About HomeLight

Locating a real estate agent is a funny process. On one hand, you need a professional with a proven track record, great negotiating skills, an innate knowledge of the local market, and more. After all, buying or selling a home is a big deal, and there’s a whole lot of money on the line. On the other hand, most of us found our last agent browsing online (or even swiped their number from the back of a park bench). Can you think of any other large, personal transaction in your life where you leave your fate up to a (almost) complete stranger?

Enter HomeLight. Instead of spending hours combing through agent bios, researching their sales history, and learning about their online client reviews on multiple websites, HomeLight’s Matching Engine automatically analyzes 18 million+ home sales and client reviews to bring your only the highest performing (top 5%) agents. In just two minutes, agents are screened based your specific criteria, including whether you’re buying or selling, whether or not they specialize in your target area, their skills and experience, and more.

All together, HomeLight claims their service can help you “find the perfect real estate agent” and save you time and hassle, while remaining 100% free—no catches.

Granted, it’s difficult to beat free. But even though HomeLight won’t cost you more than a few minutes of your time, does this still make them a good option for locating your next agent? Are there other similar services? You’ve got questions and in this review, we’ll uncover some answers.

Let’s start by looking at how the HomeLight process works.

How Does the HomeLight Matching Engine Work?

Here’s how the company describes it:

“HomeLight is the leading resource for finding objective agent performance data online. We've spent years collecting, normalizing and summarizing historical data across millions of transactions. With this unique data set, we apply statistical data analysis and machine learning methods to predict who will bring the most experience, expertise and negotiating power to your home transaction.”

Specifically, after answering a few simple questions, HomeLight’s Matching Engine searches and analyzes over 18 million transactions since 2009, along with 2 million agents and 200,000 brokerages, all aimed at matching you with an agent. It will look at things like recent listings an agent has completed, educational background and bios, customer reviews from individuals who have interacted with the agent, the agent’s transaction volume by year, and more.

Then, the Matching Engine filters the information into five different categories:

  • Location: In other words, someone who specializes in your current area, or the are where you’re looking to buy. Here’s how the company puts it: “Using spatial IP and geo-distance analysis, we can target real estate agents that have hyperlocal expertise within your city, neighborhood, and even those that know your street.”
  • Buy or sell: Here, HomeLight’s Matching Engine will filter results by the agent’s historical expertise, whether buying or selling.
  • Property Type: HomeLight will analyze transaction data “to identify agents’ expertise in your exact type of property,” whether single family, condominium, multi-family, and more.
  • Price: Any agent you choose must be familiar with your price range. After all, there can be huge differences in the needs of a luxury buyer versus a first-time homeowner.
  • Agent type: Finally, HomeLight wants to make sure that an agent’s personality matches your needs. For example, some clients might require an agent who can spend lots of time with them, while other might need a tough negotiator.

Finally, HomeLight’s machine learning algorithm will use “Bayesian statistical models to predict which agent will get the best results for you.” Then, you’ll be provided a personalized list of the best agents across all major brokerages in your area, who you can reach out to at your leisure.

Pro tip: HomeLight only returns results for agents employed by Coldwell Banker, Century 21, Sotheby’s, Keller Williams, Berkshire Hathaway Home Services, and Re/Max. While these are certainly many of the largest firms in the industry, it’s certainly worth keeping in mind.

Sounds like a lot of technology, right? How much will it cost you to use HomeLight?

Is HomeLight Really Free?

If you’re a homebuyer or seller, then by all appearances, HomeLight is completely free to use in order to connect with local agents.

If you’re an agent, you can obtain leads from HomeLight with a 25% referral fee, while other real estate professionals (lenders, title companies, general contractors, moving companies, etc.) can advertise through the company.

Need help using HomeLight? The company claims to have a “team of dedicated real estate concierges with 50+ years of experience” standing by at (888) 998-1909.

Given its apparent usefulness and the fact that it’s completely free, are clients over the moon about HomeLight?

What Are HomeLight’s Clients Saying?

Although HomeLight was founded by Drew Uher in 2012 and is backed by huge investors like Google’s venture capital arm, there wasn’t a whole lot of online feedback about the company at the time of our research.

RealtyBizNews.com wrote a fairly in-depth review about their experience using the HomeLight website (they didn’t reach out to an agent). Overall, they liked the interface but were a bit on the fence about the number of questions they were asked. They also found that they received the same recommendations even after changing some of their criteria, although they concluded that HomeLight is the best “buyer-seller-agent conduit” they’ve ever seen.

Outside of this, there were 3 closed HomeLight complaints over at the Better Business Bureau, where the company had an A+ rating (as of 3/18/16). Of these, only two provided details, both of which referenced removing an agent’s information from the company’s database.

Is HomeLight a Shot in the Dark?

Like we mention above, it’s difficult to beat free. In other words, by giving HomeLight a try, your bank account won’t be any lighter, but you also won’t be able get back the time you spent.

Is HomeLight worth trying? Ultimately, that’s something only you can decide. But given the fact that they’ve been in business for more than three years and are backed by several industry giants, they might offer an easier, faster, and more accurate way of connecting you with an agent. Just remember that HomeLight currently only serves 38 U.S. markets, so you might have some difficulty locating agents in smaller markets.

Did you use HomeLight to locate an agent? If so, let’s do something about the lack of online feedback for the company. How? By writing your very own review below and adding to the conversation!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

87 Consumer Reviews for HomeLight

Average Consumer Rating: 4.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 76 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  9
Bottom Line: 89% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 87
Sort reviews by:

  • HomeLight services

    • Platteville, WI,
    • Feb 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The services that HomeLight provided were just what I was looking for. I received several requests from various realtors in Las Vegas. I set up appointments with two and the other one canceled at the last minute. I was invited over to Jeff Galindo's office and was given a tour and looked at some highlights of Vegas. I meet Chris Newman, one of his agents, who I had talked to on the phone. Chris took me out on a tour to look at some properties. Chris was very helpful and informative. Chris also kept in contact and finally worked me through a deal. It is a little nerve-wracking doing things from far away, but it all worked out. A very good experience so far.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great service

    HomeLight was a great service. We wanted to sell our home but didn't know where to start. We were told about HomeLight. We decided to give it a try, and we weren't disappointed! I felt confident with the suggested realtors they provided. I was contacted immediately, and we were able to start the process quickly. Deborah Cottongame was the realtor we choose per HomeLight's recommended list! We sold our home within two days of listing. She was great and answered all our questions. The process couldn't have been simpler! I highly recommend their service!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    HomeLight + realtor Eric Brooks (Wydler Brothers) = solid home sale.

    Leesburg, Florida.

    On August 29, 2017 I started an internet research for homes for sale in 2018 to get an idea on competitive pricing. The HomeLight website caught my attention because it amalgamated realtor sales for Bethesda, Maryland. I had been trying to rent my home, but I was competing with 20 other homes in my narrow zip code, i.e., feeding into the top rated three Montgomery public schools in my neighborhood. I needed a realtor who could both “rent” or “sell” my property. I was released without penalty by the Rental Management Company I had signed on with in July.

    Email responses and phone calls from HomeLight.com started immediately. I was pleasantly surprised and appreciative of their market research. Four specific companies were sent to me, and I received calls from all of them. At that time, I wasn’t ready to make any decisions, because we were still packing, preparing the movers to take our furniture to Florida on September 6th. Two of the four recommendations were for the Wydler Brothers, and different members of their Teams had called to introduce themselves, but I had no time to meet with anyone.

    The movers came at 6:30 am on September 6th and were finished by 10 am. The Maids of Bethesda arrived in the afternoon, to clean my house. Eric Brooks, a Wydler Brothers realtor, called to say he’d be in my neighborhood that afternoon, and could he just stop by to meet me in person? Tired and disheveled, sitting on a stair step, I said, “ok, but we have no furniture.”

    Eric arrived around 4 pm and I felt very comfortable with his presentation and plan of action, IF I decided to hire his company. He followed up with email notes after our move to Leesburg, Florida (September 16th) and later we had some phone conversations. I signed the Wydler Brothers contract in October, he had a signed contract from a buyer in November, and the settlement date was January 9, 2018.

    HomeLight gets all the credit for putting us together. Eric and his team carried the ball! They wrote a great ad copy, had a professional photographer illustrate my house for multiple listing websites, held Open Houses and did whatever had to be done to sell my home.

    I’d recommend HomeLight; it allows the seller to jump into the realty game with all guns blazing!

    P.S. One of the other HomeLight recommended agents called me a lot, sent info, and when I offered a last-minute face-to-face meeting after Eric left, he said he couldn’t see me on such short notice. I told him to stop calling, that if I wanted to move forward, I would call him. A few weeks later, he left a voice message saying “Hey Marjorie, this is ___.” Honest mistake, but I wasn’t interested.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Sold our rental house!

    • Tallahassee, FL,
    • Feb 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Using HomeLight was easy and effective. I called HomeLight, and a representative answered. They asked me a few questions and then told me that they would send some highly rated and effective realtors to my email shortly. It did not take very long, and I had two realtors in my email box to choose from. There was no hassle, no realtors calling you. You decide who to call and when.

    I interviewed them both and choose my realtor, Chris Mihajlovich. We had an offer in two weeks above my price I told Chris I wanted. He took care of everything. Turning on and off the heat. I live in Florida, and the house we sold was in Indiana. Great experience and I recommend them.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Review of HomeLight services

    I had a most amazing experience using HomeLight’s realtor referral services.

    It’s rare that current service providers deliver on their stated promises and mission statement. HomeLight’s exclusive realtor referral services far exceeded my expectations.

    HomeLight provided a list of qualified realtors, and after several interviews, I narrowed my search down to two of the top realtors in my area.

    I met with both realtors and chose Keller Realtors because Chuck Hill believed in my vision of selling my house and using prompt, professional, and expedient services sold my home well in advance my expectant time frame.

    I was more than satisfied with the entire process.

    Thank you so much HomeLight!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • HomeLight best homebuyer guide

    • Aurora, IL,
    • Feb 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was a first-time homebuyer and very new in the market so didn’t know where to find a good real estate agent. While I was browsing, I came across with HomeLight, which was a user-friendly site, and within a few hours of creating an account, Sarah reached out by phone to know more about my purchase needs. Based on that information she was able to send me an email with the reference of real estate agents who fit my needs the best and sure Jacqueline Dix was a reference from HomeLight. I greatly appreciate this firm’s help to find me a right house.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Sale of flip house

    • The Villages, FL,
    • Feb 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We used HomeLight to find a good "selling" realtor in the area of the house we just rehabbed. The Realtor we found through HomeLight sold the house in 6 weeks at an acceptable price. This allowed us to focus on the upcoming projects vs. the sales effort of the completed project.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • HomeLight made all the difference

    • Georgia,
    • Feb 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Our experience with HomeLight in Atlanta, Georgia was great. The process was very simple. During the initial process, we had to fill out some detailed information about what we were looking for, and then a HomeLight representative called us personally to discuss before they provided a referral. Once we had completed that process, we were provided with two local realtors. Both called within MINUTES of getting the referral. We went with the first option, and he was absolutely fantastic. We couldn't have been more happy with his professionalism, follow up and knowledge of the area we were looking.

    We really didn't know where to start before I found HomeLight through a web search. We went from not having any idea who to work with to having a top-notch realtor who matched our needs perfectly. I would definitely recommend using this service to anyone who is new to an area they serve. The service truly is free and cost us absolutely nothing except a few minutes of our time. They didn't pester us or try to sell us anything. They simply provided an invaluable service for no cost.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • HomeLight great success

    • Florida,
    • Feb 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    HomeLight provided a very prompt reply, which provided us with 3 agents who fit the criteria we were looking for in selling our home.

    We were able to meet each agent and decided on the one we best felt would allow us to sell our home for maximum value.

    The value in HomeLight providing the vetting was incalculable. We are very happy with the service provided by HomeLight.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Selling made easy

    • Austin, TX,
    • Feb 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The HomeLight website was easy to navigate around. The agent matching was excellent. I was very happy with their website and agreed with what they had to say, for example, how fast a home sells with an experienced agent. I would recommend HomeLight to anyone wanting to sell a home in Austin or the nearby surrounding areas. I was so glad to find their website it made selling a house easy.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • HomeLight real estate referral

    The service that HomeLight provided was a tremendous help to myself and my wife as first time home sellers. HomeLight was able to match our specific situation and needs to a selection of local realtors and remove a lot of the legwork from the selection process. The realtors that HomeLight recommended were knowledgeable in our local market and our final agent selection did come to that initial recommendation. Thanks again.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 87

Write a Review for HomeLight!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review