About Hims Hair Kit

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Published on: Dec 19, 2017

By connecting men with credible doctors to obtain preventative care prescriptions, but without appointments, waiting rooms, or awkward conversations, Hims Hair Kits and sexual health products promise to help make achieving personal wellness easy and affordable.

In fact, the website reports theirs are available at up to 80 percent less than over-the-counter products and prescription options found at your local pharmacy.

But, when it comes to hair loss and sexual wellness, is the lowest priced option necessarily your best? Regardless, can you expect Hims kits to help you keep that beautiful hair, as claimed on the website?

Stick with us over the next few minutes, and we’ll help you decide whether or not you should go with them, or one of the competitors.

The Basics of Hair Loss

In our hair loss product buying guide, we explain that hair loss can be caused by a wide variety of issues, including poor nutrition, some medications, trauma, and poor grooming habits.

However, among men and women, the most common cause is androgenetic alopecia, or male and female pattern baldness. While the process isn’t fully understood by the medical community, it’s thought that a hormone named dihydrotestosterone attacks hair follicles and causes them to produce increasingly thin hair. Eventually, they stop producing hair altogether.

While there’s no known cure for hair loss, how do Hims’ kits claim to help?

Which Products and Ingredients Will You Find in Hims Hair Kits?

With thee details in mind, Hims offers three different kits, as well as each of their products a la carte:

  • Edible Hair Kit – Finasteride (30 x 1 mg pills) and The Vitamin (30 edible biotin gummies)
  • OTC Hair Kit – DHT Shampoo (8 oz bottle) and The Vitamin
  • Complete Hair Kit – Everything found in the above kits, in addition to a 2 oz bottle of minoxidil drops

Keep in mind that to place an order for a kit containing finasteride, you’ll need to obtain a prescription through one of the doctors in the company’s network.

To accomplish this, the site’s FAQ indicates you’ll need to complete a digital assessment on their website, which they indicate will take less than five minutes. Beforehand, though, you’ll need to enter your DOB, shipping and credit card information, and upload a government-issued ID.

Afterward, customers can ask the doctor questions anytime using the company’s secure, HIPAA-compliant messaging platform.

Important note: All of Hims’ doctors are licensed, board certified, and located in the United States, although they’re not licensed in every state. Before placing your order, make sure you take a look at their licensed states, which could vary depending on the product you’re considering.

Except for prescription medications, all of the products found in Hims Hair Kits are manufactured in the US. These include:

5% Minoxidil Treatment

Ingredients: 5% Minoxidil w/v, Alcohol, Propylene Glycol, Purified Water

Without going into unnecessary detail, minoxidil (the active ingredient popularized by brands like Rogaine, although it’s also found in hundreds of OTC products, whether from Hims or otherwise) is a vasodilator, which means it’s a substance that widens blood vessels and improves circulation, leading to improvements in male and female pattern baldness.

However, WebMD, reports that it’s not understood exactly how minoxidil accomplishes this, and that “it is not used for baldness at the front of the scalp or receding hairline in men.” In other words, if you’re suffering from hair loss anywhere other than the crown, it might not be a valid option.

Of course, this is something that Hims can help you determine through their five-minute digital assessment.

DHT Shampoo

Beauty expert Paula Begoun emphasizes that only the first five or six ingredients in any shampoo are present in high enough concentrations to make a meaningful difference. However, since some ingredients further down DHT Shampoo’s list have some clinical support for their efficacy related to hair loss, we’ve presented the complete lineup here:

Purified Water, Sodium Xylenesulfonate, Cocamide Betaine, Trideceth Sulfate, Cocamide MEA, Glycerin, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Sodium Chloride, Sodium Benzoate, Salicylic Acid, Lavender Oil, Peppermint Oil, Tea Tree Oil, Methylparaben, Polyquaternium 7, Phenoxyethanol, Cysteine-Bis-PG-Propyl Silanetriol, Lecithin, Nettle Leaf Extract, Hops Flower Extract, Grapefruit Peel Extract, Biotin, Folic Acid, Cyanocobalamin, Niacinamide, Pantothenic Acid, Pyridoxine, Riboflavin, Thiamine, Yeast Peptides, Yeast Extract, Blue 1

According to sites like Truth In Aging, EWG.org, and WebMD, the majority of DHT Shampoo’s ingredients act as surfactants and cleansing agents (sodium xylenesulfonate, cocamide betaine, trideceth sulfate), emulsifiers (cocamidopropyl betaine), conditioners (glycerin, cysteine-bis-PG-propyl silanetriol), preservatives (sodium benzoate, methylparaben, phenoxyethanol), and film formers and antistatic agents (polyquaternium 7).

They indicate that salicylic acid is especially effective for increasing cell turnover, which can help promote scalp health, although there's little-reported evidence that this can directly impact genetic hair loss.

On the other hand, WebMD tells us that lavender is possibly effective for improving “hair growth by as much as 44% after 7 months of treatment,” when combined with a topical solution of thyme, rosemary, and cedarwood oils.

However, none of these sites reported that these ingredients have been specifically shown to address DHT’s negative impact on hair follicles.

Multivitamin Supplement

The only ingredients listed on the Hims website for their Multivitamin Supplement were: Corn Syrup (From Corn, Sugar (From Beets), Water, Gelatin, Natural Flavor, Citric Acid, Pectin (Derived from Fruits), Colors (from fruits and vegetables), Lactic Acid.

We called the customer support line below during normal business hours looking for additional information, although the only option was to leave a voicemail. As such, we sent an email but hadn't received a response at the time of publishing.

Hims Finasteride

Each film-coated pill contains 1 mg of Finasteride.

Note: Per the Hims FAQ, “It is not known if Finasteride works for a receding hairline on either side of and above your forehead (temporal area).”

Could Any of the Ingredients in Hims Hair Kits Cause Side Effects?

The Hims FAQ emphasizes that their “hair loss products are only recommended for patients age 18 – 65,” and their sexual health products “for patients aged 25 – 65.” Furthermore, that Finasteride “is for use by men only and should not be used by women or children.”

Outside of this, WebMD indicates that common side effects associated with minoxidil include burning, stinging, or redness at the application site (no specifics provided). In some instances, however, (again, no specifics) it can cause serious side effects such as dizziness, fast or irregular heartbeat, chest pain, and hand or foot swelling.

RxList indicates that finasteride can cause side effects such as impotence, abnormal ejaculation or trouble having an orgasm, dizziness, weakness, runny nose, and skin rash.

Finally, WebMD reports that in rare instances, tea tree oil can cause skin irritation and swelling.

How Much Do Hims Hair Loss Kits Cost?

Hims’ hair kits will cost you:

  • Edible Kit: $28/mo
  • OTC Hair Kit: $30/mo
  • Complete Hair Kit: $44/mo

Individual hair loss and sexual wellness products are priced at:

  • Vitamins: $16
  • Minoxidil: $13
  • DHT Shampoo: $11
  • Finasteride: $28.50
  • Sildenafil: $20

When purchasing your first hair kit, Hims provides free shipping via first class mail. For all subsequent orders, they charge a flat $5 rate, while orders over $50 automatically include free shipping.

Can you pay through insurance, health savings, or flexible spending account? The FAQ reports that their services might be covered under insurance, depending on the prescription and plan, although this is something you’ll need to verify independently.

However, they emphasize that they’re “available at 50-80% off retail cost, making them more affordable and accessible to consumers.”

If you opt for a subscription plan, it can be changed, paused, or canceled at any time.

All Hims orders come with a satisfaction guarantee that they contain what you ordered and arrive undamaged. However, “in order to keep these products safe and secure, we cannot accept any returns.”

Customer service can be reached at 800-368-0038 or support@forhims.com.

What Do We Know About the Company Behind Hims Hair Kits?

Hims, Inc. is based out of Austin, TX and was founded in November 2017 by Andrew Dudum. He’s a serial founder and is also behind companies such as Atomic, Ever Co, Terminal, TalkIQ, Cherubic Ventures, and Mira Technologies (to name just a few).

Hims held an A+ Better Business Bureau rating, with no customer reviews or closed complaints, as of 12/18/17. According to their website, they “will continue to develop and evolve new and existing science-backed products focusing on a variety of men's health needs and concerns,” including upcoming skincare products.

Do Hims’ Hair Kits Have Any Competition?

According to IBISWorld, the hair loss treatment manufacturing industry rakes in more than $4 billion annually, so Hims’ hair kits are clearly up against a lot of competitors. In this sea of options, how can you make a more empowered decision that what you’re purchasing will deliver value?

It all starts with what’s causing your hair loss. For example, as we discussed above, sites like WebMD report that minoxidil and finasteride have clinical evidence indicating they could address aspects of androgenetic alopecia.

However, if you’re experiencing a receding hairline or hair loss anywhere other than on your crown, or if your hair loss is advanced, you might not experience these same benefits.

It’s also important to keep in mind that these aren’t your only hair restoration options, which include surgical transplants, toupees, wigs, and weaves, light treatments, and even topical fibers that can be applied during your morning routine.

Even if we’re only narrowing our options down to hair kits that contain some form of minoxidil, Hims is still up against some fairly deep competition, including Rogaine, Nioxin, Keranique, Vanarex, Foligain Trioxidil, and Bosley, to name just a few. Price-wise, most ranged between $20 and $50, with some reaching as high as $100.

How can you decide whether or not a Hims Hair Kit is more worthy of your money?

Our Final Thoughts About Hims Hair Kits

The bottom line is that, while you understand there isn’t a cure or a one-size-fits-all solution to genetic hair loss, you want to at least put up a fight. And based on what we learned from sites like WebMD, Truth In Aging, and RxList, it seems like many of the ingredients in Hims’ kits could provide some measure of help.

However, you’ll need to obtain a prescription for finasteride (or sildenafil, if sexual wellness is your concern), which will involve talking with a doctor. And if you don’t want to make an appointment with yours, Hims is currently the only company offering an all-in-one solution that includes assessment, prescription fulfillment, and different hair loss kits.

On top of this, Hims seems to have a mostly positive—if not somewhat limited—online reputation. But keep in mind that none of their products come with refunds, so you’ll want to make 100 percent certain you’re ready to spend the money before placing your order for one of their hair loss kits, or for their standalone products.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 39 Hims Hair Kit Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 11 4 star: 2 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  25
Bottom Line: 36% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 39
Sort reviews by:

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    So far so good, even with customer service.

    • San Antonio, TX,
    • Apr 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I first tried to get Keeps, but was turned down for a reason they would not answer, so I turned to Hims and was approved with the same answers I gave to Keeps. Anyway, my order arrived within less than a week and the regimen (I am using the entire package) is as easy as pie.

    I did have an issue with the free one month charge, as I was charged $49.00, but with a simple phone call, I immediately received a $44.00 refund. It's only been about a week, so I can't say anything about new hair growth, but the shampoo absolutely has my hair looking fuller and less brittle.

    The key is using the product as prescribed. Use it, don't just let it sit on the shelf. USE. IT. I will definitely report back in a few months as to whether I see a positive outcome with hair growth.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Amazed

    • Rockwall, TX,
    • Feb 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was amazed at how well it worked, I have tried pretty much all the items in the system with no results in the past. Decided to give it a try, and it took about 90 days to see anything, but at 5 months most of my hair was back. I know this won’t work for everyone, but it did for me, and I’m thankful. It’s worth a try in my opinion.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Rip off

    • California,
    • Feb 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Rip off. The process to order is not easy but the real problem was being charged monthly hidden fees after my order was complete for several months. This isn't explained in checkout. They don't email you or provide terms of service on their website. There is no receipt emailed to you and no way to review your order on their website. Customer service was unhelpful.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    I'm pleased with results thus far

    • Ohio,
    • Jan 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm surprised to see so many bad reviews. I've been using the shampoo and vitamins (no meds) for about 3 months now, and there is definitely a visible difference! I was thinning badly on the crown and frontal region of my head and it's starting to fill in (I turned 37 in January 2019). My advice is to be patient. Even if it initially feels like you're losing more hair, just hang in there.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Awful customer service

    • New York, NY,
    • Jan 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've had numerous terrible customer service experiences with this company. They act like they're not in competition with a bunch of similar businesses. I will take my business to their competitors instead.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Scam, zero stars

    • Marietta, GA,
    • Jan 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the so-called sample for $5.00 for my husband. They never sent me the sample and they told me that the $5.00 is a doctor’s fee and it is not refundable. They are crooks. Do not deal with this horrible company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Save your money

    • Columbus, OH,
    • Dec 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I heard about them on a podcast. After signing up for the $5 first month, I was surprised when I got charged $50 instead. I am still waiting three days for a response. The order has not shipped yet either. They ship slowest mail USPS first class. I also found out you still have to go to the pharmacy. This is something I signed up to not have to do. They fill your finasteride prescription, and it is generic. Not that this is a big deal, but it is because they charge $28 which you can nearly buy brand name Propecia for. You are overpaying a lot monthly when you can get generic for $10 or less a month.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 12 people found this review helpful

    This company is awful

    • California,
    • Dec 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered Hims five days ago. They took my money immediately and now no response. I’ve sent several messages with no reply. I have no idea if I’m getting hair loss pills or not. I’m going to dispute the charge with my bank because this company lacks customer service. I have no idea why they suck so much. I’ve read several reviews, and this seems to be a pattern. There are plenty of other legit companies.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 17 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Impossible to cancel

    • Georgia,
    • Nov 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been going back and forth with their "customer service" to cancel the subscription that I did not know I was signing up for. So far, it is not canceled yet, so I am disputing charges with my credit card company and blocking future charges. This is not cool.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 15 people found this review helpful

    It really works

    • Miami, FL,
    • Oct 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It really works. First you need to get the pills, you really need to dose the pills to work, and you have to take it every day because if you stop your hair falls. I get the prescription from my doctor and I tell him to give me 90-day supply. Then I have this app, it's called GoodRx, and it is amazing, you save money on prescription medication. I get it to $17 to $30 for the total 90 days. I just buy the shampoo and vitamin, but you can get the drip on Amazon, it is cheaper than online. I really like the shampoo, it works, but you need to get the pills.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 28 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Just because it's on TV doesn't mean it is not a scam.

    • Spokane, WA,
    • Sep 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    So far everything that they said has been a lie, from the prices to the products, and even opting out of there so-called monthly scam. There is no way I would ever do business with this company again. I was smart enough to start this on a PREPAID debit card so they can't charge what is not there, since when they found out they could charge me for more crap. They went into beast mode, sending multiple emails a day that I owe them money and "would you like to purchase more products from us." Lol, really? If a customer supposedly owes you, why would you try to sell them more? Just a scamming company. I should have put two and two together when I saw the snopp selling it. After going to Walmart and Target, I saw that the same products just in different packaging for a much lower cost and better online reviews. Save your money and save your sanity, do your business locally.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 39

Write a Review for Hims Hair Kit!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review