About HomeLight

Locating a real estate agent is a funny process. On one hand, you need a professional with a proven track record, great negotiating skills, an innate knowledge of the local market, and more. After all, buying or selling a home is a big deal, and there’s a whole lot of money on the line. On the other hand, most of us found our last agent browsing online (or even swiped their number from the back of a park bench). Can you think of any other large, personal transaction in your life where you leave your fate up to a (almost) complete stranger?

Enter HomeLight. Instead of spending hours combing through agent bios, researching their sales history, and learning about their online client reviews on multiple websites, HomeLight’s Matching Engine automatically analyzes 18 million+ home sales and client reviews to bring your only the highest performing (top 5%) agents. In just two minutes, agents are screened based your specific criteria, including whether you’re buying or selling, whether or not they specialize in your target area, their skills and experience, and more.

All together, HomeLight claims their service can help you “find the perfect real estate agent” and save you time and hassle, while remaining 100% free—no catches.

Granted, it’s difficult to beat free. But even though HomeLight won’t cost you more than a few minutes of your time, does this still make them a good option for locating your next agent? Are there other similar services? You’ve got questions and in this review, we’ll uncover some answers.

Let’s start by looking at how the HomeLight process works.

How Does the HomeLight Matching Engine Work?

Here’s how the company describes it:

“HomeLight is the leading resource for finding objective agent performance data online. We've spent years collecting, normalizing and summarizing historical data across millions of transactions. With this unique data set, we apply statistical data analysis and machine learning methods to predict who will bring the most experience, expertise and negotiating power to your home transaction.”

Specifically, after answering a few simple questions, HomeLight’s Matching Engine searches and analyzes over 18 million transactions since 2009, along with 2 million agents and 200,000 brokerages, all aimed at matching you with an agent. It will look at things like recent listings an agent has completed, educational background and bios, customer reviews from individuals who have interacted with the agent, the agent’s transaction volume by year, and more.

Then, the Matching Engine filters the information into five different categories:

  • Location: In other words, someone who specializes in your current area, or the are where you’re looking to buy. Here’s how the company puts it: “Using spatial IP and geo-distance analysis, we can target real estate agents that have hyperlocal expertise within your city, neighborhood, and even those that know your street.”
  • Buy or sell: Here, HomeLight’s Matching Engine will filter results by the agent’s historical expertise, whether buying or selling.
  • Property Type: HomeLight will analyze transaction data “to identify agents’ expertise in your exact type of property,” whether single family, condominium, multi-family, and more.
  • Price: Any agent you choose must be familiar with your price range. After all, there can be huge differences in the needs of a luxury buyer versus a first-time homeowner.
  • Agent type: Finally, HomeLight wants to make sure that an agent’s personality matches your needs. For example, some clients might require an agent who can spend lots of time with them, while other might need a tough negotiator.

Finally, HomeLight’s machine learning algorithm will use “Bayesian statistical models to predict which agent will get the best results for you.” Then, you’ll be provided a personalized list of the best agents across all major brokerages in your area, who you can reach out to at your leisure.

Pro tip: HomeLight only returns results for agents employed by Coldwell Banker, Century 21, Sotheby’s, Keller Williams, Berkshire Hathaway Home Services, and Re/Max. While these are certainly many of the largest firms in the industry, it’s certainly worth keeping in mind.

Sounds like a lot of technology, right? How much will it cost you to use HomeLight?

Is HomeLight Really Free?

If you’re a homebuyer or seller, then by all appearances, HomeLight is completely free to use in order to connect with local agents.

If you’re an agent, you can obtain leads from HomeLight with a 25% referral fee, while other real estate professionals (lenders, title companies, general contractors, moving companies, etc.) can advertise through the company.

Need help using HomeLight? The company claims to have a “team of dedicated real estate concierges with 50+ years of experience” standing by at (888) 998-1909.

Given its apparent usefulness and the fact that it’s completely free, are clients over the moon about HomeLight?

What Are HomeLight’s Clients Saying?

Although HomeLight was founded by Drew Uher in 2012 and is backed by huge investors like Google’s venture capital arm, there wasn’t a whole lot of online feedback about the company at the time of our research.

RealtyBizNews.com wrote a fairly in-depth review about their experience using the HomeLight website (they didn’t reach out to an agent). Overall, they liked the interface but were a bit on the fence about the number of questions they were asked. They also found that they received the same recommendations even after changing some of their criteria, although they concluded that HomeLight is the best “buyer-seller-agent conduit” they’ve ever seen.

Outside of this, there were 3 closed HomeLight complaints over at the Better Business Bureau, where the company had an A+ rating (as of 3/18/16). Of these, only two provided details, both of which referenced removing an agent’s information from the company’s database.

Is HomeLight a Shot in the Dark?

Like we mention above, it’s difficult to beat free. In other words, by giving HomeLight a try, your bank account won’t be any lighter, but you also won’t be able get back the time you spent.

Is HomeLight worth trying? Ultimately, that’s something only you can decide. But given the fact that they’ve been in business for more than three years and are backed by several industry giants, they might offer an easier, faster, and more accurate way of connecting you with an agent. Just remember that HomeLight currently only serves 38 U.S. markets, so you might have some difficulty locating agents in smaller markets.

Did you use HomeLight to locate an agent? If so, let’s do something about the lack of online feedback for the company. How? By writing your very own review below and adding to the conversation!


Read 625 HomeLight Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 4.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 561 4 star: 23 3 star: 0 2 star: 3 1 star:  38
Bottom Line: 93% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 625
Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • HomeLight works!

    • Olathe, KS,
    • Dec 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    HomeLight was a valuable service. I was contacted by multiple agents regarding the sale I’d my home. Based on who called and a little research I determined which ones I wanted to interview.

    I selected 3 agents and met with each of them and asked a lot of questions. While I believe all three agents would have done a good job for me, two of the three were top contenders and while I believe either would have been good, one had more experience selling in my neighborhood, our personalities clicked and I had a good gut instinct and made my selection.

    The Huff Group was great to work with. From the initial walk through and discussion through close, it was a top-notch experience. We listed on a Wednesday around noon and by Friday noon I accepted a full price offer. Bryan and his team were great to work with and I’d highly recommend them. They kept me fully informed every step of the way, which was very important since I had already relocated out of state. They had the resources to successfully market my home for a swift sale while ensuring I got top dollar for my property. Additionally, they had the resources to help with handyman work to be done pre-listing as well as handle any post-inspection items and all at a very reasonable price.

    I found HomeLight through an internet search. I’ll admit I was initially skeptical of the service because I was unfamiliar with it but was glad I did the research and contacted HomeLight because they aligned my needs with realtors who could help me achieve my goals and ultimately have a good experience with the sale of my home.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • HomeLight website

    • Goodyear, AZ,
    • Dec 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wanted to sell my house in El Paso quickly, since I needed to move to Phoenix. As I was searching the internet for a Realtor, I found the HomeLight website that provides the top Realtors in the El Paso area and that are measured by the website based on performance. HomeLight provided me with a few top realtors that I did contact and set up interviews. My wife and I decided to go with Barry Karch with resulted in selling our home at the 80-day mark. We are very grateful for having used HomeLight and cut the research of Realtors we would have had to endure.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Connecting with HomeLight

    • Colorado,
    • Dec 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    All I can say is there has been no communication, follow up, diligence, or otherwise. From my initial conversation, I had wanted to work with HomeLight. Was told I qualified to be a part of their team and services. I have been given the run around by the staff about what I needed to do, and how I would qualify. Lori Pinkerton and Devon De Jesus have made no effort to follow through with me and have provided numerous excuses. These excuses include not being able to verify me and my sales history to technical issues with their engineering team. Very disappointed and I would not recommend their services.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Dec 9, 2019

      Company Response from HomeLight, Inc.

      Hi Richard,

      I'm very sorry to hear about your negative experience with us and I assure you that is not the norm. I sent your review over to our support team, and someone from support is planning on reaching out to you tomorrow so please keep a look out for a call or email from us. We'll do our best to get to the bottom of this issue, and we hope to work with you in the future!

      Best,

      Josh from HomeLight


  • HomeLight recommendations

    • Wheeling, IL,
    • Nov 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The HomeLight app was easy to use and gave me many options of real estate agents. I think the app asks the right questions for you to find a great agent depending on your preferences. So whether you are looking to sell and/or buy a house, I think the HomeLight app gave us several agents to interview for us to sell our home and we found just the right agent for us through HomeLight.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Choosing a real estate agent

    • Queen Creek, AZ,
    • Nov 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We had chosen HomeLight because we needed help in choosing an agent that was not only experienced and qualified in the area we choose to move, but, someone that will go the extra mile since we were not local. We live in California and we’re seeking to purchase a vacation home in Arizona.

    After speaking with the advisor, we felt confidence, that it was better having him provide agents, rather than doing our own searching. We feel, even if we had time, we would have not found an agent that quickly. Plus we had a lot of questions, purchasing a home in a different state, HomeLight and how the process works.

    The advisor was very knowledgeable and we had a good feeling while speaking with him. He even followed up with an email with important questions for us to ask when interviewing the agents. The response time from the agents was very fast. And we were able to speak with them, then choose the one that was a good fit for our situation. Everything happened just as the advisor explained. It was a seamless experience.

    We are so thankful for HomeLight helping us choose the right agent for our needs.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Great services and wouldnt have it any other way. I highly recommend these services.

    • El Paso, TX,
    • Nov 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got realtor Gaby Garcia by HomeLight and that was probably the best thing that happened during this transaction. The services where handled with professionalism and punctuality. The call back time was great and the people I spoke with walked me through the process without skipping a step. HomeLight was a blessing, we got our home under contract in less than a month and not sure if it would have happened if they didn't get one of their great realtors to help us. I am truly happy with this transaction. I high recommend and put full confidence in HomeLight choice of realtors. Thank you HomeLight!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • HomeLight: Excellent service and professional platform

    • College Station, TX,
    • Nov 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Our interaction with HomeLight began while we were trying to sell our home in the Edinburg area. The realtor at the time was non-communicative and lacked any sort of work ethic. I reached out to HomeLight to initiate the process of finding a new realtor. Our experience was phenomenal! After completing the questionnaire we quickly received a call from HomeLight verifying everything followed by four phone calls from local realtors.

    Boone Tyson was my first call. He is professional, knowledgeable, and a great communicator. My husband and I had been looking for someone to be our champion and fulfilled that role exceptionally well. He advertised and hosted two open houses and got our home sold within a couple of weeks. He walked us through the process and all the paperwork as well. Excellent service!

    HomeLight is a service that we will definitely be recommending and using in the future.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Excellent recommendations that paid off!

    • Florida,
    • Nov 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    When we went to sell our home in South Florida, we contacted HomeLight for referrals on the best realtors in our area. They promptly forwarded a list and we received calls and emails as well.

    After meeting with some, we were able to find an excellent agent who was knowledgeable, professional, extremely diligent and got us a great deal in a matter of weeks. We would highly recommend HomeLight for an easy and painless way to get a great Realtor!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • House buying with HomeLight

    • West Chester, OH,
    • Nov 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    HomeLight was a great help in our home buying experience. HomeLight responded with their recommendations within 24 hours, and connected us with an excellent real estate firm. The reference went quickly and seamlessly; we were contacted the next day by a local real estate agent and we were out looking for houses soon after. We didn't know where to start when looking for an agent, and HomeLight made it surprisingly easy.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Found our forever home with help from HomeLight

    • Asheville, NC,
    • Nov 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    HomeLight was a wonderful way to find a fabulous real estate agent in an area that we were not currently living in. I was skeptical at first but they sent me a list of possible agents with information on the agents such as experience, homes sold, homes listed, etc. HomeLight was very good on follow through and made sure that I found an agent that I was happy with. Randi Beard from Asheville, North Carolina called me right away and we had a wonderful chat and I knew right away that we would work well together.

    Randi was amazing. When we came down to Asheville from Michigan, she oriented us to the city and had a variety of homes lined up for us to see. We ended up choosing a lot and built a new home with wonderful mountain views. She continually guided us through the process of the initial contract, selections, the build, the closing and moving in. She is a wonderful resource with lots of knowledge about the area and the local builders.

    I have moved 13 times all over the country and by far Randi is the best agent that I have ever worked with. I highly recommend her and I also highly recommend HomeLight as a referral agent. Between the two of them, we found our forever home!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Very pleased with HomeLight

    • Rock Hill, SC,
    • Nov 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My experience with HomeLight has been phenomenal! They went out of their way to provide me with the best realtors to help me get the best price for my old home and the lowest price for my new one. I was very impressed with their professionalism and perseverance in seeing that I was taken care of. I would highly recommend HomeLight to anyone looking to find an agent that meets their home buying needs.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 625

Write a Review for HomeLight!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review