About SmileDirectClub

By HighYa Staff
Updated on: Oct 17, 2017

Interested in straightening your teeth, but don’t have the time for regular orthodontist visits? Or, do you have the time, but cringe at the thought of traditional braces?

In either instance, SmileDirectClub promises to deliver an “innovative remote treatment process” that can help you straighten your teeth using custom invisible aligners.

We’re told this process allows SmileDirectClub’s network of over 225 licensed dental professionals to evaluate a patient’s teeth from anywhere, which, when combined with their 3D treatment modeling and direct-to-patient convenience, means they can work around your schedule at a fraction of the price. You’ll even get to know what your new smile will look like before beginning the process.

Despite this, SmileDirectClub promises to do this without sacrificing quality. In fact, they claim to “use the same labs as our competition.”

Regardless of what you’re shopping for, it’s difficult to resist 60% off. But will you have the same teeth-straightening experience with SmileDirectClub as a traditional orthodontist? In other words, even if it is less, does SmileDirectClub represent a solid deal? That’s exactly what we’ll explore here.

How Does SmileDirectClub Work?

Overall, we can break the SmileDirectClub process down into two steps:

Step 1: Initial Consultation & Setup

First, you’ll make an appointment through SmileDirectClub’s website to visit a SmileShop location. There, you’ll be able to have a 3D image of your smile taken by a certified SmileGuide, which they claim takes about 30 minutes. After you’re finished, you’ll be able to immediately see the results.

Then, your scan is digitally sent to a licensed dentist, who will “create a personalized plan showing you exactly how your new smile will look.”

Not near a SmileShop location? If so, you can complete an at-home impression kit, which will then be sent to a “state-licensed dental professional” who will create your new smile plan.

Once all of this occurs, SmileDirectClub’s dental professionals will determine your exact treatment option based on the information available. If you have any questions, you can reach out to a SmileDirectClub customer care specialist via phone, email, or live chat.

From initial consultation through the end of your treatment plan, SmileDirectClub’s proprietary SmileCheck software provides a connection between your dental professional and helps manage your case records. There, your doctor will be able to view uploaded images and dental impressions, as well as prescribe your treatment.

Step 2: Work the System

SmileDirectClub claims that in many cases, you’ll receive your treatment plan in days. You’ll be sent all aligners in your smile plan at one time, each of which will need to be worn in the proper order, all day and night, removing them only for meals and drinking beverages other than cool water.

SmileDirectClub’s treatment plans generally take anywhere between 4 and 10 months, depending on your plan. The average customer completes treatment in 6 months.

Once you’re finished, you’ll need to wear a custom fit retainer while you sleep in order to avoid dental relapse (i.e. your teeth attempting to shift back into their original position).

Exactly how do these invisible aligners do their job?

How Do Invisible Aligners Straighten Teeth?

Unlike braces, which use interconnected brackets and wires, invisible aligners “are a series of tight-fitting custom-made retainers that slip over the teeth.” Each tray will slowly move your teeth into the desired position, leaving you with straighter teeth and a brighter smile over the course of several months. Regarding SmileDirectClub specifically, their aligners are made of BPA-free plastic, which is fairly common amongst the competition (more about this soon).

The Pros & Cons of Invisible Aligners

On the positive side, compared to traditional braces, invisible aligners:

  • Can be removed and generally aren’t as noticeable
  • Often need to be worn for shorter periods of time
  • Remove having to worry about difficulty eating or food getting stuck
  • Cause less discomfort. However, you’ll still feel some discomfort, especially after the first few days of changing to a new tray
  • Offer little chance of tooth discoloration

However, invisible aligners aren’t perfect. Here are some potential drawbacks:

  • You’ll have to brush after each meal, or your aligners could become stained.
  • You’ll also need discipline in order to stick to your treatment plan and keep the trays in place all day and night.
  • Invisible aligners can’t be used for those with bridgework, or those with complicated issues requiring moving teeth vertically, rotating canines or premolars, or those with anything more than mild-to-moderate crowding, rotation, and/or bite correction.

If invisible aligners sound like an ideal solution, how much will you pay through SmileDirectClub?

How Much Does SmileDirectClub Cost?

Your online SmileDirectClub online Smile Assessment is completely free. To determine if invisible aligners are a good fit for you, you’ll need to complete either a 3D scan at a SmileShop or an at-home impression kit for $95. If it’s determined that you’re not a suitable candidate, the $95 fee will be refunded.

When the time comes. SmileDirectClub provides three payment options for their clients:

  • Single Payment: A one-time payment of $1850. This is the most cost-effective payment option.
  • SmilePay™ Monthly Payments: Pay a $250 down payment, then $80 a month for 24 months. In total, you’ll pay $2170.

All SmileDirectClub invisible aligner plans include complimentary whitening gel.

Once your treatment plan is complete, don’t forget that you can pay $99 for a retainer set to preserve your new smile.

Other miscellaneous SmileDirectClub fees include a $50 fee for each replacement tray if lost or damaged, as well as a $49 fee for additional impression kits. Regarding this last one, the fee “can be deducted from your treatment plan cost when you purchase your aligners.”

Finally, SmileDirectClub provides a Confident Smile Guarantee, which stipulates that if you’re dissatisfied for any reason, simply return your unused aligners and they’ll refund the prorated amount. In order to request one (or to ask any questions), customer service can be reached at 800-848-7566.

Does SmileDirectClub Accept Insurance?

Here’s what the company has to say:

“If your dental plan provides orthodontic benefits you may be reimbursed directly from your insurance company after purchasing your aligners. SmileDirectClub doesn't accept direct payment from insurance companies.”

SmileDirectClub also accepts payments through HSA and FSA plans, as well as CareCredit.

What Kinds of Reviews Will You Find for SmileDirectClub?

Considering that SmileDirectClub (formerly Smile Care Club) has been around since 2014, there wasn’t a whole lot of online customer feedback at the time of our research. And what feedback there was seemed to be largely through video.

For example, YouTube user Ashley S posted four reviews for SmileDirectClub spanning the course of a month. Overall, she claims she experienced a very long delay at the beginning, without hearing so much as a peep from the company. She spoke with customer service on several occasions, which only served to further frustrate her—and even after finally receiving her aligners, she found the top one didn’t fit well at all.

On the other hand, misselissalk seems to have had a much better experience with SmileDirectClub, finding them less expensive the competition, while receiving everything right on time. She also enjoyed the 3D digital model that shows you what your teeth will look like with each tray.

Interestingly, she was able to correct her top teeth only. Per their FAQ, the company generally recommends against straightening just the top or bottom, since this can significantly change your bite.

She noted that SmileDirectClub’s aligners didn’t hurt at all, but they did give her a slight lisp. She didn’t like brushing her teeth after eating or drinking something other than water, and felt that the email communication between her and the company was “kinda poor.” Specifically, she noted long response times with several follow ups required.

In her follow up video, misselissalk provides some great product tips to accompany your aligners, so be sure to give it a view as well.

As a company, SmileDirectClub had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau (as of 7/16/16), based on 19 closed complaints. Most of these seemed to reference poor customer service, problems receiving aligners on time, or difficulties obtaining refunds. The company responded to each of the complaints.

Who, exactly, is behind the company?

Who Founded SmileDirectClub?

Based out of Nashville, TN, SmileDirectClub was co-founded by Jordan Katzman and Alex Fenkell who recognized that 3D printing and telehealth “could bring about disruptive change to the invisible aligner market” by delivering “dramatically lower” prices.

From a financial perspective, SmileDirectClub is backed by Camelot Venture Group, the same private investment group behind 1-800-CONTACTS, Quicken Loans, and many other successful direct-to-consumer companies.

Is SmileDirectClub Better Than Other Teeth Straightening Methods? Should You Join?

According to some sources, the average cost of an Invisalign treatment plan is $5,000, compared to SmileDirectClub’s flat single-pay price of $1850. That’s well over a 60% savings, which is huge.

On top of this, there don’t appear to be any clear (no pun intended) differences between the BPA-free plastics used between Invisalign and SmileDirectClub’s trays, or the results you might achieve with them.

In fact, SmileDirectClub claims their trays come from many of the same labs used by the mainstream competition, and you won’t have to glue any clips to your teeth. You will, however, probably have to wear a retainer for the rest of your life.

Even compared to traditional braces—which can also cost up to five grand and might look unsightly—SmileDirectClub’s aligners seem to have a sharp advantage.

Taking all of this together, does this mean a SmileDirectClub treatment plan will deliver straighter teeth and a brighter smile? As long as you only require mild to moderate straightening, it certainly seems like it might fit the bill. And if your personal preferences dictate, you might be able to save a whole lot of moolah compared to the competition.

How well did SmileDirectClub work for you? Give us the inside scoop by writing your very own review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

43 Consumer Reviews for SmileDirectClub

Average Consumer Rating: 2.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 12 4 star: 2 3 star: 1 2 star: 2 1 star:  26
Bottom Line: 35% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 43
Sort reviews by:

  • Overcharged me

    • Orlando, FL,
    • Jun 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Some of the aligners did not fit. They had too much material and overlapped my teeth. It was like they added extra teeth to the aligner. When I signed up, I was told that if I pay in full at the beginning, the incentive is that the retainers would be free. Well, the retainers are not free. Please don't fall for this scam.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • The process was fast and easy.

    • Charlotte, NC,
    • Jun 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The process was so fast and easy, I was in and out in under an hour. The staff on hand was very friendly and helpful. I was walked the process step by step. My tech was named Madison and she was wonderful, very full of energy, and made me feel very comfortable.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Run away

    • Minnesota,
    • Jun 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The aligners worked well. They arrived later than promised, but they did work. I finished my last set in January. Since then, I've been waiting for my retainer. Six months. Numerous calls to customer service, numerous promises that the retainer was on its way. After my last call, during which I was hugely irritated, I got yet another promise - the rep said I would get a call from a manager within 24 hours (never happened) and I would have my retainer in 7-10 days. The rep assured me I was a priority. Still no retainer. I am more than disappointed. I would never ever recommend SmileDirectClub.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Massachusetts,
    • Jun 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don't waste your money or time. They will ask you what your "main concern" is and apparently that's all they'll fix. They'll show you your results on a 3D image. SCAM. They will only fix your "main concern" and nothing else. Biggest waste of time and money. My biggest regret EVER. Customer service is worse than awful. Please don't waste your time and money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 8, 2018

      Hannah Roberts, Reputation Coordinator

      We're concerned to hear that you feel this way Lindsay. The only team members who can advise on what our aligner treatment can be offered is our dental professional team. Our SmilePlan is created in order to project the best possible results within the limitations of our protocol. Our dental team is available to address any questions or concerns a customer may have about their SmilePlan as well. Our aligners are made to correct mild to moderate spacing and crowding to enhance the cosmetic appearance of a customer's smile. For anything outside of this protocol, customers may seek traditional orthodontic treatment instead or in addition to our aligners.

    • Jun 11, 2018

      Lindsay Z.

      I've been dealing with your "dental team" (Lain in particular) now every day for several months. I had minor gapping and a little bit of crooked teeth on the bottom. I wore braces in the past, so they weren't that bad. After a refinement, my teeth look worse believe it or not. This was the biggest waste of time and money, and there is no one in your company that is willing to listen and help. If you look up my account, you will see me literally begging for help, but I get straight up ignored. Your customer service is worse than awful.

      Before you respond to my comment, maybe do some research so you understand my frustrations. I should send you an invoice for how much time I've spent emailing/calling your team. I now have to get another refinement and go all the way into Boston, pay ridiculous parking (I can only go on Saturday's since I have to work, the garage is closed), and all for what? Zero results? Not cool.

    • Jun 15, 2018

      Hannah Roberts, Reputation Coordinator

      Lindsay, we are not able to locate accounts based on the first name tagged to a review. I do hope you will reach out directly for assistance. Lain is an account manager here, not a member of our dental team. We'd be happy to put any customers in touch with a dental professional to discuss clinical concerns.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Love them!

    • Richmond, VA,
    • Jun 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    People only tend to write reviews when they’re unhappy and need to make it known, so I feel it’s important to let you all know that there ARE those of us who SmileDirectClub has worked great for. I received my five months worth of aligners very quickly after sending in my impressions and noticed great improvement very quickly. I do have bite issues now that I didn’t have before, but as my dentist confirmed, they will come from any form of alignment. It doesn’t affect my eating or speaking; it just takes a while to get used to your new smile. I have also gotten whiter teeth from the included pens. Talking with the aligners is easy, and they’re relatively painless. I did have to file edges that were sharp or wear dental gum for the first day of each new set.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 6, 2018

      Hannah Roberts, Reputation Coordinator

      Thank you so much for taking the time to share this Veronica! This truly means the world to us -- we appreciate your support.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Do not fall for the satisfaction guarantee!

    I did this to solve some simple alignment, no bite issues. I finished with severe bite issues (more than half of teeth don’t touch). They said nothing to do and buy retainers and talk to a dentist to have teeth shaved down. I would not recommend and wish we had never done this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 15, 2018

      Hannah Roberts, Reputation Coordinator

      Hi there Jenny. As clearly outlined in our Consent and History documentation, alterations to bite can occur during any aligner treatment from our aligners to traditional braces. That being said, we aren't able to speak to a specific case publicly, so we hope you'll reach out directly to discuss specifics.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    They will take your money and then ignore you forever

    • New Jersey,
    • May 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been in been treatment since 2015 at Smile Direct Club/Smile Shop (they change their name often, they used to be Smile Care Club) located in Nashville, Tennessee. I've been in treatment for three years. I've been wearing the same aligner for ONE YEAR. These aligners are failing apart. My teeth will soon be reverting back to their former state. I cannot imagine the permanent damage this will do to the structural integrity of my teeth and jaw.

    I finally received assistance in December 2017 and they agreed to provide me with a refinement kit. I gave them the kit back promptly. It's now been five months after getting run-around and I still do not have the new aligners.

    When calling, I get hung up on, and emails go unanswered.

    BUYER BEWARE. When you pay upfront, they will take your money and leave you by the wayside, in the middle of treatment, with no recourse. This is a part of my body they promised "care" for. Something that I have to live with daily.

    Disclaimer: Please READ your contract! They now reserve the right to stop treatment at any time and just refer your to Invisalign! They will take your money and then not send you the orthodontics you need!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 7, 2018

      Hannah Roberts, Reputation Coordinator

      Hi there, Dena. We would like to confirm that we've updated our Consent and History as many companies do. The information regarding the risks and limitations of our protocol and treatment is not new, nor is the information regarding referrals to Invisalign if the customer's current smile requires treatment outside of our scope. The update made is in relation to a financial change. We are always available to customers to ensure that optimal results are reached, and we sure hope you'll communicate directly so that we can discuss further.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Very disappointed

    • Sacramento, CA,
    • Apr 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I will not recommend it. If I would be able to turn the time, more than 100% I will not choose SmileDirectClub to fix my bite. They made a promise they could not deliver. They did not deliver in my case. Very disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (7)
    View all 7 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 27, 2018

      Hannah Roberts, Reputation Coordinator

      Hi there, Anna. We're concerned to see that you've gotten this impression. We would like to clarify that at no point does SmileDirectClub promise or guarantee results. As with any other medical procedure, there is no way to predict the exact outcome. That being said, we work to achieve optimal results within our protocol outlined in the Consent and History. Along with that, we don't treat bite concerns. We treat mild to moderate spacing and crowding. This is also outlined in our Consent and History form. You're welcome to reach out further via grinners@smiledirectclub.com if you'd like to speak further.

    • Apr 27, 2018

      Anna Bartalis

      I appreciate your response. When I signed up, I specifically told you that I am doing treatment for my bite. I feel the person I talked to, either did not know or just didn't tell me you are not working on bites. Hmm, I totally remember you did have an advertisement about bites on your website 9 months ago. It is not there anymore but if you keep a record of your communications with your clients, you should be able to find me talking about my bite, and your representative saying that "we will do it." Regretfully, all I can do now is to make others aware to make better-informed choices.

    • Apr 30, 2018

      Hannah Roberts, Reputation Coordinator

      Our SmileGuides and customer care agents aren't able to provide advising on a customer's treatment, however, they will often state that we've helped customers with similar concerns before. The only people who can confirm what will be treated is one of our licensed dental professionals.

    • May 1, 2018

      Gena

      I agree with the other reviewer, in that, that SmileDirect seems to state things to the consumer that they conveniently forget. Even better, they will keep providing you payment plan options, even when you have intended, and expressed to pay cash. Then they give you an online contract for payment options to agree to, which doesn't clearly define the pricing for payment in full.

      If you question it, the customer service rep (Amber) will speak to you in a condescending tone and speak over you. She then can conveniently be unable to locate her supervisor for you to speak with about it. Amber, the team lead, will also tell you her supervisor doesn't have any direct contact information such as an extension, email address, or specific point of contact/name you can talk to. Glad I read the reviews, it encouraged me to share my own experience about their convenient deceptions.

    • May 3, 2018

      Hannah Roberts, Reputation Coordinator

      I'm sorry to hear that you feel that way, Gena. I will clarify, we don't accept cash as payment. In addition, our customer care team aims to provide honest, informative, and helpful service to all customers. We sure hope you'll reach out directly to discuss further.

    • May 3, 2018

      Gena

      Typical twisting of a consumers words. Even your response is condescending, the word "cash" is saying that I'm not making payments. I see you had nothing to say about Ambers poor, discourteous, and unprofessional conduct and that's because SmileDirect knows they've made no investment in customer service. I've already contacted Invisalign and their customer service is wonderful. I recommend Invisalign over SmileDirect any day. Peace.

    • May 7, 2018

      Hannah Roberts, Reputation Coordinator

      We are commonly asked if we accept cash as a form of payment, so I apologize for any misunderstanding. As for our team, we stand behind their ability to execute quality, helpful, and informative service. Please reach out directly if you'd like to discuss further.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Horrible

    I am almost done with my set, and my teeth look worse than when I started. Now I'm stuck paying for something I don't even like. Just get braces. Also, I needed to wear them for six months and it wasn't explained that you have to continue to pay even if your time of use is less than the two-year contract. I have horrible spaces between my teeth, simply horrible.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (5)
    View all 5 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 23, 2018

      Hannah Roberts, Reputation Coordinator

      Hi there, Ryan. We're concerned to hear that you've gotten this impression and would like to provide some clarifications. We are incredibly up front that our payment plan is a financial plan to account for the full price of treatment and not a plan that corresponds with treatment time. This is also outlined in the paperwork signed by all customers. In addition, our Consent and History form details that there is no way to predict exactly how teeth will move, but we do have a process in place to account for teeth moving outside of the projection. This process is called reevaluation, it's a normal and common aspect of any aligner treatment from our aligners to traditional braces. We sure hope anyone interested in reevaluation will reach out to our customer care team to move forward with a review.

    • May 3, 2018

      Anna Bartalis

      Ryan, I'm glad you are speaking up. I felt like I am the only one having a bad experience with SmileDirectClub. I might be wrong, but now I have the feeling they tell you what you want to hear to get you in. I started mostly for a deep bite correction, which did not happen. I had some spacing and it got worse, only one tooth got in better position. I complained. I was told to check with a dentist, by mistake, I understood orthodontist, and I just found that out my bite can’t be fixed with aligners. I need braces. It wouldn’t let them do anything with my teeth, so now I don’t trust them anymore. Good luck with your teeth.

    • May 7, 2018

      Hannah Roberts, Reputation Coordinator

      Anna, we're sorry to hear that there was some miscommunication. As clearly stated in our Consent and History form, our aligners do not address deep bite issues.

    • May 7, 2018

      Anna Bartalis

      I did ask for copies of my chart. I do know when talking with your people on the phone, and via chat, and specifically mentioning in a note about the reason I am doing the treatment. Absolutely no one corrected me, or got my attention and said, “hey, we are not working on bites”. It would it be nice if someone would tell me, instead of trying to figure it out the fine prints, or between the lines on my own. That is the reason I am upset and feel that I was not told the truth.

    • May 15, 2018

      Hannah Roberts, Reputation Coordinator

      Our customer care reps are not dental professionals and cannot speak to the specific scope of treatment. The Consent and History is not fine print, it is a document that we require each customer to read and sign.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    The WORST customer service experience

    I am extremely disappointed with my experience! I went in a few months before my wedding hoping I could get a jump on straightening my teeth. The person that did my scan said that the aligners start helping right away, but didn't inform me that I wouldn't get the product for 1-2 months after they were ordered until the end of the appointment. I also went during a 3-day promotion that advertised a free whitening light with the scan, which I didn't receive, so I contacted the location that I got the scan, who were clueless, then reached out to the online support team. I was told that they had no record of the promo, so I screenshot the email that came from their company, and emailed it to them. They apologized and said that the light would be sent.

    Weeks later, it hadn't arrived, so I sent another email. I was then informed that they never sent it because they didn't have a history of that promotion. I re-sent all of the exact same screenshots and was then told they would send it again. I received the light and then whitener after it was too late to whiten my teeth for my wedding.

    When I received my aligners, there wasn’t a case for them, which took a month to get (so I kept mine in a Tupperware). When I finished my aligners, I expected my retainers, because that’s what I signed up for, but they came three weeks after my last set of aligners, were again missing products that I needed (“chewy’s”), and the retainers didn’t even come close to fitting (and I kept using my last set of aligners to make sure my teeth didn’t move before my retainers got in).

    My teeth are mostly straight (though they didn’t fix my middle teeth as much as I was hoping), but the customer service has been absolutely horrendous. I am so disappointed in the service, and wouldn’t recommend the service to others.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 12, 2018

      Hannah Roberts, Reputation Coordinator

      Hi, Sarah. We're sorry to hear that you've gotten this impression, as it's important to us to provide transparent information and efficient execution of our timelines. Our aligners can take a few weeks to manufacture and ship, as we hand cut them and send them through rigorous quality assurance before they're sent out. That being said, delays are always possible but that is something that we work to combat each day. If you'd like to speak specifically, please feel free to reach out directly.

    • Apr 27, 2018

      Sarah Slawinski

      Hi Hannah,

      I appreciate the response, but it's really unfortunate that it took writing a negative review to get decent customer service. I have used the customer service chat, I've emailed their customer service and have had absolutely terrible experiences in every instance. Most recently, I chatted with someone regarding my retainers not fitting properly, they asked that I email them pictures, which I did, and I haven't received a response (that was weeks ago).

      I have been wearing the same aligners for months now because my retainers were delivered late, they didn't fit than when they finally did arrive (without the "chewy's"), and I haven't been told what the next step to get my retainers to fit will be. At this point, I am so disappointed with my experience, that I wish I never joined SmileDirect, which is sad because I was so excited and hopeful after my consultation.

      I also recently found out that you're not supposed to start aligners until any cavities are filled, even though I told my consultant that I had two cavities when I went in for my scan, she just said "oh, just make sure you tell the dentist that you're wearing aligners when you go to have them filled." I'm just so disappointed.

    • Apr 30, 2018

      Hannah Roberts, Reputation Coordinator

      We aren't able to speak to specific cases publicly, so I do hope you'll reach out directly. You can email me at grinners@smiledirectclub.com, and our customer care team is available 24/7 via social media, chat, and phone for more immediate responses.

    • May 3, 2018

      Anna Bartalis

      Sarah. I feel you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Do NOT go with this method

    First of all, they will tell you that you are a candidate to lure you in. I do not have as hard of a case as some of the people, but because of the premolar, my front teeth will never be straight.

    "Teeth are constantly wanting to shift, so yes, when you have the aligners out, your teeth will move back to where they previously were because they have not settled," - per their email.

    I will have to wear a retainer for tthe rest of my life at night. SO for the rest of my life I will pay $99.00 to renew that retainer. Not bad?! Right!

    "Once you are done with treatment, you will be able to order retainers. The retainers will settle your teeth so they will not move. You will only wear the retainers at night, however, you will have to wear them for the rest of your life if you do not want your teeth to shift back. This is vital in any treatment that moves teeth, including the traditional orthodontic appliances." NO ONE told me this before the treatment! Which I believe is a scam!

    They work only with your front teeth; from K9 to K9. They call it "desired "U" shape," which will cost me $99.00 every time when I will decide to renew my retainer. And again, no one told me about it.

    It is a trap. Do NOT go with this method! It does not help, you will be stuck with it, and in the end, you will pay even more than those regular braces. It will NOT give you a desired result, because the smile it is NOT only about the look, it is also about your health.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (6)
    View all 6 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 9, 2018

      Hannah Roberts, Reputation Coordinator

      Hi there, Tataiana. It's clearly described in the consent and history form that our customers sign, our aligners are made to correct mild to moderate spacing and crowding. For some customers, to resolve additional concerns, they will need to pair their treatment with traditional orthodontic tactics. In addition, this document states that customers will need to wear a retainer for the rest of the time that they'd like to retain results. This is the case with ALL aligner treatment from metal braces to our aligners. If you have additional questions on this, please reach out directly via grinners@smiledirectclub.com.

    • Apr 11, 2018

      Tatiana Stahmann

      "For some customers, to resolve additional concerns, they will need to pair their treatment with traditional orthodontic tactics." Are you serious? So, I will need to pay your company $2,000.00 and then in addition to that, go to a PROFESSIONAL orthodontist and pay another $3,000.00? Where do I save money then? Your company evaluated me as a candidate. They thought they can fit an elephant into a matchbox, but it will not work in my case. My front teeth DO NOT HAVE space to move or shift. I was in your treatment program for an almost a year now, and NOTHING. It's a waste of money. You do not communicate this with your new clients. You PROMISE them an amazing money and inexpensive approach. Is it right?

      So, if someone is reading it and thinking to go or not to go with the SmileDirectClub, please, DO NOT WASTE your time and MONEY. Go to a professional orthodontist. These guys know nothing. They just want to make money.

    • Apr 12, 2018

      Hannah Roberts, Reputation Coordinator

      We're incredibly transparent about the limitations of our aligners. They're made to correct mild to moderate spacing and crowding, so if a customer has concerns outside of that protocol, they might seek additional orthodontic to achieve their optimal outcome. This is all outlined in the consent and history form signed by all of our customers before they begin treatment.

    • Apr 16, 2018

      Tatiana Stahmann

      You are NOT transparent. The first time I have heard about your "method" was a year later, it was at your office when I was going through my second "correction". It should be on your website in big letters. Otherwise, it is all a scam. You are hiding from your customers how it really works. I am also not too sure about your dental professionals. Their evaluation of my case was poor.

    • Apr 18, 2018

      Hannah Roberts, Reputation Coordinator

      Please refer to your Consent and History form to find the information outlined above. If you'd like to speak with us further, we can be reached at grinners@smiledirectclub.com.

    • May 3, 2018

      Anna Bartalis

      Yep, I feel the same, Tatayana!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 43

Write a Review for SmileDirectClub!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review