Read 44 Bowflex MAX Trainer Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 3.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 22 4 star: 3 3 star: 2 2 star: 4 1 star:  13
Bottom Line: 59% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 44
Sort reviews by:

  • Started out great and took a nosedive!

    • By Tony,
    • Greenwood, SC,
    • Nov 24, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased the Bowflex Max Trainer M3 model just over a year ago and was happy with the cardio and the overall workout that I got from this machine.

    I hurt my knee in an unrelated experience and couldn't use it for a while. Got back to the machine a few months ago and have had nothing but issues with it since. Loud screeching from the right side (when standing on the machine), a thud on the left side when the left foot pedal hits the bottom of the cycle.

    A call into Customer Service and two hours later, we'd taken the unit apart only to find that I needed a gear puller. They ordered (at BowFlex's expense) for me.

    This arrived a week or so later. We'd determined that there were bolts that were loose and needed to be tightened. So I tear down the machine to get to the gear. I get the bolts tightened and reassemble. Problem solved, or so I thought.

    After a few hours of use, the problem returned so I tear it down again and tighten further but make sure that all is tight this time. I reassembled and used the machine for a few more hours until the machine sounds like it's going to fly apart.

    This time it was my bad, bolt on the arm was not tightened enough last time. So far I have used it for two hours since this occurrence and it still shakes and squeaks when in use.

    I think the premise for this machine is good but I've found too many similar issues from users all over North America. Sounds like a poor part design and/or poor assembly. It's disappointing as I've had my BowFlex PowerPro for over a decade with limited issues.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • It's working for me.

    • By Tom Coombs,
    • Wellington, FL,
    • Oct 28, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    We purchased the Max M7, so far it's working for me. My Cardio endurance is way up from where it was. My weight is coming down, 235 to 223 over about 5 weeks and I feel a whole lot better.

    Beyond using this machine, and just watching what I eat using MyFitnessPal on my iPhone, it's working for me.

    Setup was straightforward, the hardest part was getting the boxes upstairs. Also, it's not the cheapest at $2100, but you can spread that out over a couple years if you want to, interest free.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Wow! Not sure how else to put it.

    • By Frank DeFuso,
    • Womelsdorf, PA,
    • Sep 12, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Before purchasing, I was going to the Y with my wife. We didn't want to buy any expensive equipment unless we were ready.

    After working out for about 6 months doing 30 minutes on their elliptical, summer was coming and that meant more work and less time for us so we purchased the M5 and quit the gym. They claimed this machine would do the same work out in 15 minutes that we could do in 30 minutes on other machines.

    It only took about one week to receive it and I put it together myself. If you read the directions it's like putting together a piece of furniture. Not difficult but I am mechanically inclined so it may have been easier for me.

    The first time on my wife could not push the peddles to go. She is little and is used to the machines that are very loose shall I say. I got on and figured out after pressing the program you want, you have to put your wait on one side to get it to go. After that it is easy. However, the program is not. Your feet move differently than other ellipticals, not harder or easier, just different than the ones at the Y. I did the 15 minute weight loss and when I am done, I have never been worked so hard. It beats the 30 minutes I was doing hands down. I really love it!

    I will say also I think it provides just as much strength as weight loss. I have never felt this strong before. The price is up there and that is the bad part but if you think you will use it regularly than it is worth it. It is without a doubt the most durable machine I have ever had.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great product

    • By Darcy,
    • Alberta,
    • Aug 17, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I purchased the M7 model almost two weeks ago. We have been using it every day, however since we are so out of shape we are starting out slow and only doing a 7 minute session and add time as we feel fit. Just using the 7 minute session we have lost weight, but we have changed our diet as well. You cannot lose weight by exercise alone. I am hoping to move up to the 14 minute session within three weeks, if not four. I use the app and love the fact that it shows my progress daily. My Calories Burned increases daily and that pumps me up. Seeing my improvement makes me want to do more and more each time.

    The assembly of this unit is very easy. I currently came off a surgery for a broken collar bone (still had the staples in) and built it by myself in an hour and a half. The instructions are very well laid out. The nuts, bolts and washers are well labeled in the packaging.

    I would highly recommend this product to anyone. But remember if you do not change your diet it will be hard to lose the weight.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • It works!

    • By Missy,
    • New Mexico,
    • Aug 7, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'll make this short. I'm overweight. I started at 231 pounds, I'm 5'3" and a 38 year old female. I'm an off and on workout junkie but I always give up because I have no time to spend in exercise that I need. However, a friend bought this Bowflex Max Trainer and enticed me to join her. So I did. The first two weeks were hell. I was barely finishing 14 minutes.

    I sweated like I've never had before. I couldn't even stand straight on it. I'm on week 4 now, I have built up so much strength in my legs, so now my stairs at home are a cake walk. I use manual mode ranging between 8-10 for 20 minutes now. The only thing I do extra is a speed walk jog on treadmill at home for 30 minutes. The max speed on treadmill is 3.5. It's Alternating 3.0 and 3.5 with a six minute warm up and then a cool down.

    Here's the best part: in 2 weeks, my legs which had bulge are no longer swollen.

    At week 4, my legs have not looked this nice since my early 20s! My inner thighs are amazing no workout ever did what this did for my inner and back thighs.

    I'm hooked and I can not believe the results. Also, I had a large Fanny top, I could hold a cup there but now it's gone! Now my butt is rounding and table top is gone. I'm experiencing just amazing results on hips thighs and butt. This machine will be in my life from here on out. Hopefully someday I can afford my own.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Day one

    • By Tim,
    • Beverly Hills, CA,
    • Jul 16, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    The very first thing that you should know about these is that it feels like you're almost squatting while you run. I'm 6 feet 255lbs coming off knee surgery (hence massive weight gain, my ideal is 185) and the front of my thighs were definitely burning just from a couple of quick spins for 30 seconds. It made me think of doing steps. Well not as intense as a stepper it's certainly feels like I'm not upright fully and my knee ached a little, but it is soft enough to not reinjure. The faster you go, the less you notice.

    The noise is not that bad unless you are really sprinting. The app is interesting and resetting user profiles is not easy.

    I am a former employee of a well know fitness company and will follow up with one of their programs after a few months with the M5. This device is a good way to get ready for something like those.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Poor Quality

    • By Michael Camp,
    • Florence, AL,
    • Jul 4, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Well I have had the M7 for almost three weeks and I still do not have matching handlebars. First they sent a new left side bar, then two handlebar assemblies, and now I am waiting on a new right side handlebar. Meanwhile a couple days ago my M7 started making a thumping noise and yesterday started squeaking. The concept of this machine is great if they could manufacture matching parts. Also the heart monitor is not very accurate when it does engage with machine.

    Looks like I will return it. It's just too loud for a house with the thumping and squeaking, even if I had matching handlebars.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Great Machine. Well worth it.

    • By Ben,
    • Knoxville, TN,
    • Mar 10, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have had the Max Trainer M5 for 10 days now, so this is an early review. So far my wife and I have been using it regularly with great results. We both are feeling better, toned and starting to lose weight. I liken this machine to an elliptical mixed with a stair stepper but when you're are in Max mode it feels very similar to how I feel when I'm standing on my mountain bike climbing a hill. Lots of quadriceps and downward pedaling. I've spent a total of 79 minutes on it and my wife has almost doubled that.

    A simple note to those in poor shape. This exercise is very intense to start with. It would probably behoove you to start in a mode other than MAX to get your endurance up and build leg strength. I am in average shape and I started out on resistance level 1 MAX and it kicked my butt. I thought my heart was going to explode. Now after a week of using it I can make it on level 1 no problem. You will become accustomed to the workout and will build endurance very quickly.

    On to the stuff I've read from other folks: I'm not sure if people are getting lemons or are just not very mechanically inclined but it took me just over and hour to build the machine (alone). I see absolutely no reason to pay someone to build this for you unless you seriously don't know how to turn a screwdriver. If you follow the very easy to read instructions included with the neatly organized and labeled hardware and/or get a friend that has even the littlest amount of handiness, this machine is a breeze to build. Save yourself the money. The only sticking point might be the weight of the boxes. Each comes in at around 80 lbs (2 boxes). Unless you are a hobbit you could just enlist a friends help to carry these into the house and up the stairs, or ask some unsuspecting neighbor.

    The machine is smooth, not too loud (unless in MAX mode) and takes up a very small amount of space. We find the Bluetooth capability very nice because we can sync it with our MyFitnessPal apps on our phones to keep track of our daily goals. The arm movements actually make you feel like you've done some upper body. It won't replace weights but at least you are getting your full body involved in the workout. The only thing that seems to not be seamless is the heart rate monitor grips. Sometimes they read quickly, sometimes a lot of hand adjustment needs to be made to get a good read. I don't have overly large/or small (Trump) hands either so this should not be an issue. Of course if you use the included band or have a smart watch the point is moot.

    Lastly I will throw some kudos to Bow-flex (Nautilus) because they offer a great military discount. If you are in the service please don't forget to ask and it will make all the difference on whether you decide if spending the money is worth it. I struggled with the price but I do believe so far (barring some future catastrophic breakdown) that this machine is well worth the asking price.

    The one great design flaw in this is that it doesn't really have any good angles to hang clothing from, so instead of having a high dollar clothes hanger you will just have a piece of modern art adorning your home if this doesn't get use.

    Best of luck and if you decide to get this you will not be disappointed. I will update later down the road.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great product!

    • By Larry Meadows,
    • Paulding, Ohio,
    • Mar 5, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Couldn't be happier, fast shipping and really easy to assemble. I run but this thing really works you. I have finally made it up to 12 minutes but it's a struggle. Ill keep pressing, easy on the joints so you don't have to worry about pain. Make sure to check the bolts to make sure they don't come loose, maybe Bowflex should consider a small tube of Loctite. Other than that, I'm looking forward to getting in shape.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Wow, love it!

    • By Cyd,
    • Oregon,
    • Feb 25, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm a 55 year old female not in peak form, and I have 20 lbs to lose. I've just had my Max5 for a week, and so far I love it.

    I received it five days after ordering (could not believe that), and I put it together BY MYSELF people, in under two hours! I'm a 5'4", 140lbs banker, and tools are in no way my forte, but it wasn't hard, or that heavy, and I just used a bit of female ingenuity to get the unit into the base. The thought of someone paying $250 to have it done is ludicrous.

    So far I love the flexibility of the programmed workouts, but have yet to figure out the best workout with the highest calorie burn. I don't seem to be burning 2.5X more than when I'm on my elliptical. I tend to track heart rate and calories burned via my Fitbit, and I'm hoping it's more accurate because it reads a higher calorie burn.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Makes a Horrible Grinding Noise

    We received our Max Trainer at the beginning of December. After we put it together, it made a horrible grinding noise, and the speedometer was not working. After 3 hours on the phone with technical support, they shipped out new parts and scheduled a service call in 2 weeks. On December 28th the repair guy came and said the frame was bent, and he would immediately order what was needed, and get our machine fixed ASAP. I've been calling to get an update, and nothing. I paid $1,700 for a machine, and have yet to be able to workout on it. Their after sale customer service is horrible.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 23-33 of 44

Write a Review for Bowflex MAX Trainer!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review
Bowflex MAX Trainer