Clean Zone CPAP Cleaner Review: Is It Right for You?

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Dec 26, 2019

The Clean Zone cleans CPAP machines using activated oxygen that’s meant to kill up to 99% of germs and bacteria.

A device like this presents an easy way to clean your CPAP machine. The traditional way to clean your CPAP device includes daily and weekly cleanings with soap and water. This can become labor-intensive and time-consuming.

Clean Zone promises to remove the labor-intensive part of owning a CPAP machine. Our review of this device will help you understand if its mix of features and pricing are a good fit for your needs.

How the Clean Zone Works

Cleaning your CPAP machine with this device is simple. The Clean Zone has two adapters that will fit most CPAP machines.

To use Clean Zone, remove your mask from your CPAP tube, attach one of the adapters to the tube, then plug the adapter into the cleaner.

Press the power button. The device will beep once and then begin a 30-minute cleaning cycle. During this cycle, your Clean Zone will circulate activated oxygen through your CPAP tube and into the reservoir. As the air moves through your device, it kills off bacteria and germs.

These bacteria and germs can give you skin rashes and skin infections if left unchecked. Also, germs and mold can build up in your CPAP machine’s water reservoir, increasing the likelihood you could get sick.

At the end of the cycle, the machine shuts itself off automatically. At any time during the cleaning cycle, you can press the power button to turn off the Clean Zone.

You also have the option of cleaning your entire machine in a sanitizing bag that comes with the device. Using this cleaning method allows you to clean your mask as well as the outside and inside surfaces of your reservoir.

The Clean Zone uses a rechargeable battery you can charge with a USB cord Clean Zone includes with your device.

The device can clean A-PAP and BI-PAP machines, too.

Activated Oxygen: Scientific Efficacy and Safety

Ozone is what’s known as an “unstable” molecule. This means that one of its three oxygen atoms is prone to break off. That molecule can then attach itself to things like bacteria, change their chemical make-up and kill them.

Ozone stabilizes in about two hours, at which point it no longer disinfects.

Jose Acosta, a certified respiratory therapist with The CPAP Shop, told us that ozone’s disinfecting powers are used in a variety of ways.

“The method of using activated oxygen for disinfection has been used commonly for water purification, in the handling of fruits and vegetables, and even in hospitals,” Acosta said. “It kills 99.9% of all germs and bacteria on the surface without the use of chemicals or water.”

There is substantial research to show that ozone treatments can kill many types of bacteria including MRSA, a bacterium commonly found in nursing homes and hospitals. Furthermore, in 2003, the FDA approved the use of ozone machines to sanitize medical devices.

What makes this research so promising is that it means there’s a good chance Clean Zone will give you the convenience and the effectiveness you’ve wanted for your CPAP machine.

Ozone CPAP machine cleaners are widely accepted as a safe way to clean your machines. While ozone in large doses can be dangerous (respiratory irritation), the Clean Zone ozone emissions are below the FDA-required limit of 0.05 parts per million.

Though you shouldn’t experience any side effects, take note of any breathing irritation or coughing you experience during a cleaning cycle, especially if you have a pre-existing lung condition.

Pricing and Return Policy

One Clean Zone device costs $99.99 plus $8.95 for shipping. Clean Zone ships via UPS and will take up to 30 days to arrive.

For $10 more, you can add CPAP cleaning wipes to your order. You can use these wipes to clean off debris like oil and dirt that could harbor bacteria.

If you need to make a return, you have 60 days to make a return. Call customer service at (800) 340-3418 to start your return.

How Clean Zone Compares to Handwashing Your Machine

Efficiency

Clean Zone’s main benefits over handwashing a CPAP machine is that it requires a few seconds of setup and you can use the device immediately after a 30-minute cleaning cycle.

A hand wash requires you to use soap, water and, when needed, a long brush you can use to scour the inside of your breathing tube. You’ll need to let your CPAP machine dry, too. The entire process can take more than an hour.

Clean Zone saves you a considerable amount of cleaning and drying time. This is important if you tend to procrastinate and don’t wash your machine until later in the day.

Cleaning Effectiveness

You should consider effectiveness, too, as one of the goals of cleaning a CPAP machine is to prevent bacteria and germ growth.

This is where ozone machines are on equal footing with handwashing, according to an interview Harvard Health did with Dr. Lawrence Epstein, a doctor at a Harvard-affiliated hospital.

Epstein told Harvard Health that ozone cleaners work but that he is “not aware of any comparative trials to say the machines are better than hand washing.”

So, while your Clean Zone provides a convenient, non-messy way to clean your CPAP machine, it likely isn’t any more or less effective than handwashing the machine.

The Bottom Line

Clean Zone uses proven ozone disinfecting methods to clean your CPAP machine without the hassle of handwashing its parts every day. In our opinion, this device provides a lot of value for CPAP owners.

Who Clean Zone Is Good For

  • You Are Forgetful: If you have a hard time remembering to clean your CPAP machine, the Clean Zone’s 30-minute clean cycles are a lifesaver. You can forget to clean your machine all day, remember around bedtime and turn a cleaning cycle on. You’ll have to wait 30 minutes. However, that wait time is shorter and less labor-intensive than handwashing the machine and waiting overnight for it to dry.

  • You Care About Convenience More Than Price: The Clean Zone’s $99.99 price tag is well worth it if you’re tired of handwashing your device every day and you want a neat, quick alternative.

Who Clean Zone Isn’t Good For

  • You Have a Sensitive Respiratory System: While the Clean Zone puts out ozone levels below FDA limits, the FDA says you could still be at risk of coughing and respiratory irritation. “Some healthy people are more sensitive to ozone,” the organization says. “They may experience health effects at lower ozone levels than the average person.”


Customer Reviews

Start your review of Clean Zone CPAP Cleaner:
  • 26 Customer Reviews
  • 12% Recommend This Company
1.8 out of 5
5 star: 7% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 19% 2 star: 15% 1 star: 57%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Product not what I expected

    • By Kathleen S.,
    • Buchanan, MI,
    • Feb 24, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Ordered cleaner on 12/17/19. Upon receipt decided that it was too small for my CPAP. I returned the product and they received it on 1/15//2020. After several emails, I was told credit would be issued on 2/11/2020. Still waiting for credit. Every time I request information, I get a return email that they will contact me within 48 hours. Not a very reputable company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Updated review

    Update

    • By Wayne H.,
    • Vista, CA,
    • Feb 27, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    On 2/24 I received a shipping order number for my replacement unit and an email explaining that the Covid19 outbreak has delayed replenishing the vendor's inventory. I appreciate that information.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • Feb 22, 2020

    Poor customer support

    Within 30 days the Clean Zone battery stopped accepting a charge. Since then I have been calling and emailing to get a replacement. I get a different story each time I communicate with TopDogDirect. They do not respond to an email within 48 hours as their auto-responder promises. Their customer service reps at the 800# have told me a different story on each of three calls, and the most recent rep refused to refer me to a manager. I did get an email promising to send a replacement unit on 2/7, but as of 2/21, I have received nothing. And, this is a product that is supposed to be used daily for health reasons!

    (read moreread less...)

  • Crooks and liars

    • By Rita H.,
    • Spencer, WI,
    • Feb 29, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They are crooks and liars. Returned the CPAP cleaner and was told once they received the machine back that it takes 5 business days for a refund. I have been waiting for over two months and have called numerous times. I am filing a formal complaint with the Consumer Affairs Division in Washington, D.C. along with the state of Wisconsin and Indiana. BEWARE - CROOKS AND LIARS!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • More research needed

    • By Johnny R.,
    • Bella Vista, AR,
    • Mar 20, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This machine seemed to be a good investment at first. After a few weeks, I started hurting in my chest and back. After ruling other diagnoses out, I took antibiotics for a lung infection. My pain got better. After finishing the antibiotic, I also stopped using the Clean Zone 2 and the pain went away completely.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Awful results

    • By Jeanette H.,
    • Lincoln, NE,
    • Apr 24, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have had this machine for a couple of months now. Every time I use it I get a dusty substance all over the CPAP Machine and my nightstand! When I use my mask it has a weird smell to it. I figured everything would clear up but it did not, so I stopped using it! Waste of money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Stinks

    • By Julio G.,
    • Miami, FL,
    • May 14, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I received my Clean Zone CPAP machine about two weeks ago. First time use, really strong smell. I wrote an email and the response was to clean the hose and mask with soap and water. Why the heck did I buy this stuff? Customer service, there’s none. I guess eventually I will lose my money. I’ve been trying to contact the company with no luck after my initial email.

    On May 8, 2020, at 11:58 AM, Customer Service wrote:

    Julio,

    To help with the smell, you can wash the mask with hot water and soap.

    Best,

    Matt

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Poor customer service

    • By Mark O.,
    • Brentwood, CA,
    • May 18, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered 2 sanitizer machines on 5/2/20 direct from CleanZone and received both on 5/13/20. When I opened the box the sanitizer packages were open and the parts were not sealed! It appeared to be someone else's return and they just packaged and sent it on to me. I expect a new sealed unopened product! I have been calling their customer service line Top Dog Customer Service 1-800-340-3418 to receive the information on how to return the sanitizers and receive the web site advertised return for a full refund within 60 days if not satisfied. I am not satisfied. I have called 10 times during the past 3 days and receive either a busy signal or a recording. The website has no specific information on how to return or where to return. Something is very fishy. I am now thinking this may be a scam. I will be contacting my credit card company to file a fraud and unethical business complaint if I continue to not be able to make contact and receive this type of poor customer service. I am a real customer by the way.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No customer service

    • By Dianne C.,
    • Clinton Township, MI,
    • May 20, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I just received the CPAP cleaner, put the hose mask and water holder on and did the cleaning. That night I went to put the mask on and I could smell the plastic, and within one minute I was having an asthma attack. I took the mask off and up all night. The next night after the hose mask and water holder out all day and night, the same thing happened.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bad smell

    • By Richard L.,
    • Flat Rock, MI,
    • May 22, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered 2 of these and after the first use the odor that was left in our units was so bad we had to replace the hoses and mask. Now I've been trying for 17 days to get my refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Disappointed in Albuquerque

    • By Rebecca G.,
    • Albuquerque, NM,
    • Jun 3, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Worked fine for 6 weeks. Made a high pitched sound and now will not charge.

    Furthermore, I cannot make contact with the company. Put and left on hold for customer service and email to customer service returned as undeliverable. Unit is still under warranty as of the 1st of June 2020. Very disappointed. Will not recommend the product nor this company.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Convenience
    • Extremely poor customer service - non existent!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Leaves a horrid chlorine smell behind

    • By Ramona W.,
    • Minneapolis, MN,
    • Jun 10, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I would not recommend this product. I used it once, and it left a very strong chlorine smell in my mask. I promptly returned it and received a full refund.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Prompt customer service
    • Prompt refund when I sent it back
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 26

Write a Review for Clean Zone CPAP Cleaner!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Clean Zone CPAP Cleaner