About SmileDirectClub

By HighYa Staff
Updated on: Oct 17, 2017

Interested in straightening your teeth, but don’t have the time for regular orthodontist visits? Or, do you have the time, but cringe at the thought of traditional braces?

In either instance, SmileDirectClub promises to deliver an “innovative remote treatment process” that can help you straighten your teeth using custom invisible aligners.

We’re told this process allows SmileDirectClub’s network of over 225 licensed dental professionals to evaluate a patient’s teeth from anywhere, which, when combined with their 3D treatment modeling and direct-to-patient convenience, means they can work around your schedule at a fraction of the price. You’ll even get to know what your new smile will look like before beginning the process.

Despite this, SmileDirectClub promises to do this without sacrificing quality. In fact, they claim to “use the same labs as our competition.”

Regardless of what you’re shopping for, it’s difficult to resist 60% off. But will you have the same teeth-straightening experience with SmileDirectClub as a traditional orthodontist? In other words, even if it is less, does SmileDirectClub represent a solid deal? That’s exactly what we’ll explore here.

How Does SmileDirectClub Work?

Overall, we can break the SmileDirectClub process down into two steps:

Step 1: Initial Consultation & Setup

First, you’ll make an appointment through SmileDirectClub’s website to visit a SmileShop location. There, you’ll be able to have a 3D image of your smile taken by a certified SmileGuide, which they claim takes about 30 minutes. After you’re finished, you’ll be able to immediately see the results.

Then, your scan is digitally sent to a licensed dentist, who will “create a personalized plan showing you exactly how your new smile will look.”

Not near a SmileShop location? If so, you can complete an at-home impression kit, which will then be sent to a “state-licensed dental professional” who will create your new smile plan.

Once all of this occurs, SmileDirectClub’s dental professionals will determine your exact treatment option based on the information available. If you have any questions, you can reach out to a SmileDirectClub customer care specialist via phone, email, or live chat.

From initial consultation through the end of your treatment plan, SmileDirectClub’s proprietary SmileCheck software provides a connection between your dental professional and helps manage your case records. There, your doctor will be able to view uploaded images and dental impressions, as well as prescribe your treatment.

Step 2: Work the System

SmileDirectClub claims that in many cases, you’ll receive your treatment plan in days. You’ll be sent all aligners in your smile plan at one time, each of which will need to be worn in the proper order, all day and night, removing them only for meals and drinking beverages other than cool water.

SmileDirectClub’s treatment plans generally take anywhere between 4 and 10 months, depending on your plan. The average customer completes treatment in 6 months.

Once you’re finished, you’ll need to wear a custom fit retainer while you sleep in order to avoid dental relapse (i.e. your teeth attempting to shift back into their original position).

Exactly how do these invisible aligners do their job?

How Do Invisible Aligners Straighten Teeth?

Unlike braces, which use interconnected brackets and wires, invisible aligners “are a series of tight-fitting custom-made retainers that slip over the teeth.” Each tray will slowly move your teeth into the desired position, leaving you with straighter teeth and a brighter smile over the course of several months. Regarding SmileDirectClub specifically, their aligners are made of BPA-free plastic, which is fairly common amongst the competition (more about this soon).

The Pros & Cons of Invisible Aligners

On the positive side, compared to traditional braces, invisible aligners:

  • Can be removed and generally aren’t as noticeable
  • Often need to be worn for shorter periods of time
  • Remove having to worry about difficulty eating or food getting stuck
  • Cause less discomfort. However, you’ll still feel some discomfort, especially after the first few days of changing to a new tray
  • Offer little chance of tooth discoloration

However, invisible aligners aren’t perfect. Here are some potential drawbacks:

  • You’ll have to brush after each meal, or your aligners could become stained.
  • You’ll also need discipline in order to stick to your treatment plan and keep the trays in place all day and night.
  • Invisible aligners can’t be used for those with bridgework, or those with complicated issues requiring moving teeth vertically, rotating canines or premolars, or those with anything more than mild-to-moderate crowding, rotation, and/or bite correction.

If invisible aligners sound like an ideal solution, how much will you pay through SmileDirectClub?

How Much Does SmileDirectClub Cost?

Your online SmileDirectClub online Smile Assessment is completely free. To determine if invisible aligners are a good fit for you, you’ll need to complete either a 3D scan at a SmileShop or an at-home impression kit for $95. If it’s determined that you’re not a suitable candidate, the $95 fee will be refunded.

When the time comes. SmileDirectClub provides three payment options for their clients:

  • Single Payment: A one-time payment of $1850. This is the most cost-effective payment option.
  • SmilePay™ Monthly Payments: Pay a $250 down payment, then $80 a month for 24 months. In total, you’ll pay $2170.

All SmileDirectClub invisible aligner plans include complimentary whitening gel.

Once your treatment plan is complete, don’t forget that you can pay $99 for a retainer set to preserve your new smile.

Other miscellaneous SmileDirectClub fees include a $50 fee for each replacement tray if lost or damaged, as well as a $49 fee for additional impression kits. Regarding this last one, the fee “can be deducted from your treatment plan cost when you purchase your aligners.”

Finally, SmileDirectClub provides a Confident Smile Guarantee, which stipulates that if you’re dissatisfied for any reason, simply return your unused aligners and they’ll refund the prorated amount. In order to request one (or to ask any questions), customer service can be reached at 800-848-7566.

Does SmileDirectClub Accept Insurance?

Here’s what the company has to say:

“If your dental plan provides orthodontic benefits you may be reimbursed directly from your insurance company after purchasing your aligners. SmileDirectClub doesn't accept direct payment from insurance companies.”

SmileDirectClub also accepts payments through HSA and FSA plans, as well as CareCredit.

What Kinds of Reviews Will You Find for SmileDirectClub?

Considering that SmileDirectClub (formerly Smile Care Club) has been around since 2014, there wasn’t a whole lot of online customer feedback at the time of our research. And what feedback there was seemed to be largely through video.

For example, YouTube user Ashley S posted four reviews for SmileDirectClub spanning the course of a month. Overall, she claims she experienced a very long delay at the beginning, without hearing so much as a peep from the company. She spoke with customer service on several occasions, which only served to further frustrate her—and even after finally receiving her aligners, she found the top one didn’t fit well at all.

On the other hand, misselissalk seems to have had a much better experience with SmileDirectClub, finding them less expensive the competition, while receiving everything right on time. She also enjoyed the 3D digital model that shows you what your teeth will look like with each tray.

Interestingly, she was able to correct her top teeth only. Per their FAQ, the company generally recommends against straightening just the top or bottom, since this can significantly change your bite.

She noted that SmileDirectClub’s aligners didn’t hurt at all, but they did give her a slight lisp. She didn’t like brushing her teeth after eating or drinking something other than water, and felt that the email communication between her and the company was “kinda poor.” Specifically, she noted long response times with several follow ups required.

In her follow up video, misselissalk provides some great product tips to accompany your aligners, so be sure to give it a view as well.

As a company, SmileDirectClub had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau (as of 7/16/16), based on 19 closed complaints. Most of these seemed to reference poor customer service, problems receiving aligners on time, or difficulties obtaining refunds. The company responded to each of the complaints.

Who, exactly, is behind the company?

Who Founded SmileDirectClub?

Based out of Nashville, TN, SmileDirectClub was co-founded by Jordan Katzman and Alex Fenkell who recognized that 3D printing and telehealth “could bring about disruptive change to the invisible aligner market” by delivering “dramatically lower” prices.

From a financial perspective, SmileDirectClub is backed by Camelot Venture Group, the same private investment group behind 1-800-CONTACTS, Quicken Loans, and many other successful direct-to-consumer companies.

Is SmileDirectClub Better Than Other Teeth Straightening Methods? Should You Join?

According to some sources, the average cost of an Invisalign treatment plan is $5,000, compared to SmileDirectClub’s flat single-pay price of $1850. That’s well over a 60% savings, which is huge.

On top of this, there don’t appear to be any clear (no pun intended) differences between the BPA-free plastics used between Invisalign and SmileDirectClub’s trays, or the results you might achieve with them.

In fact, SmileDirectClub claims their trays come from many of the same labs used by the mainstream competition, and you won’t have to glue any clips to your teeth. You will, however, probably have to wear a retainer for the rest of your life.

Even compared to traditional braces—which can also cost up to five grand and might look unsightly—SmileDirectClub’s aligners seem to have a sharp advantage.

Taking all of this together, does this mean a SmileDirectClub treatment plan will deliver straighter teeth and a brighter smile? As long as you only require mild to moderate straightening, it certainly seems like it might fit the bill. And if your personal preferences dictate, you might be able to save a whole lot of moolah compared to the competition.

How well did SmileDirectClub work for you? Give us the inside scoop by writing your very own review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

103 Consumer Reviews for SmileDirectClub

Average Consumer Rating: 2.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 26 4 star: 5 3 star: 2 2 star: 6 1 star:  64
Bottom Line: 32% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 103
Sort reviews by:

  • Excitement quickly turned into disappointment

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Feb 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Just like several comments on here, I was very excited after leaving a Smile Direct Club center for my initial consultation. The sales rep was great and I was confident this was the right decision following my consultation. The next few days, I received non-stop calls and emails until I finally decided to place an order. I was originally told my order would be received in 4-5 weeks. I'm now going on week 8 and haven't received any updates since January 18th, when I was sent an email saying my aligners were printed and now in the trimming process. I let it go for the next few weeks thinking my order would arrive, but now we're into 8 weeks and I have no idea where my aligners are. I sent 3 follow up emails in total, but no response. I called 5 days ago and was told the rep needs up to 72 hours to receive confirmation from the lab, which is pretty ridiculous. Five days later and still no response via email or phone.

    Also - I was told my insurance might cover aligners from Smile Direct. I tried to coordinate with customer service immediately after placing my order, but was told to expect a response in the next 72 hours. Eight weeks and several email follow-ups later, still no response.

    At this point, I feel like I've been scammed and strongly considering canceling my order all together. Overall I am disappointed with Smile Direct.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Wrong aligners

    • Atmore, AL,
    • Feb 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started SmileDirectClub back in 2017. I did the impression kit and sent it back. Months went by and I never heard anything so I sent an email saying that I hadn’t received any updates on whether or not I was eligible for the aligners and I requested a refund for the impression kit. Once I asked for my money back, they got in gear and "good news," I was eligible, so within two weeks I had my aligners coming to me. Now I waited about 9 months to get started on them because life gets in the way.

    Once I got started, everything was fine. I was on set 10 when I was told it was time to order my retainers. So I went ahead and ordered them and paid the $99. When I received the retainers, I only received the upper retainer and not the lower. About two months ago I started set 12 (out of 20 sets). When it was time for me to switch to set 13, I found out they had sent me someone else’s aligners for sets 13-20. I emailed back and forth with about 4 different customer service reps and was told to send in photos of the aligners I have. So I sent in a plethora of photos of each set. Through the emails, I was told I needed to be re-evaluated and sent a new impression kit for new aligners. I then called and spoke with a young woman on January 7th who put in an order for my retainers (both top and bottom this time) as well as my aligners for sets 13-20 and she said they were free of charge, which DUH!

    Here we are on February 14th, 2019 and I haven’t received anything still. I just got off the phone with a different customer service rep who told me that the retainers were delayed due to high demand but that they were going to be shipped out with 7 business days. As far as my aligners sets 13-20, they couldn’t send them to me and they would need to re-evaluate my smile by sending the new impression kit. I asked why the lady was able to order them in the first place and he said she made a mistake. I told him I was done and I wanted a refund for sets 13-20 as well as for the retainers I paid for. He said that the refund isn’t possible because they are willing to send me the impression kit and get me my "new smile" free of charge. I told him I didn’t understand why I had to do the impression kit over again. Why couldn’t they just send me my aligners sets 13-20. He said that since I’ve been wearing my set 12 for over the recommended time, that they could crack at any moment and I’d lose my progress. He said that if I were on set 11 or 10 that they could have just sent 13-20 and I’d have been okay. It makes absolutely zero sense. I hate that I’m having to do this over again instead of getting the refund I deserve!

    They are a scam. They just want money and the minute you realize your mistake of going to them instead of a professional it’ll be too late. Don’t waste your money. Go to a professional. Sure you might pay a little more, but you’ll have the peace of mind of no screw-ups.

    And don’t pay attention to their response to bad reviews about caring and all that and to send an email. You’ll just get the runaround again. NOT! WORTH! IT!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Potentially performing medical procedures without medical oversight and fraudulent billing practices

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Feb 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was looking for teeth straightening cosmetic dentistry and this company came up in search results. After looking at their site it appeared that they were a competitor to Invisialign and their website claimed that a licensed orthodontist would create a treatment plan for me after coming into their "Smile Store" to get a free scanning.

    At check-in they had me provide them a lot of information on an iPad including a credit card, "So that you can easily accept your treatment and have your aligners sent to you more quickly." I told them I hadn’t decided if I wanted to go with them and was reassured, "Oh you won’t be billed until you approve your treatment." I was then escorted back to have my scanning and consultation.

    I will say that all the people that I met at the appointment were friendly and the place was clean and welcoming. The person that was doing my scanning had traditional braces and I asked why they didn’t use SmileClub and they were dismissive but non-specific. After the scanning was done, I met someone that said they were a dentist, but didn't provide any business card and only gave me their first name. They asked me if I had any questions and I asked if I was a candidate for treatment. He said they would need to send my scans out and in three days I would get an email with my treatment plan and could see estimated before and after pictures.

    They then put a piece of paper in front of me asking if I would be wanting a single payment or installment plan. I told them single payment, but that "I won't be making a decision on treatment until I see the treatment plan first." They then they told me I'd get it in three days and could then approved it and then asked me to "Put my name at the bottom" of the paper choosing between the two payment options. I then was given my free gift for coming in and left.

    Two days later I got a call from my credit card company asking me if I had authorized a $1850 payment to the company. I had not, so I contacted the company and while I was trying to find their number I got a text message thanking me for my order. When I finally got them on the phone, I told them I had not approved my order yet and I still hadn't seen a treatment plan. They told me that I had signed up for the "rapid ship" option so I was billed as soon as my treatment was ready. I told them again, I had not even seen my treatment plan or spoken with a doctor. They then sent me another text message with a link to a website in it. This just showed me before and after images but had no text or treatment plan. It didn't tell me how many aligners I would need, how long it would take, who the orthodontist was that created and approved it, or really anything. I complained about this and was told that my plan was still being finalized and it would arrive in a day. When I got home I looked at the documents I was given and found that the document they put in front of me asking which payment method I would prefer was a quick scam and the reason they asked me to write my name at the bottom was because they were using this as approval for billing! TOTALLY MISLEADING AND PROBABLY FRAUDULENT!

    Now for the last week, I've been getting constant emails, texts, and phone calls pushing me to order and offering me "payment options." I've still never received a treatment plan or contact with an orthodontist in my state or even nationally. I've since gone to see a licensed orthodontist in my state and was told that I am not a candidate for any clear alignment system and need extensive traditional braces for treatment. He explained clearly that I need teeth to rotate and that clear aligners need extra friction for this so people need to have pads attached to their teeth that interface with the clear aligners to properly work (this is why mailed aligners without visits to a dentist are unlikely to work well). He also said that in my treatment I would need teeth to be changed in height as well which can only be done with traditional braces. He informed me that if I had tried to use a clear aligner product it likely would have not worked or caused me damage to my teeth, gums, or jaw.

    He was upset to hear that this company doesn't appear to have any medical supervision and suggested I avoid them. Just to be clear, an actual orthodontist was able to tell just by LOOKING at my teeth that I was not a candidate for clear aligners (of any brand) and I should have never been approved for treatment by a licensed medical professional.

    Because of this potentially damaging treatment, I’ve actually contacted the FTC and my state health authority. I’ve asked them to investigate this company and make sure they are not scamming consumers, locking them into unfair legal agreements (like arbitration), and not causing harm to people's bodies by doing unlicensed and unsupervised medical treatments.

    Does this mean that you shouldn’t use them for treatment? Not necessarily. It just means that before you elect to have them do a medical procedure to your body, which could have permanent health risks, you may want to ensure that actual medical licensed professionals are involved in the process.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 18, 2019

      Joy S., Reputation Manager

      Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate you sharing feedback.

      We typically treat mild to moderate spacing, crowding, and general alignment concerns. Depending on the complexity of the customer's concerns, clear aligner therapy may not be the best option for them. Our licensed dentists and orthodontists oversee treatment remotely and approve of the SmilePlan that each customer receives, but there is absolutely nothing wrong with getting a second opinion prior to committing to treatment. We always advise that our customers see their dentist to make sure that they have no issues prior to treatment.

      Customers are not required to put down payment information at the appointment and should not be pressured to if they aren't ready to purchase aligners. We want all customers to have a comfortable and informative appointment, so this is definitely not in line with what we expect.

      Please send us an email at grinners@smiledirectclub.com so that we can assist with any issues that you're experiencing and pass along your feedback to the correct shop in regards to your experience there. Best, Madison

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Customer service should last beyond the point of sale...but SDC falls short of that

    • New Jersey,
    • Feb 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I thought SmileDirectClub had great customer service when they were trying to get me to buy. So I signed up, but now when I actually need customer service, they can't help me. Go figure, marketing is just that, marketing. The true test of a company is when crap hits the fan, how you treat your customers. Do you hold their feet to the fire or actually provide customer service. I guess they have used so much customer service trying to get you to buy that they run out shortly after you purchase.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 18, 2019

      Joy S., Reputation Manager

      Hi Michael, thank you for leaving us a review. This is definitely not the standard of care that we pride ourselves on providing, so this is disappointing to see. Please send us an email at grinners@smiledirectclub.com so that we can help with any issues that you're experiencing. Best, Madison

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Wonderful, warm experience!

    • Toronto, Ontario, Canada,
    • Feb 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    From the moment I walked in the door, I felt immensely welcomed. Every single person I dealt with was warm and personable, as well as extremely knowledgeable. All of my questions were answered, and I was encouraged to discuss everything I was hoping for with my new smile. I would highly recommend looking into SmileDirectClub for great service and great results!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 7, 2019

      Joy S., Reputation Manager

      Alex, our goal is to make sure all customers walk away informed, educated, and excited. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Unfulfilled order - zero customer service

    • West Palm Beach, FL,
    • Feb 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a buy one get one Full Enbrightenment Systems over the Black Friday weekend. I should have received two Full Embrightenment Systems; what I received were two packs of the brightening pens. I have emailed them, sent copies of the order, my credit card statements showing the charges, and a photo of what I actually recurved. Each time my complaint is passed to another "customer service professional." Finally, I called and thought I’d finally gotten someone who had authority to make good on the order. NOT SO! Now it is crickets, totally non-responsive. I would not recommend buying products from this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 6, 2019

      Joy S., Reputation Manager

      Hi Virginia. Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're disappointed to hear that it has been so difficult getting the correct product. Please send us an email at grinners@smiledirectclub.com so that we can get this resolved for you. Best, Madison

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    SCAM! Zero stars!

    • Alberta, Canada,
    • Feb 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    SmileDirectClub is a complete SCAM! After almost THREE MONTHS of waiting, I still have no aligners to wear. I've been told ALL KINDS of LIES from their customer services representatives. I'll give you the whole story:

    1. They promised my aligners would arrive by the first week of December 2018. When the date comes, I called the company and no, no aligners were even on their way, nothing. Because they were shipping to Canada and they had no idea HOW TO DO THIS, so they used us, Canadian customers, as guinea pigs. Charging us for EVERYTHING without sending the product.

    2. It's ABSURD that they promise to send something when they don't even know how to ship over here (Calgary/Canada)!

    3. I waited and waited and they finally arrived in mid-January. I get excited, I was finally going to start straightening out my smile. OH WAIT! The package I received WAS NOT FOR ME! They sent the wrong ones!

    4. They promised to start a rush order for a replacement so I could receive my aligners.

    5. After a week and a half, close to the 10 days they promised me I would receive the new set. I call their customer service and the news is: no one placed the order. They were on their way to re-charge me for the whole new set of aligners (yes, they were charging me AGAIN, even though I never received the first set of aligners), and no one placed a replacement order for me.

    So long the idea of straightening my smile with SmileDirectClub because it's a COMPLETE SCAM. They've been charging my credit card with no delays, but I have no product in exchange.

    Next time SmileDirectClub asks "how can I make you smile," let's try not being a fraud!

    I DO NOT recommend this service to anyone. So long the illusion of "cheaper treatment" for straightening my teeth. I wish I has never known of this company's existence. I had to ask for a refund. Not a smile for me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 3, 2019

      Joy S., Reputation Manager

      Hi Annalie. We're concerned to see this, as we take pride in the efficient and convenient experience we aim to offer our customers. In the event of a delay, we always work to make things right. We aren't able to address any specific case details publicly due to HIPAA regulations, but please reach out to us directly at grinners@smiledirectclub.com to speak further. Regards, Elizabeth

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Deceptive sales practices

    • Natick, MA,
    • Jan 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have no idea whether the product works or not. One star for deceptive sales practices and flat out lies.

    The sales associate told me that order would not be processed until a dentist called and got confirmation. This was a complete lie, as I just got a text that my order had been processed and aligners were on their way. No dentist consultation.

    The dentist consultation was important to me. My sales associate was very personable but seemed much better suited to selling low-end cosmetics than cosmetic dentistry.

    Nonetheless, I left their office excited for the product. But it seems that she may have neglected or chose not to inform me of some key information. I was told by a friend who used a similar product that to maintain his smile, he needs to wear a retainer to sleep for the rest of his life. If true, that's a pretty significant piece of information to leave out.

    Again, I have no idea whether the product works or not, and how it compares to other aligners on the market. But I strongly recommend staying away until they get their act together.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 25, 2019

      Joy S., Reputation Manager

      Hi Bob. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate the feedback. Typically, a retainer is recommended for any teeth straightening treatment. We're disappointed to hear about your experience at the SmileShop and will be passing the feedback along to our management team. Feel free to email us at grinners@smiledirectclub.com if you have any questions. Best, Madison.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Waste of time and money

    • Wisconsin,
    • Jan 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I don't live near an office to go in and get the impressions done, so I tried the at-home impression kit they send you. They only send a one size tray that was way too big for my mouth. I tried it twice and there was no way I was going to be able to get good impressions. Compared to the pictures they give you for what a good impression should look like, mine looked pretty good and were still not good enough. There were no double impressions, yet they keep saying there was and wanting me to order another retake. They just want you to keep ordering retake kits at $50 a pop and no refund available unless they deem you an unfit candidate. Apparently, as long as you keep handing over $50 on retake kits, they'll never just admit you are not a good candidate. I'm already out $50 on one retake kit and know this isn't going to work for me so I'm not going to spend more money to try again.

    Bottom line is, only try the DirectClub if you can go into the office and speak with them directly. The at-home impression kit is a joke, and I am so upset that I lost $50 that they won't refund. I tried this because I need my teeth fixed or my dentist said my teeth will eventually snap off from being too slanted. I cannot afford invisible aligners, and even the SmileDirect club was going to be a stretch. Now paying them $50 to get nowhere is setting me back even farther. I tried to ask questions about whether I would be a good candidate and if I should even try, but they wouldn't tell me anything beforehand.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 21, 2019

      Joy S., Reputation Manager

      Hi Brooke. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. This is concerning to see and we would love to see how we can help. Please send us an email at grinners@smiledirectclub.com so that we can look into it. Best, Madison

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    At first I was happy, but when my dentist saw my mouth, now I have to fix my teeth

    • Texas,
    • Jan 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    At first I was happy. I didn't come to SmileDirect for straight teeth. I had switched dentists, and she told me in order to get an implant, I would need braces to move a tooth that had shifted, I needed to move that tooth back, to be able to put an implant where I had a missing molar. It would cost about $4k for the braces. I researched and found SmileDirect one year ago. At the time, I really couldn't find much, just a few YouTubers who said they had awesome experiences.

    I followed SmileDirect instructions to a T. I didn't like the dentist I had switched to, so I went back to my old dentist.

    He was furious! He said, there is a reason why he's a certified dentist, and not SmileDirect.

    I no longer have a good bite, they didn't account for my wisdom teeth, so while I wore the trays for six months my wisdom teeth dropped, now my teeth don't touch.

    There is a 2 mm gap between my top teeth and bottom teeth, my mouth won't close because the wisdom teeth touch, not allowing for the rest of my teeth to shut properly. I'm having trouble eating, my jaw hurts.

    Now, he is hoping that if we remove my wisdom teeth, hopefully, my mouth and teeth will close and connect. So in a couple of weeks he did casts of my teeth. I'm supposed to go next month to remove my teeth. It will be $900. He is hoping that all he has to do is grind some teeth, to have them meet. If not, he has to adjust my teeth, another $900. He's also hoping I won't have to wear braces after that.

    And my dentist took a picture of how my teeth are now and will post them on his site, as to why not to go the places like this. To go to a real dentist/orthodontist.

    Please go to a professional. I thought I was doing good, I went to the Austin, Texas office, but you're pretty much left on your own.

    I did contact SmileDirect over this two days ago, but no response.

    I'm going to see what I can do about this. I don't know if I can take them to court to pay the fees for all the corrective work I have to get done now.

    I did see more YouTube videos and some people's teeth don't connect, their bite is not good.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 21, 2019

      Joy S., Reputation Manager

      Hi Carmen. Thanks for leaving us a review. We're concerned to hear about this and would love to look into this. Please send us an email at grinners@smiledirectclub.com so that we can assist. Best, Madison.

    • Jan 23, 2019

      C S.

      The same thing happened with me. I had no bite issues, no dental health issues of any kind...after SmileDirect, I need two years and over $5,000 of corrective work to fix the mess they've made. If you are able to sue them, please contact me about a class action suit.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Fast and easy

    • Mission, TX,
    • Jan 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My visit to SmileDirectClub was fast and easy. I was greeted by friendly office staff which put me at ease. I was immediately taken into an exam room where my 3D impressions were visibly scanned for me to see. Staff demonstrated a sample box and what would be inside. My questions got answered, and I was out in 30 minutes just like I was told I would be. Thank you Miranda and Sam.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 21, 2019

      Joy S., Reputation Manager

      This makes us smile! Thank you, Alma.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 103

Write a Review for SmileDirectClub!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review