About Kokoon Headphones

By HighYa Research Team
Updated on: May 14, 2019

In the US alone, about 40 million people suffer from a chronic sleep disorder, and another 20 million experience occasional sleep problems. To address this problem, we often employ a variety of techniques, including medication, adjusting different lifestyle factors, changing our sleep environment, and more. But can headphones help?

Enter Kokoon Headphones. These “re-imagined headphones from the ground up” are specifically designed to help you relax, improve the quality of your sleep, remove disruptions, and protect regenerative deep sleep—anytime and anywhere—by featuring:

  • Patented FlexMould comfort technology that keeps them cool and comfortable, even in bed
  • Active and passive noise cancelation
  • Built-in EEG sensors
  • Bluetooth 4.0 connectivity with companion app
  • Audio that automatically adjusts to your sleep level

Maybe you’ve tried noise-cancelling headphones before and only achieved minimal results. Or, perhaps this is your first-time considering headphones in your battle against sleep disorders. Whatever the case may be, you’re here to learn more about Kokoon Headphones, what you can expect, and whether or not they’re worth the money.

Let’s begin with all the different technologies you’ll find in Kokoon Headphones.

Kokoon Headphones: A Lot Of Tech In a Little Package

Kokoon jam-packed their headphones with a lot of new technology, so they seem to defy any hard-and-fast classification. However, they most closely fit with noise-cancelling headphones, since they feature three layers of noise protection (ANC, Isolation and Active White Noise).

Kokoon’s EEG Brainwave Sensors & App Connectivity

For the latter, Kokoon developed their own miniaturized dry EEG sensors that sit discreetly within the headphones and actively track how deeply you’re sleeping, and then adjust your audio to help block out external noises.

These sensors also send “clinical grade” data to Kokoon’s Android and iOS smartphone apps via Bluetooth 4.0, which can give you a great deal of insight into your sleep and relaxation as it learns the best techniques for you.

Through Kokoon’s audio relaxation library, you’ll even have access to other apps that provide help with polyphasic sleeping, binaural beats, lucid dreaming, meditation, and more.

Kokoon’s FlexMould Technology

Because Kokoon Headphones are targeted at helping you relax and sleep, the company wanted to make sure they were as comfortable as possible.

To accomplish this, Kokoon took “inspiration from high-tech pillows and sport shoe technology” and developed their patented FlexMould Comfort System, which spreads pressure away from sensitive areas and increases comfort.

It also allows the headphone’s electronics to be placed in the headband, which maintains a low profile and follows “the natural shape and characteristics of the head in bed.”

Finally, Kokoon developed their CoolGel cushioning airflow system to prevent your headphones from getting hot and sweaty, while still maintaining an acoustic seal. This CoolGel system allows the headphone’s ear cups to form to the shape of your ears, providing a more comfortable fit, the company said.

Combining this system with Kokoon’s soft molding body, premium fabric covers, and organic leather outer covering means that they are, “in essence an extra pillow for your ears.”

Other Kokoon Headphone Features

Although they might be focused on helping you relax and sleep, Kokoon headphones feature a 3.5mm jack, a built-in microphone with call control and hands-free capability.

When you’re traveling, Kokoon Headphones can provide continuous playback for up to 11 hours with both sleep sensing and noise reduction activated. Also, it when you want to store them, they fold down to fit into the carrying case that comes with the headphones.

Kokoon’s Pricing

Kokoon Headphones are available in light grey and dark grey. If purchased directly through the Kokoon website, you’ll pay:

  • 1 Pair: $299
  • Couples Package (2 pairs): $539

Regardless of which site you order through, each pair of Kokoon Headphones will come with:

  • Travel case
  • USB charging cable
  • Optional audio lead
  • Kokoon sleep mask
  • Good sleep guide
  • User manual

If you aren’t satisfied with your headphones, Kokoon says that you can do a hassle-free, no-cost return if you contact them at support@kokoon.io within 14 days of your purchase and let them know you aren’t satisfied.

Once you confirm with them that you’ll return the headphones, you have 14 days from the day you sent your first email to mail them the headphones.

What’s Everyone Saying About Kokoon Headphones?

At the time of publishing, HighYa readers gave the headphones an average rating of 3.2 stars from 24 reviews.

Many of the recent reviews noted that it took a long time to receive their headphones, but these reviews come in the context of Kokoon’s beginnings as a crowdfunded company on Kickstarter. It took some time for them to ship out their first round of headphones.

That being said, the recent reviews that HighYa readers left about Kokoon are positive, with several reviewers saying Kokoons are the most comfortable headphones they’ve ever worn.

As a result, some users are able to fall asleep better. Here's an example of that:

“These headphones have been designed around user needs, they feel wonderful when wearing and are easy to fall asleep in. They have started to make a real difference in my sleep pattern. Well worth it,” reviewer Rob C. said.

Will Kokoon Headphones Envelop You in Relaxation & Sleep?

Sleep is a tricky thing because the cause of poor sleep can be hard to pin down. Kokoon offers a solution for your sleeping problems through their combination of personalized sleep technology along with form-fitting, sleek headphones.

Based on the reviews we’ve read from HighYa users, the headphones and accompanying technology have been effective in helping people fall asleep. One of the advantages the device offers is that you don’t have to make continuous purchases like you would with over-the-counter sleep aids.

The downside to the headphones is the price point; the $299.99 price tag could be cost-prohibitive. However, if you feel like the price tag is within your budget but you’re skeptical about their effectiveness, you have the ability to test them out and return them if you’re not happy.

Also, take a few minutes to read through our nine tips for improving your sleep. These tips, in combination with your Kokoon headphones, may be able to help you develop positive sleep patterns that improve your rest.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 46 Kokoon Headphones Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 3.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 21 4 star: 3 3 star: 1 2 star: 1 1 star:  20
Bottom Line: 52% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 46
Sort reviews by:

  • Brand new broken out of the box.

    • Lancashire, United Kingdom,
    • Jun 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    A friend gifted me these headphones as he knew I had trouble sleeping. I unpacked the headphones to find the plastic cover over the USB port was broken with 2 tiny screws sticking out. I contacted support who wanted to know the original order number which I don't have. I don't want to bother my friend as he was so kind to get them for me and I feel ungrateful asking him for the details...so it looks like I'll have to put up with the fault.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 13, 2019

      Company Response from Kokoon

      Hi Darran. Sorry to hear your headphones arrived broken. Please contact us at help@kokoon.io, and we'll arrange a replacement pair for you. Thanks.


  • Worst decision ever

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Jun 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This was the worst decision of my life. After many YEARS of waiting, LITERAL YEARS, they finally said my shipment would be next. This was SIX MONTHS ago. Being a Kickstarter backer means you get first access and it's been available to the general public for quite some time now. The customer service is at times unresponsive and other times complete liars. Such a waste of money that could have been invested in anything else and been better.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 13, 2019

      Company Response from Kokoon

      Hi Stephanie. We're sorry to hear you've had a bad experience. We've checked our systems and can see we have tried to contact you to arrange your delivery, but have been waiting on your response. Sorry if you missed this. Can you please contact us at help@kokoon.io, with your current shipping address and contact phone number, and we'll arrange your shipment as soon as possible. Thanks.


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Waited years but still not shipped

    • Melbourne, Australia,
    • Jun 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have waited years for these headphones and it still hasn't shipped. Contacted them but they never responded. Until earlier this year, they have still kept us updated but have since stopped informing us on status. Total scam. Do not purchase or trust.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 7, 2019

      Company Response from Kokoon

      Hi Alex. We're sorry to hear you've not received your headphones yet. Can you please contact us at help@kokoon.io with your order details, so we can look into this for you? Best wishes.


  • Kokoon Headphones

    • Bristol, United Kingdom,
    • May 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Received my headphones last week and am very happy with them. Even though it is a lot to shell out for headphones they are very comfortable to sleep with and surprisingly good quality of general music feedback. Exploring the app now and so far so good.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    I waited years for headphones that don't do what they were supposed to!

    • Australia,
    • May 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Impossible to sleep in. They cut into my jaw even though I have what they say is needed i.e. a deep soft pillow. Also they say the headphones have active noise cancellation but unless I am playing music I can hear everything around me. When I sought support from Kokoon I was told that "in quieter environments, it [the ANC] can produce a small hiss so we do not suggest using it in really quiet locations." I don't see how this explains why I can hear everything around when not playing music through the headphones. Re the discomfort, all I got from them were links to their website where they talk about what sort of pillow to get (when I had already told them I have a deep soft pillow). So a total waste of money and time from my perspective.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 29, 2019

      Company Response from Kokoon

      Hi Brenda. Thanks for leaving your feedback. We're sorry to hear you're finding the headphones uncomfortable. It can take a little time to adjust to sleeping in the headphones. While a soft deep pillow is recommended, we've heard from a number of customers that they have actually found thinner pillows to be their personal preference when sleeping with the headphones, so if you have any other pillows, it may be worth trying.

      We're sorry to hear your ANC doesn't appear to be working for you, and for the misunderstanding from our customer service team. Please contact us at help@kokoon.io, we'd like to get this resolved for you as soon as possible. Thanks!


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Extremely disappointed

    • Haarlem, Netherlands,
    • May 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After the long wait, the first headset I received had issues with the noise cancellation (the right earpiece made a strange cracking sound). Kokoon refused to do anything about it, they told me to wait for a software update. I continued using the headset without the NC, and then the battery life shortened. After testing and confirming this with their helpdesk, they allowed me to return the headset. Today I received a replacement headset. When I opened the box, the eyemask was missing, the USB charging cable was missing and the headest itself was BROKEN before I even touched it.

    I still like the concept of the product, but this company is very unprofessional and not reliable.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 20, 2019

      Company Response from Kokoon

      Hi Diana. Thanks for leaving your comments and sorry to hear about the issues you've had with your headphones. Could you please contact help@kokoon.io as soon as possible and we'll get this resolved for you? Best wishes.


  • Still waiting...

    • Wellington, New Zealand,
    • May 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Eight months on and I have just received an email "I know some of you have experienced a delay with receiving your Kokoon headphones. This has been caused by us discovering a small manufacturing defect in our latest batch."

    OK...these things happen...thanks for letting me know. Looking at some other reviews though I am getting a bit nervous about delivery.

    Rating of 3 stars reflects service to date - not the phones themselves, since I don't have them yet!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 20, 2019

      Company Response from Kokoon

      Hi Mike, thanks for leaving your comments on your experience with Kokoon so far. We're sorry to keep you waiting but please bear with us and we'll have your headphones with you soon. Best wishes.


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Sleep and entertain yourself

    • Sofia, Bulgaria,
    • May 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The headphones are great to use and the app is more than relaxing - I had issues falling asleep (needed a lot of time) and using the sleep training really helped. However, in order to get the most of them in terms of sleeping, you should choose your pillow carefully - you can’t use them (or at least for me it wasn’t comfortable) with all kinds of pillows (especially thick foam pillows) - it’s written in the user manual I think.

    In terms of entertainment - they provide very good sound and you can use them wherever you go. They are not just for sleeping or for people with sleep problems.

    Overall - thumbs up! I think you can get two things for one price - better sleep and top quality sound, so it’s a deal.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 20, 2019

      Company Response from Kokoon

      Hi Krasimir. Thanks for your comments! Great to hear you're enjoying using Kokoon.


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Great headphones

    • London, England,
    • May 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    These are the most comfortable headphones I have ever worn and I would highly recommend them to anyone, for either helping to sleep or just some comfortable headphones to wear day to day.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 20, 2019

      Company Response from Kokoon

      Thank you Craig! :)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Sleep headphones

    • Italy,
    • Apr 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Headphones are good for sleep. Comfortable and not too hot even after a long time. The mobile app is good but sleep tracking not ready yet. I recommend Kokoon if you have problems with sleep!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 20, 2019

      Company Response from Kokoon

      Thank you Mark, glad to hear you're enjoying your product!


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Completely incompetent company

    • Scottsdale, AZ,
    • Apr 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was one of the first seven hundred purchasers and I am still waiting for my delivery. I continue to get empty promises from the company on delivery and I always need to correct them or inform them of my address and order number. Horrible organization, and I have my doubts the product will be any better than the customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 20, 2019

      Company Response from Kokoon

      Hi Daniel, thank you for leaving your comments and I'm sorry to hear about the issues you faced. It looks like your order has been delivered now, please contact use at help@kokoon.io if you're having any further issues and we'll get them resolved. Best wishes.


Showing 1-11 of 46

Write a Review for Kokoon Headphones!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review