32 Consumer Reviews for Bowflex MAX Trainer - Page 3

Average Consumer Rating: 3.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 19 4 star: 3 3 star: 1 2 star: 2 1 star:  7
Bottom Line: 72% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-32 of 32
Sort reviews by:

  • 29 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Best concept ever.

    I received my Max Trainer M5 about one week after I ordered it (12/3/2015 to be exact). But watch out for FedEx, they are delivering the machine with no signature required and if my neighbor hadn't called me at work, my machine would have sat in the rain and snow all day. FedEx dumped it in the worst spot possible.

    1. Assembly was pretty easy. My wife and I had it together in about an hour.

    2. Quality. This thing is pretty solid. I feared it was going to be fragile and flimsy (I was wrong). The steal is heavy duty (commercial strength). I weight almost 270 and it handled me fine.

    3. Workout. Though I lift weights almost every day, I haven't done cardio in about a year. My first workout was the first level Max interval. It was challenging, but I did it. The movement reminds me as if I'm riding my bike standing up? It's comfortable and easy on the knees (I have one bad knee).

    4. Problems. After about three uses, a bolt fell out of the inside of the unit (nothing I assembled). I opened it up and found three loose bolts on the wheel that turns the belt). Of course one of them completely fell out. So basically, the factory forgot to tighten these bolts during production. I could only access two of the bolts so I had to call customer service. They immediately knew what the problem was and are sending me the parts and a repair man from somewhere in my area to fix it. Customer service told me the belt wheel where the bolts were loose was plastic. For crying out loud Bowflex, you build this amazing machine and use a plastic belt wheel? Why would you do that? No, no!

    Use metal, always. In the meantime, I'm out of service but I like the machine so much that I'm willing to exercise my patience.

    5. Recommendations to Bowflex. 1. Use all metal parts if possible and think commercial at all times. Just charge accordingly. 2. The electronics screen could be elevated about 5 inches (it's a little low), the drink holder as well. 3. Add an on/off switch.

    Do those things and you'll have the best overall cardio machine ever made. Well, you do anyway but...

    6. Overall. The Max Trainer is definitely the best cardio machine I have ever used. The treadmill I was going to buy had a price tag of $3,400 so paying $1,600 for the M5 was significantly less. This is truly a great concept and it has exceeded my expectations. But use METAL not plastic!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 30 out 35 people found this review helpful

    Piece of junk

    • Texas,
    • Nov 13, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    It started off great then after a couple of months it started squeaking. I tightened loose screws and it worked again for about a week then got loose. I called customer service and they suggested we use tight lock to secure it. Did that and it continues to get loose. Six months later we are paying for a piece of junk that sounds like it's fixing to fall apart. What a rip off!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Satisfied customer

    • Pennsylvina,
    • Oct 6, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I received our Max 5 trainer over a week now. So far the only down side is where the bottle holder is located, it's hard to reach.

    Now for the good news, first if you can afford the M5 it's worth the extra money. Second this is by far the best workout on a cardio machine I've ever experienced.

    The 14 minute workout is definitely a challenge I was able to complete 2 and burned over 500 calories.

    I was skeptical at first but after considering for 2 months, my wife and I decided to go for it and I am so glad we did.

    Lastly my wife has challenges from arthritis and the impact is minimal.

    I am now a Bowflex family member.

    I purchased the 552 weights stand and looking to feel my home gym with more. Thanks Bowflex Max5.

    It's only been only a few days. I'll check in with you after 30 days to share our results.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 30, 2016

      Rhyan

      Are you still happy with the M5?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Frustrated

    • San Luis Obispo, Ca,
    • Sep 23, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    We ordered our machine and received it in great time. We paid for the set up, however, the tech left town for a vacation and was unable to assemble the machine for us. I contacted Bowflex and they refunded my credit card. My wife and I assembled the machine last night, and I used it this morning. It was a great workout! More intense than I think a lot of people are expecting. However, my wife came home from work tonight and was excited for her first session. The squeaking was unbelievable. We have a big house. I thought an animal was scratching at the back door. We are hoping this will be resolved as it appears some customers have had the squeak just go away. Funny as when I ordered the machine, I asked the sales rep on the phone about the squeak complaints. She said the problem has been resolved and there was an issue at the plant with proper lubrication. I'm not a huge fan of B.S. or being fed a line to get my 1,500.00. Wish us luck.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 9, 2015

      Marianne

      Get a can of WD40 and you're on your way.

    • Nov 9, 2015

      Jim

      Yeah, it's been a bit and we use the heck out of the machine. The squeak goes away after time. If it picks up again, the WD40 will be applied.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 36 out 36 people found this review helpful

    This is a Great Machine

    • South Windsor, CT,
    • Aug 24, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am 63 years old, and am no more than a 'weekend warrior'. I work out maybe 1 to 2 times a week, but that's it.

    I looked into the Bowflex Max Trainer as an alternative to the gym, where I would have another avenue for exercise right at home, and as another avenue to keep the body weight down, as age slows my metabolism.

    I took a chance on this in terms of low impact, because I have a bad knee that actually hates the movement of the ARC trainers, and I don't have the room horizontally for a conventional Elliptical Trainer.

    I assembled it myself, with the internet research that indicated the application of "as tight as possible" is the best way to reduce/eliminate noise, and after 4 months of steady use, I can say that the machine is just as quiet today, as the day that I assembled it. I was worried about the possible noise factor, but it seems to operate exactly as advertised. I know that some people complain about squeaking, but my unit exhibits none of that.

    As far as the difficulty in completing the exercises, I agree that the machine isn't easy, but I am able to finish all of the exercises. You don't have to go at an all out sprint and burn yourself out, and by pacing yourself, if I can complete the 300 calorie target burn program at my age, you should be able to, too.

    I highly recommend this machine. Follow the assembly instructions as given, use, and enjoy!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 24 out 24 people found this review helpful

    I absolutely love this machine!

    • Monroe, LA,
    • Aug 6, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I own a TreadClimber and it's good. But wanted something more engaging and challenging and this is it. My husband is in great shape, motor lifting mechanic. I am not in great shape. Sad/Bad for a RN. It takes me a few breaks to get finished with 14-minute interval. And even his first couple of times he needed to take a break.

    Bottom line: there aren't any shipping delays. I ordered the Max Trainer on 7/19 and was delivered on Friday, July 24th. We put it together and it was not hard for us. And I believe if a person uses the machine in consistently and with some dietary changes, even if it's just for 14 minutes for three days each week, you will tone up and lose weight. I feel my abs, buttocks, thighs, arms. Wow. This thing is awesome. I have never been so excited to workout. Mot much strain on my knees either like with the TreadClimber. This thing is well worth the money.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 27, 2015

      Teresa

      TreadClimber or Max Trainer?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Wow.

    • Gorham nh,
    • Jul 31, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    Just got my M3 in, put together in less than an hour. I figured I would jump on and do a quick 14 minute work out. Wrong. What a work out this is going to be, it will be a challenge but fun. Thanks Bow Flex

    Will do a follow up review in a month.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Very happy!

    To start with, I found an online coupon that took $100 off of my order so my shipping was essentially free. They said it would be 30-45 days for delivery, I received it in 5 days. I put my M3 together in less than an hour so I am really glad I didn't pay for their assembly. It was really very easy. I am definitely having to work up to doing a full workout. I have had knee and ankle surgery and have no problems at all using the Max Trainer (other than me being badly out of shape). The small footprint is perfect for our living room. I would highly recommend this equipment. We figured it up and will have it paid off by just paying what we were paying for a membership to a gym that we never had time to get to. Having the Bowflex Max Trainer at home has already made a huge difference even in our 12 year old daughter who loves working out on the machine!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 13, 2015

      Manon Sheiman

      Do you think you could do web surfing, reading online newspapers, etc, post to Facebook, while using the machine? On the TV ad, it looked like one's head doesn't move at all, which if true, would make it ideal for my sit/stand desk. Also, can you adjust the workout to very mild for someone who is out of shape? Thank you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 23 people found this review helpful

    A bit frustrated with Bowflex

    • Whitehall, MI,
    • Jul 6, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I know the feeling. I made a purchase on 2/8/15 and then received an email stating that it would be shipped in 15-30 days. I paid with two different debit cards and my account said that the money was on hold waiting for them to take out, but Bowflex said the bank wouldn't release anything. The bank said they just need to remove funds. After 2 days of fighting, I canceled the order and placed a new one using only one card this time. Now they say the Bowflex will ship in 30-45 days. They removed money out of my account, a week later they put the money back into my account. I called to check on status, they say my cards denied. Ok. How did you keep the money for a week, then put it back in my account? Now I finally was able to get them to remove money out of my account and keep it. It's now 3/22/15 and still waiting. Very disappointed, having to pay $1,599 for this type of service is plain craziness.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 22, 2015

      Knez011

      So, you have a problem with the customer service, you never saw the product yet you gave it 2 stars. Great review, totally useless.

    • Dec 23, 2015

      Chris

      Yep, and I would still give it 2 stars after receiving it. After only 6 months of use, it started making a worn bearing noise. I contacted customer service. After 2 hours of trying troubleshot the problem and having to continually stick my hand in the unit so they could hear the noise in which it was making and tearing the unit completely apart while talking to them on the phone and trying to explain that it was a bearing going out the opted to replace the unit (again 2 hours later). That type of money unit shouldn't wear out that fast, plain and simple.

    • Dec 23, 2015

      Chris

      Also, my husband has used the unit 4 times a week. Since we received, we had absolutely no result whatsoever. So yeah, 2 stars remain.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 29 out 46 people found this review helpful

    Too hard to use

    I'm 60 and in pretty good shape but I could not go for more than 3 minutes. My wife (53) couldn't do more than 2 minutes and it hurt her back enough so that I had to take her to the chiropractor. My athletic grandson did the best but even he had a hard time, so I sent it back. But get this, that cost me $360!. Free shipping refers to one way, there to you. Buyer beware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 23-32 of 32

Write a Review for Bowflex MAX Trainer!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review