Bowflex MAX Trainer

Bowflex MAX Trainer

Overall Rating

3.4

44 Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Summary

The Bowflex Max Trainer fitness equipment series will give you a full-body cardio workout quickly. However, it may be too intense for beginners, so pace yourself accordingly.

Pros

  • Workouts incorporate arms and legs for more efficient cardio exercise
  • You can decide whether to purchase a model with a built-in screen or use your own tablet
  • Numerous built-in workout programs
  • Integrated JRNY app gives more options for customized workouts

Cons

  • Machines may be considered expensive for performing one form of exercise
  • JRNY app is available only as a subscription
  • Some customer complaints that the machine broke quickly

Customer Reviews

3.4 Stars out of 44 Reviews
5 Star:50% 4 Star:6% 3 Star:4% 2 Star:9% 1 Star:29%
59% Recommend This Product
Start your review of Bowflex MAX Trainer:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Jul 22, 2018

Crap

By Mary N., South Carolina, Verified Reviewer

Buyer beware. I got my MAX Trainer on 6/7/18, it broke on 6/12/18 and has been broken ever since. Two technicians have been out and were unable to fix it. Right now Bowflex is parting me to death when they should just change out the tower. Now I have the third new part but have to wait three weeks for a technician to come out to fix it. Run, don't walk from this company.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 22, 2018

Do bot buy, cheaply made product. Flimsy. RUN!

By Mac Mac, Washington DC, Verified Reviewer

As far as training goes, it does everything it says it does. However, we have had problems with our machine. Noisy and grinding sounds that cannot be fixed. We called Bowflex and paid $140 to have someone come out and assess, and well, that person was useless; was not able to fix the problem and said we needed a new part that would cost about $600 to repair. We are literally two months out of warranty. The machine needs to be junked, which means I have to pay to have it taken away. Customer service is terrible, they just read off of a script, when you call and the moment it gets difficult for them, they defer you to a third party for resolution. Cheaply made product, RUN!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 22 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 28, 2017

If you're gonna have one machine, this is it!

By Nana Korgana, New York City, NY, Verified Reviewer

I am at Level 4-5 for 14 minutes! I love the machine and the energy it gives me after a workout. It doesn't take a lot of space, so it's perfect for someone who has an apartment.

I own M7 and yes it isn't cheap, but the quality is superb and worth it! I'm 36, and my mom is 63, and we both use it. She has slowly increased her resistance and time as well and is loving it. She started from 2-3 minutes at Level 1, having no prior experience with any kind of exercise equipment. Now she is at 10 minutes at Level 3. Her strength and overall fitness are improving noticeably.

I can't say enough good things about this machine. It is especially good if you don't have a lot of time to spend on your cardio. I have two small children, but I can always find 15 minutes to get this done.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 15 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 29, 2017

From an elliptical to a M3 Trainer

By Jim Trotter Sr., Philadelphia, PA, Verified Reviewer

I'm 75 years young. I had an elliptical for the past eight years and I could work out on it for an hour or more. I wanted a change, so I purchased the Bowflex M3 Trainer.

I had it now for a month. I couldn't get past five minutes the first week. Wow. But after two weeks I now run through the Max twice a day, at the max setting of 14 minutes, and I really like it. I did get a squeaking sound after the second week, but I used my vacuum to blow it out and little bits of form came out of it was from the packing in the box. The squeaking is gone.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 19 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 25, 2017

Injurious Machine and Abusively Disrespectful Customer Service

By Jonathan, Torrance, CA, Verified Reviewer

Max Trainer M7: I Initially loved the M7 and was fit enough to immediately enjoy its 14 minute interval workout, along with increasing the resistance to level 6 within a month. However, I also developed problems with the balls of my feet as a result, due to the way the machine forces the user to put unnatural pressure onto this area of the foot. I do wear orthodics, but have never had an issue like this since I started wearing them over 10 years ago, unless I was, e.g., crouching down on the balls of my feet for an extended period to do something. I even purchased a new prescription pair of orthotics, with more cushioning for $375, just to make sure my older pair wasn't the issue. No help!

My Girlfriend started having knee & similar foot problems too, so it was definitely the machine. I never had problems on the Precor EFX 546 machine I owned previously, regardless of the incline, nor cycling or power walking. However, after using the M7 for a month, I even had pain in the arches of my feet while cycling. Very weird, so everyone should beware how it may affect you over time, especially with increased resistance.

Customer Service: As they say, you never really know someone until you break up with them. Clearly, Bowflex has no real respect for its customers, based on how they handle returns. Because of the issues described below, they literally tried to insist I had to leave the FedEx Office I was calling from, and transport the two (2) 100 lb. return boxes back home and up the stairs into my apt., then bring them back the next day. Why? Well, first, prior to purchase, they grossly underestimated return shipping at approx. $200, if I decided to return the item. (Note, this wouldn't even be an issue if they provided return shipping labels like many other large & small retailers alike.) From Los Angeles to Ohio, UPS wanted $463. Bowflex's carrier FedEx wanted $311. Since these prices were much greater than I was first told, I called Bowflex and asked if I could use their FedEx account to utilize their discounts, so as to match the $200 estimate they originally gave. They said that was impossible. After much insistence, they agreed to send me shipping labels for $199, but said it could take 24 hours to receive. They cared not that I was already at FedEx with the two 100 lb. boxes and stated repeatedly it was impossible to provide them any sooner. Undeterred from experience, I remained firm, telling them they'd better get an executive on the line with FedEx to facilitate it, if necessary, or they'd have a huge problem on their hands. I received the labels within 15 min. Amazing what "impossibilities" a merchant can really do when a customer insists on not being abused.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 37 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 7, 2017

Bowflex MAX Trainer M3 (No Backlit Display)

By Anthony Grasso, Salem, NH, Verified Reviewer

I just recently purchased the M3 and like it very much. I am still getting used to the control settings. My only complaint is why Bowflex did not make the display backlit just like the M5 model. I found it very hard to see, especially without my reading glasses. The only way I can really make out the display is by shining a LED flashlight at it.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 27, 2017

Aftermarket improvement

By Reece McAllister, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

The pedal rollers are a critical flaw in the machine, and I have found some fantastic aftermarket versions which improve the user experience and have no squeaking!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 22, 2017

Great machine

By Robert, Concord, CA, Verified Reviewer

I am a retired Physical Education teacher, and I am familiar with many kinds of exercise equipment and have owned treadmills, ski machines, and Exerbikes. The Bowflex Max Trainer is the best exercise device I have ever used. It's very sturdy and is a lot of fun to use, and you can get it all done in 14 minutes. It's a dream machine if you are concerned with fitness.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 15 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 27, 2017

Love it!

By Lindz, New York, Verified Reviewer

I have had my Bowflex MAX Trainer for two weeks now, and at first, I thought I made a huge mistake buying this because I could barely move the peddles! I'm pretty out of shape and a little overweight. But I'm up to 30 minutes now and have successfully nailed the 14-minute max interval.

It has started squeaking a tad, but I'm not concerned. Shipping was really fast. We received it in a week and with the promotion running got free shipping. I can't wait to see my 30-day results!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 24, 2017

Excellent product so far!

By Gerry51, Florida, Verified Reviewer

I ordered the M5 on November 29th, 2016, and it arrived on December 10th.

The assembly was straightforward and took about 90 minutes with my daughter helping me. It does help to have an assistant as the first few steps are assembling heavy parts. Don't waste your money paying for assembly.

The machine is smooth but was difficult at first. I started at Level 1 for 14 minutes without a program or intervals just to get used to the machine. Level 1 for 14 minutes wore me out. After a month, I am now using the Max program on Level 3, but struggle to get to the recommended burn rate. This machine is great at pushing you to move to higher and higher levels. It is definitely a workout, and I have lots of levels to go.

I like the flexibility of using it whenever I want, and 14 minutes for an intense workout can be worked in somewhere in my day pretty much every day. I am encouraged that I am able to increase my intensity level at the beginning of each week.

The machine is sturdy and well-built, and as long as it holds together, I look forward to many more intense workouts. I highly recommend it if you are short on time and want a great workout.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 15 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 7, 2017

Bowflex MAX 3

By Tyler N., Virginia, Verified Reviewer

We got the Max 3 on December 21, 2016. The Wife and I put it together, and the manual was a great help, and easy to understand.

I am a full-time scuba diver and work my legs hard under water, and I don't drink or smoke ever, and after just five minutes on the Max 3 my legs were on fire. Wow.

The RPMS the calorie counting for me is cool. This Max 3 is 100% worth every dollar, thanks Bowflex. Order under Candy Newman, VA.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted
Showing 12-22 of 44

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.