About Quip Toothbrush

Quip Toothbrush is an online subscription service that promises to help you simplify your oral health. How?

First, Quip’s attractively designed electric toothbrushes include only the features you need and exclude those you don’t. You’ll have just one mode (a 2-minute timer with 30 second intervals), gentle vibrations with no harsh rotations, a slim design that’s travel-ready, and replaceable heads with soft, round tip bristles.

Second, Quip’s subscription plans (more about this soon) come with anti-cavity fluoride toothpaste that includes “only the ingredients your teeth need.” And since you’ll only need a pea-sized portion, the company claims one tube can last you up to 3 months.

Finally, Quip claims they’ve partnered with dentists to provide proper oral care advice, which can help improve your routine, technique, upkeep, and more.

Although Quip Toothbrushes are the result of “years of research and design,” does this mean they’re worth the price? Should you opt for a single purchase, or for monthly refills? What are customers saying? In this Quip Toothbrush review, we’ll take an in-depth look at what you might expect, so you can make a more informed decision.

What Features Does a Quip Toothbrush Provide?

The “Why” Behind Quip

According to their website, Quip is out to simply the process of caring for your teeth. Instead of focusing their research and development on bristle angles or other features that might provide 0.25% better performance, Quip claims they wanted to address the core factors that lead to teeth problems; namely:

  • Brushing too hard
  • Not brushing long enough
  • Not brushing twice a day
  • Not replacing your brush often enough

As a result, they “set about creating a more honest, accessible and simple oral care line that would cut out the excess to help focus on the basics that really matter.”

Quip Toothbrush Features

Powered by a single AAA battery that will last up to 3 months, Quip’s motor features the same vibration frequency (15,000 RPM) that you’ll find with most standard vibrating toothbrushes. Quip also uses a single pulse every 30 seconds to remind you to change quadrants (upper left, bottom left, upper right, bottom right), although this isn’t necessarily unique among electric toothbrushes. It also features a 2-minute timer to remind you to stop brushing, so you don’t damage your teeth or gums.

The base/handle of each Quip Toothbrush is available in either durable matte-finished ABS plastic or precision CNC'd aluminum. Quip’s soft brush head (there are no medium or firm options, which the company claims can damage your teeth and gums) attaches to each base and features 1,200 DuPont nylon bristles inserted into 34 tufts.

All Quip Toothbrushes also come with a travel cover that mounts to any glossy surface via a reusable suction strip, which also doubles as a storage container.

What’s the price for all these features?

How Much Do Quip Toothbrushes Cost?

Quip Toothbrushes are available in 6 colors: Silver Metal, Slate Metal, Copper Metal, Gold Metal, Green Plastic, and Blue Plastic. Each purchase includes the option to sign up for automatic brush and toothpaste refills, or just the toothbrush itself at a slightly higher price.

Starter Sets

Includes Quip Toothbrush, 1 replacement head, regular and travel size toothpaste:

  • Plastic Handle: $25 ($40 without refills)
  • Metal Handle: $40 ($55 without refills)

Brush and toothpaste refills cost $10 refill and are shipped once every 3 months. Alternately, you can pay for a year in advance, with free refills for a year: $65.

Brush Sets

Includes Quip Toothbrush only (no toothpaste):

  • Plastic Handle: $30 ($35 without refills)
  • Metal Handle: $45 ($50 without refills)

Brush refills are sent every 3 months and priced at $5. Prepaying for refills a year in advance will cost you $55.

Group Sets

Electric Couple Set – Includes 2 quip electric brushes, 2 refill heads, and small and large toothpastes: $75 ($100 without refills)

Electric Family Set – Includes 4 quip electric brushes, 4 refill heads, and small and large toothpastes: $150 ($200 without refills)

Additional Items

  • Toothbrush Head: $5 (same price, with or without refills)
  • Toothpaste 4.7oz: $5 (same price, with or without refills)
  • Travel Cover Mount: $5
  • White Plastic Manual Toothbrush: $10 ($5 refills every 3 months)

Keep in mind that refill plans are optional, ship free, and can be canceled at any time, although they cannot be paused. Without a refill plan, shipping will cost you $5.

The company provides a lifetime guarantee on all Quip Toothbrushes that are associated with an active refill plan, along with a 30-day refund policy.

Pro tip: According to Quip’s website: “We charge shipping ($5 for a single brush plan, $10 for a couple plan and $15 for a family plan) to cover the return shipping cost and deduct it from your credit card refund unless you ship using your own means.”

In order to request a refund, customer service can be reached at help@getquip.com or via online chat.

Although Quip isn’t the lowest priced electric toothbrush on the market, it’s certainly near the bottom. Outside of price though, what are customers saying about its performance?

Quip Toothbrush Reviews

Quip had been on the market for well over a year at the time of our research, and featured on many high-profile websites, including TechCrunch, Engadget, Popular Mechanics, and more. In most of these instances, they were high-level overviews or only provided insight into the company’s business model.

However, the author of this Fast Company article (and her husband) had a chance to try out a Quip Toothbrush and found: “As a user of one of the fancier models of the Sonicare electric toothbrushes, the Quip brush didn't feel as powerful or as satisfying to me. However, my husband, who uses a manual toothbrush, found the brush to be a step up from his everyday routine.”

Stephen Pulvirent over at Bloomberg had an opportunity to use a Quip Toothbrush for a while, and claimed that it looked great and that he “genuinely enjoyed” using it. He didn’t love the taste of the toothpaste though, and noted that the plastic model “felt hollow and a little too lightweight.”

In the end, the author felt that Quip’s toothbrush is “practical, reasonably priced, and still gives you that much-needed dose of mild, self-satisfied futurism.”

Finally, Dave Lee provides us with a quick but informative video review of his experience with Quip’s subscription service. He noted that he didn’t like Quip’s first generation toothbrushes, but that these second gen versions seemed to be a big upgrade.

Overall, he felt that the metal handle was nicely weighted, the head felt secure when attached, it has a stronger head vibration, and that they did a “really good job” on the aesthetics. In the end, he claimed to have had a “really solid brushing experience.”

Who Founded Quip?

Quip was founded by industrial designer Simon Enever and product designer Bill May, who wanted to help people take better care of their teeth by simplifying the process. Simon came from NY-based design agency ECCO, whereas Bill previously worked for Lifetime Brands.

Prior to launching as Quip, it appears the company initially attempted to raise funding through an Indiegogo crowdfunding campaign under the brand name byDefault, which didn’t meet its goal of $60K.

Is Quip a Serious Electric Toothbrush Contender?

When it comes down to it, Quip is upfront and honest about the results you might expect: “The truth is, a correctly used, soft bristle $5 manual toothbrush is just as effective as a $25 quip electric toothbrush which is just as effective as a $250 electric one! The issue is, us humans aren't the best at using them!”

And this is where the company seems to shine. Based on what we learned during our research and from customer reviews, they seem to offer a quality product at a reasonable price, along with a convenient refill program that can be easily canceled at any time. They also come with mostly positive online customer feedback.

To top everything off, Quip’ toothbrushes come with a 30-day refund policy, so you’ll only be out of few dollars in S&H for giving them a try.

Tell us about your Quip experience by writing a review below!

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

16 Customer Reviews for Quip Toothbrush

Average Customer Rating: 2.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 4 4 stars: 0 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 5 1 stars: 7
Bottom Line: 25% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 16
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Did not pass customs and Quip blamed ME.

    • Germany,
    • Apr 13, 2017

    It would have been nice to try, but they failed to properly file through customs. German customs contacted me saying they had a kitchen appliance and needed it to be retrieved (with a fee that cost more than the toothbrush itself) in a week or else they would return it to sender. That was over a month ago. Still, I have no refund (Quip said they needed the return), and they won't refund the shipping either.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 13, 2017

      Laura, Community Manager

      We are so sorry to hear that you had trouble with receiving your package!

      All customs information on your package is correctly stated and paid for. However, as per our guidance on international shipping during checkout, your package may still be subject to customs charges that are out of our control which is an unfortunate side effect risk of ordering items internationally. We can see our help team offered to provide an additional detailed invoice to present to customs to help with releasing a held package if needed.

      We have successfully been shipping to Germany over the last two years and have not received notices of any packages being classified as a “kitchen appliance” as you stated. This is a new one, and our team is looking into. It does seem like a random and unfortunate mix up by the German customs team.

      As our team mentioned, as soon as there is an update on your order that shows it is being sent back to the U.S, we are ready to refund the full purchase.

      At no point have we blamed you for this issue, it has nothing to do with you! This is an unfortunate mix up, and we are so sorry you were inconvenienced because of it. Please do email us on help@getquip.com if you require further help.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Awful

    Don't buy; it is a waste of money! Not at all like a Sonicare. Cleans teeth like a regular brush.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 9, 2017

      Laura, Community Manager

      Hi again, Eric! We are sorry that our website, the booklet that came with your brush, and our subsequent email exchanges around this subject we were not able to clear up any misunderstandings about Quip's approach, and what affects your oral health.

      As we explained in those email exchanges, the reason we built Quip was to help battle the damaging misunderstanding that electric toothbrushes, and more specifically, the power mode they are set to will magically clean your teeth far better than regular toothbrushes. We also want to battle the misconception that electric brushes particularly, the one you mention should be used differently to a regular toothbrush (as per their product manual and our manual, they shouldn't).

      The quality of "clean" your toothbrush gives you is wholly dependent on how you use it. The truth is, a regular (manual) brush is just as capable of "cleaning" as the most super-powered, expensive electric toothbrush when used well. The issue is that most people don't use them well, and electric brushes help guide better usage and harbor good habits (encourage softer, tooth by tooth brushing for a full two minutes)

      The things that ensure a better clean; brushing gently, going tooth by tooth, wiggling the bristles around the gum line, for two full minutes twice a day, changing your brush head every three months, and visiting the dentist every six months. These habits have a fundamental effect on oral health (whether your brush is set to "sensitive" like Quip or "ultra" like yours). If followed, you can attain a perfectly clean teeth whatever you use. The problem is, the majority get several of the above wrong.

      We simply built Quip to focus on these important habits, and not make our members believe that by simply owning electric toothbrushes, excuse the need to brush well. We want to guide, inspire and automate healthy habits, and improve oral health.

      With all of the above said, personal preference is everything in a toothbrush. If aggressive vibrations and horsepower are things that inspire you to brush well, then your Sonicare is the right brush for you! For many others, they would prefer the same guidance in the form of a more simple, quiet, comfortable and easy to live with a product like a quip.

      I'm sorry that Quip was not for you, but I'm happy to see our help team were able to assist you with your return that was within your 30-day trial period.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    The best and most straight forward toothbrush

    • New York,
    • Apr 7, 2017

    The reason Quip initially caught my attention was the stress they put on what really matters: the basics. Nothing is sugar coated, and the whole package makes it really easy for you to take care of your teeth with little to no effort on you.

    I came here to leave a great review and was confused by the lazy/bad reviews. Any questions about my Quip have been answered swiftly, and the team seemed to want nothing more than for me to be satisfied. Owning my own small business as well, I am well aware of the hiccups that may be faced when launching a new product and Quip's eagerness to rectify any problems had me impressed.

    I already recommend this product to all my friends. Health care is super important to me and knowing what goes in my body and how to properly clean it is important. Quip's philosophy of stripping off the bad and starting from scratch is inspiring, and is one philosophy that I practice as well!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Quip revived my dental hygiene routine!

    I've been a Quip customer for over a year now, and I'm a huge fan. I just recently had to contact the team to make some account changes, and they were quick to respond and to help me with a solution, so I'm a little surprised by some of these reviews.

    As for the brush itself, if you're like me and forget to change out your toothbrush for several months (I know, it's gross), then the subscription option is reason alone to join and get your dental hygiene in check.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Improved my oral hygiene habits, sleek and travel friendly, why the bad reviews?

    I am surprised at the bad reviews on this website. I, for one, have owned a Quip brush and subscribed to the service (brush head) since August, and I find it incredibly attractive, convenient, and all around sleek.

    The vibration function is far friendlier to my gums than my older electric spin-head toothbrush. The two-minute timer with 30-second intervals really helped build a new foundation for my oral hygiene habits and keeps my morning routine systematic and efficient. Plus it's fully waterproof!

    My partner complimented me on how hip it looked, and he loves how the case sticks to the mirror and reduces clutter. I have traveled with it twice, and it re-attaches to the mirror every time.

    These negative reviews don't fully appear legitimate. I enjoy my Quip, and that's my two-cents.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Fantastic toothbrush, excellent customer service!

    I have been very pleased with my Quip toothbrush. My oral health has only gotten better since I have subscribed. I've had a couple questions over the past few months about my orders, and have always had my questions answered in a timely and respectful manner. I would recommend Quip to anyone.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 1, 2017

      Laura, Community Manager

      Hi Christine! Delighted to hear it.

      Don't be disheartened by the below reviews; you are far from alone. We have been shipping Quips for two years now and have hundreds of thousands of happy members like yourself :). Unfortunately, it is usually the few with bad experiences that google where to leave a negative review, and so we are delighted you googled to leave a positive one here (most usually do so on social media nowadays, which doesn't show up on a google search).

      Thanks once again, and we are always happy to help at help@getquip.com.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Poor customer service

    When you are dealing with a website service, and they do not provide a call in number nor provide tracking numbers, what do you do? It is annoying that I have to send an email and wait for their response to something I should be able to see when I sign in.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 1, 2017

      Laura, Community Manager

      Hi Andreas!

      We provide a tracking number via email (with a clickable track button) the second your order ships, as well as provide basics tracking number on our website in your profile area.

      We answer all emails within an average of 8 hours and are available seven days a week. We pride ourselves on our customer service and are sorry that not having a direct phone line (yet) as a growing startup, led you to feel you were receiving poor customer service.

      We hope you enjoy your brush :).

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Broken in three months

    • Houston, TX,
    • Mar 25, 2017

    Waste of money. It broke after three months, but I already prepaid for the 12 months of brush heads.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 1, 2017

      Laura, Community Manager

      Hi Celesy!

      Did you email help@getquip.com when you had an issue with your brush? If your brush broke at three months, it sounds like you may have had an issue when replacing (as the brush head should be replaced at three months with the refill you receive).

      Either way, your brush is covered for life! So please do email us so we can help you out :).

    • Apr 7, 2017

      Valerie Graham

      The same exact thing happened to me. I was really bummed that I couldn't use this product as well as when I first received it. I got in contact with the company via their website, and they professionally and efficiently resolved this issue. Also, when they say to do something "gently," they really mean it. I guess you can't hulk out when you change the brush head. LOL.

      I may be investing in the aluminum handle after this first year. Please don't be discouraged, things happen. This company stands behind their product, and they want it to work for us. I hope that someone in their customer service department was able to take care of this issue for you as well.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 5 people found this review helpful

    After using for over a year, I developed three cavities after having none for more than eight years

    • Arizona,
    • Mar 13, 2017

    For reference, I brush and floss my teeth every day religiously. I take oral health seriously.

    After going to the dentist a few times, she started noticing an extreme amount of plaque build-up in my gums, even though I floss every single day. She was surprised to hear me say I floss so regularly because almost all my gums were bleeding as well. For the first time in over eight years, I will need three fillings, costing almost $300 after insurance, because this toothbrush isn't doing a good job.

    I wouldn't recommend it at all!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 1, 2017

      Laura, Community Manager

      Hi Britt!

      We are sorry to hear your brushing routine deteriorated over the past year, leading to these issues :(.

      We hope that your hygienist will have discussed with you that a toothbrush cannot cause cavities, or in itself, fight cavities alone. The effectiveness of any toothbrush (or flossing device, which we do not currently sell) comes down to how it is used.

      We designed Quip to make using a toothbrush the right way easier! But it sounds like it had the opposite effect for you :(.

      It is hard to give advice without knowing if you came from a manual toothbrush, but here would be what a hygienist would usually discuss (but please consult with your own first).

      1) Quip is identical in size, shape, bristle design and more to all manual toothbrushes, just with the added vibrating bristles and 2-minute timer. If you came from a manual toothbrush, it would not be possible for Quip itself to be worse at cleaning. With that said, professionals do sometimes see on rare occasions that people start to brush differently/worse when switching to an electric because they believe it "does the work for them" and change their technique. An electric toothbrush and a manual toothbrush should be used in almost the same exact way. Going tooth to tooth, gentle wiggling the bristles focusing around the gum line area. Sometimes people switch to electric and drastically alter their technique when they should not, so we want to ensure that this is not the case for the next toothbrush you choose.

      2) If switching from another electric then the above is also often the case. A change in routine or technique is going to affect your oral health drastically (but the design or power of a toothbrush will not, especially with one like Quip, which is made in the same way as others). So we would certainly recommend discussing with your dental professionals if you feel you changed anything about your routine that might have led to this, as we would hate for this to continue to happen in the future!

      While we designed Quip to make better brushing easier, all mouths are different and personal preference is one of the most important aspects when choosing a toothbrush (check out consumer reports on toothbrushes). So we are sorry to hear that Quip wasn't for you and hope to see your oral health improve as you move forward!

      Thanks for giving Quip a try :).

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy the product

    I purchased the toothbrush with three refills to last a year for US $70, including shipment to the Netherlands, which is already a high amount. When the first delivery arrived in Amsterdam, I had to pay the shipping company EUR 22 on top of the product.

    I submitted a complaint, and customer service canceled the other three refills with a reimbursement of US $10. Therefore, I ended up paying over US $82 for a toothbrush I did not even like.

    I do not recommend the product for the product itself, and because of the experience I had with it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 1, 2017

      Laura, Community Manager

      Hi Carolina!

      Most importantly, we are sorry you did not have the ideal Quip experience. We know it can always be challenging when ordering an international product.

      Qe are very open with international customers. We show the shipping charge clearly on the shipping page, we also clearly state on our website (and link to from the same area of the shipping page) that you may incur customs import charges that we cannot control, depending on your local area.

      We also offer full refunds within 30 days, so you should have no need to be with a toothbrush that you have had a poor experience with.

      We totally understand your frustrations with these common issues that are a sad part of ordering any product internationally due to the challenges of international shipping. We provide international shipping for those passionate about trying Quip in any country, but we are very clear and forewarning about the challenges and potential costs.

      We are sorry for your experience and are always here to help on help@getquip.com.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Dentist told me my dental health deteriorated

    • California,
    • Feb 21, 2017

    I got a Quip Toothbrush one year ago and have since been to the dentist three times. I already had great oral health, but I wanted a convenient toothbrush that I didn't have to remember to buy. Quip seemed like a simple Netflix-style solution to my first world problems.

    I went to the dentist two weeks ago and have a cavity for the first time in ten years. I also have worse gum health than I did. My dentist (who knows me well) asked me what changed. I explained that I switched toothbrushes to Quip. She told me to go back to Sonicare immediately.

    Now that I've really "A and B" tested them, I can actually feel my teeth and gums feel better after I use the Sonicare.

    I'm not sure how the marketing got me, but the $40 I saved on the toothbrush (as compared to Sonicare I had), is not worth the $320 filling I had to get and my poorer dental health.

    Don't buy it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 1, 2017

      Laura, Community Manager

      Hi Dray!

      We do not know every detail of your oral health; only your dentist knows that, so we would always recommend you go with their advice first and foremost.

      With that said, we hope that they were open with the fact that a toothbrush cannot cause cavities or, in itself, deteriorate your oral health. If they did not discuss this, we would recommend reading through the ADA toothbrush guide and the consumer reports toothbrush guide.

      In short, a manual toothbrush (which Quip is identical in shape and size and design to, just with the addition of vibrations and timer making it electric) is capable of a perfect clean if used correctly, just like even the most expensive electrics on the market.

      So switching from an "ultra" level of vibration like yours, to a "sensitive" one like Quip will not cause a deterioration in your oral health (despite what the ads say, toothbrushes are not magic devices).

      With that said, switching toothbrushes of any kind CAN alter brushing habits and brushing routine. We actually designed Quip specifically to make better brushing and a better brushing routine more simple, and focus on the things that really do improve your oral health (technique, routine, upkeep) and try and ensure people not to believe electric toothbrushes do all the work for you.

      But it seems like, for whatever reason, Quip made you brush worse. And we are so sorry to hear it! All mouths are different and so are personal preference. As your dentist should tell you, personal preference is the most important thing when choosing a brush, so it sounds like your old brush is the one for you!

      We hope you get back to a better brushing routine and are sorry Quip was not for you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 16

Write a review for Quip Toothbrush!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review