Start your review of Blue Apron:
  • 24 Customer Reviews
  • 38% Recommend This Company
2.6 out of 5
5 star: 33% 4 star: 4% 3 star: 4% 2 star: 4% 1 star: 54%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Good food, Terrible Website

    Overall Experience:

    Ordered the trial where you supposedly get 2 free meals, which in itself is misleading because you normally get 3 meals for $60, and each meal technically feeds 2, so the Trial costs $40. So that means you really pay for 2 meals and get 1 meal free, but calling it '2 meals' because 1 meal serves 2 makes it sound like you get a whole lot more.

    The meals themselves where good, enough to typically satisfy 2 and contain no missing ingredients, but I did not want to purchase again for another week right away. Just like the rest of the 1 star reviews, the website is incredibly of poor quality. There's a "Log In" option at the top right corner, but it just takes you to the screen to 'Pick Your Plan' forcing you to order again, no 'Account Settings' or 'Preferences' or 'Manage Subscriptions' options, NOTHING. You have to scour and only after Googling "how to cancel blue apron' did it pull up a support article on Blue Apron which even then, the ONLY way you can cancel is by emailing 'cancellations@blueapron.com' and hoping they have someone bother to follow up on that e-mail. You have no actual control yourself whether you get charged or not, you can only hope that someone is at the other end actually processing these requests when they get them.

    Until there is some measure of control over your subscription on their website or app, as they advertised, then I consider this not worth the hassle.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Gave it a Try

    • By Joanne,
    • Hershey, PA,
    • Mar 5, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Received two free weeks as a gift so I thought it would be great to try this type of service. On the plus side, the meals for 2 people were more than sufficient. The quality of the food is excellent and the combinations of seasoning, etc. makes for an excellent meal.

    On the down side, the prep time is WAY off and I have been cooking for 36 years. My children also use Blue Apron and have said the same thing. It is not fast, especially after a long day. The good thing is you know you will have all the ingredients. You have very limited menu choice and so it does not meet up with preferences or allergies to well. I do think the packaging is not clearly marked as how to recycle. You have to go on the website to get the information. Contacting them is also not very easy. I had a hard time cancelling my membership and received unwanted boxes.

    All in all, I may use Blue Apron again, but I am now using Hungry Root and like their system better.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible Company

    • By Paul Nelson,
    • Portland, Oregon,
    • Feb 19, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We have asked them to stop sending us food, over and over again. And I've asked to remove our credit card information out of their system, over and over again, and they still keep charging us. Blue Apron is a terrible company, I would stay clear of it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Cancel. I received this as a GIFT and I would not use.

    • By James W Carson,
    • Vancouver, WA,
    • Jan 3, 2016
    Overall Experience:

    I do not want Blue Apron to send anything to me. I received this as a gift from my Daughter. They are not available on the weekend to cancel via phone. I sent a message on their website to cancel immediately.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not use Blue Apron

    • By Christina Modica,
    • Jan 1, 2016
    Overall Experience:

    I have used Blue Apron for a while now. Not only do they constantly leave ingredients out, but this week they didn't send the entire box! I emailed them twice and left a voicemail. No surprise that nobody got back to me. Use them only if you want them to steal your money. Thieves.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Great ingredients, great meals

    • By Paprika Pink,
    • Sacramento, CA,
    • Oct 25, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I got this for my 17 year old daughter who has decided to be vegetarian though no one else in our family is. I won't cook her separate meals, but I do want her to eat! Blue Apron is a very good solution for us. High quality ingredients, clear and detailed instructions, delicious results. She's eating well & learning a lot.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • What a joke. Don't waste your time.

    • By Jay,
    • Tampa, FL,
    • Oct 6, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    The portion sizes are a joke, what they sent might feed one person and they would leave hungry at that. Save your efforts.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Very disappointing

    • By Cecilia,
    • San Jose, CA,
    • Aug 26, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I heard about Blue Apron on the radio on NPR, the Marketplace program where the CEO I believe was interviewed around July or August 2015. SO, I thought I'd try something new to change up our dinners a little bit.

    I placed my first order and the it was supposed to arrive on 8/15, Saturday, before 8pm. By the way, I did check to make sure they deliver in our area and they did according to the website. On 8/14, I was even e-mailed the Fedex tracking number. I was thinking that would be our dinner for that coming Saturday night. Well, 8/15 came and went and no delivery. I checked the tracking and all it showed was "label created." Sunday came and went as well, and still no delivery. On 8/17 I e-mailed the contact e-mail from the website and said that if and when the food arrives, I will not accept the delivery or will return to them since the package would have been in transit with the raw ingredients (assuming they shipped) for 5 days at that point. I will not cook nor eat spoiled raw ingredients. I canceled my account and requested a refund. No response whatsoever, not on e-mail or call. And still no food delivery. Today, 8/20, I left a message on their voicemail. We'll see if somebody responds.

    What a very disappointing experience! I will never try this service again not will recommend them to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    • By Person A,
    • Aug 25, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I would have to say they are a scam in my experience.

    I got a free trial through a coworker, got my 1st delivery, went to cancel in my account settings and there is no option to do this within your account. You have to email them, by the time they actually cancelled my account I still got charged for the next order and got a notification that my order was on it's way. Even though I cancelled they still charged me $60 and are sending me more food that I did not want or order. My recommendation is do not be tempted by any "Free Trial" anyone offers you unless you want to be suckered into losing out $60 even when you cancel your account.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Great food, portions a bit small.

    • By Paul S,
    • Jul 22, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Everything arrives fresh and in good condition. The proteins are high quality. The recipes are usually tasty, and always interesting. I have learned a lot of cooking tips just from the few months I have been using the service. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that I think the protein portions are too small. (And I am only a 160lb guy.) I always make a salad to go with the meals so I don't still feel hungry afterward. I also wish you could choose your menu like you can with Plated.com. However, having tried Plated, we have come back to Blue Apron because Plated was more like just an entree, whereas Blue Apron usually has some "side" item to go with the protein. As soon as Blue Apron offers "Hungry-Man" portions, they will be five-star for me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Amazing

    • By Rhya ,
    • California,
    • May 26, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I love Blue Apron. The way the subscription is set up is that you can cancel any week that you don't want or just aren't interested in the food. They even send you three weeks worth of meals to send to friends, which can be a blessing or a curse depending because the free week requires them to sign up and entering their payment info so that it can auto debit in case they decide to keep it. But on a positive note, it's also really easy to cancel. Customer service is always really timely and available to help.

    The quality of the food is great and the techniques are the type that you can use when cooking non BA dishes as well. Your food WILL look exactly like the food in the picture and you will feel like you are eating at an amazingly yummy restaurant. The portion size it actually perfect. My husband needs more food to be full but amazingly he's quite satisfied after each meal. Overall, really great buy with no complaints..

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 12-22 of 24

Write a Review for Blue Apron!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Blue Apron: Is It Worth It?