SmileDirectClub Review: Is It Legit or Just Hype?

By HighYa Research Team
Updated on: Jun 11, 2019

Interested in straightening your teeth, but don’t have the time for regular orthodontist visits? Or, do you have the time, but cringe at the thought of traditional braces?

In either instance, SmileDirectClub promises to deliver an “innovative remote treatment process” via teledentistry that can help you straighten your teeth using custom clear aligners.

We’re told this process allows SmileDirectClub’s network of more than 225 licensed dentists and orthodontists to evaluate your teeth from anywhere, which, when combined with their 3D treatment modeling and direct-to-consumer convenience, means they can work around your schedule at a fraction of the price. You’ll even get to see a 3D preview of your new smile before you begin the process.

Regardless of what you’re shopping for, it’s difficult to resist 60-percent off. But will you have the same teeth-straightening experience with SmileDirectClub as a traditional orthodontist? In other words, even if it is less, does SmileDirectClub represent a solid deal? That’s exactly what we’ll explore here.

How Does SmileDirectClub Work?

Overall, we can break the SmileDirectClub process down into two steps:

Step 1: Initial Consultation & Setup

First, you’ll make an appointment through SmileDirectClub’s website to visit a SmileShop location. There, a company representative called a “SmileGuide” will take a 3D image of your smile, which they state takes about 30 minutes. After you’re finished, you’ll immediately be able to see the 3D image of your smile.

There are over 250 SmileShop locations across the U.S., Canada, and Puerto Rico. Some of these locations are inside CVS and Walgreens stores. Not near a SmileShop location? You can complete an impression kit at home instead.

You’ll then be assigned a duly licensed dentist or orthodontist who will review and approve your 3D smile plan and guide your new smile from beginning to end.

SmileDirectClub says that, in many cases, within 72 hours you’ll receive your treatment plan showing how your smile will transform. Next, they’ll begin production of your clear aligners custom-created for your teeth.

Step 2: Using Your Aligners

You’ll be sent all aligners in your smile plan at one time, along with SmileDirectClub’s bright on premium teeth whitening. It’s important to wear your clear aligners in the proper order, all day and night, removing them only for meals and drinking beverages other than cool water.

You’ll check in with your doctor every 90 days through your customer account, so he or she can monitor your progress. (If you have any questions, you can reach out to a SmileDirectClub customer care specialist 24 hours a day, seven days a week via phone, email, or live chat.

The average SmileDirectClub customer completes treatment in 6 months.

Once you’re finished, you’ll need to wear a custom-fit retainer to prevent your teeth from shifting back into their original positions. For the first 2 weeks after treatment, you’ll wear them all day and night (except when eating and drinking anything other than cool water), just as you did with your aligners. After that, you’ll only need to wear them at night.

SmileDirectClub recommends replacing your retainers every 6 months to keep them clean, fresh, and tight-fitting.

How Do Clear Aligners Straighten Teeth?

Unlike braces, which use interconnected brackets and wires, “are a series of tight-fitting custom-made retainers that slip over the teeth.”

Each tray will slowly move your teeth into the desired position, leaving you with straighter teeth and a brighter smile over the course of several months.

SmileDirectClub aligners are made of BPA-free plastic, which is fairly common among competitors, too (more about this soon).

The Pros and Cons of Clear Aligners

On the positive side, compared to traditional braces, clear aligners:

  • Can be removed and generally aren’t as noticeable
  • Generally need to be worn for a shorter period of time
  • Eliminate having to worry about difficulty eating or food getting stuck
  • Cause less discomfort (you’ll still feel some discomfort, especially for the first few days after changing to a new set of trays)
  • Offer little chance of tooth discoloration

However, clear aligners aren’t perfect. Here are some potential drawbacks:

  • You’ll have to brush and floss after each meal.
  • You’ll also need discipline in order to stick to your treatment plan and keep the trays in place all day and night.
  • Clear aligners can’t be used for those with bridgework or those with complicated issues that require moving teeth vertically, rotating canines or premolars, or those with anything more than mild-to-moderate crowding, rotation, and/or bite correction.

How Much Does SmileDirectClub Cost?

If clear aligners sound like an ideal solution, how much will you pay through SmileDirectClub?

Your online Smile Assessment is completely free. To determine if clear aligners are a good fit for you, you’ll need to complete either a free 3D scan at a SmileShop or an at-home impression kit for $49. If it’s determined that you’re not a suitable candidate, the $49 fee will be refunded.

When the time comes, SmileDirectClub provides two payment options for its customers:

  • Single Payment: A one-time payment of $1895. (This is a more cost-effective payment option.)
  • SmilePay™ Monthly Payments: Pay a $250 down payment, then $85 a month for 24 months. In total, you’ll pay $2290.

All SmileDirectClub clear aligner plans include complimentary whitening gel.

Once your treatment plan is complete, a set of retainers to preserve your new smile is $99.

Other miscellaneous SmileDirectClub costs include a $50 fee for individual replacement trays (or $99 per set) if lost, as well as a $49 fee for any additional impression kits. Regarding this last one, the fee “can be deducted from your treatment plan cost when you purchase your aligners,” the company says.

All Canadian pricing can be found on SmileDirectClub’s Canadian website.

Finally, SmileDirectClub provides a Smile Guarantee, which stipulates that if you’re dissatisfied for any reason, simply return your unused aligners, and they’ll refund the prorated amount.

Customers are eligible for a full refund if they return the aligners within 30 days of delivery. In order to request one (or to ask any questions), customer service you can reach their customer service department at 800-848-7566.

Those who have orthodontic benefits in their dental plan could be “reimbursed directly from your insurance company after purchasing your aligners.”

However, they note that they do not accept direct payments from insurance companies.

SmileDirectClub also accepts payments through HSA and FSA plans, as well as CareCredit.

A Look at SmileDirectClub Customer Reviews

There is a wide variety of customer input regarding the SmileDirectClub both on YouTube and various review sites including HighYa and Yelp.

YouTuber misselissalk seems to have had a positive experience with SmileDirectClub, finding it less expensive than the competition and receiving everything right on time. She also enjoyed the 3D digital model that shows you what your teeth will look like with each tray.

Interestingly, she was able to correct her top teeth only. Per the company’s FAQ, SmileDirectClub generally recommends against straightening just your top or bottom teeth, since this can significantly change your bite.

She noted that rough edges on SmileDirectClub’s aligners created sores and cuts in her mouth. She went on to say that the company provided a file to smooth out rough edges and that orthodontic wax helped, too. Over time, though, her mouth healed and the pain receded.

She didn’t like brushing her teeth after eating or drinking something other than water and felt that the company’s email communication was “kinda poor.” Specifically, she noted long response times with several follow-ups required.

At the time of publishing, 158 HighYa reviewers gave the company an average rating of 2.2 stars, with 29 percent saying they’d recommend the service to a friend.

Of the 10 most recent reviews, six were one star, two were two stars and two were five stars. There were multiple complaints of poor customer service, long wait times between aligners and cracked aligners, too.

The five-star review praised the company for a positive in-person experience. The reviewer noted that the people who helped her were dental professionals and that the equipment used was, in her opinion, top-of-the-line.

SmileDirectClub Compared to Candid

According to Colgate, the average cost of an Invisalign treatment plan ranges from $3,500 to $8,000 compared to SmileDirectClub’s single-pay price of $1,895. SmileDirectClub offers better pricing by a wide margin.

However, SmileDirectClub isn’t the only non-Invisalign company who provides clear aligners. We’ve done an in-depth review of Candid, a company very similar to SmileDirectClub whose prices are slightly higher: $1,995.

They take you through a similar progression as SmileDirectClub and they also offer brick-and-mortar locations where you can start your alignment process. Because the two companies are so similar, we suggest that you call each one and interact with their customer service people to see which company you are drawn to.

The Bottom Line on SmileDirectClub

We believe the strengths of SmileDirectClub are that you have the freedom to get aligners without ever having to leave your home. You don’t have to deal with a dentist’s chair and you may be able to avoid the cost of braces, which are significantly more expensive than the aligners the company offers

Their aligners are cheaper than what you’ll get with Invisalign and competitor Candid, too.

The downside of the company’s service is that the reviews we read were below average, with multiple reviewers complaining of poor customer service and cracked aligners. There were also complaints about waiting times.

As for who is a good fit for these aligners, we think WebMD makes some excellent points about this. First, they say that custom-built aligners tend to have a tight fit and are best suited for adults and teens rather than kids.

“Young people, and their mouths are still growing and developing; the doctor must think about this when setting up treatment,” they said.

They go on to point out that clear aligners, no matter which online company you choose, have their limitations.

“Clear orthodontic aligners are typically used for patients who have mild or moderately crowded teeth, or have minor spacing issues. Patients who have severe crowding or spacing problems -- or severe underbites, overbites, or crossbites -- may need more complex treatment,” they note.

The site goes on to say that the smart way to go about using aligners is to get a diagnosis from your dentist first. If they say aligners are a good fit for what’s going on with your teeth, you have the green light to research the options you have for SmileDirectClub.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 183 SmileDirectClub Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 45 4 star: 8 3 star: 2 2 star: 20 1 star:  108
Bottom Line: 30% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 183
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Customer service outright lies to you!

    • Coeur d'Alene, ID,
    • Jun 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The first portion of my treatment with SmileDirect went well, it was quick and the day arrived I could wear my retainers. This is when the issues began. I wore my retainers as directed: while I slept and even wore them the two weeks 24/7 as directed the first two weeks. The problem is after a few hours of not wearing them, my front gap comes back. I was told that they needed a new scan. I went in within days of the request I went in (an hour drive) and had my scan done.

    It went well, although I wasn't sure which email account I used. I was told no big deal...let me tell you, apparently, IT IS. After a month of going on 22 calls each "customer service" agent telling me:

    1. No problem, we will merge the account and it will be "3-5" business days and you'll get an email letting you know the time frame when they will be shipped out.

    2. We can't merge the emails, so you need to go back and rescan.

    3. Yes, I see your account and this Thursday they are being sent.

    4. It takes too much work to transfer all the information from the email account to the next, go get another scan.

    5. I see your account and I can't see anything on it since you received your retainer.

    At this point, I've asked to speak with a supervisor twice. The first time I was on hold for over 25 minutes. I hung up. The second time I was told one was at lunch and the other could get back to me within an hour. Here I am waiting...and waiting. Now, each of those interactions were in order. So, some of them were lying to me when I was told it would be 3-5 days...and it would be taken care of (I was told that on several occasions that I didn't include), only to be told next time they couldn't find my information.

    At this point, I wouldn't recommend this company. Do the aligners work? Yes, unfortunately, the customer service is horribly inadequate. They will say whatever to get you off the phone or keep them from having to work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Poor customer service

    • Vermont,
    • Jun 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hi there,

    I visited the SmileDirectClub in Williston, Vermont to see if I needed aligners for my teeth and I was told I can sign up for it with a full refund within 30 days. I paid a downpayment of $250 as an initial payment. After going home I realized the total cost of $1800 for these aligners is a little too much for me to afford and so I called SmileDirectClub the very next day to cancel my order. The custom rep told me that they have canceled it and I should receive my $250 back. After a week I noticed in my credit card that the charge of $250 was still there. So I called them again and this time I was told that my order wasn't canceled and some person named Tim will contact me as this is their standard procedure to cancel the order.

    So then I waited to be contacted by Mr. Tim and he reached me the next day and apologized that the order was shipped already so I have to return it through FedEx once it delivers to my address. I was upset that why was it shipped when I had already canceled more than a week ago. He told me that there will be a return label and I shouldn't have any issues getting my money back. So then I waited for my order. It got delivered and I opened it only to find the box but no shipping label for return. So I called again to SmileDirectClub and I was told I've to pay for shipping! I told them that the mistake was on their part and I shouldn't be paying for it. After this back and forth the custom rep said I will have to wait for Tim to call me and sort this out. I waited 3 days still no response. So I called the helpline again and the same story - Mr. Tim will contact me. I requested if I can have the contact or email address of Mr. Tim so I could direct my request to him and I was told this is not company policy. So here am I still waiting to get my refund after 3 weeks of canceling my order!

    Totally disappointed with the customer service.

    I won't recommend this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 25, 2019

      Company Response from Smile Direct Club

      Hi Abbas, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Cancellations can take several business days to process, but orders should be put on hold prior to that. We're concerned to hear about your experience and would be more than happy to help. I am sending you a private message, so that we can assist further. Best, Madison


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Update as of (6/14/2019)

    • New York City, NY,
    • Jun 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Two weeks later and I have not received my aligners, they have no been expedited as was promised, I have not received the $200 discount that I was promised, and worst of all have not received a call from the account representative who promised to call/email me back on May 30th (Tim). I've contacted customer service three times asking to speak with him and each time they said they would leave him a message and he would get back with me asap. No calls and no messages, no clarity on what's going on and it honestly seems like they just don't care to deliver on what was promised.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 22, 2019

      Company Response from Smile Direct Club

      Hi Saad, thank you for providing this additional information. We want all customers to feel heard, so we will follow up with the correct team. Best, Elizabeth.

    • Previous review
    • Jun 11, 2019

    Stay away

    I really wanted to like this service, and as a matter of fact, the experience from the first appointment until the 4th month was all great. Unfortunately, the quality of the service and its ability to deliver on what was promised, and the corresponding customer support really declined when it was most important.

    While the service promises that a dentist will oversee your teeth straitening process, I've yet to meet or speak with a dentist. I am in my 5th month now. It's implied from their promotional and marketing material that your dentist will be heavily involved in walking you along this journey, but that is far from the truth. At the halfway point of my 7-month aligner journey, you are supposed to "check in with your dentist" on your progress. That check-in compromised of a survey that was sent to me via email in which I had to take selfies of my teeth and submit via an online form. After submitting the form you would think you would hear back with confirmation that all is going as planned. I did not receive any communication confirming that my results had been submitted and received, nor whether they were looked at by a dentist (or anyone for that matter). No one confirmed with me that everything was going as planned, only to find out later that things were not going as planned.

    At the halfway point of my 4th month, I started to notice a gap in between my teeth and the actual aligner. At first, I did not think much of this, as I assumed that this was a natural part of the teeth shifting process. Unfortunately, those gaps continued to increase, and in addition, I started to notice a gap in between 2 of my teeth that did not exist before. Yes, you read that right. The aligners were pushing 2 of my teeth further apart. Here's where I started to really get concerned. As I was shifting from 1 week's aligners to the next the gaps in between those aligners and 2 of my bottom teeth started to increase even more. The gap in between the aligner and my teeth was now really visible, and the gap in between 2 of my teeth was also becoming more prominent. At this point, I decided to call SmileDirect.

    The customer service call was friendly, and the person responded that my concern was noted and that they would follow up via email with me. I did receive a follow up only to find out that it was requested of me to take 6 more selfies of my teeth, to write down in detail the issues in an email, and identify the teeth numbers that I was concerned about. This is not the kind of support that I was expecting, nor is it in line with the promise that a dentist will oversee your process. I called and expressed this concern, and the customer support person scheduled me an appointment to go into a local office and have them take the pictures and note the issues.

    I visited a local office expecting to see a dentist, but instead, I met with someone who just took pictures of my teeth and another scan. I don't think this person was a dentist, nor do I believe that there are any dentist at these locations. The person was friendly and told me that the gaps were not normal but all is going to be well and that SmileDirect would create me a new pair of aligners and have them sent to me. I appreciated the friendly service, though it did not ease my concern about the quality of the service and the product that I have invested money and 5 months in.

    I left the office thinking that all would be handled from here and my new aligners would be sent to me seamlessly with no issues. Unfortunately, I was wrong again. I was told by the person at the office to keep on my current retainers, while I was receiving emails from SmileDirect to take them off and switch to the next pair. In addition, I also received an email from a customer support rep (Aura) that suggested everything was fine and my smile was going just as planned. The email implied there is no reason for me to receive new aligners. This was confusing and frustrating, and I had to call and clear up this issue. My faith and trust in the credibility of the service continued to decline even further, and I asked to speak with a customer account representative that can once and for all settle the concerns I have and ensure that the remainder of my service would not be chaotic. They said an account rep who handles these types of issues would call.

    Two days later I received a call from a representative (his name is Tim) who was friendly at first, but unfortunately went on to make my experience with this company even worse. I expressed my concerns and this issues with Tim, and Tim repeatedly iterated that the gaps in between my teeth and the aligners are normal, and the gap in between my 2 teeth that kept increasing was just a part of the initial smile plan that I would have noticed had I reviewed the smile plan that was sent to me at the beginning of the service. As you can imagine this was infuriating. I had logged in multiple times when I received the initial smile plan and reviewed carefully the transitions my teeth were going to go through. At no point did I notice an increasing gap in between 2 of them. I also did not and do not believe that increasing gaps between the aligners and my teeth are a normal part of the process. They custom make these aligners to fit perfectly on your teeth, why would they make the aligner have a gap in between it and 2 of my teeth? That does not make sense, and I was afraid that this gap would severely influence how my teeth would or would not shift. In addition, while Tim refused to acknowledge that anything was going wrong, why did his colleague who I had seen a few days before express to me that this was an issue and that new aligners would be custom made to fix and address my concerns?

    After a lengthy and frustrating call with Tim, Tim agrees that new aligners would be sent to me at no charge and I would receive a $200 discount. This appeased me a bit, but again the experience that follows continued to disappoint and infuriate.

    I receive another email that new aligners have been created for me and that I need to call to order them. Jaded with all this back and forth, I call at this point only to find out that ordering means I have to pay for the new aligners. As you can imagine, this is infuriating again. I go through the whole issue to another rep again and the rep puts me on hold only to come back and tell me that I don't have to pay for the new aligners, but I need to call again in 3-5 business days to make sure that the order is processed and that I'm not charged. I still don't understand why this has to be this complicated...but I have no choice at this point and I agree.

    I go back to look at the email of the new smile that was created for me and I log in to see the progress that my teeth would go through only to find out that my new smile would take an additional 3-4 months to complete. I was supposed to wear my aligners until August of this year, and now the new smile would have me wearing them until December (that's if I receive them in the next 2 weeks). If nothing was wrong and all was going as planned, why am I wearing aligners for 3-4 additional months than what was promised initially?

    As of today (6/1/2019) I'm waiting on my new aligners to be processed and sent to me. I will update this review if anything changes and the company properly remedies this issue.

    • Jun 12, 2019

      Company Response from Smile Direct Club

      Hi Saad, we truly appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review and share feedback about your experience. We always want to provide the best support possible to all of our customers, especially when things may not be going as expected. We're disappointed to see this and will be passing this feedback along to all teams involved. I am also sending you a private message to offer additional assistance. Best, Madison.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Do not fall for their free offers

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Jun 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    They offered me a free gift card to come in and do a scan but they will not honor the gift card after I came in. They tried to say their computer system wouldn't let them and that I could receive something even better if I would just pay them 2 thousand dollars first. No thanks. They are a scammy shady business that spends most of their money on advertising and sales and cannot back up their promises. I would not trust them with my teeth if they cannot even send a gift card. It's even more appalling that they blame their computer system since their product is automated by a computer system. Once they have your money they will give you the runaround. Do you want that with your teeth? Aligners need to be reimaged and recreated often by the dentist. Don't trust this scammy business.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 21, 2019

      Company Response from Smile Direct Club

      Hi Phil, thanks for leaving us a review. For Amazon gift card promotions, customers must enter the specific code for this promotion when booking their scan appointment. In order for us to know what promotion a customer is using, we need the specific code to be linked to that account. If the code is added later or not at all, the customer won't be eligible for the gift card. I'm happy to take a look into this for you, so I'm sending you a message for more information. Best, Madison.


  • 0 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great experience

    • Santa Rosa, CA,
    • Jun 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Such a pleasant, no-hassle experience. TiAnne and her co-worker were both so kind and professional. Great service, and I can’t wait to straighten this smile. Would recommend to all, thanks so much!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 20, 2019

      Company Response from Smile Direct Club

      We are loving your enthusiasm, Darrell! This means the world to us - thank you so much.


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Nothing good to say about SmileDirect

    • Houston, TX,
    • Jun 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    EVERY SINGLE experience/encounter I've had has been a headache!

    I really wish I just gone to an actual dentist and got Invisalign again.

    I got Invisalign years ago in high school and it was awesome, unfortunately, I moved out of my parent's house and ended up losing my retainers and I wasn't able to afford new ones so my teeth ended up going back to their original spot. Fast forward a few years and I really want to fix my teeth to where they were before. I don't make a large amount of money so I was trying to find the most affordable option. SmileDirectClub was advertised a lot on social media and it seemed like a great, easy, and affordable experience. I wish I never invested my hard-earned money into this company. BIGGEST REGRET. They took longer than they said it would to get my box. Once I received my box the aligners didn't fit so I had to reach out to them for them to send me another set. I don't know what is going on internally, but they ended up sending my box to a completely different client in a different state. I called and they tell me they have updated the address and fixed all of their issues, so I wait some more time...

    I finally receive my aligners to see that there is a sharp piece of plastic on them both that looks like it didn't get taken off correctly? Definitely not supposed to be there, it was almost like an indent so once I tried to put the aligners in they cut my gums. I reached out to the company that I am paying thousands of dollars too, and their response was priceless. She let me know that I could just file them down or cut them myself. I didn't know that I was paying that much money to fix what they created for me. Unbelievable, so I cut them so I could continue the process. I have finished the entire process and throughout all of my struggles and complaints, I managed to get THREE FREE sets of retainers because of how many times they messed up my order. They tried to make it better by giving me free retainers as well as taking care of one of my payments because of how long the process was taking. I was counting on the original timeline they gave me to have my Invisalign finished before a very important trip, I was NOT ABLE TO BE FINISHED in the time frame they gave me! MONTHS after the actual time lime they gave me.

    I will forever steer people clear of this company. I can't believe the amount of issues I had and the amount of repeating issues I had. Completely INSANE. Also, have fun with all the phone calls you will receive from them. Sometimes they call and just hang up...it just happened this morning. I don't understand how this company is still open. Also, one more thing they DON'T MENTION, the way they work is ONLY for straightening teeth. SO if you are worried about your bite, you are definitely wasting your time because the way SmileDirect works it only straightens teeth and DOES NOT FIX YOUR BITE or even pay attention to it through the process! That being said, you could have to do the process all over again once you're down, BUT with an actual professional. Save your time, sanity, and money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 19, 2019

      Company Response from Smile Direct Club

      Hi Sarah, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review and share your experience. We have experienced some shipping delays and have been working as hard as possible to get all delayed orders out. We are always working to improve our processes to ensure that this doesn't happen in the future. While we do trim and buff all aligners, we recommend that customers trim and file them if there are any specific areas that are causing discomfort. We treat mild to moderate crowding, spacing, and general alignment concerns and do not claim to address bite issues. We cannot guarantee that a customer's teeth will track as expected, which is why we're happy to look into a re-evaluation at no cost to the customer if they don't achieve the expected results in their treatment. We truly appreciate all of your feedback and are concerned to hear about your experience. We have attempted to reach out and connect through a few different channels, but please know that we're here for you if you would like to follow up. Best, Madison.


  • Only beneficial for specific types of adjustments + disconnected customer service

    • New York,
    • Jun 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My process was great in the beginning. The scan at the Smile Shop went well, and aligners arrived on time. However, results were not as they initially appeared on the treatment plan.

    I needed certain tooth movements that would need attachments on the teeth to achieve, and being that the person I interacted with was not the actual doctor, it seems that my needs and concerns were never communicated through the chain. I wish that they would just say "We can't address that issue, this may not be the best treatment option for you," but instead they just collect the money and straighten your teeth as much as seems possible by their technology.

    My final retainer was also completely miss-shaped upon arrival in that it did not fit over my gums. Customer service was clearly not familiar with my files or individual case, and I was frustrated to receive scripted responses instead of the information that I actually needed pertaining to my case. It felt more like an FAQ page than a conversation with a person.

    In the end, SDC ended up being a major waste of time, money, and effort for me. I'm now going to have to pay double for Invisalign to actually address my issues with a real doctor and the proper technology.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 19, 2019

      Company Response from Smile Direct Club

      Hi Kayla, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We typically treat mild to moderate crowding, spacing, and general alignment concerns. All customers are provided their SmilePlan prior to treatment, which will show the customer their projected smile plan. If a customer will not benefit from clear aligner therapy or a case is too difficult, our doctors may deny treatment. We're disappointed to see this and would be happy to assist with any concerns. I am sending you a private message to see if we can help. Best, Madison.


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    I would give zero stars if I could

    • New York,
    • Jun 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    If I could give zero stars or negative stars, I would. I’ve been a member since August of 2018. First set went great. They didn’t straighten my teeth. I’m okay with that. They do a re-evaluation and I get them and they are about 2 months and they fit good, feel good, and after the beginning of Month 2nd, I notice there is no way they could be straight by then so I put in early for my re-evaluation on April 6th. And the last week of my Month 2, cracked. So I put in for a bottom replacement while I wait for the re-evaluation to be done. April 11th I got an email saying they will do my re-evaluation based on my previous scan. Awesome! Three weeks go by and nothing. I call and they said they "don’t have a re-evaluation." I’m stunned. I have the email they sent saying "wait for shipping etc. etc." I go "what do you mean, I have an email from April 11th saying they’re have to be shipped." They actually deny it! Even with PROOF they deny it. Say I need another scan. I argue and get hostile. The customer service is HOOOORRRIBLE. They take no responsibility, they have NO escalation points. Just an "F U" and that’s it.

    So I get another scan because I have no slingers. My teeth are moving. So I go on May 5th for the scan. They send an email that they’re being shipped and they actually arrive. Holy crap a miracle. But WAIT. They only sent MONTH 2! They forgot the entire 1st month. ARE YOU SERIOUS?! I call and they have to put in an ORDER, which is another three weeks. It gets better. It’s now June 9th. 17 days after the order and they are NOT EVEN SHIPPED. This company is actual garbage. If anyone is interested, email me. I have all the evidence. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. I’m being dead serious.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 19, 2019

      Company Response from Smile Direct Club

      Hi Matt, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and share your experience. This is disappointing to hear and we would love to help. I am sending you a private message to see if we can assist further. Best, Madison.


  • Sam & Sam

    • Allentown, PA,
    • Jun 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Sam & Sam are the best they made me feel very comfortable and treated me very well, they even played with my son there. I’ll recommend SmileDirectClub to my friends and family.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 19, 2019

      Company Response from Smile Direct Club

      This is why we do what we do. Thank you for the feedback, Raykira!


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Worst customer service I’ve ever experienced

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Jun 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Everything was on track until I got to my last month of aligners. After opening the first set of the last month I realized that the top aligner was deformed. I checked the rest of the month's aligner and found the same issue. I immediately contacted SmileDirect in order to fix the issue. It took 3 MONTHS to receive the correct aligners. By then my teeth had shifted back (even though I still continued to use the last aligner set correctly).

    Their response was to go back and get re-evaluated. Even so, I still have to wait another 2-3 weeks, at the very least, to get another set of aligners! Overall, this does not satisfy me because I believe I am owed financial restitution for this dissatisfying service.

    Every time I try to get ahold the resolution center I’m placed on hold and then eventually the call is disconnected on their side. I can’t believe I’ve wasted $1850 on this product. I’m definitely not smiling.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 18, 2019

      Company Response from Smile Direct Club

      Hi Mallory, we truly appreciate you taking time to leave us feedback and share your experience. We work as hard as possible to get any delayed orders out as quickly as possible and identify any issues in production to prevent it from happening in the future. All replacements should be delivered in 10-14 business days, so this is disappointing to see. I am sending you a private message to get some more information from you to see how we can help. Best, Madison.


  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Update

    • Tampa, FL,
    • Jun 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wrote this many weeks ago. I was mad that it took a few days to call me back. The day after I wrote this a specialist called to help me navigate the issue. They were very caring and stayed in touch. They were amazing. So even though it didn’t work for me I read a lot of success stories. So their customer service was amazing, which means a lot. Thank you, SmileDirect Customer Service gets an A+. I will give customer service 5 stars.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 17, 2019

      Company Response from Smile Direct Club

      Thank you so much for the update, Mike! We're happy to hear this.

    • Previous review
    • Jun 4, 2019

    Stay away.

    I wore the retainers for a month, had pain, which is expected. I cleaned them and sanitized every time they left my mouth and brushed my teeth. I started getting sore throats, never had one since I was a child. Went to my dentist last week and I have 3 abscesses which needed a root canal ASAP and my gum lines are at a 6, which means I will go through deep cleaning for a year. So I called last week, spoke to her about other issues. I called to cancel and nobody calls me back. I got $3k worth of dental issues and they refuse to call me back. My dentist wants me to complain to the state dentistry and file a complaint. Can somebody please call me.

    • Jun 5, 2019

      Company Response from Smile Direct Club

      Hi Mike, thanks for leaving us a review and sharing feedback about your experience. All customers agree that they see their dentist prior to treatment to ensure that there are no concerns that can be worsened by clear aligners, so we're concerned to see this. I am sending you a direct message to get some more information and see how we can help. Best, Madison.

    (read moreread less...)

Showing 1-11 of 183

Write a Review for SmileDirectClub!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review