About Flaviar

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Updated on: Mar 6, 2018

Dubbing themselves as a club for spirit enthusiasts, Flaviar is a US and EU based spirits discovery commerce company that claims to help you taste craft and premium spirits, discover your favorites, and build a home bar. On top of this, Flaviar claims to be a cultural hub and community dedicated to democratizing access, exploration, education, and discovery in the world of fine spirits.

If you’re tired of the usual choices at your local liquor store and are looking to expand your palate and your knowledge, Flaviar can seem like a solid option for addressing all these issues. But when it comes down to it, how does their service stack up?

How Flaviar Works

Flaviar is a membership-based club that claims to help each and every member develop their own tastes as they build their dream home bar. And more importantly, as they curate their bar to make it more exotic--and more personal--than the world’s best speakeasy.

In order to accomplish this, Flaviar claims to helps its members navigate a vast landscape of spirits through members-only tasting boxes, live events, insider knowledge, private bottlings, access to rare products, unbiased commentary and reviews, and a database of over 20,000 spirits from all over the world.

According to the Flaviar website, membership offers nine main benefits:

  1. Tasting Boxes - ‘Try Before You Buy' themed boxes that allow members to taste products side-by-side and discover personal flavor preferences. Members receive one free box each quarter.
  2. Live Experiences - Flaviar works with distillers, bars, and brands to organize live Members-only events throughout the year.
  3. Home Bar - A digital platform on the Flaviar website allowing Members to record spirits preferences, log favorites, and map out their very own home bar.
  4. Exclusive Bottlings - Flaviar works directly with distillers to create unique products exclusively for Members.
  5. Member Community - A vast and interactive network of connoisseurs and casual consumers alike sharing knowledge and opinions on over 20,000 products.
  6. Online Shop - Flaviar offers members a curated online liquor store featuring a rotating selection of exclusive spirits, craft and big brand alike.
  7. The Flavor Spiral - An innovative visualization of spirits tasting notes.
  8. The Vault - An exclusive selection of extremely rare and hard-to-find spirits.
  9. Free Shipping - Flaviar club members get free shipping on any full size bottle order once per month, while tasting boxes always ship for free.

Because discovering new liquors can be a learning experience, Flaviar also offers a series of seven-day email courses that can help make you a more informed consumer, which is called the School of Spirits. Here, the company claims that you’ll be able to discover fine spirits, learn tips and tricks on tasting, and earn a Flaviar certificate.

Flaviar Pricing & Refund Policy

A Flaviar membership is priced at $60 per quarter, or $210 per year.

Keep in mind that your Flaviar membership will auto-renew, so if you’d prefer to end your it membership, you'll need to request cancellation before your next renewal.

If you cancel your Flaviar membership within three days and before using any benefits, you’ll receive a full refund. Outside of this, refunds are at the sole discretion of the company.

Is Flaviar a Good Choice for Discovering New Spirits?

If you are interested in learning more about liquors from around the world, does Flaviar represent a good option? Maybe, but keep the following in mind:

What You’ll Receive

While most Flaviar members appear to agree that the company gives you the opportunity to try out a wide variety of spirits that you might not otherwise have access to—without having to make a big financial commitment and purchase an entire bottle—keep in mind that:

  1. Although you can choose a complimentary Tasting Box, the samples in the box are curated by Flaviar.
  2. It appears that Flaviar tends to favor whiskies, so if you don’t care much for this type of liquor, you may not enjoy your membership as much.

With this said, you’ll definitely want to browse through their previous tasting boxes to get a better idea of what they offer.

Customer Reviews

Overall, it appears that Flaviar has almost wholly positive online customer reviews, with the most common complaint citing lack of customizability. Another complaint that we encountered more than once during our research is that tasting boxes don’t necessarily include enough liquor for three people. While this is definitely open to personal preference, it’s something to consider, especially if you’d like to sample each one more than once in order to discern whether or not you’d like to purchase a full-size bottle.

On the other hand, some of the most common compliments cited customer service that is quick to respond to any problems (lost packages, etc.), bottles that are packaged attractively, and pour indicators on each bottle to let you know how large of a serving you’re pouring.

Since writing our original article, more than 270 Flaviar customers have provided feedback about their experiences, giving the company an average rating of 4.3 stars. Common compliments revolve around solid selection of high-quality spirits, lots of helpful information, and the availability of sample packs.

Most of the complaints (what relatively few there were) referenced high prices, with a handful relating to less-than-stellar customer support experiences.

Bottom line – Is Flaviar Right For You?

Although it’s not necessarily inexpensive, Flaviar appears to have a reputation for providing customers with the ability to try a variety of liquors from around the world, and should definitely be on your radar if you’re looking to expand your knowledge (and your tastebuds).

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

375 Consumer Reviews for Flaviar

Average Consumer Rating: 4.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 300 4 star: 12 3 star: 4 2 star: 13 1 star:  46
Bottom Line: 83% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 375
Sort reviews by:

  • 5 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Flaviar not worth the wait

    • Barboursville, VA,
    • Jul 6, 2015

    Three weeks on and still have to see my first small 3/4 liter bottle that I ordered. They keep saying that it was shipped and I should get it next week but that was two weeks ago. They refused to provide tracking/shipping info to me. It is not worth the wait. For the price I will head to my Class Six or local ABC and make special orders. Not worth the headache if you know what you want.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Regret ordering from Flaviar

    • Madison, WI, USA,
    • Jul 7, 2015

    Terrible delay in shipping - it's been 20 days since I placed my order and 18 days since Flaviar took my payment (via PayPal). They keep telling me that my order will ship soon, but there's always some excuse why it doesn't. I've asked twice for them to cancel my order and refund my money, but they have completely ignored these requests. I've opened up a claim with PayPal.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 30, 2014

      Scott L.,

      I wanted to post an update -- PayPal ruled in my favor and refunded the cost of my purchase. I don't have details, but the refund came 11 days after I submitted my claim, and since they give the company 10 days to respond, I conclude that Flaviar never responded to the claim even to PayPal.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy from these people

    • UK,
    • Nov 14, 2014

    I have waited nearly six weeks and still my item has not arrived. If it is lost in the post office, then they tell me nothing more than that. Customer service is appalling. They really don't seem to care at all.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Missing 2 bottles

    • Portland, OR,
    • Jun 19, 2015

    I ordered three bottles of rum July 31, 2014. I received one bottle almost 5 weeks later. I emailed Flaviar. They responded September 11th saying I should receive my shipment of the other two bottles shortly. I still have not had a response to any of the emails I sent since, nor any shipments. Today is November 18th. I would like to have a response or refund after this extended period of time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Awful - avoid at all costs

    • United Kingdom,
    • Jul 9, 2015

    Over two months since my purchase, customer service will no reply to emails and no shipping details given. I'm really disappointed with the whole experience. I would recommend that you avoid this website at all costs. There are loads of reputable and dedicated whisky sites out there and this is not one of them unfortunately.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    The Most Unpleasant Experience

    • Connecticut,
    • Jun 11, 2015

    I ordered product from Flavair on October 25th, 2014 and paid for it. As of this review, it is now November 26th. I have written to Flavair twice. They told me they would respond in 5 business days. That hasn't happened. I would love to call them but there is no phone number. My guess is that this outfit is a classic rip off. Caveat emptor! Do not buy from this outfit or else you'll be scammed as well!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 30, 2014

      David Innes, Connecticut,

      Well, lo and behold. The products arrived the day after Christmas. Two months and a day later. Their explanation: inundated with orders and not enough staff.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Not as good as it looks

    • Leicester, UK,
    • Jul 9, 2015

    I purchased a taster set via the Living Social website. When the goods finally arrived they were not as the original advert had appeared. I contacted Flaviar immediately, with an auto response claiming they would contact me within five working days. However after seven working days there had been no response. I contacted Living Social who were very helpful and gave me points to the value of the goods. To date, now twelve working days later, I have still not had any response from Flaviar and although I have Living Social credit this has not put the money back in my pocket!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 20, 2014

      Anonymous, Leicester,

      An update, did get a response finally telling me I needed to return my goods to Slovenia. I have queried this as I had made my contract with a London based company. To date, some 11 working days later surprise, surprise no response. I have now contacted them again advising them I will be contacting trading standards for their view on their company. I think this company will leave a bad taste in the mouth as possibly their unidentifiable products would.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    This company is either completely inept or, just a scam

    • Dec 4, 2014

    Bought a bottle of single malt, two months later it still hadn't arrived after assurances it had been sent. No response to my emails. I can only echo other people's sentiments on various websites and assume that this company is either completely inept or that it is just a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Deceiving?

    • Greensboro, N.C.,
    • Dec 6, 2014

    I purchased a bottle on 11/15/2014. This week having heard nothing I tried to email the company. My password would not work so twice I asked for a new one and finally one worked. Their reply was a rep would contact me. Several days later I tried to email them and my password did not work. This morning I contacted the fraud department of American Express. They have refunded my money while the check this transaction. I would advise all to see where their money went. AX clients can do this by highlighting the purchase on their computer. My payment did not go to England but it did find its way to an apartment in California USA.

    Update (12/09/14):  The product arrived today.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Don't Ever Buy From Here

    • New York City, NY,
    • Jul 9, 2015

    I ordered a bottle on November 18th, 2014. I was charged immediately and was told I would receive it in 12-18 days. I only received an email about a week later saying my order was confirmed, not that it was shipped. After 2 weeks I was concerned so I emailed Flaviar wondering what the status was.

    They emailed me a few days later saying that I would get an email in a few days letting me know the status. A few days later I got another email apologizing for the delay and that packages usually ship in 1-5 days (I was now really annoyed) and that I should get another email the following week with my confirmation shipment. No email came. No more contact with them came either.

    I finally contacted my credit card company and explained what happened and how I'd been scammed. They will be issuing me a credit.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 16, 2014

      Celine Blacow,

      Same experience... scam artists!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Worst customer service ever

    • MI,
    • Jul 9, 2015

    Ordered a bottle over two weeks ago, never heard since. Charge went through right away. I tried contacting on Facebook even, and received a message that it would "ship soon" and I would receive an email when it does. This was a Christmas gift for my fiancé. Maybe I'll get it in time for his birthday, in June.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 375

Write a Review for Flaviar!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review