About HomeLight

Locating a real estate agent is a funny process. On one hand, you need a professional with a proven track record, great negotiating skills, an innate knowledge of the local market, and more. After all, buying or selling a home is a big deal, and there’s a whole lot of money on the line. On the other hand, most of us found our last agent browsing online (or even swiped their number from the back of a park bench). Can you think of any other large, personal transaction in your life where you leave your fate up to a (almost) complete stranger?

Enter HomeLight. Instead of spending hours combing through agent bios, researching their sales history, and learning about their online client reviews on multiple websites, HomeLight’s Matching Engine automatically analyzes 18 million+ home sales and client reviews to bring your only the highest performing (top 5%) agents. In just two minutes, agents are screened based your specific criteria, including whether you’re buying or selling, whether or not they specialize in your target area, their skills and experience, and more.

All together, HomeLight claims their service can help you “find the perfect real estate agent” and save you time and hassle, while remaining 100% free—no catches.

Granted, it’s difficult to beat free. But even though HomeLight won’t cost you more than a few minutes of your time, does this still make them a good option for locating your next agent? Are there other similar services? You’ve got questions and in this review, we’ll uncover some answers.

Let’s start by looking at how the HomeLight process works.

How Does the HomeLight Matching Engine Work?

Here’s how the company describes it:

“HomeLight is the leading resource for finding objective agent performance data online. We've spent years collecting, normalizing and summarizing historical data across millions of transactions. With this unique data set, we apply statistical data analysis and machine learning methods to predict who will bring the most experience, expertise and negotiating power to your home transaction.”

Specifically, after answering a few simple questions, HomeLight’s Matching Engine searches and analyzes over 18 million transactions since 2009, along with 2 million agents and 200,000 brokerages, all aimed at matching you with an agent. It will look at things like recent listings an agent has completed, educational background and bios, customer reviews from individuals who have interacted with the agent, the agent’s transaction volume by year, and more.

Then, the Matching Engine filters the information into five different categories:

  • Location: In other words, someone who specializes in your current area, or the are where you’re looking to buy. Here’s how the company puts it: “Using spatial IP and geo-distance analysis, we can target real estate agents that have hyperlocal expertise within your city, neighborhood, and even those that know your street.”
  • Buy or sell: Here, HomeLight’s Matching Engine will filter results by the agent’s historical expertise, whether buying or selling.
  • Property Type: HomeLight will analyze transaction data “to identify agents’ expertise in your exact type of property,” whether single family, condominium, multi-family, and more.
  • Price: Any agent you choose must be familiar with your price range. After all, there can be huge differences in the needs of a luxury buyer versus a first-time homeowner.
  • Agent type: Finally, HomeLight wants to make sure that an agent’s personality matches your needs. For example, some clients might require an agent who can spend lots of time with them, while other might need a tough negotiator.

Finally, HomeLight’s machine learning algorithm will use “Bayesian statistical models to predict which agent will get the best results for you.” Then, you’ll be provided a personalized list of the best agents across all major brokerages in your area, who you can reach out to at your leisure.

Pro tip: HomeLight only returns results for agents employed by Coldwell Banker, Century 21, Sotheby’s, Keller Williams, Berkshire Hathaway Home Services, and Re/Max. While these are certainly many of the largest firms in the industry, it’s certainly worth keeping in mind.

Sounds like a lot of technology, right? How much will it cost you to use HomeLight?

Is HomeLight Really Free?

If you’re a homebuyer or seller, then by all appearances, HomeLight is completely free to use in order to connect with local agents.

If you’re an agent, you can obtain leads from HomeLight with a 25% referral fee, while other real estate professionals (lenders, title companies, general contractors, moving companies, etc.) can advertise through the company.

Need help using HomeLight? The company claims to have a “team of dedicated real estate concierges with 50+ years of experience” standing by at (888) 998-1909.

Given its apparent usefulness and the fact that it’s completely free, are clients over the moon about HomeLight?

What Are HomeLight’s Clients Saying?

Although HomeLight was founded by Drew Uher in 2012 and is backed by huge investors like Google’s venture capital arm, there wasn’t a whole lot of online feedback about the company at the time of our research.

RealtyBizNews.com wrote a fairly in-depth review about their experience using the HomeLight website (they didn’t reach out to an agent). Overall, they liked the interface but were a bit on the fence about the number of questions they were asked. They also found that they received the same recommendations even after changing some of their criteria, although they concluded that HomeLight is the best “buyer-seller-agent conduit” they’ve ever seen.

Outside of this, there were 3 closed HomeLight complaints over at the Better Business Bureau, where the company had an A+ rating (as of 3/18/16). Of these, only two provided details, both of which referenced removing an agent’s information from the company’s database.

Is HomeLight a Shot in the Dark?

Like we mention above, it’s difficult to beat free. In other words, by giving HomeLight a try, your bank account won’t be any lighter, but you also won’t be able get back the time you spent.

Is HomeLight worth trying? Ultimately, that’s something only you can decide. But given the fact that they’ve been in business for more than three years and are backed by several industry giants, they might offer an easier, faster, and more accurate way of connecting you with an agent. Just remember that HomeLight currently only serves 38 U.S. markets, so you might have some difficulty locating agents in smaller markets.

Did you use HomeLight to locate an agent? If so, let’s do something about the lack of online feedback for the company. How? By writing your very own review below and adding to the conversation!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

351 Consumer Reviews for HomeLight

Average Consumer Rating: 4.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 318 4 star: 10 3 star: 0 2 star: 3 1 star:  20
Bottom Line: 93% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 351
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • Love HomeLight. Sell it fast.

    • Michigan,
    • Dec 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love HomeLight. They put me in contact with the best realtor in my area who called me and lived nearby. She knew my neighborhood and the price point to get my house sold in three weeks at asking price. It was an extremely easy process, and I have been recommending it to friends.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great experience, highly recommend HomeLight

    • Arizona,
    • Dec 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    HomeLight was great in connecting us with the top realtors in our area. They were very professional and personable on the phone and in person. Within five minutes we had been contacted by three realtors. Our realtor, Alicia Girard, was on the ball for the entire process, start to finish and was very knowledgeable about our area. When things went sideways on the sale, twice, she was there for us and clearly explained all of our options.

    Everyone in the process always did what they said they were going to do. The follow through was great.

    I would highly recommend HomeLight and Lisa Alicia Girard to anyone looking to buy or sell a home.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great service

    • Carlisle, PA,
    • Dec 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Testimonial for purchasing of home:

    The realtor that we were put in touch with through the HomeLight services was incredible! The realty team we were matched with was very familiar to the area we were moving to, and since we were not this was great. We got in touch with the realty team and met with them within days to determine our needs and wants in purchasing a home. This HomeLight service was very quick and definitely matched us with the best realty team that we could have imagined.

    Thanks, HomeLight.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • HomeLight service

    • Boynton Beach, FL,
    • Dec 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    HomeLight was a very simple, and effective service. We were able to quickly be matched with several local agents that meet our needs, and we're thrilled to find an agent that would have been difficult to find on our own. I will definitely use HomeLight in the future and recommend the service to others.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Thanks to HomeLight, I got the best realtor ever

    • Pittsburg, CA,
    • Dec 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    HomeLight was KEY in setting into motion the sale of my house. When I visited their site to look for a realtor, a good number of agents appeared. To my delight, HomeLight provided data on things like how many houses a realtor had sold, or what the time-to-sell was for an agent. It was fantastic because I got to narrow down the number of potential agents based on what I was more interested in. That was very helpful. In addition, a HomeLight representative followed up on my search and helped me get in touch with people. The total gift was that, because of HomeLight, I found the perfect agent (Laura Nelson). Wow. Thanks, HomeLight!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Finding the perfect realtor

    • Gonzales, LA,
    • Dec 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    As I took the initial steps to sell my home, I turned to HomeLight to identify the right realtor. In so much as I had never sold a home before I truly needed assistance in getting just the right realtor. HomeLight quickly identified three quality realtors. Each one made a personal visit and each one would have been a great choice. They were all well prepared and professional. Ultimately I selected one and achieved a quick sale of my home with all the support I could ask for through the entire process.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • HomeLight experience

    • Stockton, CA,
    • Dec 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I first contacted HomeLight in the middle of October 2018. I had just seen their TV commercial, and I was planning to sell my house. I didn't have all the details of the sale worked out, and I needed the help of a realtor to understand my options.

    I had less than successful experiences with realtors in the past, and I wanted to make sure that this time would be different.

    The initial sign-up process with HomeLight was simple and quick. They didn't ask for too much information, and I got a response right away.

    The next day I was contacted by a number of realtors and the hardest part of my effort was to choose one from at least 3 highly qualified and enthusiastic prospects. I also got a follow-up from HomeLight asking me if I wanted additional assistance.

    I'm happy to say that the realtor I chose (from the list sent by HomeLight) was the right choice. With his help, we were able to sell out home quickly and for a fair price.

    I will be using HomeLight again in the future.

    Based on my experience, I fully recommend HomeLight.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Would recommend

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Dec 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    As first time home buyers, my wife and I weren't really sure where to start in finding an agent to help us through the process. We decided to give HomeLight a try in hopes of making the process a little easier on ourselves. We couldn't be happier with the outcome. It was fast and easy. Within days we had talked to multiple agents and decided who we were going to be going with. I'd recommend HomeLight to anyone in need of suggestions for a real estate agent.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Real estate broker referral

    • Garden City, MI,
    • Dec 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This service is a waste of time; once you sign up and they send you a list of agents, they will bug you with calls, texts to NO END! When I did decide to start interviewing agents for the sale of my house and contacted HomeLight agent Christoper Patterson with questions ( both email and voicemail), he did not even have the courtesy to respond! Do not waste your time with these people. I selected an agent and did not need their assistance. I would give negative stars if possible.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 10, 2018

      HomeLight Admin, Customer Support

      Hey Al,

      Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am so sorry of the experience that you have had. This is not what HomeLight is about. We have passed this feedback to the appropriate managers. We would love to have you give us another try and pair you up with new matches. Please reach out to support@homelight.com and reach out to Ashlee. She is more than happy to get things corrected.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Satisfaction not guaranteed

    • Barre, VT,
    • Dec 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    On the 10th of November 2018, I filled out the contact form on HomeLight.com. I received a "Congrats! You qualify for our Concierge Service" reply stating I would be contacted shortly. I received an email at 8:07 PM and was told I would get "a quick call to see if there's any other relevant information." The email also stated "Note that these calls with agents may be recorded for quality assurance."

    I replied to the email with full details and the following: "I do not answer phone calls for numbers I do not recognize. I would prefer contact via this email address. Information passed and the exchanges will then be "documented" for my records."

    I received a reply to that exchange: "Thank you for reaching out to HomeLight's support team. We have received your e-mail and our team will be in touch with you shortly."

    As I type this it is 3:57 PM on the 29th of November 2018, I have received no call or email.

    Within 24 hours of first filling out the HomeLight.com contact form (which included my email address), my spam folder exploded with junk email averaging 10-15 a day now where I was getting 10-15 a week. Your call.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 4, 2018

      HomeLight Admin, Customer Support

      Hey Mary,

      Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am so sorry of the experience that you have had. We will go ahead and remove you from any further correspondences. Hope you have a great day!

    • Dec 6, 2018

      Alfred B.

      Mary, "...sorry of the..."? "...further correspondences"?

      My name is not Mary.

      "...sorry for the..." would at least make sense.

      There hasn't been any "further correspondence." That was the whole point.

      Further examples of the incompetence I ran into.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Waste of time

    • Arizona,
    • Dec 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm considering selling my place, and so I thought let's see what they have to offer and who. Well, first, only one of the agents sold properties primarily in my area. They included sales from Phoenix, Scottsdale, Chandler, and other areas of the valley. This is not helpful as my place is in the far north valley, and a different from the other areas listed. However, I figured I'd at least do a little more research on the people listed via their professional websites, as the snippets were vague and essentially sales spam, but OK, I figure no problem. What really got me, was the fact I shared I wasn't thinking about listing it for 3-6 months, which was on their form, and within 2 hours I received a sales call, asking for more details on my property! Are you kidding me? So, this could be good but for me, not so much, especially when the agents listed I didn't think fit the profile of what I wanted. This is certainly not a service I will use.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 4, 2018

      HomeLight Admin, Customer Support

      Hey Mary,

      Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am so sorry of the experience that you have had. We call to better give the agents a heads up on what you are looking for and expecting once you start the process three to six months from now. We wish you the best of luck in selling your home.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 351

Write a Review for HomeLight!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review