About HomeLight

Locating a real estate agent is a funny process. On one hand, you need a professional with a proven track record, great negotiating skills, an innate knowledge of the local market, and more. After all, buying or selling a home is a big deal, and there’s a whole lot of money on the line. On the other hand, most of us found our last agent browsing online (or even swiped their number from the back of a park bench). Can you think of any other large, personal transaction in your life where you leave your fate up to a (almost) complete stranger?

Enter HomeLight. Instead of spending hours combing through agent bios, researching their sales history, and learning about their online client reviews on multiple websites, HomeLight’s Matching Engine automatically analyzes 18 million+ home sales and client reviews to bring your only the highest performing (top 5%) agents. In just two minutes, agents are screened based your specific criteria, including whether you’re buying or selling, whether or not they specialize in your target area, their skills and experience, and more.

All together, HomeLight claims their service can help you “find the perfect real estate agent” and save you time and hassle, while remaining 100% free—no catches.

Granted, it’s difficult to beat free. But even though HomeLight won’t cost you more than a few minutes of your time, does this still make them a good option for locating your next agent? Are there other similar services? You’ve got questions and in this review, we’ll uncover some answers.

Let’s start by looking at how the HomeLight process works.

How Does the HomeLight Matching Engine Work?

Here’s how the company describes it:

“HomeLight is the leading resource for finding objective agent performance data online. We've spent years collecting, normalizing and summarizing historical data across millions of transactions. With this unique data set, we apply statistical data analysis and machine learning methods to predict who will bring the most experience, expertise and negotiating power to your home transaction.”

Specifically, after answering a few simple questions, HomeLight’s Matching Engine searches and analyzes over 18 million transactions since 2009, along with 2 million agents and 200,000 brokerages, all aimed at matching you with an agent. It will look at things like recent listings an agent has completed, educational background and bios, customer reviews from individuals who have interacted with the agent, the agent’s transaction volume by year, and more.

Then, the Matching Engine filters the information into five different categories:

  • Location: In other words, someone who specializes in your current area, or the are where you’re looking to buy. Here’s how the company puts it: “Using spatial IP and geo-distance analysis, we can target real estate agents that have hyperlocal expertise within your city, neighborhood, and even those that know your street.”
  • Buy or sell: Here, HomeLight’s Matching Engine will filter results by the agent’s historical expertise, whether buying or selling.
  • Property Type: HomeLight will analyze transaction data “to identify agents’ expertise in your exact type of property,” whether single family, condominium, multi-family, and more.
  • Price: Any agent you choose must be familiar with your price range. After all, there can be huge differences in the needs of a luxury buyer versus a first-time homeowner.
  • Agent type: Finally, HomeLight wants to make sure that an agent’s personality matches your needs. For example, some clients might require an agent who can spend lots of time with them, while other might need a tough negotiator.

Finally, HomeLight’s machine learning algorithm will use “Bayesian statistical models to predict which agent will get the best results for you.” Then, you’ll be provided a personalized list of the best agents across all major brokerages in your area, who you can reach out to at your leisure.

Pro tip: HomeLight only returns results for agents employed by Coldwell Banker, Century 21, Sotheby’s, Keller Williams, Berkshire Hathaway Home Services, and Re/Max. While these are certainly many of the largest firms in the industry, it’s certainly worth keeping in mind.

Sounds like a lot of technology, right? How much will it cost you to use HomeLight?

Is HomeLight Really Free?

If you’re a homebuyer or seller, then by all appearances, HomeLight is completely free to use in order to connect with local agents.

If you’re an agent, you can obtain leads from HomeLight with a 25% referral fee, while other real estate professionals (lenders, title companies, general contractors, moving companies, etc.) can advertise through the company.

Need help using HomeLight? The company claims to have a “team of dedicated real estate concierges with 50+ years of experience” standing by at (888) 998-1909.

Given its apparent usefulness and the fact that it’s completely free, are clients over the moon about HomeLight?

What Are HomeLight’s Clients Saying?

Although HomeLight was founded by Drew Uher in 2012 and is backed by huge investors like Google’s venture capital arm, there wasn’t a whole lot of online feedback about the company at the time of our research.

RealtyBizNews.com wrote a fairly in-depth review about their experience using the HomeLight website (they didn’t reach out to an agent). Overall, they liked the interface but were a bit on the fence about the number of questions they were asked. They also found that they received the same recommendations even after changing some of their criteria, although they concluded that HomeLight is the best “buyer-seller-agent conduit” they’ve ever seen.

Outside of this, there were 3 closed HomeLight complaints over at the Better Business Bureau, where the company had an A+ rating (as of 3/18/16). Of these, only two provided details, both of which referenced removing an agent’s information from the company’s database.

Is HomeLight a Shot in the Dark?

Like we mention above, it’s difficult to beat free. In other words, by giving HomeLight a try, your bank account won’t be any lighter, but you also won’t be able get back the time you spent.

Is HomeLight worth trying? Ultimately, that’s something only you can decide. But given the fact that they’ve been in business for more than three years and are backed by several industry giants, they might offer an easier, faster, and more accurate way of connecting you with an agent. Just remember that HomeLight currently only serves 38 U.S. markets, so you might have some difficulty locating agents in smaller markets.

Did you use HomeLight to locate an agent? If so, let’s do something about the lack of online feedback for the company. How? By writing your very own review below and adding to the conversation!


Read 693 HomeLight Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 4.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 626 4 star: 25 3 star: 0 2 star: 3 1 star:  39
Bottom Line: 94% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 693
Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • A simple solution

    • By Rob M.,
    • New Jersey,
    • Jan 21, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    HomeLight provided me with a simple process to a complex search - finding an agent that would be able to sell the house that my mother lived in for 62 years. The website provided me with an ample list of agents and I found the exact match I was looking for. I highly recommend HomeLight and I’ll be using them when I’m ready to sell my own house.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Thank you, HomeLight

    • By Jana T.,
    • Florida,
    • Jan 21, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    HomeLight matched us with several agents within minutes of our request. We met with two of them, and they were both outstanding. We chose Tobin Bossola. Tobin listed our house within 24 hours, and we had an offer within days. Even though the first offer fell through, we got an even better offer within a few weeks. Our listing agent was such a pleasure to work with. Tobin was very responsive and offered excellent advice. The whole process from listing to closing only took two months even though it was during the Thanksgiving/Christmas holiday season and the house was a fixer. Thank you, HomeLight! Without your excellent recommendations, we never would have found Tobin.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Thank you HomeLight!

    • By Erik J.,
    • Whitestown, IN,
    • Jan 21, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    HomeLight helped us tremendously in selling our house, which could have easily been a stressful situation. We were selling a home in an area that we had not been in very long and did not have a really good realtor network. We started researching tools to provide us with good background info on realtors in our area that were high performers. Our main goal was to get someone who was known to move houses quickly as we were under a time crunch to sell. Luckily, HomeLight provided us with a list of realtors including very detailed information. It even showed us realtors who were known to sell units quickly and at more than asking price. The realtors HomeLight suggested to us followed up with us in less than 30 minutes. It was amazing. HomeLight then followed up to make sure the process was going smoothly.

    We will definitely use HomeLight in the future!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • I couldn't have done it alone

    • By Richard S.,
    • Silver Spring, MD,
    • Jan 21, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I couldn't have sold my house in Southern California without the contacts I made using HomeLight. The realtors and investors that I contacted through HomeLight were all responsive and made my selection decision one of the tougher parts of the process. The realtor that I ended up using - selected from the HomeLight list - managed the whole process of turning a long-term rental into a successful sale. He identified the people to do all the repair and refurbishment work that was necessary, and put together the marketing plan that led to the sale of the house in less than one week - and for the full asking price. He was a solid negotiator for my cause during the closing process, which led to a timely close.

    I'm fully satisfied with both these services as well as HomeLight - who brought us together in a successful collaboration. Thank you, HomeLight!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • HomeLight sent us Sara!

    • By Stephanie W.,
    • Norfolk, VA,
    • Jan 20, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I needed to sell my home quickly in a very short time span. So while researching realtors one night I happened upon HomeLight. They called me and helped me get connected with several of the top realtors in my area very quickly and easily. We interviewed them all but one. The one we ended up choosing was Sara Andrews Hartz. She was amazing. Nearly always available, a constant source of help and answers. We had work to finish on our house as well in the time we needed to sell. She never rushed us and just checked in on schedule until we were done. The house sold to the first people who viewed it! We had many showings that first weekend and a couple of offers. We could not have been happier with how fast and smooth it all went! Without HomeLight who knows what realtor we would have used! So use HomeLight and use Sara if you're in Hampton Roads! If not, do all the interviews they hook you up with you’ll get someone good! Every realtor that HomeLight recommended was a top dog in our area!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • HomeLight experience

    • By Marcelina P.,
    • Louisiana,
    • Jan 20, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    HomeLight made the search for an agent simple and easy. All I had to do was put my zip code and area of interest and a whole list of agents that matched my interest showed up. The site also has information on each agent and years experience listed as well. This came in very handy choosing the correct agent for me. The experience from HomeLight to the agent we chose was a great and stress-free part of my home-buying experience. Thank you HomeLight for pointing me in the right direction. We are truly grateful and satisfied with the service provided.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • HomeLight made it easy to sell my home!

    • By Nury P.,
    • Arlington, TX,
    • Jan 18, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    When Josh Lynch contacted me to tell me about the service HomeLight offers, I was skeptical at first but I listened as he told me that they reach out to the top sellers in my area and they would have them contact me to be interviewed. He told me to have a list of questions ready so that I could make an informed decision.

    I said yes because I didn’t know where to begin. I received several calls from agents who set up an appointment to meet with me.

    I met with three, all very knowledgeable who provided me with a marketing analysis of the homes in my neighborhood that are currently for sale and those that have sold, including how many days they have been on the market.

    I chose the agent that best fitted me and my needs. Besides having to fill out a contract, the agent, Charlie Brown, took care of everything, did a walk through and advised me what I needed to do to make the house show-ready. He didn’t push or rush me. He took my stress away. When I was ready I let him know and within a few days they came out and took pictures and my house went on the market the next day. Within minutes other agents set up point appointments to show the house. This was on a Friday, I had an offer on Monday.

    I couldn’t be happier with the service that HomeLight provided me. To anyone out there who is looking to sell your home I highly recommend you reach out to HomeLight for their assistance. You won’t regret making that call.

    Thank you Josh.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Professional, kind, and competent realtor

    • By Ruth L.,
    • Amarillo, TX,
    • Jan 18, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    Our realtor, Nick, was fantastic. We have bought and sold many homes. In this case, we moved to another state while our home was on the market because of a job transfer. Nick not only functioned as our realtor and showed our home, had open houses, and networked with fellow realtors, he ensured the outside of the house was well-maintained for showings. In our absence, he checked on our home routinely and let us know if there were any concerns. We had to replace an AC unit, and he was professional and courteous in ensuring it was done quickly and properly. I would recommend him to anyone needing his services.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Great source for finding agents

    • By Chris A.,
    • Towson, MD,
    • Jan 17, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    After trying to locate an agent on my own and not having good luck, I contacted HomeLight and was put in touch with local agents who knew the area, had experience with my specific issues, and were there all the way through. HomeLight was a great source for me and I found the perfect agents.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Easy to use

    • By Shannon L.,
    • Kentucky,
    • Jan 17, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    The site was very easy to use. It helped us to find a good agent to sell our home. They were very prompt in ensuring the process was successful. A great aid for a first time home seller. Helped get us the best in the business. They were not pushy in any way during the process. Highly recommended for any buyer or seller.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Homeward bound

    • By Ariana S.,
    • Kentucky,
    • Jan 17, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    HomeLight really helped by recommending Shawna Smith as our realtor. She was awesome and patient while we were searching for the right home for us. We must have looked at roughly 10 or more homes before we found the right one. I appreciated her input on the homes and her guidance on the right square footage we would want to look at. She saved us a lot of time and worked around our schedule. All around she is a very sweet woman.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 693

Write a Review for HomeLight!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review