About Quip Toothbrush

Quip Toothbrush is an online subscription service that promises to help you simplify your oral health. How?

First, Quip’s attractively designed electric toothbrushes include only the features you need and exclude those you don’t. You’ll have just one mode (a 2-minute timer with 30 second intervals), gentle vibrations with no harsh rotations, a slim design that’s travel-ready, and replaceable heads with soft, round tip bristles.

Second, Quip’s subscription plans (more about this soon) come with anti-cavity fluoride toothpaste that includes “only the ingredients your teeth need.” And since you’ll only need a pea-sized portion, the company claims one tube can last you up to 3 months.

Finally, Quip claims they’ve partnered with dentists to provide proper oral care advice, which can help improve your routine, technique, upkeep, and more.

Although Quip Toothbrushes are the result of “years of research and design,” does this mean they’re worth the price? Should you opt for a single purchase, or for monthly refills? What are customers saying? In this Quip Toothbrush review, we’ll take an in-depth look at what you might expect, so you can make a more informed decision.

What Features Does a Quip Toothbrush Provide?

The “Why” Behind Quip

According to their website, Quip is out to simply the process of caring for your teeth. Instead of focusing their research and development on bristle angles or other features that might provide 0.25% better performance, Quip claims they wanted to address the core factors that lead to teeth problems; namely:

  • Brushing too hard
  • Not brushing long enough
  • Not brushing twice a day
  • Not replacing your brush often enough

As a result, they “set about creating a more honest, accessible and simple oral care line that would cut out the excess to help focus on the basics that really matter.”

Quip Toothbrush Features

Powered by a single AAA battery that will last up to 3 months, Quip’s motor features the same vibration frequency (15,000 RPM) that you’ll find with most standard vibrating toothbrushes. Quip also uses a single pulse every 30 seconds to remind you to change quadrants (upper left, bottom left, upper right, bottom right), although this isn’t necessarily unique among electric toothbrushes. It also features a 2-minute timer to remind you to stop brushing, so you don’t damage your teeth or gums.

The base/handle of each Quip Toothbrush is available in either durable matte-finished ABS plastic or precision CNC'd aluminum. Quip’s soft brush head (there are no medium or firm options, which the company claims can damage your teeth and gums) attaches to each base and features 1,200 DuPont nylon bristles inserted into 34 tufts.

All Quip Toothbrushes also come with a travel cover that mounts to any glossy surface via a reusable suction strip, which also doubles as a storage container.

What’s the price for all these features?

How Much Do Quip Toothbrushes Cost?

Quip Toothbrushes are available in 6 colors: Silver Metal, Slate Metal, Copper Metal, Gold Metal, Green Plastic, and Blue Plastic. Each purchase includes the option to sign up for automatic brush and toothpaste refills, or just the toothbrush itself at a slightly higher price.

Starter Sets

Includes Quip Toothbrush, 1 replacement head, regular and travel size toothpaste:

  • Plastic Handle: $25 ($40 without refills)
  • Metal Handle: $40 ($55 without refills)

Brush and toothpaste refills cost $10 refill and are shipped once every 3 months. Alternately, you can pay for a year in advance, with free refills for a year: $65.

Brush Sets

Includes Quip Toothbrush only (no toothpaste):

  • Plastic Handle: $30 ($35 without refills)
  • Metal Handle: $45 ($50 without refills)

Brush refills are sent every 3 months and priced at $5. Prepaying for refills a year in advance will cost you $55.

Group Sets

Electric Couple Set – Includes 2 quip electric brushes, 2 refill heads, and small and large toothpastes: $75 ($100 without refills)

Electric Family Set – Includes 4 quip electric brushes, 4 refill heads, and small and large toothpastes: $150 ($200 without refills)

Additional Items

  • Toothbrush Head: $5 (same price, with or without refills)
  • Toothpaste 4.7oz: $5 (same price, with or without refills)
  • Travel Cover Mount: $5
  • White Plastic Manual Toothbrush: $10 ($5 refills every 3 months)

Keep in mind that refill plans are optional, ship free, and can be canceled at any time, although they cannot be paused. Without a refill plan, shipping will cost you $5.

The company provides a lifetime guarantee on all Quip Toothbrushes that are associated with an active refill plan, along with a 30-day refund policy.

Pro tip: According to Quip’s website: “We charge shipping ($5 for a single brush plan, $10 for a couple plan and $15 for a family plan) to cover the return shipping cost and deduct it from your credit card refund unless you ship using your own means.”

In order to request a refund, customer service can be reached at help@getquip.com or via online chat.

Although Quip isn’t the lowest priced electric toothbrush on the market, it’s certainly near the bottom. Outside of price though, what are customers saying about its performance?

Quip Toothbrush Reviews

Quip had been on the market for well over a year at the time of our research, and featured on many high-profile websites, including TechCrunch, Engadget, Popular Mechanics, and more. In most of these instances, they were high-level overviews or only provided insight into the company’s business model.

However, the author of this Fast Company article (and her husband) had a chance to try out a Quip Toothbrush and found: “As a user of one of the fancier models of the Sonicare electric toothbrushes, the Quip brush didn't feel as powerful or as satisfying to me. However, my husband, who uses a manual toothbrush, found the brush to be a step up from his everyday routine.”

Stephen Pulvirent over at Bloomberg had an opportunity to use a Quip Toothbrush for a while, and claimed that it looked great and that he “genuinely enjoyed” using it. He didn’t love the taste of the toothpaste though, and noted that the plastic model “felt hollow and a little too lightweight.”

In the end, the author felt that Quip’s toothbrush is “practical, reasonably priced, and still gives you that much-needed dose of mild, self-satisfied futurism.”

Finally, Dave Lee provides us with a quick but informative video review of his experience with Quip’s subscription service. He noted that he didn’t like Quip’s first generation toothbrushes, but that these second gen versions seemed to be a big upgrade.

Overall, he felt that the metal handle was nicely weighted, the head felt secure when attached, it has a stronger head vibration, and that they did a “really good job” on the aesthetics. In the end, he claimed to have had a “really solid brushing experience.”

Who Founded Quip?

Quip was founded by industrial designer Simon Enever and product designer Bill May, who wanted to help people take better care of their teeth by simplifying the process. Simon came from NY-based design agency ECCO, whereas Bill previously worked for Lifetime Brands.

Prior to launching as Quip, it appears the company initially attempted to raise funding through an Indiegogo crowdfunding campaign under the brand name byDefault, which didn’t meet its goal of $60K.

Is Quip a Serious Electric Toothbrush Contender?

When it comes down to it, Quip is upfront and honest about the results you might expect: “The truth is, a correctly used, soft bristle $5 manual toothbrush is just as effective as a $25 quip electric toothbrush which is just as effective as a $250 electric one! The issue is, us humans aren't the best at using them!”

And this is where the company seems to shine. Based on what we learned during our research and from customer reviews, they seem to offer a quality product at a reasonable price, along with a convenient refill program that can be easily canceled at any time. They also come with mostly positive online customer feedback.

To top everything off, Quip’ toothbrushes come with a 30-day refund policy, so you’ll only be out of few dollars in S&H for giving them a try.

Tell us about your Quip experience by writing a review below!

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

30 Customer Reviews for Quip Toothbrush

Average Customer Rating: 2.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 11 4 star: 1 3 star: 1 2 star: 5 1 star:  12
Bottom Line: 40% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 30
Sort reviews by:

  • Falls apart

    I have been using Quip for over a year and had to have several replacements because of faulty design. Also, to be honest, compared to other electric toothbrushes the vibrations are not as strong at all. The toothbrush heads themselves have gum cleaners but don't actually reach your gums. This is a pretty faulty product all and all. Save your money and go get a real toothbrush.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Decent toothbrush, doesn't stay on your bathroom mirror

    • Boston, MA,
    • May 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    As far as I can tell after 24 hours, it's a decent toothbrush. However, forget sticking it to your bathroom mirror. It fell down after a couple of hours. The same thing happened after a second try, even though the mirror was clean and dry. That part just doesn't work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 4, 2017

      Laura, Community Manager

      Hi Hakan! Pleased to hear that you are enjoying your brush, although it sounds like the invisible tape may still be on the suction strip. We can assure you the cover suctions are extremely strong and suction to the mirror and glass (you can see from thousands of social media pictures of others using it this way for years). Please do check out getquip.com/cover, to ensure you set it up correctly or email us at help@getquip.com, so we can help you get it set up the right way. We look forward to helping and ensuring your review can reflect the proper experience!

    • Jun 6, 2017

      Hakan Sjoo

      No worries, I got rid of the suction strip. It's ok, I don't necessarily need to glue it to the mirror.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Fantastic experience!

    • Virginia,
    • May 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have used the Quip Toothbrush product for over two years now, and I continue to LOVE the product. When the upgraded design was sent to me (free of charge) I was impressed with the much-improved ease of use, and the replacement features.

    I feel as though I now have a "relationship" with my oral hygiene routine. Like clockwork, every three months, there is my new toothbrush order in the mailbox, ready to be switched out for the old one. Each time I am amazed at how quickly the three months have elapsed. It proves to me that in the past I have never replaced my toothbrush in a timely manner.

    The toothpaste provided is great tasting, and I love the travel sized toothpaste, too! I am extremely pleased with Quip!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money

    • Texas,
    • May 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Horrible waste of my money. The first two toothbrush heads snapped in half after about a month each, and now I'm on my third and it won't click down all the way onto the base. The toothbrush literally falls apart in my hands while using it. Save your money and invest in a quality toothbrush.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • May 28, 2017

      Laura, Community Manager

      Hi D Jones,

      We can't find any help tickets in our system under "D Jones." To hear of a brush head snapping even under extremely hard brushing conditions is extremely rare, let alone twice.

      Can you please let us know your order number or send us a help email to help@getquip.com, so we can look into this for you. We are worried that there may be something about how Quip is being used, refilled, handled or stored that may be causing issues.

      Look forward to helping you.

    • Jun 27, 2017

      Akasha Cowdin

      It's not "extremely rare" at all. I also had that happen multiple times. Even worse, I can't get a refund for a faulty product.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    I love my Quip!

    I love my Quip! There are times when I'm brushing I actually hear my teeth squeak from being so clean! I had an electric brush before, but Quip is doing a better job.

    I love the way the brush feels in my hand; it is very comfortable and so sleek looking.

    I like the ease in which I can take this with me on my travels. Quip thinks of everything and even includes a travel size toothpaste with my order. The toothpaste is a great mint flavor, and it is so nice not to worry about having that on the grocery list.

    I recommend Quip to everyone who values their teeth.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Really bad customer service.

    I bought this quip three months ago, and now the head of the brush falls off at each brushing. This was a $60 toothbrush! They make you jump through hoops for a replacement. I loved it for the first two months, but now it can't be used. I'm going to duct tape it together until I finally get a replacement or my money back. Do not purchase this brush until they fix the problems. Oh, and the holder that you're supposed to stick into a smooth surface falls off constantly. It is a good idea, but bad customer service and cheaply made.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • May 28, 2017

      Laura, Community Manager

      Hi Kathleen! We can see that you called on the 19th. We emailed you that same day asking for three photos to avoid making you send anything in. We could help you instantly. We see you replied late that same day with the photos. We responded the next day saying that we were sending you a full replacement without the need to return your brush because we could see the issue in the photo.

      So that we can learn from your feedback, it would be helpful to know at which point during the 24 hours from your outreach to the replacement timeline was the customer experience was not ideal? What was particularly frustrating? We try to avoid people ever needing to leave the comfort of their own home or ever be without their toothbrush, which is why we find sending a couple of quick photos is ideal.

      We see that there was a conversation around what might have caused the crack. Our help team told you that we only have seen the brush head connection crack upon incorrect brush head removal. They were simply trying to ensure you had seen the video on how to remove the brush head, to make sure it didn't happen in the future. These instructions were not slowing down your replacement, it was just additional helpful information we like to add while you order was processing, to help ensure you have no issues in the future.

      We are sorry you did not have the best experience and we hope your free replacement makes up for this. Always here to help on help@getquip.com

    • Jun 27, 2017

      Akasha Cowdin

      I agree the customer service has been awful. I used Quip for over a year but not anymore! Sorry, you had such a terrible time. I hope you got a better toothbrush!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Simple and effective

    • Portland, OR,
    • May 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My dentist encouraged me to look into getting an electric toothbrush. A friend had recommended Quip in the past. I was drawn to the clean design and function, as well as not having to worry about replacing batteries or my bristles being worn out. I've been using mine for around four months now. I've been through a few replacement heads and new toothpaste. Zero complaints about the fulfillment process; they always remind you before they send new stuff.

    As for the brushing experience, it has really helped me be consistent in timing as well as coverage. Quip focuses on teaching you the right way to brush, and reinforce it with their brush. I went back to my dentist for a check-up recently, and they asked if I had been using an electric brush because they could see the improvement.

    Easy to use, easy to keep updated, super clean design. 11/10 would recommend.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Excellent affordable brush

    • Salt Lake City, UT,
    • May 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been using this brush for over a year now and have loved the cleanliness my teeth feel every time I brush. The sleek design is a huge bonus to the electric nature of the brush, it is comfortable to hold and isn't an eyesore on my counter. It travels well, and the subscription creates a much easier system rather than remembering to buy new brush heads when necessary.

    My brush had broken at one point, and after sending pictures to Quip, they immediately reviewed and sent me a new brush without question. They explained the correct process for removing and replacing the brush heads. The customer service was amazing and quick.

    I am a big fan of the brush, which I believe is helping improve my dental hygiene and smile.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Gentle yet effective

    • Houston, TX,
    • May 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I really like how the Quip feels gentle on the gums. The size is convenient for travel, and the fact it doesn't need to be constantly charged is a plus. The bristles are soft but clean well.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Easy, simple, effective

    • New York, NY,
    • May 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Honestly, my biggest issue with my previous non-Quip electric toothbrushes was having to refill my head. I was sold on the auto shipping. One less thing I have to remember. And it's so cost effective with a great quality. Five stars for sure.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Sleek design, high quality convenient product

    I've tried other fancy toothbrushes in the past that were bulky and extremely overpriced. Quip provides the same quality (if not better) at a fraction of the size and cost. The subscription is affordable for everyone. The convenience of having a new brush head in the mail every few months leaves no room for excuses even for the laziest among us. It's nice to not have to remember to replace the brush on your own. Plus, it's very portable for traveling. My teeth have never felt cleaner.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 30

Write a Review for Quip Toothbrush!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review