About Tradesy

Keeping on point with new trends and fluctuating post-holiday waistlines can be a pricey endeavor. There’s also the ubiquitous New Year’s closet overhaul that often sees a cringe-inducing amount of “never-worns” pile up for donation.

But what if you don’t want to shell out for brand new digs or feel like eating the cost of one too many purchases that didn’t work out?

Tradesy aims to take the hassle and guesswork out of both clearing out your closet, and acquiring new items, with a streamlined sales process, shipping assistance, and a Tradesy promise.

What’s a Peer-to-Peer Marketplace?

Where an online search might typically bring you to a shop, business, or professional seller, peer-to-peer marketplaces connect regular folks like you and me, to buy and sell stuff!

The marketplace may sound revolutionary, but really these sites are a lot like a tiny Ebay – of course there’s no bidding – but the benefit of Tradesy is that it connects shoppers and sellers of a very specific market: gently-used and high-quality women’s fashion.

Unlike online consignment shops that buy your items directly, Tradesy’s service keeps your items at home and without hassle until a shopper has purchased something you offer.

How Tradesy Works

Tradesy.com appeals to both buyers and sellers.

For buyers, it’s quite easy: Visit www.tradesy.com and peruse the hundreds of items. There’s no shortage of categories to look at, and an Editor’s Picks section is available for those who want a little extra on-trend inspiration.

The site also offers some extensive filters to help you pinpoint exactly what you’re looking for in their extensive inventory. You can filter your search by:

  • Color, size & brand
  • Tags from luxury to “cheap & chic”
  • Discount percentage
  • Availability (that seems like a given)
  • and Condition

Because buyers might be cautious about the unorthodox approach to shopping second hand, Tradesy offers a few benefits:

  • Free shipping & returns
  • Secure Paypal payments
  • Free shipping insurance & verification
  • Protection from designer knock-offs (and the promise of a full refund if something is found to be fake.)

For sellers, the Tradesy process is made to sound equally appealing. Anyone who’s ever tried to make cash off a few items on Ebay could wax begrudgingly about the process of uploading pictures, writing descriptions, answering questions, and then schlepping it all to the post office.

Instead, Tradesy streamlines selling into a few steps:

  1. Pick items to sell
  2. Take a few photos (they clean up the pics to make them sell-worthy)
  3. Price items (with the help of their suggestions) and list!

All the hard work is taken care of by Tradesy, who in return takes a 9% commission off of each sale. What does that 9% buy you?

  • Simplified Paypal payment processing (there is a 2.9% fee) that allows you to withdraw the cash straight to your bank account or debit card
  • Pre-paid shipping kits that include all the wrapping. You just drop the item in, and off it goes.
  • Hands-off returns assistance: Tradesy accepts any unwanted items back from the buyer and evaluates them to ensure no additional damage (excluding wedding dresses.)

Tradesy also offers Help & Support and a Tradesy Promise to make sure every transaction is smooth.

Gee, That Sounds Great!

Until you read some reviews, that is.

Some of the first to pop up in a search might not be the most magnanimous, as their from a site called “PissedConsumer.com”, but after a quick read of the 68 negative reviews of Tradesy, you get the feeling there might be something fishy going on. Common complaints were as follows:

Unfair treatment of sellers: This ranges from sellers being subjected to ongoing questioning from prospective buyers and accusations that their items are fake, to several tales of accounts being shut down with no warning from Tradesy:

“I'm still receiving emails from buyer wanting to know where there items are and why i'm not responding. They haven't bothered to respond to me or refund customers! I'm out several hundred dollars in shipped out product they have not reimbursed me for and they refuse to answer any of my emails.” (Source)

Terrible customer service is another common complaint in the negative reviews. While the original reason for trouble may vary, reading comments of unanswered emails and locked-accounts makes you very wary of signing up for Tradesy:

“I wrote several emails and they still haven't responded for over a week. I asked when my account would be reinstated and no response. It is unacceptable to shut someone's account down without notifying them and without a good and legal reason.” (Source)

Finally, sellers who have been shut out of their accounts without a warning or response from customer service, appear to be at risk of losing all of the funds accumulated in their account from sales:

“This website is a SCAM!I was on there for a year buying and selling.

I logged into my account and it all my info was gone. All my sales cancelled. The money in my account gone. No email, no explanation, no ethics. Account suspended. Completely unprofessional. I will never do business with this company again. It is a ripoff.

Thieves. I will be sure to spread the word and do magazine reviews of how horrible of a company you are. Unprofessional. They stole my money and kept their percentage as well.” (Source)

Another concern is inflated shipping costs: One seller remarked that after listing her high-end bag for upwards of $1700, Tradesy added a shipping cost of $132 – which is remarkable high. An additional concern is that no where on their site do they explain shipping costs. (Source)

As I dug deeper to try and find positive reviews for Tradesy, something else became evident: The online business used to go by another name. What was once a bridal-reselling shop called the Recycled Bride has now been rebranded into the all-encompassing clothing-reseller site Tradesy.

I also found that Tradesy has 21 complaints with the Better Business Bureau.

Final Thoughts on Tradesy.com

With my own over-flowing closet to consider, I’ve kept an eye on peer-to-peer retailers for some time to find one that might be the right fit for my items.

And while I can always understand a few unhappy remarks about customer service, I find the idea that accounts in with funds earned from selling items, were locked down without warning or checks issued, to be absolutely off-putting. There may be two sides to that story (or the several stories) but it doesn’t seem worth the risk.

Additionally, being currently in the market for some spiffed-up active wear, I decided to cost-compare, and wow! Not sure if it’s their inflated shipping, or simply delusional prices set by independent sellers, but there was no difference in cost between buying Tradesy and shopping brand new for the brands I checked out.

If you’re searching for something that’s been sold out and only available on Tradesy, it might be worth the chance; but with that many negative reviews, I’d likely look elsewhere.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

52 Consumer Reviews for Tradesy

Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 0 3 star: 1 2 star: 1 1 star:  48
Bottom Line: 4% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 52
Sort reviews by:

  • 11 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Account Suspended

    • Montrose, CO,
    • Jul 23, 2015

    I haven't even been on Tradesey for a week when I tried logging in today and it said account suspended. And I have absolutely no idea why and it just states to contact customer service. But I have about eight major designers listed and I know none of them have sold and the majority of them are new with tags, absolutely no way they are knock off's. But I believe I have purchased one or two items and I want to know what's going to happen with those because they have indeed received the money for them. The really nasty thing is that they have absolutely no information about account suspension and what to do if your account is suspended.

    And also I think it is just really low class that they don't even give you a warning about why an account is about to be suspended. And I have absolutely no idea what I did wrong. The only thing I can think of is that many women are trying to sell Lilly for Target as the authentic Lilly Pulitzer and I sent them messages that was not right and that they needed to list somewhere in the description that is was actually Lilly for Target. I also sent Tradesey a message that something needed to be done about that. But, overall this is very disappointing because I thought this was a high class site where things worked well but sadly I am finding that it is not. Now I have to call them in the morning and find out what exactly is going on and what about those things I purchased? I think E-bay does a better job but way too many politics in that arena.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 7, 2015

      Fashionablez,

      Hi Amber,

      I was wondering if your account got reinstated and what happened after? I created my account yesterday and less than 24 hours later, when in the middle of replying to customers' messages, I found myself abruptly logged out. I tried logging in again multiple times and after the 10th try, the sign in screen alerted me that my account has been suspended and that I was to contact them. I cannot think of any reason they would possibly do that, except the fact that I used a sign in email with the word eBay in it (stupid move on my part?).

      Additionally, I've been trying to reach customer service all day about a sold item (a $4000 Chanel), and why it isn't appearing on my sales page. Reading these reviews make this site sound all the more fishier.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Sellers Beware! Wish there was a zero rating.

    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Aug 23, 2015

    Tradesy = Sellers Beware. Similar to other's I sold an authentic Tory Burch hat on this site. The Buyer received the hat and decided to return it because of "imperfections" in the hat. I should note that this was a brand new hat with tags. I had to contact Tradesy (after being without my merchandise for TWO weeks) to find out the status of the item and/or when I could expect to receive the proceeds from my sale. This is when I was informed that the hat was returned and I had to wait another 5-7 days before I could get either my merchandise or credit for the item. The item was returned to me yesterday and my brand new hat was received back with dirt stains, imperfections, and it looked like someone worn the hat (some of the dirt could have been attributed to all of the handling of the hat). When I emailed to complain, first the customer service rep sent me an email about the wrong item. And then when I complained about the condition of the hate, I was told I could put it back on the site to re-sell or send it back to Tradesy for a full credit of the asking price. This would mean that I would have to ship the item out (presumably on my dime!). Unbelievable customer service. If you are going to sell on this site, take lots of pictures, because it's you word against the buyer. Or better yet avoid this site all together a sell on Posh Mark instead. I have sold numerous high-end items on PM and have never-ever experience this kind of treatment. Lesson learned. I'm closing down my site today and moving my items back to PM. This is not a reputable site.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    This company is a SCAM

    • San Francisco CA,
    • Nov 14, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought 2 LV wallets. Waited 2 weeks, no email, no tracking, no response from seller. I got an email asking me if I want to keep or cancel the order. I told them I want to cancel. They said they will do that within 48 hours. Never did. 2 weeks later the wallets came. Not surprise, they a replica. I sent them back and they refused to refund the money as they stated on the website. Beware of this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Tradesy warning, stay away

    • California ,
    • Feb 3, 2016

    I stopped selling on Tradesy over two years ago, because I'm a reputable business women. They had the nerve to lie and say the bags I sold where not authentic, and if the customer returned an item I was supposed to cover the cost? No way. This company is a sham, stay away. Once you give them your PayPal account, they can take your money at any time. Who in the Name of God returns an item three years after it was sold? Nobody. And I don't believe them when they tell me that a customer returned something, that's their way of ripping me off. And they take the money without your consent. By the way, I own three retail stores and would never treat a customer like that! Stay away from this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    The Worst of the Worst for Buyers & Sellers

    • Wolf Point, Montana,
    • Jul 3, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Tradesy is a joke and no seller or buyer should be using it. In fact, they should have a class action lawsuit brought against them for the dishonest way they do business. They won't prove what credentials their "so called experts" have and if a customer returns an item, they are not given cash back as stated, but site credit. If you are a seller on the site, they take your items and never pay you for them. There excuse is "website glitches". They refunded a customer twice for the same item more then once and I have never seen a penny back from either of these items.

    Customers switch out authentic items and return fakes and they get credit or cash back and the seller is left without any earnings or the actual product they sent. I have over 600 items for sale on the site but going to cancel due to the fact they can't even pay me $13.65 for an item that sold. Think they are having money problems and stealing is the only way they can keep operating.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Tradesy is stealing my money!

    • Boston, MA,
    • Jul 15, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been a new seller on Tradesy for 2 months. Previously, I have been selling on eBay. I decided to work on Tradesy to try out this new platform. It turns out that they are huge thieves. I earned a lot of money for them because they take 12% on every sale I made. When I was withdrawing my money from their system, suddenly, they suspend my account and take all my money (more than $1,500). These people are stealers. They have no moral. They will steal from your hard-earned money. Tradesy should be ashamed of themselves for stealing their partners' money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    No protection for Sellers AT ALL

    I sold a brand new authentic Louis Vuitton Neverfull Pochette that I had purchased on 7/29 with my Neverfull. I listed the pochette that same day and included pictures from all views of the item as well as a picture of the receipt. The buyer's only complaint when she received the item was that I did not send her a receipt. I never said I would send a receipt or copy thereof. This is not a valid reason for return, but Tradesy let the buyer do so and get her money back even after I sent proof of condition with a video taken prior to me shipping the item. Tradesy could care less about sellers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Don't Sell Here!

    • Aug 31, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    The poor reviews are correct, I've been selling on here for two years with a lot of hiccups on Tradesys part, they will never side with the seller and you are forced to take returns (like eBay does) and today I got a notice of suspension without any explanation at all. I just tried to log In and I was blocked. Thankfully I always withdrew my funds immediately and never kept them in untrustworthy Tradesy! They also have no phone number to contact anyone if you need support and you are stuck with only email or a chat option and so far no one has responded to any of my chats so that is a joke.

    I had almost two hundred listings and photographs in my store, months of work and time are now completely gone and they can't even send an email with an explanation or respond to me.

    A word of advice and support your local business and take your items to a consignment shop, don't sell here!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Terrible

    • NYC,
    • Oct 4, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    It's a scam! Sellers are not verified, merchandise is not verified and they refuse to issue refunds, only site credit so you can get scammed again. Very unfortunate to have been duped into making purchases on this site. NEVER AGAIN.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Awful Sellers

    • Oct 9, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a LV purse from a seller and it took 3 days for her to confirm the sale. After I have been waiting for a week for it to ship the seller messaged me that she will go on vacation for a week and will probably ship the purse when she gets back. I was waiting for a week, there is no acceptable reason for this seller not to ship the item before she goes on vacation unless she actually doesn't have the item. I called Tradesy and just canceled my order. After a week, I bought another LV purse, same thing. Took 3 days to confirm it. But this time the seller was communicating saying, I will love this bag and she is just waiting for the shipping kit from Tradesy, then she will send it ASAP.

    Process took a week, and she messaged me asking if I prefer the LV box because shipping kit is too small, she said she will send all paperwork and everything that came originally with the purse. So we agreed she will send everything and I even gave her an advice how to pack it without damaging the box. I am so excited, thinking I will receive the purse soon. 2 days later, seller messaged me saying she canceled the sale because she realized she wants more money. I was in awe! Tradesy should not have sellers like this. Who knows, what if they are just scammers. I was fully refunded for both sales but these sellers wasted my time. Don't buy from these sellers: Tina and Cheryl M.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    BEWARE

    I had great luck with Tradesy in the past as a buyer. I was able to find shoes that were not on the store shelves anymore. I have sold two items on Tradesy one without a problem at all the other was a completely different story. I sold a pair of brand new shoes.

    They were listed as brand new but the condition I listed was gently used seeing as how they were on the shelf for awhile and I did not have the original box. They were sold and then I was credited my money two weeks later.

    A week later I got an email from Melissa (which I later read from reviewers on multiple sites that other customers received the SAME LETTER). The letter states, “The item was returned and after a thorough inspection here at Tradesy, we determined that the listing wasn't accurate enough to give the buyer the full picture of the item's condition, and therefore a full refund was issued to them and the earnings were pulled from the sale.”

    I contacted the buyer directly and here is why my buyer returned the shoes and here's what she said: “There was nothing unclear about the listing. I thought they were lovely shoes and I wanted to wear them at my grandson's wedding. They matched my dress well. When I tried them on one of my toes felt pinched. Because I was going to be wearing them all day and dancing at night I knew they were not going to work. They are beautiful shoes and I wish they would have fit better.”

    According to Tradesy, this should be a credit to her and then Tradesy has to resell the shoes. I have gone back and forth with "Melissa" via email and asked for her number but she does not give it out. Along with another email stating "I would recommend listing these shoes in 'Gently Used' condition, as there are normal signs of wear throughout them."

    Per our return policy, anytime an item is returned, it is checked for authenticity and misrepresentation. As the shoes are listed in "Like New" condition but show signs of wear, we would consider this misrepresentation.

    Yesterday I received my shoes back these shoes have NEVER been worn and are the soles are SPOTLESS. I can not get Tradesy to call me and I will NEVER buy another item on this site or sell another item. BEWARE.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 52

Write a Review for Tradesy!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review