About HomeLight

Locating a real estate agent is a funny process. On one hand, you need a professional with a proven track record, great negotiating skills, an innate knowledge of the local market, and more. After all, buying or selling a home is a big deal, and there’s a whole lot of money on the line. On the other hand, most of us found our last agent browsing online (or even swiped their number from the back of a park bench). Can you think of any other large, personal transaction in your life where you leave your fate up to a (almost) complete stranger?

Enter HomeLight. Instead of spending hours combing through agent bios, researching their sales history, and learning about their online client reviews on multiple websites, HomeLight’s Matching Engine automatically analyzes 18 million+ home sales and client reviews to bring your only the highest performing (top 5%) agents. In just two minutes, agents are screened based your specific criteria, including whether you’re buying or selling, whether or not they specialize in your target area, their skills and experience, and more.

All together, HomeLight claims their service can help you “find the perfect real estate agent” and save you time and hassle, while remaining 100% free—no catches.

Granted, it’s difficult to beat free. But even though HomeLight won’t cost you more than a few minutes of your time, does this still make them a good option for locating your next agent? Are there other similar services? You’ve got questions and in this review, we’ll uncover some answers.

Let’s start by looking at how the HomeLight process works.

How Does the HomeLight Matching Engine Work?

Here’s how the company describes it:

“HomeLight is the leading resource for finding objective agent performance data online. We've spent years collecting, normalizing and summarizing historical data across millions of transactions. With this unique data set, we apply statistical data analysis and machine learning methods to predict who will bring the most experience, expertise and negotiating power to your home transaction.”

Specifically, after answering a few simple questions, HomeLight’s Matching Engine searches and analyzes over 18 million transactions since 2009, along with 2 million agents and 200,000 brokerages, all aimed at matching you with an agent. It will look at things like recent listings an agent has completed, educational background and bios, customer reviews from individuals who have interacted with the agent, the agent’s transaction volume by year, and more.

Then, the Matching Engine filters the information into five different categories:

  • Location: In other words, someone who specializes in your current area, or the are where you’re looking to buy. Here’s how the company puts it: “Using spatial IP and geo-distance analysis, we can target real estate agents that have hyperlocal expertise within your city, neighborhood, and even those that know your street.”
  • Buy or sell: Here, HomeLight’s Matching Engine will filter results by the agent’s historical expertise, whether buying or selling.
  • Property Type: HomeLight will analyze transaction data “to identify agents’ expertise in your exact type of property,” whether single family, condominium, multi-family, and more.
  • Price: Any agent you choose must be familiar with your price range. After all, there can be huge differences in the needs of a luxury buyer versus a first-time homeowner.
  • Agent type: Finally, HomeLight wants to make sure that an agent’s personality matches your needs. For example, some clients might require an agent who can spend lots of time with them, while other might need a tough negotiator.

Finally, HomeLight’s machine learning algorithm will use “Bayesian statistical models to predict which agent will get the best results for you.” Then, you’ll be provided a personalized list of the best agents across all major brokerages in your area, who you can reach out to at your leisure.

Pro tip: HomeLight only returns results for agents employed by Coldwell Banker, Century 21, Sotheby’s, Keller Williams, Berkshire Hathaway Home Services, and Re/Max. While these are certainly many of the largest firms in the industry, it’s certainly worth keeping in mind.

Sounds like a lot of technology, right? How much will it cost you to use HomeLight?

Is HomeLight Really Free?

If you’re a homebuyer or seller, then by all appearances, HomeLight is completely free to use in order to connect with local agents.

If you’re an agent, you can obtain leads from HomeLight with a 25% referral fee, while other real estate professionals (lenders, title companies, general contractors, moving companies, etc.) can advertise through the company.

Need help using HomeLight? The company claims to have a “team of dedicated real estate concierges with 50+ years of experience” standing by at (888) 998-1909.

Given its apparent usefulness and the fact that it’s completely free, are clients over the moon about HomeLight?

What Are HomeLight’s Clients Saying?

Although HomeLight was founded by Drew Uher in 2012 and is backed by huge investors like Google’s venture capital arm, there wasn’t a whole lot of online feedback about the company at the time of our research.

RealtyBizNews.com wrote a fairly in-depth review about their experience using the HomeLight website (they didn’t reach out to an agent). Overall, they liked the interface but were a bit on the fence about the number of questions they were asked. They also found that they received the same recommendations even after changing some of their criteria, although they concluded that HomeLight is the best “buyer-seller-agent conduit” they’ve ever seen.

Outside of this, there were 3 closed HomeLight complaints over at the Better Business Bureau, where the company had an A+ rating (as of 3/18/16). Of these, only two provided details, both of which referenced removing an agent’s information from the company’s database.

Is HomeLight a Shot in the Dark?

Like we mention above, it’s difficult to beat free. In other words, by giving HomeLight a try, your bank account won’t be any lighter, but you also won’t be able get back the time you spent.

Is HomeLight worth trying? Ultimately, that’s something only you can decide. But given the fact that they’ve been in business for more than three years and are backed by several industry giants, they might offer an easier, faster, and more accurate way of connecting you with an agent. Just remember that HomeLight currently only serves 38 U.S. markets, so you might have some difficulty locating agents in smaller markets.

Did you use HomeLight to locate an agent? If so, let’s do something about the lack of online feedback for the company. How? By writing your very own review below and adding to the conversation!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

313 Consumer Reviews for HomeLight

Average Consumer Rating: 4.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 285 4 star: 9 3 star: 0 2 star: 3 1 star:  16
Bottom Line: 93% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 313
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • HomeLight is a great service

    • Iselin, NJ,
    • Oct 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    HomeLight was an excellent resource to quickly find our real estate agent. I have purchased and sold homes in the past and typically had relied on names I had known, but I decided to make a search on HomeLight this time around. I was very impressed with the analytics making this a much more modern approach than looking at pictures and poorly designed websites.

    I interviewed a few different agents over the phone and it was pretty easy to determine the right fit. Our selected realtor was excellent and did a fantastic job both from getting our home marketed and closed, but also helping find other needed service providers.

    I would use HomeLight again in the future.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • HomeLight is awesome!

    • Harker Heights, TX,
    • Oct 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a first-time homebuyer with no previous knowledge or even an idea of where to start when buying a home. Luckily, I found HomeLight and was quickly connected to a representative that assisted me in finding a buyer’s agent. The agent I spoke with was very professional and asked questions that helped connect me to the perfect real estate agent. The call was quick, and once I received my recommendations, I emailed some agents and ended up going with one that HomeLight recommended. She was a perfect choice to help me buy a home, which I ended up closing a few months later! Overall, I think HomeLight is a great choice for first time home buyers because it acted as the first step for me in my journey to buy a house by identifying the agent that would match my needs the best. I will definitely recommend this service to anyone.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Mr. Todd Jones is a wonderful agent that HomeLight referred to me

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Oct 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    HomeLight introduced Mr. Todd Jones to me. Mr. Jones called me very soon, was able to meet me same morning. Had the photographer next morning after all painting etc was done! Had pictures ready the same day, in MLS the same night. He also did several open houses varying from Tuesday, Sat, and Sunday.

    Handed all the way through, the situation went very well. He is very honest and hardworking and professional.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • HomeLight review

    • Georgia,
    • Oct 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I heard about HomeLight on a television ad. I needed to sell my house, but hadn't used a realtor in over 20 years! Choosing a realtor was going to be a daunting task. I have had bad experiences in the past and was not looking forward to a real estate transaction again. I contacted HomeLight and they sent me referrals for the top 5 realtors in my area! Each of these realtors called and made appointments to meet with me, look at my house, and make recommendations and offer a marketing plan. Each realtor brought unique skills. It was difficult to choose! HomeLight followed up after each contact. They provided me with facts about days on market, price reductions, final sales prices and much more. I felt empowered to make an informed choice. As a result, my house was under contract within two weeks, and it was not listed at a good time for sales: summer had ended, and school had started! I would definitely use HomeLight again should I have a real estate sale anywhere else.

    As an added bonus, there aren't any pesky ads and sales pitches for other things...just good professional service to help you choose the best realtor to suit your needs.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great referral site

    • Fort Myers, FL,
    • Oct 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    When looking for real estate brokers online for our home search in southwest Florida, I discovered the HomeLight website. After answering a few pertinent questions regarding our search online, I received a personal call from a HomeLight representative within minutes of completing their online questionnaire. The representative clearly explained how the service they provided worked and identified a list of suggested brokers shortly after our call. I was contacted by a broker the same day and received outstanding service throughout my real estate transaction.

    The website was easy to use, and I was very pleased with the broker they matched us with. I would highly recommend this service to anyone who is searching for a real estate broker.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Very happy with HomeLight

    • West Palm Beach, FL,
    • Oct 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Earlier this year I was interested in selling my property, but I did not know any realtors in the area. I used HomeLight to help me identify realtors in the area that had a proven track record and were at the top of their field. I received a number of recommendations and eventually chose the one that was top rated by HomeLight. I could not be happier that I did. My HomeLight recommended realtor was exactly as described and provided a first class service throughout the process. My home received multiple offers within the first week of being listed, and eventually sold over the asking price.

    I am very pleased with the HomeLight service and their recommendation.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • HomeLight made selling my home quick and easy!

    • Memphis, TN,
    • Oct 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    HomeLight provided all I needed when it was time to search for a realtor to help sell my home. I found the site via a Google search and, after reading articles on its impact on home sales, knew I had to use this free service. By the end of the day, I had received phone calls from three realtors. Just a few days later I had interviewed each realtor at my home and made my choice. As a result, my home sold for much more than anticipated and in only one day on the market. I highly recommend HomeLight to anyone about to put their home on the market; it couldn’t be any easier.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Summary of home sale by Beckie Stephens

    • Lacey, WA,
    • Oct 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I would like to thank HomeLight for their recommendation of my Real Estate Agent Beckie Stephens. She outshined her already stellar reviews from previous clientele. We were listing the same time as others in our street, and she was able to get us a full asking price offer with no contingencies on DAY 1! She made staging recommendations and was very precise with our time of listing compared to other homes in the area and how long they had been listed. She is networked very well with other agents, lenders, and title companies, so the process was smooth from beginning to end. Thanks HomeLight and Beckie!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great experience

    • California,
    • Oct 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Marylene made my experience of buying my first house easy and enjoyable. She made time for every question and concern. Her dedication and willingness to do the best she could is very unique. She was always professional in her manner, but friendly at the same time. Very prompt returning calls and giving feedback, communication was always open and flowing with Marylene. I enjoyed having Marylene there to help me through this process I knew nothing about. Marylene is an excellent person to have on your side, and I thank her so much for everything she did.

    For a successful real estate purchase, I highly recommend her.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • House buying

    • Port Charlotte, FL,
    • Oct 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Thanks to HomeLight for providing us with Sue Strope as our Realtor. She was outstanding in helping us find our new home. Whenever we wanted to go look at any homes, she was readily available; rain or shine. She is very knowledgeable at what she does. I would recommend Sue to anyone that needs a realtor. The very first home we wanted to look at, she told us it wouldn't be the home for us, and she was 100% correct.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • HomeLight helped us find the perfect realtor!

    • Fort Myers, FL,
    • Oct 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    When it was time to sell our home, we did not know which realtor to use. Several friends made recommendations, but we had no idea if those realtors would fit our needs. Just because a realtor is your friend, or even relative, doesn't mean they're good at what they do, or are right for each situation.

    We saw an ad on TV for HomeLight and decided to try them. We are so impressed! Within just a few minutes we were contacted by a HomeLight representative, and then by three local realtors who had the best sales statistics in our area. What could possibly be a better recommendation? After talking to the realtors on the phone, we chose the one that seemed the best fit for us, and we had a very positive sales experience. I wish I had been aware of HomeLight sooner. We certainly recommend them to anyone who is going to sell their home.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 313

Write a Review for HomeLight!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review