Read 38 Basis by Elysium Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 3.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 10 4 star: 8 3 star: 5 2 star: 5 1 star:  10
Bottom Line: 55% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 38
Sort reviews by:

  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Worth a try

    • Silver City, NM,
    • Mar 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    OK. From reading everyone's reviews, there is a very wide range of satisfaction with this product. I really think the reason for that is the huge variety in each person's response to the product. Remember that some people develop cancer, heart disease, and diabetes. Others do not. Some people are old in their early 60s while others are fairly strong and healthy in their 90s. We are all unique, and that includes their response to this product. I've only taken TWO doses of NAD+ and already noticed a huge increase in energy and decrease in joint stiffness. I'm 79, but that's how I'm responding. So, give it a try, but be aware of its limitations and also your own responses.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 22 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Reaction

    I had a bad reaction taking this and developed severe pain in my arms. I'm on Aspirin therapy, so I'm guessing this caused a reaction. After stopping, the pain went away, so I would not take this if you're on meds like me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Give it a chance

    I take Basis because it has been proven in clinical trials to increase and sustain N.A.D. in my body. As we age, our levels decrease. I am betting on the science of anti-aging and investing now in my late 50's in several areas of anti-aging, including Basis. I have no plans to retire unless I become ill, and taking care of my body with a supplement like Basis is an opportunity that did not exist for my parents and grandparents. The company and science check out. If you can afford Basis, you should take it as prevention.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 95 out 99 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Circumstances have changed and I won't buy Elysium product

    • USA,
    • Oct 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am updating the review to low since Elysium isn't purchasing their Niagen from ChromaDex anymore. And, the product sold by Elysium is now alleged to be contaminated with the toxin Toluene. Read online from attorney Shelly Albaum.

    I gained tremendous benefit from the usage of Niagen and Pterostilbene combo. Elysium used to source them through ChromaDex. My purchases are now from Amazon.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Previous review
    • Jun 22, 2016

    Excellent experience with both Niagen & company I chose to purchase from

    Not all reviewers include their age, dosage taken or company purchased from. Niagen is sold by many different companies and in different dosages. This is important information to have when reading a review. My product review will be at the end, after giving all relevant data.

    Some of the reviewers appear to believe the product is made in China. The ingredient Niagen (Nicotinamide Riboside) is manufactured in the US and sold to other vendors that resell it in various strengths and prices. I noticed that CVS discontinued theirs due to low sales, but, in looking at a bottle I noticed the dosage was only for one 75mg capsule daily and might explain the lower price mentioned in one review. That’s not the recommended dosage from the reading I’ve done.

    I’m a 64 year old female that bought my product through Elysium Health, LLC. The product is sold as “Basis” and each dose consists of 250mg Nicotinamide Riboside and 50mg Pterostilbene. Two capsules equal one dose, so, each capsule is 150mg NR and 25mg Pterostilbene. When I saw the close out in CVS I bought the remaining bottles they had on the shelf and now take an additional 75mg daily for a total of 325mg Nicotinamide Riboside along with 50mg Pterostilbene.

    In comparison to my very muscular and skinny self as an 18 year old, I’m 20 pounds overweight and would like to lose about 10 pounds. The only medications I use are restasis for dry eyes. My eating pattern is relatively healthy and the weight gain has been due to lower energy and lower activity in recent years without lowering caloric intake. So, there’s nothing to change in diet if in fact I end up with more energy and can become more active again. That was my thinking/hoping before starting Niagen. I included the word hoping since I realize everyone responds differently to medications and supplements. Even the same supplement can create a different response due to variations in filler used in the capsules by different companies. And, it’s very important to take any supplement with lot’s of water to avoid any liver issues. Based on the reviews, I’m guessing not all are drinking a good amount of water with each dose.

    I have no relationship with any company that makes or sells Niagen and I’m not being compensated for this review. I’m just hoping it will be helpful to others.

    Elysium Health, LLC has been superb. Three weeks into using the product I received the following email from the company:

    Hi xxx-

    I'm writing to see how you are now that you've started incorporating Basis into your daily routine.

    On behalf of the Elysium team, we are grateful to be working with people like you, proactively seeking the best ways to sustain health. If there is anything we can help you with, please let me know.

    You can reach my customer care team at care@elysiumhealth.com or by phone Monday through Friday, 9am-5pm EST, at +1.888.220.6436.

    Hope to hear from you soon!

    All the best, Tom

    My purchase was for a one month supply set up with auto refill and I sent him a note asking about the timing of billing and shipping of the next month supply. He responded the next day. I’d rate the Elysium customer service as excellent.

    Just before starting my first dose last month I had a complete blood work up done and I’m scheduled for another one in November 2016.

    After about a week I thought I was feeling more energetic. At the ten day point there was no doubt about it. I can walk and bike ride further than before without getting tired. What stops me is going until my thighs are a bit sore. This in itself is fantastic since I had lost most of my energy and could only go short distances before feeling that thigh soreness. I measure in blocks since I’m taking baby steps instead of overdoing it. I used to get tired after one block and now go around the block four times. I’ll try increasing by another block next week.

    My mental clarity has greatly improved and I can’t believe the speed of my typing. It’s dramatically faster. I noticed these improvements before I started the extra 75mg two days ago.

    There are two changes that I don’t view as good or bad. My dreams are very vivid and I have quite the recall. The other issue is that I have to make sure to go to bed at a decent hour since no matter what time I go to bed I still wake up at my usual time. I’m still full of energy, but, know the body needs a certain amount of sleep to rebuild. But, I feel a bit like an energizer bunny that can keep going and going. Fortunately, I have no problems going to sleep and sleep well.

    The negative I have experienced is having to urinate more often due to drinking more water than usual. The Niagen isn’t making me more thirsty, but, being a relatively new supplement I feel it is a good idea to stay very well hydrated until I have been on it for about six months and see what my blood work looks like. Plus, I’m more active now.

    Overall, that mental clarity, speed of typing and energy to simply do more throughout the day is simply wonderful. My walking and bike riding are so much easier too.

    Apparently, it doesn’t do the same for all and it would be interesting to know what all the variables are. I’m hoping this review ends up helpful to some. I’ll update with other changes that are good or bad.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 14 out 20 people found this review helpful

    No basis for Basis

    • Colorado,
    • Oct 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm 77 and in good health. I exercise regularly, eat moderately, and drink a couple of glasses of wine most days. I took a half-dose (1 pill daily) of Basis by Elysium for six months and noted no changes to energy, dreams, or general health.

    On the other hand, I have recently experienced more tender skin; if I brush by an object or am scraped by something my skin is easily scratched or torn, leading to an ugly blue bruise. To combat this, I've cut back on taking the prescribed baby Aspirin I've taken for years. This problem may have no relationship to the Basis, but it doesn't support the claim that the supplement is making me younger at the cellular level. I don't plan to continue taking Basis.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 18 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Not great service

    • Hawaii,
    • Sep 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up for six months (big mistake). The second order arrived too late, so I was without the product for a week. They didn't respond to my email about it, so I finally called them. For your information, even though the potential for shipping issues remain, they refuse to send the other four bottles I have already paid for at one time. "Oh, we just can't change the way we do our orders."

    So buyer beware of this. No refunds, no flexibility. Not impressed with this company. Effects have been negligible to none for two months. If I continue, it's not going to be with this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 22 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Absolutely, go for it!

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Aug 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been taking Elysium basis for ten months now. I experienced an immediate change in my energy levels. No more crashing after 2 pm. After about 20 days I noticed my eyesight improving. I had been having trouble seeing from afar, and I noticed while driving that I could see clearly much further within a few days.

    Still skeptic and thinking that I was biased to 'notice things,' I continued to take the supplement for the second month. Having taken digestive enzymes before, I noticed a similar temporary 'side effect,' the skin on your hands and face becomes extremely dry and wrinkly while the body begins to get rid of accumulated toxins. I continued to moisturize to counteract the effects. That is why I knew something was happening at the cellular level.

    After about three months of taking the supplement, my short and long term memory improved greatly. I am studying part time while working full time and I began experiencing a hard time retaining what I read. Next, I saw my face and body muscles tightening and my skin glowing. I don't work out, and occasionally take 30 minutes walks around town.

    Overall I can say with certainty that this supplement reversed the functions of my body to the time I was on my 20's. I took this one step further and got blood work done to see what the supplement was doing at a cellular level. My bad cholesterol went down 36 points without me changing a thing about my diet or exercise routine. My glucose level in the blood lowered by 20%. Any health indicators of blood count and enzymes improved markedly compared to my previous lab tests two years ago.

    I am subscribed to a monthly order I am seriously considering buying this for my parents.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 24 out 24 people found this review helpful

    From couch sitter, age 60 (heart attack) to athlete

    In 2016 I had a major heart attack (called the Widow Maker). Prior to that (5 years) I had my second major open heart surgery (valve replacement). At the age of 59, I was overweight (268 lbs) and trying to recover from the heart attack. I was on depression meds, cholesterol meds, blood pressure meds, and a plethora of other meds. My short term memory was like Swiss Cheese, my ability to walk up stairs was like running a marathon. Every joint hurt and I would have night sweats and cramping. To say I was a mess would be an understatement.

    So after 30 years of being sick, I started to research all the supplements that helped with memory and physical recovery, which led to researching aging. This, in turn, led to Basis, among other products. Of course, I understood that exercise was needed, but previously I had tried and failed over the last three decades. So I figured if I ate well, took supplements and tried a product like Basis that would be enough.

    I did start to take Basis and eventually started to exercise slowly. When exercising, I noticed after about eight weeks my pain was there, but my recovery was faster than in the past. Plus my memory seemed better. I slowly started to do strength training and after six months of exercise and Basis (and traditional supplements) felt pretty good. At that time I decided to stop taking Basis and for the following six months I continued to exercise. After about two weeks I noticed it was a little harder and took longer and longer to recover. In addition, my family started to make fun of memory issues (again). So I decided to order Basis again.

    This time though I increased the amount to double, and after three weeks I definitely noticed the change. My exercise routine was increased, along with the amount of weights. After eight months I entered into my first Powerlifting competition and after 30 years of little to no exercise, two open heart surgeries, a major heart attack, being severely overweight and being 61, I won the California State Powerlifting Championship and set two state records. I am now training for the USPA National Championship and will try to qualify for the IPF World Championships.

    Did Basis make me stronger? No. What it did do is somehow allow me to have the same degree of recovery as when I was in my 20's. I am stronger now and with clearer thinking than I was 25 years ago. Of course, there is no one single pill that will reverse aging, but if taking Basis and the proper supplements in conjunction with diet and strength training, is any proof of success then I am proof of that.

    By the way, my squat is 405 lbs, my deadlift if 500 lbs and my bench press is 260 lbs. You can look me up on Facebook in the group Strength Athlete Spirit.

    Frank Westall.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Perceived benefits

    • Crystal River, FL,
    • Jun 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using this product for over a year. I've read all the reviews, and the naysayers give advice about this product. My conclusion at this time is a positive experience concerning Elysium.

    I do feel I am able to concentrate and think clearer now, and my energy level is very good. At 65 and I'm still working full time and as a senior technician, my concentration and abilities to perform are very good. Many supplements we take don't show a result directly as we ingest them but over time reveal their results. I believe my use of this product helps me! As others have stated, when something reveals we are doing well, keep doing what you're doing to live healthier and think with clarity.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Did NOT do anything it claimed to do!

    I purchased the 1-year program in July of 2016.

    I have some health issues including nerve damage to my left ear, neuropathy, and brain damage.

    This supplement claimed to reverse or improve my situation. It was like taking a placebo except, my MD has now referred me to Nephrology, as my MD believes this supplement has caused damage to my pancreas, liver, and kidneys.

    Not all medicines are for everyone, and that goes for supplements, too! I did try and call them but got a voice mail saying they would call me back. I called during office hours: 09:00-17:00 EST today. I'm thinking a small claims court filing should satisfy at least the cost of the product that has done this damage to my internal organs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Improvements over time

    • Stockton, CA,
    • Apr 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am age 73, and I have been taking Basis for over a year. For the first six to eight months I did not notice any specific improvements in the areas outlined in the literature.

    At eight months I did start to definitely recognize sustained improvements, specifically in the areas of focus and energy. For most of my life, I have worked seven days a week for several organizations at a time.

    Over the past several years I have found it to be increasingly difficult to find the energy to maintain the pace, as well as to consistently focus on the key issues for each organization. However in the past five months or so I have recognized that my energy level has significantly increased and most importantly, my fuzzy thinking has disappeared.

    I can't directly relate the change to Basis, but it is the only supplement that I have been taking during this period with no other changes to my health, exercise or diet patterns. It may be a placebo, but in the words of my doctor "if it's working and you are not experiencing any ill effects, don't stop taking it."

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 38

Write a Review for Basis by Elysium!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review