C., Vacaville, CA, Verified Reviewer

My name is C.C. and I am giving this feedback. My appointment went fantastic. Roberto was a perfect representative for the company, I give him 10 out of 10. I would recommend this to family and friends. The pricing is great, you have two options - paying the full amount or monthly payments. SmileDirect is a company that I enjoy establishing with and once again I would recommend it to family and friends. I also enjoy the convenience of the pop-up locations.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

How easy it is to X-ray our teeth

How fast the appointment went

Great representatives

No “cons” were specified in this review

Company Response from Smile Direct Club

Sep 9, 2021

Wow! This means a lot to us, Casanova. We sure are proud of both our team and the technology we use in order to give our customers a cost-effective and convenient option. Thank you so much for your kind words of support.

Posted on Aug 27, 2021

New smile

By Sharon U., Merritt Island, FL, Verified Reviewer

They are always there to help you and answer questions. You will enjoy your new smile, all it takes is some work on your part. Wear the aligners as scheduled. You will be glad you did. I wear my retainers at night only now. Thank you SmileDirectClub.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Smile Direct Club

Sep 8, 2021

Thank you again for taking the time to share a review! We truly appreciate the support.

Posted on Aug 27, 2021

So very easy and fast!

By Melissa W., Brighton, CO, Verified Reviewer

I love how easy getting my smile is going to be! Love the reminders for changing out the aligners! Really don’t like this review process.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Smile Direct Club

Sep 8, 2021

We're so happy to see this review. Thank you so much!

Posted on Aug 27, 2021

Amazing

By Beth S., Cincinnati, OH, Verified Reviewer

Started out with fangs on top and a crocked mess on the bottom and ended up with a beautiful smile. I couldn’t be any more thrilled with the results! Thanks SmileDirectClub for giving me a confident and beautiful smile!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Smile Direct Club

Sep 8, 2021

This is exactly what we're here for, Beth! Thank you so much.

Posted on Jul 28, 2021

Convenient and hassle free

By Katrise P., New Orleans, LA, Verified Reviewer

Scheduled a Saturday appointment in NOLA. The staff was friendly and professional. Tatyiana was really friendly and comprehensive. I would recommend SDC to everyone.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Short treatment

Good price

No office visits

No “cons” were specified in this review

Company Response from Smile Direct Club

Jul 28, 2021

Katrise, we're delighted to read your review!

Posted on Jul 10, 2021

Smile Shop visit in Lancaster, PA

By Krzysztof G., Lancaster, PA, Verified Reviewer

I had a great experience at the Lancaster, Pennsylvania location. The process was streamlined from start to finish. Karen answered all my questions, concerns, and was very knowledgeable.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Streamlined

Friendly staff

Convenient

No “cons” were specified in this review

Company Response from Smile Direct Club

Jul 10, 2021

Thanks so much for the review! We work hard to make sure every customer has the best experience in the best environment, and we are happy to see that reflected in this review.

Showing 23-33 of 664

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.