About HomeLight

By HighYa Staff

Locating a real estate agent is a funny process. On one hand, you need a professional with a proven track record, great negotiating skills, an innate knowledge of the local market, and more. After all, buying or selling a home is a big deal, and there’s a whole lot of money on the line. On the other hand, most of us found our last agent browsing online (or even swiped their number from the back of a park bench). Can you think of any other large, personal transaction in your life where you leave your fate up to a (almost) complete stranger?

Enter HomeLight. Instead of spending hours combing through agent bios, researching their sales history, and learning about their online client reviews on multiple websites, HomeLight’s Matching Engine automatically analyzes 18 million+ home sales and client reviews to bring your only the highest performing (top 5%) agents. In just two minutes, agents are screened based your specific criteria, including whether you’re buying or selling, whether or not they specialize in your target area, their skills and experience, and more.

All together, HomeLight claims their service can help you “find the perfect real estate agent” and save you time and hassle, while remaining 100% free—no catches.

Granted, it’s difficult to beat free. But even though HomeLight won’t cost you more than a few minutes of your time, does this still make them a good option for locating your next agent? Are there other similar services? You’ve got questions and in this review, we’ll uncover some answers.

Let’s start by looking at how the HomeLight process works.

How Does the HomeLight Matching Engine Work?

Here’s how the company describes it:

“HomeLight is the leading resource for finding objective agent performance data online. We've spent years collecting, normalizing and summarizing historical data across millions of transactions. With this unique data set, we apply statistical data analysis and machine learning methods to predict who will bring the most experience, expertise and negotiating power to your home transaction.”

Specifically, after answering a few simple questions, HomeLight’s Matching Engine searches and analyzes over 18 million transactions since 2009, along with 2 million agents and 200,000 brokerages, all aimed at matching you with an agent. It will look at things like recent listings an agent has completed, educational background and bios, customer reviews from individuals who have interacted with the agent, the agent’s transaction volume by year, and more.

Then, the Matching Engine filters the information into five different categories:

  • Location: In other words, someone who specializes in your current area, or the are where you’re looking to buy. Here’s how the company puts it: “Using spatial IP and geo-distance analysis, we can target real estate agents that have hyperlocal expertise within your city, neighborhood, and even those that know your street.”
  • Buy or sell: Here, HomeLight’s Matching Engine will filter results by the agent’s historical expertise, whether buying or selling.
  • Property Type: HomeLight will analyze transaction data “to identify agents’ expertise in your exact type of property,” whether single family, condominium, multi-family, and more.
  • Price: Any agent you choose must be familiar with your price range. After all, there can be huge differences in the needs of a luxury buyer versus a first-time homeowner.
  • Agent type: Finally, HomeLight wants to make sure that an agent’s personality matches your needs. For example, some clients might require an agent who can spend lots of time with them, while other might need a tough negotiator.

Finally, HomeLight’s machine learning algorithm will use “Bayesian statistical models to predict which agent will get the best results for you.” Then, you’ll be provided a personalized list of the best agents across all major brokerages in your area, who you can reach out to at your leisure.

Pro tip: HomeLight only returns results for agents employed by Coldwell Banker, Century 21, Sotheby’s, Keller Williams, Berkshire Hathaway Home Services, and Re/Max. While these are certainly many of the largest firms in the industry, it’s certainly worth keeping in mind.

Sounds like a lot of technology, right? How much will it cost you to use HomeLight?

Is HomeLight Really Free?

If you’re a homebuyer or seller, then by all appearances, HomeLight is completely free to use in order to connect with local agents.

If you’re an agent, you can obtain leads from HomeLight with a 25% referral fee, while other real estate professionals (lenders, title companies, general contractors, moving companies, etc.) can advertise through the company.

Need help using HomeLight? The company claims to have a “team of dedicated real estate concierges with 50+ years of experience” standing by at (888) 998-1909.

Given its apparent usefulness and the fact that it’s completely free, are clients over the moon about HomeLight?

What Are HomeLight’s Clients Saying?

Although HomeLight was founded by Drew Uher in 2012 and is backed by huge investors like Google’s venture capital arm, there wasn’t a whole lot of online feedback about the company at the time of our research.

RealtyBizNews.com wrote a fairly in-depth review about their experience using the HomeLight website (they didn’t reach out to an agent). Overall, they liked the interface but were a bit on the fence about the number of questions they were asked. They also found that they received the same recommendations even after changing some of their criteria, although they concluded that HomeLight is the best “buyer-seller-agent conduit” they’ve ever seen.

Outside of this, there were 3 closed HomeLight complaints over at the Better Business Bureau, where the company had an A+ rating (as of 3/18/16). Of these, only two provided details, both of which referenced removing an agent’s information from the company’s database.

Is HomeLight a Shot in the Dark?

Like we mention above, it’s difficult to beat free. In other words, by giving HomeLight a try, your bank account won’t be any lighter, but you also won’t be able get back the time you spent.

Is HomeLight worth trying? Ultimately, that’s something only you can decide. But given the fact that they’ve been in business for more than three years and are backed by several industry giants, they might offer an easier, faster, and more accurate way of connecting you with an agent. Just remember that HomeLight currently only serves 38 U.S. markets, so you might have some difficulty locating agents in smaller markets.

Did you use HomeLight to locate an agent? If so, let’s do something about the lack of online feedback for the company. How? By writing your very own review below and adding to the conversation!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 438 HomeLight Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 390 4 star: 14 3 star: 0 2 star: 3 1 star:  31
Bottom Line: 92% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 438
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 0 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Excellent service

    • California,
    • Apr 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Thanks to HomeLight services we were provided with several agents that we interviewed to see which one best suited our needs. It was easy to get a list of perspective agents from HomeLight. We chose Neil Weichel, but all of the agents we spoke with were professional and worth our time to get their perspective.

    Neil and his team worked very hard to complete the sale. The market had shifted considerably from one in which there were more houses on the market than interested buyers. We had confidence that Neil would make recommendations to sell the property in a timely manner given the market constraints for a price that would meet our expectations.

    We would not hesitate to recommend HomeLight’s services to family and friends.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 2 people found this review helpful

    HomeLight was easy to use and found the right real estate agent for me. House sold quickly and for a better than expected price.

    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Apr 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    HomeLight was an important part of our success in selling the Algon Avenue property. I found HomeLight by searching the internet after I was unsuccessful in navigating through the websites of several nationally known realty companies.

    After I gave some basic information to HomeLight, I received a reply email within an hour (and possibly a telephone call, I just don’t remember), and then, to my pleasant surprise, telephone calls from three experienced, local real estate agents.

    We interviewed, in person, two of the agents and subsequently hired Nancy Aulett, who turned out to be a great agent. We got an offer at an open house she organized the following Sunday.

    I mentioned to several of my friends at lunch that I used HomeLight and how easy it was, and how easily the house was sold. I will be selling a vacation rental property later this year and will again use HomeLight.

    Thank you for providing an easy to use and very effective service.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Strongly recommend HomeLight!

    • California,
    • Apr 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I could not recommend HomeLight more to anyone that is looking for a realtor to either sell or purchase a home. HomeLight helped me eliminate all of the leg work in finding realtors in my area and gave me very reliable information and feedback on the realtors I interviewed. I would definitely recommend HomeLight to family and friends and will use them again anytime I need any real estate assistance.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Marni found me THE buyer in 10 days for a vacant lot

    • Riverside, CA,
    • Apr 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I first spoke to Marni she was very honest and upfront with me. I had land to sell that had been on the market for 4 years with other agents. I asked for her professional opinion on what it would take to sell. I knew that there is a price that a seller wants and a price that the buyer is willing to pay. She did her homework and suggested a price to me to get it sold. It made sense to me and within 10 days we had 2 offers! I am very pleased with the job that Marni and her team did!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Condo sale

    • Columbia, MO,
    • Apr 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After my condo was on the market for eight months with no success, I decided to reach out to HomeLight. HomeLight referred three very competent agents which I interviewed over the phone. I selected Bev Curtis who had my condo under contract within a month of listing. I highly recommend HomeLight and Bev Curtis.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Amazing home buying experience!

    • Washington,
    • Apr 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We had an absolutely amazing experience through this company and we were able to understand every step and they help connect us with all the right people! We will defiantly recommend to any friends and family looking to start this new chapter in life! We could not have asked for an easier transition!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 2 people found this review helpful

    If you are looking for a realtor and don't have anyone to ask, then I'd recommend HomeLight.

    • Florida,
    • Apr 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a great experience with HomeLight. We were moving to a new state and had no references for realtors when I found HomeLight while searching online. At first, I was nervous to give my contact information fearing I would get a ton of solicitations, but after reading details on how HomeLight worked, I decided to just go for it. I am so glad I did!

    I was matched with three realtors (all of whom contacted us a few times), and we chose one and she was amazing. She was professional, helpful, and listened to our needs and wants. She worked efficiently and really knows all of the details of the real estate market, helping us as first-time homeowners to understand things we didn't think to ask about. I would highly recommend the real estate agent we were matched with and would use her again should we ever want to move.

    HomeLight was especially helpful to our family, because we did not have any personal recommendations for realtors in our new state. So if you are looking for a realtor and don't have anyone to ask, then I'd recommend HomeLight.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great home selling experience

    • Virginia,
    • Apr 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    HomeLight's service is great. I am honored to recommend Maria to any of my co-workers, friends, and family. The first day of her interview she won me over. Her presentation, I think everyone should include her business practice. Her presentation kept me interested and engaged. Maria is a hands-on real estate agent, in which she includes her clients every step of the way - from start to finish. Maria didn't come into my home talking about herself and what home she sold and awards she will receive or received. She got down to business and told me what she can do for me.

    When there is a question, she's always there and returns your call or text within minutes. A strong professional that know the area where she works, buys, or sell homes. This agent is a keeper. I wish her more success in the near and far future. My house wouldn't have received an offer, or within the time frame it did (3-4 day received an offer). Meeting Maria was the highlight of this business transaction. Great person to work with.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Excellent service lead to an excellent agent

    • Tennessee,
    • Apr 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I came to town for a job interview and literally the day before I reached out to HomeLight explaining that I wanted a realtor to help me look at houses for a day JUST IN CASE I got a job offer. HomeLight put me in touch with the Ashton real rstate group and not only did my agent Joel Lasko drive me all over in his personal car, he did it not even knowing if I was a real buyer. HomeLight did a perfect job of finding me someone willing to help, and they even checked back to make sure I got the help I needed. I am so grateful for the support they provided and ended up with a beautiful house because of them. If I had tried calling agents myself I probably would never have recovered the great service I did and definitely would not have found such a wonderful agent.

    I would recommend HomeLight to anyone need a realtor.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great experience

    • Maryland,
    • Apr 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    When we decided to sell our home, we had no idea where to start finding an agent. After seeing the HomeLight ads, I went to the website to check it out. The website was very easy to use and we were matched with several agents within minutes. We chose the one we connected with and our home sold very quickly. Thank you HomeLight for a great experience.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 2 people found this review helpful

    The Ruckle Team are the best realtors

    • Elkton, MD,
    • Apr 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The Ruckle Team was fantastic to work with. My wife and I both had anxieties going into the process of selling our house; Would our realtor be knowledgeable? Give us accurate advice? Would they help us reach the right potential buyers? Our fears were quickly put to rest after meeting with Todd. He showed his experience and ability right away and gave us helpful insights before we had even committed to them to be our realtors. After that, we had nothing but great experiences. Sherri was a great contact person to have for all the little things that came up as well as questions we had, and Todd’s experience, knowledge, and ability was ESSENTIAL when it came to preparing for home inspections as well as getting the appraisal amount we felt the house deserved. I can’t speak highly enough of this team and their commitment to us except to say that we will definitely be teaming up with them again in the future when we are ready to buy (or sell) another house.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 438

Write a Review for HomeLight!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review