About SmileDirectClub

By HighYa Staff
Updated on: Oct 17, 2017

Interested in straightening your teeth, but don’t have the time for regular orthodontist visits? Or, do you have the time, but cringe at the thought of traditional braces?

In either instance, SmileDirectClub promises to deliver an “innovative remote treatment process” that can help you straighten your teeth using custom invisible aligners.

We’re told this process allows SmileDirectClub’s network of over 225 licensed dental professionals to evaluate a patient’s teeth from anywhere, which, when combined with their 3D treatment modeling and direct-to-patient convenience, means they can work around your schedule at a fraction of the price. You’ll even get to know what your new smile will look like before beginning the process.

Despite this, SmileDirectClub promises to do this without sacrificing quality. In fact, they claim to “use the same labs as our competition.”

Regardless of what you’re shopping for, it’s difficult to resist 60% off. But will you have the same teeth-straightening experience with SmileDirectClub as a traditional orthodontist? In other words, even if it is less, does SmileDirectClub represent a solid deal? That’s exactly what we’ll explore here.

How Does SmileDirectClub Work?

Overall, we can break the SmileDirectClub process down into two steps:

Step 1: Initial Consultation & Setup

First, you’ll make an appointment through SmileDirectClub’s website to visit a SmileShop location. There, you’ll be able to have a 3D image of your smile taken by a certified SmileGuide, which they claim takes about 30 minutes. After you’re finished, you’ll be able to immediately see the results.

Then, your scan is digitally sent to a licensed dentist, who will “create a personalized plan showing you exactly how your new smile will look.”

Not near a SmileShop location? If so, you can complete an at-home impression kit, which will then be sent to a “state-licensed dental professional” who will create your new smile plan.

Once all of this occurs, SmileDirectClub’s dental professionals will determine your exact treatment option based on the information available. If you have any questions, you can reach out to a SmileDirectClub customer care specialist via phone, email, or live chat.

From initial consultation through the end of your treatment plan, SmileDirectClub’s proprietary SmileCheck software provides a connection between your dental professional and helps manage your case records. There, your doctor will be able to view uploaded images and dental impressions, as well as prescribe your treatment.

Step 2: Work the System

SmileDirectClub claims that in many cases, you’ll receive your treatment plan in days. You’ll be sent all aligners in your smile plan at one time, each of which will need to be worn in the proper order, all day and night, removing them only for meals and drinking beverages other than cool water.

SmileDirectClub’s treatment plans generally take anywhere between 4 and 10 months, depending on your plan. The average customer completes treatment in 6 months.

Once you’re finished, you’ll need to wear a custom fit retainer while you sleep in order to avoid dental relapse (i.e. your teeth attempting to shift back into their original position).

Exactly how do these invisible aligners do their job?

How Do Invisible Aligners Straighten Teeth?

Unlike braces, which use interconnected brackets and wires, invisible aligners “are a series of tight-fitting custom-made retainers that slip over the teeth.” Each tray will slowly move your teeth into the desired position, leaving you with straighter teeth and a brighter smile over the course of several months. Regarding SmileDirectClub specifically, their aligners are made of BPA-free plastic, which is fairly common amongst the competition (more about this soon).

The Pros & Cons of Invisible Aligners

On the positive side, compared to traditional braces, invisible aligners:

  • Can be removed and generally aren’t as noticeable
  • Often need to be worn for shorter periods of time
  • Remove having to worry about difficulty eating or food getting stuck
  • Cause less discomfort. However, you’ll still feel some discomfort, especially after the first few days of changing to a new tray
  • Offer little chance of tooth discoloration

However, invisible aligners aren’t perfect. Here are some potential drawbacks:

  • You’ll have to brush after each meal, or your aligners could become stained.
  • You’ll also need discipline in order to stick to your treatment plan and keep the trays in place all day and night.
  • Invisible aligners can’t be used for those with bridgework, or those with complicated issues requiring moving teeth vertically, rotating canines or premolars, or those with anything more than mild-to-moderate crowding, rotation, and/or bite correction.

If invisible aligners sound like an ideal solution, how much will you pay through SmileDirectClub?

How Much Does SmileDirectClub Cost?

Your online SmileDirectClub online Smile Assessment is completely free. To determine if invisible aligners are a good fit for you, you’ll need to complete either a 3D scan at a SmileShop or an at-home impression kit for $95. If it’s determined that you’re not a suitable candidate, the $95 fee will be refunded.

When the time comes. SmileDirectClub provides three payment options for their clients:

  • Single Payment: A one-time payment of $1850. This is the most cost-effective payment option.
  • SmilePay™ Monthly Payments: Pay a $250 down payment, then $80 a month for 24 months. In total, you’ll pay $2170.

All SmileDirectClub invisible aligner plans include complimentary whitening gel.

Once your treatment plan is complete, don’t forget that you can pay $99 for a retainer set to preserve your new smile.

Other miscellaneous SmileDirectClub fees include a $50 fee for each replacement tray if lost or damaged, as well as a $49 fee for additional impression kits. Regarding this last one, the fee “can be deducted from your treatment plan cost when you purchase your aligners.”

Finally, SmileDirectClub provides a Confident Smile Guarantee, which stipulates that if you’re dissatisfied for any reason, simply return your unused aligners and they’ll refund the prorated amount. In order to request one (or to ask any questions), customer service can be reached at 800-848-7566.

Does SmileDirectClub Accept Insurance?

Here’s what the company has to say:

“If your dental plan provides orthodontic benefits you may be reimbursed directly from your insurance company after purchasing your aligners. SmileDirectClub doesn't accept direct payment from insurance companies.”

SmileDirectClub also accepts payments through HSA and FSA plans, as well as CareCredit.

What Kinds of Reviews Will You Find for SmileDirectClub?

Considering that SmileDirectClub (formerly Smile Care Club) has been around since 2014, there wasn’t a whole lot of online customer feedback at the time of our research. And what feedback there was seemed to be largely through video.

For example, YouTube user Ashley S posted four reviews for SmileDirectClub spanning the course of a month. Overall, she claims she experienced a very long delay at the beginning, without hearing so much as a peep from the company. She spoke with customer service on several occasions, which only served to further frustrate her—and even after finally receiving her aligners, she found the top one didn’t fit well at all.

On the other hand, misselissalk seems to have had a much better experience with SmileDirectClub, finding them less expensive the competition, while receiving everything right on time. She also enjoyed the 3D digital model that shows you what your teeth will look like with each tray.

Interestingly, she was able to correct her top teeth only. Per their FAQ, the company generally recommends against straightening just the top or bottom, since this can significantly change your bite.

She noted that SmileDirectClub’s aligners didn’t hurt at all, but they did give her a slight lisp. She didn’t like brushing her teeth after eating or drinking something other than water, and felt that the email communication between her and the company was “kinda poor.” Specifically, she noted long response times with several follow ups required.

In her follow up video, misselissalk provides some great product tips to accompany your aligners, so be sure to give it a view as well.

As a company, SmileDirectClub had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau (as of 7/16/16), based on 19 closed complaints. Most of these seemed to reference poor customer service, problems receiving aligners on time, or difficulties obtaining refunds. The company responded to each of the complaints.

Who, exactly, is behind the company?

Who Founded SmileDirectClub?

Based out of Nashville, TN, SmileDirectClub was co-founded by Jordan Katzman and Alex Fenkell who recognized that 3D printing and telehealth “could bring about disruptive change to the invisible aligner market” by delivering “dramatically lower” prices.

From a financial perspective, SmileDirectClub is backed by Camelot Venture Group, the same private investment group behind 1-800-CONTACTS, Quicken Loans, and many other successful direct-to-consumer companies.

Is SmileDirectClub Better Than Other Teeth Straightening Methods? Should You Join?

According to some sources, the average cost of an Invisalign treatment plan is $5,000, compared to SmileDirectClub’s flat single-pay price of $1850. That’s well over a 60% savings, which is huge.

On top of this, there don’t appear to be any clear (no pun intended) differences between the BPA-free plastics used between Invisalign and SmileDirectClub’s trays, or the results you might achieve with them.

In fact, SmileDirectClub claims their trays come from many of the same labs used by the mainstream competition, and you won’t have to glue any clips to your teeth. You will, however, probably have to wear a retainer for the rest of your life.

Even compared to traditional braces—which can also cost up to five grand and might look unsightly—SmileDirectClub’s aligners seem to have a sharp advantage.

Taking all of this together, does this mean a SmileDirectClub treatment plan will deliver straighter teeth and a brighter smile? As long as you only require mild to moderate straightening, it certainly seems like it might fit the bill. And if your personal preferences dictate, you might be able to save a whole lot of moolah compared to the competition.

How well did SmileDirectClub work for you? Give us the inside scoop by writing your very own review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

83 Consumer Reviews for SmileDirectClub

Average Consumer Rating: 2.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 22 4 star: 3 3 star: 1 2 star: 6 1 star:  51
Bottom Line: 31% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 83
Sort reviews by:

  • Consultation

    • 8500 lesilie Street,
    • Dec 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I went in for a consultation, and the staff was so welcoming and very educated and knowledgeable about the product and how it works.

    Fern did a great job in explaining every step in detailed; I got started after she finished explaining.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 17, 2018

      Joy S., Reputation Manager

      We are grinning from ear to ear. Thank you for the support, Sushila. We are always here for you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • SmileDirectClub: The Walmart of Orthodontics

    • Raleigh, NC,
    • Dec 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Pricing seems okay, but don’t expect any customer service. I won’t get their aligners based on my SmileShop experience alone. Even though I made an appointment, checked in, and spoke with two associates, I waited 50 minutes for the scan. Someone who arrived 20 minutes after me was seen first.

    Oh, and if you do make a SmileShop appointment, you might be pressured to provide credit card info during booking or scanning - I just ignored this, and the "requirement" was magically waived.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 5, 2018

      Joy S., Reputation Manager

      Hi there. Thank you for leaving us this feedback. We're concerned to hear about this. We'll be passing this feedback along to our management team so that they can look into this. Best, Emily

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Have yet to receive them...

    • Tulsa, OK,
    • Dec 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I went in for for the 3D impressions and ordered my aligners on October 19, 2018. Because I paid in full, my aligners were supposed to be "fast-tracked" and delivered within 4-5 weeks. As of today, November 30, I have no aligners. I called customer service on Wednesday to ask about the hold-up and was told they were being made as we speak. I accepted that answer until my friend, who ordered her aligners on November 02, received hers yesterday. I called back today and just told they are being made. The customer service rep offered to give me a free retainer and when I told him I'm already getting one for free, he was silent. He basically said there was nothing more he could do and would call me IF he received any info regarding my aligners or I can try back on Monday to see IF there are any updates.

    I think I want a REFUND!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 4, 2018

      Joy S., Reputation Manager

      Hi Michelle. Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review about your experience. We are disappointed to hear about this. If you need any further assistance, please email us at grinners@smiledirectclub.com. Best, Emily

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    I feel scammed

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Nov 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I began my treatment in January 2016 and was told my treatment would take three months. Almost three YEARS later I am still dealing with them. My teeth required very little correction. I just have a gap in between my front two teeth. My first 3 months there was a slight change, but there was still a notable gap, and my side teeth are now not aligned so they grate together. I contacted SmileDirectClub and they set me up with another 2-month refinement plan. This time there was no change at all. I contacted SmileDirectClub and was approved for a refinement plan again. They lost my impressions twice, and determined that two sets of impressions were unusable even though somehow my first set was received perfectly with no problems.

    Because they typically take a month to get back to you, time passed and I didn't hear anything. At this point my last set of aligners are completely broken, I have had to book an appointment to go to a Smile shop because of months of issues with impressions. When I contacted SmileDirectClub for replacement aligners until my refinement ones arrive, I was told it wasn't possible.

    I asked to talk to a manager to report the terrible service; I was told one will call me. Nobody ever called me. I contacted them again and again and was told I'd be contacted - nobody ever did. I have noticed a significant decline in the quality of service as they have grown.

    Furthermore, I have a friend who went in for treatment with a dentist with roughly the same level of work that I needed. Their treatment was done in 4 months and they only paid $1000 more than me. This friend started treatment more than a year after I did, and finished over a year ago. I have so many regrets about wanting to be thrifty on this. Just go to a dentist and save yourself the headache.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 3, 2018

      Joy S., Reputation Manager

      Hi there. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review; we appreciate it. We're concerned to hear about all of this. Feel free to send us an email at grinners@smiledirectclub.com so that we can look into it. Best, Emily

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Terrible customer service

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Nov 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up for the teeth whitening kit just to see if it worked like the reviews said. I received the first order quickly, which is great, but I did not like the product as it felt like it wasn’t doing anything to make my teeth whiter. I tried to login into my account, but somehow my account doesn’t exist even though I had received my first order. I emailed to cancel since I could not do it myself, and after hearing a reply that my account was canceled, I was charged and sent another pack of teeth whiteners. I emailed again, heard nothing. I used their live chat and the representative left the chat when I asked for them to cancel. I tried again and the representative said my account could not be found even with all of my information (email, phone number, first and last name). She was very rude and short despite me staying calm and kind especially considering this ridiculous situation.

    This all seems like a scam, especially since I keep receiving orders. there’s just no way my account "doesn’t exist." I would not recommend using this service mostly based on this customer service. I am very disappointed in this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 29, 2018

      Joy S., Reputation Manager

      Hi Briani. We truly appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. We're disappointed to hear about this. Please send us an email at grinners@smiledirectclub.com so that we can help. Best, Emily

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Poor business decisions, poor customer service

    • North Carolina,
    • Nov 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My story sounds similar to those who are unhappy. I fall into the category of everything was fine until it wasn't. Giving your money to them is about the only easy part of this process. You better pray to the orthodontic gods that you never have any issues once you make a deal with the devil. My treatment plan was for five months. And I fully understand that it is not an exact science and adjustments may be needed. However, when a customer says they are unhappy with the results and no longer wish to continue, that wish should be honored by the company. Working in retail management for as long as I have, you need to do right by the customer even if it means you lose a little on the back end.

    Customer service will be the death knell of this company. This isn't just money, these are people's lives you are messing with and holding up. If your product and your service is so poor that you cannot afford to honor the wishes of your customer, then perhaps it's time to reevaluate your business plan. A customer should not be forced to continue paying for a service that no longer adds value to their life or has created a hardship. In this case, I have sent several messages over the last couple of months asking that my plan be discontinued. I have one tooth that will not budge and I would rather make peace with it than continue this plan.

    I am not asking for a refund. It didn't work the way it had been predicted, it is what it is. But forcing me to continue to pay by ignoring my requests is beyond unethical. Reading the reviews it would appear I am not alone in this. I guess I have no other recourse than to file a complaint with the BBB. It's a shame it has to be escalated to this degree.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 29, 2018

      Joy S., Reputation Manager

      Hi Jessica. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review. If a customer's teeth do not move as predicted, they are always eligible for a reevaluation to get a new SmilePlan to complete the treatment. If you had any questions that haven't been addressed, feel free to email us at grinners@smiledirectclub.com. Best, Emily

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Poor quality. No integrity. Poor customer service. Poor supervisors.

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Nov 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Please do not waste your time or money. Go to your dentist and get this done by professionals. I was very excited when I started with SmileDirectClub, but not after months of my aligners delivered MONTHS after the delivery date and the inconsistency of how the retainers and aligners were made were very poor.

    Any time I wanted to speak to a manager, they passed me off to a "supervisor." Every supervisor I spoke to gave me the generic "oh no I am so sorry to hear about this." Never tried to make it right. They just always gave me expectations that they never met. This company has no integrity, everyone that works here says something different. Going through SmileDirectClub gave me a constant headache. I will not refer SmileDirectClub to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 20, 2018

      Joy S., Reputation Manager

      Hi Brie. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. Feedback is very valuable to us! We're disappointed to hear about this. If you have any concerns that weren't addressed, feel free to email us at grinners@smiledirectclub.com. Best, Emily

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Frustrated with SmileDirectClub

    • Texas,
    • Nov 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company usually does not do what they say they are going to do. First, they don't tell you it will take nearly 6 weeks to get your aligners. Then they took nearly a week to respond to my complaint that the bottom aligners were painful before they told me I could try trimming them, so I was not able to start the aligners when I wanted. Then nearly halfway through the aligners, I was about to start a new week, and the aligner was defective and they would have to make new ones. I believe they said it would take 3-4 weeks to replace them. So my average six months treatment time just turned into seven. They told me they would expedite them, which they did not until I called them back and told them I was going to give them a bad review. At that point, they did expedite them some.

    Then I ordered retainers almost three weeks before I was going to be through with the aligners. They say it takes 2-3 weeks to get the retainers. You guessed it. It's been three weeks and they are still being "manufactured." I am so frustrated with them. If I had known before I ordered from this company that it was going to take this long, I would not have ordered them. I would have gone with another company. Really tired of wearing the aligners!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 19, 2018

      Joy S., Reputation Manager

      Hi Dianne. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We're disappointed to hear about your experience. If you have any concerns that haven't been addressed, you can send us an email at grinners@smiledirectclub.com.

      Best, Emily

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    All's not well that ends badly

    • Minnesota,
    • Nov 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started my initial 7-month treatment last year and had no issues. Due to one tooth not moving enough, I requested a reevaluation and received aligners for an additional three months.

    I had no issues until the last month. It appeared from the last 3D picture of my treatment plan that my teeth were being moved quite a bit in the last month versus the prior months. For the first time, I began having pain due to two teeth hitting on top of each other when I bit down - the upper left and lower left central incisors.

    I finished treatment with Smile Direct Club (SDC) and my teeth are straight, but the same teeth are still causing pain. I have been wearing my retainer 22 hours a day, but I still have this pain when I am not wearing the retainers.

    I contacted SDC and was told to ask my dentist to perform an occlusal equilibration procedure. When I visited my dentist, she indicated that this procedure would not help and SDC screwed up my bite. She was unwilling to assist in this situation and told me that this section of teeth on the front, the left side of my mouth were now hitting each other directly and this was the cause of my pain. She told me that SDC would need to fix this issue.

    I sent pictures to SDC and they told me "your Doctor has determined that no further movement can occur on your teeth with SDC protocols," and that I should continue wearing my retainer.

    Since their latest response, I have sent follow-up notes to their Dental Team asking for them to help resolve this matter and have not received any response. I have told them that the last month of aligners appears to have gone too far (straight teeth are great, but not when it causes pain when you bite down) and requested additional aligners to reverse this month. Since I followed the plan put in place by SDC, provided the requested information throughout my treatment to SDC, and pinpointed that the issue is primarily focused on two teeth, and when the issue started, I expect a response that was more help than "keep wearing your retainers."

    Within this 2018 blog from the SDC website (https://blog.smiledirectclub.com/doctors-behind-your-smile/) I found the following quotes from their Lead Dentist:

    “An individual who is requesting treatment by using SmileDirectClub’s aligners is receiving the same level of care from a treating dentist or orthodontist as an individual visiting a traditional orthodontist or dentist for treatment. The teledentistry platform allows for more convenient access and flexibility for individuals who may not have access to local care,” says Jeffrey Sulitzer, DMD, Lead Dentist at SmileDirectClub.

    “We define quality as the intersection of customer satisfaction and the Standards of Care. Our affiliated network will always do their absolute best to make customers happy with the results of their smile. We utilize the Standards of Care established by the dental professional community,” says Dr. Sulitzer.

    I find it hard to believe that a dentist or orthodontist would simply stop responding to your communications and tell you to go somewhere else to resolve the issue they created. These quotes from their website simply do not reflect the level of service and standard of care that I have received.

    I would caution anyone considering SDC to consider that if any problems occur, they are unlikely to assist you in a meaningful way. Also, due to the friction between SDC and dentists/orthodontists, you may be caught in a situation where no one is willing to help you.

    One individual that had a similar experience indicated that they decided to file their own teeth. When I started with SDC, I was not expecting to be completing my treatment as my own DIY project.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 15, 2018

      Joy S., Reputation Manager

      Hi Chris. Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're concerned to hear about your experience. If you need any help, you can email us at customercare@smiledirectclub.com.

      Best, Emily

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Horrible experience

    • Fontana, CA,
    • Nov 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This isn’t a review for aligners, but for their online shop - the teeth whitening kit and LED light. I received a defective LED light and contacted them immediately. I took photos as evidence. I initially contacted them over the phone, just to be placed on hold and be hung up on. I called back, was placed on hold again and was told they were having problems finding my order. I am not sure how or why or what kind of crappy system they use when I had all the information needed. The order number, phone, email, address...in the end, I was told a sales manager would be in contact with me to resolve, which they NEVER WERE. I had to reach out by email just to be met with "cannot locate your account" multiple times. I had clarified so many times I didn’t have an account for aligners, that I simply placed an online order through their online shop and had sent them my original confirmation email. STILL, we kept going back and forth about not finding my order. Once I finally found a rep who seemingly knew what he was doing, I was told I would receive a replacement light and a free whitening kit for this huge inconvenience.

    I first contacted them on 10/19. I was given promise of replacement/whitening pens on 10/25. And yet I have heard NOTHING. I’m waiting on a response now but NEED this issue resolved ASAP! Extremely unprofessional! Their customer service is seriously a JOKE!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 10, 2018

      Joy S., Reputation Manager

      Hi Cindy, we're very excited about the launch of selling our Bright On and LED accelerator lights online. It is disappointing to hear that we sent a defective product and we want to work to make this right. Please contact us at grinners@smiledirectclub.com so that we can help.

      Regards, Elizabeth

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 18 people found this review helpful

    They are a bunch of thieves

    • Brooklyn, NY,
    • Oct 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I don’t know where to start.

    First off, for the amount of time I have worn these aligners, to the amount of money I am stuck paying, is ridiculous.

    I was put on a 4-6 month plan, and I am paying for 2 years. If I had just gone to my regular orthodontist, it actually would have been cheaper. These people do not care for your teeth or your wallet appropriately.

    Second, they are a bunch of thieves.

    After my VERY short wear of the aligners came the retainers. Now it cost about $100 for your retainers.

    Knowing my time was due for my second set, I appropriately called their "customer care specialist" (which by is a joke of a title, so use that title loosely) to inform them that I did not want them. The woman who I was on the phone with ASSURED me that I would not be charged for it, and that I was NOT on the list they have to get money automatically removed. She informed me for them to take the money out that I would have to either submit a request for the retainers or call myself for them.

    Third, they are a bunch of liars.

    The very next day after my very detailed phone call, I get a notice from my bank informing me that SmileDirectClub withdrew $100 from my account. For what? You guessed it, the very retainers that I called the previous day about and was assured three times by this woman that they would not take out.

    I called back about this ridiculous charge. Turns out their "customer care specialist" made what they called a slight error, but in reality, was just a ridiculous lie. I was, in fact, on the list for them to automatically take out the money for the retainers. And she NEVER took me off of it after she reassured me three times that I would not be charged for something I didn’t want, but I was ultimately charged for the following day after our phone call.

    Fourth, their customer care service, if you can even call them that, is a joke. And their product is unfair and overpriced. For the time of the length of wear, these people are crooks and liars, and have done the bare minimum to actually "put a smile on my face."

    Buyer beware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 24, 2018

      Joy S., Reputation Manager

      Hi Nicole. We're disappointed to see this, as we take pride in the customer care our team provides. Please send an email to grinners@smiledirectclub.com so that we can speak further. Thank you, Elizabeth.

    • Nov 9, 2018

      William W.

      I just started the plan, but customer service is a joke. I received emails saying I can get $100 of a visit to their center, but their center knew nothing about it. I received emails saying that if I paid upfront, I would get $ 100 off, but I didn’t receive either of them, so I called three times. Finally, I received $100 off, but I was told I could not use the discount code because I got $100 off for paying up front and couldn't combine them. No where does it state in the email at all, I even showed a lawyer that I work with, and he said it’s false advertising. He said it not worth seeing but I should report them to FTC, Bureau of Consumer Protection and the state inspector general, which I plan on doing because once you pay customer service, they don’t care.

    • Nov 13, 2018

      Joy S., Reputation Manager

      Hi William. We're concerned to see this, as we take pride in the customer care our team provides and the accuracy of the information we communicate. Please send an email to grinners@smiledirectclub.com so that we can speak further. Thank you, Elizabeth

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 83

Write a Review for SmileDirectClub!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review