About Kokoon Headphones

By HighYa Research Team
Updated on: May 14, 2019

In the US alone, about 40 million people suffer from a chronic sleep disorder, and another 20 million experience occasional sleep problems. To address this problem, we often employ a variety of techniques, including medication, adjusting different lifestyle factors, changing our sleep environment, and more. But can headphones help?

Enter Kokoon Headphones. These “re-imagined headphones from the ground up” are specifically designed to help you relax, improve the quality of your sleep, remove disruptions, and protect regenerative deep sleep—anytime and anywhere—by featuring:

  • Patented FlexMould comfort technology that keeps them cool and comfortable, even in bed
  • Active and passive noise cancelation
  • Built-in EEG sensors
  • Bluetooth 4.0 connectivity with companion app
  • Audio that automatically adjusts to your sleep level

Maybe you’ve tried noise-cancelling headphones before and only achieved minimal results. Or, perhaps this is your first-time considering headphones in your battle against sleep disorders. Whatever the case may be, you’re here to learn more about Kokoon Headphones, what you can expect, and whether or not they’re worth the money.

Let’s begin with all the different technologies you’ll find in Kokoon Headphones.

Kokoon Headphones: A Lot Of Tech In a Little Package

Kokoon jam-packed their headphones with a lot of new technology, so they seem to defy any hard-and-fast classification. However, they most closely fit with noise-cancelling headphones, since they feature three layers of noise protection (ANC, Isolation and Active White Noise).

Kokoon’s EEG Brainwave Sensors & App Connectivity

For the latter, Kokoon developed their own miniaturized dry EEG sensors that sit discreetly within the headphones and actively track how deeply you’re sleeping, and then adjust your audio to help block out external noises.

These sensors also send “clinical grade” data to Kokoon’s Android and iOS smartphone apps via Bluetooth 4.0, which can give you a great deal of insight into your sleep and relaxation as it learns the best techniques for you.

Through Kokoon’s audio relaxation library, you’ll even have access to other apps that provide help with polyphasic sleeping, binaural beats, lucid dreaming, meditation, and more.

Kokoon’s FlexMould Technology

Because Kokoon Headphones are targeted at helping you relax and sleep, the company wanted to make sure they were as comfortable as possible.

To accomplish this, Kokoon took “inspiration from high-tech pillows and sport shoe technology” and developed their patented FlexMould Comfort System, which spreads pressure away from sensitive areas and increases comfort.

It also allows the headphone’s electronics to be placed in the headband, which maintains a low profile and follows “the natural shape and characteristics of the head in bed.”

Finally, Kokoon developed their CoolGel cushioning airflow system to prevent your headphones from getting hot and sweaty, while still maintaining an acoustic seal. This CoolGel system allows the headphone’s ear cups to form to the shape of your ears, providing a more comfortable fit, the company said.

Combining this system with Kokoon’s soft molding body, premium fabric covers, and organic leather outer covering means that they are, “in essence an extra pillow for your ears.”

Other Kokoon Headphone Features

Although they might be focused on helping you relax and sleep, Kokoon headphones feature a 3.5mm jack, a built-in microphone with call control and hands-free capability.

When you’re traveling, Kokoon Headphones can provide continuous playback for up to 11 hours with both sleep sensing and noise reduction activated. Also, it when you want to store them, they fold down to fit into the carrying case that comes with the headphones.

Kokoon’s Pricing

Kokoon Headphones are available in light grey and dark grey. If purchased directly through the Kokoon website, you’ll pay:

  • 1 Pair: $299
  • Couples Package (2 pairs): $539

Regardless of which site you order through, each pair of Kokoon Headphones will come with:

  • Travel case
  • USB charging cable
  • Optional audio lead
  • Kokoon sleep mask
  • Good sleep guide
  • User manual

If you aren’t satisfied with your headphones, Kokoon says that you can do a hassle-free, no-cost return if you contact them at support@kokoon.io within 14 days of your purchase and let them know you aren’t satisfied.

Once you confirm with them that you’ll return the headphones, you have 14 days from the day you sent your first email to mail them the headphones.

What’s Everyone Saying About Kokoon Headphones?

At the time of publishing, HighYa readers gave the headphones an average rating of 3.2 stars from 24 reviews.

Many of the recent reviews noted that it took a long time to receive their headphones, but these reviews come in the context of Kokoon’s beginnings as a crowdfunded company on Kickstarter. It took some time for them to ship out their first round of headphones.

That being said, the recent reviews that HighYa readers left about Kokoon are positive, with several reviewers saying Kokoons are the most comfortable headphones they’ve ever worn.

As a result, some users are able to fall asleep better. Here's an example of that:

“These headphones have been designed around user needs, they feel wonderful when wearing and are easy to fall asleep in. They have started to make a real difference in my sleep pattern. Well worth it,” reviewer Rob C. said.

Will Kokoon Headphones Envelop You in Relaxation & Sleep?

Sleep is a tricky thing because the cause of poor sleep can be hard to pin down. Kokoon offers a solution for your sleeping problems through their combination of personalized sleep technology along with form-fitting, sleek headphones.

Based on the reviews we’ve read from HighYa users, the headphones and accompanying technology have been effective in helping people fall asleep. One of the advantages the device offers is that you don’t have to make continuous purchases like you would with over-the-counter sleep aids.

The downside to the headphones is the price point; the $299.99 price tag could be cost-prohibitive. However, if you feel like the price tag is within your budget but you’re skeptical about their effectiveness, you have the ability to test them out and return them if you’re not happy.

Also, take a few minutes to read through our nine tips for improving your sleep. These tips, in combination with your Kokoon headphones, may be able to help you develop positive sleep patterns that improve your rest.


Read 91 Kokoon Headphones Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 3.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 57 4 star: 7 3 star: 1 2 star: 2 1 star:  24
Bottom Line: 70% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 91
Sort reviews by:

  • Useful product for a lifelong battle

    • Madrid, Spain,
    • Oct 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I struggle with insomnia waking up during the night and struggling to get to sleep. I've been into sleep clinics and tried all kinds of things to help. I've genuinely found these very useful. It took some time to adjust too but I've found them a lot less pressurized way to sleep if that makes sense. I have seen some real improvements in my sleep and whilst I still have issues they've become a bit of a safety blanket I can use when I'm struggling.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Pleased with the purchase!

    • County (optional),
    • Oct 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've had my Kokoon for a few weeks now and think it's excellent:

    (1) The audio content on the app is great...whoever they have doing the voiceover works perfectly for me. He has a slow soothing voice and constantly pauses; I often drift to sleep during these pauses. My main request (which I have sent to the company) is that they add some audio content longer than 20 minutes. The 20-minute segments are perfect if I'm already relaxed or looking to take a nap, but if I'm super stressed about falling asleep, I need slightly longer content (maybe 30-40 minutes).

    (2) The headphones are comfortable, and work well for me as a back sleeper.

    (3) The sensors seem to do a good job of detecting when I fall asleep.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Amazing product worth the wait

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Oct 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The headphones are much better than expected. I realized they took longer to make, but they fixed issues, redesigned the headphones, and took great lengths to do it right. They are very comfortable to wear and the sound is amazing. The apps included with the headphones are relaxing, soothing, and easy to use. I love the headphones and am very glad I own them. When I travel, they are the first items in my backpack.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Life-changing product! It’s a guarantee of relax and good sleep.

    • Italy,
    • Oct 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Kokoon earphones have exceeded my expectations. From the first time I used them, I’ve had an unexpectedly long nap in the daytime! The recorded voice and all the music and nature sounds are very relaxing. The earphones are relatively soft. I could not imagine a better product.

    I always have it with me when traveling as well as at home. I recommend it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Kokoon Headphones

    • Switzerland,
    • Oct 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Kokoon Headphones, yes, it was a long wait as an early Kickstarter backer.

    - But was it worth the wait for it? - Definitely YES!

    - They did an amazing job on everything related to these headphones.

    - The Kokoon Headphones are really an amazing product of high-quality materials. And believe me, you wouldn't want to spend your money on other headphones. (I was one of the frustrated that waited for the product, but I can honestly say, I got the best product now, much better than I'd imagined.)

    - They are so comfortable to wear, even to lie in bed with them on your head.

    - I love them! There are so many possibilities for relaxation, meditation, and much much more, I would definitely recommend them to everyone.

    - You can use it for music, relax, meditation, mind-altering, astral projection, isochronic tones, binaural beats, and much much more.

    - Furthermore, they have an elegant travel case and can be taken everywhere!

    I love it! And I can recommend it to everyone!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Love them!

    • Centre, AL,
    • Oct 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a pretty sound sleeper - but not when I travel. I obtained these mainly for the noise-canceling features, but also for access to the guided sleep programs (which, I must say, are excellent!). Noise-canceling seemed to be just so-so IMO as it didn't seem to help much on the airplane, however, it was VERY noticeable in the hotel. So much so that suddenly hearing my own heartbeat became a little distracting. And the guided sleep programs are completely amazing. The breathing and relaxation techniques put me at ease almost immediately and allowed me to settle into a deep sleep pretty quickly. According to the app, the headphones powered down within 15 minutes of me pressing play because they had detected that I had fallen asleep. I have not had any problems with my headphones and I have not had any issues sleeping in them. I know that some people have reported fabrication issues and sound quality issues, but I have not experienced these. I keep these headphones in their case when not in use and I don't use them for general audio playback as I have other, high-quality cans for that purpose. These are strictly for sleeping.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Best headphones ever

    • Goa, India,
    • Oct 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Although it took some time to get my Kokoon Headphone, the wait was totally worth it. Totally surpassed all expectations, and that is all thanks to the team who really created an awesome product. They are super comfortable and most definitely relaxing. I have been using the headphones while sleeping as well as whilst traveling. I have never been more happy, and have recommended them to everyone.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Worth the wait.

    • West Hollywood, CA,
    • Oct 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I jumped on these quite some time ago and simply forgot I had done so. When they arrived, it was a pleasant surprise. Once I tried them though, I thought I’d died and gone to heaven. I have huge difficulty falling asleep and my first night with these, I went down for the count in under 10 minutes. Ditto night two. I actually don’t need them every night now as my sleep habits seem to have improved. I travel a LOT and while they don’t quiiiiite match the noise cancellation of my Bose wireless over the ear headphones, the sound quality is much better, they are more comfortable to wear, AND, I can fall asleep wearing them (I cannot with the Bose because of their physical design). I take them everywhere with me now.

    I realize many may be displeased with the time it has taken to get them out, but it’s worth it in my book because they got it right. I’m hugely pleased with them and I’ve tried a LOT of different headphones.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Well worth the wait.

    • New South Wales, Australia,
    • Oct 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love my Kokoon Headset. Yes, it took a long time to get here, but it was well worth the wait, the Kokoon headset delivered everything that was promised. The are so comfortable that I can wear them in bed. The sound quality is excellent. I love that I can take calls and play my own music on Kokoon too - it's the only headset I need. I recently used my Kokoon headset for a long train journey and found that they cut out enough of the external noise, in a packed rail carriage, to allow me to sleep really well too.

    Love my Kokoon headset.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Great headphones

    • Kansas City, MO,
    • Oct 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It took a while to get but I’m happy I waited. These sound, feel, and look great. I’m also using the app with sleep sounds all the time, which I wasn’t expecting. I’m using them almost every night.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Fantastic headphone

    • Netherlands,
    • Oct 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Never had a better headphone before!

    You have noise cancellation and you can sleep on your side with it.

    The app with all the features is fantastic too.

    Only positive words for KOKOON.

    It was definitely worth the waiting as we now have the perfect headphone!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 91

Write a Review for Kokoon Headphones!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review