About Luminess Air

By Autumn Yates
HighYa Staff

If you’ve ever dreamed of having magazine-ready, pearlescent skin at the touch of a button, Luminess Air’s at-home makeup application airbrushing kit might pique your interest. The system promises simple setup, easy maintenance and smooth, stunning results for a one-time cost that’s on par with a spa-day package, but with a better-lasting glow.

What’s Airbrushing?

The airbrushing method of applying foundation has been popular for professional artists working in film, theater, and even special events for several decades, and is most-loved for delivering superior, blendable coverage, despite using a minimal amount of product.

It works on the same principle as spray-paint (which is actually how the method was invented! You know, long ago before they cared about stuff like dying from toxins.)

If you haven’t ever seen airbrushing in action, the best way to imagine how it works is to compare painting a wall with a brush or sponge roller, which yields thick coats of paint and uneven application, to the fine mist and even coverage you get from spray-on methods.

Each airbrushing system uses a small, pen-size tool that holds foundation in a small reservoir and gently sprays it on the skin in a spray-dot pattern, which eliminates any visible brush strokes and results in a totally natural look (providing your foundation color is a good match.)

Luminess Air Everyday System – What to Expect

This is the Luminess Air “basic kit” (not their pro version). It promises a quick and simple learning curve, and to provide buyers with everything they need to get started applying airbrushed makeup, including:

  • Compressor, stylus & nozzle
  • Two .55 oz foundations
  • Blush
  • Bronzer
  • Glow
  • Primer / Moisturizer

To order a kit, you first have to select your skin shade from five groups. The kit will then come with two different foundation shades that you can mix to achieve a natural look. Luminess offers a color match service to those who have a difficult time choosing; simply upload a recent picture and submit it through their site in order to receive suggestions for your best fit.

The Luminess site also offers a bounty of “How To” videos that walk users through everything from their first time using the device, to basic application tips and advice from professionals, as well as suggestions for mature skin.

The foundation used with Luminess Air is promoted as oil-free and great for sensitive skin. Luminess claims applying makeup with their device has the following benefits as well:

  • A delicate and flawless finish that feels like you’re not wearing makeup, with minimized wrinkles and fine lines
  • Hygienic, since your hands or brushes never touch your face
  • Light to maximum coverage that delivers the appearance of younger skin, with reduced look of blemishes, age spots, redness, large pores, and acne
  • Great for use on the face and body

Setting up the device is as simple as plugging it in, depositing foundation in the stylus’s reservoir, and pulling back a lever to begin application.

Cleaning is required after every use to avoid gunking up the system, and is accomplished by placing a few drops of water into the reservoir, and then spraying the device onto a cloth until all remaining product has been pushed through the nozzle and the spray runs clear.

Caution: Luminess Air Will Cost You

The Luminess Air Everyday system costs $199, and is available in the website’s Online Shop section. Additionally, foundation refills cost between $18 and $40, depending on the line you choose.

However, Luminess Air offers multiple models and packaged kits, and many buyers report feeling tricked or confused by the pricing scheme offered on the Luminess home page.

It’s worth noting that the site appears to offer users an upgraded kit for a 30-day trial for $19.95, however in very fine print this also appears:

“Then after 30 days when you love Luminess, it’s yours for only 5 easy monthly payments of fifty-nine dollars and ninety-nine cents when you order today!”

That is a whopping $299! And it’s unclear whether or not the initial $19.95 fee to “try” their system is deducted from your total cost.

The Luminess Air return policy promises that dissatisfied buyers can return it for a full refund within 30 days of delivery, minus shipping and handling, as well as an “initial trial cost” that isn’t fully explained in their terms.

To return a Luminess Air, the device must be thoroughly cleaned and not show any wear and tear. Returns must also be authorized by customer service before they may be sent in.

A one-year manufacturer's warranty does cover buyers if their Luminess Air breaks, but is considered void if any non-Luminess brand makeup is used.

What Are Reviewers Saying about the Luminess Air?

Luminess Air has over 300 registered complaints on the site PissedConsumer.com alone, many of which reference:

  • Difficulty returning the product and being charged the full amount
  • Negative customer service experiences
  • Not allowed to return a device that had been used
  • Unclear pricing
  • Unreasonably long shipping times (up to 4 weeks)

Unhappy buyers have also turned to Yelp, giving Luminess Air an overall rating of 1.2 out of 5 stars. Complaints include more mentions of poor customer service and potentially shady pricing:

“It's been more than 4 weeks since I've placed my order with the promise of receiving it before the holidays. Now 2 days before Christmas, several hours on hold, several threatening emails, and a dispute with my bank later, my order has finally shipped. It is expected to come January 2nd. More than 6 weeks after my original order.” Source

“The advertisement makes it seem like you can get the machine and makeup kit for $20.00. That may be unrealistically cheap, but they seem to promise that. Once you are on the phone they try to tell you it's $300.00. But they just don't tell you that, they try to go through this hokey spiel about easy payments and how they can make lower payments for you.” Source

That’s Not To Say There Aren’t Positive Luminess Air Reviews

If you’re searching for folks who have nice things to say about the Luminess Air, you don’t have to look too far – YouTube is full of tutorials where bloggers and home-beauty-buffs show their prowess with the device, although some of these are paid endorsements.

Pros and Cons of the Luminess Airbrush Makeup System

The brand lives up to its promise of providing easy-to-use, professional quality makeup and tools in its airbrush makeup system. You can choose from a wide range of makeup colors available, so it’s stress-free to find the right color range for you.

Perhaps the only concern that buyers have expressed about this product is the customer support and confusing pricing plans – both of which need some improvement. But if you’re patient enough to wait for shipping and understand what the final cost is, you might be very happy with this product.

The Verdict

Overall, the Luminess Air airbrush makeup system is priced similarly to others on the market. With their complete range of makeup, you can create a natural look that appears flawless with minimal practice.

But airbrushing kits aren’t cheap! Since there are quite a few options on the market, potential buyers interested in learning more might do best comparing a few models and brands before purchasing one.

When doing this, be sure to compare all the parts included in your kit. Also, consider the products you’ll have to use, and whether or not they meet your skin’s needs.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 191 Luminess Air Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 21 4 star: 7 3 star: 1 2 star: 12 1 star:  150
Bottom Line: 16% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 191
Sort reviews by:

  • 14 out 41 people found this review helpful

    Best product ever

    • New York,
    • Nov 10, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love the Luminess makeup, it gives you such a natural look. One application is all you need. The make up is flawless. I give it 5 stars, highly recommended. I am in the entertainment business, I love it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 26, 2015

      Anonymous,

      How much did they pay you to say that?

    • Dec 20, 2015

      Fay,

      How much is the total payment? Seems like their final payment is hiding.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 25 out 49 people found this review helpful

    Great product and service

    • Hewitt, NJ,
    • Feb 21, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I went onto their website, but got interrupted, and never completed the order. About three weeks later, a salesperson called me to inquire as to why I hadn't completed the order. I said I didn't have time, and never got back to it. I asked him to explain everything, and he did. In fact, I was at work, and he called me back later at home. Everything was explained very clearly, and I ordered the product. He said it was take 2-6 weeks to arrive, and it arrived two weeks to the day. My husband is familiar with airbrushes, since he uses one for his business, and he did my makeup using it first, and it was great. The first time I tried it, I was very satisfied, and was able to use it with ease.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 33 out 60 people found this review helpful

    Great Product

    • Newton, NC,
    • Mar 12, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Somehow when I ordered this product, I understood that the full price for the airbrush kit I ordered was $199.00. It looked like it would work on my skin, because every other makeup I have used has made me itch, and I end up scratching it off, or even just sweating it off. This delivers it so lightly, that I hardly know it is there, but other people compliment me all the time on how good my makeup looks. I love my kit and makeup. And, so far, I have not run into a bad or negative customer representative. My stylus broke, and the representative gladly said that they would replace it, and they did. Most recently, I had an issue with my credit card, and I called the customer representative (and yes, I did have to stay on hold for a while), but when she can on the line, she was very kind, found my account and my problem, and we were able to fix the problem over the phone.

    The only issues I have with Luminess Air is that they do not send you a notice of receipt for your order, and I do not understand why it should take so long to receive the order.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 61 out 77 people found this review helpful

    No complaints

    • New Jersey,
    • Jan 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was lucky enough to buy a new system at an estate sale for $10. I have to say I love the Luminess system. I purchase the make-up on eBay and pay a lot less.

    I find it fast and easy, with great coverage. If my machine broke, I would definitely buy a new one on eBay. I would absolutely recommend it. I had no dealings with the company, so I have no idea about dealing with them. It's easier to buy the product on eBay.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 35 out 55 people found this review helpful

    Great cover, excellent finish

    I was cautious at best. Let me start with this: the commercials are misleading.

    That being said, anyone who is accustomed to using makeup and is skilled with it can learn to use Luminess like a pro. I've had mine for over a year, and I love it. It gives good (medium), not full coverage, and doesn't cause any acne. I use it and am always given compliments, such as "you look great," "you look so pretty," even when dressed casually. You just look really finished.

    Always use the primer, and with time you will learn to use the highlight and the bronzer to create the same effects faster than with brushes. I use it to apply the blush for lip tint, and it's excellent and lasting. I love it. It lasts ALL day. If you have dry skin, you should exfoliate and moisturize as well.

    I LOVE my Luminess, and I even used it on my 74-year-old mom for special occasions. It isn't expensive by comparison. I don't care for their mascara. However, I have even traveled with my smaller unit.

    I love it, and I am glad I made the investment.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 21, 2017

      Anthony Richards

      Have you tried the new Mystic foundation? You may notice more of a full coverage with the Mystic, as it is an all-in-one foundation.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 36 out 63 people found this review helpful

    Love it

    I've had my Luminess kit for years and absolutely love it. Initially, yes, you pay for the kit, but you get your money back many times over in saving on foundation and other makeup. I used to use everything when I used regular makeup (foundation, blush, powder) but the airbrush foundation is so light, lasts a long time, and erases bags, freckles (whatever I want it to), so I just use the foundation now.

    At first, before I learned not to airbrush too close to my face I hated it the first couple times, but after learning, I love it. I would never pile on all the makeup I used before. I only use touch ups around the eyes now, and it looks 100% natural. And I'm 47 and looking much younger.

    Yes, you wait weeks for orders, but it clearly states that and if you preplan you don't have to wait. Also, customer service has been very helpful every time I call. I will never go back to other makeup!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 31 out 45 people found this review helpful

    Couldn't live without it

    • Randleman, NC,
    • Sep 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm 47 years old and never had a blemish on my face my entire life until I hit 42. I've owned a system now for 4 years. Everything but their makeup sends my face into a teenage breakout now except Luminess Air. My system has never had a problem.

    The makeup is sheer heaven. You can sweat, but it doesn't come off and lasts all day until you cleanse your face. It has definitely helped all of my skin issues. It is much easier to apply than any makeup I've ever used. I wear it everyday and one Luminess foundation lasts triple the usage of other liquid foundations. I was on the auto shipments until my husband lost his job.

    If you've not tried it, you're truly missing out on a wonderful makeup. From day one I fell in love with it. Also, a must try is the airbrush glow, it puts a radiance on my face I've not had since I was in my 20s. Love this company.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 10, 2017

      Dtx

      It seems like the good reviews are all pretty much the same, just worded a little differently. Therefore, I would never buy this because I feel that the good reviews are by employees.

    • Feb 8, 2018

      Terrie Brown

      Dtx, I'm a machine operator at Thermoforming container. It's around 100 degrees in August here in NC, and the humidity is worse than terrible. On top of that, it's not air-conditioned where I work. So, no I'm not an employee for Luminess Air. I can only tell you my experience. It is around 100 to 120 degrees to where my makeup never sweats off. There isn't even an LA place here.

      But back to me. I really hate that you feel that way because I've got the original pro, and I bought a backup. It's a good thing because one of them was stolen during our move in 2014. I love this company. Now, I will say that I got pulled into that monthly subscription of makeup but I canceled because they usually run a sale. When I do order my next bottle for the first time in over a year, hopefully, it will be on sale. I wish I did work for Lumines Air, my summers would be a lot cooler. I also missed painting fingernails. All I can say is your missing out.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 30 out 54 people found this review helpful

    Love it

    I have had my system since July and I love it. It is so easy. I do agree with the majority of the reviews that I did not realize that there would be several installments, but I am so pleased with the product that I really did not mind. I did not read the fine print. I would recommend it to anyone! Love, love, love it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 30, 2017

      Debra

      Thank you for posting the information on the actual product. I understand that people have issues with billing but everyone should read the fine print. I'm thinking of purchasing one for sure. I know that the payments come out randomly so I will just save up and pay all at once, again thank you for the post on the actual product.

    • Mar 19, 2018

      Michelle

      I ordered my kit as well. I've practiced and have gotten pretty good. I love the way I look and feel. The customer service was excellent! I had an eyeshadow bottle that cracked at the thread on the neck, and I just called to tell them and they replaced it free of charge! I've since, ordered some of the skin care products as well, and I am in love. I'm so impressed that I'm considering becoming an independent consultant. Which gives better pricing than their main website, by the way. I am no makeup artist but I love this system and it really is simple. Not to mention the compliments I have received since using it!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 43 people found this review helpful

    The saleswomen were wonderful and helpful

    March 3, 2018 4:33pm.

    I just got off the phone ordering my new Luminess Air. I am really excited; I can’t wait to try it.

    But the reason I writing this review is just to say I read a lot of negative reviews about this item today on different sites and I am not saying that what these individuals are saying isn’t true, I just wanted it known it doesn’t always happen. It wasn’t so much about the item it was about the service. There was confusion on the pricing and sales reps pushing people into more than what an individual could afford and what they wanted (that was just NOT my experience, mine was GREAT).

    I just wanted to make sure I posted how WONDERFUL and HELPFUL my experience was with the sales reps, and I spoke to two different saleswomen. The first time I called I wanted to ask questions before I decided if I wanted it and then I called back to order it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 16, 2018

      Haro

      How can you recommend this item to a friend, if you have not even tried it yet? Where do you think you are, Yelp? Your review is ridiculous!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 32 people found this review helpful

    LOVE it!

    I absolutely love my airbrush system! Not only it does it stay on all day, but it also helps my other makeup stay on as well. The rest of my makeup I apply daily is store-bought, and I never have to reapply my makeup not once. My eyeliner or eye mascara doesn't run anymore and I don't have to touch anything up.

    After putting my makeup on at home, I've actually started leaving my makeup bag at home. I don't need to carry it anymore. My face looks so much better and younger. I'm a server and my job consist of being in a hot kitchen almost all day and my makeup stays in place. Women at my tables ask me all the time what kind of makeup I use. My husband used to complain about my old foundation, telling me that it looked like my makeup was caped on. Now he loves the way my makeup looks. LOL, he said he didn't care if my airbrush system cost $300, it would have been worth it.

    `If you're questioning whether to try it or not, stop and get it! It's worth every penny! You'll never go back to regular foundation again. When you do get it, I suggest watching videos on how to apply it the right way. You just feel better and prettier with this system. There's absolutely no reason not to try it.

    Thank you to the creators of this system. In your own way, you've actually helped me get thru my days easier. Not having to stop and check in a mirror to make sure everything is in place or stopping to touch anything up. I feel like I look prettier and my skin is healthier. So thank you again.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Not for all skin tones

    The ease of applying is phenomenal but this isn't for my skin tone. I have mixed undertones, and they sent me pallets from every shade and skin type they had, but they didn't match.

    I didn't like that it made me unrecognizable. People weren't asking what I had done because I looked younger, I actually looked like a different person.

    If you like the matte dry look, then this is for you.

    I loved it, but it is not for me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 191

Write a Review for Luminess Air!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review