Oura Ring Review: Is It Worth It?

By Lydia Noyes
HighYa Staff
Updated on: Jun 12, 2020

The Oura ring is a wellness device that claims to track critical signals that your body sends out so that you can make the right decisions for better health.

This sleek ring is embedded with tracking devices that monitor your heart rate overnight and during restful parts of the day to give you insight into your autonomic nervous system activity.

Each morning, the ring summarizes this data into three numbers that are displayed in the accompanying app, which should help you make decisions during the day for better health.

Pros
  • Classy, discrete ring designs at a variety of price points
  • Simple app, but lots of data
  • Battery should last a week
  • Value of insight increases the longer you wear it
Cons
  • The ring might be easily scratched
  • Not recommended for use at the gym
  • Some customer complaints that it stopped working after a few months
  • Your daily report might negatively impact your mood and stop you from performing your best

Features

The Oura ring works to measure your resting heart rate while you sleep and during quiet parts of the day. It does so by detecting changes in your Blood Pulse Volume (PPG) through two infrared LEDs that monitor the arteries on the finger.

It also contains NTC temperature sensors, a gyroscope, and an accelerometer that capture continuous measurements like your heart rate, step count, temperature, and more.

The ring works with mobile devices that run iOS 11.0 or later or Android 6.0 or later (see if your device is compatible here). Pairing it with the accompanying app is essential, as there isn’t any other way to monitor your health data.

It’s best to wear the ring while sleeping, at which point it will register your body temperature reading every minute. It tracks your body temperature changes over time to give you a sense of your personal baseline and when you’re deviating from it.

The Oura ring connects to your phone through Bluetooth, though you only need to have it connect when you want a data update. The ring can store data for up to six weeks without syncing with the app.

It is made from lightweight titanium and is water-resistant to 100 meters. You can expect it to last up to a week per charge.

Though the ring’s material is designed for durability, some users noted that it developed light, hairline scratches after a few weeks of use. The sensors should stay safe, as your finger protects them while you wear it.

Even so, Oura recommends against wearing the ring while weight lifting or during other activities that put it in contact with metal that could scratch it.

We talked to Monisha Bhanote, a triple board-certified physician, who had been wearing the Oura ring for about six weeks. She shared with us that she loved the ring’s design and how unobtrusive it was to wear while working, but what sold her on it was the extensive valuable information she received while wearing it.

Specifically, she appreciated how the app’s readiness rating gave her information about how her body was handling stress. It helped her know whether she was putting herself at risk of cardiovascular disease or anxiety and depression and whether she needed to take time to practice mindfulness techniques like meditation.

“I would recommend OURA for personal tracking as it gives you very insightful information,” she shared. “It is a little bit more on the pricier end of trackers, but it also has a very easy to use app, requires no plugging in, and is very simple to use, with lots of data points.”

Understanding Your Daily Scores

Every day, the Oura ring will give you three scores related to your sleep, readiness, and activity. The readiness score will be displayed when you first open the app, and you can swipe to see the other score right after.

Sleep

The Oura ring gives you insight into your sleep quality by sharing data about your deep, REM, and light sleep percentages, as well as how quickly you fell asleep and what your heart rate did over time. These are factored together to give you a sleep score out of 100.

Along with this number, the app will share your total sleep time, the percentage of time you spent asleep after going to bed, whether you were peaceful or restless while sleeping, and how long it took you to fall asleep initially. It will also suggest optimal times for going to bed to improve your rating going forward.

Readiness

The Oura ring will access your sleep, activity, and recovery information to give you a number calculated out of 100 that indicates how hard you can push yourself that day.

It looks at your resting heart rate throughout the night to see if you’re getting in enough recovery, measures your heart rate variability to monitor your stress levels, and assesses how your activity levels over several days have affected your current energy level.

A high number means that it’s a great day to put in a killer workout, while a lower number is an indication that you might want to take it easy.

Activity

Your daily activity ranking looks at your short and long term trends to give you insight on your movement levels.

By monitoring your step account, recovery time, and training frequency, it can provide you with feedback on whether you’re ready to kick things up a notch or if it’s time to take things slower.

Pricing and Return Policy

Oura currently sells two styles of ring, both of which have the same technological capabilities. You can choose between the Balance style, which is a smooth ring with a slight crest at the top, or the Heritage design, which is a smooth ring with a flat top.

Both come in a variety of color options and price points, ranging from $299 for standard models to $999 for a Balance ring inlaid with diamonds.

To ensure you get the right ring fit, Oura suggests that you request a free ring sizing kit. This kit includes eight ring sizers (size 6-13), and you are meant to wear your preferred size for at least 24 hours to ensure it works. It’s your choice which finger you want to use.

Once you know your size, you can order the appropriate ring. Expect to pay about $15 for shipping.

Oura allows you to return any fully functional Oura product within 30 days of receiving it for any reason, though shipping fees won’t be refunded.

Analysis of Customer Reviews

18 customers have left reviews for the Oura Ring on our site, for the average rating of 2.3 stars. The app fairs better on Google Play, where it averages 4.1 stars after close to 1,500 reviews. Below are the main takeaways.

Common Compliments:

  • Detailed daily records
  • An excellent way to track energy levels
  • Customer service was quick to address issues
  • Accurate sleep tracking
  • Sizing kit made it easy to order the right ring size
  • Accurately predicted when some users were getting sick, told them to make it easy a few days beforehand

Common Complaints:

  • Some customers never received their orders
  • Cheap quality, only worked when paired with a phone
  • Some users got locked out of their accounts with password difficulties
  • Rings worked okay for six months before breaking
  • Some users found the readiness scores discouraging (if they felt great but got a low score, then they felt less motivated to exercise as planned)

Oura Ring vs. Fitbit

If you’re interested in the Oura ring, odds are you’ve considered Fitbit, the most popular wellness tracker on the market.

Fitbit is worn as a watch rather than a ring. The brand offers a variety of designs, but all include a screen that will display basic information at a minimum about your health stats.

Many people like this because it means they don’t need to check the app for data continuously, but it also means that it’s more obvious to everyone else you’re wearing a fitness tracker. And while it’s normal to wear multiple rings, expect to get some strange looks if you wear two watches.

Second, these devices serve slightly different functions. Fitbit emphasizes activity tracking, as most models include multiple activity modes and include GPSs. Oura, in contrast, is focusing on your sleep quality and the way it relates to your overall wellbeing.

While the Oura ring contains more sensors than Fitbit, it’s not as versatile for activity tracking for the simple reason that you shouldn’t wear it for most gym activities like lifting or contact sports. However, the ring can track your body temperature, which is a valuable indicator of your overall wellness level.

Fitbit watches range from $70 to $200. That’s a savings compared to Oura, which starts at $300.

Overall, your decision between these two may come down to data accessibility vs unobtrusiveness. If you want a device you can wear all day or night without thinking about it, Oura will quietly monitor your stats in the background.

If you prefer a device you can interact with in real-time, then a Fitbit will give you all the data you desire right on your wrist.

The Bottom Line

The Oura ring offers a novel approach to wellness tracking with a discrete design, relatively long battery life, and feature-rich app. It can give you lots of insight into your sleep levels and should help you know when it’s time to slow down for your physical and mental health.

However, it’s not without limitations. The ring is more expensive than competitor Fitbit, and it’s comparatively limited in functionality because you can’t use it for all workouts. There are also some user complaints about cheap material and short lifespan.

It’s also important not to read too much into the data you get from wellness trackers. They’re giving you only their best guess on your health and are clearly missing cues that you or your doctor are likely to notice.

If you feel great and want to go hard at the gym, but the ring tells you to take it easy, we suggest going with your gut over this algorithm,

Overall, the Oura ring makes sense for anyone who wants a relatively fashionable way to collect more data about their habits.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of Oura Ring:
  • 18 Customer Reviews
  • 28% Recommend This Product
2.3 out of 5
5 star: 22% 4 star: 5% 3 star: 5% 2 star: 16% 1 star: 50%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Scam

    • By Kelly C.,
    • Portland, OR,
    • Nov 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My husband ordered this ring over a month ago and DHL delivery service said it was delivered, but my husband never received his ring! You would think that Oura would deliver another one...but no! 300 dollars down the drain. If you order this ring, you may not get it and the company will do nothing!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Trash product

    • By Peter M.,
    • Home,
    • Jul 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Ring arrived today.

    Have downloaded the app to my phone, however, Google will not allow you to use the app without first signing up with them. I have no intention of signing up to anything by this corrupt organization.

    Unfortunately, Oura does not provide the app on their website. Without the app, this product is completely useless as there is no way to retrieve the data.

    It is not possible to contact Oura as they do not provide telephone support. I have e-mailed them but from what I have read there is little chance that they will reply.

    £350 wasted on a useless piece of plastic junk!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not buy

    • By D W.,
    • United Kingdom,
    • Jun 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Bought the silver ring, but when it arrived, it looked nothing like the picture. It looks like a tin foil plastic toy ring. You also have to have location on your phone all of the time to use it.

    I have tried sending it back but they are ignoring my emails.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible customer service

    • By Jim K.,
    • New York, NY,
    • Apr 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My ring stopped syncing with the app. Following the troubleshooting directions, I downloaded the app again. When entering the PW I recalled, I got a "wrong PW" message and taken to a page which says that they will do a PW reset by entering your email. No PW reset email; no response from tech or general support after multiple attempts to reach them.

    I am not losing any sleep over this, but if I was, I certainly would not be able to track it with the Oura Ring.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not ready for market

    • By Anthony W.,
    • Albuquerque, NM,
    • Apr 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Have now had two rings and had numerous issues with both. The concept and design of the ring are fantastic, too bad the end result is so frustrating. The first ring seemed to work OK for about 6 months. I did have a few days of problems setting it up to sync at first. The data recovered was somewhat adequate (I am also using a Samsung watch, and a Fitbit for comparison). The OURA Bluetooth failed at about the 6-month mark. OURA service had me go through a month of trying different fixes, including banging it on the counter. OURA didn't seem to get it when I explained that seven different Bluetooth devices didn't detect the ring. OURA finally sent me a replacement ring, but it won't transfer data and is only detectable randomly. I really feel this product isn't ready for market.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Updated review

    Update

    • By Dennis L.,
    • New Mexico,
    • Feb 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    After nearly three weeks, customer support finally got back to me with useful information and the Ring is working again. I still love all of the analytics the ring gives, but the long wait for a solution to an apparent widespread problem keeps me from recommending.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • Feb 19, 2019

    It's great...while it works.

    I received my ring and started using it right away. The information gathered was very useful. I began relying upon it for recovery and training and then one day, two months or so after receiving the ring, it stopped communicating with my phone. It appears the ring's Bluetooth stopped working. Oura has failed to respond to my requests, except to send a message that they are receiving more requests than normal, so it'll be a few days before they respond. Tomorrow will be two weeks with a non-functioning ring with no help from the manufacturer.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Ring kaput, company MIA

    • By Lia K.,
    • Victor, ID,
    • Feb 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered the ring in September, arrived in December (I was patient with this).

    It would not charge. I reached tech support a few days later. Charged, worked for one week, stopped working. Would not connect to the app.

    No response from tech support for 3 WEEKS.

    Then, reconnecting and working for four days until failing again. All data lost.

    No response from the company, still several more weeks later.

    Patience gone; contesting fee through credit card. I really wanted this to work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Paid in full on 8/4/2018, still no ring on 12/20/18.

    • By Patricia H.,
    • North Carolina,
    • Jan 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    When I bought the ring through PayPal on 8/4/18, my anticipated shipping date was 9/30/18. Halfway through September, the date was revised to 10/30/18, and halfway through October, it was revised to 11/30/18. On December 1st, I got an email announcing that my anticipated shipping date was yesterday, and 13% of the units in my group had already been shipped, which made no sense. When I contacted Oura on December 1st, they told me that a "realistic" shipping date was 1/4/19.

    At that point, I filed a complaint through PayPal, because my option to receive a refund through PayPal expires at six months. Pekka replied to my email and said that my PayPal complaint had put my order on hold. He asked me to cancel my dispute. On reading PayPal's dispute terms, I discovered that if I canceled my dispute, I could not later file another dispute for not receiving the item. So naturally, I asked him to address my PayPal dispute through PayPal. He did not respond that email, nor did he respond through PayPal to my dispute.

    Two weeks later, on 12/20/18, PayPal refunded my $264. At that point, Pekka sent me an email stating, "Unfortunately, PayPal decided in your favor."

    So in short, I gave Oura an interest-free loan of $264 for 4 and 1/2 months.

    I believe this is the sort of behavior one might expect from a company that is either (a) shady, or (b) foundering.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Friendly, quick customer service

    • By James L.,
    • Nov 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I had a totally different customer service experience compared with one of the other reviewers here. I sent a note to Oura about an existing order on the weekend and responsiveness was very good (mostly from Mia). I decided to change my ring type (from Heritage Black to Heritage Stealth) but had several back and forth exchanges asking questions first. Below are the date/time stamps from the conversation (US, Central Time).

    I am sorry that my fellow Texan in Dallas had a poor experience two quarters ago, but perhaps Oura received the feedback and took action or otherwise is more consistently offering good customer service. I am grateful and very pleased so far and just want to offer this example as another data point for others considering a purchase (I don't usually provide feedback in forums like this, but there was such a contrast in my experience I wanted to help others know that things have turned out well in this case).

    Thanks.

    - Sunday, October 28, 2018 at 02:42 PM (my initial question).

    - Sunday, October 28, 2018 at 02:42 PM (autoresponder indicating someone would get back to me soon and included links to some related frequently asked questions).

    - Monday, October 29, 2018 at 06:57 AM (Mia’s response to my question).

    - Monday, October 29, 2018 at 07:03 AM (further question from me).

    - Monday, October 29, 2018 at 07:16 AM (Mia’s response to my question).

    - Monday, October 29, 2018 at 07:27 AM (further question from me).

    - Monday, October 29, 2018 at 07:36 AM (Mia’s response to my question).

    - Monday, October 29, 2018 at 07:40 AM (further question from me and request to process change/invoice).

    - Monday, October 29, 2018 at 7:51 AM (Mia’s response indicating my PayPal invoice process started).

    - Monday, October 29, 2018 at 4:11 PM (question from me on expected timing to receive the invoice).

    - Tuesday, October 30, 2018 at 6:31 AM (Mia’s response indicating the PayPal invoice was sent).

    - Tuesday, October 30, 2018 at 6:32 AM (PayPal invoice received).

    - Tuesday, October 30, 2018 at 6:34 AM (PayPal invoice paid).

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Pathetic customer service

    • By Robert M.,
    • Dallas, TX,
    • Jun 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Buyer beware. Customer service is atrocious and non-responsive. I placed an order for a black ring and later wanted to change it to silver. Not a hard request. I sent notes per the email order confirmation to both their order and service email addresses. Numerous attempts - NOT ONE SINGLE response. Yes, I checked my junk mail. They just go radio silent. IF this is customer service for someone trying to buy the ring, buyer beware of afterward, if you need support.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Best tool yet

    • By Dean Hawker,
    • Seattle, WA,
    • Jan 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been using the Oura Ring for about nine months now, and I highly recommend it. It has been amazingly accurate and has provided great insights regarding my sleep quality and readiness for the next day's workout(s).

    I found that being able to add activities and intensity has really helped with the accuracy of the day's overall activities.

    The HRV data has been one of the best metrics in my mind for readiness, but all the data has been both consistent and useful.

    I did have an issue with battery life at one point. I contacted Oura, they looked at my data (that is synced with the Oura Cloud), and they determined that my power consumption was high and promptly sent out a new ring.

    I use the ring during cross-training, running, weightlifting (even deadlifting), yoga, rowing, and cycling. I haven't had any issues with cracking, durability or discomfort.

    I have already pre-ordered the new style ring and can't wait to get it. It has been by far the best fitness/ self-quantification tool I have tried. And I have tried many of them.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 18

Write a Review for Oura Ring!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Oura Ring Review