About HomeLight

Locating a real estate agent is a funny process. On one hand, you need a professional with a proven track record, great negotiating skills, an innate knowledge of the local market, and more. After all, buying or selling a home is a big deal, and there’s a whole lot of money on the line. On the other hand, most of us found our last agent browsing online (or even swiped their number from the back of a park bench). Can you think of any other large, personal transaction in your life where you leave your fate up to a (almost) complete stranger?

Enter HomeLight. Instead of spending hours combing through agent bios, researching their sales history, and learning about their online client reviews on multiple websites, HomeLight’s Matching Engine automatically analyzes 18 million+ home sales and client reviews to bring your only the highest performing (top 5%) agents. In just two minutes, agents are screened based your specific criteria, including whether you’re buying or selling, whether or not they specialize in your target area, their skills and experience, and more.

All together, HomeLight claims their service can help you “find the perfect real estate agent” and save you time and hassle, while remaining 100% free—no catches.

Granted, it’s difficult to beat free. But even though HomeLight won’t cost you more than a few minutes of your time, does this still make them a good option for locating your next agent? Are there other similar services? You’ve got questions and in this review, we’ll uncover some answers.

Let’s start by looking at how the HomeLight process works.

How Does the HomeLight Matching Engine Work?

Here’s how the company describes it:

“HomeLight is the leading resource for finding objective agent performance data online. We've spent years collecting, normalizing and summarizing historical data across millions of transactions. With this unique data set, we apply statistical data analysis and machine learning methods to predict who will bring the most experience, expertise and negotiating power to your home transaction.”

Specifically, after answering a few simple questions, HomeLight’s Matching Engine searches and analyzes over 18 million transactions since 2009, along with 2 million agents and 200,000 brokerages, all aimed at matching you with an agent. It will look at things like recent listings an agent has completed, educational background and bios, customer reviews from individuals who have interacted with the agent, the agent’s transaction volume by year, and more.

Then, the Matching Engine filters the information into five different categories:

  • Location: In other words, someone who specializes in your current area, or the are where you’re looking to buy. Here’s how the company puts it: “Using spatial IP and geo-distance analysis, we can target real estate agents that have hyperlocal expertise within your city, neighborhood, and even those that know your street.”
  • Buy or sell: Here, HomeLight’s Matching Engine will filter results by the agent’s historical expertise, whether buying or selling.
  • Property Type: HomeLight will analyze transaction data “to identify agents’ expertise in your exact type of property,” whether single family, condominium, multi-family, and more.
  • Price: Any agent you choose must be familiar with your price range. After all, there can be huge differences in the needs of a luxury buyer versus a first-time homeowner.
  • Agent type: Finally, HomeLight wants to make sure that an agent’s personality matches your needs. For example, some clients might require an agent who can spend lots of time with them, while other might need a tough negotiator.

Finally, HomeLight’s machine learning algorithm will use “Bayesian statistical models to predict which agent will get the best results for you.” Then, you’ll be provided a personalized list of the best agents across all major brokerages in your area, who you can reach out to at your leisure.

Pro tip: HomeLight only returns results for agents employed by Coldwell Banker, Century 21, Sotheby’s, Keller Williams, Berkshire Hathaway Home Services, and Re/Max. While these are certainly many of the largest firms in the industry, it’s certainly worth keeping in mind.

Sounds like a lot of technology, right? How much will it cost you to use HomeLight?

Is HomeLight Really Free?

If you’re a homebuyer or seller, then by all appearances, HomeLight is completely free to use in order to connect with local agents.

If you’re an agent, you can obtain leads from HomeLight with a 25% referral fee, while other real estate professionals (lenders, title companies, general contractors, moving companies, etc.) can advertise through the company.

Need help using HomeLight? The company claims to have a “team of dedicated real estate concierges with 50+ years of experience” standing by at (888) 998-1909.

Given its apparent usefulness and the fact that it’s completely free, are clients over the moon about HomeLight?

What Are HomeLight’s Clients Saying?

Although HomeLight was founded by Drew Uher in 2012 and is backed by huge investors like Google’s venture capital arm, there wasn’t a whole lot of online feedback about the company at the time of our research.

RealtyBizNews.com wrote a fairly in-depth review about their experience using the HomeLight website (they didn’t reach out to an agent). Overall, they liked the interface but were a bit on the fence about the number of questions they were asked. They also found that they received the same recommendations even after changing some of their criteria, although they concluded that HomeLight is the best “buyer-seller-agent conduit” they’ve ever seen.

Outside of this, there were 3 closed HomeLight complaints over at the Better Business Bureau, where the company had an A+ rating (as of 3/18/16). Of these, only two provided details, both of which referenced removing an agent’s information from the company’s database.

Is HomeLight a Shot in the Dark?

Like we mention above, it’s difficult to beat free. In other words, by giving HomeLight a try, your bank account won’t be any lighter, but you also won’t be able get back the time you spent.

Is HomeLight worth trying? Ultimately, that’s something only you can decide. But given the fact that they’ve been in business for more than three years and are backed by several industry giants, they might offer an easier, faster, and more accurate way of connecting you with an agent. Just remember that HomeLight currently only serves 38 U.S. markets, so you might have some difficulty locating agents in smaller markets.

Did you use HomeLight to locate an agent? If so, let’s do something about the lack of online feedback for the company. How? By writing your very own review below and adding to the conversation!

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

21 Customer Reviews for HomeLight

Average Customer Rating: 3.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 14 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  6
Bottom Line: 67% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 21
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Success!

    In May 2017, my husband and I decided to sell our Summer vacation townhouse in beautiful Sapphire Valley, North Carolina. We began with a web search for real estate agents in that area.

    During that search, I found the website for HomeLight.com. I entered my information and received an immediate response, providing me with the names of several agents. The agents called me immediately, and after initial contacts, my husband and I set appointments with three of those recommended by HomeLight.com.

    We chose “The Cone Team,” (Tina and Alan Cone) because they were the most professional. They provided us with an honest appraisal, and a well-organized and aggressive plan to market and sell our property. Tina and Alan Cone were always available to answer our questions, and we were confident that they would get the job done! I am happy to report that by September 15th our townhouse was sold and the check was in the bank!

    The HomeLight.com service provided an excellent referral and screening tool that saved us the time of searching for quality agents in our area. I highly recommend using the HomeLight.com website to find agents in any location that are professional, knowledgeable, efficient, competent, and caring. I am certain that when we decide to buy or sell again, I will definitely utilize HomeLight.com.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • HomeLight made all the difference

    • New York,
    • Oct 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    It is my pleasure to give a glowing review of the service HomeLight provided.

    My father and I needed to find an experienced realtor who could help us sell a property that needed a lot of TLC. When I entered my information on HomeLight, I was contacted within a few hours! I talked with two really nice realtors, and I ended up working with Kathie Kazimi.

    From our first conversation, Kathie was so helpful and reassuring. She told me she believed she could sell our property, and she also had a comprehensive marketing strategy. When we signed with her, she hit the ground running. She always made herself available if I had any questions or concerns (I even have her personal cell number). I really can't say enough good things about Kathie.

    We were under tremendous pressure to sell or face possible fines, and Kathie found us a buyer in 10 days (and we closed a month later)! She always had our best interest at heart, and she gave me great advice. In essence, she became an extended member of our family. I will never forget what she did for us.

    Thank you, HomeLight, for connecting us to such a wonderful person! I will definitely use your services in the future and recommend them to my family and friends.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Realty agent referral service

    When I decided to place my home for sale, I began looking for a realtor using internet searches and local newspaper ads. I found this process to be time-consuming and lacking detailed information. I then noticed an ad for HomeLight on a TV commercial and decided to contact them.

    HomeLight was just the service I needed to guide me through the selection of realtors to list my home. I lived in my home for almost 30 years and had not had any real estate service experience since purchasing it. I wanted to find a professional realty agent that had a great track record and was familiar with the area where my home is located.

    HomeLight quickly provided me with several referrals that met the expectations I was looking for. I was able to easily interview several prospects and after careful consideration, I decided on the services of Glenda LaGrois of Century 21.

    The presentation Glenda presented to me was thorough as well as professional. Glenda answered all my questions and provided some great staging tips for showing my home at its best. My house sold quickly for a fair price, and I could not be more satisfied.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Loved working with HomeLight

    • Cross Roads, TX,
    • Oct 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I were looking to purchase our first home, but we were currently living out of the area. We were looking for a buyer’s agent in the Dallas area and turned to HomeLight for some help. The realtor that HomeLight connected is with was exactly what we were looking for!

    Kim with the Christie Cannon Team was great to work with and made it feel as though we were local every step of the way. Thank you Homelight for the great recommendation and for helping us find the perfect first home for our family!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great experience with HomeLight

    • Oklahoma,
    • Sep 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am thrilled to tell you about my recent great experience with HomeLight. I was needing to sell my late mother's home, and HomeLight pointed me to a very hard-working, top-notch local realtor, who helped us to sell and close on the home quickly and for top dollar! Everything went off without a hitch, the realtor even negotiated a lower sales fee, and I am very pleased. HomeLight checked up with me via email a few times to see how things were going, but nothing excessive. They offer a great, much-needed service to the public, and I strongly recommend HomeLight to you. They're the best!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Asking for a friend (parent)

    I had contacted HomeLight as a way to obtain names of suitable, knowledgeable, local realtors for my parents to contact regarding the sale of their home of 42 years. I knew that it was going to be difficult, as this was essentially the first time that they were to go through this process, and with a property that was very near and dear to their hearts. I wanted the opportunity to pre-screen the realtors that were recommended to take some of the burdens off of my parents.

    HomeLight was able to provide several names and numbers, and all of the suggested realtors reached out to me, and then later to my parents once they were ready to embark on the sale of their home. All of the realtors recommended through the service were quite good (knowledgeable about the area, market, etc.). They even provided very specific details that proved they REALLY knew the details about the town, that they were local and speaking from personal experience. They respected my request to not contact my parents until my parents reached out to them, as they were still waffling on the whole idea of moving.

    I was afraid sales pressure would really send them over the edge, ensuring that they'd never want to move.

    Ultimately, their selected realtor was able to assist them through one very difficult negotiation with a tentative buyer, and later with a smooth sale with another. She listened to their concerns, and stood strong, allowing a potential sale to pass at the cost to her so that the "right" buyer could come along. In addition, she assisted them with the purchase of their new home, with which they are very happy.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Illegal

    • California,
    • Sep 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    HomeLight uses my name and information. My client put their information into HomeLight. HomeLight sent an email stating that would forward his information to me. He put my phone number in and then they called from an 818 area code and recommended other agents. Illegal to use my name and scam people, while pretending to work with me. They do not have my permission to use my name and company information. Using my name to prosper is highly illegal.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 26, 2017

      HomeLight Admin, Customer Support

      Hi Pamela,

      HomeLight's data includes over 20 million real estate transactions in the US going back to 2009. This data comes from over 100 different public sources. As a licensed agent, your history of closed transactions and professional details are available to the public. If you do have a pre-generated profile on HomeLight it means you were identified as a top performing agent in your local market.

      Regarding your experience, HomeLight employees a team of expert account executives that will place a call to each client to have a qualifying conversation and ensure their motivation to transact before introducing them to an agent. If we identify a phone number to be that of a real estate agent we will not introduce the client to an agent until we are able to verify the validity of the inquiry.

      We have removed your HomeLight profile from public search results effective immediately. If you would like to learn more about how we can work together or have any further questions, please reach out to nick@homelight.com.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Poor and rude customer service

    • Bethesda, MD,
    • Sep 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used HomeLight to find a local agent for my house. They matched me with two agents who I then subsequently "interviewed." When I determined that neither of the recommended agents were suitable, I called HomeLight and asked them to refer me to additional agents. However, they refused and told me that I had to use one of the two original referrals. The customer service rep then told me that if I don't find these agents suitable, then maybe HomeLight is not for me and then quickly hung up without explanation.

    Overall, I find the experience to be inadequate and list of recommended agents way too thin compared to the vast number of very qualified and outside agents I know that are in my area, which is one of the hottest real estate market in the country.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 26, 2017

      HomeLight Admin, Customer Support

      Hi Richard,

      I'm sorry to hear you have had anything less than a terrific experience so far. I can assure you that delivering outstanding customer service is one of our highest priorities here at HomeLight.

      We try to match our clients with multiple agents in their area in order to help them execute the best strategy when it comes to buying or selling their home. If you're not happy or just aren't confident in your decision after speaking with the first couple of agents, then we are more than happy to get you connected with other top agents in your area.

      I will try to reach out to you via phone over the next few days but if we do not connect, please feel free to reach out to me anytime via email at nicholas@homelight.com and I will assist in any way I can.

      Best,

      HomeLight Support

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    HomeLight is no good

    I had to sell my home of many years. I saw the HomeLight commercials and decided to give them a try.

    They contacted me with an agent that was supposed to be a super sell with an agency of lots of realtors in the group. A month later my house still hasn't been sold, and I am now taking a drastic price cut. Very disappointed with my realtor. Not one person in his agency has even bothered to show the house.

    If you are serious about selling your home, don't waste your time with HomeLight. You will be sadly disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 26, 2017

      HomeLight Admin, Customer Support

      Hi Jacquline,

      This is the support team at HomeLight! We're sorry to hear that you had an unfortunate experience while using HomeLight and would like to thank you for reporting on it!

      We try to match our clients with 2-4 top agents in their area in order to help them execute the best strategy when it comes to buying or selling their homes.

      Since you did not have a great experience with the agent provided to you, I am more than happy to look into connecting you with other top agents in the area.

      Please feel free to reach out to me anytime via email at nicholas@homelight.com.

      Best regards,

      Nicholas

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Jeff Galindo is awful!

    I am a first-time buyer. This site recommended Jeff Galindo to me. However, after having to chase him down repeatedly to get him to answer my questions, he finally became impatient with me, said I was being too negative and said he couldn't work like this and dropped me, including dropping the house I was scheduled to see the next day. I now have a REAL agent, elsewhere.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Easy process with a knowledgeable agent

    I moved to Connecticut for my work and was staying with a friend while I tried to sort out my own living situation. It was stressful, to say the least! I really wanted to turn things over to someone who knew the area well. I called HomeLight and ended up choosing the second agent who they introduced to me. She was nothing but helpful, and she went above and beyond through the whole process of helping me find my new home.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 21

Write a Review for HomeLight!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review