Start your review of Carvana:
  • 510 Customer Reviews
  • 28% Recommend This Company
2.2 out of 5
5 star: 20% 4 star: 3% 3 star: 6% 2 star: 11% 1 star: 57%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • Do not do business with!

    Overall Experience:

    Complete scam. I shopped, they ran my credit, offered me terms, I accepted, they called me and congratulated me on my purchase, confirmed my delivery time and place, instructed me to get insurance.

    I signed all the contracts, started an insurance policy on the vehicle, and was eagerly awaiting delivery.

    Then boom, less than 24 hours prior to delivery they called and said oh yeah, we can't do this unless you give us another 7K down payment. Mind you this is after I've already signed all the contracts and received a call from them telling me everything was good to go. They are no different than any other, "bait and switch" used car lot. Do not waste your time on these dishonest unethical people.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Awful Experience

    • By Bianca,
    • Delaware,
    • Jan 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased a white 2014 Honda CR-V through Carvana on 11/28/16, and had an awful experience throughout the process. When I made the purchase there was an issue with my paperwork. Not one person from Carvana contacted me to correct the error.

    After three-four days of no word on the purchase process, I called Carvana. Once that error was corrected, I was told it would take two weeks to receive my car. I was incredibly disappointed, as the website stated I would receive my car in 7 days.

    On 12/11/16 I received a call and a series of texts from the delivery driver stating that my car would arrive on 12/12/16 at 6:00am. Around two hours after the scheduled delivery time, the truck arrived at the agreed upon location. The delivery truck had three cars, none of which were the car I purchased.

    He told me that Carvana didn't give him the right car, and he didn't double check the paperwork. I then called Carvana to explain the delivery issue. I spoke with three different people to try to correct the error. I was put on hold for 20 minutes before I hung up. I called back asking to speak with someone else, and was told to call back later. Brittnee Penson, a supervisor, then called me back and told me that I “sound like [I’m] done with this” and wanted to know what it was I wanted her to do.

    I have never been treated so rudely by a company. Eventually Teresa Aragon contacted me to correct the error. She asked me to give Carvana another chance by taking some of the delivery fees off of the final price. I agree, and my car is delivered two days later, which of course made me wonder why I had to wait 2 weeks the first time around. After signing for the car, the delivery driver tells me they had to jump the battery to get it onto the truck. I asked him if there was something I was supposed to do to make sure the battery wouldn't die again and he told me no, it seemed to be running fine. I agreed to meet the delivery drivers in a parking lot within a 5 minute walking distance to my house. So, I drove the car to my house, went inside to get my fiancé to show him the car, and the battery died again. We immediately called the delivery guys to come jump the car, because we do not have jumper cables. He says he is about 10 minutes down the road, that it's not his problem our car won't start, and that he will not turn around to jump the car.

    I then called Carvana back to explain the situation and they offered to pay for a replacement battery and to tow my car to get the replacement battery installed. The car was dirty inside and out, even though I was promised they would go over the car with a fine tooth comb. I would absolutely never recommend this company to anyone. A word of advice, if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jan 10, 2017

      Company Response from Carvana

      Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review about your Carvana experience. We are truly disappointed that your overall experience has been less than perfect.

      We are so sorry that the wrong vehicle was initially delivered to you.

      Additionally, we would like to apologize if our quality of customer service did not live up to our exceptional expectations. We strive for a seamless process throughout your purchase and we regret that we fell short in several areas.

      While we know monetary compensation cannot make up for the past, we would like to offer you a $100 check to help cover the cost of a detail for your vehicle.

      Again, we are very sorry that we were unable to deliver an outstanding Carvana experience for you, but we hope you are now enjoying your vehicle.

      Please reach out to our Customer Advocate team at 800-333-4554 if there is anything else we can do for you.

  • Service certainly not what they say it is.

    • By Ron Gilbert,
    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Jan 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I had a number of problems with Carvana, trying to make a purchase.

    First, I reserved a vehicle that was in the process of being loaded into their system with the promise that the photos of the vehicle would be online in three days. Almost a week later, it still said the photos would be available in three days. I canceled that reservation and resumed my search.

    I found a vehicle that was available for pickup on January 2, which was later than convenient for me but was workable. I went through their purchase with multiple delays (it would have been quicker in a stand alone dealer than these folks took), and finally thought I had everything resolved. Then I was told that the earliest pickup date would be January 3rd. I canceled the order because I have to be out of town on that date, and they reported no way to accommodate my request.

    This seemed like a simple transaction, I was trading a car and placing a down payment of $10,000 with only a very small financed amount. The thing to remember with Carvana is that despite their ads on the simplicity of their product delivery, it will take you as long or more than it will at the neighborhood dealer. I wouldn't recommend these guys to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Feb 8, 2017

      Company Response from Carvana

      Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your Carvana experience. We are so sorry to hear that your purchase process was less than perfect. At Carvana we strive for a seamless experience, and this was clearly not the case in your situation. Our On Demand vehicles are available to reserve with an estimated timeline of when the vehicle will be fully ready and the 360-degree tour will be available to view on the site. We would like to apologize that the estimated timeline took longer than anticipated. We are glad you were able to receive your vehicle, but we are sorry that it was at a later date than what you were initially hoping for. We hope you are now enjoying your vehicle and please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you. Thank you for choosing Carvana!

  • Riding on an expired paper tag

    • By Jayln King,
    • Georgia,
    • Sep 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    So apparently someone dropped the ball and had me sign the incorrect paperwork and my registration never finalized. Now I am miles away from home as an Irma evacuee with an expired tag and Carvana reps telling me there is nothing they can do. Not even speaking with a freaking desire to try and do anything or attempt to sound empathetic. Honestly, the rep sounded more annoyed than anything, like it was my fault they put the wrong VIN on the paperwork they had me sign. I did everything I was supposed to. I have a car with the tag and taxes paid for but no freaking tag on it to be able to safely drive anywhere. I am practically stranded hundreds of miles away from home and not even just because of Irma anymore. Thanks to Carvana.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 21, 2017

      Company Response from Carvana

      Thank you for providing information about your recent Carvana experience. We always aim to provide a streamlined, hassle-free purchase process from beginning to end, and that does include the registration process. We sincerely apologize for these inconveniences. We want to personally turn your experience around as best as possible, moving forward.

      Our goal at Carvana is to be stress and hassle-free and we are so sorry that this is not what you experienced when communicating with our customer advocate team. If you could please contact one of our executive resolution specialists at 1.800.333.4554 so we can further assess the situation, we would appreciate it. Thank you so much!

  • Horrific

    • By Joc,
    • Georgia,
    • Jan 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I regret my decision to purchase a car with Caravan.

    It was purchased on December 2, 2016, and I followed up on January 3, 2017, when I did not receive my plates in the mail at that point. They assured me there was a small typo in the VIN and advised me to apply for an extension at the DMV within in the next two weeks.

    After a week and a half, I went to the DMV and attempted to apply for this but was told the dealer still hadn't even submitted any registration documents at all! When I called the dealer, they apologized and said they would overnight the required documents, and that they were "waiting for a check from another department." I have been told this same excuse several times now.

    I was assured the registration would be delivered after Martin Luther King Day when the temporary plates expired. Sadly, when I returned to the DMV to re-apply for the extension, they told me my temporary plate belonged to a completely different car (2013 Ford)!

    My temporary tag has now expired. I have requested to speak to a manager several different times with no response from any manager at this point. The employees I do talk to seem confused. I have filed two complaints with different bureaus of the state. Georgia is very particular about car registrations since they receive a proportionally large amount of revenue from this.

    In summary, I am terrified to drive because I cannot legally drive the car that I purchased from Carvana. I have to walk or take public transportation to get around. It is extremely disappointing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Feb 14, 2017

      Company Response from Carvana

      Thank you for your valuable feedback. We take our customer’s complaints very seriously and would like to express our sincere apologies that the title issues have taken so long to resolve. We understand your frustration and disappointment with the amount of time it has taken to get the vehicle properly registered. We strive to complete each step of the process in a timely and thorough manner, and it is clear we failed to meet your expectations and ours. We have made changes to our internal processes as a result of your negative experience, including improved communication with the Division of Motor Vehicles.

      The registration process took longer than usual because we received the incorrect information from the auction. As a result, we were unable to submit the information to our third party processor (Reg USA) to complete your registration. That said, we own this mistake, and we understand this should have been taken care of prior to the sale. We cannot apologize enough for the fact that you had to take public transportation because your temporary operating plate expired. We hold our customer’s experience to a high regard and will use this as a learning opportunity to improve our processes and increase customer satisfaction in all facets of the company. As a good faith gesture, we will be compensating you for the disappointment and inconvenience you encountered due to the delay with your registration.

      Our reputation of providing positive experiences and quality vehicles is essential to who we are as an online dealership. We regret that your experience with us was negatively affected due to title and registration delays. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please don’t hesitate to contact us at 1-800-333-4554.


      The Carvana Team

  • Didn't pay off bank loan

    Overall Experience:

    Our vehicle was sold to Carvana and they did not submit the payoff to the bank until we got a notice in the mail nearly two months later that we were late on our car payment. Then, Carvana owed us an additional $400, and it took days to get that figured out. The customer service was very disappointing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Feb 13, 2017

      Company Response from Carvana

      Hi Robert,

      Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your experience with selling your vehicle to Carvana. We are disappointed to hear that we did not send the payoff out to your lien holder in a timely manner. This was a clear oversight on our end and we would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and frustrations this caused. We are glad that we have since been able to resolve this matter. We would love the chance to repair this relationship, so we hope that you consider Carvana for your future car buying endeavors!


      The Carvana Team

  • Horrible customer service meets broken salesman promises

    • By Sean,
    • Texas,
    • Feb 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    So, I purchased a Mercedes GLK for $25,000 in which I paid $22,000 upfront. I was told by the drop off for LJ's that all repairs would be covered in the first 100 days. I was told a window was faulty that morning for no reason, so I should get the car inspected by the dealership, and everything would be handled free of charge. Also, they gave me one key that worked and another key that was for another vehicle.

    After getting the inspection, it turns out there were some issues under the hood totaling $1,500 in repairs. When I sent this to Carvana, they tried to run from paying for the repairs. They called the dealership and even tried to talk the mechanics out of their evaluation.

    During all of this, the customer service rep also tried to treat me like it was unreasonable for me to send in the repairs. Like I was a nuisance. Carvana is the worst.

    By the way, the customer service rep was Natasha Tomlinson, and she even attempted to lie about the correspondence she had sent to me, etc.

    Carvana is immature from its people on the top, and on down. If you're a professional, then you'll be dealing with people who aren't on your level if you buy a car from Carvana.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Feb 14, 2017

      Company Response from Carvana

      Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your Carvana experience. We strive to provide our customers a hassle-free and stress-free experience from the beginning to end. We regret to hear that we fell short in this instance and that your experience was less than perfect. We are very sorry that your vehicle arrived with a faulty window and wrong key.

      While we are always willing to investigate issues occurring on a vehicle, we must do our due diligence. We will typically contact the mechanic or dealership to discuss the issues to ensure the items needing repairs are in fact failing, or needing immediate replacement, rather than just recommended maintenance. We sincerely apologize if this came off as us trying to avoid assisting with the repairs, as this is certainly never our intention. We are happy to report that we were able to assist in covering the cost of a sparkplug replacement, rim repair, front lower driving light replacement, and engine mount and transmission mount replacement.

      Additionally, we would like to apologize if anyone on our Customer Advocate Team came across as unwilling to help. Excellent customer service is a high priority of ours and we regret if that was not your experience. We hope you are now enjoying your Mercedes GLK and that everything else with the vehicle is up to your standards. We would love nothing more than to repair this relationship with you, so please contact us at 800-333-4554 if we can assist in any other way. Thank you for choosing Carvana.

  • Selling cars with issues to innocent buyers

    • By F Mistry,
    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Mar 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I recently purchased a 2015 BMW 3 series, 328i X drive with premium package (VIN# wba3b5g59fns17562) on I got it at a really good price, and after receiving it, I decided to run the VIN number through the BMW dealership service department to get the vehicle history and make sure the car was still under warranty.

    On running the check, BMW advised me that this car was bought back by the dealership from which the previous owner purchased from under the Lemon Law. It had been to the garage around 4-6 times before it reached the 500-mile mark and had multiple issues. It even had a limp transmission issue in the first couple of hundred miles! BMW said they would repair anything like this until the first 50,000 miles or 4 years, but mentioned that this car may have similar issues for the rest of its life.

    I immediately called Carvana, and they checked the records themselves and said that they could not sell me this car since it would be a liability on the company and advised me to return it. I asked them if they were just going to reduce the price and resell it on their website, and they said that they would not, and they would have to sell it to an auction.

    Soon after, I ended up buying another car with almost five times the mileage and for more money.

    A couple of weeks later, after returning it, I decided to go online and see if they were honest about that. To my surprise, they had the same car on sale, and for the same price I paid for it! They are trying to palm off this car onto an unsuspecting buyer. And if everything was fine to resell the car, why didn't they let me keep it?

    Please be warned; they may be selling other similar cars that have had major issues and hoping that buyers won't find out until its too late.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 27, 2017

      Company Response from Carvana

      Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your Carvana experience. As a growing company we appreciate our customers’ reviews and can assure you they are taken seriously. Providing an honest and transparent experience is something we strive for at Carvana and we would like to apologize for not providing you with this. We are very sorry that we listed a vehicle that fell outside of our mechanical and safety standards. This was an obvious oversight on our end, and that vehicle never should have been posted to our inventory. Additionally, we dropped the ball again when we failed to remove the vehicle from our site a second time. We can confirm that we have since removed this from our inventory, as we do not feel comfortable selling a vehicle in this condition to our customers. We can assure you this was an honest mistake and we have no intentions of misleading our customers. Please don’t hesitate to reach out at 800-333-4554 as we would love the opportunity to turn this experience around for you. Thank you for choosing Carvana!

  • Buyer beware! Don't do it!

    • By Deborah,
    • Sarasota, FL,
    • Apr 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was excited to look through the Carvana website and see so many cars are available in the make and model I wanted.

    I landed on one with low miles and at a great price and made arrangements to deliver it to a mechanic before accepting the car. Carvana claimed that no accidents had been reported on the car. Within 10 minutes of having the car up on the lift, my mechanic brought me in to look underneath the chassis. It was clear to anyone (including the average car owner) that the car had been in an accident. There was a clear indication of a bad paint job (in multiple places) and Carvana, which claims to do their own analysis of the car, would have easily been able to see that this car had been repaired from an accident of some kind.

    Now, I rented a car for a week while I waited for this car to be delivered, wasted a day waiting for the car to be delivered and examined, and then went to the local Lexus dealership and was put in a position of having to buy a car in desperation. Needless to say, I was both disappointed and seriously inconvenienced by Carvana. While they didn't actually lie about the condition of the car (Car Fax had no accident listed), they certainly omitted the truth and could have saved me a great deal of trouble and money in the process.

    Do NOT use this service! It's not a scam, but it's not the way to buy a car.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Apr 28, 2017

      Company Response from Carvana

      Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your Carvana experience. We take these reviews very seriously as a company who is always looking for ways to improve our processes. At Carvana, we take great pride in our easy purchase process, as well as our quick delivery service. We deeply regret to hear that your experience with us fell short of perfect. During our 150-point inspection, each vehicle is carefully looked at to make sure it is meeting our strict mechanical and safety standards. During this process, we also will perform any necessary repairs on the vehicle and make sure it competes under high-quality parts and standards.

      In your case, unfortunately, we completely failed to repair the damage underneath the hood of the vehicle effectively. We are so sorry for overlooking this part of the inspection. We can assure you that this is something we have taken to the appropriate departments, to prevent similar instances like this from happening again. We are also happy to hear that you were able to voice your frustrations and concerns to one of our very own customer advocates regarding the situation, and has since passed the information along.

      Additionally, Carvana does not purchase vehicles that have been in any reported accidents, and we will always provide both the AutoCheck and CarFax reports as part of our policy to remain transparent. We understand that we cannot make up for the poor condition of your vehicle, as well as any inconveniences you have had to endure, but would love nothing more than to turn this experience around for you. Please do not hesitate to reach out to us at 1-800-333-4554, if there is anything else we can do for you.

  • Carvana doesn't report rust, get car inspected

    • By Anna,
    • North Carolina,
    • Apr 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Although they pride themselves on identifying blemishes, dents, and dings as part of a "transparent" car buying process, Carvana does not report "surface" rust because it's not a safety issue. You should go into your purchase wary of any car that comes out of the North (snow/salt) and be fully prepared to have a mechanic put the car on a lift to check for rust on the chassis. I did exactly that and promptly arranged to have the car picked up as a result.

    I contacted customer service team, and they told me that there are two types of rust, which is insultingly false.

    Direct quote from Carvana:

    "There are two types of rust: embedded and surface rust. We do not sell any vehicles with embedded rust as it damages the integrity of the vehicle. Surface rust does not damage the vehicle, and so we do not notate it on our site. Embedded rust occurs when it has advanced beyond the surface level and begins to compromise the strength of the metal."

    I have three problems with this.

    1. "Surface" rust with time will always become "embedded" rust, even when removed from the conditions that create it (i.e. Carvana is happy to sell you a car with pre-cancer, not cancer). The consumer takes the hit on both the increased cost of future repairs when, for example, a bolt breaks off and the mechanic has to re-thread the component and/or replace the component, and a plummeting resale value.

    2. Carvana notates the blemishes that you'll see, even though they aren't a safety issue. But they won't note the rust that you can't readily see, even though isn't an immediate safety issue, either.

    3. With the amount of rust on this car, Kelley Blue Book would consider it fair to poor condition. Carvana is charging no-haggle prices that equate with good/excellent condition, which require "little to no rust" or "rust-free" respectively. I was open to keeping the car, but not at the amount I paid for it. Although I asked, Carvana offered no alternative to sending the car back.

    I was excited about Carvana and super disappointed when I sent the car back. Since Carvana doesn't notate rust, I did not feel that I could trust them enough to purchase another vehicle from them. I would HIGHLY advise that Carvana start noting rust, just like they do with other blemishes that aren't immediate safety issues.

    Regarding their customer service, the car was delivery was rescheduled to a later delivery date because of their error, but picked up in a timely manner, and everyone I dealt with was pleasant.

    However, service ultimately can't make up for the fact that they don't live to their own standards by providing a transparent buying experience.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Apr 25, 2017

      Company Response from Carvana

      Thank you for providing us with your feedback regarding your recent Carvana purchase. As a growing company, our customers’ feedback is very important to us. It allows us to continue improving our customer experiences moving forward. As you mentioned, transparency is of the utmost importance to us, especially in regards to the condition of our vehicles. We sincerely apologize that you were disappointed with the condition of your car. Carvana currently makes a distinction between surface rust and embedded rust, but we continually assess our process, and your feedback has been shared with all the necessary departments. You raise a valid point about notating cosmetic imperfections, even when they do not affect the safety of your vehicle and will review that possibility.

      We want to apologize again for the disappointing experience, and we are glad that you were able to utilize the 7-day money back to return the vehicle. If we can do anything else to assist you in the future, please do not hesitate to reach out to us at 1-800-333-4554.

  • Delivery horror

    Overall Experience:

    Well first I must say the staff over the phone are nice. However, the delivery was hell and back.

    I started the process on June 19, 2017, and received amazing news on June 29, 2017, from the delivery driver that they are ready to deliver my BMW 3 series at 4 pm at my home in Las Vegas, Nevada. But guess what? The driver was delivering the car in the state of Maryland 2,500 + miles away! The car originated from their Texas location in Frisco, Texas and somehow the car ended on the opposite side of the country on the east coast. Now, how dumb of a mistake can that be? Get it together Carvana.

    It is July 4th, and I received an update that the car was now at their Washington DC location and is not even scheduled to be picked up until July 7! And then go cross country from an estimated delivery date of July 12-13! What a screw-up and now the whole process realistically is taking almost a whole month. Not cool.

    They apologized and apologized and gave me a whopping refund of $199 delivery fee (discounted the price of vehicle) and a new key since it had only one. Overall not cool and not convenient, as they state with the process of buying a vehicle online. I hope the car gets to the west coast safe and sound. And no, I will not recommend this service. Just go to Carmax.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jul 6, 2017

      Company Response from Carvana

      Thank you for taking the time to share details about your Carvana experience. We are very disappointed to hear about your delivery process. You are right, this was a clear mistake on our part and there is no excuse. Unfortunately, we did transport your vehicle to an incorrect location and we cannot express enough how sorry we are for dropping the ball here. At this time, we are waiting for our third party transport company to begin the process of getting your vehicle to you. In our best efforts to try and rectify this situation, we were also able to provide you with transportation until your car arrives.

      We will be sure to stay in full communication with you until your vehicle arrives. Again, we are sincerely sorry for the stress and inconvenience we have caused you with our mistake. Thank you for your patience and understanding while we work to make this right. Please contact us at 800-333-4554 if you have any additional questions, comments, or concerns. Thank you for choosing Carvana!

Showing 12-22 of 510

Write a Review for Carvana!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review