Hims Hair Loss Treatment Reviews

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Hims Hair Loss Treatment

Overall Rating

2.2

43 Customer Reviews

Summary

Hims offers a hair loss treatment that allegedly helps address male pattern baldness (androgenetic alopecia). Learn how customers are rating their experiences with the product.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

2.2 Stars out of 43 Reviews
5 Star:25% 4 Star:4% 3 Star:0% 2 Star:2% 1 Star:67%
33% Recommend This Brand
Start your review of Hims Hair Loss Treatment:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Feb 19, 2018

Hims is legit - used for 3 months and love it

By DLB, San Francisco, CA, Verified Reviewer

Not sure why the title suggests hims is a scam. These dudes are legit. I've received all my shipments on time and have used the complete hair/gummy kit for three months. They’re straight up about the side effects, and personally, I’ve experienced none of them. I’ve actually taken Finasteride for 5 years but switched to hims because it was 50% cheaper. Hard to argue with that. Super happy with the product.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 23, 2018

Great products and service

By MMA, New York, NY, Verified Reviewer

I don't write reviews often but feel compelled to write one for hims because my experience with them and their products have been incredible.

Sign up: Super seamless. You answer an intelligent and thorough questionnaire through a very sleek interface. Someone mentioned that it was lengthy; of course, it is, you want to make sure you're getting the right treatment!

Doctor follow up: An hour and 45 minutes (just checked the time stamp on my emails) after I finished the signing up, I received an email from one of their doctors confirming the assessment and products that would be sent. The message was thorough, professional, and clearly personalized.

Shipping Confirmation: Two days after I signed up, I received an email confirming that my order had shipped. Simple.

Delivery: Three days after the shipping confirmation email, I received the goods.

Box: Clearly the packaging doesn't matter to the effectiveness of the product, but it's stylish and adds to the entire experience.

Price: I can't speak to price comparisons because I'm new to the hair loss game (not a game I want to be playing), but it feels relatively cheap, especially considering the heavily discounted first-month price.

Subscription model: Frankly as a millennial, I don't need another "thing" I have to remember to buy. The subscription model is great because you set it up once and boom, you never run out.

Most importantly, effectiveness: The products have been super effective, and I'm continuing to use hims products. At the end of the day, you'll never know if the product works unless you try it, and frankly, with their effectively free first month, it's pretty irrational not to try it.

Service: I just tried getting in touch with them and got a response immediately.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 23, 2018

Excellent product!

By Daniel Kubin, New York, NY, Verified Reviewer

The hims product was exactly as advertised - great! An A+ product with A+ packaging and A+ results! It was pain-free dealing with their support team, and the whole process from order to delivery was exceptionally smooth. I would recommend hims to anyone who is losing their hair.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 5, 2018

It’s not Amazon, fellas.

By Josh U., Cincinnati, OH, Verified Reviewer

I’m not a review writing kind of guy. I don’t even participate in social media. I do rely on others that write reviews for all of my online purchases. This has to be posted/read. I’m not sure if this will help me just yet, but it could help YOU with your hair. If you’re serious about doing something for hair or lack thereof, don’t listen to folks that are impatient. I use Amazon Prime and am used to getting stuff in two days with quick answers.

I prefer to buy stuff online unless it’s something that is probably best to buy in person or local, like shoes or vegetables.

I’m 36 and my hairline has been, umm, high since at least my 21st birthday. However, over the past two years, my crown has been thinning too fast.

I’ve been taking nutritional supplements supposed to affect the DHT and some biotin for three months. I’ve seen some small improvements.

I didn’t try Rogain because of the price and the mixed results from others. What brought me to Hims was the ease of getting finasteride because I don’t have health insurance. I also like Hims openness of "this is what offer, this is what it does, this is how much it costs."

From the start of my process to the product in hand was just under two weeks, 8-9 business days with a holiday weekend in there.

Yes, you have to answer questions.

Yes, you send pictures.

Yes, there are doctor emails and maybe follow up questions.

Yes, the process takes time.

No, it’s not a scam.

Minoxidil and finasteride are not proprietary, and you don’t have to buy their other stuff.

I paid $5 for the complete hair kit, what’s to lose?

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 19 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 19, 2018

It really does work!

By Paolo Iñigo T., South Orange County, CA, Verified Reviewer

I’ve been seeing Hims products on social media for at least a few months before trying it myself earlier this month. I didn’t use the $5 hair kit that they are offering, but I just bought the shampoo. After a few days of trying it, I see some hopeful results. As a 33-year-old guy, my hair has started to lose rapidly since 2014. Being a single guy, I started to worry. I’ve tried over the counter hair growing shampoos here and there for the past four years, but neither of them worked. I’d say that Hims shampoo is the only hair growing shampoo product that has worked for me. I’d definitely buy this shampoo again once it runs out.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 22, 2018

Great results, simple, and well-priced

By Carl B., Los Angeles, CA, Verified Reviewer

Seems many are frustrated with their customer service. I’ve not interacted with them more than once, and that time I got help within a couple of hours. My experience has been very smooth. Took some pics, answered a few questions, paid $5 and got my first shipment in the mail within a week or so. I have now been using it for three months and have visible results. Hair loss has stopped, and there is budding regrowth. I do the whole package, with finasteride, multivitamins, shampoo, and minoxidil, and it really has been very successful. The pricing is amazing, the service of not having to think about these products being refilled is great, and with the results I’ve seen so far, I can’t see myself not continuing to be a customer.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 15 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 16, 2018

Excellent

By Gerry H., Pennsylvania, Verified Reviewer

I don’t know why so many people are having issues with Hims Hair Company? I started using them two months ago, and I gotta say they have been great to me. They have a Twitter direct message and if you have any questions, they instantly contact you! So, I don't know why people can’t get a hold of them? Anyway, I been using their hair products now, plus Finasteride even before I decided to join their site and I've been on just Finestride for six months. My hair is amazing! It used to be so thin up front and top, and now it’s almost entirely covered, another three to four months, I think I’m back to my 20-year-old hair. I am now 40! So guys, just be patient. Also, if you have an issue just go on Twitter and direct message them it’s so simple and fast!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 8, 2018

It really works

By Ak K., Miami, FL, Verified Reviewer

It really works. First you need to get the pills, you really need to dose the pills to work, and you have to take it every day because if you stop your hair falls. I get the prescription from my doctor and I tell him to give me 90-day supply. Then I have this app, it's called GoodRx, and it is amazing, you save money on prescription medication. I get it to $17 to $30 for the total 90 days. I just buy the shampoo and vitamin, but you can get the drip on Amazon, it is cheaper than online. I really like the shampoo, it works, but you need to get the pills.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jan 30, 2019

I'm pleased with results thus far

By Chris F., Ohio, Verified Reviewer

I'm surprised to see so many bad reviews. I've been using the shampoo and vitamins (no meds) for about 3 months now, and there is definitely a visible difference! I was thinning badly on the crown and frontal region of my head and it's starting to fill in (I turned 37 in January 2019). My advice is to be patient. Even if it initially feels like you're losing more hair, just hang in there.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 10, 2019

Amazed

By Brian B., Rockwall, TX, Verified Reviewer

I was amazed at how well it worked, I have tried pretty much all the items in the system with no results in the past. Decided to give it a try, and it took about 90 days to see anything, but at 5 months most of my hair was back. I know this won’t work for everyone, but it did for me, and I’m thankful. It’s worth a try in my opinion.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Apr 29, 2019

So far so good, even with customer service.

By Farley O., San Antonio, TX, Verified Reviewer

I first tried to get Keeps, but was turned down for a reason they would not answer, so I turned to Hims and was approved with the same answers I gave to Keeps. Anyway, my order arrived within less than a week and the regimen (I am using the entire package) is as easy as pie.

I did have an issue with the free one month charge, as I was charged $49.00, but with a simple phone call, I immediately received a $44.00 refund. It's only been about a week, so I can't say anything about new hair growth, but the shampoo absolutely has my hair looking fuller and less brittle.

The key is using the product as prescribed. Use it, don't just let it sit on the shelf. USE. IT. I will definitely report back in a few months as to whether I see a positive outcome with hair growth.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on May 5, 2018

Hims is pretty ok

By Alex F, Brooklyn, NY, Verified Reviewer

Hims is not a two-star company to be sure. All their products are fine, and the kits are nicely packaged, and I at least feel as though my hair looks thicker.

The main flaw is that sometimes a hold will get placed on your account because you need to get the prescription renewed. This process seems straightforward but ends up hitting snags for whatever reason, so they put a hold on shipping, but I have not been charged during these hold times. The real issue is you have to hope the CX team doesn't lose track of you while resolving the issue.

P.S. I write this only because of most reviews on HighYa seem as if they are purchased by competitors. That being said (and hopefully passing through), I wanted to say something in Hims defense.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on May 5, 2018

Pretty good so far

By Tom Hanks, Los Angeles, CA, Verified Reviewer

I enjoy the service so far. A lot of people are complaining about customer service and giving it 1 star, and below I'll talk about that.

But for now, their products are pretty great for the pricing honestly. You get a free appointment, there's no "schedule" like someone down there said. You simply join the site, apply for what you need, they'll ask for some pictures of your problems, and they'll get back to you about how they think you could go about fixing it. This is honestly the best method to get a prescription to these meds; you don't pay over $100 for a consultation, plus other fees upon visiting and returning.

Next, the pricing is really great for what you're getting, since these things go from $30-50 and their supplements are worth at least $20 on other sites like Amazon for similar ingredients, for anyone complaining about that.

Overall, it's a pretty great service with one real rough patch that they're clearly working on.

As for the people asking about the support:

1. Understand that these are PEOPLE working here, not robots. I usually receive replies within two days through EMAIL (this usually takes much longer for other sites, unless clearly a BIG cooperation).

2. There ARE more options than just email! Some people here are crying about how they suck because you can only call and email them. Clearly they were just salty and didn't care to look around to find their contact us page before posting a review, lol.

3. They even warn you, stating they are delayed because of the amount of messages they're getting, and they're sorry! It's called patience; if you're looking into these services, this is the first thing you're going to need! These pills aren't magic fix it pills, they take plenty of time. If you can't wait 2-3 days for an email from a newer company starting up and getting thousands of new members every day so they're pretty backed up, then chances are you don't want to use these pills as they take 3+ months to work at times!

Support verdict: Yes, their support isn't the best at the moment, but again, it's a newer company trying to catch up to their demand, and they're clearly improving on it. These are genuine people trying to assist you.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 22 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 20, 2018

Better off finding another product

By Micah, Las Vegas, NV, Verified Reviewer

I've only been using hims for three months, but that seems to be enough to realize it's time to look elsewhere.

The customer service, if ever needed, is spotty at best. My second month, they were out of product and didn't inform me for another month. And getting a response takes a few days everytime for me.

As far as the product, the shampoo is missing a lot of key ingredients known to be useful for hair regrowth, like saw palmetto, beta-sitosterol or ketoconazole. And I've noticed a surprisingly high amount of hair in the shower.

Because of that, it only makes me wonder the purity of their other products. That's only my personal three-month experience, and I've switched over to other products now.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 30 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 21, 2018

No info about my order

By Gamaliel, Miami, FL, Verified Reviewer

I made my order two weeks ago, and I don't get any order status or info about my order. I send an email and they never responded, and when I try to call this company, they are never answering, you just get the voicemail. I think I'm going to cancel my order and call my credit card company.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 45 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 2, 2018

Thief

By They Will Steal From You, New York City, NY, Verified Reviewer

Do not sign up for this service. They will charge your credit card non-refundable charges and deliver nothing. After a lengthy sign-up process and doctor questionnaire, they will deny your service and keep your money, recommending you see a real doctor.

Do not sign up! Do not give information to them!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 45 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 8, 2018

Horrible customer support!

By H. Fernadez, Tampa, FL, Verified Reviewer

No update on order status. The card was charged a week ago. There is no way to contact customer service. Emails are ignored, and no one ever answers the phone number. The only option is to leave a voicemail, and that is never returned.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 37 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 22, 2018

Not a happy customer

By Tom Lotman, Los Angeles, CA, Verified Reviewer

Hims products weren't delivered as advertised. They harvest your personal information, photos taken during the consultation, and then your credit card information. The company doesn't respond to phone calls or voicemails either.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 32 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 28, 2018

Not a pleasant experience.

By Thomas Riddell, Ohio, Verified Reviewer

The products I received seemed ok, most of which I could have ordered Amazon, but the effort spent navigating possibly the worst website I’ve seen since the 1990’s and the constant need for “medical review” had me pulling my hair out. The irony. Nothing seems to function properly on their site.

When I asked their representative questions, he usually responded with vague answers, not really answering my question. I found the whole thing extremely frustrating to the point of giving up. They didn’t even respond to my last email asking about my order. They have a clever concept for a business but their implementation sucks. If they fail, it’ll be for that reason.

Almost everything I buy, I buy online, and I can’t remember the last time I posted a negative review. I’m not even sure that I’ve ever posted one, but this time it’s warranted.

I was looking forward to convenient monthly shipments of the products I wanted, but it turns out, it’d be a lot more convenient to call off work and go to my doctor and get the rest from Amazon.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 35 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 15, 2018

Horrible/non-existent customer service

By Alex, Boulder, CO, Verified Reviewer

I saw an advertisement for Hims haircare product on my Instagram and thought I'd give it a try. I signed up for the monthly service, sent in a couple of pictures of my hairline and a brief description of my medical history (I have a completely healthy record), and thought everything was good to go.

The next day I received a pre-written mass email from one of the so-called "doctors" explaining how I should use the product on a daily basis. I was really looking forward to receiving the product in the mail and start using it to preserve my hair before I start losing it.

After about a week I received a vague pre-written email explaining that my order has been canceled due to my medical history. I have never even been to the hospital for anything other than a cold, nor am I taking any other medication or have any allergies. I then emailed Hims asking for more information as to why my order was canceled. It's been two weeks, and I haven't heard back from either the "doctor" or the main support@forhims.com email address provided on the website. It seems as if Hims either ignored my inquiry or they just don't have the infrastructure to support the amount of potential clients. I wouldn't recommend this service to anyone.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 24 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 17, 2018

Poor products and experience.

By Andrew, Seattle, WA, Verified Reviewer

Their marketing is trendy and the simplicity of online ordering is very appealing. Having said that, I would never work with this company again. Their customer service is atrocious. After my order, I didn't hear anything from them for over six days (only after I contacted them) despite them saying I would hear from them the next day regarding the status of my order. No information on when my doctor's consultation would begin or when my information has been reviewed.

It's borderline impossible to cancel orders or talk to a customer service rep. They also save your personal information and credit card information, and there is nowhere on the site where you can delete this info. Very shady company. Stay away.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 30 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 27, 2018

Seems like a scam

By Jesse Villanueva, Chicago, IL, Verified Reviewer

I placed an hour for the $5 welcome kit and provided some information about myself and received an email a day later from a supposed doctor. Then two days later they cancel my order based on my medical history. Even though I’m rarely sick and don’t take any other prescriptions, they still canceled my order. This seems like a big scam.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 22 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 29, 2018

Your order will not ship

By Kevin Elschlager, Missouri, Verified Reviewer

I paid for my order about three weeks ago, there is always a problem, and my order still has not shipped. No customer service to call, only email, and you will get a generic response. I am wondering if this is a scam. I paid for my order and want my order shipped or I want my money back. I cannot tell you if the product works for I never received my order, and I tried to express my concerns with no answers to when my order will ship. STAY AWAY from this company!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 24 People Have Voted

Posted on May 16, 2018

Bad

By James Webster, New York City, NY, Verified Reviewer

You have to pay $5 just to get "diagnosed" on the website, as to what basis they do this I don't know. They can then just turn you down without so much as a word. Just go see a doctor in person and save yourself some trouble.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 29 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 15, 2018

Never got anything

By Tony R., San Francisco, CA, Verified Reviewer

I paid the five bucks and two weeks later still never got anything. I go on the web page and emailed them to both emails they have up and never got a real response. I don’t even see a phone number so I can call them or else I would call and see why I haven’t got anything. Don’t buy it.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 29 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 18, 2018

Hims scam

By Michael J., Wisconsin, Verified Reviewer

So first off, let start off saying that I was recommended by a friend to use Hims, so I said why not. They ask questions about ED, so I told them my experience, and from what doctors told me, this is how I answered their questions. So I was denied by them. Their response was to see my primary doctor, which I did. This is why I came to their website, because my doctor wouldn't help me.

So I wait a while and try again. Now this time they tell me there's something wrong with my photos, I have to upload it, which I did FIVE TIMES! I get a few more emails, so today, 6/11/2018, I decided to call. Now mind you, I check my account and it says my order is being packaged, but once I get on the phone with customer service, they tell me the doctor denied me and I should check my messages again. Another doctor denied me for the fourth time.

Now let me say this, my brother is in his late twenties, and I'm in my early forties, and he has been approved. LOL. I don't feel like I should have to lie to receive their products, but I'm very disappointed with how things went.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 30 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 25, 2018

Very disappointing service

By Soumanjoy D., New Jersey, Verified Reviewer

Ok, it's not Amazon. But if you're providing a service, there needs to be a modicum of responsibility and promptness, which was not met.

I have no complaints against their products. I did not see any improvement after five months on my sightly thinning patch on my crown, but I was willing to give it a long-term shot. I also have no problems against their questionnaire. In fact, I find that commendable, as the whole thing can be done at my leisure instead of going to a doctor.

My complaint is against customer service. Someone said that they're a startup that's struggling with increasing volume of customers. Time to restructure. This cannot be an excuse in a competitive market where customers can't wait for days for a response. If you can't handle it, either improve or give up, instead of displeasing customers.

The doctors are weird. They either don't look at your case or don't read your emails properly. I get advice that I didn't ask for, and don't get the advice I asked. They also got my two subscription plans mixed up.

The moment they took away the option to pause or cancel orders from the website, I smelled a rat. They took away control from the customer in order to manipulate them into dependence on their customer service, which apparently didn't exist. Two of my emails from three months ago went unanswered, even after follow up. When I asked to pause my subscription, no answer for days. Now they're notifying me that my order will ship soon. So their decision about the website was to basically stall until your credit card was charged, then frustrate you by emails up until you give up.

I'm not giving up - the cancellation, I mean. I've emailed them for that. If that goes ignored, I'm disputing the case with the help of my credit card. Discover is great that way. If forhims.com is inept enough to ignore Discover's investigation, is a foregone conclusion. If they do respond, I have evidence of their lack of service and response. I'm pretty sure it'll be the former.

No, I'm not paid by a competitor, although now I'm going to find one. Save your money, and yourself from frustration.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 61 People Have Voted
Showing 1-27 of 43

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.