About HomeLight

Locating a real estate agent is a funny process. On one hand, you need a professional with a proven track record, great negotiating skills, an innate knowledge of the local market, and more. After all, buying or selling a home is a big deal, and there’s a whole lot of money on the line. On the other hand, most of us found our last agent browsing online (or even swiped their number from the back of a park bench). Can you think of any other large, personal transaction in your life where you leave your fate up to a (almost) complete stranger?

Enter HomeLight. Instead of spending hours combing through agent bios, researching their sales history, and learning about their online client reviews on multiple websites, HomeLight’s Matching Engine automatically analyzes 18 million+ home sales and client reviews to bring your only the highest performing (top 5%) agents. In just two minutes, agents are screened based your specific criteria, including whether you’re buying or selling, whether or not they specialize in your target area, their skills and experience, and more.

All together, HomeLight claims their service can help you “find the perfect real estate agent” and save you time and hassle, while remaining 100% free—no catches.

Granted, it’s difficult to beat free. But even though HomeLight won’t cost you more than a few minutes of your time, does this still make them a good option for locating your next agent? Are there other similar services? You’ve got questions and in this review, we’ll uncover some answers.

Let’s start by looking at how the HomeLight process works.

How Does the HomeLight Matching Engine Work?

Here’s how the company describes it:

“HomeLight is the leading resource for finding objective agent performance data online. We've spent years collecting, normalizing and summarizing historical data across millions of transactions. With this unique data set, we apply statistical data analysis and machine learning methods to predict who will bring the most experience, expertise and negotiating power to your home transaction.”

Specifically, after answering a few simple questions, HomeLight’s Matching Engine searches and analyzes over 18 million transactions since 2009, along with 2 million agents and 200,000 brokerages, all aimed at matching you with an agent. It will look at things like recent listings an agent has completed, educational background and bios, customer reviews from individuals who have interacted with the agent, the agent’s transaction volume by year, and more.

Then, the Matching Engine filters the information into five different categories:

  • Location: In other words, someone who specializes in your current area, or the are where you’re looking to buy. Here’s how the company puts it: “Using spatial IP and geo-distance analysis, we can target real estate agents that have hyperlocal expertise within your city, neighborhood, and even those that know your street.”
  • Buy or sell: Here, HomeLight’s Matching Engine will filter results by the agent’s historical expertise, whether buying or selling.
  • Property Type: HomeLight will analyze transaction data “to identify agents’ expertise in your exact type of property,” whether single family, condominium, multi-family, and more.
  • Price: Any agent you choose must be familiar with your price range. After all, there can be huge differences in the needs of a luxury buyer versus a first-time homeowner.
  • Agent type: Finally, HomeLight wants to make sure that an agent’s personality matches your needs. For example, some clients might require an agent who can spend lots of time with them, while other might need a tough negotiator.

Finally, HomeLight’s machine learning algorithm will use “Bayesian statistical models to predict which agent will get the best results for you.” Then, you’ll be provided a personalized list of the best agents across all major brokerages in your area, who you can reach out to at your leisure.

Pro tip: HomeLight only returns results for agents employed by Coldwell Banker, Century 21, Sotheby’s, Keller Williams, Berkshire Hathaway Home Services, and Re/Max. While these are certainly many of the largest firms in the industry, it’s certainly worth keeping in mind.

Sounds like a lot of technology, right? How much will it cost you to use HomeLight?

Is HomeLight Really Free?

If you’re a homebuyer or seller, then by all appearances, HomeLight is completely free to use in order to connect with local agents.

If you’re an agent, you can obtain leads from HomeLight with a 25% referral fee, while other real estate professionals (lenders, title companies, general contractors, moving companies, etc.) can advertise through the company.

Need help using HomeLight? The company claims to have a “team of dedicated real estate concierges with 50+ years of experience” standing by at (888) 998-1909.

Given its apparent usefulness and the fact that it’s completely free, are clients over the moon about HomeLight?

What Are HomeLight’s Clients Saying?

Although HomeLight was founded by Drew Uher in 2012 and is backed by huge investors like Google’s venture capital arm, there wasn’t a whole lot of online feedback about the company at the time of our research.

RealtyBizNews.com wrote a fairly in-depth review about their experience using the HomeLight website (they didn’t reach out to an agent). Overall, they liked the interface but were a bit on the fence about the number of questions they were asked. They also found that they received the same recommendations even after changing some of their criteria, although they concluded that HomeLight is the best “buyer-seller-agent conduit” they’ve ever seen.

Outside of this, there were 3 closed HomeLight complaints over at the Better Business Bureau, where the company had an A+ rating (as of 3/18/16). Of these, only two provided details, both of which referenced removing an agent’s information from the company’s database.

Is HomeLight a Shot in the Dark?

Like we mention above, it’s difficult to beat free. In other words, by giving HomeLight a try, your bank account won’t be any lighter, but you also won’t be able get back the time you spent.

Is HomeLight worth trying? Ultimately, that’s something only you can decide. But given the fact that they’ve been in business for more than three years and are backed by several industry giants, they might offer an easier, faster, and more accurate way of connecting you with an agent. Just remember that HomeLight currently only serves 38 U.S. markets, so you might have some difficulty locating agents in smaller markets.

Did you use HomeLight to locate an agent? If so, let’s do something about the lack of online feedback for the company. How? By writing your very own review below and adding to the conversation!


Read 613 HomeLight Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 551 4 star: 23 3 star: 0 2 star: 3 1 star:  36
Bottom Line: 94% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 613
Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • Excellent reference from HomeLight

    • Massachusetts,
    • Oct 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I accidentally clicked on HomeLight as I was searching for a good realtor to help us with our home search in MA and the next thing I know, I was talking to a live person who was very well versed with the Greater Boston area. They put me in touch with the top realtor, Mark Lesses, who is based in the area we were interested in. An agent from Mark's office reached out to us and we could not have chosen a better agent. Sandra took the time to really get to know us and what we wanted and was on top of things. She was a fantastic agent and we are very happy with Sandra and her work and with HomeLight for getting us this fantastic agent.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • HomeLight shines!

    • Kansas,
    • Sep 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We were very pleased with HomeLight's service in providing us three real estate professionals quickly, and offering additional names, if we were to request more.

    Two of the three responded very quickly, and we selected the best of the two referred by HomeLight, Gina Walton.

    It's easy to see why Gina was so highly recommended by HomeLight, and we're so happy you brought her to our attention, as she and her staff members were professional, courteous, thorough, knowledgeable, hard-working, and always available for our every need. We especially appreciated Gina's expertise, because we had never sold a home before, and had only purchased one, some 30 years ago. Not only were Gina and her team excellent choices for us, but she referred us to others to help us with home improvement, moving companies, and a very impressive mortgage lender.

    We would definitely recommend Gina and have already recommended HomeLight to others.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Great service!

    • New Jersey,
    • Sep 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I were first time home buyers and looking in an area we were unfamiliar with and didn’t know which realtor to choose. After going to HomeLight’s website, I answered a few questions and the next day got matched up with our realtor. He was the absolute best, and we were able to find our starter home soon after. HomeLight’s service was so easy, and I have them to thank for setting us up with our amazing realtor.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Great service

    • Texas,
    • Sep 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After deciding to list my home with a Real Estate Agent, I had no clue how to choose one. Finding agents is easy. Finding a good agent is not. Signing up on HomeLight was a very easy process. I had a call from an agent, Tonya Haugen Kiliddjian almost immediately, and, it was after normal business hours. She was very talented and knowledgeable. I can confirm that HomeLight does their "homework" on the realtors they refer to you. If you are in the market, I strongly recommend HomeLight services.

    Extremely happy I used them!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Overall good experience

    • Tullahoma, TN,
    • Sep 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was very pleased with the HomeLight referrals. Two agents contacted me immediately and I set up times for interviews, I was able to go online and look at both their profiles before we met. A 3rd agent called but I was so impressed with the first 2 I didn't interview a 3rd. After I made my choice things went quickly. I had a showing every day from day one and an offer in 6 days. Kay Swafford was my realtor and she was great in guiding me through negotiations right up to the closing. I would highly recommend HomeLight as a source for anyone who wants a top professional and doesn't know where to start! It was a great experience for such a stressful time.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • HomeLight help to sell our estate home

    • Easton, PA,
    • Sep 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    HomeLight was very easy to use. I received calls and emails from local realtors right after filling out the form. They were all so helpful at such a difficult time. I was not local as we were selling my parents house after my Dad’s passing.

    I would recommend HomeLight, especially if you are trying to sell a property out of state as it was helpful in locating a good local realtor.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Wonderful experience

    • Shawnee, KS,
    • Sep 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We had a wonderful experience with HomeLight. We were sent several agents and interviewed 3 of them. All 3 were very qualified. I say this because I was in the real estate business for 38 years and a real estate trainer for the last 20. We were handled professionally and courteously. With the outstanding marketing, our house sold within a week and our agent had expert negotiating and closing skills.

    I would highly recommend HomeLight!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • My positive experience with HomeLight

    • Oklahoma City, OK,
    • Sep 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I originally got on HomeLight because I thought it was a site for me to look up and read about realtors with their reviews and performance. However, I found out HomeLight had already done my homework on local realtors. Within 5 minutes after contacting HomeLight, 5 top-rated realtors called me that have great reviews and were top performers and all had solid experience selling homes in my neighborhood. One realtor was number two in sales for the entire state. He sells hundreds of homes a year. The most difficult thing was who to select. It finally came down to chemistry and I selected one. I was very concerned about the price of my home because it was a significantly larger home than my neighbors which made the price look high. Bottom line, I got the price I wanted and the home sold in seven days. Admittedly I also made sure I had a good product to sell by remodeling home prior to selling. It’s easy to select a realtor but it’s not easy to find the top realtors that are good at their jobs. HomeLight makes it easy. HomeLight does the homework for you. You have nothing to lose, I also found out HomeLight offers many services beyond what I used. You are not under any obligation to use who they send you and it did not cost me anything to use the service I used.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Future Real Estate = results

    • New Mexico,
    • Sep 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My unit was on the market for a year with many visits and several second and third visits with another realtor. I was ok with the way they handled the process but feel they lacked the proper advertisement to show the many options the unit and area had to offer. I kept my unit off the market for several months reviewing different ways to consider an avenue to get it sold. I came across HomeLight and made the call and was contacted by a couple of realtors suggested highly by HomeLight. I was contacted by both and after several phone conversations and an in-person meeting with Jeffery West (twice), I decided to go with Future Real Estate and Jeff, because of knowing him before in a different capacity and his ability in marketing my unit, very impressed. Several months later had an offer, and after several bumps along the way (inspection repairs and hail storm damage just before closing), Jeff resolved all issues to both parties. I highly recommend Jeff and his team.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Just amazing.

    • Louisiana,
    • Sep 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    HomeLight was a perfect platform for what we needed. I wasn't sure where to start due to the home we lived in is the home we were going to buy.

    The information HomeLight gave me was everything I needed to begin our journey to homeownership. It took just a few minutes to get what was needed to start the process with the use of HomeLight. Once I put my information in and explained my situation it was just a few minutes before the phone rang with the perfect agent to help us on the journey home.

    I didn't get more then one call or emails like with most sites. No one likes to be overwhelmed with phone calls and emails because you gave a little info. I would recommend HomeLight to anyone with any kind of situation even if it's just questions about buying, selling, or even just looking.

    Thank you HomeLight!

    Happy homeowners!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Thank you HomeLight!

    • Texas,
    • Sep 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was helping my dad sell his home and as I started looking for realtors, I realized I really had no idea which realtor to choose.

    I wanted to find a realtor that had expertise in the Katy area but I didn't want to spend all day calling/interviewing realtors. As I was searching for agents, I came across the HomeLight website and entered in my information. Within 24 hours, I had 3 different agents calling and emailing me. I especially liked that HomeLight followed up with me to be sure I had been contacted and let me know what my next steps were. Of the 3 realtors that reached out, 2 met our criteria and we interviewed them both. We ended up with Kyle Jefferson of the Mark Dimas team and everything went great. Finding a realtor can be a huge and overwhelming task but HomeLight did the work for us and really helped narrow down our search.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 613

Write a Review for HomeLight!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review