Vroom

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Vroom

Overall Rating

2.3

432 Customer Reviews

Summary

Vroom is a car-buying website that helps you to buy a used or like-new car entirely online and avoid dealing with a pushy salesman. Our review will help you understand if this service is worth using.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

2.3 Stars out of 432 Reviews
5 Star:25% 4 Star:4% 3 Star:4% 2 Star:10% 1 Star:55%
33% Recommend This Service
Start your review of Vroom:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Aug 29, 2017

Read the fine lines

By Jim Louie, San Bruno, CA, Verified Reviewer

Terrible customer service experience; no one follows through with the whole process. I order a car and placed a hold on it, started financing and that's when it starts; no one contacts you or is replying to your emails. It took two weeks to get your finance paper back to you, now you have to go get a cashier's check since they will not take a credit card or anything else. They will not process the paperwork until they receive their cashier's check and then it will take 7-14 days to get your car. Total of a whole month process, what a waste of time!

I started reading the purchase order and they added $1400 of additional charges to the order, gap insurance, texas dealer prep, etc. Gap insurance is optional, but they never asked, just added and when asked, they couldn't even explain what that is.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 16 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 17, 2017

Supremely certified cars?

By Kenny Johnson, Kansas City, MO, Verified Reviewer

I bought my truck in February 2017, a Ford F-250 Diesel. The truck looked great; no door dings, great paint, great interior. You would think the truck was taken care of. Wrong.

After having the truck for a week or two, I found out the ball joints were bad on both front wheels, and the truck had the death wobbles. This is caused by a bad track bar and another ball joint. While getting this fixed, the repair person saw that the cab mount bushings were all rotted out. This let the cab loose on the frame, which causes it to move around, creating the knock I heard when you apply the brakes. The bad ball joints could be found just by jacking the front wheels up. The bad track bar could be found just by driving the truck. The cab mount bushings could be seen just by looking at the bottom of the truck.

I don't think this truck had ever gone through the supreme car care that they state the truck had gone through. This is still not the end of the story. Now the oil cooler that is bolted to the engine is cracked, which in turn burned up the EGR coolers. $5,800 at the Ford dealer.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 16 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 4, 2017

Worst car buying experience in 40 years

By William, Colorado, Verified Reviewer

The entire process is brutalizing. I had USAA financing in place ready to buy. With any other dealer, the process would be completed the same day I walk into the dealership. Vroom took three weeks to finalize the process. Communication is so hard, and no one returns calls or emails. You have to use their chat system to get any response. So it is three weeks vs. one day at a normal dealer.

The truck had photographed two key fobs and an owner's manual, but not none of it was included. I contacted my sales person, Amanda Sterns, twice and heard no replies. I had to go to the Ford dealer to get keys made for the truck.

Cedric Smith is incompetent as a finance manager. USAA makes things easy for vets with everything (funding) ready before you even step foot on a lot. Cedric came up with every excuse for why it took so long. THREE DAYS after funds had been wired and cleared, the Vroom bank account said my purchase was still pending? I called USAA and told them I suspected fraud, and within an hour I got a call from Cedric saying everything was done and my car was shipping out.

I will not recommend this dealer to anyone ever, and I will actually post reviews on Facebook, Google, Cars.com, everywhere I can to let people know, especially vets using USAA, to stay away from these guys! Go to your local dealer, it is only a headache for the day, whereas Vroom tortures you for weeks.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 38 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 2, 2017

They sell unsafe cars

By Hutson, Florida, Verified Reviewer

I will never buy another vehicle over the internet again, much less from Vroom. I attempted to have a third party perform a pre-purchase inspection and Vroom did not allow it. I should have walked away from the deal at that exact moment.

I bought a low mileage 2013 vehicle from them, and they failed to disclose that it was in a rear end collision. This car also arrived without brake pads on the rear calipers. A good hard slam on the brakes would have caused the calipers to break which would have caused the brake fluid to leak out. Once that happened, there would be no front brakes either. The car had new tires on it, so someone completely and negligently ignored the missing brake pads.

My mechanic is storing the car for free while I return it because it is unsafe to drive. I learned this after I had already driven my two-year-old daughter in the vehicle. There was also a hack paint job done to the rear bumper in an attempt to hide the accident. They did such a poor paint job that the spare tire underneath is half painted black.

I almost forgot to mention that I had to have my clothing dry cleaned and eventually thrown in the trash because the car was delivered with black grease all over the leather seats. The thing that makes me the most upset is that I drove my two-year-old daughter in this vehicle the afternoon I received it. It makes me furious to know they sold me, presumably knowingly, such an unsafe vehicle. This is what you expect from the worst of the worst used car dealers.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 40 People Have Voted

Posted on May 27, 2017

Their system is a mess

By Leiz, Bellevue, WA, Verified Reviewer

I found a car on their website that I was interested in. I called them and placed a hold. I realized their price differed in different places (web vs. mobile). The rep told me he would be able to honor whatever price I saw. I was under the impression that their price was even negotiable. I soon changed my mind, and I called in again to ask them to cancel my hold. The second rep couldn't find any records about my previous conversation with their reps. And he couldn't refund me. I had to figure out a way to reach the first rep I talked to.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 25 People Have Voted

Posted on May 19, 2017

Horrible experience!

By Paula Neece, Atlanta, GA, Verified Reviewer

This company must be doing so well that they don't need new customers!

I was so excited to find my new car. I applied for financing, waited three days, and heard nothing. I called, and a lady apologized and said someone would call. There was no call received. I called two days later, maybe thinking that they were busy working up my super deal. The customer service rep apologized, took down my details and said finance would be calling with the payment and interest rate details. No call was received!

Finally, I called yesterday afternoon and got hold of the customer service rep, Ladonna I think, and let her know that I was withdrawing my intent to purchase a vehicle. She replied, "Oh, ok..."

Wow, Vroom, you have a long way to go. I'd rather do battle at a dealership than basically be ignored.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 28 People Have Voted

Posted on May 16, 2017

Double billed for $500 deposit

By Stasia Ford, Florida, Verified Reviewer

I have had an awful experience with Vroom. I have been charged twice for a $500 deposit. I have contacted them on three different occasions and yet to have this problem resolved. I would not recommend them to anyone.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 27 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 21, 2017

Stay away, don't even look

By Constantine, Newport Beach, CA, Verified Reviewer

I put down a "fully refundable" $500 deposit to reserve a car. I wound up not buying it (thank god!) and was told the refund was already being credited back. That never happened. I made numerous calls to them, and each time they told me "it's all done, just wait a few days." I couldn't provide a confirmation number either. So far, it's been two weeks. I finally filed a dispute with my credit card company today.

Lies or stupidity? I'm not sure, but what I am sure of is that I will NEVER buy a car from them. Even if I was stranded in the desert with Mad Max.

"Vroom" as fast as you can AWAY from this sorry company and don't look back.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 38 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 28, 2017

Buyer beware!

By Ronald Narvaez, Albuquerque, NM, Verified Reviewer

Save your time and purchase locally!

I live in Albuquerque, NM and Vroom advertises in the local Craigslist. I found a car and put a hold on it. The sale was effortless, and delivery was good (a bit late, but not bad). That is where the "good" ended, and the "bad" started.

Vroom sold me a vehicle that is missing the driver side door VIN sticker. Due to this, I had to get a Level 3 inspection done by the police. After that, I still could not get a VIN inspection done to send to Vroom to complete the inspection. At this point, I have had the vehicle for almost two months and even after three trips to Motor Vehicle Division, I do not have it registered.

I contacted Vroom via email and phone and received no support. I called multiple times, and each time I get "Oh, so sorry sir, we will assist," and they do nothing.

It is very apparent that this company is only concerned about the sales and not the customer. I would NEVER do business with this company, I would NEVER recommend them to anyone, and I will post everywhere that I can about just how bad their customer support is.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 42 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 25, 2017

Dishonest executives

By Oni Sioson, East Haven, CT, Verified Reviewer

I filed a complaint with the Texas Attorney General this November 2016 against Vroom for deceptive business practice involving extended warranty service. (See below).

You have received this email based on a Complaint submitted to the Office of the Attorney General.

Please review the attached documents and reference the Complaint Number in any follow-up correspondence you may wish to send.

Your complaint number is CGS-18705.

Consumer Protection Division

Office of the Attorney General

If a business entity was that unconcerned about committing such an odious practice, logic dictates that you, the consumer, ask yourself the question; is that a place you should trust?

I thought I could, in fact, I was assured and reassured by the company’s controller after I expressed my dissatisfaction over Vroom's Finance Manager's deceit, that he would correct it.

As it turned out, it was another lie. He did not.

The warranty provider Safeguard, to this day, has not provided the copy of my warranty coverage, which I have requested multiple times.

The car I bought, by the way, is a 2013 BMW 740 Li.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 38 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 15, 2016

Buyer Beware

By Matt P, Boston, MA, Verified Reviewer

Deliver was a disaster and over five hours late. The truck had over 50 miles on it more than the invoice. Damage to the interior from cigarette smoke and stains. No temp plates and missing an extra key. After three days of ignoring my inquiries, Vroom agreed to pay for a cleaning only. AVOID VROOM and buy from a dealer. At least you know what you're getting.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 39 People Have Voted
Showing 419-429 of 432

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.