SmileDirectClub Review: Is It Legit or Just Hype?

By HighYa Research Team
Updated on: Jun 11, 2019

Interested in straightening your teeth, but don’t have the time for regular orthodontist visits? Or, do you have the time, but cringe at the thought of traditional braces?

In either instance, SmileDirectClub promises to deliver an “innovative remote treatment process” via teledentistry that can help you straighten your teeth using custom clear aligners.

We’re told this process allows SmileDirectClub’s network of more than 225 licensed dentists and orthodontists to evaluate your teeth from anywhere, which, when combined with their 3D treatment modeling and direct-to-consumer convenience, means they can work around your schedule at a fraction of the price. You’ll even get to see a 3D preview of your new smile before you begin the process.

Regardless of what you’re shopping for, it’s difficult to resist 60-percent off. But will you have the same teeth-straightening experience with SmileDirectClub as a traditional orthodontist? In other words, even if it is less, does SmileDirectClub represent a solid deal? That’s exactly what we’ll explore here.

How Does SmileDirectClub Work?

Overall, we can break the SmileDirectClub process down into two steps:

Step 1: Initial Consultation and Setup

First, you’ll make an appointment through SmileDirectClub’s website to visit a SmileShop location. There, a company representative called a “SmileGuide” will take a 3D image of your smile, which they state takes about 30 minutes. After you’re finished, you’ll immediately be able to see the 3D image of your smile.

There are over 250 SmileShop locations across the U.S., Canada, and Puerto Rico. Some of these locations are inside CVS and Walgreens stores. Not near a SmileShop location? You can complete an impression kit at home instead.

You’ll then be assigned a duly licensed dentist or orthodontist who will review and approve your 3D smile plan and guide your new smile from beginning to end.

SmileDirectClub says that, in many cases, within 72 hours you’ll receive your treatment plan showing how your smile will transform. Next, they’ll begin production of your clear aligners custom-created for your teeth.

Step 2: Using Your Aligners

You’ll be sent all aligners in your smile plan at one time, along with SmileDirectClub’s bright on premium teeth whitening. It’s important to wear your clear aligners in the proper order, all day and night, removing them only for meals and drinking beverages other than cool water.

You’ll check in with your doctor every 90 days through your customer account, so he or she can monitor your progress. (If you have any questions, you can reach out to a SmileDirectClub customer care specialist 24 hours a day, seven days a week via phone, email, or live chat.

The average SmileDirectClub customer completes treatment in 6 months.

Once you’re finished, you’ll need to wear a custom-fit retainer to prevent your teeth from shifting back into their original positions. For the first 2 weeks after treatment, you’ll wear them all day and night (except when eating and drinking anything other than cool water), just as you did with your aligners. After that, you’ll only need to wear them at night.

SmileDirectClub recommends replacing your retainers every 6 months to keep them clean, fresh, and tight-fitting.

How Do Clear Aligners Straighten Teeth?

Unlike braces, which use interconnected brackets and wires, “are a series of tight-fitting custom-made retainers that slip over the teeth.”

Each tray will slowly move your teeth into the desired position, leaving you with straighter teeth and a brighter smile over the course of several months.

SmileDirectClub aligners are made of BPA-free plastic, which is fairly common among competitors, too (more about this soon).

The Pros and Cons of Clear Aligners

On the positive side, compared to traditional braces, clear aligners:

  • Can be removed and generally aren’t as noticeable
  • Generally need to be worn for a shorter period of time
  • Eliminate having to worry about difficulty eating or food getting stuck
  • Cause less discomfort (you’ll still feel some discomfort, especially for the first few days after changing to a new set of trays)
  • Offer little chance of tooth discoloration

However, clear aligners aren’t perfect. Here are some potential drawbacks:

  • You’ll have to brush and floss after each meal.
  • You’ll also need discipline in order to stick to your treatment plan and keep the trays in place all day and night.
  • Clear aligners can’t be used for those with bridgework or those with complicated issues that require moving teeth vertically, rotating canines or premolars, or those with anything more than mild-to-moderate crowding, rotation, and/or bite correction.

How Much Does SmileDirectClub Cost?

If clear aligners sound like an ideal solution, how much will you pay through SmileDirectClub?

Your online Smile Assessment is completely free. To determine if clear aligners are a good fit for you, you’ll need to complete either a free 3D scan at a SmileShop or an at-home impression kit for $49. If it’s determined that you’re not a suitable candidate, the $49 fee will be refunded.

When the time comes, SmileDirectClub provides two payment options for its customers:

  • Single Payment: A one-time payment of $1895. (This is a more cost-effective payment option.)
  • SmilePay™ Monthly Payments: Pay a $250 down payment, then $85 a month for 24 months. In total, you’ll pay $2290.

All SmileDirectClub clear aligner plans include complimentary whitening gel.

Once your treatment plan is complete, a set of retainers to preserve your new smile is $99.

Other miscellaneous SmileDirectClub costs include a $50 fee for individual replacement trays (or $99 per set) if lost, as well as a $49 fee for any additional impression kits. Regarding this last one, the fee “can be deducted from your treatment plan cost when you purchase your aligners,” the company says.

All Canadian pricing can be found on SmileDirectClub’s Canadian website.

Finally, SmileDirectClub provides a Smile Guarantee, which stipulates that if you’re dissatisfied for any reason, simply return your unused aligners, and they’ll refund the prorated amount.

Customers are eligible for a full refund if they return the aligners within 30 days of delivery. In order to request one (or to ask any questions), customer service you can reach their customer service department at 800-848-7566.

Those who have orthodontic benefits in their dental plan could be “reimbursed directly from your insurance company after purchasing your aligners.”

However, they note that they do not accept direct payments from insurance companies.

SmileDirectClub also accepts payments through HSA and FSA plans, as well as CareCredit.

A Look at SmileDirectClub Customer Reviews

There is a wide variety of customer input regarding the SmileDirectClub both on YouTube and various review sites including HighYa and Yelp.

YouTuber misselissalk seems to have had a positive experience with SmileDirectClub, finding it less expensive than the competition and receiving everything right on time. She also enjoyed the 3D digital model that shows you what your teeth will look like with each tray.

Interestingly, she was able to correct her top teeth only. Per the company’s FAQ, SmileDirectClub generally recommends against straightening just your top or bottom teeth, since this can significantly change your bite.

She noted that rough edges on SmileDirectClub’s aligners created sores and cuts in her mouth. She went on to say that the company provided a file to smooth out rough edges and that orthodontic wax helped, too. Over time, though, her mouth healed and the pain receded.

She didn’t like brushing her teeth after eating or drinking something other than water and felt that the company’s email communication was “kinda poor.” Specifically, she noted long response times with several follow-ups required.

At the time of publishing, 158 HighYa reviewers gave the company an average rating of 2.2 stars, with 29 percent saying they’d recommend the service to a friend.

Of the 10 most recent reviews, six were one star, two were two stars and two were five stars. There were multiple complaints of poor customer service, long wait times between aligners and cracked aligners, too.

The five-star review praised the company for a positive in-person experience. The reviewer noted that the people who helped her were dental professionals and that the equipment used was, in her opinion, top-of-the-line.

SmileDirectClub Compared to Candid

According to Colgate, the average cost of an Invisalign treatment plan ranges from $3,500 to $8,000 compared to SmileDirectClub’s single-pay price of $1,895. SmileDirectClub offers better pricing by a wide margin.

However, SmileDirectClub isn’t the only non-Invisalign company who provides clear aligners. We’ve done an in-depth review of Candid, a company very similar to SmileDirectClub whose prices are slightly higher: $1,995.

They take you through a similar progression as SmileDirectClub and they also offer brick-and-mortar locations where you can start your alignment process. Because the two companies are so similar, we suggest that you call each one and interact with their customer service people to see which company you are drawn to.

The Bottom Line on SmileDirectClub

We believe the strengths of SmileDirectClub are that you have the freedom to get aligners without ever having to leave your home. You don’t have to deal with a dentist’s chair and you may be able to avoid the cost of braces, which are significantly more expensive than the aligners the company offers

Their aligners are cheaper than what you’ll get with Invisalign and competitor Candid, too.

The downside of the company’s service is that the reviews we read were below average, with multiple reviewers complaining of poor customer service and cracked aligners. There were also complaints about waiting times.

As for who is a good fit for these aligners, we think WebMD makes some excellent points about this. First, they say that custom-built aligners tend to have a tight fit and are best suited for adults and teens rather than kids.

“Young people, and their mouths are still growing and developing; the doctor must think about this when setting up treatment,” they said.

They go on to point out that clear aligners, no matter which online company you choose, have their limitations.

“Clear orthodontic aligners are typically used for patients who have mild or moderately crowded teeth, or have minor spacing issues. Patients who have severe crowding or spacing problems -- or severe underbites, overbites, or crossbites -- may need more complex treatment,” they note.

The site goes on to say that the smart way to go about using aligners is to get a diagnosis from your dentist first. If they say aligners are a good fit for what’s going on with your teeth, you have the green light to research the options you have for SmileDirectClub.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 251 SmileDirectClub Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 76 4 star: 8 3 star: 6 2 star: 24 1 star:  137
Bottom Line: 35% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 251
Sort reviews by:

  • Excellent experience!

    • Rochester, NY,
    • Aug 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My experience with SmileDirectClub has been wonderful! They were more than willing to answer any questions I had and helped inform me of everything I’ll need to know. I don’t know his title but the "dental tech" Ray was incredible and one of the nicest people I’ve ever met.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 21, 2019

      Company Response from Smile Direct Club

      We are loving your enthusiasm, Taylor! This means the world to us -- thank you so much.


  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Update

    • Sacramento, CA,
    • Aug 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Here is the thing, I'm not going anywhere with SmileDirectClub. Since my statement above is brief I will publicly tell you my story. I am not getting into specific details as those are being saved for my protection.

    On March 29, 2019, I made an appt with SmileDirectClub online. Their online system asked for a credit card number. That should have been my first clue. Because when I was interviewing orthodontists for my daughter I made a few appts with different offices and I was never asked for a credit card number. For the next several days I was bombarded with emails and texts from SmileDirectClub reminding me of the upcoming appt.

    About a week later I showed up to the appt. It was inside an executive office suite. That should have been my second clue. The appointment was brief. They appeared to be more interested in getting my information into their system, on a tablet, than providing actual information. This was also different for me. The girl that took me into the second room was nice but she didn't really provide a lot of information. She showed me some pictures and there wasn't any medical talk. She was smooth, though, and I signed my name on a tablet. I didn't see a date. Frankly, she said if I changed my mind I could just cancel. That's why I signed. Thinking that I could simply take some time to think it through and cancel if I wanted.

    The rains stopped and my business bloomed. Not only was I remodeling the shop I began to get real busy with a lot of work. This was awesome, however, a lot of my personal life was put on hold.

    I began to get some texts from SmileDirectClub that it was time to register my aligners. I remember thinking, what aligners? I hadn't received them yet. That is when I went back to look at the emails they'd sent me. I saw the contract. There was one little insignificant detail that stood out. It was the date. It didn't make sense to me that it had March 29, 2019 as the date the contract went into effect. That was the date I made the appointment but not the date I signed the contract. For some reason, it sent a red flag. It's not something I'd do. This triggered my curiosity and I began to search for reviews.

    SDC must really hire a good online reputation company to help them look good. Notice most of the good reviews are from people's first visit. Because one has to go deeper into the internet to find the reviews from actual experiences wearing the aligners. I was appalled at someone's teeth coming loose and having to go to a real dentist to have their smile saved. There was one commonality that appeared to repeat itself one review after the next. SDC messes up a lot of people's bites. This will eventually cause teeth to fall and many have to spend thousands to fix the damage SDC had caused.

    Naturally, I no longer wanted to wear those aligners. I decided I'd go a different route. In the meantime, I was swamped at work. I was remodeling my shop and I had graduations coming up, etc.

    The aligners arrived. Though, I wasn't aware because a family member placed the box inside a closet without my knowledge.

    Then I got an email from what I thought was SmileDirectClub. They were deducting a payment out of my credit card. At this time I had no idea I could return the aligners. I, literally, was living life thinking that I was stuck with those aligners and didn't know what to do about it.

    I was confused. There was a lot of miscommunication between SDC and me. I thought my payments were being deducted by SDC, not another company. On my credit card statement, it shows as HFD SmileDirectClub. They charged one payment. A couple of weeks later I went into the account and saw they'd charged a duplicate payment 2 days after the 1st payment. I immediately contacted the cc company and asked them to look into it. Weeks go by, they took another payment out of my cc account. Then the credit card company contacted me with the results of the investigation. They found it in my favor. They wrote, however, that if Healthcare Finance Direct was able to provide proof that I owed that 2nd charge they would reverse the credit and it would then become a charge.

    Several days later I received a letter from Healthcare Finance Direct. They claimed that by disputing a charge with the credit card company I had defaulted on their loan. They were calling the full loan amount due, which I can afford. However, they accused me of defaulting on a loan for disputing a charge they were, it appears, fraudulently trying to collect. AND, I wasn't going to have that. I took it as a threat. In a subsequent letter, I asked them to explain themselves. Meanwhile, I took that box that was never opened with the aligners in it along with the tote from the appt and mailed it back to SmileDirectClub.

    Oh, I can smell rats from miles away. "If you play dirty with me, you will hear from me." Because now it's not about the money. Now, it's about the principle of the thing. They basically wrote back that it was an honest mistake. But if it was an honest mistake, why did they send me that threatening letter? Why not tell the credit card company that it was an honest mistake? It’s not my job to ask for a refund on a duplicate payment. It’s Healthcare Finance DIrect’s job to make sure they keep good records and not play with people’s money to their company’s benefit. I also asked for validation of the debt. They didn't provide that either. Instead, they sent to collections.

    Folks, read the contract because it contradicts itself. On one hand, it says that purchasers have recourse against SDC via arbitration and in the same document in small print, SDC hides a provision obligating the customer to waive any and all rights the customer or any third party may have against Smile Direct Club.

    I hope that you, the reader, learn from my experience. I now have to deal with a collection agency for monies that I have nothing to show for. I sent the product back and I have gotten nothing but subtle accusations from SmileDirectClub. Their representative on this forum told me that since my file was sent to collections there is nothing she can do for me.

    Get smart. Avoid this company at all costs. I paid $7,700 for my daughter’s smile. FDA approved Orthodontists are prepared and happy to work out payments with their patients. Do it the right way. And, as a bonus, you may get a lifetime of friendships.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 20, 2019

      Company Response from Smile Direct Club

      Hi Sarah, thanks for taking the time to update your review and share feedback about your experience. All customers who choose a payment plan will finance their total amount through Healthcare Finance Direct. If issues arise, we're always happy to help facilitate communication between HFD and the customer to address any issues, but we won't be able to do this unless we're notified. We strive to be as transparent as possible and send communications often. If I can help with anything, please don't hesitate to send me a private message. We're really disappointed to see this and we're always happy to help. Best, Madison

    • Previous review
    • Jul 31, 2019

    I fell for their sales pitch. Stay away.

    I made an appointment to check Smile Direct Club out. I went in not expecting to sign up. They are very smooth salespeople. I was not impressed their offices are executive suites. There wasn't a doctor in sight. The experience felt completely off. The aligners were shipped within 3 weeks of my first and only appt. They bombarded me with texts and emails at which point I decided to go back and read my contract. The date stood out to me. It said I signed it 6 days before I ever set foot in their office. I thought it strange and couldn't get past it. For some reason that sent a red flag to me, because they changed the date to the previous month. Perhaps they needed to reach a certain number to get commissions.

    Healthcare Finance Direct, LLC collected 2 payments in the same amount within a span of 2 days from my credit card account. I asked my credit card company to look into it as it appeared to be a duplicate charge. HFD collected another payment a month later. Two weeks after that, the credit card company contacted me in writing to let me know they found the investigation to be in my favor but said if HFD is able to provide proof I owe that duplicate payment they would reverse their decision. A week later, I got a letter from Healthcare Finance Direct, LLC demanding full payment within 10 days or they'd send me to collections. They accused me of disputing a payment they were fraudulently trying to collect. I took it as a threat. Called my attorney. He told me to write a formal complaint to the Federal Trade Commission. I did. I also wrote to Health Finance Direct, LLC. If they send me to collections I guess I will have to keep my word and take legal action against them.

    BTW, I've been so busy with work I haven't opened the box SmileDirectClub sent me. I'm not interested anymore. You've been warned. Don't do it.

    • Aug 1, 2019

      Company Response from Smile Direct Club

      Hi Sara, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Healthcare Finance Direct is a third party that finances all payment plans, but we're always happy to help if any issues arise with them. This is very concerning to see and I will be sending you a private message for more information. Best, Madison.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Lousy customer service

    • Providence, RI,
    • Aug 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just finished my aligners after 6 months. Last week I received a text that said my last set would be in my hands. Not true. Over a week with no retainers and no return of my several messages. BUYER BEWARE.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 20, 2019

      Company Response from

      Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, Joseph. All retainer orders should take 2-3 weeks to be delivered, so we're concerned to see this. I'm sending you a private message so that we can look into this. Best, Madison


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    False promises, bait and switch, terrible customer service

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Aug 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I chose SmileDirectClub because they lied to me, and lead me to believe that my treatment would be overlooked by a licensed doctor, it would be quick, and they were committed to helping me get a smile I was proud of. But I found out that's just a bunch of BS to scam me and other people out of their money.

    I was given a six-month treatment plan and initially, everything was just OK, shipping of my aligners delayed by 2 weeks from their time frame of 3-4 weeks. First red flag should have canceled right then and there (didn't). I continued with my six-month plan and sent in photos and checked in every 90 days per the treatment. Around month 4, week 2, I called SmileDirectClub and explained to them I was concerned that my treatment was not on track. The customer service team basically blew me off and was only concerned if my aligners were fitting, they were, so they advise me to continue (second red flag).

    After I was done with my 6-month treatment plan, my teeth are still crooked. This is when things really go to crap with this company. I call the customer service resolution team and explain that my smile is nothing like they promised. They apologize and said that I need to go for a reevaluation and it's common...really, that's the first I'm hearing of it. But really didn't think to much of it, thinking to myself if this is common it shouldn't take too long to fix, maybe another week or two, a month at most, for treatment (I was wrong way wrong).

    One day later I go into a SmileDirect center and get rescanned, was rushed out before I could even ask any questions. I assume they work on commission and there was no commission to be made since they already stole my money so they just wanted me out. Almost a week goes by and I don't hear anything so I called again and they informed me that the dental team is reviewing my reevaluation scans and are creating a personalized treatment plan. Hold on, wait, what? I explained that I already was given a treatment plan and completed it already. I ask to speak with the dental team but they could not transfer me and there is no direct number, but they would have them call me in 3-5 business days. The dental team gives me a call a few business days later and tells me that I need to do another 4 months. What the heck, when I ask why is that the case, she explains to me my teeth didn't shift the way they expected and everyone is different and they just don't know. Really, you don't know! Then how is your company giving people scans of their future smile if you don't know? When I question the lady how come the reevaluation treatment is almost as long as the original treatment she keeps insisting that everyone is different. Then I explain to her what was the point of the 90-day check-ins and me sending in photos. Who was the dentist responsible for overlooking my treatment and let me speak with them. She flat out told me NO, that's not their process. I couldn't wrap my head around her statement. How can they offer a medical procedure and claim to have A Duly License Dentist or Orthodontist monitoring my process but give me no access to them to answer my questions.

    After several more back and forts with supervisors from the customer service team and the dental team, they wore me out and I knew I was screwed. On top of the new 4-month treatment plan, they told me I had to wait another 4 weeks while my aligners are being molded and pressed. Eight weeks later I still haven't received my aligners and have since told them at this point to cancel everything and give me a full refund. And once again I was given the runaround with the customer resolution team. I have since called and disputed credit card payments, and filed a complaint with the BBB.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 19, 2019

      Company Response from Smile Direct Club

      Thank you for leaving us a review, Christian. All customers are completely different, which means their teeth may track differently. We create a treatment plan and aligners based on this plan to the customer. If at any point a customer does not feel that they are tracking with the plan, we'll look into a re-evaluation at no cost to the customer. This is very normal in clear aligner therapy. If it is determined that the customer isn't tracking as expected, we will need to create a new treatment plan, which means the current aligners won't be helpful anymore. We would be more than happy to look into any concerns, so I will be sending you a message to see how we can assist. Best, Madison.


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Aligners have been extremely painful

    • Denver, CO,
    • Aug 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    So far, my experience has been pretty poor. I received my aligners in the prescribed time window, but the first set was extremely painful. They cut my gums and my tongue in multiple places. There were huge gaps between the aligners and my gums that caused sores all around my mouth. I asked for a re-scan and they told me to cut the aligners down myself. I spent 45 minutes trying to cut excess plastic off, which improved the fit, but was still cutting my mouth. I also didn't want to be spending 45 minutes every week cutting the new aligners. I complained again, which they replied the aligners were the right fit...right, my mouth should be bleeding! Finally, they agreed to re-print my first month and see if it helped.

    It took a month to get the new aligners shipped, and even though I had explicitly asked for them to ship to my new address and gotten an email back saying they confirmed the new address, they shipped to my old address.

    I have tried the new aligners for two days. The initial fit was better, but still painful, cutting my gums, my tongue, and especially the tendon on the bottom of the mouth below the tongue. I cut the plastic again, which improved the fit, but still getting cuts. I've requested a new scan, because I think the original scan must be off if the fit is that bad, but have not heard back from SmileDirectClub.

    I just looked at the return policy. Seems like they purposefully delay any responses past the 14-day return window. If they don't re-scan, I'm just SOL?

    Oh, also the $25 Amazon gift card number they gave me is invalid.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 19, 2019

      Company Response from Smile Direct Club

      Thanks for the review, Scott. All of our aligners go through multiple quality checks prior to being shipped, but we may suggest the customer make adjustments if there are any spots that are causing specific issues. If the aligners aren't fitting, we can order replacements or do a new scan. We always want to provide quick resolutions to our customers, so we would never purposefully delay assisting a customer. I would be happy to look into your concerns and assist with the Amazon gift card as well. I'm sending you a message to get additional information from you. Best, Madison.


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Bad customer service, very slow process.

    • Los Molinos, CA,
    • Aug 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It’s been about 2 months now since I signed up and paid, but I still can’t start the process! I was weary of trying SmileDirect, but their pushy salespeople convinced me to try it. I am VERY disappointed so far. First of all, they told me an orthodontist would reach out to me within 3 days of my scan. I NEVER heard anything from an orthodontist. About a month later, I received my box. I read the directions and went to try the first aligner. It was poorly packaged and badly damaged. I got ahold of customer support and they had me send them a picture of the aligner and said they’d send me a replacement. Well, it’s been another month since then. I’ve tried reaching out to them several times and no response. What a horrible business. I wish I would have started working with a REAL orthodontist.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 19, 2019

      Company Response from Smile Direct Club

      Hi Luke, thanks for leaving us a review and sharing feedback about your experience. Customers should receive their SmilePlans within 72 hours of their appointment after it is approved by the dentist or orthodontist assigned to the case. The doctor won't reach out directly, but the plan will not be sent out without their final approval. All of our aligners go through multiple quality checks, so we're concerned to hear about this. I am sending you a private message to see how we can help. Best, Madison.


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Great Customer Service

    • Harlem, NY,
    • Aug 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This location is very nice. I was greeted as soon as I walked in and I was offered bottled water. Samantha then came to the front to get me started for my scan. She did a really good job going over the whole process which made me feel at ease. She was very friendly and polite and knowledgable of the aligners and how it works. Would definitely recommend!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 16, 2019

      Company Response from Smile Direct Club

      This is what we like to see! Thank you, Ayeshah.


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Excellent customer service

    • Boston, MA,
    • Aug 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My appointment was quick and easy. It also helps when you have an amazing staff who’s knowledgeable like Roberto! I would highly encourage and recommend the Boston location. Everyone was amazing! Thanks for making my experience enjoyable!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 16, 2019

      Company Response from Smile Direct Club

      Nicol, we strive for 100% satisfaction, and it's always our goal to give customers an informative and exciting experience. Thank you so much.


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Terrible customer service

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Aug 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Unequivocally horrible.

    They don’t tell you what they don’t fix until after you go through their delayed process. First set did not even come close to fitting. Replace was worse. Drove to Pittsburgh to get detailed 3D pictures...still didn’t fit. Went to an orthodontist and discovered that real braces are needed to correct the misalignment of the jawbone and the rear teeth. We should have NEVER been sold this product. When informing them the customer service person became condescending and insulted me personally. I was waiting to be told it was a joke...NEVER have I received such horrible customer service. I called back to talk to a supervisor, waited 15 minutes and then they said a supervisor would call me back within 24 hours. 10 minutes later my phone rings once and they hung up...this organization is an unmitigated disaster. Avoid.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 15, 2019

      Company Response from Smile Direct Club

      Hi Jeremiah, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review and share feedback about your experience. Customers are required to sign the Consent & History, which states that clear aligner therapy treatment will only address the alignment of the customer's teeth. All customers are provided with their SmilePlan prior to treatment, which can be viewed in the dashboard through treatment, and will show the projected movement of the teeth. Customers have up to 30 days from receiving their aligners to return them for a full refund or they can cancel their order prior to receiving it. We're disappointed to hear about your experience and are here to help if you need anything. I'm sending you a message to look into any concerns further. Best, Madison.


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Finally received

    • Denver, CO,
    • Aug 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received my aligners 3 months later and they don’t fit...absolutely unbelievable. I am asking for a refund right now.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Previous review
    • Aug 8, 2019

    Update

    Follow up. They did message me but I still haven’t heard about any status updates. This company is literally the absolute worst.

    • Aug 9, 2019

      Company Response from Smile Direct Club

      Hi Jessica, this is concerning to hear as our team typically gets back to customers within 3-5 business days at most. I reached out via private message to check back in with you.

    (read moreread less...)
    • Previous review
    • Jul 31, 2019

    Total fraud

    I’ve been waiting on my second set of aligners since May 17 because the first didn’t correct my smile that was "so easy" to fix. They literally couldn’t even move my two front teeth. I hear the same as reviews below - Charlene, Caitlin, etc., they’re saying they’re still in production and a manager will call me back, quality control. No one calls me back, they all say something different. They leave numbers and say this is their direct line to call (it’s not). This is the worst company, they’re fraud, they’re not giving back people their money either and I would run from them. Do not sign up!

    • Jul 31, 2019

      Company Response from Smile Direct Club

      We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review, Jessica. We always want to provide the best quality care to our customers, so this is disappointing to see. I'm sending you a private message for some more information to see how we can help. Best, Madison.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Great experience and great product!

    • Portland, OR,
    • Aug 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Just want to thank Judie and the team at SmileDirectClub for always great customer service and welcoming atmosphere. All my concerns are addressed and I have had a great end result with my aligners. I'm very pleased and would without hesitation recommend SmileDirectClub to anyone I know. Thank you Judie and everyone again!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 15, 2019

      Company Response from Smile Direct Club

      This is so exciting to hear! We are thrilled about this feedback. Thank you for the support!


Showing 1-11 of 251

Write a Review for SmileDirectClub!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review