36 Consumer Reviews for Bowflex MAX Trainer - Page 3

Average Consumer Rating: 3.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 21 4 star: 3 3 star: 1 2 star: 2 1 star:  9
Bottom Line: 69% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 36
Sort reviews by:

  • 28 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Great product!

    • Paulding, Ohio,
    • Mar 5, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Couldn't be happier, fast shipping and really easy to assemble. I run but this thing really works you. I have finally made it up to 12 minutes but it's a struggle. Ill keep pressing, easy on the joints so you don't have to worry about pain. Make sure to check the bolts to make sure they don't come loose, maybe Bowflex should consider a small tube of Loctite. Other than that, I'm looking forward to getting in shape.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 27 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Wow, love it!

    • Oregon,
    • Feb 25, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm a 55 year old female not in peak form, and I have 20 lbs to lose. I've just had my Max5 for a week, and so far I love it.

    I received it five days after ordering (could not believe that), and I put it together BY MYSELF people, in under two hours! I'm a 5'4", 140lbs banker, and tools are in no way my forte, but it wasn't hard, or that heavy, and I just used a bit of female ingenuity to get the unit into the base. The thought of someone paying $250 to have it done is ludicrous.

    So far I love the flexibility of the programmed workouts, but have yet to figure out the best workout with the highest calorie burn. I don't seem to be burning 2.5X more than when I'm on my elliptical. I tend to track heart rate and calories burned via my Fitbit, and I'm hoping it's more accurate because it reads a higher calorie burn.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 48 out 55 people found this review helpful

    Makes a Horrible Grinding Noise

    We received our Max Trainer at the beginning of December. After we put it together, it made a horrible grinding noise, and the speedometer was not working. After 3 hours on the phone with technical support, they shipped out new parts and scheduled a service call in 2 weeks. On December 28th the repair guy came and said the frame was bent, and he would immediately order what was needed, and get our machine fixed ASAP. I've been calling to get an update, and nothing. I paid $1,700 for a machine, and have yet to be able to workout on it. Their after sale customer service is horrible.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 37 out 40 people found this review helpful

    Junk

    I originally purchased the Bowflex Max Trainer M5 5 in October 2014 had the Machine for a month and started having problems. The belt slipped off the internal drive and cut into the plastic cover. I called customer service and they sent a new belt. However, that was not the problem so they finally sent a tech out and he had no idea how to fix machine. After fighting with them for two months, they eventually sent out a new machine. The replacement took two months to arrive. I used the machine for another month and the control Panel stopped working. They sent a new one and it went bad a month later again. I figured out that my sweat was dripping in and out of the control panel.

    Well needless to say, after getting three replacements I now put a towel over it so that I don't sweat on it. Last week the internal nut fell completely off the machine and I began tightening it every workout. I called customer service to get a new part and they sent it two weeks later. Apparently I need some special tool to replace that part. Every bolt and screw on this machine starts to rust and strip out if you attempt to tighten it.

    If you are looking for a serious machine and not a place where you can just hang your cloths, I don't recommend the Bowflex Max Trainer. By the way, I have had a Nordictrack elliptical Audio Strider 900 machine for seven years and is a serious machine. They took very good care of any problems which were minimal and cost half of what the M5 does. You might want to look at that machine. I know I will be using mine because the M5 is always broken.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 13, 2016

      Hal,

      Wow, can't blame you for this review, but my experience (6 months thus far) is total opposite! The machine is fantastic, killer workout & especially for my old arthritic knees. The main muscle worked is the quads, but everything else gets hit a bit as well. My machine is working flawlessly so far. Hope it stays that way. And it takes up oh so little space, bet your elliptical is soaking way more square footage.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 29 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Best concept ever.

    I received my Max Trainer M5 about one week after I ordered it (12/3/2015 to be exact). But watch out for FedEx, they are delivering the machine with no signature required and if my neighbor hadn't called me at work, my machine would have sat in the rain and snow all day. FedEx dumped it in the worst spot possible.

    1. Assembly was pretty easy. My wife and I had it together in about an hour.

    2. Quality. This thing is pretty solid. I feared it was going to be fragile and flimsy (I was wrong). The steal is heavy duty (commercial strength). I weight almost 270 and it handled me fine.

    3. Workout. Though I lift weights almost every day, I haven't done cardio in about a year. My first workout was the first level Max interval. It was challenging, but I did it. The movement reminds me as if I'm riding my bike standing up? It's comfortable and easy on the knees (I have one bad knee).

    4. Problems. After about three uses, a bolt fell out of the inside of the unit (nothing I assembled). I opened it up and found three loose bolts on the wheel that turns the belt). Of course one of them completely fell out. So basically, the factory forgot to tighten these bolts during production. I could only access two of the bolts so I had to call customer service. They immediately knew what the problem was and are sending me the parts and a repair man from somewhere in my area to fix it. Customer service told me the belt wheel where the bolts were loose was plastic. For crying out loud Bowflex, you build this amazing machine and use a plastic belt wheel? Why would you do that? No, no!

    Use metal, always. In the meantime, I'm out of service but I like the machine so much that I'm willing to exercise my patience.

    5. Recommendations to Bowflex. 1. Use all metal parts if possible and think commercial at all times. Just charge accordingly. 2. The electronics screen could be elevated about 5 inches (it's a little low), the drink holder as well. 3. Add an on/off switch.

    Do those things and you'll have the best overall cardio machine ever made. Well, you do anyway but...

    6. Overall. The Max Trainer is definitely the best cardio machine I have ever used. The treadmill I was going to buy had a price tag of $3,400 so paying $1,600 for the M5 was significantly less. This is truly a great concept and it has exceeded my expectations. But use METAL not plastic!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 31 out 36 people found this review helpful

    Piece of junk

    • Texas,
    • Nov 13, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    It started off great then after a couple of months it started squeaking. I tightened loose screws and it worked again for about a week then got loose. I called customer service and they suggested we use tight lock to secure it. Did that and it continues to get loose. Six months later we are paying for a piece of junk that sounds like it's fixing to fall apart. What a rip off!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Satisfied customer

    • Pennsylvina,
    • Oct 6, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I received our Max 5 trainer over a week now. So far the only down side is where the bottle holder is located, it's hard to reach.

    Now for the good news, first if you can afford the M5 it's worth the extra money. Second this is by far the best workout on a cardio machine I've ever experienced.

    The 14 minute workout is definitely a challenge I was able to complete 2 and burned over 500 calories.

    I was skeptical at first but after considering for 2 months, my wife and I decided to go for it and I am so glad we did.

    Lastly my wife has challenges from arthritis and the impact is minimal.

    I am now a Bowflex family member.

    I purchased the 552 weights stand and looking to feel my home gym with more. Thanks Bowflex Max5.

    It's only been only a few days. I'll check in with you after 30 days to share our results.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 30, 2016

      Rhyan,

      Are you still happy with the M5?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Frustrated

    • San Luis Obispo, Ca,
    • Sep 23, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    We ordered our machine and received it in great time. We paid for the set up, however, the tech left town for a vacation and was unable to assemble the machine for us. I contacted Bowflex and they refunded my credit card. My wife and I assembled the machine last night, and I used it this morning. It was a great workout! More intense than I think a lot of people are expecting. However, my wife came home from work tonight and was excited for her first session. The squeaking was unbelievable. We have a big house. I thought an animal was scratching at the back door. We are hoping this will be resolved as it appears some customers have had the squeak just go away. Funny as when I ordered the machine, I asked the sales rep on the phone about the squeak complaints. She said the problem has been resolved and there was an issue at the plant with proper lubrication. I'm not a huge fan of B.S. or being fed a line to get my 1,500.00. Wish us luck.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 9, 2015

      Marianne

      Get a can of WD40 and you're on your way.

    • Nov 9, 2015

      Jim

      Yeah, it's been a bit and we use the heck out of the machine. The squeak goes away after time. If it picks up again, the WD40 will be applied.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 36 out 36 people found this review helpful

    This is a Great Machine

    • South Windsor, CT,
    • Aug 24, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am 63 years old, and am no more than a 'weekend warrior'. I work out maybe 1 to 2 times a week, but that's it.

    I looked into the Bowflex Max Trainer as an alternative to the gym, where I would have another avenue for exercise right at home, and as another avenue to keep the body weight down, as age slows my metabolism.

    I took a chance on this in terms of low impact, because I have a bad knee that actually hates the movement of the ARC trainers, and I don't have the room horizontally for a conventional Elliptical Trainer.

    I assembled it myself, with the internet research that indicated the application of "as tight as possible" is the best way to reduce/eliminate noise, and after 4 months of steady use, I can say that the machine is just as quiet today, as the day that I assembled it. I was worried about the possible noise factor, but it seems to operate exactly as advertised. I know that some people complain about squeaking, but my unit exhibits none of that.

    As far as the difficulty in completing the exercises, I agree that the machine isn't easy, but I am able to finish all of the exercises. You don't have to go at an all out sprint and burn yourself out, and by pacing yourself, if I can complete the 300 calorie target burn program at my age, you should be able to, too.

    I highly recommend this machine. Follow the assembly instructions as given, use, and enjoy!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 24 out 24 people found this review helpful

    I absolutely love this machine!

    • Monroe, LA,
    • Aug 6, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I own a TreadClimber and it's good. But wanted something more engaging and challenging and this is it. My husband is in great shape, motor lifting mechanic. I am not in great shape. Sad/Bad for a RN. It takes me a few breaks to get finished with 14-minute interval. And even his first couple of times he needed to take a break.

    Bottom line: there aren't any shipping delays. I ordered the Max Trainer on 7/19 and was delivered on Friday, July 24th. We put it together and it was not hard for us. And I believe if a person uses the machine in consistently and with some dietary changes, even if it's just for 14 minutes for three days each week, you will tone up and lose weight. I feel my abs, buttocks, thighs, arms. Wow. This thing is awesome. I have never been so excited to workout. Mot much strain on my knees either like with the TreadClimber. This thing is well worth the money.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 27, 2015

      Teresa,

      TreadClimber or Max Trainer?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Wow.

    • Gorham nh,
    • Jul 31, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    Just got my M3 in, put together in less than an hour. I figured I would jump on and do a quick 14 minute work out. Wrong. What a work out this is going to be, it will be a challenge but fun. Thanks Bow Flex

    Will do a follow up review in a month.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 23-33 of 36

Write a Review for Bowflex MAX Trainer!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review