SmileDirectClub

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
SmileDirectClub

Overall Rating

3.3

664 Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Summary

SmileDirectClub promises to give you a straighter smile within six months of wearing its customizable aligners. While this procedure can straighten teeth for some people, it has limitations compared to traditional braces.

Pros

  • More cost-effective than braces
  • Many positive customer success stories
  • Simple pricing plan, often covered by insurance
  • Faster results than traditional braces

Cons

  • Only works for mild to moderate tooth issues
  • Didn’t work for everyone
  • Some customer complaints about quality, receiving the wrong aligners
  • You won’t undergo comprehensive medical testing beforehand as you would with traditional dental procedures

Customer Reviews

3.3 Stars out of 664 Reviews
5 Star:50% 4 Star:4% 3 Star:1% 2 Star:6% 1 Star:36%
56% Recommend This Company
Start your review of SmileDirectClub:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Jan 7, 2022

Great appointment at SmileDirectClub shop in Brooklyn, excited for experience with aligners

By Kelly C., Brooklyn, NY, Verified Reviewer

Amazing experience with SmileDirectClub so far! This program is 60% cheaper than braces and the customer service is consistent and positive. My appointment at the SmileDirectClub shop in Brooklyn on Atlantic Avenue was by far the best and most efficient dental appointment I’ve had. I had my teeth 3D scanned and they sent it to my new doctor to start my treatment plan right away.

Ayesha was the person that helped me and she was friendly, knowledgeable, and helped me through the appointment. From the minute I walked in, Ayesha was attentive and kind, she walked me through what the appointment and process with my aligners will look like, and made my experience better! Genesis also helped me with my 3D scan. The staff at this location are trustworthy, and I am glad I chose to do the initial appointment here. Ayesha made my experience better than expected and I’m excited to start using my aligners after this appointment!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Excellent customer service

Less expensive than Invisalign

Convenient tele-health visits

No “cons” were specified in this review

Company Response from Smile Direct Club

Jan 8, 2022

Hi there, Kelly. Thank you for this awesome review!

Posted on Dec 28, 2021

Terrible service, lied to that an orthodontist was treating me when it was a general dentist and now have an open bite

By Aswin K., Silver Spring, MD, Verified Reviewer

I now have an open bite post-treatment and learned today that the dentist that is "treating" me is in Arizona. I will be contacting the DC Dental Board regarding her license and the Dental Board in Arizona and Maryland also as I am a resident of MD.

I have been given nothing but the runaround and been told that I have to pay for this open bite. I will not. This is bad care, and bad treatment, and absolutely does not fall within the standards for clinically acceptable care. Let me stress again, I DID NOT start with an open bite! I wanted the diastema between my #8 and #9 closed, that's all. Now I'm being asked to pay for bad care, cannot speak with the dentist, have an "Allison" pretending to be Amanda G and I want this fixed and to not be billed for bad work!

I will pursue this to the end and enlist as many lawyers to deal with this. How convenient that SDC put no arbitration in their consent forms; that can be worked around. Mark my words. SmileDirect is a bad company and not worth the money.

Also, why is a general dentist signing off on orthodontic cases? This is illegal. Dentists usually post their licenses in their offices, yet we can't see Amanda G's saying what her credentials really are. Stop calling me to pay for an open bite YOU CAUSED.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Their attempts to dupe customers with a dentist that is a general dentist doing Ortho, which she's not licensed to do

Lying to customers about where their dentist was, she's not in MD

Getting billed when my case was not poorly, I will not pay for work that disfigured my face, caused my pain and suffering in my jaws and life

Company Response from Smile Direct Club

Dec 28, 2021

Hi Aswin. We are very sorry for all the inconvenience. Please contact us via email at reviews@smiledirectclub.com and we will do everything we can to assist you.

Posted on Dec 5, 2021

Terrible service

By Cheryl H., Columbus, OH, Verified Reviewer

Never received the retainers that I ordered three times within the same year. I even ordered three so that I would not have to go for a long time to even get the retainers. I ordered in July, which reps said would take two weeks has come and gone. I am now on October's order, still have not received the retainer. Now I am again calling on 11/24 and the rep does not know what happened to the order. I so wish I could find someone who could just make my retainers.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Smile Direct Club

Dec 6, 2021

Hi Cheryl, We are very sorry for all the inconvenience. Please contact us via email at reviews@smiledirectclub.com and we will do everything we can to assist you.

Posted on Dec 5, 2021

Buyer beware!

By Jacqueline B., Cincinnati, OH, Verified Reviewer

I used SmileDirectClub aligners to try and correct a crooked tooth on my lower front teeth and to straighten my overall smile.

My first set of aligners came and I was very happy with the ease and limited contact this service provides but just a few sets into my treatment that changed. The aligners are cheaply made and some sets fit well while others are jagged and dug into my gums, making them painful and sore. It got so bad that I went to change into my new set one day and they simply didn’t fit.

I went back and the did a complimentary rescan and in a few weeks I got a new treatment plan with new aligners. I wore every set like I was supposed to and got to my last set and my teeth had not been corrected at all.

I went in for a 3rd scan and they have a new treatment plan for me but here is what they don’t tell you. These can hurt your teeth, I have 2 new chips on my lower teeth because my bite has changed and I think the way my teeth hit has caused this breakage. My gums have receded in several places, I think from wearing these every day for such long hours. I also have a hard callous on my outer gum from where they rubbed every day. And lastly, I think there is a crack in a lower front tooth from the stress they put on my teeth.

I have declined the next treatment plan, which was going to be for 8 months, and am going to my dentist to see what they can do to help me.

Beware – they will not refund your money if your problem is not corrected, no matter what they tell you in the office. My teeth are worse today, 6 months after starting, and I wished I had never used this product. I am 51 and during Covid I wanted the limited contact but that was a huge mistake.

This is an inferior product and very expensive to get no results and no help from customer service. Just be careful when you deal with them: they take your money and leave you damaged.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Low contact during Covid

Promise to straighten my teeth

The product did not work and made my teeth worse

They offer no refund

I will need to have more expensive work done to my teeth

Posted on Dec 4, 2021

Loved Tom at King of Prussia branch

By Rachel G., King of Prussia, PA, Verified Reviewer

Tom and the King of Prussia branch really made me feel comfortable and made me smile the whole way through the appointment. I can't wait to get a better smile. Thank you.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Friendliness

Inexpensive

At-home service

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Nov 25, 2021

Excellent service

By Natalee Jade C., Denver, CO, Verified Reviewer

Hands down an amazing experience. Was able to easily book an appointment and find a store near me. The crew members that I got to consult with (Rainy and Niki) went above and beyond. Very friendly, professional, and made sure I left with all the information, and my cute gift bag.

I can’t wait to see what my smile will look like after my plan, designed specifically for me. Extremely excited to be a part of the club and see my progression pictures.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Friendliness

Professionalism

Convenience

No “cons” were specified in this review

Company Response from Smile Direct Club

Nov 26, 2021

Hi there, Natalee. Thank you for this awesome review!

Posted on Nov 24, 2021

Great experience

By Julie L., Sacramento, CA, Verified Reviewer

Would like to give a shout-out to James at the Sacramento office. He was so great and made the experience so much more enjoyable. He was just so pleasant and positive to talk to...a breath of fresh air!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Professional

Quick

Affordable

No “cons” were specified in this review

Company Response from Smile Direct Club

Nov 24, 2021

Hi there, Julie. Thank you for this awesome review!

Posted on Nov 23, 2021

Great service

By Marc W., Scottsdale, AZ, Verified Reviewer

Michele was the person that took care of me and she was AWESOME. She went through the whole procedure and told me all I needed to know about SmileDirectClub. She made my visit very relaxing and she was nice enough to remove her mask so I could lip read and understand her better.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Awesome service by Michelle

No long wait

Very clean office

No “cons” were specified in this review

Company Response from Smile Direct Club

Nov 23, 2021

Hi Marc, thank you so much for your positive comments about SmileDirectClub!

Posted on Oct 23, 2021

Great service!

By Brittany F., Calgary, Alberta, Canada, Verified Reviewer

I made an appointment but when I got to the location they did not have anything in the system. The team went above and beyond to try and help and get me in. They were great and got me in right away! Sadaf was my Smile Guide and was very professional and easy to talk to! Very satisfied.

Thank you!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

People

Service

No “cons” were specified in this review

Company Response from Smile Direct Club

Oct 25, 2021

We're so happy to see this review. Thank you so much!

Posted on Oct 22, 2021

I was pleasantly surprised

By Michael C., San Diego, CA, Verified Reviewer

I didn’t expect that SDC was for me, but since the visit was free, I stopped into the office, and Jocelyn showed me how SDC works. I kind of thought that if I used them, I’d be out on my own. She showed me how actual dentists look at the scans of my teeth and oversee the process. And she explained that I could come to the office if I felt like I needed help, and dental assistants and dentists would be able to give me whatever help I need. It made me feel better because if my aligners don’t fit right, or have a rough edge or something, there’s a team that can help me on the phone, online, or in person.

So now, I see that this might be a good match for me, by getting the aligners mailed to me, but having help available when I need it. The visit changed my opinion on getting aligners sent by mail, so I’d recommend to people wondering about it, that if they go into an SDC office, they can get some good answers to their questions and concerns.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

My “smile guide” Jocelyn

Modern equipment

Clean and safe

No “cons” were specified in this review

Company Response from Smile Direct Club

Oct 23, 2021

Hi there, Michael. Thank you for this awesome review!

Posted on Oct 21, 2021

Love my smile

By Stephen M., Laguna Niguel, CA, Verified Reviewer

Chenell is the best. Thank you for taking care of my smile today. She took her time to handle all of my concerns. I highly recommend SmileDirectClub.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Friendly

Professional

Timely

No “cons” were specified in this review

Company Response from Smile Direct Club

Oct 22, 2021

Hi Stephen, we strive for 100% satisfaction, and it's always our goal to give customers an informative and exciting experience. Thank you so much.

Showing 12-22 of 664

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.