About SmileDirectClub

By HighYa Staff
Updated on: Oct 17, 2017

Interested in straightening your teeth, but don’t have the time for regular orthodontist visits? Or, do you have the time, but cringe at the thought of traditional braces?

In either instance, SmileDirectClub promises to deliver an “innovative remote treatment process” that can help you straighten your teeth using custom invisible aligners.

We’re told this process allows SmileDirectClub’s network of over 225 licensed dental professionals to evaluate a patient’s teeth from anywhere, which, when combined with their 3D treatment modeling and direct-to-patient convenience, means they can work around your schedule at a fraction of the price. You’ll even get to know what your new smile will look like before beginning the process.

Despite this, SmileDirectClub promises to do this without sacrificing quality. In fact, they claim to “use the same labs as our competition.”

Regardless of what you’re shopping for, it’s difficult to resist 60% off. But will you have the same teeth-straightening experience with SmileDirectClub as a traditional orthodontist? In other words, even if it is less, does SmileDirectClub represent a solid deal? That’s exactly what we’ll explore here.

How Does SmileDirectClub Work?

Overall, we can break the SmileDirectClub process down into two steps:

Step 1: Initial Consultation & Setup

First, you’ll make an appointment through SmileDirectClub’s website to visit a SmileShop location. There, you’ll be able to have a 3D image of your smile taken by a certified SmileGuide, which they claim takes about 30 minutes. After you’re finished, you’ll be able to immediately see the results.

Then, your scan is digitally sent to a licensed dentist, who will “create a personalized plan showing you exactly how your new smile will look.”

Not near a SmileShop location? If so, you can complete an at-home impression kit, which will then be sent to a “state-licensed dental professional” who will create your new smile plan.

Once all of this occurs, SmileDirectClub’s dental professionals will determine your exact treatment option based on the information available. If you have any questions, you can reach out to a SmileDirectClub customer care specialist via phone, email, or live chat.

From initial consultation through the end of your treatment plan, SmileDirectClub’s proprietary SmileCheck software provides a connection between your dental professional and helps manage your case records. There, your doctor will be able to view uploaded images and dental impressions, as well as prescribe your treatment.

Step 2: Work the System

SmileDirectClub claims that in many cases, you’ll receive your treatment plan in days. You’ll be sent all aligners in your smile plan at one time, each of which will need to be worn in the proper order, all day and night, removing them only for meals and drinking beverages other than cool water.

SmileDirectClub’s treatment plans generally take anywhere between 4 and 10 months, depending on your plan. The average customer completes treatment in 6 months.

Once you’re finished, you’ll need to wear a custom fit retainer while you sleep in order to avoid dental relapse (i.e. your teeth attempting to shift back into their original position).

Exactly how do these invisible aligners do their job?

How Do Invisible Aligners Straighten Teeth?

Unlike braces, which use interconnected brackets and wires, invisible aligners “are a series of tight-fitting custom-made retainers that slip over the teeth.” Each tray will slowly move your teeth into the desired position, leaving you with straighter teeth and a brighter smile over the course of several months. Regarding SmileDirectClub specifically, their aligners are made of BPA-free plastic, which is fairly common amongst the competition (more about this soon).

The Pros & Cons of Invisible Aligners

On the positive side, compared to traditional braces, invisible aligners:

  • Can be removed and generally aren’t as noticeable
  • Often need to be worn for shorter periods of time
  • Remove having to worry about difficulty eating or food getting stuck
  • Cause less discomfort. However, you’ll still feel some discomfort, especially after the first few days of changing to a new tray
  • Offer little chance of tooth discoloration

However, invisible aligners aren’t perfect. Here are some potential drawbacks:

  • You’ll have to brush after each meal, or your aligners could become stained.
  • You’ll also need discipline in order to stick to your treatment plan and keep the trays in place all day and night.
  • Invisible aligners can’t be used for those with bridgework, or those with complicated issues requiring moving teeth vertically, rotating canines or premolars, or those with anything more than mild-to-moderate crowding, rotation, and/or bite correction.

If invisible aligners sound like an ideal solution, how much will you pay through SmileDirectClub?

How Much Does SmileDirectClub Cost?

Your online SmileDirectClub online Smile Assessment is completely free. To determine if invisible aligners are a good fit for you, you’ll need to complete either a 3D scan at a SmileShop or an at-home impression kit for $95. If it’s determined that you’re not a suitable candidate, the $95 fee will be refunded.

When the time comes. SmileDirectClub provides three payment options for their clients:

  • Single Payment: A one-time payment of $1850. This is the most cost-effective payment option.
  • SmilePay™ Monthly Payments: Pay a $250 down payment, then $80 a month for 24 months. In total, you’ll pay $2170.

All SmileDirectClub invisible aligner plans include complimentary whitening gel.

Once your treatment plan is complete, don’t forget that you can pay $99 for a retainer set to preserve your new smile.

Other miscellaneous SmileDirectClub fees include a $50 fee for each replacement tray if lost or damaged, as well as a $49 fee for additional impression kits. Regarding this last one, the fee “can be deducted from your treatment plan cost when you purchase your aligners.”

Finally, SmileDirectClub provides a Confident Smile Guarantee, which stipulates that if you’re dissatisfied for any reason, simply return your unused aligners and they’ll refund the prorated amount. In order to request one (or to ask any questions), customer service can be reached at 800-848-7566.

Does SmileDirectClub Accept Insurance?

Here’s what the company has to say:

“If your dental plan provides orthodontic benefits you may be reimbursed directly from your insurance company after purchasing your aligners. SmileDirectClub doesn't accept direct payment from insurance companies.”

SmileDirectClub also accepts payments through HSA and FSA plans, as well as CareCredit.

What Kinds of Reviews Will You Find for SmileDirectClub?

Considering that SmileDirectClub (formerly Smile Care Club) has been around since 2014, there wasn’t a whole lot of online customer feedback at the time of our research. And what feedback there was seemed to be largely through video.

For example, YouTube user Ashley S posted four reviews for SmileDirectClub spanning the course of a month. Overall, she claims she experienced a very long delay at the beginning, without hearing so much as a peep from the company. She spoke with customer service on several occasions, which only served to further frustrate her—and even after finally receiving her aligners, she found the top one didn’t fit well at all.

On the other hand, misselissalk seems to have had a much better experience with SmileDirectClub, finding them less expensive the competition, while receiving everything right on time. She also enjoyed the 3D digital model that shows you what your teeth will look like with each tray.

Interestingly, she was able to correct her top teeth only. Per their FAQ, the company generally recommends against straightening just the top or bottom, since this can significantly change your bite.

She noted that SmileDirectClub’s aligners didn’t hurt at all, but they did give her a slight lisp. She didn’t like brushing her teeth after eating or drinking something other than water, and felt that the email communication between her and the company was “kinda poor.” Specifically, she noted long response times with several follow ups required.

In her follow up video, misselissalk provides some great product tips to accompany your aligners, so be sure to give it a view as well.

As a company, SmileDirectClub had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau (as of 7/16/16), based on 19 closed complaints. Most of these seemed to reference poor customer service, problems receiving aligners on time, or difficulties obtaining refunds. The company responded to each of the complaints.

Who, exactly, is behind the company?

Who Founded SmileDirectClub?

Based out of Nashville, TN, SmileDirectClub was co-founded by Jordan Katzman and Alex Fenkell who recognized that 3D printing and telehealth “could bring about disruptive change to the invisible aligner market” by delivering “dramatically lower” prices.

From a financial perspective, SmileDirectClub is backed by Camelot Venture Group, the same private investment group behind 1-800-CONTACTS, Quicken Loans, and many other successful direct-to-consumer companies.

Is SmileDirectClub Better Than Other Teeth Straightening Methods? Should You Join?

According to some sources, the average cost of an Invisalign treatment plan is $5,000, compared to SmileDirectClub’s flat single-pay price of $1850. That’s well over a 60% savings, which is huge.

On top of this, there don’t appear to be any clear (no pun intended) differences between the BPA-free plastics used between Invisalign and SmileDirectClub’s trays, or the results you might achieve with them.

In fact, SmileDirectClub claims their trays come from many of the same labs used by the mainstream competition, and you won’t have to glue any clips to your teeth. You will, however, probably have to wear a retainer for the rest of your life.

Even compared to traditional braces—which can also cost up to five grand and might look unsightly—SmileDirectClub’s aligners seem to have a sharp advantage.

Taking all of this together, does this mean a SmileDirectClub treatment plan will deliver straighter teeth and a brighter smile? As long as you only require mild to moderate straightening, it certainly seems like it might fit the bill. And if your personal preferences dictate, you might be able to save a whole lot of moolah compared to the competition.

How well did SmileDirectClub work for you? Give us the inside scoop by writing your very own review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

56 Consumer Reviews for SmileDirectClub

Average Consumer Rating: 2.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 13 4 star: 3 3 star: 1 2 star: 4 1 star:  35
Bottom Line: 30% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 56
Sort reviews by:

  • Shame

    I went along and tried SmileDirectClub because I had minor teeth spacing that I wanted to be fixed. I went to the downtown location, got my scan, everything went well and smooth. It is $95 a month for two years. I received my aligners, did all 15 of them after about a year with them on. Finally! It was time to get retainers. I contacted them via Facebook about this and everything went fine. I got charged $95 for it, and it was sent out to me. I received them and I realized they were not as low at the gum area as the aligners. So they did not fit well at all. I contacted them, sent them photos and explained exactly what the issue was. They said they understood and they'll fix it. I got my replacement and it was exactly the same as the first retainers. I explained it again to them, sent more proof and they blamed it all on me.

    I had already tried filing them down, even cut them with scissors and they did not fit well still. I guess they thought I was trying to get retainers for free out of them, which was not the case at all. I honestly wanted to stick with the plan, and have that perfect smile. They were no help, and they basically did not care. So due to their lack of attention, I did this entire process for no reason. I am still paying till this day for something that won't be permanent due to their nonchalant ways. Very disappointing. Their customer service needs a major upgrade. They definitely know how to rip people off, so it seems.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    This company is such a scam, took $250 then drafted money for 5 months

    • Oklahoma, OK,
    • Aug 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company is such a scam. They never sent me anything but they took $250 and drafted money from my account for four months. When I call and try to get my money back they said they don't have any record of taking anything. They should not be in business any longer. When I called and told them to delete my card info, they said they would, but then this month draft out another $87.50.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 14, 2018

      Hannah Roberts, Reputation Coordinator

      Hi there, Cris. We're concerned to see your review, as this is certainly out of line with our usual proceedings. Please reach out at grinners@smiledirectclub.com to discuss further.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Beware

    • Houston, TX,
    • Aug 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Beware of this company. I could write a 10-page review of how bad this company is. I won’t even take into account how I was completely screwed over by them. Customer service is nothing but lies. They tell you what you want to hear, just to get rid of you and onto the next. I was told by 3 different representatives that they have so many new customers that it’s impossible to keep up. That’s why everything is weeks late and they give you the runaround.

    Stay away, odds are you won’t be satisfied.

    Reviews on their website are a very small percentage of customers. They just take the good reviews. Just do the math. Around 2200 reviews? They have over 100k customers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 6, 2018

      Hannah Roberts, Reputation Coordinator

      Hi there, Edgardo. First and foremost, we'd like to clarify that over 95% of our customers are happy with their smiles at the end of treatment, and we love when they choose to share this in a review. That said, we work hard to address any concerns or complaints we receive in a timely and honest way as more.

    • Aug 11, 2018

      Joselin B.

      I actually went along and got Smile Direct. I went into the location, got scanned, it came in the mail, and everything was going as planned. I finished my last set and it was time for retainers. I contacted them through Facebook, and it was great, no problems at all and they said it would be sent $95. That is where the problem began, the retainers arrived and my gums were way too high for me to put unto my teeth without it causing extreme pain on the roof of my mouth because the plastic on the retainers was too high. I tried filing them down and all but that was no help.

      I contacted them once more, I clearly explained to them the issue, and I even sent photos so they can see the issue. They were like "Yeah, we understand, we will fix it." They sent the replacements and they were the same as the first, so I contacted them once more, and the same issue. They sent another one with the same issue. The point is, they did not care enough to understand the simple problem that the retainers were being compared to the aligners that fit perfectly. Now I have NO retainers, and I did the entire process for no reason basically. It's a shame because I'm still paying monthly for it. I feel scammed, giving them over $2000, and I regret taking a chance on them. They really need to put customers priorities first.

    • Aug 13, 2018

      Hannah Roberts, Reputation Coordinator

      Hi there, Joselin. In the event of a retainer fit issue, we would request that a customer takes new impressions. The retainer would be made from those files to ensure a precise fit. We sure hope you will reach out to discuss further.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Horrible customer service

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Aug 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company has the worst customer service I have encountered. They do not want to actually speak to a customer on the phone and give you the run around via email. Avoid at all costs...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 6, 2018

      Hannah Roberts, Reputation Coordinator

      We're concerned to see this, John, as we take great pride in the service we provide to our customers. We sure hope you will reach out further to discuss. We can be reached at grinners@smiledirectclub.com.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Never received my aligners

    • Kaufman, TX,
    • Jul 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had thought this was going to be an easy process as advertised and it was fairly easy at the beginning, but after paying for my $250 down payment, my aligners have apparently disappeared. I had been receiving emails updating me on the status of my aligners (the last stating that my aligners were being trimmed to fit perfectly) up until last week. I went to my dashboard and it is now saying my impressions have been received? A step that was completed months ago.

    I've been in contact with customer service several times and no one can tell me where my aligners are and why my dashboard is showing incorrect information now, they just tell me that they are waiting on a response from the lab. Meanwhile, my next payment has been taken out of course. I have no idea what I'm supposed to do now, but I would not recommend this company to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 1, 2018

      Hannah Roberts, Reputation Coordinator

      Hi there, Charlotte. We're sorry to hear of your frustrations. We would like to clarify that the financial payment plan doesn't necessarily correspond with shipments, however, we do aim to provide our shipment within the 5-6 week timeline provided. In the event of a delay, we will certainly work to make things right. Please reach out to grinners@smiledirectclub.com to discuss further.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Extremely disappointed

    • Washington, DC,
    • Jul 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am extremely disappointed with SmileDirectClub. I've bought the aligners, which turned out to be ok. But I never received the retainers that were ordered in May 2018, and it was supposed to take only a couple of weeks. I've been calling almost every week and the customer support can not provide any answer regarding the delay.

    This has been a bad experience with them, nobody calls me back or emails with a straight answer. Do not recommend their services.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 31, 2018

      Hannah Roberts, Reputation Coordinator

      Hi there, Marcia. We're concerned to see this review, as we take pride in the efficiency of our product. In the event of a delay, we certainly work to make things right, so we hope you will reach out directly. We can be reached at grinners@smiledirectclub.com.

    • Aug 12, 2018

      Jennifer R.

      There will be negative reviews about anyone selling anything, so take the good with the bad, but it depends on each case. I started two months ago, and they did take a long time to ship to me (6-7 weeks), but I never had an issue with customer service or following up. When I researched it, it was ADA approved and a dentist was reviewing my case.

      My aligners fit snug and I can tell they are working. They gave me five months to finish. I have minimal crowding on the bottom and slight movement on top from not eating with my retainer often has as I should when I had metal braces as a kid. I'm happy so far and I looked at the result of the final aligners, and they look great. I can't wait to get to the end.

    • Aug 13, 2018

      Hannah Roberts, Reputation Coordinator

      Thank you for your feedback, Jennifer! Please don't hesitate to reach out should you have any questions or concerns.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Update

    • Utah,
    • Jul 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I had a problem they worked with me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (8)
    View all 8 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 9, 2018

      Hannah Roberts, Reputation Coordinator

      Hi there, Tataiana. It's clearly described in the consent and history form that our customers sign, our aligners are made to correct mild to moderate spacing and crowding. For some customers, to resolve additional concerns, they will need to pair their treatment with traditional orthodontic tactics. In addition, this document states that customers will need to wear a retainer for the rest of the time that they'd like to retain results. This is the case with ALL aligner treatment from metal braces to our aligners. If you have additional questions on this, please reach out directly via grinners@smiledirectclub.com.

    • Apr 11, 2018

      Tatiana S.

      "For some customers, to resolve additional concerns, they will need to pair their treatment with traditional orthodontic tactics." Are you serious? So, I will need to pay your company $2,000.00 and then in addition to that, go to a PROFESSIONAL orthodontist and pay another $3,000.00? Where do I save money then? Your company evaluated me as a candidate. They thought they can fit an elephant into a matchbox, but it will not work in my case. My front teeth DO NOT HAVE space to move or shift. I was in your treatment program for an almost a year now, and NOTHING. It's a waste of money. You do not communicate this with your new clients. You PROMISE them an amazing money and inexpensive approach. Is it right?

      So, if someone is reading it and thinking to go or not to go with the SmileDirectClub, please, DO NOT WASTE your time and MONEY. Go to a professional orthodontist. These guys know nothing. They just want to make money.

    • Apr 12, 2018

      Hannah Roberts, Reputation Coordinator

      We're incredibly transparent about the limitations of our aligners. They're made to correct mild to moderate spacing and crowding, so if a customer has concerns outside of that protocol, they might seek additional orthodontic to achieve their optimal outcome. This is all outlined in the consent and history form signed by all of our customers before they begin treatment.

    • Apr 16, 2018

      Tatiana S.

      You are NOT transparent. The first time I have heard about your "method" was a year later, it was at your office when I was going through my second "correction". It should be on your website in big letters. Otherwise, it is all a scam. You are hiding from your customers how it really works. I am also not too sure about your dental professionals. Their evaluation of my case was poor.

    • Apr 18, 2018

      Hannah Roberts, Reputation Coordinator

      Please refer to your Consent and History form to find the information outlined above. If you'd like to speak with us further, we can be reached at grinners@smiledirectclub.com.

    • May 3, 2018

      Anna Bartalis

      Yep, I feel the same, Tatayana!

    • Jul 26, 2018

      Anna S.

      Go to an actual orthodontist. It's your teeth and gum health at stake here. Smile Direct Club is nothing but a money stealing scam. Aligners are terrible quality and extremely uncomfortable. Yes, your teeth might come out of this a bit straighter, but your gums will be ruined. Customer service is not helpful. The chatlines tell you to email customer support; customer support never gets back to you. They took extra money from me which showed up in my bank statements, but they tell me that they didn't, and their records don't show anything but clearly they did it my bank statement shows them withdrawing extra money. Also never got my retainers sent to me. No one has responded to me about these issues. Save your time, money, and health and go through a safer route.

    • Jul 30, 2018

      Hannah Roberts, Reputation Coordinator

      The health and safety of our customers is always our top priority. We encourage you to reach out directly at grinners@smiledirectclub.com to discuss specific concerns.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Apr 7, 2018

    Do NOT go with this method

    First of all, they will tell you that you are a candidate to lure you in. I do not have as hard of a case as some of the people, but because of the premolar, my front teeth will never be straight.

    "Teeth are constantly wanting to shift, so yes, when you have the aligners out, your teeth will move back to where they previously were because they have not settled," - per their email.

    I will have to wear a retainer for tthe rest of my life at night. SO for the rest of my life I will pay $99.00 to renew that retainer. Not bad?! Right!

    "Once you are done with treatment, you will be able to order retainers. The retainers will settle your teeth so they will not move. You will only wear the retainers at night, however, you will have to wear them for the rest of your life if you do not want your teeth to shift back. This is vital in any treatment that moves teeth, including the traditional orthodontic appliances." NO ONE told me this before the treatment! Which I believe is a scam!

    They work only with your front teeth; from K9 to K9. They call it "desired "U" shape," which will cost me $99.00 every time when I will decide to renew my retainer. And again, no one told me about it.

    It is a trap. Do NOT go with this method! It does not help, you will be stuck with it, and in the end, you will pay even more than those regular braces. It will NOT give you a desired result, because the smile it is NOT only about the look, it is also about your health.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Dishonest in the consultation

    • New York, NY,
    • Jul 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I went into a Smile Direct Club consultation with one request: fix the mild overjet (colloquially known as overbite) of my two front teeth to some extent. I know the product is limited in what it can accomplish, but I was told that my overjet could indeed be ameliorated with their product. This was a blatant lie. Not only could Smile Direct Club not do anything to correct my overjet, but they sent me aligners that would actually ENHANCE my overjet in order to correct my teeth's "crowding." My teeth have hardly any crowding, as I previously had braces, so this trade-off was highly undesirable. Smile Direct Club customer support was terrible - slow to reply and I had to repeat myself over and over again. I would often receive a form email in response, and always from a different representative. I am currently trying to get a refund.

    Smile Direct Club should be up-front about what their product can do when it comes to overjet, but instead, they lie. The truth is, if you have an overjet you want corrected to some extent, Smile Direct Club may not be able to anything for you at all. In fact, they may attempt to make your overjet WORSE. Don't waste your money. I would have been happy if Smile Direct Club didn't correct my overjet at all, as I would have been fine with having minimal correction and receiving a retainer to at least prevent my teeth from shifting outward further. But Smile Direct Club claimed they had to enhance my overjet. It cannot believe they made me go through all of this, when they could have just been honest with me from the beginning.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 24, 2018

      Hannah Roberts, Reputation Coordinator

      Hi there, Susan. I would like to clarify that SmileDirectClub provides every customer with a projection of what can be accomplished within our protocol in the form of a SmilePlan. This plan is created by a dentist or orthodontist licensed in the state of the customer being treated. In addition, the consent and history form that all of our customer's sign before beginning treatment states the extent of our protocol including risk, benefits, and limitations of our aligners. Please reach out directly if you'd like to speak further, as we cannot address any specific customer case publicly due to HIPAA law. We can be reached at grinners@smiledirectclub.com.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Excellent decision

    • Minneapolis, MN,
    • Jul 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been happy with my decision to go with SmileDirectClub thus far. I opted to have a scan done at a Smile Shop - this was a no-brainer for me. There was a location nearby, why wouldn’t I leave it to the pros? I had braces in middle school, so my needs are on the minor end - fix shifting caused by not wearing my retainer.

    The scan went well; there was no wait, I was in and out in 20 minutes. My scan was completed on 6/13, the 3D smile model was delivered, as promised, two days later, and I received my aligners on 6/30. I am halfway through my first set. The aligners fit well and are not too painful yet.

    As luck would have it, a molar that I had a large filling in about a year ago abscessed the day my aligners arrived.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 16, 2018

      Hannah Roberts, Reputation Coordinator

      We're thrilled to see this, Chase! We're all about a convenient and effective experience for our customers, so this means a lot. Thank you for your support.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Scam! Please visit a real orthodontist professional. This is a scam.

    • Tampa, FL,
    • Jul 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I would not recommend Smile Direct Club to my worst enemy. During my first visit, I made it known my concerns with my bite and slight spacing/crowding issues, for which the lady doing my scan stated is something they see all the time and that it should be easily addressable. Leaving the office, I get a call because what I thought was a brochure she was giving me was actually the paperwork she needed me to sign and send her picture so that she doesn’t get in trouble (not the most professional).

    From the beginning there were signs that I wish I would have paid attention to. Fast forward about 12 days from my first scan, I get my treatment plan and 30 days from my scan I get notification that my aligners are on their way to my house.

    At I review of the 3D scan of my plan, I noticed no difference in my smile, specifically my bite and spacing, so I immediately contact a rep via their chat option to inform them of my concerns. The customer service rep just tells me to go through with my plan as it would be best to complete it and then revisit the concerns afterwards being they’ve already sent the aligners on their way. If they truly wanted to provide excellent service I wouldn’t have been told to just go through the plan anyway…the concerns I had would have actually been given some attention by smile direct club. They neglected to do that and as time went on, it got worse.

    I wore the aligners religiously 23 hours a day only taking them out to brush and eat. Some of them weren’t cut properly causing bruising on my gums (I can understand that this may be a possibility), but after four days they also all seemed to rip. I complete my treatment and as originally suspected, my concerns were still evident with no change in my bite and spacing...the same concerns that were "easily addressable."

    To correct the issue I had to go in for another scan which leads to a second treatment plan for two additional months. This second scan happened on March 14th, now over thirty days later, no aligners and horrible/nonexistent communication from Smile Direct Club.

    I've since made an appointment to speak to a real orthodontist as you do not get proper care from Smile Direct Club, you do not get follow-ups from an actual license orthodontist, not even a phone call before or after treatment. They tell you someone will call you and that doesn't happen and soon after they ignore your emails altogether. You call and ask to speak to a manager and no one is available or the phone magically disconnects.

    On top of that, you get different stories depending on who you talk to. It is my opinion that there are no true medical professionals running this place and is just "customer service" agents acting as subject matter experts. As I look back on all that has transpired with Smile Direct Club, I've determined that they will tell you "you are a good candidate" to simply get your money when in actuality, they cannot address your concerns. Save yourself the trouble, wasted money and headache and go to an actual orthodontist that can provide you with true candid advice and legitimate orthodontia services. Smile Direct Club is a scam! Run!

    They cannot guarantee results as no professional can, but they do not even address the concerns you have but still expect to be paid in full. I was able to visit a true orthodontist and received a list of areas of treatment. A number of issues on this list was shared with Smile Direct Club before I even agreed to participate in their plan and not once did they say, "you aren’t a good candidate for Smile Direct Club because we cannot address the overbite and spacing/crowding issue." Secondly, after wearing Smile Direct Club for four months, there is absolutely no change in my teeth, and I still have a list of areas of improvement as long as the one I received from my ortho. Please, please, please save your money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 11, 2018

      Hannah Roberts, Reputation Coordinator

      Hi there, Erika. We would like to confirm that each customer's case is overseen by a dentist or orthodontist licensed in providing aligner treatment therapy in the state of the customer. In addition, we have a team of dental professionals available to speak to any clinical concerns via chat, phone, or email. In addition, there are limitations to what our aligner treatment can accomplish, as we do not use attachments or other methods used in traditional orthodontics. This means that we do not address bite issues in most cases.

      In addition, the SmilePlan each customer approves before beginning treatment demonstrates the scope of treatment that the overseeing doctor has determined represents optimal results within our protocol. We do offer reevaluated and additional aligners in cases when necessary to achieve optimal results as is true with any orthodontic procedure. This is all clearly outlined in the consent and history that customers sign indicating they've read in entirety before beginning treatment. If you'd like to speak further, we sure hope you will reach out directly.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    False advertisement scam

    • Nevada,
    • Jul 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Smile Direct Club promised results, and by the end of my treatment, my results looked nothing like what was provided in SDC viewer. I completed treatment and wore aligners as recommended. My final results were nowhere close to the SDC viewer. I believe Smile Direct Club is using false advertisement. The FDC released guideline and regulations banning the "results may vary" disclosure in 2009. Why provide SDC viewer if my results will look nothing like it. I was told I won't get a refund because they moved other teeth slightly that had no effect on the promised results of fixing my edge to edge bite. Now their saying aligners don't fix edge to edge bites. So this means they recommended treatment to me knowing it wouldn't fix my concerns, in fact, I was never given a treatment plan or told what my treatment plan was. I may file a suit soon for false advertisement and make a complaint with the American Dental Association.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 11, 2018

      Hannah Roberts, Reputation Coordinator

      Hi, Dwight. We would like to clarify that at no point does SmileDirectClub guarantee or promise results. This is the same for any orthodontic provider, as there is no way to predict exactly how teeth will move. That said, it's always our goal to provide optimal results within our protocol which is why we offer reevaluation and prolonged treatment when necessary. This is common in any alignment treatment therapy. We sure hope you will reach out directly to discuss further.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 56

Write a Review for SmileDirectClub!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review