About SmileDirectClub

By HighYa Staff
Updated on: Oct 17, 2017

Interested in straightening your teeth, but don’t have the time for regular orthodontist visits? Or, do you have the time, but cringe at the thought of traditional braces?

In either instance, SmileDirectClub promises to deliver an “innovative remote treatment process” that can help you straighten your teeth using custom invisible aligners.

We’re told this process allows SmileDirectClub’s network of over 225 licensed dental professionals to evaluate a patient’s teeth from anywhere, which, when combined with their 3D treatment modeling and direct-to-patient convenience, means they can work around your schedule at a fraction of the price. You’ll even get to know what your new smile will look like before beginning the process.

Despite this, SmileDirectClub promises to do this without sacrificing quality. In fact, they claim to “use the same labs as our competition.”

Regardless of what you’re shopping for, it’s difficult to resist 60% off. But will you have the same teeth-straightening experience with SmileDirectClub as a traditional orthodontist? In other words, even if it is less, does SmileDirectClub represent a solid deal? That’s exactly what we’ll explore here.

How Does SmileDirectClub Work?

Overall, we can break the SmileDirectClub process down into two steps:

Step 1: Initial Consultation & Setup

First, you’ll make an appointment through SmileDirectClub’s website to visit a SmileShop location. There, you’ll be able to have a 3D image of your smile taken by a certified SmileGuide, which they claim takes about 30 minutes. After you’re finished, you’ll be able to immediately see the results.

Then, your scan is digitally sent to a licensed dentist, who will “create a personalized plan showing you exactly how your new smile will look.”

Not near a SmileShop location? If so, you can complete an at-home impression kit, which will then be sent to a “state-licensed dental professional” who will create your new smile plan.

Once all of this occurs, SmileDirectClub’s dental professionals will determine your exact treatment option based on the information available. If you have any questions, you can reach out to a SmileDirectClub customer care specialist via phone, email, or live chat.

From initial consultation through the end of your treatment plan, SmileDirectClub’s proprietary SmileCheck software provides a connection between your dental professional and helps manage your case records. There, your doctor will be able to view uploaded images and dental impressions, as well as prescribe your treatment.

Step 2: Work the System

SmileDirectClub claims that in many cases, you’ll receive your treatment plan in days. You’ll be sent all aligners in your smile plan at one time, each of which will need to be worn in the proper order, all day and night, removing them only for meals and drinking beverages other than cool water.

SmileDirectClub’s treatment plans generally take anywhere between 4 and 10 months, depending on your plan. The average customer completes treatment in 6 months.

Once you’re finished, you’ll need to wear a custom fit retainer while you sleep in order to avoid dental relapse (i.e. your teeth attempting to shift back into their original position).

Exactly how do these invisible aligners do their job?

How Do Invisible Aligners Straighten Teeth?

Unlike braces, which use interconnected brackets and wires, invisible aligners “are a series of tight-fitting custom-made retainers that slip over the teeth.” Each tray will slowly move your teeth into the desired position, leaving you with straighter teeth and a brighter smile over the course of several months. Regarding SmileDirectClub specifically, their aligners are made of BPA-free plastic, which is fairly common amongst the competition (more about this soon).

The Pros & Cons of Invisible Aligners

On the positive side, compared to traditional braces, invisible aligners:

  • Can be removed and generally aren’t as noticeable
  • Often need to be worn for shorter periods of time
  • Remove having to worry about difficulty eating or food getting stuck
  • Cause less discomfort. However, you’ll still feel some discomfort, especially after the first few days of changing to a new tray
  • Offer little chance of tooth discoloration

However, invisible aligners aren’t perfect. Here are some potential drawbacks:

  • You’ll have to brush after each meal, or your aligners could become stained.
  • You’ll also need discipline in order to stick to your treatment plan and keep the trays in place all day and night.
  • Invisible aligners can’t be used for those with bridgework, or those with complicated issues requiring moving teeth vertically, rotating canines or premolars, or those with anything more than mild-to-moderate crowding, rotation, and/or bite correction.

If invisible aligners sound like an ideal solution, how much will you pay through SmileDirectClub?

How Much Does SmileDirectClub Cost?

Your online SmileDirectClub online Smile Assessment is completely free. To determine if invisible aligners are a good fit for you, you’ll need to complete either a 3D scan at a SmileShop or an at-home impression kit for $95. If it’s determined that you’re not a suitable candidate, the $95 fee will be refunded.

When the time comes. SmileDirectClub provides three payment options for their clients:

  • Single Payment: A one-time payment of $1850. This is the most cost-effective payment option.
  • SmilePay™ Monthly Payments: Pay a $250 down payment, then $80 a month for 24 months. In total, you’ll pay $$2170.
  • Klarna Financing: Opt for monthly financing without a down payment through Klarna. Pay $87 a month for 24 months for a total of $2088.

All SmileDirectClub invisible aligner plans include complimentary whitening gel.

Once your treatment plan is complete, don’t forget that you can pay $99 for a retainer set to preserve your new smile.

Other miscellaneous SmileDirectClub fees include a $50 fee for each replacement tray if lost or damaged, as well as a $49 fee for additional impression kits. Regarding this last one, the fee “can be deducted from your treatment plan cost when you purchase your aligners.”

Finally, SmileDirectClub provides a Confident Smile Guarantee, which stipulates that if you’re dissatisfied for any reason, simply return your unused aligners and they’ll refund the prorated amount. In order to request one (or to ask any questions), customer service can be reached at 800-848-7566.

Does SmileDirectClub Accept Insurance?

Here’s what the company has to say:

“If your dental plan provides orthodontic benefits you may be reimbursed directly from your insurance company after purchasing your aligners. SmileDirectClub doesn't accept direct payment from insurance companies.”

SmileDirectClub also accepts payments through HSA and FSA plans, as well as CareCredit.

What Kinds of Reviews Will You Find for SmileDirectClub?

Considering that SmileDirectClub (formerly Smile Care Club) has been around since 2014, there wasn’t a whole lot of online customer feedback at the time of our research. And what feedback there was seemed to be largely through video.

For example, YouTube user Ashley S posted four reviews for SmileDirectClub spanning the course of a month. Overall, she claims she experienced a very long delay at the beginning, without hearing so much as a peep from the company. She spoke with customer service on several occasions, which only served to further frustrate her—and even after finally receiving her aligners, she found the top one didn’t fit well at all.

On the other hand, misselissalk seems to have had a much better experience with SmileDirectClub, finding them less expensive the competition, while receiving everything right on time. She also enjoyed the 3D digital model that shows you what your teeth will look like with each tray.

Interestingly, she was able to correct her top teeth only. Per their FAQ, the company generally recommends against straightening just the top or bottom, since this can significantly change your bite.

She noted that SmileDirectClub’s aligners didn’t hurt at all, but they did give her a slight lisp. She didn’t like brushing her teeth after eating or drinking something other than water, and felt that the email communication between her and the company was “kinda poor.” Specifically, she noted long response times with several follow ups required.

In her follow up video, misselissalk provides some great product tips to accompany your aligners, so be sure to give it a view as well.

As a company, SmileDirectClub had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau (as of 7/16/16), based on 19 closed complaints. Most of these seemed to reference poor customer service, problems receiving aligners on time, or difficulties obtaining refunds. The company responded to each of the complaints.

Who, exactly, is behind the company?

Who Founded SmileDirectClub?

Based out of Nashville, TN, SmileDirectClub was co-founded by Jordan Katzman and Alex Fenkell who recognized that 3D printing and telehealth “could bring about disruptive change to the invisible aligner market” by delivering “dramatically lower” prices.

From a financial perspective, SmileDirectClub is backed by Camelot Venture Group, the same private investment group behind 1-800-CONTACTS, Quicken Loans, and many other successful direct-to-consumer companies.

Is SmileDirectClub Better Than Other Teeth Straightening Methods? Should You Join?

According to some sources, the average cost of an Invisalign treatment plan is $5,000, compared to SmileDirectClub’s flat single-pay price of $1850. That’s well over a 60% savings, which is huge.

On top of this, there don’t appear to be any clear (no pun intended) differences between the BPA-free plastics used between Invisalign and SmileDirectClub’s trays, or the results you might achieve with them.

In fact, SmileDirectClub claims their trays come from many of the same labs used by the mainstream competition, and you won’t have to glue any clips to your teeth. You will, however, probably have to wear a retainer for the rest of your life.

Even compared to traditional braces—which can also cost up to five grand and might look unsightly—SmileDirectClub’s aligners seem to have a sharp advantage.

Taking all of this together, does this mean a SmileDirectClub treatment plan will deliver straighter teeth and a brighter smile? As long as you only require mild to moderate straightening, it certainly seems like it might fit the bill. And if your personal preferences dictate, you might be able to save a whole lot of moolah compared to the competition.

How well did SmileDirectClub work for you? Give us the inside scoop by writing your very own review below!

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

15 Consumer Reviews for SmileDirectClub

Average Consumer Rating: 2.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 2 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  9
Bottom Line: 33% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 15
Sort reviews by:

  • Do not get scammed!

    Do not get scammed into the hype of this dishonest and bogus company. They are frauds.

    I had a 4-month plan. The entire 4 months my bottom aligner never fit properly. After several calls, I kept getting "it will take time." Well, 4 months passed and my bottom teeth never shifted. What a waste of money, time, pain, etc.

    After taking additional impressions, I was approved once again to receive an aligner correction, which would only take an additional 4 weeks. Well, I’m writing this at 7 weeks and no aligners.

    After several calls and having to call BBB, I received a bogus email that my aligners was shipped with an unknown tracking number. So once again I called and was hung up on with several representatives, with one telling me "oh, the tracking number is incorrect so I'll have to look into getting a correct one." I’m still waiting.

    At this point, if BBB cannot do anything I will sue the company for all money, as well as for pain and suffering. Please be advised, sometimes it's worth paying more to get the quality and service you desire.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Not upfront with clients, don't live up to expectations. Decent product.

    Very unsatisfied with the end result and time it takes to receive aligners.

    First, I'm told it's going to take 7 and a half months, but they lost one of the shipments and delayed the process by two weeks. Then I see my Smile on the last aligner and my Smile still needs work, so I called customer service, got an email and followed directions on what to do and got a response after 10 saying I was "approved for refinement." What if I don't know any better and don't say anything at all believing that my treatment is over and that's the best that can be done to my smile?

    I went the next day to get the scans done at an office and checked today that my case has been approved but got no notification from the company. I called customer service and they say it’s going to take 3 to 4 more weeks to get new aligners, so all in all, 2 months wasted.

    I see real potential for complaints and lawsuits opportunity as the company relies on client expertise or sense of knowledge in Orthodontics to yield the results we are paying for but not delivered. I do not see anywhere on brochures or website disclosing that company may not deliver expected results and client should consult with third-party specialist or SmileDirectClub for final results. This is the closest to fraud and advertising as it can get.

    Nevertheless, I will escalate this to American Board of Orthodontics to see how they can make companies like this be more accountable with products and expected results.

    Oh, and I will post this everywhere I can to promote awareness.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Do not use!

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Nov 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not use SmileDirectClub. They are a total scam. They have the worst customer service. They always give you the runaround. I emailed to have mine canceled and was told it was canceled and I would not be charged again. And they charged me and claim the agent who called in response to my email was not authorized to cancel orders. Still, I don’t understand how an agent they hired and trained called me to cancel my order if they weren’t authorized to cancel my order.

    I thankfully disputed with my bank and they sided with me. But I still lost $500! Please be warned, do NOT use this service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Just starting!

    I am confused by the varying accounts of the SmileDirectClub process. I do understand that something in the company changed and maybe they do things differently than they did as little as 6 months ago.

    I went in person to a SmileDirectClub office in Chicago. They took tons of pictures of my teeth. At the time I picked the payment option I would use should I be approved, thinking that there would be one more step of "click here" to place your order. This was important to me because I wanted to check in with my dentist at home and simply say "hey I'm thinking of getting Invisalign, do you think I'm a good candidate?" To see if they would say yes or say I would actually need tooth extraction before doing something like that.

    My smile was approved, and they just charged me. I freaked out and called and explained that I thought when I was approved there'd be one more step to click for finalizing of payment, and explained I didn't want to purchase just yet because I wanted to check in with my dentist at home in New York first. They were very kind on the phone, the woman I spoke with did a stop payment with my credit card and said to just let them know within 90 days if I wanted to proceed, or else you just have to come back in for more photos.

    In my time between then and ordering, I was sent a bunch of different offers for money off and such, but I hadn't been able to get to my dentist yet. About two months later they sent me another offer I just couldn't refuse, so I jumped and bought them.

    They came in 4 weeks, as was stated, they were even able to change my delivery address and carrier preference days before they were sent out. They were so helpful.

    I received my aligners yesterday. All of them. I have a 40-week program to follow, and they sent all 20 aligners at once, none of this "they ship one every couple weeks to you and having to worry if it will be on time" stuff. They are all here.

    I still do want to check in with a dentist because it's mainly a crowding issue I'm dealing with in my top 6 front teeth, and I'm just not convinced this is going to work. I want another opinion. I would rather save myself the pain if it isn't. But like I said, the final offer they sent me I just couldn't refuse and figured it wouldn't be much wasted if it doesn't work out, but that the offer more than likely wouldn't come again.

    I am excited and nervous about this journey.

    I just wanted to say I've had a great experience so far. Communication has been great, and the live chat feature on their site has been amazing.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Stay away!

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Nov 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called SmileDirectClub early in 2017, and they were very nice at first. I paid for the first impression kit, and when I was done with it, I sent it back. They contacted me and said that they needed another impression kit and that I would have to pay for it. I sent the second impression kit back and waited, and waited, and waited, and nothing.

    I called back and they said that they are still doing research on the best way to make my trays and that they would contact me when they are ready. Well, 6 months (yes 6 months) went by and absolutely nothing from them. I called in and asked for a refund, and they had zero explanation on why or what happened. They said that they would refund, but I highly doubt that I will receive it as they have done nothing but take from me.

    Please avoid this fraudulent company and spend a bit more money and go to a more reputable company. This is honestly the worst customer service that I have ever seen in my life. Good luck all.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Life changer

    I keep seeing all these reviews giving this company a bad name, and I don't believe them. I had a 6-month plan, and I received all of my aligners on time with zero problems what so ever. My teeth are now straight just like they said they would be and I am completely satisfied.

    The price is so much better than Invisalign. And traditional braces as well. I couldn't afford them growing up, so SmileDirectClub literally changed my life. Don't listen to the negative reviews because most likely they are dentists or orthodontist making these false reviews because they are jealous of SmileDirectClub's newfound fame and competition.

    I am not a promoter nor do I work for the company. I am just a satisfied customer. If you want to know more facts, there is a Facebook group called "SmileDirectClub members." You should check it out because you will see over 12,000 members who are extremely satisfied like myself. I owe SmileDirectClub everything as they have helped me with my confidence that I have never had before.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    The most disorganized company you can imagine

    This is the most unorganized poorly run company I've ever come across. I should have known in the beginning when they didn't contact me that they received my impressions or even my photos. I ordered on June 21st, I've been waiting for two months now, and I've talked to numerous customer service representatives, live chatted, used Facebook messenger, and texted several supervisors only to be lied to without explanation every time and told that I'll have my aligners within a week. Once that week goes by, I still have nothing.

    After more conversations I'm told the same thing, "You'll have them in a week." My case has been handled by three separate customer service supervisors and still no answers, only false promises and lack of follow through. Is my money not as green as someone else's? I have screen shots of people saying they ordered their aligners in mid-July and have already received them while I sit here and wait with no information as to why.

    Here's the thing, it's not rocket science, it's basic business practice. It's about ethics. 1) Don't miss lead customers by false advertising and not being able to deliver the timeline that is promised. 2) Don't lie and pacify customers just to get them off the phone. Be honest, tell the truth, offer explanations and "the whys." 3) FOLLOW UP with customer complaints. I really don't think any of those core ethics are very difficult to adhere to.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Great product and great value

    • Stillwater, OK,
    • Aug 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had braces when I was a teenager. I was not instructed to wear retainers, and my teeth (especially bottoms) are now worse than before I had braces in the first place. I am very self-conscious about my crooked teeth and had been looking to get braces for over a decade. I am a "mature" user of the product and have had them for one month. VERY impressed already. I can see a difference and the fact that they give you whitener too makes me want to show off my smile even more.

    I still have several months left, but I am thrilled with the cost savings and improvement in my smile and confidence.

    Yes, there was a delay in the first shipment, but I had waited years to do this so, what was another week. Be patient; it's worth it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Horrible

    I had a horrible time working with this company. Every step of the way was difficult. They do not follow through with what they say they will do. My aligners broke OFTEN, so I had to call them about once a month to get a new set of aligners, and every time the customer service representative said they would get a new set shipped out, but they NEVER shipped out a new set of aligners.

    I ALWAYS had to call a second and sometimes a third or fourth time to ask again if I could get a new set of aligners. One of my aligner sets was even missing a tooth! The customer service representatives do not communicate well with each other because I would tell one representative I had a badly made set of aligners and that representative said they'd fix it. After a few days with no word from SmileDirect, I would call back and ask them about it, and they would tell me they had no record of my previous issue.

    I always had to call multiple times asking for a new set of aligners before they would ever send a new set out. Most of the time, I was wearing broken aligners for weeks at a time because they couldn't get their stuff figured out. During the last week of my month three, I realized that I never received my month four package and that I would need to be changing into in a few days.

    So I called SmileDirect, and they told me that they were backlogged and that I would not be receiving my next month of aligners. They did not give me an estimate of when I would get them; they simply said I wouldn't get them. Plus, they were NOT going to inform me that I would not be receiving my next set of aligners because they were backlogged. If I hadn't reached out and asked them about it, they would have never told me. Last, but most definitely not least, after making four impressions of my top and bottom row of teeth, SmileDirect told me I needed to wear aligners for four months in order to have straight teeth.

    At the end of those four months, guess what? My teeth were NOT straight. I called and told them, and they did say I would need to take new impressions and they would make me a new treatment plan. I am guessing I will need one or two more months of aligners than they originally prescribed in order to get straight teeth. Hopefully, they will not charge me for this as they were the ones who told me it would only take four months to get straight teeth when in reality it would take longer than that.

    Honestly, I think the invisible aligners you would get through your dentist/orthodontist would be higher quality than the ones SmileDirect give out. The SmileDirect invisible aligners are flimsy, not well fitting and very easily broken and quite frankly they don't even fit that well! You would DEFINITELY get better customer service and treatment plans through your dentist/orthodontist. I truly think you are getting what you are paying for with SmileDirect. You pay a cheap amount of money for cheap invisible aligners, cheap customer service and cheap results. The aligners have been working, but it has been a slow and painful process working with them and their crappy aligners. And honestly, my teeth were not bad to begin with. I only had cosmetic issues with my teeth. I did not have serious structural problems or anything like that. My teeth were an easy fix yet SmileDirect did a crap job fixing them. If you can afford to go elsewhere, I would seriously consider it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 7 people found this review helpful

    In love with my new smile

    • New York,
    • Jul 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had amazing results with SmileDirect. After being quoted over $5000 for Invisalign, I thought I was never going to have straight teeth. But then came SmileDirect. It was the best decision I ever made. In only seven months my teeth are straight and white; it's like a dream.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 17 people found this review helpful

    OK product; terrible customer service/fulfillment

    • Brooklyn, NY,
    • Jul 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a typical tech company who went to market without having fundamental customer service and fulfillment in place. I went through the initial consultation and received my aligners with a few issues, and my teeth started to align, but when I needed a replacement set of aligners, it took months, and my teeth reverted back. Customer service repeatedly lied and said they were overnighting them or they would be there in a week (etc., etc.), but it took months. I had to go back in trays to fix, which was a painful process.

    I finally finished and now it's been months since they were supposed to send my retainers and my teeth are reverting back again. I won't go through the process again and am trying to get my money back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 15

Write a Review for SmileDirectClub!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review