About HomeLight

Locating a real estate agent is a funny process. On one hand, you need a professional with a proven track record, great negotiating skills, an innate knowledge of the local market, and more. After all, buying or selling a home is a big deal, and there’s a whole lot of money on the line. On the other hand, most of us found our last agent browsing online (or even swiped their number from the back of a park bench). Can you think of any other large, personal transaction in your life where you leave your fate up to a (almost) complete stranger?

Enter HomeLight. Instead of spending hours combing through agent bios, researching their sales history, and learning about their online client reviews on multiple websites, HomeLight’s Matching Engine automatically analyzes 18 million+ home sales and client reviews to bring your only the highest performing (top 5%) agents. In just two minutes, agents are screened based your specific criteria, including whether you’re buying or selling, whether or not they specialize in your target area, their skills and experience, and more.

All together, HomeLight claims their service can help you “find the perfect real estate agent” and save you time and hassle, while remaining 100% free—no catches.

Granted, it’s difficult to beat free. But even though HomeLight won’t cost you more than a few minutes of your time, does this still make them a good option for locating your next agent? Are there other similar services? You’ve got questions and in this review, we’ll uncover some answers.

Let’s start by looking at how the HomeLight process works.

How Does the HomeLight Matching Engine Work?

Here’s how the company describes it:

“HomeLight is the leading resource for finding objective agent performance data online. We've spent years collecting, normalizing and summarizing historical data across millions of transactions. With this unique data set, we apply statistical data analysis and machine learning methods to predict who will bring the most experience, expertise and negotiating power to your home transaction.”

Specifically, after answering a few simple questions, HomeLight’s Matching Engine searches and analyzes over 18 million transactions since 2009, along with 2 million agents and 200,000 brokerages, all aimed at matching you with an agent. It will look at things like recent listings an agent has completed, educational background and bios, customer reviews from individuals who have interacted with the agent, the agent’s transaction volume by year, and more.

Then, the Matching Engine filters the information into five different categories:

  • Location: In other words, someone who specializes in your current area, or the are where you’re looking to buy. Here’s how the company puts it: “Using spatial IP and geo-distance analysis, we can target real estate agents that have hyperlocal expertise within your city, neighborhood, and even those that know your street.”
  • Buy or sell: Here, HomeLight’s Matching Engine will filter results by the agent’s historical expertise, whether buying or selling.
  • Property Type: HomeLight will analyze transaction data “to identify agents’ expertise in your exact type of property,” whether single family, condominium, multi-family, and more.
  • Price: Any agent you choose must be familiar with your price range. After all, there can be huge differences in the needs of a luxury buyer versus a first-time homeowner.
  • Agent type: Finally, HomeLight wants to make sure that an agent’s personality matches your needs. For example, some clients might require an agent who can spend lots of time with them, while other might need a tough negotiator.

Finally, HomeLight’s machine learning algorithm will use “Bayesian statistical models to predict which agent will get the best results for you.” Then, you’ll be provided a personalized list of the best agents across all major brokerages in your area, who you can reach out to at your leisure.

Pro tip: HomeLight only returns results for agents employed by Coldwell Banker, Century 21, Sotheby’s, Keller Williams, Berkshire Hathaway Home Services, and Re/Max. While these are certainly many of the largest firms in the industry, it’s certainly worth keeping in mind.

Sounds like a lot of technology, right? How much will it cost you to use HomeLight?

Is HomeLight Really Free?

If you’re a homebuyer or seller, then by all appearances, HomeLight is completely free to use in order to connect with local agents.

If you’re an agent, you can obtain leads from HomeLight with a 25% referral fee, while other real estate professionals (lenders, title companies, general contractors, moving companies, etc.) can advertise through the company.

Need help using HomeLight? The company claims to have a “team of dedicated real estate concierges with 50+ years of experience” standing by at (888) 998-1909.

Given its apparent usefulness and the fact that it’s completely free, are clients over the moon about HomeLight?

What Are HomeLight’s Clients Saying?

Although HomeLight was founded by Drew Uher in 2012 and is backed by huge investors like Google’s venture capital arm, there wasn’t a whole lot of online feedback about the company at the time of our research.

RealtyBizNews.com wrote a fairly in-depth review about their experience using the HomeLight website (they didn’t reach out to an agent). Overall, they liked the interface but were a bit on the fence about the number of questions they were asked. They also found that they received the same recommendations even after changing some of their criteria, although they concluded that HomeLight is the best “buyer-seller-agent conduit” they’ve ever seen.

Outside of this, there were 3 closed HomeLight complaints over at the Better Business Bureau, where the company had an A+ rating (as of 3/18/16). Of these, only two provided details, both of which referenced removing an agent’s information from the company’s database.

Is HomeLight a Shot in the Dark?

Like we mention above, it’s difficult to beat free. In other words, by giving HomeLight a try, your bank account won’t be any lighter, but you also won’t be able get back the time you spent.

Is HomeLight worth trying? Ultimately, that’s something only you can decide. But given the fact that they’ve been in business for more than three years and are backed by several industry giants, they might offer an easier, faster, and more accurate way of connecting you with an agent. Just remember that HomeLight currently only serves 38 U.S. markets, so you might have some difficulty locating agents in smaller markets.

Did you use HomeLight to locate an agent? If so, let’s do something about the lack of online feedback for the company. How? By writing your very own review below and adding to the conversation!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

157 Consumer Reviews for HomeLight

Average Consumer Rating: 4.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 143 4 star: 3 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  10
Bottom Line: 92% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 157
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • Wonderful experience!

    • Phoeniz, AZ,
    • Jun 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I needed a realtor to sell our home on Colorado, but we lived in Arizona. HomeLight lets us interview the top realtors in Colorado over the telephone and finally meet with the realtor we chose in person since we only had 24 hours in Colorado. The process was very easy and the realtors were all very professional, so it was hard to choose. However, we put the house on the market, and it sold and closed in less than two months! We would use HomeLight again!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Best realtor of our needs

    • Putnam, CT,
    • Jun 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We contacted HomeLight after a not so positive experience with a realtor that was referred to us by a friend who was unable to sell our home. We interviewed three realtors that HomeLight suggested and decided to go with the Merrill group because of their experience as well as their ability to sell unique homes (we have a 100+-year-old multi-family house) such as ours. Sam Merrill met with us, walked through the home, gave some helpful suggestions in which we did. We put a fresh coat of paint on a kitchen, a little cleaning up of the sheetrock in a bedroom and the house was listed a week later. It took only three days on the market before we had a solid offer on the house that was over the asking price! We decided to keep showing the house until we knew the first buyer was secured. The following day after the first offer, we had a second offer for over the selling price, there was no doubt that the house would be sold this time and it did!

    The sale process was relatively painless due to Sam's guidance and advice from start to finish. I highly recommend this realtor, the service was so good that we referred my brother and he is selling his house too through the Merrills.

    They are the best around, and I would not hesitate to refer them again to anyone who needs their services.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Quality of response from HomeLight

    • Sterling Heights, MI,
    • Jun 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We requested the best realtors in our area from HomeLight. HomeLight responded immediately with three realtors in a matter of minutes. Much to our surprise, the first realtor HomeLight suggested contacted us for an introductory meeting almost immediately. We scheduled the meeting and went with the first realtor on the HomeLight list. We were very pleased with the response from HomeLight to our request, and with the realtor they suggested. I would recommend using HomeLight in the future for any requirement I would have as they seem to have a good handle on the best professionals to do the job needed.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Excellent recommendation on realtor in Ormond Beach, Florida.

    • Ormond Beach, FL,
    • Jun 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Thank you for a fabulous recommendation in Tish Whiting. You managed to match us with exactly the right person for the property we were selling. Tish showed up at our first meeting totally prepared, saving us time and energy in determining the best price to list our unit at. She pulled comps of recent sales in the area and educated us on the property sales which in turn managed our expectations at the start. She was very responsive and informative with each step of the process making this the easiest sale my husband and I have ever experienced. I truly appreciate you recommending such a well informed professional. What a relief!

    Thank you, HomeLight, I will definitely use your services if I'm ever in need of selling or buying a property in the future!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Service was everything I expected and more!

    • Aztec, NM,
    • Jun 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I contacted HomeLight because of the ads I had seen on TV, and I wasn’t sure what realtor to use in my area, so I needed a great recommendation. HomeLight provided a couple of great choices that led to me meeting amazing realtor. The realtor we used made our selling process so easy and she accommodated everything we needed despite our situation being less than ideal. I would have never met our realtor if it wasn’t for HomeLight and our realtor gave us everything we needed and more! Thank you HomeLight for truly providing an exceptional recommendation service that lives up to what they advertise and is also so much more!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Outstanding real estate agent

    • Illinois,
    • Jun 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Two thumbs up to Lori Lincoln (more if I had more hands) and her outstanding service throughout the process of selling my mom's home. Lori was on top of everything, providing connections and assistance in areas I had not thought of to truly make the process easier than I could have ever imagined. Her ability to do so much more than sell the house, especially in the way she cared for my sister and mom, went way above and beyond what I expected. I would recommend Lori and her team to anyone selling a home in the New England area. Thanks for the referral; if every agent is like Lori, HomeLight is truly doing a great job.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • HomeLight made the process fast and easy.

    • Barrington, RI,
    • Jun 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Upon seeking assistance in finding a competent, experienced, market savvy and local real estate professional, my search results lead me to HomeLight. From there my search began and was completed by providing a substantial list of qualified talent that met my requirements. Ari Tanasio, the realtor I selected, was everything, and more, than I could have asked for. The property went to contract for more than asking price, and the deal was closed promptly and without unnecessary drama. She even provided a local attorney, at a great rate, to handle the closing. Reduce stress, save time and do it the right way - start by visiting HomeLight.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • HomeLight

    • Tacoma, WA,
    • Jun 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    HomeLight was wonderful with contacting me and helping me find the right realtor for me. I didn't realize how important and critical it was for me to find the right realtor. HomeLight sent me three realtors with their reviews and all kinds of information on them. I contacted all three and interviewed them as HomeLight suggested, I was so happy and amazed that these people had different suggestions and amounts on how much I should sell my house for. I went with Matt Harber group, they had sold my house the first day it was on the market. I was so happy. I would highly recommend HomeLight on anyone wanting to sell or purchase a home. Check them out, they are SO helpful.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Great realtor referral from HomeLight!

    • Collegeville, PA,
    • Jun 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We were relocating from Central Florida to the Philadelphia area. We did not know any real estate agents in the area of where we were moving. HomeLight gave us a terrific recommendation with Linda A. She was so friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. We wouldn’t have been able to find someone like Linda without HomeLight’s help! It’s a great service, and I would use it again if needed, but I hope I don’t have to because we love our new home! Thank you Linda and HomeLight!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • The right move to sell your home.

    • Jonesborough, TN,
    • Jun 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We were very happy with the results of the sale of our home with the referrals HomeLight gave us.

    We had several very good agents to choose from, and we were very pleased with the agent we chose. She was very professional, quick to move if there was a concern and things were done.

    We sold our home in a month.

    Thanks HomeLight.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • HomeLight makes finding a proven, top-notch realtor to sell your home quickly effortless.

    • Columbus, OH,
    • Jun 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was very satisfied with my HomeLight experience. After viewing an ad on television, I called Homelight because I was in the process of selling my home. I was promptly contacted by four top realtors in the areas. After interviewing all four, I chose Lori Lynn. She was easy to work with, new the market well and provided outstanding service. I sold my home in one day, and the closing process and inspection went very smoothly.

    I would highly recommend using HomeLight when you are looking for top realtors to work with. I felt comfortable knowing my realtor had a proven success record and that HomeLight did the vetting for me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 157

Write a Review for HomeLight!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review