SmileDirectClub

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
SmileDirectClub

Overall Rating

3.1

600 Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Summary

SmileDirectClub promises to give you a straighter smile within six months of wearing its customizable aligners. While this procedure can straighten teeth for some people, it has limitations compared to traditional braces.

Pros

  • More cost-effective than braces
  • Many positive customer success stories
  • Simple pricing plan, often covered by insurance
  • Faster results than traditional braces

Cons

  • Only works for mild to moderate tooth issues
  • Didn’t work for everyone
  • Some customer complaints about quality, receiving the wrong aligners
  • You won’t undergo comprehensive medical testing beforehand as you would with traditional dental procedures

Customer Reviews

3.1 Stars out of 600 Reviews
5 Star:47% 4 Star:4% 3 Star:2% 2 Star:7% 1 Star:38%
53% Recommend This Company
Start your review of SmileDirectClub:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Nov 3, 2020

Awesome!

By Ben S., Verified Reviewer

SmileDirectClub makes it super affordable and it's way less of a hassle than traditional braces. My SmileGuide, Ana, was great. She walked me through the plan and now I am excited to see the end results.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Affordability

Easy-to-use

Great service

No “cons” were specified in this review

Company Response from Smile Direct Club

Nov 4, 2020

Ben, we're proud of our team - thank you so much for the shout out!

Posted on Oct 27, 2020

#5 Bus in Abilene, Texas

By Arthur L., Abilene, TX, Verified Reviewer

I love the appointment I had with Diana and Billie Jo. They were very nice and told me all the info that I needed to know, I didn't have to ask any questions. It also felt like we were friends, like we've known each other all of our life, LOL. I will be using their service and I would recommend them to friends, family, and strangers. Thank you for your great service, Diana. Bus number 5 is the best.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Price

Service

Quality

Helpfulness

No “cons” were specified in this review

Company Response from Smile Direct Club

Oct 28, 2020

Arthur, we're proud of our team - thank you so much for the shout out!

Posted on Oct 26, 2020

Where is my money?

By Elicia S., Havelock, NC, Verified Reviewer

This has been the worst experience I’ve had in regards to customer service.

I received my Invisalign and everything was great until I no longer had a use for it and they informed me I would be able to send the ones I didn’t use back and get refunded. So I called almost 4 months ago to receive a refund in exchange for the Invisalign I was no longer using. I confirmed with the operator that they would refund me back the money on my card. A few days pass and I see no refund. I call back and they tell me they’ve put it on my OLD card even though I told them it was inactive. They informed me their policy is to put it on the card that I purchased the Invisalign with. So even though it told them that card was inactive and I was paying them with a NEW card I had for months, they still chose to put it on the old card. Which I had no idea they were going to do. I assumed they would put it on my current card that I had been paying them monthly for months.

They told me I must speak to my bank to confirm I did not receive the payment. So I did. Back and forth for 3 months with SmileDirect because of their mistake. So many lies spewing out of their mouths. Probably 10 different people I spoke to. Telling me they would refund me on my current card. Once again, still no refund.

I call back to let them know I see no refund STILL. At this point, I’m so frustrated that I’m just crying on the phone. Finally, they tell me they will Venmo it to me. I’m so happy and I thank them for everything. A few days pass, and nothing. No refund. I call them back and they tell me they have no notes of this Venmo refund. Therefore, it was never processed. Jordan D, supposedly a Supervisor in the resolution department, then told me my issue was that my card was inactive...something I figured out and thought to be corrected weeks ago with them. I asked to speak to someone above him because he clearly was lost and only had information from about a month ago and he told me I need to wait 48 hours for someone higher than him to call back. He was not able to give me his last name or tell me what happened to my information with the Venmo account I gave them a week prior. He also said he doesn’t have a supervisor number, which I found odd, so I just got Jordan D, he said he’s the only Jordan there so if I speak on our conversation to a manager they would know who he was.

So everyone I have spoken to has done nothing but lie to me about my refund and gave me the runaround. They kept saying they have spoken to their manager and higher ups and my refund will be here soon over and over again but I have nothing. No money back from them. No Invisalign. Absolutely nothing. Now I have to email and contact more people for a simple refund back from them that I truly believe will never come because all they do is lie about giving back the money. This is by far the worst experience out of every company I have ever purchased anything from. No one at this company either is genuine or truthful that I have spoken to, or simply are not qualified or trained in the jobs that they are obtaining. They are all over their places with notes and communication with each other and their customers. My husband and I are appalled at the level of incompetence displayed by many of the staff members. I just want my money back and for their staff to be properly trained. This is truly an embarrassment to the company and I hope they screen and hire more qualified and competent people to address any situations or issues at hand.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Terrible vertical and horizontal communication

Knowledge level

Reliability

Company Response from Smile Direct Club

Oct 27, 2020

Hi Elicia, thank you for taking the time to leave us with this feedback and provide us with this information. We are concerned to hear this as we want to help all club members to have a comfortable and easy process with any request. In order for us to further assist, please reach out to us directly at reviews@smiledirectclub.com. Best, Jeff.

Posted on Oct 24, 2020

Awesome experience with Natalie in Columbus

By Paul R., Columbus, OH, Verified Reviewer

Enjoyed my visit with SmileDirect in Columbus. Natalie was fantastic, nice, and beyond helpful. She took her time to explain the process and make sure all my questions were answered.

Much appreciated!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Friendly

Easy

Cost-effective

No “cons” were specified in this review

Company Response from Smile Direct Club

Oct 26, 2020

Paul, thank you so much for taking the time to share! We truly appreciate seeing this on our page.

Posted on Oct 23, 2020

Grinning from ear to ear

By Tashira R., dadiva84@ymail.com, Verified Reviewer

I had a wonderful experience getting my son’s 3D scan with Sarai. The SmileDirect experience was quick, straightforward, and very informative. Tyler was also very helpful. They were professional and attentive to us as customers.

Sarai made my son feel very comfortable with the entire process. She spoke to me but she also spoke to him as a person and not just a kid. This will, after all, be his teeth journey. He was so excited that he came up with a whole plan on how he would improve his daily dental routine.

We are both excited for him to start this aligner process and we can’t wait to see the results.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Ease of process

Comfort level

Time

No “cons” were specified in this review

Company Response from Smile Direct Club

Oct 23, 2020

Wow! This means a lot to us, Tashira. We sure are proud of both our team and the technology we use in order to give our customers a cost-effective and convenient option. Thank you so much for your kind words of support.

Posted on Oct 21, 2020

First appointment - excellent impression

By Meredith R., Burlington, Ontario, Canada, Verified Reviewer

I had my appointment with Neha from Brampton Smile Shop. Neha was very friendly, professional, and made the entire initial process both comfortable and easy to understand. I'm really looking forward to getting my aligners and I'm very happy that my appointment was with her.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Friendly

Professional

Easy to understand entire process

No “cons” were specified in this review

Company Response from Smile Direct Club

Oct 22, 2020

Meredith, we're proud of our team – thank you so much for the shout out!

Posted on Oct 15, 2020

Horrible customer experience

By Patricia A., California, Verified Reviewer

I had the most horrible experience with Samantha on Bus 2 in Temecula. This was my second time and I was pretty much ready to buy this time, but not once I encountered this young lady. When she said "are you Patricia" and I said "yes," then she says "you've been here before right," I told her "yes," she said "fill this out, and I'm going to need your credit card" straight from the beginning, but she already had attitude, so there was no way I was going to give her my credit info. I explained to her that I had gotten some work done and then gone to an orthodontist who said I was not a candidate and she says "you are, here's your last reading, you just wanna look at those" with attitude. Long story short, I still yet to receive my plan. I do want to buy them but just not from her.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Cheaper than braces

Convenient

Attitude

Rudeness

Company Response from Smile Direct Club

Oct 20, 2020

Hi Patricia, thank you for taking the time to leave us with this feedback. We are concerned to hear this as we want every SmileShop or SmileBus experience to be fun, informative, and friendly. I will be passing this feedback along to the local team for coaching and development. If we can be of further assistance, please reach out to us directly at reviews@smiledirectclub.com so we can further assist. Best, Jeff.

Posted on Oct 13, 2020

Excellent experience

By Maritza M., Temecula, CA, Verified Reviewer

It was a pleasant experience - friendly, professional service! Highly recommend! Awesome 3D technology was quick and easy without any discomfort. I was really impressed with the whole experience.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Quick process

Friendly professional staff

Awesome 3D technology

No “cons” were specified in this review

Company Response from Smile Direct Club

Oct 15, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and putting a smile on our face!

Posted on Oct 1, 2020

Best experience ever imagined

By Rodney A., Tampa, FL, Verified Reviewer

My daughter had a great experience and her teeth are beautiful. So I had to see what all of the hype was about from my daughter. I decided to work on my smile so the appointment made was easy and seamless. The consult during my appointment was helpful and ensuring; and all of this while the technician walked me through and asked my history and what I wanted and then shared with me what to expect (awesome). Cheivia was very thorough and patient with me as I went through the process. The 3D images were amazing and nothing a traditional dentist would have provided. I did not feel like a number or a transaction, I felt my smile was important to Cheivia. Thank you and I will continue to refer friends and family.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Seamless

Engaging

Great experience and the whole smile thing

Too many pre-appointment reminder emails

Too many reminder texts of appointment and post appointment text

Communication overload between emails and text both pre and post appointment, then no order number on any of the communications

Company Response from Smile Direct Club

Oct 2, 2020

Rodney, reviews like this give us motivation and help us ensure we provide high-quality care.

Posted on Oct 1, 2020

Great customer service. Ana and Andrea were amazing.

By Vanessa P., Riverside, CA, Verified Reviewer

Everyone was really nice and the service was great. I’m glad I made it to my appointment. Ana and Andrea were very nice and really good at their jobs!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Nice people

Quick

Friendly

No “cons” were specified in this review

Company Response from Smile Direct Club

Oct 2, 2020

Vanessa, we're proud of our team – thank you so much for the shout out!

Posted on Sep 27, 2020

The Bus 5 team rocks!

By Wendy S., Austin, TX, Verified Reviewer

Went to my appointment yesterday and it was the best experience of 2020! The whole team was awesome! Diana was friendly, professional, and very proficient. I’m super excited for my aligners to come. Thank you Diana and the team on Bus 5 for such an enjoyable experience!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Smile Direct Club

Sep 28, 2020

Happy to hear this, Wendy! We appreciate that you took the time to share some kind words.

Showing 12-22 of 600

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.