About Kokoon Headphones

By HighYa Research Team
Updated on: May 14, 2019

In the US alone, about 40 million people suffer from a chronic sleep disorder, and another 20 million experience occasional sleep problems. To address this problem, we often employ a variety of techniques, including medication, adjusting different lifestyle factors, changing our sleep environment, and more. But can headphones help?

Enter Kokoon Headphones. These “re-imagined headphones from the ground up” are specifically designed to help you relax, improve the quality of your sleep, remove disruptions, and protect regenerative deep sleep—anytime and anywhere—by featuring:

  • Patented FlexMould comfort technology that keeps them cool and comfortable, even in bed
  • Active and passive noise cancelation
  • Built-in EEG sensors
  • Bluetooth 4.0 connectivity with companion app
  • Audio that automatically adjusts to your sleep level

Maybe you’ve tried noise-cancelling headphones before and only achieved minimal results. Or, perhaps this is your first-time considering headphones in your battle against sleep disorders. Whatever the case may be, you’re here to learn more about Kokoon Headphones, what you can expect, and whether or not they’re worth the money.

Let’s begin with all the different technologies you’ll find in Kokoon Headphones.

Kokoon Headphones: A Lot Of Tech In a Little Package

Kokoon jam-packed their headphones with a lot of new technology, so they seem to defy any hard-and-fast classification. However, they most closely fit with noise-cancelling headphones, since they feature three layers of noise protection (ANC, Isolation and Active White Noise).

Kokoon’s EEG Brainwave Sensors & App Connectivity

For the latter, Kokoon developed their own miniaturized dry EEG sensors that sit discreetly within the headphones and actively track how deeply you’re sleeping, and then adjust your audio to help block out external noises.

These sensors also send “clinical grade” data to Kokoon’s Android and iOS smartphone apps via Bluetooth 4.0, which can give you a great deal of insight into your sleep and relaxation as it learns the best techniques for you.

Through Kokoon’s audio relaxation library, you’ll even have access to other apps that provide help with polyphasic sleeping, binaural beats, lucid dreaming, meditation, and more.

Kokoon’s FlexMould Technology

Because Kokoon Headphones are targeted at helping you relax and sleep, the company wanted to make sure they were as comfortable as possible.

To accomplish this, Kokoon took “inspiration from high-tech pillows and sport shoe technology” and developed their patented FlexMould Comfort System, which spreads pressure away from sensitive areas and increases comfort.

It also allows the headphone’s electronics to be placed in the headband, which maintains a low profile and follows “the natural shape and characteristics of the head in bed.”

Finally, Kokoon developed their CoolGel cushioning airflow system to prevent your headphones from getting hot and sweaty, while still maintaining an acoustic seal. This CoolGel system allows the headphone’s ear cups to form to the shape of your ears, providing a more comfortable fit, the company said.

Combining this system with Kokoon’s soft molding body, premium fabric covers, and organic leather outer covering means that they are, “in essence an extra pillow for your ears.”

Other Kokoon Headphone Features

Although they might be focused on helping you relax and sleep, Kokoon headphones feature a 3.5mm jack, a built-in microphone with call control and hands-free capability.

When you’re traveling, Kokoon Headphones can provide continuous playback for up to 11 hours with both sleep sensing and noise reduction activated. Also, it when you want to store them, they fold down to fit into the carrying case that comes with the headphones.

Kokoon’s Pricing

Kokoon Headphones are available in light grey and dark grey. If purchased directly through the Kokoon website, you’ll pay:

  • 1 Pair: $299
  • Couples Package (2 pairs): $539

Regardless of which site you order through, each pair of Kokoon Headphones will come with:

  • Travel case
  • USB charging cable
  • Optional audio lead
  • Kokoon sleep mask
  • Good sleep guide
  • User manual

If you aren’t satisfied with your headphones, Kokoon says that you can do a hassle-free, no-cost return if you contact them at support@kokoon.io within 14 days of your purchase and let them know you aren’t satisfied.

Once you confirm with them that you’ll return the headphones, you have 14 days from the day you sent your first email to mail them the headphones.

What’s Everyone Saying About Kokoon Headphones?

At the time of publishing, HighYa readers gave the headphones an average rating of 3.2 stars from 24 reviews.

Many of the recent reviews noted that it took a long time to receive their headphones, but these reviews come in the context of Kokoon’s beginnings as a crowdfunded company on Kickstarter. It took some time for them to ship out their first round of headphones.

That being said, the recent reviews that HighYa readers left about Kokoon are positive, with several reviewers saying Kokoons are the most comfortable headphones they’ve ever worn.

As a result, some users are able to fall asleep better. Here's an example of that:

“These headphones have been designed around user needs, they feel wonderful when wearing and are easy to fall asleep in. They have started to make a real difference in my sleep pattern. Well worth it,” reviewer Rob C. said.

Will Kokoon Headphones Envelop You in Relaxation & Sleep?

Sleep is a tricky thing because the cause of poor sleep can be hard to pin down. Kokoon offers a solution for your sleeping problems through their combination of personalized sleep technology along with form-fitting, sleek headphones.

Based on the reviews we’ve read from HighYa users, the headphones and accompanying technology have been effective in helping people fall asleep. One of the advantages the device offers is that you don’t have to make continuous purchases like you would with over-the-counter sleep aids.

The downside to the headphones is the price point; the $299.99 price tag could be cost-prohibitive. However, if you feel like the price tag is within your budget but you’re skeptical about their effectiveness, you have the ability to test them out and return them if you’re not happy.

Also, take a few minutes to read through our nine tips for improving your sleep. These tips, in combination with your Kokoon headphones, may be able to help you develop positive sleep patterns that improve your rest.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 63 Kokoon Headphones Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 3.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 32 4 star: 4 3 star: 1 2 star: 1 1 star:  25
Bottom Line: 57% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 63
Sort reviews by:

  • Updated review

    Update 8/15/2019

    • New Orleans, LA,
    • Aug 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After writing the review below, Kokoon responded very quickly and sent me an email clarifying the situation. At the moment, Kokoon doesn't have service centers in many countries including the USA and so, until they do, they are covering the shipping charges for headphones returned for repair. This makes me a much more satisfied customer, and so I've upped my star rating.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Previous review
    • Jul 25, 2019

    Good headphones, horrendous warranty

    I got my Kokoons after a bit of a wait and really enjoyed using them. I understand that the app is a work in progress, so I was looking forward to more of the sleep features being enabled over time. In the meantime, I found the headphones themselves good quality and comfortable to wear. The noise cancellation doesn't compare to the level of Bose, but for me, that's a benefit - I find the recent Bose noise cancellation so extreme it almost feels like my ears are in a vacuum.

    So, I was happy with the Kokoons until...taking them off one day, one side snapped. The slide snapped in two, showing a cable within, and rendering the headphones unwearable. I contacted Kokoon to see whether I could get them fixed under warranty, and they sent me some shipping labels. I discovered that they need to be shipped to Ireland (I live in the USA), and that, according to Kokoon's warranty, "Kokoon will not pay shipping, insurance or transportation charges from you to us, or any import fees, duties, and taxes." I checked the shipping charges and the cheapest were $154! So, to get my very new but broken Kokoons fixed under warranty was going to cost a good % of the original price. No thanks!

    Sadly, I'd already ordered two more sets of Kokoons for family (delivery twice delayed already), so I'm now worried they'll be equally prone to snapping without the benefit of a decent warranty.

    • Jul 26, 2019

      Company Response from Kokoon

      Hi. Thanks for your feedback.

      Great to hear you were enjoying your headphones! We're very sorry to hear they have broken.

      Apologies for the confusion here, we do currently arrange returns shipping free of charge for warranty claims. Please contact the team at support@kokoon.io with your details, and they will be happy to help arrange this.

      Best wishes

      Kokoon

    (read moreread less...)

  • These headphones are the bees knees!

    • Aug 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am an awful sleeper and my friend recommended these headphones. At first, I thought it was just another tech fad type product, but I have to say different. The comfort is remarkable, and the complementary app is superb for looking at your sleeping data.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Super comfort and sound

    • United Kingdom,
    • Aug 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Was recommended this product by a friend. Previously always used Bose. Their comfort is second to none and sound quality is perfect. Thoroughly recommend these Kakoon Headphones for both young and old.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • It arrived and I love it!

    • Berkshire, United Kingdom,
    • Aug 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Due to various delays, it took a little while to arrive but now it’s here I’ve got to say I’m pleasantly impressed. It’s very high quality with a lovely weight and they are in a good way the most comfortable headphones I’ve ever worn. I’ve found the smart features cool and the audio for helping with sleep great. I’d recommend this to anyone who regularly uses audio to get to sleep.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Pleasantly surprised!

    • London, England,
    • Aug 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Took a while to get these. But I have been using them every day now. I mainly use them to relax at home. Surprisingly comfortable to wear (probably the longest I have worn a set of headphones!). The app needs more audio but the soundscapes are awesome. My favorite is Ocean Swell! Recommend everyone getting these headphones.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Seems to be a scam

    • Franklin, TN,
    • Aug 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered these headphones in February of 2016. Got monthly updates for a couple of years but have heard nothing for several months. STILL NO HEADPHONES and no response to follow up emails. SAVE YOUR MONEY.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 13, 2019

      Company Response from Kokoon

      Hi Noralee,

      Thanks for your feedback. We've taken a look into this for you and can only sincerely apologize that the team missed your email. Your shipment has been expedited for you and dispatched today, the team has emailed you with your tracking number.

      Best wishes,

      Kokoon


  • Amazing

    • Central London, England,
    • Aug 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Really great product, genuinely helped me improve my sleep dramatically - incredibly surprised and impressed, well worth the money.

    Delivery wasn't like Amazon one-click or next day, but that didn't bother me overly as I'm not ordering a product that I needed immediately, plus the company is fairly new and probably just having some initial teething problems; to be quite honest, I'd rather that they had spent the time on the product anyway. Other than that could not recommend this product any higher.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Great headphones

    • Germany,
    • Aug 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I really like these headphones. The build quality is great, they are very comfortable to wear. They are an exceptional pair of headphones to have on a long flight, both because of noise-canceling and because they are very comfortable to doze off in. The sleep tracking feature is not perfect yet, but the company seems to constantly tweak and improve the software.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Great product

    • York, United Kingdom,
    • Aug 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Great product that really helped my son relax and sleep better, he had not slept well for years but these helped break the cycle. Can also be used as normal headphones as well when listening to music and watching films. Super comfortable and adjustable.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Unique, worth the wait! Good for wellbeing and great sound!

    • London, United Kingdom,
    • Aug 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    There's isn't anything out there quite like these headphones. I was expecting the audio quality to be worse than it was (because audio quality wouldn't be the main reason people would be buying them), but I was pleasantly surprised. There is some decent soundstage in these cans, they have nice equalization with detailed performance and I would happily use them as normal headphones. They definitely have their own audio profile and it's very nice.

    I'm waiting and waiting for the ECG feedback/reports on the app to become available. Note to the company if you are reading, please could you also include an audio recording functionality which is adjustable to be automatic at certain levels. It would be good to record our audio in our sleep to hear any talking etc.

    I think one main criticism would be the battery life. It is shorter than most other headphones but given how these are intended to be used, most people would be charging them for a full nights sleep or for every plane journey anyway.

    Overall they are very comfortable, they do "kokoon" you well! They look good. Having seen both, I think the black looks much better in person (and would show up less dirt/wear and tear then the cream over time). The app is very good so far and more is on the way. For a brand new headphone type from a Kickstarter project, I'm really impressed!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Awesome product

    • United Kingdom,
    • Aug 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Awesome product with great build quality.

    Really helps to keep my sleeping pattern regular and would recommend to friends and family.

    I know people have struggled with delivery but my Kokoon product arrived promptly and with it being a new product/company there has to be some understanding with initial teething problems.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 63

Write a Review for Kokoon Headphones!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review