• 121 Customer Reviews
  • 75% Recommend This Company
3.9 out of 5
5 star: 63% 4 star: 11% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 2% 1 star: 21%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Bottom line: it works (and works very well)

    • By Bobby A.,
    • New York City, NY,
    • Nov 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I will address the delays later in this review, as those are much less important than relevant Kickstarter campaign questions like "Did it actually ship?"

    The Kokoon shipped. And it does exactly what I wanted it to do.

    The build quality of the product is very good. Seams and textures are quite good, and the tactile nature of the buttons are great. I might not have placed the buttons where they did, but they don't bother me, as I don't use them often. Battery life is excellent - so much so that I don't really think about it.

    The appearance (I received the Kickstarter Green/Black model) is sleek and professional. Form factor is as good as can be, IMO - I can imagine it took quite a bit of engineering to get all the necessary electronics in a slim profile. While as a side sleeper, I wish it were even more slim (more on that below), it is still very good.

    The sound quality is good, not great - but I would assume that is due to a lack of profile space to put larger drivers in. There is still a negligible level of bass in these cans, all things considered. I would like to see an EQ in the app someday.

    Now, the important stuff:

    The comfort level is wonderful. As a side sleeper, I had my doubts whether this would work or not; if it would be just too bulky or awkward. It took a night or two, but now sleeping with these on is as cool as the other side of the pillow (as the kids say nowadays).

    The functionality is, after admittedly a bit of a delay, wonderful. It does exactly what I want - tracks the quality of my sleep and reports at the end of my slumber. The info is very useful, and it becomes a game to see how high I can score (which, of course, is a huge positive! Anything that helps you to sleep and sleep better is a huge plus in my book). Now, it will do the tracking without having to listen to the app's program soundtrack; while the included soundtracks are well done, high quality and very useful, I seem to sleep better listening to political podcasts...go ahead and make sense of that! Now, with the firmware and app updates, I can do just that.

    Overall, this is a fine piece of engineering. Yes, it was delayed. Yes, it angered KS backers (for what reason, I'll never understand, this isn't life-saving medical equipment, for Pete's sake - it's a luxury item built from the ground up). I am sure that Tim and Kokoon learned many valuable lessons from the situation. One thing that came from the delay was a better product, and in the end, that's all that really matters.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Wonderful Headphones with Unique Features and Ergonomic Form

    • By Martin V.,
    • Whitstable, Kent, United Kingdom,
    • Nov 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I received my special Kickstarter edition Kokoons earlier this year and have been using them since for numerous international trips on flights and in hotels.

    Simply nothing else out there comes close to what these headphones can do for you and how much: way beyond just the noise-canceling aspects, the sleep monitoring tech and ambient sounds and relaxing techniques are wonderful.

    The comfort is second to none, even for many many hours of use and nothing else out there can enable one to wear and get comfortable even lying horizontally on a pillow as these do!

    I have used them on so many night flights now and had the best sleep possible every time as well as using them for media beforehand and after.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Tremendous sleep aid

    • By Andreas F.,
    • London, England,
    • Nov 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    These headphones have saved my sleep! Love the feel and the app with the programs. A soothing and easy to use/listen too. Quality is great and my kids have yet to destroy them (says a lot!). Used daily; I’m very happy with the durability and quality of their first product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Block out my husband's snoring

    • By Anna B.,
    • Washington, DC,
    • Oct 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    These headphones were the first to completely block out my husband's snoring, which improved my sleep quality. They are very comfortable for sleeping. I was frustrated with how long they took to receive, but now that I have them, I like them a lot. They didn't seem to block out background noise on a plane as well as my Bose headphones, so I won't be taking them on a plane - unless I didn't use them correctly. But they are great for sleeping.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Useful product for a lifelong battle

    • By Guy B.,
    • Madrid, Spain,
    • Oct 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I struggle with insomnia waking up during the night and struggling to get to sleep. I've been into sleep clinics and tried all kinds of things to help. I've genuinely found these very useful. It took some time to adjust too but I've found them a lot less pressurized way to sleep if that makes sense. I have seen some real improvements in my sleep and whilst I still have issues they've become a bit of a safety blanket I can use when I'm struggling.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Pleased with the purchase!

    • By Stephanie L.,
    • County (optional),
    • Oct 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I've had my Kokoon for a few weeks now and think it's excellent:

    (1) The audio content on the app is great...whoever they have doing the voiceover works perfectly for me. He has a slow soothing voice and constantly pauses; I often drift to sleep during these pauses. My main request (which I have sent to the company) is that they add some audio content longer than 20 minutes. The 20-minute segments are perfect if I'm already relaxed or looking to take a nap, but if I'm super stressed about falling asleep, I need slightly longer content (maybe 30-40 minutes).

    (2) The headphones are comfortable, and work well for me as a back sleeper.

    (3) The sensors seem to do a good job of detecting when I fall asleep.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Amazing product worth the wait

    • By Tom D.,
    • Dallas, TX,
    • Oct 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The headphones are much better than expected. I realized they took longer to make, but they fixed issues, redesigned the headphones, and took great lengths to do it right. They are very comfortable to wear and the sound is amazing. The apps included with the headphones are relaxing, soothing, and easy to use. I love the headphones and am very glad I own them. When I travel, they are the first items in my backpack.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Life-changing product! It’s a guarantee of relax and good sleep.

    • By Anna G.,
    • Italy,
    • Oct 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Kokoon earphones have exceeded my expectations. From the first time I used them, I’ve had an unexpectedly long nap in the daytime! The recorded voice and all the music and nature sounds are very relaxing. The earphones are relatively soft. I could not imagine a better product.

    I always have it with me when traveling as well as at home. I recommend it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Kokoon Headphones

    • By Ivan N.,
    • Switzerland,
    • Oct 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Kokoon Headphones, yes, it was a long wait as an early Kickstarter backer.

    - But was it worth the wait for it? - Definitely YES!

    - They did an amazing job on everything related to these headphones.

    - The Kokoon Headphones are really an amazing product of high-quality materials. And believe me, you wouldn't want to spend your money on other headphones. (I was one of the frustrated that waited for the product, but I can honestly say, I got the best product now, much better than I'd imagined.)

    - They are so comfortable to wear, even to lie in bed with them on your head.

    - I love them! There are so many possibilities for relaxation, meditation, and much much more, I would definitely recommend them to everyone.

    - You can use it for music, relax, meditation, mind-altering, astral projection, isochronic tones, binaural beats, and much much more.

    - Furthermore, they have an elegant travel case and can be taken everywhere!

    I love it! And I can recommend it to everyone!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Love them!

    • By Topher B.,
    • Centre, AL,
    • Oct 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I am a pretty sound sleeper - but not when I travel. I obtained these mainly for the noise-canceling features, but also for access to the guided sleep programs (which, I must say, are excellent!). Noise-canceling seemed to be just so-so IMO as it didn't seem to help much on the airplane, however, it was VERY noticeable in the hotel. So much so that suddenly hearing my own heartbeat became a little distracting. And the guided sleep programs are completely amazing. The breathing and relaxation techniques put me at ease almost immediately and allowed me to settle into a deep sleep pretty quickly. According to the app, the headphones powered down within 15 minutes of me pressing play because they had detected that I had fallen asleep. I have not had any problems with my headphones and I have not had any issues sleeping in them. I know that some people have reported fabrication issues and sound quality issues, but I have not experienced these. I keep these headphones in their case when not in use and I don't use them for general audio playback as I have other, high-quality cans for that purpose. These are strictly for sleeping.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Best headphones ever

    • By Joel D.,
    • Goa, India,
    • Oct 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Although it took some time to get my Kokoon Headphone, the wait was totally worth it. Totally surpassed all expectations, and that is all thanks to the team who really created an awesome product. They are super comfortable and most definitely relaxing. I have been using the headphones while sleeping as well as whilst traveling. I have never been more happy, and have recommended them to everyone.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Worth the wait.

    • By Richard C.,
    • West Hollywood, CA,
    • Oct 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I jumped on these quite some time ago and simply forgot I had done so. When they arrived, it was a pleasant surprise. Once I tried them though, I thought I’d died and gone to heaven. I have huge difficulty falling asleep and my first night with these, I went down for the count in under 10 minutes. Ditto night two. I actually don’t need them every night now as my sleep habits seem to have improved. I travel a LOT and while they don’t quiiiiite match the noise cancellation of my Bose wireless over the ear headphones, the sound quality is much better, they are more comfortable to wear, AND, I can fall asleep wearing them (I cannot with the Bose because of their physical design). I take them everywhere with me now.

    I realize many may be displeased with the time it has taken to get them out, but it’s worth it in my book because they got it right. I’m hugely pleased with them and I’ve tried a LOT of different headphones.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Well worth the wait.

    • By Alison S.,
    • New South Wales, Australia,
    • Oct 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I love my Kokoon Headset. Yes, it took a long time to get here, but it was well worth the wait, the Kokoon headset delivered everything that was promised. The are so comfortable that I can wear them in bed. The sound quality is excellent. I love that I can take calls and play my own music on Kokoon too - it's the only headset I need. I recently used my Kokoon headset for a long train journey and found that they cut out enough of the external noise, in a packed rail carriage, to allow me to sleep really well too.

    Love my Kokoon headset.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great headphones

    • By James M.,
    • Kansas City, MO,
    • Oct 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It took a while to get but I’m happy I waited. These sound, feel, and look great. I’m also using the app with sleep sounds all the time, which I wasn’t expecting. I’m using them almost every night.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Fantastic headphone

    • By Silvia T.,
    • Netherlands,
    • Oct 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Never had a better headphone before!

    You have noise cancellation and you can sleep on your side with it.

    The app with all the features is fantastic too.

    Only positive words for KOKOON.

    It was definitely worth the waiting as we now have the perfect headphone!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Amazing headphones!

    • By Jackson F.,
    • United States,
    • Oct 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I absolutely love these headphones! If I could give it 15 stars, I totally would. I’ve been eyeing these since they were first announced years ago and I couldn’t wait until they were released. It may have been a while since then, but it was so worth the wait. I don’t know how they did it but wearing these in bed is so comfortable, and I’m still surprised how much they don’t bother me while I’m rolling around. The sleep sensing technology is quite cool as well. I have trouble with my sleep and being able to see a report of what went down the night before is very nice. It’s incredible that in 2019 a pair of headphones can read your brain waves. I love technology! I also really love the design. They’re super sleek and very modern looking and can totally compete with other major headphone designs. I really love the fabric used on the outside of the ear cups and headband. Most other headphones use plastic or metal as the primary material, but the use of fabric makes them stand out from everything else in a perfect way. And I love the gold accents; it’s a perfect little pop of color, especially with the black version.

    The Kokoon app is also quite amazing. There is so much high-quality content to browse through, and it’s obvious that the team put a lot of effort into it and it shows. I think the Kokoon team did a fantastic job with the execution of this product and I can’t wait to see what else they come up with.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • My Kokoon experience

    Overall Experience:

    It takes time and patience to back this project, especially on Kickstarter.

    Since I started backing this from 2015 and received it in 2019. While making this product, they faced issues like manufacturer, design issues, material problems, that's why they continue to keep updating the status on the progress. To my surprise, the effort the Kokoon team have produced a very good quality and awesome design.

    Apologize, good is not the right word but a great quality it turns out.

    The design, I might add, why the power source and buttons up this is because these headphones are meant for sleep monitoring so that when moving your head doesn't interfere with the wires if listening in analog mode or wireless and On Button. Well-made design.

    It's quite comfy, and it blocks out any noise when you are in relax mode after a hard day's work.

    I have tried using it and wow it does make a difference.

    It features control by a "Kokoon Relax App".

    It guides you on how to use it and special features were no other headphones could.

    You got to try it to believe it.

    These are headphones help you sleep and to your place to pause.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Updated review

    Impressive product

    • By Noralee N.,
    • Franklin, TN,
    • Sep 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    UPDATE: Company responded immediately. Got the headphones within a couple of weeks. The headphones are outstanding and interact smoothly with their Kokoon app. Would recommend the product - be sure to follow up with the company and be patient.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • Aug 12, 2019

    Seems to be a scam

    I ordered these headphones in February of 2016. Got monthly updates for a couple of years but have heard nothing for several months. STILL NO HEADPHONES and no response to follow up emails. SAVE YOUR MONEY.

    • Aug 13, 2019

      Company Response from Kokoon

      Hi Noralee,

      Thanks for your feedback. We've taken a look into this for you and can only sincerely apologize that the team missed your email. Your shipment has been expedited for you and dispatched today, the team has emailed you with your tracking number.

      Best wishes,

      Kokoon

    (read moreread less...)

  • Waiting

    • By Jen B.,
    • New York,
    • Sep 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Is this a vapor product? I've seen a lot of reviews, but if I do an image search I see only marketing photos. No one is posting their "I'm a happy owner" photos. And support has been giving me the run-around for months (after waiting for years and nearly giving up).

    Can't ANY of you people who supposedly have these post a photo? Instagram? Just a link here?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 19, 2019

      Company Response from Kokoon

      Hi Jen.

      We're very sorry for the wait for your headphones. We've looked into this and can see from tracking however that your headphones are showing as delivered. We'll follow up by email now, to ensure they have reached you.

      Best wishes

      Kokoon


  • The wait was long, but the product is awesome

    • By Pierre-Luc L.,
    • Québec, Canada,
    • Sep 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    In french we have an expression "Tout vient à point à qui sait attendre". The best traduction a can offer is "Everything will come great for the people who know waiting". I know, it's not a great traduction, but the point is that the wait was long, but the final product is just great.

    I have my Kokoons for two weeks now, and I just love them. They are sold as a product to help people sleep, and actually they are pretty good at it (the "cooling system" can be improved I think to be more "breathable"), but they are really good for everyday use too. I listen to my audiobook and my podcast with them and it's just perfect to create a "bubble" to concentrate and be focus on the story.

    The lifetime of the battery is perfect (so far) and the auto-off feature is just a nice thing to help to preserve it.

    Bottom line, I love my new Kokoons!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great solution when you have a snoring partner

    • By Jos V.,
    • Amersfoort, Neatherlands,
    • Sep 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I know usually you need to fix the problem at the source and my partner is doing her best she can, but still I woke up and could not fall asleep anymore.

    Therefore I decided to use my Bose noise-canceling headset with just noise canceling on as a remedy. Which worked, but...

    - You do not sleep comfortably.

    - The earpads were worn out after several months.

    Therefore I was happy to discover Kokoon some time ago, and despite they were in startup mode, I liked the concept and waited eagerly for my headset to arrive.

    Now I am using the Kokoon device for over 2 months and it offered me more than expected.

    Noise-canceling was my first goal combined with comfortable sleeping - that worked for me.

    Next, the additions through the app: The Beach Waves and the random white noise sound made me sleep even better. I love sleeping near the sea and got the same experience (stereo).

    All the other features to relax and sleep better provided by the app are not (yet) necessary for me - so I did not experiment with them.

    Conclusion: Kokoon makes me sleep comfortable and even better thanks to the app.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Sink into relaxation

    • By Davin L.,
    • Denver, CO,
    • Sep 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    These headphones were worth the wait. I kickstarted these back in 2015 and as soon as I got them, I've been putting them to use every day/night.

    During the daytime, I like to use them for meditation or relaxing. They bring great sound quality and engross me in the music. At night I wear them all night long to track sleep quality. It was weird adjusting to them at first, but after a few days, I feel my sleep quality has definitely improved. I fall asleep faster (under ten minutes) and sleep deeper.

    The only minor issue I have is that the pillow I use is more firm and this can cause the earpads to push onto my ear and get my ears sore over eight hours of use. I am looking for a new, softer pillow that I like to remedy the situation.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great piece of hardware with high potential in-app features

    • By Hagen S.,
    • Germany,
    • Sep 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I am very happy to have had delivered my Kokoon Headphones finally some weeks ago. It took some time to iron out all these problems in manufacturing you could expect when you aim for a high-quality innovative product like this. Communication of backsets and delays always was very good so you can expect a high standard of costumer support.

    But finally, it's here, all well done, extraordinary quality, very comfortable to wear and to sleep with. And I know what I'm talking about. In my 50ies now I have suffered from sleeping disorders as long I can remember.

    That's also the main motivation to back this project on Kickstarter.

    So I just use it from the first day to go to sleep, no major problems, listen to music, soundscapes, audiobooks, podcasts, guided meditations or even pure white noise or my favorite mind-machine program. By the way, being a lover of classical music the drivers are very good with a very balanced detailed sound.

    Can't say much about the performance of shutting out noisy environments as I only can sleep in a very calm room. I haven't used it during travel yet.

    I see high potential when it comes to further development of the Kokoon app. I wish we could have more detailed sleep data with more focus of brain waves (alpha-theta) to unlock all advantages of having EEG onboard.

    Also, a must-have would be sleep-tracking no matter what you are listening to from your playing device.

    So I stay tuned and I am excited to try out new features. Thank you for bringing this great product to life.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • SCAM

    • By Diana D.,
    • New Jersey,
    • Sep 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    What a joke! After waiting almost a year I get these and all they are are crappy heavy headphones with stupid off the shelf horrible relaxation audios. And since you only have 14 days to return and I was traveling when they arrived I'm stuck with them! Save your money! This is a scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 19, 2019

      Company Response from Kokoon

      Hi Diana

      We're really sorry to hear you don't like the headphones. We have sent you an email regarding this, please do let us know if there is anything else we can help you with.

      Best wishes

      Kokoon


  • Fixed my sleep

    • By Amber P.,
    • Cancun, Mexico,
    • Sep 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    For a long time now I’ve been searching products that I think may help me with better sleep as I have so many issues. I’ve had this product a little while now and I’ve got to say it’s a little lifesaver. Anytime I’ve had an issue now I put these on and 9 times out of 10 it works to get me to sleep. I found the app that comes with it had a lovely voice and some super helpful advice.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Very comfortable and good sound quality

    • By Aurelien L.,
    • The Hague, The Netherlands,
    • Sep 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It took a bit of time to receive the headphone but I am very satisfied using it now. I mainly use it at home for listening to audiobooks and watch movies from my best. It is very comfortable. It is important to have a soft and large pillow to enjoy it well.

    I recommended for indoor use and also for traveling.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Worth the wait

    • By Mardig S.,
    • Seattle, WA,
    • Sep 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Over 2 years ago my wife who is a flight attendant, and has seriously difficult sleep issues due to her profession, excitedly told me about this new tech called Kokoon. I immediately found it and ordered...then waited...and waited. The problem with being an early adopter is that new tech many times arrives unproven and untested - meaning buyer beware. In this case, the new company with their revolutionary design held off releasing until they got it right. While the wait was at times frustrating, they kept us in touch with updates, always responded courteously and honestly when I checked in - and this summer, the long-awaited present for my wife showed up. Here's the best part, seeing her go to sleep within minutes using her Kokoon headphones. Sometimes really good things are worth the wait. This is one of those times!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 28-54 of 121

Write a Review for Kokoon Headphones!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Kokoon Headphones