About HomeLight

Locating a real estate agent is a funny process. On one hand, you need a professional with a proven track record, great negotiating skills, an innate knowledge of the local market, and more. After all, buying or selling a home is a big deal, and there’s a whole lot of money on the line. On the other hand, most of us found our last agent browsing online (or even swiped their number from the back of a park bench). Can you think of any other large, personal transaction in your life where you leave your fate up to a (almost) complete stranger?

Enter HomeLight. Instead of spending hours combing through agent bios, researching their sales history, and learning about their online client reviews on multiple websites, HomeLight’s Matching Engine automatically analyzes 18 million+ home sales and client reviews to bring your only the highest performing (top 5%) agents. In just two minutes, agents are screened based your specific criteria, including whether you’re buying or selling, whether or not they specialize in your target area, their skills and experience, and more.

All together, HomeLight claims their service can help you “find the perfect real estate agent” and save you time and hassle, while remaining 100% free—no catches.

Granted, it’s difficult to beat free. But even though HomeLight won’t cost you more than a few minutes of your time, does this still make them a good option for locating your next agent? Are there other similar services? You’ve got questions and in this review, we’ll uncover some answers.

Let’s start by looking at how the HomeLight process works.

How Does the HomeLight Matching Engine Work?

Here’s how the company describes it:

“HomeLight is the leading resource for finding objective agent performance data online. We've spent years collecting, normalizing and summarizing historical data across millions of transactions. With this unique data set, we apply statistical data analysis and machine learning methods to predict who will bring the most experience, expertise and negotiating power to your home transaction.”

Specifically, after answering a few simple questions, HomeLight’s Matching Engine searches and analyzes over 18 million transactions since 2009, along with 2 million agents and 200,000 brokerages, all aimed at matching you with an agent. It will look at things like recent listings an agent has completed, educational background and bios, customer reviews from individuals who have interacted with the agent, the agent’s transaction volume by year, and more.

Then, the Matching Engine filters the information into five different categories:

  • Location: In other words, someone who specializes in your current area, or the are where you’re looking to buy. Here’s how the company puts it: “Using spatial IP and geo-distance analysis, we can target real estate agents that have hyperlocal expertise within your city, neighborhood, and even those that know your street.”
  • Buy or sell: Here, HomeLight’s Matching Engine will filter results by the agent’s historical expertise, whether buying or selling.
  • Property Type: HomeLight will analyze transaction data “to identify agents’ expertise in your exact type of property,” whether single family, condominium, multi-family, and more.
  • Price: Any agent you choose must be familiar with your price range. After all, there can be huge differences in the needs of a luxury buyer versus a first-time homeowner.
  • Agent type: Finally, HomeLight wants to make sure that an agent’s personality matches your needs. For example, some clients might require an agent who can spend lots of time with them, while other might need a tough negotiator.

Finally, HomeLight’s machine learning algorithm will use “Bayesian statistical models to predict which agent will get the best results for you.” Then, you’ll be provided a personalized list of the best agents across all major brokerages in your area, who you can reach out to at your leisure.

Pro tip: HomeLight only returns results for agents employed by Coldwell Banker, Century 21, Sotheby’s, Keller Williams, Berkshire Hathaway Home Services, and Re/Max. While these are certainly many of the largest firms in the industry, it’s certainly worth keeping in mind.

Sounds like a lot of technology, right? How much will it cost you to use HomeLight?

Is HomeLight Really Free?

If you’re a homebuyer or seller, then by all appearances, HomeLight is completely free to use in order to connect with local agents.

If you’re an agent, you can obtain leads from HomeLight with a 25% referral fee, while other real estate professionals (lenders, title companies, general contractors, moving companies, etc.) can advertise through the company.

Need help using HomeLight? The company claims to have a “team of dedicated real estate concierges with 50+ years of experience” standing by at (888) 998-1909.

Given its apparent usefulness and the fact that it’s completely free, are clients over the moon about HomeLight?

What Are HomeLight’s Clients Saying?

Although HomeLight was founded by Drew Uher in 2012 and is backed by huge investors like Google’s venture capital arm, there wasn’t a whole lot of online feedback about the company at the time of our research.

RealtyBizNews.com wrote a fairly in-depth review about their experience using the HomeLight website (they didn’t reach out to an agent). Overall, they liked the interface but were a bit on the fence about the number of questions they were asked. They also found that they received the same recommendations even after changing some of their criteria, although they concluded that HomeLight is the best “buyer-seller-agent conduit” they’ve ever seen.

Outside of this, there were 3 closed HomeLight complaints over at the Better Business Bureau, where the company had an A+ rating (as of 3/18/16). Of these, only two provided details, both of which referenced removing an agent’s information from the company’s database.

Is HomeLight a Shot in the Dark?

Like we mention above, it’s difficult to beat free. In other words, by giving HomeLight a try, your bank account won’t be any lighter, but you also won’t be able get back the time you spent.

Is HomeLight worth trying? Ultimately, that’s something only you can decide. But given the fact that they’ve been in business for more than three years and are backed by several industry giants, they might offer an easier, faster, and more accurate way of connecting you with an agent. Just remember that HomeLight currently only serves 38 U.S. markets, so you might have some difficulty locating agents in smaller markets.

Did you use HomeLight to locate an agent? If so, let’s do something about the lack of online feedback for the company. How? By writing your very own review below and adding to the conversation!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 586 HomeLight Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 531 4 star: 19 3 star: 0 2 star: 3 1 star:  33
Bottom Line: 94% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 586
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • Best realtor selection

    • Dillsburg, PA,
    • Jul 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    HomeLight was very responsive to my request. My husband heard an ad on the radio for their services and they sent us some highly qualified names to choose from for our realtor. The realtors were all familiar with the HomeLight name and prompt in scheduling an appointment. Very satisfied.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Review of HomeLight/Keri Shull Team

    • Oakton, VA,
    • Jul 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Our home had been on the market for over two years, with very little activity. We used HomeLight, as well as our own efforts, to find a new agent. There was some overlap in the results, but HomeLight’s recommendations included a referral to The Keri Shull Team, a firm we had never heard of because they weren’t located in our immediate community.

    We interviewed three realtors, and ultimately chose Elizabeth Rea Landeros and Brianna Byrd of The Keri Shull Team. We were impressed with the intelligence, energy, and competence they promised to bring to selling our home. Obviously, this played out as we had hoped, including facilitating complications related to the fact that we aren’t living in the immediate area, and excellent advise through a stressful negotiation.

    We appreciate their hard work, and the referral from HomeLight, very much.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Greeley home purchase

    • Greeley, CO,
    • Jul 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    HomeLight put me on to the real estate agency we used to sell our home in Oklahoma prior to relocating to Colorado. We couldn't be more pleased with the choice we made based upon the HomeLight recommendation. I would highly recommend HomeLight to anyone needing to find the BEST agency for their specific needs.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Realtor search made easy!

    • Florida,
    • Jul 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Upon considering selling my property, I googled "best realtor in my area". HomeLight's site bubbled to the top. It offered multiple realtors in my area, and I could narrow them according to who sold most within a narrow radius. I questioned two, but one was more accountable and responsive while dealing with renters. So I picked her, and HomeLight followed up to make sure I was happy with the choices provided. From start to finish, very easy to use the site and trust their choices.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Excellent way to find the right broker based on facts and data

    • Memphis, TN,
    • Jul 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Being a first time home buyer is a daunting experience and having an experienced broker on your side is absolutely critical throughout the process. When my family was looking for a house I knew I couldn’t just rely on subjective ratings to select one of the many brokers competing for our business. I am very glad I found HomeLight who take a data-driven approach to match with the real estate agents that have demonstrated that they can achieve the best outcome for their customer. The selection process was straightforward, we went with our second matched agent and couldn’t be happier with the closing of our new home!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Thrilled with HomeLight

    • Michigan,
    • Jul 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I had been toying with the idea of selling our home but did not enjoy the prospect of trying to find a good agent. I had received an email from HomeLight and decided it was some kind of "sign" and that it certainly could not hurt to answer a few quick questions. Almost immediately after submitting my answers, HomeLight sent a list of respected agents in my area. The information HomeLight provided about each agent was invaluable to my husband and me. HomeLight not only showed how many houses each agent sold successfully, but also how many of the sales went over the original asking price! Extremely valuable information to have when considering prospective agents - and all provided quickly and painlessly by HomeLight!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    The sale of my FL home

    • Homestead, FL,
    • Jun 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My experience working with HomeLight and Mahoo Realty was very positive. I really enjoyed the experience.

    I had a piece of mind knowing that my home would be sold. Everything went through smoothly on their end. They were there every step of the way through the whole process to make sure we accomplished what the task was - selling the home, and we did just that.

    Thank you guys. I couldn't have done it without you. I am greatly appreciative of your help and services.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    HomeLight

    • Arkansas,
    • Jun 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    HomeLight set us up with a wonderful realtor that went above and beyond our expectations. HomeLight made contact with us initially to make sure we were connected with a realtor that fit our specific needs. They then were in contact with us at various times throughout our search to see if we needed anything and make sure our agent was still a good match for us. We are very grateful for HomeLight setting us up with the perfect realtor to help us get our perfect house!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • A quick google search...

    • Chanhassen, MN,
    • Jun 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I started thinking of purchasing a home, I had so many questions. I was clueless on how to even reach out to find a realtor. A quick google search led me to HomeLight. HomeLight helped me find a realtor that fit what I was looking for. I filled out a quick profile and within 30 minutes, I received a phone call from them. They put me in touch with a real estate agent who was honest, open, and willing to help me find a perfect home for me. This was my first experience buying a home and I have to thank HomeLight for getting the ball rolling for me. Four months later I was closing on my house. I would recommend them without hesitation.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    HomeLight services

    • Milton, NY,
    • Jun 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was searching for a realtor that would be able to showcase my townhouse/condo for sale. I reached out to HomeLight to see if they could recommend a realtor to meet my needs. They referred to a couple of real estate agents and I found Ms. Margaret Thorne. HomeLight was able to match me with the exact type of person I needed. She was professional, energetic and knew how to present the condo in the most favorable manner. The condo sold quickly and for a great price. I will recommend HomeLight to others.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Excellent help with selling my home!

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jun 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I decided to sell my property at 920 W Ainslie, I searched for help getting it listed. I needed to sell this property rather quickly and it was very important to me to find the right realtor. While on the internet, I came across HomeLight and decided to make use of their services. I’m glad I did because I found the right agent. My property was listed on March 25th and we had an all-cash offer by April 8th! HomeLight is an invaluable service that takes the guesswork out of finding a real estate agent. They provide you with several top agents that know the area where your property is located and have had a successful track record selling in that specific area. I now recommend HomeLight to friends looking to list their property or looking to buy one.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 586

Write a Review for HomeLight!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review