About Kokoon Headphones

By HighYa Staff

In the US alone, about 40 million people suffer from a chronic sleep disorder, and another 20 million experience occasional sleep problems. To address this problem, we often employ a variety of techniques, including medication, adjusting different lifestyle factors, changing our sleep environment, and more. But can headphones help?

Enter Kokoon Headphones. These “re-imagined headphones from the ground up” are specifically designed to help you relax, improve the quality of your sleep, remove disruptions, and protect regenerative deep sleep—anytime and anywhere—by featuring:

  • Patented FlexMould comfort technology that keeps them cool and comfortable, even in bed
  • Active and passive noise cancelation
  • Built-in EEG sensors
  • Bluetooth 4.0 connectivity with companion app
  • Audio that automatically adjusts to your sleep level
  • An intelligent alarm so you can always wake recharged and refreshed

Maybe you’ve tried noise-canceling headphones before, and only achieved minimal results. Or, perhaps this is your first time considering headphones in your battle against sleep disorders. Whatever the case may be, you’re here to learn more about Kokoon Headphones, what you can expect, and whether or not they’re worth the money.

Let’s begin with all the different technologies you’ll find in Kokoon Headphones.

Kokoon Headphones: A Lot Of Tech In a Little Package

Kokoon jam-packed their headphones with a lot of new technology, so they seem to defy any hard-and-fast classification. However, they most closely fit with noise-canceling headphones, since they feature three layers of noise protection (ANC, Isolation and Active White Noise).

Kokoon’s EEG Brainwave Sensors & App Connectivity

For the latter, Kokoon developed their own miniaturized dry EEG sensors that sit discreetly within the headphones and actively track how deeply you’re sleeping, and then adjust your audio to help block out external noises. These sensors also send “clinical grade” data to Kokoon’s Android and iOS smartphone apps via Bluetooth 4.0, which can give you a great deal of insight into your sleep and relaxation as it learns the best techniques for you.

These sensors also make use of an intelligent alarm that identifies the perfect time to wake you, making sure you’re alert and refreshed.

Through Kokoon’s audio relaxation library, you’ll even have access to other apps that provide help with polyphasic sleeping, binaural beats, lucid dreaming, meditation, and more.

Kokoon’s FlexMould Technology

Because Kokoon Headphones are targeted at helping you relax and sleep, the company wanted to make sure they were as comfortable as possible.

To accomplish this, Kokoon took “inspiration from high-tech pillows and sport shoe technology” and developed their patented FlexMould Comfort System, which spreads pressure away from sensitive areas and increases comfort. It also allows the headphone’s electronics to be placed in the headband, which maintains a low profile and follows “the natural shape and characteristics of the head in bed.”

Finally, Kokoon developed their GoolGel cushioning airflow system to prevent your headphones from getting hot and sweaty, while still maintaining an acoustic seal.

Combining this system with Kokoon’s soft molding body, 4,000ct Egyptian cotton, washable covers, and organic leather outer covering means that they are, “in essence an extra pillow for your ears.”

Other Kokoon Headphone Features

Although they might be focused on helping you relax and sleep, Kokoon headphones feature a 3.5mm jack, a built-in microphone with call control and hands-free capability, and use the great-sounding aptX® codec, so they’ll work great as everyday headphones as well.

When you’re traveling, Kokoon Headphones pack down to the size of a book, and can provide continuous playback for up to 11 hours on a single charge. And unlike a lot of other new tech, these headphones feature a replaceable battery when the time comes!

How much will all these technologies cost you?

Kokoon’s Pricing & Expected Ship Date

Kokoon Headphones are available in light grey and dark grey. If purchased directly through the Kokoon website, you’ll pay:

  • 1 Pair: $229
  • Couples Package (2 pairs): $409

However, at the time of our research, there were still a few packages available on Kokoon’s Kickstarter page (more about this in a second), although most had limited quantity remaining.

Regardless of which site you order through, each pair of Kokoon Headphones will come with:

  • Leather travel case
  • USB charging cable
  • Optional audio lead
  • Kokoon sleep mask
  • Good sleep guide
  • User manual

When can you expect your Kokoon Headphones? As of this writing, it’ll be “late 2016” before you have your hands on a pair. Why do you have to wait so long? Let’s answer this in the next section.

What’s Everyone Saying About Kokoon Headphones?

When Kokoon originally launched their July 2015 Kickstarter campaign, they had a goal of $100,000. Fast-forward to today and the campaign’s raked in nearly $2 million with close to 8,500 individual backers.

With growth like that, Kokoon has definitely garnered a ton of media attention by the likes of Wired, Venture Beat, Digital Trends, Gizmag, and many more. As you might imagine though, these are all high-level writeups without any first-hand feedback from actually testing the product.

Originally, Kokoon Headphones were slated to be shipped to early backers at the beginning of the year, although this has since been pushed back to September, as the company wants to create a more market-ready product, considering the huge number of backers. Mass manufactured models now won’t be released until the end of 2016.

This is something that comes with the territory of new tech (especially ones funded through crowdfunding campaigns), and sometimes—as seems to be the case with Coin Credit Card, TrackR, and Vessyl—long delays occur, products don’t meet expectations, or sometimes these companies just seem to fall off the face of the earth.

Given Kokoon’s partnership with Onkyo, along with the company’s frequent video updates about why these delays occur, we definitely don’t think they’re a scam. But does this necessarily mean you should buy them?

Will Kokoon Headphones Envelop You In Relaxation & Sleep?

There are literally dozens of causes of poor sleep, from medical conditions and excess stress, to improper bedding and snoring. Add to this that, even among those who suffer from the same sleep disorder, what works perfectly for one person might not work at all for another.

Given this, we think it’s best to talk with your doctor before handing over your hard-earned money for Kokoon Headphones, or any other product that assists with sleep. Especially pricey ones.

Will you be able to relax and sleep better with Kokoon Headphones? Will you find them comfortable? Will they be useful for napping (such as on an airplane), as well as for full-on nighttime sleeping? There are a whole lot of factors that leave these answers up in the air, and we’ll just have to wait until the end of the year to see what kind of feedback appears from customers.

We will say this, though; if your lack of sleep stems from ambient noise, then Kokoon’s triple layer noise protection might be right up your alley. Just remember two things:

  1. There are dozens of other noise canceling headphones out there, many of which could be available locally and priced a lot lower. Obviously, they won’t feature Kokoon’s low-profile design though, so they might not be idea for sleeping.
  2. As we mentioned with several other sleep-related products we’ve reviewed (e.g. Sleep Cycle Alarm Clock, Sense Smart Alarm, and ResMed S+), despite all the detailed information they can provide, how much use will it be? In other words, sure, it could provide you a great deal of insight into your sleep patterns, but the information itself won’t improve your sleep. Again, we’ll have to wait to see if this is the case with Kokoon.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 37 Kokoon Headphones Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 3.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 18 4 star: 3 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  15
Bottom Line: 57% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 37
Sort reviews by:

  • Sleep headphones

    • Italy,
    • Apr 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Headphones are good for sleep. Comfortable and not too hot even after a long time. The mobile app is good but sleep tracking not ready yet. I recommend Kokoon if you have problems with sleep!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Completely incompetent company

    • Scottsdale, AZ,
    • Apr 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was one of the first seven hundred purchasers and I am still waiting for my delivery. I continue to get empty promises from the company on delivery and I always need to correct them or inform them of my address and order number. Horrible organization, and I have my doubts the product will be any better than the customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    UPDATE

    • Australia,
    • Mar 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Kokoon has relented and will now refund me on both sets and must have added more support staff because I'm getting replies from about 3-4 different people on the following day after I send them an email. It's a nightmare to try and work out what is going on though. Now I am waiting for a return voucher.

    Be aware that the following items need to be included in order to be refunded.

    - Headphones

    - Carry Case

    - Green Kokoon box

    - Eye Mask

    - Micro USB charging cable

    - Audio cable

    - Manual

    - Safety Instructions

    - Welcome Card

    Make sure you keep everything if you want a refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 25, 2019

      Rita D.

      UPDATE: Kokoon have relented and will refund for both headphones and they have put on more staff to deal with support issues so at least the emails are getting a faster response. But OMG the emails. I'm up to 20 emails. They provide information a bit at a time rather than provide information.

      Also, be aware that this is what they want returned in order to refund, so make sure the headphones work as intended before tossing any of it:

      - Headphones

      - Carry Case

      - Green Kokoon box

      - Eye Mask

      - Micro-USB charging cable

      - Audio cable

      - Manual

      - Safety Instructions

      - Welcome Card

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Mar 23, 2019

    Less than stellar headphones

    I received my headphones early in February 2019 and I must say that I'm not happy. I was not part of the Kickstarter campaign but I purchased on preorder in December 2015.

    The Bluetooth connection skips and cuts out momentarily. It does this often enough to be annoying. This just should not be happening. Even cheap headphones perform better in this regard. I thought it might be a low battery issue, but it happens on full charge as well.

    The second problem I have is that if I tip my head back, look up or lie on my back while listening, the headphones fall off my head backwards. The company recommends that you lie on your back if you are wearing them in bed and again, none of my other headphones do this. The Kokoon Headphones are very heavy and a loose fit.

    The third issue I have is that I asked for two black headphones and I received one black and one grey. I can't prove what I asked for so they won't replace or take them back even though it was their mistake.

    Further, Kokoon is taking a week or so to reply to each email. This is just not good enough. We might as well be sending letters to each other via post, not email. The whole exchange of trying to claim a refund is taking months to resolve.

    Since my husband is overseas and was not at home to open and try his headphones, I opened the box later, once I found a problem with my pair and decided I needed to try them also. I have an issue with that pair also. The sound pops when transmission first starts and ends. In this case, they are saying that it's a known issue that will be fixed in the future. I'm just wondering how long that will take since I've had these headphones on preorder for over 3 years.

    Kokoon has refused a refund on this second fault because I notified them outside of the 14-day period, it was 20 days. It appears they are not honoring any warranty period on the headphones other than the 14 days. I was in an email exchange with them where they are taking a week to reply and they did not give me an opportunity to try the second pair of headphones.

    Interestingly, when I described my problems, they asked me if I was using the headphones with other Bluetooth devices. I was not, but if this is an issue, my husband uses an Apple Watch. I didn't receive a reply when I asked if this is going to be an issue.

    In addition, if you do fall asleep with them on, they override the alarm and you don't hear it to wake up. Also, if you have any phone calls coming through, voice won't come through the headphones. Luckily, the noise cancellation is poor so you can at least hear your phone ringing.

    There is no volume control on the set which means that you can't control the sound of appliances that don't have an app or app sound volume control.

    Battery life is not good either. The charge does not last through the night.

    The cords that were provided are too short.

    The presentation and boxing are great, but I don't listen to music with the box or case.

    Please don't buy these headphones. The sound is mediocre. The noise canceling is mediocre. The fit of the headphones is poor. The response to email is less than ideal. Save yourself some heartache, save a bit more money and buy from another brand. The Kokoon Headphones don't do anything that you can't do with a mindfulness app for free and your own headphones.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Questionable

    • Australia,
    • Mar 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I can’t review the earphones as I haven’t received them yet even though have been promised since January. On the site they are still advertising that they will be shipped if ordered now, yet I ordered mine in September! I really question the ethics and honesty of the company, which makes me question their claims. I wouldn’t recommend on the basis of extremely poor communication and reliability.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Really bad noice cancellation and bad sound quality

    • Copenhagen, Denmark,
    • Mar 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I finally received my Kokoon Headphones. Yes, they are comfortable to wear. That is the positive thing to say.

    Noice cancellation is really bad. The white-noise is easy to hear and does not block sound well. I have a new SONY headphone and the noise cancellation are between the two are not comparable.

    The sound is also a laking quality.

    I can't recommend this to others unless you just need headphones to sleep with.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Beware of these scam artist!

    • Fort Myers, FL,
    • Mar 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It was with great anticipation that I received my headset, and once opened, I found a discount and decided to purchase two more sets as I never even questioned their performance from all the hype. The first night I used them I awoke and went for a walk and halfway into the walk the battery died and I had properly charged them for 12 hours on the initial charge. I wrote the company and they responded immediately stating that they were designed for 12 hours worth of performance (my Bose can go multiple days). I wrote back immediately and asked that they send a new set that they tested before shipping to make sure that once you fall asleep the headset turns off, which is one of their sales claims. Today, I have now written them three additional times asking for help, today I demanded a refund as stated in their sales policy!

    I believe this company, because they are offshore in England, believes that they can prey on Americans with substandard products and then ignore the request for refunds. I would avoid this company at all cost; they are unworthy of anyone's patronizing as they do not provide professional and honest customer service, they are a scam artist and all the world should now. The product is covered in a grey cloth as well as the case, and it is not leather as promised, and it will not take long before you have a dirty filthy headset in your bed and on your pillow. The speakers at higher volumes crack and cannot handle the music for your mobile phone.

    Simply this product is just plain crap! Do not buy unless you like throwing your money away and you should warn your bed mate that you will be transmitting a dirty filthy bacteria host to your bed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Love them!

    • London, United Kingdom,
    • Mar 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Just what I needed! Blocks out the other half’s snoring like a charm and I can listen to audiobooks before I sleep now. Probably the most comfortable headphones I’ve ever used, and I really like the fabric covering.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Subpar audio

    • Illinois,
    • Mar 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It took over three years to receive my Kokoon headphones after backing it on Kickstarter. I finally got them a couple of weeks ago and the audio quality is not very good. The finished product also looked like an advanced prototype. I'll be buying the Bose or Sony noise canceling headphones instead. Unless you are really going to use them to help you sleep, I'd suggest you pass.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great headphones

    • New South Wales, Australia,
    • Mar 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Easily the best set of headphones I've ever owned. Very comfortable on long haul flights both for watching movies and using the sleep app. Good noise cancellation.

    Like every smart tech startup, they've had some challenges with bugs and manufacturing, but the end result is great and likely only going to get better.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Worth the wait

    • London, England,
    • Feb 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    They may have taken a long time to come, but man are they worth it. Amazing build quality and by far the most comfortable headphones ever. I actually do sleep in them. Very positively surprised.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Great headphones for relaxing, travel and sleep

    • United Kingdom,
    • Jan 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I recently received my Kokoon Headphones. As others have mentioned, this took some time, but I'd prefer to wait and to have a good product.

    I'm thrilled with them as I've been looking for some time for good quality headphones for regular airline travel, general relaxation, and meditation. They're great - good quality and come in a nice protective cover with the necessary connections and an eye mask.

    I'm starting to use the app a lot. For now, I'm using the relaxing sounds while I'm working or in say a busy cafe. They haven't yet fully developed the sleep software and analysis as far as I can see, but Kokoon has said that this is coming. Personally, I don't suffer from sleep issues, but if you do, I'm pretty sure this area of the app will be a game changer for you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 37

Write a Review for Kokoon Headphones!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review