What is DermaSuction?

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Dec 11, 2017

The DermaSuction is a facial care vacuum designed to pull out and remove impurities from the skin. It claims to painlessly remove blackheads and unclog pores without any squeezing whatsoever due to its focused-suction design.

Three different power settings are provided, letting you choose the one that feels most comfortable on your skin. All of the various attachment heads are washable, allowing for easy cleanup once you’ve completed your treatment.

The DermaSuction is wireless, including an internal battery that can be charged with the included charging cable. We tried reaching out to customer service to learn more, but after speaking with several agents, it was clear that they were not aware of this product’s existence.

So, now we know what the device is but how does it actually work?

How DermaSuction Works

The DermaSuction comes with three attachments that are designed for different uses. The main tip is used for facial blackhead removal, while the larger probe is described as being for areas like the arms, chest, and legs. Finally, there is a sonic tip, which the manufacturer claims is ideal for reducing the appearance of fine lines on the face. We aren’t given any additional info on this function, nor did customer service have any insight into it when we called.

To use the main functionality, it looks as though you only need to run the device along your facial area, specifically targeting blackheads and impurities along the way. The commercial illustrates the product sucking out and removing these unsightly elements with ease, but is that really how it works in practice?

Will the DermaSuction Really “Suck the Yuck Out of Your Pores”?

Based purely on the product’s commercial, it would appear that the product is truly able to remove these impurities from your skin, but the reality of the situation, as usual, may be a bit more complicated.

Though it’s clear that the DermaSuction is removing something from the skin, it turns out that it may not be the real impurities within your blackheads. Speaking to metro.co.uk, facialist and aesthetician Andy Millward says that when it comes to pore vacuums, “The majority of what is being removed are actually sebaceous filaments.”

These filaments are needed by the skin for protection against the elements, and he made it clear that removing them would just cause your body to replace them. He also stated that this can actually do damage to the pores over time.

Dermatologist Joshua Zeichner, the director of cosmetic and clinical research at Mount Sinai Hospital in New York City, takes a slightly different approach, saying that while these sorts of products can work as described, they are “most effective if the blocked pores were pre-loosened with products like salicylic or glycolic acid or physical exfoliation like microdermabrasion.”

He also goes on to warn against potential dangers to the skin, however, stating that “While the devices are safe to use, applying too much suction to the skin can lead to skin bruising and inflammation.”

Dr. Sandra Lee, aka the famous Dr. Pimple Popper, has similar concerns about the power some of these devices exert:

"I think if the suction is too high, it's like giving yourself a hickey. You can get bruises from it," she explained, "It's called telangiectasia when you have superficial blood vessels that dilate because you have too much suction or too much pressure on the surface of the skin." The worst part? These can be permanent, requiring a laser treatment in order to get rid of them.

Obviously, the DermaSuction itself has three different power modes, potentially alleviating some of the concern over excessive force being applied to the skin, but with lower suction may come less effective results.

In fact, even with full-powered suction, Zeichner warns that pore vacuums like DermaSuction may not be effective at eliminating the type of blackheads most people tend to focus on; the deep, visible ones: “They provide modest benefits for true blackheads, since these are caused by deeply rooted oil clogs in the pore.”

DermaSuction Pricing & Return Policy

As of this writing, DermaSuction was only available directly off of its main website online. It is currently sold in two main packages:

  • Single Offer: One DermaSuction, Extra Tips, Charger, and Travel Case - $39.99 + Free S&H
  • Double Offer: Two DermaSuctions, Extra Tips, Chargers, and Travel Cases - $39.99 + Free S&H + $19.99 Fee

In the terms and conditions spelled out on the checkout page, we’re told that each order is covered by a 30-day money back guarantee, less shipping & handling fees (which are free in this case). You will, however, be responsible for paying return shipping on the order should you choose to return it.

Purchasing a Product Like DermaSuction

It looks as though a viral video kicked off the initial pore vacuum craze, so it didn’t surprise us to find many different products available online that offer similar functionality to the DermaSuction.

Certain products, like the Comedo Suction Microdermabrasion Machine, were more expensive, running about $59.99, while others, like the Imbeang Blackhead Vacuum, could be had for as little as $12. Some devices have additional tips, while others offer just one. A few claim to improve circulation, while most stick to blackhead removal.

Despite these differences, we didn’t encounter any pore vacuums during our research that were immune to the criticisms and shortcomings discussed above, from a design standpoint, at least. On Amazon, we also noticed that many products featured droves of reviews that were 100 percent 5-star rated.

Ultimately, if you still decide to give a pore vacuum a try, despite what experts are saying, finding the right product may come down to choosing one that is within your price range, has some positive (and real) reviews, and includes the features you are looking for (multiple power settings, additional attachments, battery life, etc).

The Bottom Line: Our Thoughts on the DermaSuction

Now that we know much more about the DermaSuction (and pore vacuums in general), can the product in question truly be expected to remove impurities from your skin effectively? In short, yes and no.

While it certainly seems as though the product may be able to remove looser bits of dirt and gunk from your pores, we learned that true blackheads are lodged deep into the skin, where the suction required to pull them out would be too damaging to the pores themselves to be a worthwhile option.

As for a viable alternative, there may be nothing like your own hands in most cases. Doctor Sandra Lee detailed her recommendation, saying that "I would wrap a little tissue paper around each finger because it helps provide traction. Make sure your nails are short too. And just try to squeeze and change directions. Squeeze from a different angle and if they don't come out all the way, they might not be able to come out all the way. It's knowing when to stop, knowing when to say, okay that's enough!"

When you try out the DermaSuction, just be sure to keep the 30-day return policy in mind. If you find that it doesn’t provide what you’re looking for, you’ll be able to return it, as long as you don’t mind paying a bit to ship it back in the process.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

26 Consumer Reviews for DermaSuction

Average Consumer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 2 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  21
Bottom Line: 15% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 26
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    DermaSuction

    • Mar 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this rubbish, had no idea how to change the suction cups. Also, the one I used was already on. The DermaSuction sucked so hard that it left red marks like scaling marks. Not impressed at all, a waste of money. What you view on television is not what happens.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Child with a not too serious acne problem

    • Portland, OR,
    • Mar 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Suffered from mostly blackheads on each side of the nose and just above the eyes. Not terribly noticeable UNTIL we tried the DermaSuction. It looked like there were hickies on either side of the nose. I had one angry child. I returned it to the store for a refund and the customer service person assured me they had many of the DermaSuction units returned. Bad product for us.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    DermaSuction is a piece of garbage.

    • Surprise, AZ,
    • Mar 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The DermaSuction tool is a scam! It caused hickies to appear on mine and my husband's faces. It didn't remove any blackheads from our skin. All it does is cause red marks on our skin. I sure wasted my money on this piece of garbage!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 2, 2019

      Rae O.

      I had red marks on my face, one thing the booklet does not say is how you change the suction caps. Not impressed.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    This product is terrible

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Feb 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this for my teen that has terrible acne despite prescriptions and every product available over the counter. I happened across this item at the pharmacy and thought I’d let her try this. I was thinking it must be similar to the hydro facial without the water. I wish I had read reviews before my teen used this product! As if acne wasn’t bad enough, now there were deep red spots and bruising to follow! Poor child! How dare this company do this to anyone! It should be filed under abuse!

    Thinking it must’ve been done wrong, I gave it a try on my tough skin! And to my surprise, I also had red areas that turned to slight bruising in some spots after using the lowest setting, etc.! This product is a PIECE OF CRAP and I feel should be considered for a future lawsuit for anyone that has misled by ads!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Disgusted

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Feb 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My rating is ZERO, but I don't see that option. No, it doesn't work, no matter HOW MUCH you steam your pores open. I used all of the heads on different parts of my face and none of them worked on either speed. When finally done and disgusted about throwing my money away to these crooks, I put the heads in hydrogen peroxide to clean. NOTHING. No bubbles, which means there's nothing inside those heads (not even say "flecks of loose skin"). CERTAINLY no gunk! It would've bubbled guys! I let it set in the H2O2 for half an hour...NOTHING! It's just a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Johnstown, PA,
    • Jan 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought it at Rite Aid for Christmas and it doesn't work. I called the number and they couldn't give me a refund. I'm calling BBB and Attorney General's office to report it. They told me to take it back to the store if I want my money back. They will send me another one if I pay the shipping fee and the only way to get a refund is if I bought it through them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 30, 2019

      A L.

      Hunny, not sure how old you are, but I'll tell ya this...if you've been hurt by a product, you should NOT remain silent! Now I have not been "physically hurt" so far (first timer), but it absolutely is NOT RIGHT! They are completely falsely advertising this junk! First of all, it doesn't work, and anyone who says it does is probably being PAID! Ya know? It advertises on website $19.99 + $6.99 S&H, which does NOT add up to what they stole from MY bank account!

      Anyway, I tried every single one of those attachments and NONE of them did a thing. I did everything they told me in the brochure, everything on the website, everything...oh never mind...IT'S JUNK!

      So please, it only takes a few minutes to report to the BBB. It's SO EASY online to stop these people from taking advantage of others by reporting them to your Congressmen, your District Attny even your State Rep! They're actually INTERESTED in such issues! We have to STOP these people! Not only from robbing people blind, but for DOING DAMAGE to them! Your face is a VERY SENSITIVE area! Don't let them get away with it! I certainly won't! I've already done BBB here in MY state and now I'm working on this site so y'all know what to do! Then I'm going on to my District Attorney and my State Reps! Darned RIGHT I AM! I'm sick of these fly by night companies making millions overnight from garbage and then running off with OUR MILLIONS! And the worst is that people are getting HURT OVER IT! Do it please. Let them know.

      BTW, when I called and said I wanted my $29.66 back (which should have been A LOT LESS), they said I would have to return at my own expense and they would credit my card $19.99 (the price of the item), not the $29.66 S&H. I reported THAT TOO to the BBB and will to the elected people of my State! They're SCHEISTERS. ROBBERS. And I for one, will NOT let them get away with it! They're going to credit my card? How? OMG, you KEPT MY CARD INFORMATION? I DIDN'T SAY you could keep my credit card information! Telling everyone I can get my hands on about THAT TOO! SCHEISTERS.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Really works!

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jan 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I use it daily at night after a hot shower and it gets out some of my "gunk." My face is red after but it hasn’t bruised like some people complain. I use only the oval tool (comes with four total) at the highest setting and I never stop moving it around my chin, nose, and between my eyebrows. I’m pretty sure it prevents acne too, but I don’t get too many breakouts to know either way. I do see that in the morning when I put on my face lotion that I don’t have the black head bumpiness that I used too. It won’t let me upload pics, but I will try to on Amazon. I didn’t give it a five-star review because I feel like it could suck harder and I wish it was easier to clean. I’m 31 and got one for my teenage sister.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 30, 2019

      A L.

      I couldn't agree more Derrick! I'm from down the road from you. Don't expect any difference from these shysters if you go through them! I ORDERED MINE FROM THEM! They charged me $29.66 but they said it'd be $19.99 or whatever with like $8 shipping. Anyway...it came up to $27.98, not $29.66 that they took from my debit card! So I called and told them (I happened to get the same guy who you KNOW is sitting in a tent somewhere in India) and he pulled up my account and told me that I have to send it back to them at my expense and they would refund my $19.99. I said "NO NO! You stole $29.66 from me on 1/23/19!" He said that is non-refundable shipping and sales tax and BS. Okay, not only that, guys, but he said he would credit my card that $19.99. THEY RETAINED MY CARD GUYS! They kept all my info, these creeps have my card! Keep me in mind with you Derrick because I'm going all the way on this and I'm with you 900%!

    • Jan 30, 2019

      A L.

      Bull crap!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    DermaSuction sucked the money right out of my pocket.

    • Wisconsin,
    • Jan 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    If it would let me, I'd rate it a zero, but it won't.

    I bought two DermaSuctions, one for my boyfriend who has ance, and one for myself (I have no acne to minimal acne). It came with all for exchangeable suctions heads, a plug-in charger, and a travel case.

    We used it for one week, didn't really notice anything, wasn't sucking up anything off our face; none of those suction heads were dirty.

    We tried it for another week. I didn't see anything in my section heads, but my boyfriend did, just a little bit of grease from the face, nowhere near what they show on TV.

    I gave up on using it, but my boyfriend continued to use it for one more week, then he stopped using it once the suction cup made an imprint on his face. The mark remains there to this day.

    What a waste of money! A great way to leave hicky looking circle though!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 30, 2019

      A L.

      Cassandra, what a piece of JUNK! Let me tell ya THIS TOO! I got mine directly from DermaSuction (TV) and the website said $19.99 + $6.99 S&H, yet they stole $29.66 from me! Now that I've tried it and feeling like you guys do, I called them. "I want my money back." The same guy that sold it to me on 1/10/19 who called himself "Robbie Foster" (oh I got the names, dates, you name it), anyway, Robbie sounded more like some little dude in a call center in a tent in the middle of India somewhere, ya know? ANYway...he told me when I wanted my money back, $29.66, that they would credit my card $19.99. I said NO, I want ALL of it back! He not only said that they would only credit me the $19.99, but I WOULD PAY TO SHIP IT BACK! Now listen to THIS! Did you just read me? They would credit my card...Cassie, they STILL have my card information! They still have it, NOBODY DOES THAT! I not only sent in to BBB (do it please, it's worth the few minutes it takes, ESPECIALLY since there are injuries involved), but contact your State Rep and even your District Attorney to have these CREEPS STOPPED!

    • Mar 2, 2019

      Rae O.

      I would like to know about the suction cups, how do you change these? Seriously. Also, using with the already suction cup on already on sucked red marks on my face. I stopped using it, not impressed, maybe wrong suction cup, need to know.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    My face got bruises

    • Ewa Beach, HI,
    • Jan 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The areas where my blackheads were became bumpy and bruised. I was so terrified, and it stayed on my face for seven days. It looks like I had big mosquito bites on my face! OMG! This is not what the product is for.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 30, 2019

      A L.

      Hunny, not sure how old you are, but I'll tell ya this...if you've been hurt by a product, you should NOT remain silent! Now I have not been "physically hurt" so far (first timer), but it absolutely is NOT RIGHT! They are completely falsely advertising this junk! First of all, it doesn't work, and anyone who says it does is probably being PAID! Ya know? It advertises on the website $19.99 + $6.99 S&H which does NOT add up to what they stole from MY bank account! Anyway, I tried every single one of those attachments and NONE of them did a thing. I did everything they told me in the brochure, everything on the website, everything...oh never mind...IT'S JUNK!

      So please, it only takes a few minutes to report to the BBB...it's SO EASY online to stop these people from taking advantage of others by reporting them to your Congressmen, your District Attny even your State Rep! They're actually INTERESTED in such issues! We have to stop these people! Not only from robbing people blind, but for DOING DAMAGE to them! Your face is a VERY SENSITIVE area! Don't let them get away with it! I certainly won't! I've already done BBB here in MY state and now I'm working on this site so y'all know what to do! Then I'm going on to my District Attorney and my State Reps! Darned RIGHT I AM! I'm sick of these fly by night companies making millions overnight from garbage and then running off with OUR MILLIONS! And the worst is that people are getting HURT OVER IT! Do it please. Let them know.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 34 out 34 people found this review helpful

    Bruises, bruises everywhere!

    • Oklahoma,
    • Dec 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this at my local drug store and was excited to use it. That excitement was short lived. I decided to use it after my morning shower before work. Bad mistake! It didn't pull anything out of my face. However, it did pull all my freaking blood to the surface of my skin and bruise me galore! And yes, for the few commenting on reviews, I followed the instructions. Makeup didn't even come close to covering up the bruises either. Do not buy this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 30, 2019

      A L.

      Hunny, Nnot sure how old you are, but I'll tell you this...if you've been hurt by a product you should NOT remain silent! Now I have not been "physically hurt" so far (first timer), but it absolutely is NOT RIGHT! They are completely falsely advertising this junk! First of all, it doesn't work and anyone who says it does is probably being PAID! Ya know? It advertises on the website $19.99 + $6.99 S&H which does NOT add up to what they stole from MY bank account! Anyway, I tried every single one of those attachments and NONE of them did a thing...I did everything they told me in the brochure, everything on the website, everything...oh never mind...IT'S JUNK!

      So please, it only takes a few minutes to report to the BBB...it's SO EASY online to stop these people from taking advantage of others by reporting them to your Congressmen, your District Attorney, even your State Rep! They're actually INTERESTED in such issues! We have to STOP these people! Not only from robbing people blind, but for DOING DAMAGE to them! Your face is a VERY SENSITIVE area! Don't let them get away with it! I certainly won't! I've already done BBB here in MY state and now I'm working on this site so you all know what to do! Then I'm going on to my District Attorney and my State Reps! Darned RIGHT I AM!

      I'm sick of these fly by night companies making millions overnight from garbage and then running off with OUR MILLIONS! And the worst is that people are getting HURT OVER IT! Do it please. Let them know. BTW, when I called and said I wanted my $29.66 back (which should'a been A LOT LESS), they said I would have to return at my own expense and they would credit my card $19.99 (the price of the item), not the $29.66 S&H. I reported THAT TO to the BBB and will to the elected people of my State! They're SCHEISTERS. ROBBERS. And I for one, will NOT let them get away with it! They're going to credit my card? How? OMG, you kept my card information? I didn't say you could keep my credit card information! Tellin everyone I can get my hands on about THAT TOO! SCHEISTERS.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Works great - but don't leave it in one spot too long

    • Algonquin, IL,
    • Nov 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My parents bought this for me on a whim because I was complaining about blackheads. At first, I was highly skeptical as the DermaSuction seems super gimmicky, but it totally works! The first time I used it was in the middle of the day without anything done to my skin beforehand. The instructions say to be careful and not leave it in one spot for too long, but I thought "what's the worst that can happen" and jumped right into it. I used the highest suction, left it in place for a few seconds, and went over the same areas multiple times (like the box said NOT to do...) and ended up with hickeys on my face. Bad times.

    After a few days, the bruising from my stupidity was gone, and I decided to try it again. After taking a hot shower to open up my pores, I followed the instructions (not leaving it in one spot longer than 1-2 seconds) and got quite a bit of nasty sebaceous oil and gunk out of my skin! It did leave my skin slightly red for about 10 minutes following the suction, but that went away and my skin was back to normal.

    It does take a few uses until you get noticeable results, but as long as you follow the instructions it actually works!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 2, 2019

      Rae O.

      Please explain, how do you remove the suction cups? Two little things dropped out so please explain, thanks.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 26

Write a Review for DermaSuction!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review