About Kokoon Headphones

In the US alone, about 40 million people suffer from a chronic sleep disorder, and another 20 million experience occasional sleep problems. To address this problem, we often employ a variety of techniques, including medication, adjusting different lifestyle factors, changing our sleep environment, and more. But can headphones help?

Enter Kokoon Headphones. These “re-imagined headphones from the ground up” are specifically designed to help you relax, improve the quality of your sleep, remove disruptions, and protect regenerative deep sleep—anytime and anywhere—by featuring:

  • Patented FlexMould comfort technology that keeps them cool and comfortable, even in bed
  • Active and passive noise cancelation
  • Built-in EEG sensors
  • Bluetooth 4.0 connectivity with companion app
  • Audio that automatically adjusts to your sleep level
  • An intelligent alarm so you can always wake recharged and refreshed

Maybe you’ve tried noise-canceling headphones before, and only achieved minimal results. Or, perhaps this is your first time considering headphones in your battle against sleep disorders. Whatever the case may be, you’re here to learn more about Kokoon Headphones, what you can expect, and whether or not they’re worth the money.

Let’s begin with all the different technologies you’ll find in Kokoon Headphones.

Kokoon Headphones: A Lot Of Tech In a Little Package

Kokoon jam-packed their headphones with a lot of new technology, so they seem to defy any hard-and-fast classification. However, they most closely fit with noise-canceling headphones, since they feature three layers of noise protection (ANC, Isolation and Active White Noise).

Kokoon’s EEG Brainwave Sensors & App Connectivity

For the latter, Kokoon developed their own miniaturized dry EEG sensors that sit discreetly within the headphones and actively track how deeply you’re sleeping, and then adjust your audio to help block out external noises. These sensors also send “clinical grade” data to Kokoon’s Android and iOS smartphone apps via Bluetooth 4.0, which can give you a great deal of insight into your sleep and relaxation as it learns the best techniques for you.

These sensors also make use of an intelligent alarm that identifies the perfect time to wake you, making sure you’re alert and refreshed.

Through Kokoon’s audio relaxation library, you’ll even have access to other apps that provide help with polyphasic sleeping, binaural beats, lucid dreaming, meditation, and more.

Kokoon’s FlexMould Technology

Because Kokoon Headphones are targeted at helping you relax and sleep, the company wanted to make sure they were as comfortable as possible.

To accomplish this, Kokoon took “inspiration from high-tech pillows and sport shoe technology” and developed their patented FlexMould Comfort System, which spreads pressure away from sensitive areas and increases comfort. It also allows the headphone’s electronics to be placed in the headband, which maintains a low profile and follows “the natural shape and characteristics of the head in bed.”

Finally, Kokoon developed their GoolGel cushioning airflow system to prevent your headphones from getting hot and sweaty, while still maintaining an acoustic seal.

Combining this system with Kokoon’s soft molding body, 4,000ct Egyptian cotton, washable covers, and organic leather outer covering means that they are, “in essence an extra pillow for your ears.”

Other Kokoon Headphone Features

Although they might be focused on helping you relax and sleep, Kokoon headphones feature a 3.5mm jack, a built-in microphone with call control and hands-free capability, and use the great-sounding aptX® codec, so they’ll work great as everyday headphones as well.

When you’re traveling, Kokoon Headphones pack down to the size of a book, and can provide continuous playback for up to 11 hours on a single charge. And unlike a lot of other new tech, these headphones feature a replaceable battery when the time comes!

How much will all these technologies cost you?

Kokoon’s Pricing & Expected Ship Date

Kokoon Headphones are available in light grey and dark grey. If purchased directly through the Kokoon website, you’ll pay:

  • 1 Pair: $229
  • Couples Package (2 pairs): $409

However, at the time of our research, there were still a few packages available on Kokoon’s Kickstarter page (more about this in a second), although most had limited quantity remaining.

Regardless of which site you order through, each pair of Kokoon Headphones will come with:

  • Leather travel case
  • USB charging cable
  • Optional audio lead
  • Kokoon sleep mask
  • Good sleep guide
  • User manual

When can you expect your Kokoon Headphones? As of this writing, it’ll be “late 2016” before you have your hands on a pair. Why do you have to wait so long? Let’s answer this in the next section.

What’s Everyone Saying About Kokoon Headphones?

When Kokoon originally launched their July 2015 Kickstarter campaign, they had a goal of $100,000. Fast-forward to today and the campaign’s raked in nearly $2 million with close to 8,500 individual backers.

With growth like that, Kokoon has definitely garnered a ton of media attention by the likes of Wired, Venture Beat, Digital Trends, Gizmag, and many more. As you might imagine though, these are all high-level writeups without any first-hand feedback from actually testing the product.

Originally, Kokoon Headphones were slated to be shipped to early backers at the beginning of the year, although this has since been pushed back to September, as the company wants to create a more market-ready product, considering the huge number of backers. Mass manufactured models now won’t be released until the end of 2016.

This is something that comes with the territory of new tech (especially ones funded through crowdfunding campaigns), and sometimes—as seems to be the case with Coin Credit Card, TrackR, and Vessyl—long delays occur, products don’t meet expectations, or sometimes these companies just seem to fall off the face of the earth.

Given Kokoon’s partnership with Onkyo, along with the company’s frequent video updates about why these delays occur, we definitely don’t think they’re a scam. But does this necessarily mean you should buy them?

Will Kokoon Headphones Envelop You In Relaxation & Sleep?

There are literally dozens of causes of poor sleep, from medical conditions and excess stress, to improper bedding and snoring. Add to this that, even among those who suffer from the same sleep disorder, what works perfectly for one person might not work at all for another.

Given this, we think it’s best to talk with your doctor before handing over your hard-earned money for Kokoon Headphones, or any other product that assists with sleep. Especially pricey ones.

Will you be able to relax and sleep better with Kokoon Headphones? Will you find them comfortable? Will they be useful for napping (such as on an airplane), as well as for full-on nighttime sleeping? There are a whole lot of factors that leave these answers up in the air, and we’ll just have to wait until the end of the year to see what kind of feedback appears from customers.

We will say this, though; if your lack of sleep stems from ambient noise, then Kokoon’s triple layer noise protection might be right up your alley. Just remember two things:

  1. There are dozens of other noise canceling headphones out there, many of which could be available locally and priced a lot lower. Obviously, they won’t feature Kokoon’s low-profile design though, so they might not be idea for sleeping.
  2. As we mentioned with several other sleep-related products we’ve reviewed (e.g. Sleep Cycle Alarm Clock, Sense Smart Alarm, and ResMed S+), despite all the detailed information they can provide, how much use will it be? In other words, sure, it could provide you a great deal of insight into your sleep patterns, but the information itself won’t improve your sleep. Again, we’ll have to wait to see if this is the case with Kokoon.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

20 Consumer Reviews for Kokoon Headphones

Average Consumer Rating: 3.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 10 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  9
Bottom Line: 55% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 20
Sort reviews by:

  • Brilliant in helping me get to sleep

    • London, United Kingdom,
    • Dec 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have real difficulty switching off and getting to sleep, and the Kokoons have worked a charm in helping me achieve this. They block out all outside noise (including snoring partner!), and the meditative soundtrack I used enabled me to disconnect from any distractions, helping me get to sleep more quickly and comfortably.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Fantastic

    • London, United Kingdom,
    • Nov 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been using them for a while now and I'm happy with them. Probably the most comfortable headphones I've used, and I like the fabric texture and weight of them. They took a painfully long time to arrive and the ANC is perhaps not as good as some, but I am happy I stuck with it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Amazing

    • United Kingdom,
    • Nov 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    These headphones have been designed around user needs, they feel wonderful when wearing and are easy to fall asleep in. They have started to make a real difference in my sleep pattern. Well worth it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Breaking them in

    • United Kingdom,
    • Nov 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’m loving the quality of the product. I’ve been using them a week and finally wore them all night.

    Steve’s voice is very hypnotic as he takes you through relaxation techniques.

    The product works!

    I can’t wait to see how it develops to give me a personalized sleep experience.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    After all this time...I’m happy

    • Bristol, United Kingdom,
    • Nov 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Probably my longest wait for a product ever, but now it’s here and all sins are forgiven for me. I brought the product as I travel a lot (often economy for me) and really wanted something that could help ease the pain of all those flights a bit.

    My first impression was positive. It comes in a nice green box with a little note from the team. You get an eye mask, audio cables, charger, and a decent case. The headphone itself is really impressive and feels quality. The first use you have a little animation, which was handy, then you get directed into a kind of onboarding audio coaching. My first home test went well and I managed to pair fine, then had a little explore around the audio tracks finding some good stuff within.

    What really prompted my review was when I used them to travel where they are superb! So much more comfortable with my Beats, and I slept for the first time on a flight in what feels like forever. I would highly recommend these for a frequent traveler; really comfortable and some good audio, which certainly put me out.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Thank god I didn’t go for a refund

    • Kingston, England,
    • Nov 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was literally just about to cancel and ask for a refund when I got my email to tell me it was being delivered!

    I have been waiting for a loooong time, but it’s worth it. They are the most comfortable headphones I’ve ever had, and the sound is amazing.

    I love having them on the tube and just feel in my own little world (even on the Bakerloo line).

    I will update on sleep and the app soon!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Incredibly disappointing

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Nov 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    1. Placed the kickstart order in July 2016 and over two years later, still no headphones.

    2. I emailed Kokoon in July 2018 and received a reply that shipping would occur September 2018. As of mid-November 2018 still no headphones or any communication from Kokoon.

    3. I sent another email November 7, 2018, requesting a refund in light of what has become a two-year interest-free $419 loan.

    4. Nearly a week later, still no reply.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Kokoon Headphones

    • Somerset, England,
    • Nov 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Nice looking product and well made. Very functional and really helped me sleep. I thought they would be itchy after a while, but actually, you hardly know you're wearing them. The app is not hard to work out, even for me! Recommended.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Worth the wait

    • London, England,
    • Nov 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I backed Kokoon on Kickstarter many years ago and they finally arrived. The headphones seem high quality and very comfy. I've used them in bed a few times and they've been great. The app looks like it still needs more work, but I've been using some of the tracks with a voiceover and they are very relaxing.

    Thank you, Kokoon, for finally delivering.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Yaaayyyy, it finally arrived

    • Manchester, United Kingdom,
    • Nov 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Yaaaaaaaaaay. Mine finally arrived! I am loving it; it’s really comfortable.

    The app design could be a bit better, but the content and narrator’s voice are amazing. Does anyone know who the narrator is?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Finally got mine - it's actually great

    • London, United Kingdom,
    • Nov 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Thought I'd add my two cents as mine have (after a long wait) arrived.

    Pros:

    Initially, I was a little skeptical as they are quite big, but upon wearing them, I found them really very comfortable. I've had a quite few nights sleeping in them, and they've been great. I listened to some of the Kokoon content (which is pretty good) and used to listen to an audiobook I've been listening too.

    Cons:

    I don't quite think the ANC is as good as my Bose, but they certainly did a decent enough job for me of blocking out other noises

    Conclusion:

    Well worth the wait. I'm really happy I stuck it out in the end as these are much better than I was expecting. Really useful addition for any frequent listener to audio before bed or to relax.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 8, 2018

      Samuel M.

      Hi Dan

      If I may ask, how are they while sleeping on the side, does the pillow matter? I like to play sounds all night with them. Thanks for your response.

    • Nov 13, 2018

      Dan T.

      Hi Samuel, yes the pillow does matter. If you've got a hard pillow it's not so comfortable, I switched my pillows with my wife's soft one and that made all the difference.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 20

Write a Review for Kokoon Headphones!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review