About Bombfell

Don’t have the time (or inclination) to shop until you drop? Bombfell is a subscription-based fashion service that aims to help men look their best without breaking the bank.

Short for “bomb fellow” (think “bombshell” meets “fellow”), Bombfell is the brainchild of co-founders Jason Kim and Bernie Yoo. The two long-term friends met as college roommates while attending Harvard where, according to one article, they built their respective wardrobes on “a shaky foundation of free t-shirts handed out by dot-com companies.”

After graduating, Jason and Bernie found that they lacked the time and know-how to dress well—often asking girlfriends to pick out clothes for them, instead. The inspiration for Bombfell came after “realizing that you could only ask someone to shop for you so many times.”

Drawing from Jason’s professional experience as a lead engineer and Bernie’s in business development, the two entrepreneurs used technology to enhance what a professional stylist could offer, and claim that the combination offers an ease-of-use and personalization that few others can match. How does it work?

How to Use Bombfell to Build Your Wardrobe

When you sign up for Bombfell, the website guides you through a short questionnaire in which you provide the following:

  • Indicate what best describes your situation, from looking for advice, stepping up your look, too busy to shop, or helping out your partner.
  • Your height, weight, and body shape.
  • What size clothing you currently wear.
  • How you like your clothes to fit. Choose between trim and relaxed.
  • Choose from six swatches to select the closest match to your skin tone.
  • Select one or more styles that represent your preferred look. Choose from casual, classic, preppy, or modern.
  • Select items or colors you’d never wear, including plaid, pink, red, stripes, skinny jeans, and graphic t-shirts.
  • Choose one or more brands that you currently wear.

After providing Bombfell with selections that best represent your size and personal style preferences, the next survey section allows you to choose your budget for each item with sliding scales.

Bombfell’s sliding scales

Note that the price ranges shown represent the least amount that Bombfell members can allot to each category of clothing. If the proposed price range is too high for any given category, you can also slide the scale to “No Thanks.”

Last up, you’re allowed to pick up to three items from the following categories to be included in your first Bombfell shipment:

Bombfell’s first shipment selection

What happens next? Bombfell’s software analyzes the information you just provided to make recommendations from a carefully curated selection of well-known and up-and-coming designers based on your fit and style preferences. Next, one of Bombfell’s personal stylists decides which items make the final cut.

Bombfell sends members a preview email, showing what’s been selected before shipment. A box of clothes is then delivered to your door. After trying the items on in the comfort of your own home, you’re allowed ten days to give your Bombfell picks a thumbs up or thumbs down. Any items that aren’t keepers can be returned in a prepaid envelope at no charge.

The company claims that their combination of technology and personalized service offers the best of both worlds: a personal shopper’s expertise and a customizable budget. Additionally, Bombfell claims that selections get better over time, as members are encouraged to send feedback through their account about what worked and what didn’t.

How Much Does a Bombfell Membership Cost?

Bombfell doesn’t charge a subscription fee, stylist fees, or shipping – members only pay for the items of clothing that they keep. According to their FAQ section, there is a fair amount of variation in how much each item costs. The average price point for one item of clothing is $89.

Bombshell’s average pricing per item example

Note that the price you pay is per item, not for a complete ensemble. Though, members are allowed to place a cap on how much they’re willing to spend on particular items of clothing, as shown in the previous section.

Bombshell’s average pricing per item example

Want a clearer understanding of how much entire Bombfell ensembles cost? You can see more examples of selected outfits in their Pricing section.

Unless otherwise specified, Bombfell members will receive shipments once a month. If that’s too often, members can change the frequency to once every two or three months in their Account Preferences or re-schedule the next shipment in the “Up Next” tab of your account dashboard. Members can also pause or cancel their account at any time.

What Range of Sizes Does Bombfell Offer?

According to the FAQ section, Bombfell has ample selections in average sizes, but only a limited selection of Big & Tall: “For bottoms, we carry a few styles in waist size from 38" to 46", and up to a 36" inseam in select waist sizes. For tops, we carry XLB to 4XB in Big sizing and for tall sizing XLT to 3XT.”

Bombfell encourages prospective members to contact their customer service at support@bombfell.com if you’re still left with questions about whether they can accommodate your size, fit, or style.

What If I Don’t Like My Bombfell Selections?

Returning unwanted items is also free—just be sure to do so within your 10-day “try on” period. The clock doesn’t start ticking until your shipment is delivered. Note that Bombfell only accepts unused, unwashed, and undamaged returns with the tags still intact.

What if you’re late? Bombfell members who exceed the 10-day period will be charged the full amount of the order. Between 11-29 days after receipt, refunds and credits are handled individually. Post 30-days, only store credit is available – minus a $10 restocking fee.

Also, due to hygiene reasons, underwear and grooming products cannot be returned. Socks can be returned, but must be in their original unopened packaging.

Remember that preview email we mentioned? To help negate the chances of getting a shipment you don’t enjoy, members can request new selections or choose to skip the month within 48 hours of the email being sent.

If you keep receiving items that don’t suit your style, Bombfell does allow members to switch up their personal stylist—just email the service department at support@bombfell.com.

Bombfell Reviews: What Customers Are Saying About Their Selections

Like many startups, Bombfell saves on their marketing budget by offering bloggers commission from affiliate links placed in their review. Meaning that, if a reader were to click through to Bombfell after reading a post, the blogger gets paid either a flat rate or percentage of your purchase. (Note that the presence of affiliate links should always be mentioned in a disclaimer.)

While affiliate links don’t always (and shouldn’t ever) affect the review, there’s still a chance that the blogger could be less than objective. To ensure objectivity, we headed to Reddit’s Male Fashion Advice (MFA) forum to find what members had to say about their Bombfell subscriptions.

Related: Trunk Club Review

Commenters comparing the service to similar fashion subscription companies targeting male shoppers, such as Trunk Club and 54 Club, described Bombfell as offering better prices.

“I've been with them for 4 months now and I love 'em!” –immasheep

“I’ve been using bombfell for a few months and I really like it. It costs me literally nothing unless there's something I like. I've kept a lot of stuff though. It's all pretty good quality stuff that I’m willing you pay for. It also has a third party picking it out that gets me to branch out. And for what it's worth, I get tons of compliments on the stuff they send.” –geoffersonspin

It’s worth noting that Reddit’s MFA community focuses on learning how to look fashionable yourself. However, the most common complaints were that Bombfell’s selections weren’t to users tastes.

“I tried Bombfell for almost a full year. I returned just about everything, kept a pair of shorts I believe. Overall wasn’t too impressed and I’d rather just do my own shopping.” –habisch

One Redditor also commented that his shipments became repetitive. Although, no statement was made as to whether or not he contacted Bombfell’s customer service about the problem before canceling.

Bombfell vs Trunk Club vs Five Four: How Do These Subscription Services Compare?

As few customers mentioned in their reviews above, Bombfell isn’t the only clothing subscription service that caters to men. How does it stack up against two similar services, Trunk Club and Five Four?

A Quick Look at Trunk Club

Trunk Club delivers a similar model of subscription service, but with a twist. Trunk Club members can take advantage of in-person styling services at its clubhouses in several cities, including Chicago, D.C., Dallas, New York, and Los Angeles. This gives members the chance to chat with a stylist and try on clothes—as well as access to a full bar to fuel your shopping experience.

While some might find Trunk Club’s in-person perks appealing, stopping in to see a personal stylist starts to blur the line between a subscription service and regular ol’ shopping—potentially making Trunk Club a less appealing option for men who’d rather have dapper selections delivered directly to their door.

There’s also Trunk Club’s high prices. Granted, what you’re willing to pay for personalized shopping is likely different from the next guy, so “expensive” is subjective. However, Trunk Club’s clothing picks don’t shy away from items that cost a pretty penny. For example, their averages are:

  • $170–$250 for denim
  • $100–$200 for casual shirts
  • $100–$300 for sweaters

Those prices are a far cry from Bombfell’s average of $89 per item. Additionally, a number of Trunk Club customers has stated that the clothing they received wasn’t representative of those high prices and that they quickly showed wear and tear.

Learn more: Trunk Club Reviews

A Quick Look at Five Four

Another men’s fashion subscription service, Five Four costs a flat $60 each month. Each month you will receive a package of apparel valued up to double its monthly fee, which is selected for you based on your style profile.

Because of its low price and ample items delivered, one blogger hailed it as the best value for men interested in curated clothing picks delivered to their door. In addition to monthly shipments, Five Four members can purchase additional outfits from the website at a 25% discount.

The potential drawback? Unlike Bombfell or Trunk Club, Five Four only sells its own brand of clothing. This allows them to offer clothing at a reduced cost but also limits subscribers style options to a single brand.

Is Bombfell a Good Fit to Amp Up Your Fashion?

While Bombfell members won’t benefit from the kind of clothing sales you can find at a standard retailer, the company does appear to offer items without a significant markup. (A co-founder commented on Reddit that clothes are purchased at wholesale cost, and that they consciously try to keep items competitively priced when deciding retail value.)

While items aren’t conspicuously over-priced, Bombfell is likely only appealing to male shoppers who don’t make a priority of hunting for bargains. Instead, the service will likely work best for men who are interested in dressing well, and are willing to pay for the convenience.

After completing Bombfell’s survey, we were left with one concern: While the questionnaire takes build and skin tone into consideration, there’s no opportunity to upload a picture or share other information that could influence which patterns and colors are selected, including eye or hair color. This makes the service feel slightly less custom than working with a personal shopper. If bringing out your baby blues is a top priority, you may be interested in contracting the services of a professional stylist instead.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 158 Bombfell Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 130 4 star: 12 3 star: 1 2 star: 3 1 star:  12
Bottom Line: 90% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 158
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 7 people found this review helpful

    My closet is now stuffed from these guys

    Bombfell has been a godsend. I love these guys. I’ve been using the service for 2.5(ish) years now and have been very happy with the service. I’ve always been treated more than fairly by Bombfell if I need to ask for an extension on the try-on period or return something late. They’ve never had a problem with it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Great company

    • Boston, MA,
    • Apr 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have ordered many times from Bombfell and have been extremely satisfied every time. Great customer service, fair prices, and very easy to order. The clothing is high-end and comfortable. The service makes it easy to get cool clothing without having to go into a store and style yourself.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 25, 2018

      Company Response from bombfell, Inc

      Hi Jar,

      Thank you for the kind words, we're definitely happy to have you with us!

      Best, Team Bombfell


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Does the job I need

    • Cambridge, MA,
    • May 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have this, and I love it. Excellent clothes, the price is reasonable, and it's delivered and saves me time. The only problem I had was I ordered my size, and it came marked my size but was like a size smaller. So I returned it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 1, 2018

      Company Response from bombfell, Inc

      Hi Andrew,

      We're so glad that you love Bombfell!

      Thanks for the feedback on the items you received--your stylist will use this to find clothes with a better fit next time. If you have any further feedback you'd like to share, let us know at support@bombfell.com and we can incorporate this into your future orders!

      Best, Team Bombfell


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Awesome stuff, and you can send it back if you don't like it.

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Aug 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is the only way I buy clothes anymore. You can customize which items you want in your order and the price point - like for example, I want two t-shirts, one cheap and one expensive, plus a mid-priced pair of slacks, and some cheap socks. You can select a few options for the occasion too: office, date night, or "updating the basics."

    A little expensive, but I'd rather pay for quality on the few items I need every once in a while. I still have my favorite pair of grey Penguin slacks from about 3 years ago - hardy and fashionable!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 7, 2018

      Company Response from bombfell, Inc

      Hi David,

      Thanks so much for the incredible review, we're so glad that you love our service so much and have been with us for so long! We definitely hope to continue to bring you great styles that work for your needs.

      Best,

      Team Bombfell


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Yes kind of pricey, but worth it

    • New York, NY,
    • Sep 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I don't know what the negative reviews are talking about, you can choose your preferred price range. And Bombfell gets you discounts. I got a really nice $100 dress shirt for $70-80.

    The deal is, YOU can choose what you want to keep, and anything else gets returned free with their shipping label. You're right, these are not Walmart prices. The way I look at is, first I know what I choose is already considered something that's in good taste and popular since their shoppers pick it out (means I'm not choosing a dud that anyone would snicker at), and second, it saves me the hassle and time of me going to several different stores - which is time and money.

    So yeah, it's kind of pricey - no midnight sales prices - but they're popular brands, and again for me, I feel more confident in clothes that my stylist WILL picks out than I would have picked out myself. And yeah, I've gotten some nice compliments.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Canceled subscription, but not because of customer service.

    • California,
    • Sep 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Unfortunately, I had to cancel my subscription. They just didn't have enough stock of items in my size. When I asked Jane about this, she was quick to offer other accommodations. Although none of them worked, it was impressive how quickly and helpful she was in trying to make me happy. As a customer, I truly appreciate this and would recommend to anyone to try this service out.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 14, 2018

      Company Response from bombfell, Inc

      Hi Tom,

      Thank you so much for your review! While I'm sorry that we weren't able to provide items in your size, I'm glad that you left with an overall positive impression of our customer service. We truly do try our best to find the best solution possible for every client.

      Thanks again and please let us know if you ever have any further questions or concerns!

      Best,

      Team Bombfell


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Good value if you're busy

    • San Antonio, TX,
    • Sep 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I don't have time to go and look, try on, and purchase clothes in the store. If you like Von Maur, Nordstroms etc., then this is the service. Having my stylist Camille send me options is the greatest. I probably spend $250 a box and keep four items all the time to get the 20% off.

    Bombfell isn't that expensive when you calculate the money and time spent going to buy clothes at a brick and mortar store. If you keep four items, you get 20% off the entire order. Clothes are all quality, and the service has been excellent.

    If you do not have time to keep your wardrobe updated, then give it a look.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 24, 2018

      Company Response from bombfell, Inc

      Hi Mike,

      Thanks for the shining review of your Bombfell experience! We're so glad that Camille has been able to hone in on your style and send you pieces that you love. We're excited to have you with us. Definitely let us know if you ever need anything! We're always available at support@bombfell.com.

      Best,

      Team Bombfell


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Megan in Customer Service

    • Massachusetts,
    • Sep 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My question was answered in a timely fashion. My question was also answered in a courteous professional and friendly manner. I made it very clear in my email that my problem was not really with the service as such. My problem was with some sort of miscalculation regarding the frequency of deliveries. Megan was able to handle these issues in a way that made me feel like she understood where I was coming from, and Meghan was able to handle these issues in a way that settled everything to my satisfaction.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 8, 2018

      Company Response from bombfell, Inc

      Hi Joseph,

      Thanks for your review! We're definitely glad Megan was able to get back to you in a timely manner and take care of your order frequency concern. We're always happy to help!

      If you ever need anything else, definitely reach out to us and we can make things right. We'll be in touch with you at the end of the month with the new order!

      Best,

      Team Bombfell


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great customer service

    • Georgia,
    • Oct 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was wondering where my order was, so I emailed asking for the status of the order. Megan responded to me and explained exactly what I was looking for. She was very professional and made me assured that my order would be coming soon. Thanks, Megan!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 8, 2018

      Company Response from bombfell, Inc

      Hi Fred,

      Thanks for sharing your Bombfell experience! We're so glad that the assistance you received from our client services department was very professional and helpful. Please let us know if you have any questions about anything. We hope you enjoy the coming order!

      Thanks,

      Team Bombfell


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great company

    • Illinois,
    • Oct 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Bombfell is awesome. I have been a member since March 2018. Great personal styling - I keep more items than I return. The 7-day trial period and order preview are hugely beneficial. I had one issue regarding payment, which Xavier resolved immediately! I have NO plans on canceling this service!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 8, 2018

      Company Response from bombfell, Inc

      Hi Robert,

      Thanks for your review. We're so glad to hear how long you've been with us, 7 months and counting! We love it. If you ever have any other questions or concerns, we're always happy to help like we were able to with the billing issue! Thanks for being with our service.

      Best,

      Team Bombfell


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Lifesaver

    • Oct 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Megan was kind enough to extend my return period, given that I was out of town and would not be able to return the item before my tryout period ended. I didn't have to ask more than once, which is always appreciated.

    Thanks, Megan!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 8, 2018

      Company Response from bombfell, Inc

      Hi Rudy,

      We're so glad that your concern was able to be resolved! If you're ever out of town again, definitely let us know and we can extend the try-on period for you again.

      Best,

      Team Bombfell


Showing 1-11 of 158

Write a Review for Bombfell!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review