Luminess Air

Luminess Air

Overall Rating

1.6

271 Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Summary

The Luminess Air airbrushing system lets you create a flawless makeup look at home. However, high prices and an unclear “rent to try” program might be a reason to stay away.

Pros

  • Customer reviews indicate the product works as described for applying makeup
  • Lots of makeup types and shades to choose from
  • Long-lasting coverage when used correctly
  • Can be more subtle than traditional makeup

Cons

  • Makeup containers are small, expensive compared to competitors
  • It takes time to perfect the application technique
  • “Rent To Try” pricing system tricks many people
  • Difficult to get refunds

Customer Reviews

1.6 Stars out of 271 Reviews
5 Star:11% 4 Star:2% 3 Star:0% 2 Star:5% 1 Star:79%
15% Recommend This Company
Start your review of Luminess Air:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Nov 19, 2017

Beware! Complete rip off, terrible items missing

By Nancy Este, Ontario, Canada, Verified Reviewer

I ordered The Complete Stylus Kit and liquid makeup. The kit shows items included. However, the items arrived missing all the parts, leaving this purchase useless.

I called customer service who refused to help or acknowledge issues. I spoke to Laura. She transfers me to after attempts to return are refused. No one answers and I'm disconnected.

Yet another online ripoff with false advertising and no recourse for the consumer to receive what was paid for.

Beware! Save your money, time and aggravation. Avoid frustration and disappointment and never purchase anything from this company.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 120 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 9, 2017

Fraud

By Jolynne Tranberg, Rockwall, TX, Verified Reviewer

If you like a product that falls apart in first use and you like to be totally misled on product pricing, then this product is for you.

In the advertisement, it showed a special of $49.00 that included the airbrush system and some product. I was not aware that they were going to charge my card every 15 days of added charges. In one month and seven days, I was charged $245.12. CRAZY!

I never write reviews, but this just gets on my last nerve. After calling and complaining I am returning this crappy product for a full refund. I hope that goes without a blemish. If all goes well, I will credit Anna with good customer service. However, I will be returning the product tomorrow and won't know if they actually credited my account for awhile.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 124 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 6, 2017

Crappy

By Tamara Terell, Miami, FL, Verified Reviewer

Crappy product, don't waste your money. Do your research, there are better products out there! It clogged up the first time using it. I tried to get a replacement, and they won't send it to me. Basically told me I was out of luck. Don't waste your money on this product, it does not work, and it's very crappy. Do not give them your credit card because they will double tap then you and you will have to fight to get your money back.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 102 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 1, 2017

Love it

By Daphanie Rogers-Chapman, Lawrenceburg, KY, Verified Reviewer

I have had my system since July and I love it. It is so easy. I do agree with the majority of the reviews that I did not realize that there would be several installments, but I am so pleased with the product that I really did not mind. I did not read the fine print. I would recommend it to anyone! Love, love, love it!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 30 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 12, 2017

Luminess Air System

By Ann, San Diego, CA, Verified Reviewer

First off, I bought mine on QVC or HSN (I forgot which one). But it was only $99 for the complete set in rose gold (new model bought 10/17) with two foundation makeup, blush, and highlighter.

Once I got it, I went online to the Luminous site and the shopping site to watch and listen carefully to the videos. It's not a hard system to use, but you have to view the videos if you've never used one; it's very helpful and makes learning it a breeze.

All in all, it is well worth it. It takes me seconds to put on my air makeup. I do choose to use a face primer first, FYI. I also use the Luminous blush as well. A few practices and for me getting the right color, which I did by mixing the makeups I got in fair, was fantastic. I'm 52 and if I can be a pro with this system anyone can. I am not into makeup and fuss that goes with it. That is why I got it; easy and the makeup is light on my skin the way I like it. My skin looks great.

Again, give yourself a couple of minutes to watch the videos and tips, find your foundation mix that is good for you, and practice 2-3 times.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 47 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 21, 2017

Crap

By Susan James, Charleston, SC, Verified Reviewer

I was completely misled when I purchased this junk. It is the worst makeup I have ever put on my face. Plus it is very user unfriendly.

But I guess I didn't truly understand the cost involved. I thought it was a one-time purchase, but I kept getting charged for this crappy makeup every month. Buyer beware. Read between the lines.

It would be one thing if this makeup lived up to what it advertised, but it is awful.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 81 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 16, 2017

Couldn't live without it

By Terrie Brown, Randleman, NC, Verified Reviewer

I'm 47 years old and never had a blemish on my face my entire life until I hit 42. I've owned a system now for 4 years. Everything but their makeup sends my face into a teenage breakout now except Luminess Air. My system has never had a problem.

The makeup is sheer heaven. You can sweat, but it doesn't come off and lasts all day until you cleanse your face. It has definitely helped all of my skin issues. It is much easier to apply than any makeup I've ever used. I wear it everyday and one Luminess foundation lasts triple the usage of other liquid foundations. I was on the auto shipments until my husband lost his job.

If you've not tried it, you're truly missing out on a wonderful makeup. From day one I fell in love with it. Also, a must try is the airbrush glow, it puts a radiance on my face I've not had since I was in my 20s. Love this company.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 31 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 18, 2017

Very expensive - read the fine print!

By Janet Greene, Milford, MA, Verified Reviewer

I've learned the hard way how to be a victim of consumer marketing and to make sure I read the fine print. I am being charged $70.00 per month for six months just for having the unit, then add $38.00 for a delivery of makeup that I also just discovered you will get charged twice for when you get one delivery. Rip-off!

Now they are offering a four-month installment of $49.00 times four months, I've learned my lesson, and this can also be marked down as one of the first times I've written a negative review on something. The concept is good, yet there should be no need to charge so much and not make it a little clearer what you will ultimately end up paying. Thank you.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 102 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 11, 2017

Luminous Air is a flaky organization

By Tonya Ryan, Glendora, CA, Verified Reviewer

I ordered the product. It took 7 weeks, was sent back because FedEx could not find my house. Then I called to return and they said they would put my account on hold until May but two weeks later I received more product and another bill.

So I called to cancel and was given a return authorization code (they would not email me anything). Also, they never disclosed that the air brush tool is actually $500. I followed the representative's instruction and placed the return code on the box and shipped it at FedEx trusting that I would receive the refund.

Instead, a different rep tells me that they never received my product. Go figure this is the ONE time I did not get a receipt from the FedEx person. So I am screwed. My package is sitting in their warehouse in a pile with 1000 others because I did not get a receipt and they can say that they never got it.

PS: The product does not work! It made creases show up worse than any other product I've purchased. I've gone back to using Clinique.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 91 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 10, 2017

Hate customer service, very rude

By Barbara A Blasingame, California, Verified Reviewer

I have not used it, but when I tried to cancel the order, they refused to refund my credit card. Horrible products. Customer service was very rude. I had to call over and over again. Not anything good to say about them.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 75 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 11, 2017

Love it

By Sharon Riggs, Indiana, Verified Reviewer

I've had my Luminess kit for years and absolutely love it. Initially, yes, you pay for the kit, but you get your money back many times over in saving on foundation and other makeup. I used to use everything when I used regular makeup (foundation, blush, powder) but the airbrush foundation is so light, lasts a long time, and erases bags, freckles (whatever I want it to), so I just use the foundation now.

At first, before I learned not to airbrush too close to my face I hated it the first couple times, but after learning, I love it. I would never pile on all the makeup I used before. I only use touch ups around the eyes now, and it looks 100% natural. And I'm 47 and looking much younger.

Yes, you wait weeks for orders, but it clearly states that and if you preplan you don't have to wait. Also, customer service has been very helpful every time I call. I will never go back to other makeup!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 36 People Have Voted
Showing 232-242 of 271

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.