About HomeLight

Locating a real estate agent is a funny process. On one hand, you need a professional with a proven track record, great negotiating skills, an innate knowledge of the local market, and more. After all, buying or selling a home is a big deal, and there’s a whole lot of money on the line. On the other hand, most of us found our last agent browsing online (or even swiped their number from the back of a park bench). Can you think of any other large, personal transaction in your life where you leave your fate up to a (almost) complete stranger?

Enter HomeLight. Instead of spending hours combing through agent bios, researching their sales history, and learning about their online client reviews on multiple websites, HomeLight’s Matching Engine automatically analyzes 18 million+ home sales and client reviews to bring your only the highest performing (top 5%) agents. In just two minutes, agents are screened based your specific criteria, including whether you’re buying or selling, whether or not they specialize in your target area, their skills and experience, and more.

All together, HomeLight claims their service can help you “find the perfect real estate agent” and save you time and hassle, while remaining 100% free—no catches.

Granted, it’s difficult to beat free. But even though HomeLight won’t cost you more than a few minutes of your time, does this still make them a good option for locating your next agent? Are there other similar services? You’ve got questions and in this review, we’ll uncover some answers.

Let’s start by looking at how the HomeLight process works.

How Does the HomeLight Matching Engine Work?

Here’s how the company describes it:

“HomeLight is the leading resource for finding objective agent performance data online. We've spent years collecting, normalizing and summarizing historical data across millions of transactions. With this unique data set, we apply statistical data analysis and machine learning methods to predict who will bring the most experience, expertise and negotiating power to your home transaction.”

Specifically, after answering a few simple questions, HomeLight’s Matching Engine searches and analyzes over 18 million transactions since 2009, along with 2 million agents and 200,000 brokerages, all aimed at matching you with an agent. It will look at things like recent listings an agent has completed, educational background and bios, customer reviews from individuals who have interacted with the agent, the agent’s transaction volume by year, and more.

Then, the Matching Engine filters the information into five different categories:

  • Location: In other words, someone who specializes in your current area, or the are where you’re looking to buy. Here’s how the company puts it: “Using spatial IP and geo-distance analysis, we can target real estate agents that have hyperlocal expertise within your city, neighborhood, and even those that know your street.”
  • Buy or sell: Here, HomeLight’s Matching Engine will filter results by the agent’s historical expertise, whether buying or selling.
  • Property Type: HomeLight will analyze transaction data “to identify agents’ expertise in your exact type of property,” whether single family, condominium, multi-family, and more.
  • Price: Any agent you choose must be familiar with your price range. After all, there can be huge differences in the needs of a luxury buyer versus a first-time homeowner.
  • Agent type: Finally, HomeLight wants to make sure that an agent’s personality matches your needs. For example, some clients might require an agent who can spend lots of time with them, while other might need a tough negotiator.

Finally, HomeLight’s machine learning algorithm will use “Bayesian statistical models to predict which agent will get the best results for you.” Then, you’ll be provided a personalized list of the best agents across all major brokerages in your area, who you can reach out to at your leisure.

Pro tip: HomeLight only returns results for agents employed by Coldwell Banker, Century 21, Sotheby’s, Keller Williams, Berkshire Hathaway Home Services, and Re/Max. While these are certainly many of the largest firms in the industry, it’s certainly worth keeping in mind.

Sounds like a lot of technology, right? How much will it cost you to use HomeLight?

Is HomeLight Really Free?

If you’re a homebuyer or seller, then by all appearances, HomeLight is completely free to use in order to connect with local agents.

If you’re an agent, you can obtain leads from HomeLight with a 25% referral fee, while other real estate professionals (lenders, title companies, general contractors, moving companies, etc.) can advertise through the company.

Need help using HomeLight? The company claims to have a “team of dedicated real estate concierges with 50+ years of experience” standing by at (888) 998-1909.

Given its apparent usefulness and the fact that it’s completely free, are clients over the moon about HomeLight?

What Are HomeLight’s Clients Saying?

Although HomeLight was founded by Drew Uher in 2012 and is backed by huge investors like Google’s venture capital arm, there wasn’t a whole lot of online feedback about the company at the time of our research.

RealtyBizNews.com wrote a fairly in-depth review about their experience using the HomeLight website (they didn’t reach out to an agent). Overall, they liked the interface but were a bit on the fence about the number of questions they were asked. They also found that they received the same recommendations even after changing some of their criteria, although they concluded that HomeLight is the best “buyer-seller-agent conduit” they’ve ever seen.

Outside of this, there were 3 closed HomeLight complaints over at the Better Business Bureau, where the company had an A+ rating (as of 3/18/16). Of these, only two provided details, both of which referenced removing an agent’s information from the company’s database.

Is HomeLight a Shot in the Dark?

Like we mention above, it’s difficult to beat free. In other words, by giving HomeLight a try, your bank account won’t be any lighter, but you also won’t be able get back the time you spent.

Is HomeLight worth trying? Ultimately, that’s something only you can decide. But given the fact that they’ve been in business for more than three years and are backed by several industry giants, they might offer an easier, faster, and more accurate way of connecting you with an agent. Just remember that HomeLight currently only serves 38 U.S. markets, so you might have some difficulty locating agents in smaller markets.

Did you use HomeLight to locate an agent? If so, let’s do something about the lack of online feedback for the company. How? By writing your very own review below and adding to the conversation!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

189 Consumer Reviews for HomeLight

Average Consumer Rating: 4.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 170 4 star: 4 3 star: 0 2 star: 3 1 star:  12
Bottom Line: 91% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 189
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • HomeLight made finding an agent super easy!

    • Lacey, WA,
    • Aug 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We struggled with finding a real estate agent we felt comfortable with to sell our home. As a first time home owner, we only knew the real estate agent who sold us the home, and he was TERRIBLE. We made the mistake of going with the first agent we contacted because he was referred to us by a friend.

    I saw a commercial for HomeLight and figured I would give them a try since they are a free service. I’m glad I did! I interviewed other agents that I found on my own, and they did not meet our expectations. HomeLight also kept in constant contact with me to make sure the agent contacted me and that I was happy with the agent they referred. The agent HomeLight found us was personable and honest. He was the only agent that was willing to price our home aggressively and was confident we would sell for asking price. I will be returning to HomeLight when looking for a real estate agent for our next home.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • HomeLight was a great find

    • Lansing, IL,
    • Aug 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am very grateful that I found this gem of a website. I was looking for a good realtor and didn't know how to find one. I put in my information on the site, and it recommended me a few realtors in my area. Not only did the top two recommended realtors reaches out to me, so did HomeLight. I was highly impressed with their customer service. The home buying process can be very stressful, but with a good realtor on your side, that can help ease the stress. I'm thankful to say that because of HomeLight I was able to connect with a great realtor and I am now a homeowner. Proud homeowner.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Lots of talk, little performance

    • Horseshoe Bend, AR,
    • Aug 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    HomeLight attempts to dazzle comes up very short. This "benefit" made available through my employer who gave a shiny presentation on the surface but I was left less than satisfied.

    They claim to kick back as much as $2500 cash after closing on your home purchase. As it turns out, you have to buy a house for 2.5 million to get that. If you buy for $100,000 you get a measly $100. Yes, $100 is nothing to really complain about but the way HomeLight goes about it is. There is not one single place on their website that up front that tells what this number is.

    This wasn't the only disappointment from them. They also brag they put you in touch with top agents in the area you are shopping. The agent I dealt with was top notch but I think the connection was pure luck. Every other time I wanted an agent in a different area, they said I would get a call, never did, ever. I called over and over again to get some help but in the end, I should have just stopped thinking about the mystery money and worked on my own.

    HomeLight got a cut of this sale and tossed me pennies. You are better off going on your own or trying to find someone more useful. I regret using them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Sale of Pike Creek Delaware home

    • Delaware,
    • Aug 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We were very pleased with the services that HomeLight provided us in connecting us with Jeff, the real estate agent who helped us sell our home in Pike Creek, Newark, Delaware.

    While all three HomeLight matches recommended contacted us within a day of our request to you, Jeff was the "first" HomeLight agent match you recommended, AND he was the first one that contacted us. I did recognize his name from real estate listings in our area and it was reassuring to see his name on the list.

    I think that the primary benefit of HomeLight was finding an agent familiar and successful with listing and selling similarly priced properties in nearby communities. Jeff came to our initial meeting highly prepared. We were thoroughly impressed with his knowledge of nearby properties, and he helped us price the property appropriately (at a little more than we originally thought), and we sold it in two days at a little above the asking price. It all went smoothly with the negotiations, inspection, and settlement. I would highly recommend HomeLight and would certainly recommend Jeff. He was truly a pleasure to work with.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Our realtor search experience with HomeLight

    • Arizona,
    • Aug 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After researching on the web, we chose HomeLight initially because they are a much larger company than their competitors. It turned out to be the right choice. After signing up (an easy process), we were given a list of four top realtors in our Phoenix area. We chose to interview all four of them and wound up choosing a realtor that was top-notch and worked well with us. The entire process from start to finish was very easy, and don't forget, it was completely free!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Thank you HomeLight

    • Worcester, MA,
    • Aug 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    As a first time home buyer, I had a vague knowledge of the home market. I started by browsing the web because I was looking to buy in an area that I was not familiar with. I requested service from two well-rated agents who never bothered to answer me, but was lucky enough to get connected to Karen Russo through HomeLight the next day after my inquiry.

    Unlike a couple of other agencies that referred me to some agents with no traceable references, HomeLight's recommendation was for a very knowledgeable, patient and talented agent who really help me to understand the home process step by step.

    She was available to answer all my questions and provided me with important information that I needed.

    Thank you HomeLight.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • HomeLight, home run!

    • Yuma, AZ,
    • Aug 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just wanted to say that Kenneth and Haley were an absolutely perfect fit for our realty needs! They were both professional, kind, and polite from start to finish. I greatly appreciated their strong photography and laser mapping of the entire home. We had two offers out of the first five to view the home! Haley was NEVER too busy any day of the week to answer my texts and questions. When we forgot to get all of our belongings out of the home late the night before, Haley was there again to bring them to us personally.

    I don't know of too many real estate agents that could top the service we received from Yuma Realty Professionals. Thank you again HomeLight for introducing us to this stellar team!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great all around service

    • Mathis, TX,
    • Aug 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Being a first time home seller, I didn’t know what to expect but I knew I didn’t want to go at it alone. I searched online for help and found HomeLight.com that would recommend a real estate agent within my area. After submitting my information, within a day, I received a phone call from a local real estate agent. We talked on the phone a bit and decided to meet in person. After meeting in person, I knew I found the perfect real estate agent for my needs. The real estate agent was successful in selling my property and helping me with the process along the way. It was an overall positive experience. It would not have been possible without the recommendation of HomeLight.com.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Scott Irvin’s ReMax Team

    • Pipersville, PA,
    • Aug 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This realtor was the best we could expect. Selling my home was hard work, but Scott guided us and helped us prioritize the work we needed to do. He put it on the market on Friday, it was sold by Sunday. What more can we say?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Selling agent review for HomeLight

    • Evans, GA,
    • Aug 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called HomeLight to find a qualified and exceptional real estate agent that would sell our home in a reasonable amount of time. I was connected to Mason Barrett of Keller Williams Realty and his staff. Mason came to our home and he told me how he would market our home in order to make a sale as quickly as possible. He and his staff were determined to get people to view our home through open houses and coordinating with other agents to get the home scene. His advice paid off and we were able to sell our home for the price range that we wanted. I highly recommend the use of HomeLight to find the best possible agent and realty company that will work hard to sell your home.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • HomeLight was a great choice!

    • Westminster, MD,
    • Aug 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Using HomeLight to find our realtor was a great choice for us. On a whim, I tried it out after seeing an ad while searching for realtors online. After putting in my information, I was provided with a selection of realtors in our area. The first one I selected reached out to us within minutes. She ended up being the realtor we went with and we sold our home in record time. I am extremely pleased with how easy HomeLight made it to review and select a realtor. I would definitely recommend the service to others.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 189

Write a Review for HomeLight!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review