What is DermaSuction?

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Dec 11, 2017

The DermaSuction is a facial care vacuum designed to pull out and remove impurities from the skin. It claims to painlessly remove blackheads and unclog pores without any squeezing whatsoever due to its focused-suction design.

Three different power settings are provided, letting you choose the one that feels most comfortable on your skin. All of the various attachment heads are washable, allowing for easy cleanup once you’ve completed your treatment.

The DermaSuction is wireless, including an internal battery that can be charged with the included charging cable. We tried reaching out to customer service to learn more, but after speaking with several agents, it was clear that they were not aware of this product’s existence.

So, now we know what the device is but how does it actually work?

How DermaSuction Works

The DermaSuction comes with three attachments that are designed for different uses. The main tip is used for facial blackhead removal, while the larger probe is described as being for areas like the arms, chest, and legs. Finally, there is a sonic tip, which the manufacturer claims is ideal for reducing the appearance of fine lines on the face. We aren’t given any additional info on this function, nor did customer service have any insight into it when we called.

To use the main functionality, it looks as though you only need to run the device along your facial area, specifically targeting blackheads and impurities along the way. The commercial illustrates the product sucking out and removing these unsightly elements with ease, but is that really how it works in practice?

Will the DermaSuction Really “Suck the Yuck Out of Your Pores”?

Based purely on the product’s commercial, it would appear that the product is truly able to remove these impurities from your skin, but the reality of the situation, as usual, may be a bit more complicated.

Though it’s clear that the DermaSuction is removing something from the skin, it turns out that it may not be the real impurities within your blackheads. Speaking to metro.co.uk, facialist and aesthetician Andy Millward says that when it comes to pore vacuums, “The majority of what is being removed are actually sebaceous filaments.”

These filaments are needed by the skin for protection against the elements, and he made it clear that removing them would just cause your body to replace them. He also stated that this can actually do damage to the pores over time.

Dermatologist Joshua Zeichner, the director of cosmetic and clinical research at Mount Sinai Hospital in New York City, takes a slightly different approach, saying that while these sorts of products can work as described, they are “most effective if the blocked pores were pre-loosened with products like salicylic or glycolic acid or physical exfoliation like microdermabrasion.”

He also goes on to warn against potential dangers to the skin, however, stating that “While the devices are safe to use, applying too much suction to the skin can lead to skin bruising and inflammation.”

Dr. Sandra Lee, aka the famous Dr. Pimple Popper, has similar concerns about the power some of these devices exert:

"I think if the suction is too high, it's like giving yourself a hickey. You can get bruises from it," she explained, "It's called telangiectasia when you have superficial blood vessels that dilate because you have too much suction or too much pressure on the surface of the skin." The worst part? These can be permanent, requiring a laser treatment in order to get rid of them.

Obviously, the DermaSuction itself has three different power modes, potentially alleviating some of the concern over excessive force being applied to the skin, but with lower suction may come less effective results.

In fact, even with full-powered suction, Zeichner warns that pore vacuums like DermaSuction may not be effective at eliminating the type of blackheads most people tend to focus on; the deep, visible ones: “They provide modest benefits for true blackheads, since these are caused by deeply rooted oil clogs in the pore.”

DermaSuction Pricing & Return Policy

As of this writing, DermaSuction was only available directly off of its main website online. It is currently sold in two main packages:

  • Single Offer: One DermaSuction, Extra Tips, Charger, and Travel Case - $39.99 + Free S&H
  • Double Offer: Two DermaSuctions, Extra Tips, Chargers, and Travel Cases - $39.99 + Free S&H + $19.99 Fee

In the terms and conditions spelled out on the checkout page, we’re told that each order is covered by a 30-day money back guarantee, less shipping & handling fees (which are free in this case). You will, however, be responsible for paying return shipping on the order should you choose to return it.

Purchasing a Product Like DermaSuction

It looks as though a viral video kicked off the initial pore vacuum craze, so it didn’t surprise us to find many different products available online that offer similar functionality to the DermaSuction.

Certain products, like the Comedo Suction Microdermabrasion Machine, were more expensive, running about $59.99, while others, like the Imbeang Blackhead Vacuum, could be had for as little as $12. Some devices have additional tips, while others offer just one. A few claim to improve circulation, while most stick to blackhead removal.

Despite these differences, we didn’t encounter any pore vacuums during our research that were immune to the criticisms and shortcomings discussed above, from a design standpoint, at least. On Amazon, we also noticed that many products featured droves of reviews that were 100 percent 5-star rated.

Ultimately, if you still decide to give a pore vacuum a try, despite what experts are saying, finding the right product may come down to choosing one that is within your price range, has some positive (and real) reviews, and includes the features you are looking for (multiple power settings, additional attachments, battery life, etc).

The Bottom Line: Our Thoughts on the DermaSuction

Now that we know much more about the DermaSuction (and pore vacuums in general), can the product in question truly be expected to remove impurities from your skin effectively? In short, yes and no.

While it certainly seems as though the product may be able to remove looser bits of dirt and gunk from your pores, we learned that true blackheads are lodged deep into the skin, where the suction required to pull them out would be too damaging to the pores themselves to be a worthwhile option.

As for a viable alternative, there may be nothing like your own hands in most cases. Doctor Sandra Lee detailed her recommendation, saying that "I would wrap a little tissue paper around each finger because it helps provide traction. Make sure your nails are short too. And just try to squeeze and change directions. Squeeze from a different angle and if they don't come out all the way, they might not be able to come out all the way. It's knowing when to stop, knowing when to say, okay that's enough!"

When you try out the DermaSuction, just be sure to keep the 30-day return policy in mind. If you find that it doesn’t provide what you’re looking for, you’ll be able to return it, as long as you don’t mind paying a bit to ship it back in the process.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

18 Consumer Reviews for DermaSuction

Average Consumer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  15
Bottom Line: 17% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 18
Sort reviews by:

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    My face got bruises

    • Ewa Beach, HI,
    • Jan 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The areas where my blackheads were became bumpy and bruised. I was so terrified, and it stayed on my face for seven days. It looks like I had big mosquito bites on my face! OMG! This is not what the product is for.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 26 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Bruises, bruises everywhere!

    • Oklahoma,
    • Dec 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this at my local drug store and was excited to use it. That excitement was short lived. I decided to use it after my morning shower before work. Bad mistake! It didn't pull anything out of my face. However, it did pull all my freaking blood to the surface of my skin and bruise me galore! And yes, for the few commenting on reviews, I followed the instructions. Makeup didn't even come close to covering up the bruises either. Do not buy this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Works great - but don't leave it in one spot too long

    • Algonquin, IL,
    • Nov 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My parents bought this for me on a whim because I was complaining about blackheads. At first, I was highly skeptical as the DermaSuction seems super gimmicky, but it totally works! The first time I used it was in the middle of the day without anything done to my skin beforehand. The instructions say to be careful and not leave it in one spot for too long, but I thought "what's the worst that can happen" and jumped right into it. I used the highest suction, left it in place for a few seconds, and went over the same areas multiple times (like the box said NOT to do...) and ended up with hickeys on my face. Bad times.

    After a few days, the bruising from my stupidity was gone, and I decided to try it again. After taking a hot shower to open up my pores, I followed the instructions (not leaving it in one spot longer than 1-2 seconds) and got quite a bit of nasty sebaceous oil and gunk out of my skin! It did leave my skin slightly red for about 10 minutes following the suction, but that went away and my skin was back to normal.

    It does take a few uses until you get noticeable results, but as long as you follow the instructions it actually works!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Does pull out yuck, but bruises

    • Yukon, OK,
    • Nov 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product has amazing suction...it pulled out so much stuff. My skin felt incredibly smooth. But this morning, my face was bruised...on my cheeks. My nose, forehead, and chin were clear, but my cheeks look really bad. There are lines of bruises where I ran the machine over my face. It looks like I fell on a grill, face first.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 25 out 27 people found this review helpful

    It’s terrible

    • Leburn, KY,
    • Nov 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product I bought today made huge bruises all over my face and places all over my jaws. It looks terrible and I will never buy anything else from them. It did not remove blackheads like it said. I barely put it to my face and it bruised my whole face and made awful places on me from hardly using it. I would not recommend this to anyone because it can cause severe pain and make your face hurt bad afterward.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Rip off

    • Henrietta, TX,
    • Oct 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased this alleged product August 10, 2018, through the TV ad. To date (October 9, 2018), I have not received the product. Of course, there is no one to call to inquire about it. You are just left hanging. The internet has become nothing but a scam for products that you will NEVER receive. What a joke!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Love it

    I bought mine at Walmart. And I love it, it works great. The picture on here is not what the actually DermaSuction looks like, it has a big silver button with two speeds. Sounds like most people here bought the knockoff of it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 24 people found this review helpful

    It works for me

    • Arizona,
    • Oct 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have used the DermaSuction for a couple of weeks now. I use it on the high setting with the exfoliant tip first and follow up with the small hole tip also on the high setting. My skin feels so soft and smooth. I never felt as if I could use enough scrub or masks to get this result. This product has done it for me. My face is as smooth as it is when I leave the esthetician's facial.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 29 out 32 people found this review helpful

    DermaSuction website

    • Kentucky,
    • Oct 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I ordered from the website, unknown to me, it sent me to Shopify, so when I called DermaSuction to find out why I haven't received my order, they couldn't find it. And they were very condescending, saying "Ma'am, we don't share our customers' info," and they danced all the way around my question. So if you go to order, beware, it will let someone else get your info and money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 8, 2018

      Jessica S.

      Walmart has them for $19.99, I got mine there and love. There are a lot of fake sites out there.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 33 out 35 people found this review helpful

    False advertising

    • California,
    • Oct 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought two of these. I got one for myself since, I was buying one for my child. My child has acne and even with the whiteheads that are ready to burst on his face, all this product did was leave a permanent circle on his cheek. It's never popped a pimple. So, I asked to return it. It's going to cost me the same to ship it as my purchase. You have tone get insurance and pay for your own shipping. So, what's the point of returning them? It's a scam! It doesn't work! Their instructions for returns are in tiny little letters at the bottom of its page. This is a very disappointing product! Save yourself the money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 8, 2018

      Jessica S.

      It's not for popping pimples. It's for sucking out blackheads, and you have to keep moving it as it says.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 34 out 38 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money

    • Costa Mesa, CA,
    • Sep 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received the product, tried it and it left my skin purple, bright red, definitely black and blue. Don't waste your money, go to a professional to take care of your skin needs. I am too ashamed to go outside. YES, I tried to cover it up with makeup, but the skin is so damaged that is shows through. Again, don't buy it, go to a professional. I would like to get my money back somehow.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 18

Write a Review for DermaSuction!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review