About Quip Toothbrush

Quip Toothbrush is an online subscription service that promises to help you simplify your oral health. How?

First, Quip’s attractively designed electric toothbrushes include only the features you need and exclude those you don’t. You’ll have just one mode (a 2-minute timer with 30 second intervals), gentle vibrations with no harsh rotations, a slim design that’s travel-ready, and replaceable heads with soft, round tip bristles.

Second, Quip’s subscription plans (more about this soon) come with anti-cavity fluoride toothpaste that includes “only the ingredients your teeth need.” And since you’ll only need a pea-sized portion, the company claims one tube can last you up to 3 months.

Finally, Quip claims they’ve partnered with dentists to provide proper oral care advice, which can help improve your routine, technique, upkeep, and more.

Although Quip Toothbrushes are the result of “years of research and design,” does this mean they’re worth the price? Should you opt for a single purchase, or for monthly refills? What are customers saying? In this Quip Toothbrush review, we’ll take an in-depth look at what you might expect, so you can make a more informed decision.

What Features Does a Quip Toothbrush Provide?

The “Why” Behind Quip

According to their website, Quip is out to simply the process of caring for your teeth. Instead of focusing their research and development on bristle angles or other features that might provide 0.25% better performance, Quip claims they wanted to address the core factors that lead to teeth problems; namely:

  • Brushing too hard
  • Not brushing long enough
  • Not brushing twice a day
  • Not replacing your brush often enough

As a result, they “set about creating a more honest, accessible and simple oral care line that would cut out the excess to help focus on the basics that really matter.”

Quip Toothbrush Features

Powered by a single AAA battery that will last up to 3 months, Quip’s motor features the same vibration frequency (15,000 RPM) that you’ll find with most standard vibrating toothbrushes. Quip also uses a single pulse every 30 seconds to remind you to change quadrants (upper left, bottom left, upper right, bottom right), although this isn’t necessarily unique among electric toothbrushes. It also features a 2-minute timer to remind you to stop brushing, so you don’t damage your teeth or gums.

The base/handle of each Quip Toothbrush is available in either durable matte-finished ABS plastic or precision CNC'd aluminum. Quip’s soft brush head (there are no medium or firm options, which the company claims can damage your teeth and gums) attaches to each base and features 1,200 DuPont nylon bristles inserted into 34 tufts.

All Quip Toothbrushes also come with a travel cover that mounts to any glossy surface via a reusable suction strip, which also doubles as a storage container.

What’s the price for all these features?

How Much Do Quip Toothbrushes Cost?

Quip Toothbrushes are available in 6 colors: Silver Metal, Slate Metal, Copper Metal, Gold Metal, Green Plastic, and Blue Plastic. Each purchase includes the option to sign up for automatic brush and toothpaste refills, or just the toothbrush itself at a slightly higher price.

Starter Sets

Includes Quip Toothbrush, 1 replacement head, regular and travel size toothpaste:

  • Plastic Handle: $25 ($40 without refills)
  • Metal Handle: $40 ($55 without refills)

Brush and toothpaste refills cost $10 refill and are shipped once every 3 months. Alternately, you can pay for a year in advance, with free refills for a year: $65.

Brush Sets

Includes Quip Toothbrush only (no toothpaste):

  • Plastic Handle: $30 ($35 without refills)
  • Metal Handle: $45 ($50 without refills)

Brush refills are sent every 3 months and priced at $5. Prepaying for refills a year in advance will cost you $55.

Group Sets

Electric Couple Set – Includes 2 quip electric brushes, 2 refill heads, and small and large toothpastes: $75 ($100 without refills)

Electric Family Set – Includes 4 quip electric brushes, 4 refill heads, and small and large toothpastes: $150 ($200 without refills)

Additional Items

  • Toothbrush Head: $5 (same price, with or without refills)
  • Toothpaste 4.7oz: $5 (same price, with or without refills)
  • Travel Cover Mount: $5
  • White Plastic Manual Toothbrush: $10 ($5 refills every 3 months)

Keep in mind that refill plans are optional, ship free, and can be canceled at any time, although they cannot be paused. Without a refill plan, shipping will cost you $5.

The company provides a lifetime guarantee on all Quip Toothbrushes that are associated with an active refill plan, along with a 30-day refund policy.

Pro tip: According to Quip’s website: “We charge shipping ($5 for a single brush plan, $10 for a couple plan and $15 for a family plan) to cover the return shipping cost and deduct it from your credit card refund unless you ship using your own means.”

In order to request a refund, customer service can be reached at help@getquip.com or via online chat.

Although Quip isn’t the lowest priced electric toothbrush on the market, it’s certainly near the bottom. Outside of price though, what are customers saying about its performance?

Quip Toothbrush Reviews

Quip had been on the market for well over a year at the time of our research, and featured on many high-profile websites, including TechCrunch, Engadget, Popular Mechanics, and more. In most of these instances, they were high-level overviews or only provided insight into the company’s business model.

However, the author of this Fast Company article (and her husband) had a chance to try out a Quip Toothbrush and found: “As a user of one of the fancier models of the Sonicare electric toothbrushes, the Quip brush didn't feel as powerful or as satisfying to me. However, my husband, who uses a manual toothbrush, found the brush to be a step up from his everyday routine.”

Stephen Pulvirent over at Bloomberg had an opportunity to use a Quip Toothbrush for a while, and claimed that it looked great and that he “genuinely enjoyed” using it. He didn’t love the taste of the toothpaste though, and noted that the plastic model “felt hollow and a little too lightweight.”

In the end, the author felt that Quip’s toothbrush is “practical, reasonably priced, and still gives you that much-needed dose of mild, self-satisfied futurism.”

Finally, Dave Lee provides us with a quick but informative video review of his experience with Quip’s subscription service. He noted that he didn’t like Quip’s first generation toothbrushes, but that these second gen versions seemed to be a big upgrade.

Overall, he felt that the metal handle was nicely weighted, the head felt secure when attached, it has a stronger head vibration, and that they did a “really good job” on the aesthetics. In the end, he claimed to have had a “really solid brushing experience.”

Who Founded Quip?

Quip was founded by industrial designer Simon Enever and product designer Bill May, who wanted to help people take better care of their teeth by simplifying the process. Simon came from NY-based design agency ECCO, whereas Bill previously worked for Lifetime Brands.

Prior to launching as Quip, it appears the company initially attempted to raise funding through an Indiegogo crowdfunding campaign under the brand name byDefault, which didn’t meet its goal of $60K.

Is Quip a Serious Electric Toothbrush Contender?

When it comes down to it, Quip is upfront and honest about the results you might expect: “The truth is, a correctly used, soft bristle $5 manual toothbrush is just as effective as a $25 quip electric toothbrush which is just as effective as a $250 electric one! The issue is, us humans aren't the best at using them!”

And this is where the company seems to shine. Based on what we learned during our research and from customer reviews, they seem to offer a quality product at a reasonable price, along with a convenient refill program that can be easily canceled at any time. They also come with mostly positive online customer feedback.

To top everything off, Quip’ toothbrushes come with a 30-day refund policy, so you’ll only be out of few dollars in S&H for giving them a try.

Tell us about your Quip experience by writing a review below!

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

36 Customer Reviews for Quip Toothbrush

Average Customer Rating: 2.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 12 4 star: 2 3 star: 2 2 star: 6 1 star:  14
Bottom Line: 39% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 36
Sort reviews by:

  • Disappointed

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Aug 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was excited about this toothbrush. Really. My boyfriend had a very expensive, yet bulky, electric toothbrush and loved it. I decided to order this product, brush heads, and toothpaste, and eventually ordered my boyfriend the same.

    BUT, the second time I replaced the brush head, it would no longer stay on the toothbrush handle. It pops off every time I brush my teeth. I am now using a $50+ micro manual toothbrush head, which is not what I signed up for. I have emailed customer service twice asking for tips to fix the issue, and then a replacement, with no response. I'm withholding my other complaints about the product, hoping my issue will be resolved soon.

    I feel cheated out of my money with this product. I'll update my review if I use the actual product in the future.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Bad design brush head

    • California,
    • Aug 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Very good handle, poorly designed brush head. The bristles are surrounded by rubber "bristles" that seem make it difficult to rinse and clean the brush head. Toothpaste accumulates as well as food particles. I canceled my subscription. Customer service has been prompt in reply but would not stand behind product and refund. Dissatisfied and would not recommend.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Does not hold up

    I have had this for nine months and the brush power unit does not hold up, nor does the sticky brush holder for the mirror.

    The heads DO NOT stay in the power unit anymore and slip out while I am brushing my teeth, which REALLY sucks. I put in new heads and cleaned the power unit connection area, and it still comes out. It's junk.

    The bristles are way too soft, no options for a hard, med or soft brush. That's bad too. One size does NOT fit all. The holder that sticks (or sucks) to the mirror no longer holds the brush DESPITE cleaning it off.

    In the end, the quality is not there, so I quit the service. There are other options out there now.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 19, 2017

      Laura, Community Manager

      Hi William! We can see you emailed help@getquip.com with these issues only a few days ago. It's likely that at the same time you wrote this review, which we have answered. As we said there, we wish you had emailed us when you started experiencing even a single issue or if you just had a question or confusion about how a Quip worked. We are here 24/7 to help. Your Quip is covered for the life with your plan!

      We can assure the heads certainly stay on extremely firm, so it sounds like something might have happened during one of your three refills that damaged the connection to cause an issue. Something we can always help with or look into, and fix through our help team!

      We only use soft bristles because dentists only recommend soft bristles. We would never supply medium or hard because they can be damaging to gums, and are actually worse at cleaning. Some are too thick to get into the gaps, and most dentists wish they were no longer available by any brand. This is not about one size fits all, this is about us being dedicated to only supply products that are good for oral health.(In fact, we will soon be launching an ultra soft head!)

      The holder can't lose stickiness (suction, which is the right way to say it) and we recommend checking out getquip.com/cover to see what might cause this and various methods to clean your holder and mirror. Or just chat with our help team.

      We can assure the quality of Quip is as at the top of the industry. Quip is actually manufactured in the same facilities with the same parts, processes, and testing as some of the most premium big brand brushes on the market. We only hope that you talk to our help team if you ever have even a single question, so we can ensure you have the right experience.

      We are sorry for your frustrations.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Love the Quip

    • Chesapeake, VA,
    • Jul 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been using it for a week now, and I love my Quip Toothbrush. I was skeptical about ordering it because of the negative comments and reviews, but decided to try it because of some of the good reviews I did see. My teeth feel really clean after brushing compared to a manual toothbrush. This is the first electric toothbrush I have tried, even though it might not do all the fancy and unnecessary features that some of the other brushes do, I feel like Quip gets the job done perfectly. I say go for it and try it out, you may be surprised like I was.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Disappointing

    • California,
    • Jul 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm pretty disappointed in my Quip. I didn't expect it to have the power that my Sonicare toothbrush has, but the head literally doesn't vibrate at all itself. What does vibrate is the handle where the batteries are. Any feeling of vibration in the brush head itself just comes from the handle vibrating in your hand.

    Also, the holder, which is supposed to stick to your mirror, always falls within a few minutes. I heard my Quip fall to the floor both times I tried to store it in its holder on the bathroom mirror. The design of the toothbrush itself is nice, I ordered the copper color, and it is very pretty. I wish the brush actually vibrated. Now I have a very pretty $50 toothbrush that does little more for my teeth than your average drugstore toothbrush.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 12, 2017

      Laura, Community Manager

      Hi Isla! It sounds like there may be an issue with your Quip or how it is being handled because we can assure you the bristles are vibrating, and they are the same sensitive vibration level as many premium brush modes. Could you please email help@getquip.com so we can help you out?

      We will also be able to help you with the cover. Again, the cover is extremely sticky when used properly (check out "how to" on the removable sticker that comes on it, the welcome card and getquip.com/setup). So it sounds like it may be being put on a noncompatible surface.

      We look forward to helping!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Decent brush - phenomenal customer service!

    • Washington, DC,
    • Jun 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm on my third Quip. I've really struggled with replacing the toothbrush head. Each time, it fails to stay on. That said, within a couple of hours of putting in a ticket, the customer service team asked for photos, which I sent, and then within a day or two, a full new toothbrush was sent out to me. Of course, ideally, I wouldn't need to keep replacing it, but I'm also happy to support a start up, especially with fast, friendly responses. I'm hoping they can keep plugging along and solving the issue I'm having.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Falls apart

    I have been using Quip for over a year and had to have several replacements because of faulty design. Also, to be honest, compared to other electric toothbrushes the vibrations are not as strong at all. The toothbrush heads themselves have gum cleaners but don't actually reach your gums. This is a pretty faulty product all and all. Save your money and go get a real toothbrush.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 29, 2017

      Laura, Community Manager

      We are so sorry that you didn't find Quip to be for you. As mentioned in our help exchange with you, Quip is heavily tested against normal wear and tear. It's even tested against user challenges and potential error points like brush head removal. We know that it could only break the head connection, as your photo displayed if the head is improperly or over-forcefully removed during refill.

      Our brushes are manufactured in the same facilities, using the same parts, processes, and testing as some of the biggest brand brushes on the market. We have been shipping Quip to thousands of happy customers for two years now so we can assure it is not a faulty design.

      We stand by our products and offer a lifetime guarantee for subscribers for this reason. We have been more than happy to replace your Quip each time this happened while you refilled it using your guarantee. This is also in hopes that our instructions each time would help correct removal in the future and ensure it didn't happen again. We are sorry to hear this was not able to prevent it happening again.

      Regarding the vibrations, our website, your welcome pack, your Dentist, the ADA and consumer reports will tell you, stronger vibrations do not mean you will get a better clean. The key to maintaining good oral health is based on your technique and routine, something Quip is uniquely designed to help improve. Quip is set to a sensitive, silent and comfortable vibration level like many premium brushes are now. Also defaulting to or offering to help you with guiding a thorough, yet safe and enjoyable clean.

      We thank you for giving Quip a try, and again are so sorry that it was not for you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Decent toothbrush, doesn't stay on your bathroom mirror

    • Boston, MA,
    • May 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    As far as I can tell after 24 hours, it's a decent toothbrush. However, forget sticking it to your bathroom mirror. It fell down after a couple of hours. The same thing happened after a second try, even though the mirror was clean and dry. That part just doesn't work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 4, 2017

      Laura, Community Manager

      Hi Hakan! Pleased to hear that you are enjoying your brush, although it sounds like the invisible tape may still be on the suction strip. We can assure you the cover suctions are extremely strong and suction to the mirror and glass (you can see from thousands of social media pictures of others using it this way for years). Please do check out getquip.com/cover, to ensure you set it up correctly or email us at help@getquip.com, so we can help you get it set up the right way. We look forward to helping and ensuring your review can reflect the proper experience!

    • Jun 6, 2017

      Hakan Sjoo

      No worries, I got rid of the suction strip. It's ok, I don't necessarily need to glue it to the mirror.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Fantastic experience!

    • Virginia,
    • May 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have used the Quip Toothbrush product for over two years now, and I continue to LOVE the product. When the upgraded design was sent to me (free of charge) I was impressed with the much-improved ease of use, and the replacement features.

    I feel as though I now have a "relationship" with my oral hygiene routine. Like clockwork, every three months, there is my new toothbrush order in the mailbox, ready to be switched out for the old one. Each time I am amazed at how quickly the three months have elapsed. It proves to me that in the past I have never replaced my toothbrush in a timely manner.

    The toothpaste provided is great tasting, and I love the travel sized toothpaste, too! I am extremely pleased with Quip!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money

    • Texas,
    • May 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Horrible waste of my money. The first two toothbrush heads snapped in half after about a month each, and now I'm on my third and it won't click down all the way onto the base. The toothbrush literally falls apart in my hands while using it. Save your money and invest in a quality toothbrush.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • May 28, 2017

      Laura, Community Manager

      Hi D Jones,

      We can't find any help tickets in our system under "D Jones." To hear of a brush head snapping even under extremely hard brushing conditions is extremely rare, let alone twice.

      Can you please let us know your order number or send us a help email to help@getquip.com, so we can look into this for you. We are worried that there may be something about how Quip is being used, refilled, handled or stored that may be causing issues.

      Look forward to helping you.

    • Jun 27, 2017

      Akasha Cowdin

      It's not "extremely rare" at all. I also had that happen multiple times. Even worse, I can't get a refund for a faulty product.

    • Jun 28, 2017

      Laura, Community Manager

      Hi Akasha! We have been shipping Quip for two years, to hundreds of thousands of happy customers around the world. Anyone with a particularly bad experience usually reviews Quip on this page as it is the only one found on Google. Unfortunately, Quip is not for everyone and when shipping at such scale there will also be unavoidable issues for a few. In this case, around 15 people over two years.

      We can assure you that breaking the brush during brush head change is a rare occurrence and hopefully, 15 in two years will show that. As you have experienced, we still stand by our customers to replace anything broken and guide correct removal. We are so sorry quip was not for you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    I love my Quip!

    I love my Quip! There are times when I'm brushing I actually hear my teeth squeak from being so clean! I had an electric brush before, but Quip is doing a better job.

    I love the way the brush feels in my hand; it is very comfortable and so sleek looking.

    I like the ease in which I can take this with me on my travels. Quip thinks of everything and even includes a travel size toothpaste with my order. The toothpaste is a great mint flavor, and it is so nice not to worry about having that on the grocery list.

    I recommend Quip to everyone who values their teeth.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 36

Write a Review for Quip Toothbrush!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review