About Gotham Steel Pans

By HighYa Staff
Updated on: Mar 28, 2016

Want the “newest technology in non-stick cookware?”

Endorsed by Chef Daniel Green, Gotham Steel Pans make cooking easy by combining a non-stick ceramic surface with super strong titanium. How?

By allowing your food—whether it’s eggs, steaks, or even cheese—to slide right off, without using butter or oil. You also won’t have to worry about scratching your Gotham Steel Pans, since they’re safe to use with metal cookware.

Need a way to make one-pan recipes? Gotham Steel Pans can help there too, since they’re oven-safe up to 500 degrees, and are PTFE/PFOA/PFOS-free. And when you’re finished, pop your pans in the dishwasher for easy cleanup!

Will Gotham Steel Pans really make cooking as easy as they claim, and will they stand up to real-world cooking? Here are some questions we think you should be asking:

What’s So Special About Gotham Steel Pans?

First, even if you’re a newbie to the world of cooking, you already know that non-stick pans are not a recent invention, and that you’ll find a wide selection at just about any home goods store near you.

And despite how “revolutionary” it might seem, you’ll find dozens of non-stick cookware that also uses titanium. Sure, these might not always be as inexpensive as Gotham Steel Pans, but they might also be better quality.

Pro tip: These types of pans are not made completely using titanium, which would cause them to be prohibitively expensive. Instead, as the product’s name implies, these are aluminum pans infused with titanium, with a stainless steel handle.

If you did this, at the very least, you’ll be able to see and hold your pan before purchasing. And if you’re dissatisfied, purchasing locally will make the return process easier, while saving you some money in non-refundable S&H charges.

Want even more options? Try typing “titanium non-stick pans” into your favorite search engine. You’ll quickly find that you have literally thousands of choices.

Even if you were to stay within the “As Seen on TV” industry, you’ve got options like the Slip Stone Pan, CorVex Cookware, QTech Cookware, Orgreenic Under 30, and many others.

So, what makes Gotham Steel Pans different from these other options? Outside of price, there doesn’t something to be anything that’s meaningfully different.

Speaking of price, how much do Gotham Steel Pans cost?

How Much Does Gotham Steel Pans Set Cost?

One 9" Gotham Steel Pan is priced at $19.99 plus $6.95 S&H. At checkout, you’ll also be able to purchase an omelet pan for an additional $6.95 S&H.

Gotham Steel Pans come with a 90-day refund policy, less S&H. Did you choose the free omelet pan? This means you could lose as much in S&H as you’ll receive in a refund should you decide to process a return.

Regardless, you’ll need to contact the manufacturer’s customer service department at 888-326-0978 to request one.

Speaking of the manufacturer, who makes Gotham Steel Pans?

There wasn’t any information about the company on the Gotham Steel Pans website, although based on the customer service phone number, it’s the same company as Optic 1050 Binoculars. These seem to have a mixed online customer reputation (primarily related to poor quality), so it’s certainly something to keep in mind.

The Science Behind Non-Stick Cookware

Most non-stick cookware uses a thin Teflon coating on the cooking surface, the trade name for polytetrafluoroethylene, or PTFE. More recently, due to potential health concerns, PTFE is often replaced with another type of fluoropolymer.

Whichever substance is used (although Gotham Steel Pans are also claimed to be PFOA and PFOS-free), non-stick coatings work their magic by preventing your food and the pan from bonding at a molecular level, which they normally would under such high-heat conditions.

Speaking of high heat, what kind of burners can non-stick cookware like Gotham Steel Pans be used on? Let’s take a quick look.

Our Gotham Steel Pans Test

For more product tests: Click here to subscribe to HighYa’s YouTube channel

Approved Heating Sources for Non-Stick Cookware

While you’ll always want to check with your stove’s manufacturer about the types of cookware that can be used with it, titanium non-stick cookware is generally thought to be acceptable for ceramic and gas burners.

On the other hand, DoItYourself.com recommends avoiding using titanium cookware on electric stoves, since it “conducts heat too quickly and can cause the thermostat in the burner to shut down too early or damage it.” Again though, this might be manufacturer-specific, so when it doubt, check your user manual.

Finally, using titanium cookware like Gotham Steel Pans on an induction cooktop might be a bit of a crapshoot. Why? Because, in order for a pan to be effective on an induction cooktop, the bottom must be made of a ferrous (i.e. magnetic and consisting of iron) material. And unfortunately, titanium is a non-ferrous metal; unless Gotham’s manufacturer has included iron in the bottom and not advertised this fact.

Ferrous or not, a lot of people are worried about chemicals contained in non-stick surfaces. With this in mind, how easy is it to damage Gotham Steel Pans’ non-stick coating?

Is Gotham Steel Pans’ Non-Stick Coating Indestructible?

When Chef Daniel Green started whisking eggs with an electric mixer inside his Gotham Steel Pans, you might have cringed. You’re never supposed to do that to non-stick pans, right?

Right! If you want your non-stick pans to last as long as possible, you should avoid touching the surface with sharp or abrasive objects, like metal utensils or cookware (spatulas, etc.), as well as steel wool.

Will you be able to tell a difference after doing it just one time (like Chef Green)? Probably not. But it’s certainly not something you’d want to do on a regular basis, despite how the Gotham Steel Pans commercial might have made it seem.

Pro tip: Most professionals also recommend that you avoid putting non-stick cookware in the dishwasher, despite what’s claimed in the Gotham Steel Pans commercial.

Who is Chef Daniel Green, anyway?

Chef Daniel Green’s (Short) Bio

Perhaps best known for being a judge on Food Network’s Kitchen Inferno and for his full-time presenter position on EVINE (and part-time on ShopHQ, where he presents luxury cookware), Chef Daniel Green is an internationally known personality, as well as best selling author.

Daniel has also created in-room dining menus for different hotel chains all over the world, hosted webisodes for United Health Care, and even created meals for BMI International Airlines.

Our Bottom Line: Will Gotham Steel Pans Make Cooking Easy?

If you’re going from a traditional pan to a non-stick one like Gotham Steel Pan, will it make cooking easier? Probably so.

Does this mean you’ll instantly be whipping up healthy, delicious, chef-inspired meals? Unless you have years of experience (in which case you’d already owned a professional non-stick pan), almost certainly not.

» Related: Finding the Perfect Pots & Pans for Your Cooking Style

Regardless of your cooking experience, the key here is that there doesn’t appear to be anything special about Gotham Steel Pans that you wouldn’t also find priced similarly elsewhere online (or even less), or at a retailer near you. And despite its name, it appears the only steel contained in the pan is its handle.

And considering that you’ll be losing a decent chunk of change in non-refundable S&H for giving Gotham Steel Pans a try, we might recommend exploring these local options before placing your order.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

698 Consumer Reviews for Gotham Steel Pans

Average Consumer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 63 4 star: 19 3 star: 18 2 star: 72 1 star:  526
Bottom Line: 13% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 698
Sort reviews by:

  • Garbage

    • Mar 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The same problem as all the other complaints. I purchased two pans, used the 10" twice and it is scratched to death...by the salt?

    And all customer service does is give me the Gotham Warranty division address in New York no phone number fax number or e-mail.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Crap

    • Kingston, Ontario, Canada,
    • Mar 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Crap, just crap. Wouldn't clean after first use. Strongly recommend finding some other pans, these are horrible. Terrible costumer service as well. They wouldn't help me at all and asked for me to pay more to have it shipped to me after me having to pay to ship it to them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Very disappointed

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Mar 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought two Gotham Pans right before Christmas from Fox Deals and the large pan is now sticking and scratched. I have always used plastic utensils and no steel wool or any other abrasives.

    At first they were great, but will never buy them again.

    SAVE YOUR MONEY!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • CRAP POTS

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Mar 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Everything sticks. It's all chipped inside the pot 5 months after buying. I bought the set and regret it. Waste of money.

    No receipt so no one wants to help. I still have them to show friends the crap I bought. I love to cook and these are not a cook's dream, lol.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Extremely disappointed!

    • North Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Mar 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I like many others bought into the claims about the Gotham non-stick, tough, easy to clean frying pan. My disappointment began with my first use. I was cooking eggs, and much to my surprise, they stuck! At first, I thought perhaps I had the heat too high, so when I next cooked eggs I lowered the heat, only to get the same result! This continued with whatever I chose to cook - steak, onions (which I love), vegetables, hamburger patties, liver, even mushrooms. The claim nothing sticks is the same claim snake oil hustlers made over 100 years ago saying, "this will cure all your aches and pains." My pan has never come clean like in the adverts. I feel ashamed that I was such a dupe to fall for this product that does not come anywhere close to the claims made on the telly. I'm sure they use some sort of camera tricks to get those eggs to slide off the way they do. I hate to say it, or maybe I'm proud to say it, my pan is going in the bin as soon I as I hit the "Send" button!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Only lasted 3 months

    • Nova Scotia, Canada,
    • Mar 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Worked like a charm on day one, after that eggs started to stick. Had to use butter for them not to stick after that. I have to soak and scrub the pans now. What more can I say, they lasted 3 months. Disappointed because I was hoping to not use butter anymore.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    The one-star wonder!

    I bought the deep square pan (with a steamer and deep fry baskets) and large frying pan from BJ's. The square pan seems ok, but it doesn't see much action.

    The large frying pan is a whole other story. Within one or two uses, food started sticking and I had to start adding butter or oil to the pan before cooking in it. I knew I was in trouble when even greasy BACON STUCK TO IT! How is that possible?! I had to scrub the heck out of it to clean off the stuck-on bacon.

    Another time, the pan got put in in the dishwasher with stuck-on food on it. It came out with burnt food still on it. Had to scrub with Dawn for 5+ minutes to get it clean, and even then there are traces still evident. Pan also got scratched early on, and I don't use metal on it. I'm assuming something in the dishwasher did it.

    So, I went on YouTube looking for reviews before finding this site. There were many how-tos on how to keep food from sticking to it (ironic). One suggestion was how to season the pan like you would cast iron. Trying that right now. We'll see how it does.

    I also went on the official Gotham Steel website and found it very telling that the site doesn't feature customer reviews.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Burnt on remains

    • Indiana,
    • Mar 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was cooking hamburger on high and during this time my mom was getting into trouble, so I had to go fix things. When I got back the hamburger was blacken and the pan was smoking. So I dumped the hamburgers and after lunch, I washed dishes. The burnt pan would not get clean. After two days of soaking it in hot water and dawn, I decide to put it on the stove and with butter, wet cloth and stove on, I started washing it and the burnt area got cleaned and looks like new. I will coat the pan again before I use it again.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Gotham garbage

    • Canada,
    • Mar 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Well, like all other people who bought this Gotham Garbage were interested in the non stick and durability claims, but like always, if it's online or on TV it's probably 100% JUNK manufactured to ride around the world on a container ship from port to port to get here then returned back, wasting energy and polluting our world.

    Eggs not sticking is the biggest lie, they stick.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Not worth the effort

    • Alberta, Canada,
    • Mar 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It was great for the first few months. We used it according to the manufacturer's instructions.

    But then the pan started to lift in one area, and then started to stick in that area despite using oil, to the point that it's now harder to clean this pan than our non-nonstick pans. To add insult to injury, in order to get a replacement we need to send the pan back to the manufacturer in New York AND pay a processing fee, which adds up to more than the original purchase price of the pan itself. Very disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Burn your money, it's a better use of your money than this product.

    • Nova Scotia, Canada,
    • Mar 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a 2-pack of these pans. Total waste of money.

    From the start, I tried using no oil like it says not to, and everything stuck. I cleaned the pans and tried again with a little oil, same result. I even tried cooking on low heat, same result, just stuck and took longer to cook.

    Short of floating, the food in almost an inch of oil, everything stuck, hard to clean, not dishwasher safe (not that it made any difference at this point), they scratched right away and are basically useless unless you like burned food stuck to the bottom of your pans, with uneven cooking scraped off the bottom of these horrible pans.

    To the lady who said in a previous review that she could use the pans as a water dish for her dogs: I wouldn't subject a poor dog to these terrible products.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 698

Write a Review for Gotham Steel Pans!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review