FootMedix by Dermal Medix Review - Does This Formulation Work?

By HighYa Research Team
Updated on: Mar 13, 2020

Medically Reviewed by Anthony Dugarte, M.D., C.S.C.S

What is FootMedix?

FootMedix by Dermal Medix is a topical solution that claims to strengthen skin, stimulate new growth, and increase circulation, aimed at protecting and restoring severely dry, cracked, and painful feet.

According to their site, the FootMedix active ingredients are intended to deliver rapid healing, provide deep moisturization, and keep sweat away from the skin.

Dr. Watts claims these ingredients can start working in just five minutes. According to the company, apply FootMedix to clean, dry feet twice daily, focusing on any areas where you're experiencing dry, damaged skin.

Can you expect FootMedix to leave you with healthier, more attractive feet?

We'll help you answer these questions and more by reviewing the active ingredients and highlighting any available support for their safety and efficacy.

What Causes Calluses and Dry Skin?

Calluses aren't much more than the flat build-up of hard skin, usually located on the bottom of feet and hands and caused by repeated pressure or friction in a specific area. These are different than corns, which typically feature a softcore that falls inward.

Although not directly related, dry skin (insufficient moisture)—which is often caused by environmental factors like weather, humidity levels, hot showers, and more—can cause calluses to become increasingly uncomfortable.

In general, calluses cause little more than minor discomfort. They can often be addressed by wearing shoes that fit, adding padding where needed, using salicylic acid to soften the callus (or soaking in warm water), and removing with a pumice stone, and more.

In some instances (creams like FootMedix aside), you might need to visit your podiatrist for professional callus removal, and/or to purchase specialized orthotics that can help prevent calluses from getting worse, while relieving at least some measure of discomfort.

Callus formation can be especially dangerous in those with diabetes or other conditions that alter sensation in your feet. They can be completely unaware of the presence of a callus. Over time, this can further develop into open wounds known as ulcers.

From a moisturization perspective, the American Academy of Dermatology recommends avoiding excessively hot baths or showers. Using a gentle, fragrance-free cleanser, applying an ointment or a cream (instead of lotion) immediately after bathing, and using a humidifier at home, especially during the winter months when heat can dry out the skin.

What Ingredients Are Found in FootMedix and Is the Formula Clinically Proven?

According to the Dermal Medix website, FootMedix contains the following ingredients:

Water, Glycerine, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Emulsifying Wax NF, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter) Dimethicone, Alcohol, Cetearyl Alcohol, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Propylene Glycol, Glyceryl Stearate, PEG-8, PEG-100 Stearate, PEG-40 Stearate, Beta-Glucan, Glyceryl Caprylate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Panthenol, Clotrimazole, Human Oligopeptide-1, 1,2-Hexanediol, Caprylyl Glycol, Disodium EDTA, Triethanolamine, Melaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree) Leaf Oil

Of these, we learned the vast majority work as surfactants, emulsifiers, humectants, emollients, and cleansing agents. This is common for any cream, foot-related, or otherwise, since they help clean skin and trap moisture, thereby improving symptoms of dry skin and helping to prevent irritation.

There are a handful of ingredients that Dermal Medix claims are responsible for the vast majority of the purported benefits, however. We'll dive a bit deeper into these.

Clotrimazole & Tea Tree Oil

Clotrimazole is an azole medication often used in over-the-counter creams to treat (or prevent) fungal skin infections, like athlete's foot and jock itch. Tea tree oil is thought to perform a similar function.

In a review of 72 trials, researchers found that azoles were effective in treating fungal infections. While another anti-fungal was slightly more effective, azoles are a more cost-effective treatment option.

The ability of tea tree oil to alleviate athlete's foot is less clear. Though it was as effective as another anti-fungal cream, it was comparable to the ability of placebo to relieve symptoms.

Human Epidermal Growth Factor (hEGF)

the human oligopeptide-1, which Amarte Skincare defines as:

… a small polypeptide of 53 amino acids that serves as a cytokine to stimulate epidermal cell growth and proliferation. This peptide is derived from non-human sources using recombinant DNA biotechnology. Also known as EGF or epidermal growth factor.

A recent review of 7 studies investigated the ability of hEGF to treat diabetic foot ulcers. They concluded that the use of hEGF in conjunction with standard wound care measures improved the rate of healing when compared to placebo.

The researchers do suggest considering these findings with caution as the number of available studies was limited, and many factors weren't discussed during these investigations.

More research is needed to better characterize the potential benefits.

FootMedix As a Stand-Alone Product

Dermal Medix claims that in clinical trials conducted by Dr. Watts, "100% of users reported improvement in foot calluses and dry skin, and a staggering 96% of FootMedix users reported results they classified as "phenomenal." Again, there is no available support for these claims.

We didn't locate a copy of this trial on the FootMedix website, so we reached out to the company for more details and they confirmed that they did conduct an internal study and showed us the results. However, due to their internal policies, we were asked not to make it public.

Will FootMedix Cause Any Side Effects?

Unless you have especially sensitive skin, these sites indicate you probably won't experience anything worse with FootMedix's ingredients than mild, temporary redness in the application area.

The greatest risk is for using this product to manage dry, cracked, and painful feet without first determining the underlying cause. If your symptoms are related to poor circulation or ineffective regulation of blood sugars, treatment will entail much more than a foot cream.

For these reasons, it is imperative to speak with a physician about your symptoms first.

How Much Does FootMedix Cream Cost?

FootMedix is only available directly through Dermal Medix, and is priced as follows:

  • 1 Tube (1-month supply): $120
  • 2 Tubes: $228
  • 3 Tubes: $324

All of these options come with free S&H.

You will save if you purchase through Amazon; each tube is priced at $39.99 and ships free.

Regardless of how much you pay, though, Dermal Medix provides a 90-day risk-free guarantee on FootMedix purchases, less S&H charges. To request a refund, call customer service at 800-425-0243 or support@dermalmedix.com.

The Bottom Line

There is some available research for the key ingredients used in FootMedix but the support isn't stellar.

And while FootMedix seems to be up against a lot of other callus and cracked skin creams, you won't find their unique formulation anywhere else. It appears most customers are pleased with the formulation's results, despite its (sometimes much) higher price.

But if FootMedix ultimately doesn't provide the results or the value you were expecting, Dermal Medix seems to stand behind their formulation with a 90-day money-back guarantee. Nonetheless, the lack of strong scientific support does not seem to justify the high cost of these products.

You may be better off seeking relief with the more cost-effective options that are available.

Still, your best bet is to first touch base with your physician. Moisturizing your feet may be an important party of your plan of care, though you may need to take other steps.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of FootMedix by Dermal Medix:
  • 589 Customer Reviews
  • 97% Recommend This Product
4.8 out of 5
5 star: 82% 4 star: 14% 3 star: 2% 2 star: 1% 1 star: 0%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • Not Safe When Used as Directed!

    • By Leslie L.,
    • California,
    • Dec 16, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This review is valid: well balanced, comprehensive and fair in tone. The most troubling feature is the use of PEG's in the formula. These cause kidney and liver toxicity when used on broken skin. In other words, they are contraindicated for this application. And, as also noted in the review, this product is overpriced and many other similar lotions containing the active ingredients are available. In general, there is no "magic bullet" for this condition. It is most easily controlled by a daily regimen of soaking, exfoliation, and moisturizing. Additionally, many people have unsuspected allergies to the toxic dyes used in black socks. Switching to white socks can make a dramatic difference in foot health nearly overnight. Also, switching to a soap that is higher in pH (more base, less acid) is essential in correcting this condition. According to my research, the best soap for this on the market is a shampoo: Smooth and Sleek by Pantene. With a pH of 7.8 it is the gentlest soap on the market and excellent as a body and foot wash.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Dec 29, 2016

      Company Response from DermalMedix

      Hi Leslie,

      Thanks for your feedback on FootMedix. I wanted to clarify a few things within your review so that others may have an accurate depiction of the product and its ingredients. While I understand your concerns, there is not enough research or data to suggest that PEGs are not safe. All data so far suggest that they are safe. We also manufacture to industry standards. I hope this has helped to clear up any concerns you might have had, and if you have any additional questions or concerns please feel free to email directly at Sloane@dermalmedix.com.


  • Dermal Medix - a total waste of money!

    • By Barry s.,
    • Irvine, CA,
    • May 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was sucked in by being tracked by Google. I saw one of their ads and started to watch his presentation. It was a very professionally done animation ad! As it went on, I started to hold on to my wallet. The longer it played the more money it was going to cost me.

    My friend and I split an order. Below is my opinion.

    1. Be aware that this product has been on the market for several years. So my first question is, why doesn't everyone know about this?

    2. It is only sold on the internet! If this product was so great, it would be in every drug store in America, but it isn't. I smell super huge markups, with equals lots of profit. The real question is, how come no drug store sells this? I hope that they don't respond with all kinds of crazy reasons why they need to sell direct via a website.

    3. There should be a ton of information on the internet about the Dr. and his company. Almost no information means, draw your own conclusions.

    4. Be wary when someone says that 100% or some high crazy amount of people say that your product is that good.

    Does it work? I guess it did, but so did other products that cost a fraction of this! When I say that it worked, I mean that I've used other products that were 80% cheaper that did just as good.

    If this product worked as they claimed, why wouldn't the Veterans Administration place an order for 5 or 10 million bottles? This company never did a double blind study! Trying this on 100 or so people is a total joke.

    Would I buy it again? No way! You will go broke using it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jun 9, 2017

      Company Response from DermalMedix

      Hello Barry, Sloane here with Dermal Medix. Thank you for your valuable review of FootMedix. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the product. It is true that FootMedix is only sold on the internet. This is because we cannot guarantee that people who resell our product are selling a legitimate product or upholding our stellar customer service expectations. We also choose to sell directly to our customers so that we can offer our customers the lowest price possible by cutting out the middle man, we cut our costs, which means it is cheaper for you.

      You can also learn all about Dr. David Watts and his brand Dermal Medix through a simple Google search. Dr. David Watts is a renowned cosmetic surgeon, President of QuadASF and a proud Army Major.

      While a majority of our customers love FootMedix, we realize that we cannot satisfy everyone. This is why we always honor our 90-day money back guarantee. I would be more than happy to issue you a complete refund for your order placed, just for giving our product a fair trial. Please email me personally at Sloane@dermalmedix.com, so I can refund you as quickly as possible. Thank you Barry.


  • Dermal Medix

    • By Mi,
    • New Jersey,
    • Jun 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Dermal Medix foot cream doesn't do what it claims to do. It is a nice foot cream, but certainly did not make my foot calluses disappear. It was totally a nice enriched body cream that softened my feet, but the calluses and dryness remain.

    I personally would like my money back! $100 for three tubes of glorified foot lotion is too much for the average consumer. Please send me back a check for $100.00 to Michelle Bivins.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jul 12, 2017

      Company Response from DermalMedix

      Hello there Michelle, Sloane here with Dermal Medix. I am sorry that you did not experience all of the benefits that FootMedix has to offer. I would be more than happy to issue you a full refund for the product you purchased.

      Please email me at [email protected] including your order number, so that I can process your refund for you as quickly as possible. Thank you for trying out our product and leaving us a review. I look forward to hearing from you Michelle.


  • Disappointed

    • By Justin Swift,
    • Trinidad, Colorado,
    • May 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    After watching the video, I was convinced their product would work. I've had dry feet for many years and have tried most everything that promises to work. I bought the three tubes of this product and used predominantly on one foot. My other foot I had surgery on so I couldn't put any lotions on the foot.

    At first, I thought it was working, but over time I found that unless you use it every day, your foot goes right back to its dry self. I've gone back to inexpensive products because they work also if used daily.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jun 9, 2017

      Company Response from DermalMedix

      Hi there Justin, Sloane here with Dermal Medix. I am sorry to hear that you did not receive the results you expected from FootMedix. A majority of our customers see the best results with continuous use of our product. Please keep in mind that we always honor our 90-day money back guarantee to ensure that every customer can give FootMedix a try risk-free. Please email me personally at Sloane@dermalmedix.com, so that I can begin processing your refund for you. Thank you again for your review and for giving our product a fair trial Justin. I look forward to hearing from you.


  • Has been really good

    Overall Experience:

    I do have a constant issue with cracked dry heels to a point that sometimes I cut pieces out of it. I have used other creams, and it did not do the job. Because on the return guarantee, I decided to try it. Even though it was more expensive, at this point I just wanted to stop the pain of my feet. I have been using for 2 days now. I do see a difference. My heels are much softer and are not hurting to walk. It kept soft for the whole day today. It's still hard, and it didn't close the cracks all the way. But it definitely has improved. I will post more about it in few days.

    My question is will this cure the problem or if I will have to use it forever? That I would like to know. I ordered a big amount, they had a special on Black Friday.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Dec 29, 2016

      Company Response from DermalMedix

      Hi Elaine,

      Thank you so much for your wonderful review of FootMedix, we are thrilled to hear that you are enjoying it's benefits!

      Without knowing the extent of the problem, it's difficult to say exactly how much or how long you will need to use FootMedix to achieve your skin health goals. Dr. Watts likes to tell his patients FootMedix is similar to lotion - usage will heal and promote skin health over time, and should be applied whenever dryness, cracks or other problems arise.

      If you have any additional questions or concerns, please email me directly at sloane@dermalmedix.com and I will be more than happy to help, thanks again!


  • A miracle

    • By Jeannie,
    • Michigan,
    • Feb 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This product is nothing short of a miracle. I tried every over the counter product for dry, cracked heels and feet, but my feet got worse. I ran across this product in an advertisement in my email, and thank God.

    I ordered it, and the first time I used it, it worked. Now, I do not have to use it every day. My feet stays moist all the time, and I only use it every other day after my daily shower. I would highly recommend for anyone experiencing extreme dry and cracked feet.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Slow Process

    • By Matt,
    • Mundelein, IL,
    • Mar 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The product appears to be working on my callused feet. My calluses on the heels, balls, and big toes on both my feet are shrinking, but the process is taking much longer than I thought it would based on Dermal Medix information.

    I have been applying the product twice a day for 5 weeks now, and although the calluses are shrinking, this is a slow process.

    At this time, I am recommending this product with some reservation, due to the slow process for overall satisfaction.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • May 4, 2017

      Company Response from DermalMedix

      Hello Matt, thank you for your valuable feedback. I am so glad to hear that you see a reduction in the calluses on your feet. While a majority of customers see results right away, it may take a bit longer for others depending on the severity of the calluses. I would love to hear about your journey with FootMedix as you begin seeing more results in the upcoming months. Please feel free to email me at Sloane@dermalmedix.com with any updates you may have. Thank you Matt, I look forward to hearing from you.


  • Beware when ordering

    Overall Experience:

    Beware of ordering; they try to sell you ten different things before you can complete the order. Every time you say "no" to the next offer, they offer you something else. Then you have to say "no" to each offer before you can complete your order. If you are not careful, you could end up spending hundreds of dollars.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 1, 2017

      Company Response from DermalMedix

      Hi there Lillian, Sloane here from Dermal Medix. Thank you for letting me know about your experience with our ordering process. We value responses like yours, so we can better understand what our customers experience when using our website. The reason we offer so many exclusive offers and prices is that we want to give our customers every chance they can to save on our products! If you ever have any other suggestions, please feel free to email me directly at Sloane@DermalMedix.com. Thank you Lillian!


  • Don't use them

    Overall Experience:

    This is a scam to get your credit card and billing address.

    Once they have that, they block your account and send you no product. The customer service does nothing and tells you nothing.

    I have written and called many times and zero response, although they keep sending me emails to buy more.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 26, 2018

      Company Response from DermalMedix

      Hi Christopher, I'm Sloane from DermalMedix. I was really confused and upset to read your review. This is not what DermalMedix is at all. We are a reputable and honest company, that strives to ensure that each customer has an overall positive experience. I am very sorry to hear that you have experienced these frustrations, and I would like to personally look into this for you right away. Just email me at my direct email address, Sloane@DermalMedix.com, and I can assist you with this. I look forward to hearing from you and making this right. I hope that this clears up any confusion you may have had about our company. Take care.


  • FootMedix

    • By Kimi,
    • Pebble Beach, CA,
    • Feb 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Hello. I have had the most embarrassing cracked feet for several years and have stopped wearing sandals. I decided to try this cream after searching on the internet for a solution, and I happen to really like it.

    I have noticed that I reach for it every morning, and I know why. I like what it is doing to my feet (they are softer and seem to be healing), and also the fact that it absorbs so nicely and doesn't give me that sticky wet lotion feel. It's a winner for me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Miraculous! Love it.

    • By Kate H,
    • North Carolina,
    • Apr 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was skeptical at first, but after trying store products for years and seeing no significant results, I thought, why not! I was scared of the price for just one tube, but bought it. Being surprised at the small tube when it arrived in mid-January of 2017, I quickly opened it. I thought to myself, this better work! I immediately started using a very, very small amount onto my heals after showering and put clean white cotton socks on. I massaged it into the bottom of my foot slowly to make sure my heel was covered well.

    I did that routine a few times a week and started to notice a significant change. It was amazing! The product did exactly what it said it would do; creating new cells and removing the old dead, dry, cracked skin and calluses on my heels.

    I had my first pedicure yesterday, March 31, 2017, since I started using this product, Dermal Medix. The little Vietnamese lady that has been doing my pedicures for three years almost fell over when she saw and felt my feet. No kidding! She couldn't get over it. My feet used to be the worst ones she ever saw. Now they're soft and beautiful and feel alive again. I would definitely recommend this fabulous product to anyone who has foot issues. I'm hooked.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 589

Write a Review for FootMedix by Dermal Medix!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
FootMedix by Dermal Medix