Read 39 Bowflex MAX Trainer Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 3.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 22 4 star: 3 3 star: 2 2 star: 2 1 star:  10
Bottom Line: 67% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 39
Sort reviews by:

  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Bowflex MAX Trainer M3 (No Backlit Display)

    I just recently purchased the M3 and like it very much. I am still getting used to the control settings. My only complaint is why Bowflex did not make the display backlit just like the M5 model. I found it very hard to see, especially without my reading glasses. The only way I can really make out the display is by shining a LED flashlight at it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Aftermarket improvement

    The pedal rollers are a critical flaw in the machine, and I have found some fantastic aftermarket versions which improve the user experience and have no squeaking!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Great machine

    • Concord, CA,
    • Feb 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a retired Physical Education teacher, and I am familiar with many kinds of exercise equipment and have owned treadmills, ski machines, and Exerbikes. The Bowflex Max Trainer is the best exercise device I have ever used. It's very sturdy and is a lot of fun to use, and you can get it all done in 14 minutes. It's a dream machine if you are concerned with fitness.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Love it!

    • New York,
    • Jan 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had my Bowflex MAX Trainer for two weeks now, and at first, I thought I made a huge mistake buying this because I could barely move the peddles! I'm pretty out of shape and a little overweight. But I'm up to 30 minutes now and have successfully nailed the 14-minute max interval.

    It has started squeaking a tad, but I'm not concerned. Shipping was really fast. We received it in a week and with the promotion running got free shipping. I can't wait to see my 30-day results!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Excellent product so far!

    • Florida,
    • Jan 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the M5 on November 29th, 2016, and it arrived on December 10th.

    The assembly was straightforward and took about 90 minutes with my daughter helping me. It does help to have an assistant as the first few steps are assembling heavy parts. Don't waste your money paying for assembly.

    The machine is smooth but was difficult at first. I started at Level 1 for 14 minutes without a program or intervals just to get used to the machine. Level 1 for 14 minutes wore me out. After a month, I am now using the Max program on Level 3, but struggle to get to the recommended burn rate. This machine is great at pushing you to move to higher and higher levels. It is definitely a workout, and I have lots of levels to go.

    I like the flexibility of using it whenever I want, and 14 minutes for an intense workout can be worked in somewhere in my day pretty much every day. I am encouraged that I am able to increase my intensity level at the beginning of each week.

    The machine is sturdy and well-built, and as long as it holds together, I look forward to many more intense workouts. I highly recommend it if you are short on time and want a great workout.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Bowflex MAX 3

    • Virginia,
    • Jan 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    We got the Max 3 on December 21, 2016. The Wife and I put it together, and the manual was a great help, and easy to understand.

    I am a full-time scuba diver and work my legs hard under water, and I don't drink or smoke ever, and after just five minutes on the Max 3 my legs were on fire. Wow.

    The RPMS the calorie counting for me is cool. This Max 3 is 100% worth every dollar, thanks Bowflex. Order under Candy Newman, VA.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 38 out 43 people found this review helpful

    Started out great and took a nosedive!

    • Greenwood, SC,
    • Nov 24, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased the Bowflex Max Trainer M3 model just over a year ago and was happy with the cardio and the overall workout that I got from this machine.

    I hurt my knee in an unrelated experience and couldn't use it for a while. Got back to the machine a few months ago and have had nothing but issues with it since. Loud screeching from the right side (when standing on the machine), a thud on the left side when the left foot pedal hits the bottom of the cycle.

    A call into Customer Service and two hours later, we'd taken the unit apart only to find that I needed a gear puller. They ordered (at BowFlex's expense) for me.

    This arrived a week or so later. We'd determined that there were bolts that were loose and needed to be tightened. So I tear down the machine to get to the gear. I get the bolts tightened and reassemble. Problem solved, or so I thought.

    After a few hours of use, the problem returned so I tear it down again and tighten further but make sure that all is tight this time. I reassembled and used the machine for a few more hours until the machine sounds like it's going to fly apart.

    This time it was my bad, bolt on the arm was not tightened enough last time. So far I have used it for two hours since this occurrence and it still shakes and squeaks when in use.

    I think the premise for this machine is good but I've found too many similar issues from users all over North America. Sounds like a poor part design and/or poor assembly. It's disappointing as I've had my BowFlex PowerPro for over a decade with limited issues.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 20 people found this review helpful

    It's working for me.

    • Wellington, FL,
    • Oct 28, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    We purchased the Max M7, so far it's working for me. My Cardio endurance is way up from where it was. My weight is coming down, 235 to 223 over about 5 weeks and I feel a whole lot better.

    Beyond using this machine, and just watching what I eat using MyFitnessPal on my iPhone, it's working for me.

    Setup was straightforward, the hardest part was getting the boxes upstairs. Also, it's not the cheapest at $2100, but you can spread that out over a couple years if you want to, interest free.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 9, 2018

      Harold Brown

      I have plenty of time to work out!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 30 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Wow! Not sure how else to put it.

    • Womelsdorf, PA,
    • Sep 12, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Before purchasing, I was going to the Y with my wife. We didn't want to buy any expensive equipment unless we were ready.

    After working out for about 6 months doing 30 minutes on their elliptical, summer was coming and that meant more work and less time for us so we purchased the M5 and quit the gym. They claimed this machine would do the same work out in 15 minutes that we could do in 30 minutes on other machines.

    It only took about one week to receive it and I put it together myself. If you read the directions it's like putting together a piece of furniture. Not difficult but I am mechanically inclined so it may have been easier for me.

    The first time on my wife could not push the peddles to go. She is little and is used to the machines that are very loose shall I say. I got on and figured out after pressing the program you want, you have to put your wait on one side to get it to go. After that it is easy. However, the program is not. Your feet move differently than other ellipticals, not harder or easier, just different than the ones at the Y. I did the 15 minute weight loss and when I am done, I have never been worked so hard. It beats the 30 minutes I was doing hands down. I really love it!

    I will say also I think it provides just as much strength as weight loss. I have never felt this strong before. The price is up there and that is the bad part but if you think you will use it regularly than it is worth it. It is without a doubt the most durable machine I have ever had.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    • Alberta,
    • Aug 17, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I purchased the M7 model almost two weeks ago. We have been using it every day, however since we are so out of shape we are starting out slow and only doing a 7 minute session and add time as we feel fit. Just using the 7 minute session we have lost weight, but we have changed our diet as well. You cannot lose weight by exercise alone. I am hoping to move up to the 14 minute session within three weeks, if not four. I use the app and love the fact that it shows my progress daily. My Calories Burned increases daily and that pumps me up. Seeing my improvement makes me want to do more and more each time.

    The assembly of this unit is very easy. I currently came off a surgery for a broken collar bone (still had the staples in) and built it by myself in an hour and a half. The instructions are very well laid out. The nuts, bolts and washers are well labeled in the packaging.

    I would highly recommend this product to anyone. But remember if you do not change your diet it will be hard to lose the weight.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 40 out 41 people found this review helpful

    It works!

    • New Mexico,
    • Aug 7, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'll make this short. I'm overweight. I started at 231 pounds, I'm 5'3" and a 38 year old female. I'm an off and on workout junkie but I always give up because I have no time to spend in exercise that I need. However, a friend bought this Bowflex Max Trainer and enticed me to join her. So I did. The first two weeks were hell. I was barely finishing 14 minutes.

    I sweated like I've never had before. I couldn't even stand straight on it. I'm on week 4 now, I have built up so much strength in my legs, so now my stairs at home are a cake walk. I use manual mode ranging between 8-10 for 20 minutes now. The only thing I do extra is a speed walk jog on treadmill at home for 30 minutes. The max speed on treadmill is 3.5. It's Alternating 3.0 and 3.5 with a six minute warm up and then a cool down.

    Here's the best part: in 2 weeks, my legs which had bulge are no longer swollen.

    At week 4, my legs have not looked this nice since my early 20s! My inner thighs are amazing no workout ever did what this did for my inner and back thighs.

    I'm hooked and I can not believe the results. Also, I had a large Fanny top, I could hold a cup there but now it's gone! Now my butt is rounding and table top is gone. I'm experiencing just amazing results on hips thighs and butt. This machine will be in my life from here on out. Hopefully someday I can afford my own.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 21, 2016

      Nellie Cottle

      I loved your review (written in August). How have you done since then?

      I just got a Max Trainer M5 yesterday and I've been on it twice. I like it so far, and I feel motivated to do it twice a day. I'm 41 years old, 5'4" and 145 lbs. I'm not heavy, but I want to lose about 20 pounds by summertime. Since it's almost Christmas, I will wait until January 1st to start the diet part. We put the Max Trainer in our den where we spend most of our time and watch TV, so it will be easy to do it! I'm excited to get stronger and hopefully look better too.

    • Jan 9, 2017

      Angela

      Awesome review!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 12-22 of 39

Write a Review for Bowflex MAX Trainer!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review