About HomeLight

Locating a real estate agent is a funny process. On one hand, you need a professional with a proven track record, great negotiating skills, an innate knowledge of the local market, and more. After all, buying or selling a home is a big deal, and there’s a whole lot of money on the line. On the other hand, most of us found our last agent browsing online (or even swiped their number from the back of a park bench). Can you think of any other large, personal transaction in your life where you leave your fate up to a (almost) complete stranger?

Enter HomeLight. Instead of spending hours combing through agent bios, researching their sales history, and learning about their online client reviews on multiple websites, HomeLight’s Matching Engine automatically analyzes 18 million+ home sales and client reviews to bring your only the highest performing (top 5%) agents. In just two minutes, agents are screened based your specific criteria, including whether you’re buying or selling, whether or not they specialize in your target area, their skills and experience, and more.

All together, HomeLight claims their service can help you “find the perfect real estate agent” and save you time and hassle, while remaining 100% free—no catches.

Granted, it’s difficult to beat free. But even though HomeLight won’t cost you more than a few minutes of your time, does this still make them a good option for locating your next agent? Are there other similar services? You’ve got questions and in this review, we’ll uncover some answers.

Let’s start by looking at how the HomeLight process works.

How Does the HomeLight Matching Engine Work?

Here’s how the company describes it:

“HomeLight is the leading resource for finding objective agent performance data online. We've spent years collecting, normalizing and summarizing historical data across millions of transactions. With this unique data set, we apply statistical data analysis and machine learning methods to predict who will bring the most experience, expertise and negotiating power to your home transaction.”

Specifically, after answering a few simple questions, HomeLight’s Matching Engine searches and analyzes over 18 million transactions since 2009, along with 2 million agents and 200,000 brokerages, all aimed at matching you with an agent. It will look at things like recent listings an agent has completed, educational background and bios, customer reviews from individuals who have interacted with the agent, the agent’s transaction volume by year, and more.

Then, the Matching Engine filters the information into five different categories:

  • Location: In other words, someone who specializes in your current area, or the are where you’re looking to buy. Here’s how the company puts it: “Using spatial IP and geo-distance analysis, we can target real estate agents that have hyperlocal expertise within your city, neighborhood, and even those that know your street.”
  • Buy or sell: Here, HomeLight’s Matching Engine will filter results by the agent’s historical expertise, whether buying or selling.
  • Property Type: HomeLight will analyze transaction data “to identify agents’ expertise in your exact type of property,” whether single family, condominium, multi-family, and more.
  • Price: Any agent you choose must be familiar with your price range. After all, there can be huge differences in the needs of a luxury buyer versus a first-time homeowner.
  • Agent type: Finally, HomeLight wants to make sure that an agent’s personality matches your needs. For example, some clients might require an agent who can spend lots of time with them, while other might need a tough negotiator.

Finally, HomeLight’s machine learning algorithm will use “Bayesian statistical models to predict which agent will get the best results for you.” Then, you’ll be provided a personalized list of the best agents across all major brokerages in your area, who you can reach out to at your leisure.

Pro tip: HomeLight only returns results for agents employed by Coldwell Banker, Century 21, Sotheby’s, Keller Williams, Berkshire Hathaway Home Services, and Re/Max. While these are certainly many of the largest firms in the industry, it’s certainly worth keeping in mind.

Sounds like a lot of technology, right? How much will it cost you to use HomeLight?

Is HomeLight Really Free?

If you’re a homebuyer or seller, then by all appearances, HomeLight is completely free to use in order to connect with local agents.

If you’re an agent, you can obtain leads from HomeLight with a 25% referral fee, while other real estate professionals (lenders, title companies, general contractors, moving companies, etc.) can advertise through the company.

Need help using HomeLight? The company claims to have a “team of dedicated real estate concierges with 50+ years of experience” standing by at (888) 998-1909.

Given its apparent usefulness and the fact that it’s completely free, are clients over the moon about HomeLight?

What Are HomeLight’s Clients Saying?

Although HomeLight was founded by Drew Uher in 2012 and is backed by huge investors like Google’s venture capital arm, there wasn’t a whole lot of online feedback about the company at the time of our research.

RealtyBizNews.com wrote a fairly in-depth review about their experience using the HomeLight website (they didn’t reach out to an agent). Overall, they liked the interface but were a bit on the fence about the number of questions they were asked. They also found that they received the same recommendations even after changing some of their criteria, although they concluded that HomeLight is the best “buyer-seller-agent conduit” they’ve ever seen.

Outside of this, there were 3 closed HomeLight complaints over at the Better Business Bureau, where the company had an A+ rating (as of 3/18/16). Of these, only two provided details, both of which referenced removing an agent’s information from the company’s database.

Is HomeLight a Shot in the Dark?

Like we mention above, it’s difficult to beat free. In other words, by giving HomeLight a try, your bank account won’t be any lighter, but you also won’t be able get back the time you spent.

Is HomeLight worth trying? Ultimately, that’s something only you can decide. But given the fact that they’ve been in business for more than three years and are backed by several industry giants, they might offer an easier, faster, and more accurate way of connecting you with an agent. Just remember that HomeLight currently only serves 38 U.S. markets, so you might have some difficulty locating agents in smaller markets.

Did you use HomeLight to locate an agent? If so, let’s do something about the lack of online feedback for the company. How? By writing your very own review below and adding to the conversation!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

386 Consumer Reviews for HomeLight

Average Consumer Rating: 4.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 349 4 star: 12 3 star: 0 2 star: 3 1 star:  22
Bottom Line: 93% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 386
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • Thank you HomeLight!

    • West Richland, WA,
    • Feb 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I owned a rental property that was almost 300 miles away from my where I live, so it wasn’t convenient for me to try to find a realtor in the area of my rental. A simple internet search led me to HomeLight. Within minutes after requesting a realtor through HomeLight, I was contacted by a HomeLight representative, thanking me for using their service and letting me know that my request for a realtor had been forwarded on to several top-rated realtors. Very shortly after being contacted by the HomeLight representative, I received a response from two different realtors. After choosing a realtor, and giving them all of the details about the house I was selling, my house was listed and then sold with very little effort on my part.

    I would definitely recommend HomeLight, and I would use them again!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Buying a new home from out of state.

    • San Antonio, TX,
    • Feb 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was searching homes online as my wife and I were considering moving to San Antonio from out of state. I did not know a good realtor or know anyone for recommending one. I saw an advertisement for HomeLight and decided to contact them.

    I was in a few minutes I was contacted by a realty (Phillips and Associates Associates). Kaitlynn was amazing and helped us search and find our dream retirement home! We were assisted throughout the whole process and follow up with assistance checklists after closing to help with address changes etc. This really helped take the stress out of moving and buying.

    I had a great experience and would recommend HomeLight and Phillips and Associates Realty to anyone thinking of buying in San Antonio or the Hill Country! Thank you HomeLight.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • This helped so much!

    • Wisconsin,
    • Feb 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I contacted HomeLight I had no idea who or what I would be getting as recommendations. I only had one fully contact me back (if I remember correctly, the other emailed and wouldn’t be able to chat with me for a few weeks). However, the one that contacted me back was within hours and was so helpful and generous with their time I was floored.

    I honestly could not have completed this sale without the help of Joanne’s team. It took over a year to complete it and I was in the Midwest almost the entire time. No one was ever impatient with me when things got messy and I was so incredibly satisfied with the entire process from beginning to end.

    I found Joanne and Claire from HomeLight and it made all the difference in the world. Thank you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    This company doesn't provide any added value to an ordinary search of the internet

    • Media, PA,
    • Feb 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a complete waste of time and money. All I received were a couple of replies from realtors who obviously pay for this service. They were certainly not the "top" realtors in the area. I live in a county with 13,000 realtors, how could so few people respond?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    They do not honor client requests

    • Virginia,
    • Feb 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I went online and filled out the brief introductory questionnaire. I didn't want to give them my phone, as this type of contact creates problems if called at inopportune times (it's my only phone, so it's with me at work and at home). I wrote a note that I did NOT wish to be contacted by phone, email only.

    Since that time, I have received numerous phone calls and voice messages - as anticipated, many at times when it was completely inconvenient. I've also received several follow-up emails saying that they've tried to call me, so please call them back. I wrote back and told them that, due to their inability to follow my written request, I wished to be placed on their 'do not contact' list. I did this to each of their contacts (it's not just one and not just one phone number, although I've blocked each one after they've called).

    Today, I received a text sent to my phone, again requesting I call them "ASAP" so they could get me the names of agents in my area. They obviously don't honor client's requests, so I can only imagine the type of "service" they provide if they can't follow this!

    I will be following up with the Better Business Bureau with the next phone call. What a mistake to contact them!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Real estate agent referral

    • Ohio,
    • Jan 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We would like to share our recent experience with HomeLight.com.

    Selling a home and finding a great agent can be a real challenge. Thanks to HomeLight.com we had not only a successful but pleasant and effective experience. The website was easy to use, and the recommendations and choices were provided immediately.

    A special thanks to Josh and his team who followed up throughout the process to ensure our satisfaction. We would definitely recommend HomeLight.com to family and friends.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great experience

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Jan 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    When we decided to sell our house, we weren’t sure how to find a reliable real estate agent to represent us. We considered choosing one at random, a name off of a sign. We considered looking up a house that had sold near us and using that agent. Or calling a friend to see about a referral. None of those felt right. I went online and found HomeLight, read their information and decided that was the way to go. It turned out great. Within minutes of signing up, I received the names of three real estate agents who had a history of success in our area. Within a day I’d heard from all three and had set up interviews. Honestly, I could have gone with either of them. They were all strong and I felt no matter who we chose, we would have a good fit. We chose one and within 36 hours of listing, we had a contract. I highly recommend HomeLight as a way to narrow the field and find the right agent for your house sale.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • HomeLight

    • Westhampton, NY,
    • Jan 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I were very happy with the way My Domeika and Dena Mac Donald handled the sale of our condo in Fort Lauderdale. HomeLight refered us to Coldwell Banker real estate.

    The company and the agents mentioned were especially very professional in handling all of our questions and concerns. They were able to sell our condo quickly for cash very close to our asking price. Their attention to detail along with a positive attitude helped us immensely.

    We want to highly recommend HomeLight and the My and Dena Coldwell Banker team.

    Best regards.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Recent home sale

    • Thornton, CO,
    • Jan 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Our experience with HomeLight was great. We received many choices from which to choose and the realtor we ultimately chose was perfect. The website is easy to use and the match referrals were instantaneous. We will use them again if needed.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    HomeLight helps

    • Harper Woods, MI,
    • Jan 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    HomeLight was helpful in searching for a real estate agent that was in our area. Once we had the options of agents to assist us in selling our home, we looked at the choices and settled on one. The real estate agent that we were paired up with was very good. He took care of us and his staff guided us on every step of the way. We were not sure who we would get to sell our house. With HomeLight, we were able to research people out there to help us. Our real estate agent was very aggressive in making sure our house was sold. HomeLight was a very good tool to use to help search through all the possibilities that exist out there for a real estate agent. We would recommend them.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Thank you

    • Jacksonville, FL,
    • Jan 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Thank you so much HomeLight. You recommended several agents and we went with Carole Knudson, she was a breath of fresh air. Out of the five great agents, we chose the best fit. She made the process so easy going and she listened to ALL recommendations we made. With that said, we looked at several houses online and visited six before we found the perfect home. Carole even recommended different people to seek out repairs, and that also went smoothly. She was so nice and familiar; we invited her to our housewarming we will be having in March of 2019. After two months of looking, we closed on December 7th, 2018 on the forever home we always wanted.

    HomeLight did a great job vetting the right agents and we strongly recommend them to anyone looking for the perfect agent. I would strongly recommend going with someone who does this because they love it so they really take the time out to find you what you want.

    Thank you so much HomeLight.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 386

Write a Review for HomeLight!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review