Madison Reed

Madison Reed

Overall Rating

1.8

47 Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Summary

Madison Reed is a home hair dye brand that claims to give you a perfect shade without exposing you to damaging or dangerous chemicals. In this review, we analyze this brand and its key claims to help you make the right decision.

Pros

  • More than 50 shade options
  • It’s possible to “test” shades online before buying
  • Transparent ingredients lists for each product
  • Subscription program available for convenient delivery

Cons

  • More expensive than similar ammonia-free brands
  • May still cause adverse sides effects
  • Some customers state the dye isn’t true to color

Customer Reviews

1.8 Stars out of 47 Reviews
5 Star:12% 4 Star:2% 3 Star:2% 2 Star:21% 1 Star:61%
15% Recommend This Brand
Start your review of Madison Reed:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Apr 20, 2020

My hair fell out too!

By Tracy J., Dublin, CA, Verified Reviewer

I thought it was me, but my hair fell out for months after using the Madison Reed product back in 2016. I had to cut my hair significantly and stop using hair color altogether. I would not recommend this product.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 25, 2020

Very disappointed

By Hara C., New York, NY, Verified Reviewer

I was very excited to try Madison Reed as I was tired of spending money at the salon and the drugstore brands seemed to fade after a few weeks.

Everyone there was very nice AND they totally ruined my hair color.

I went to the salon for the "Roots" service.

What they don't tell you: You need to have your hair dyed single process with their product for the "Roots" service to match the rest of your hair. They are very limited in the shades of color that they offer. If you have medium to dark brown hair you should be just fine.

I expected a salon that specializes in color would tell me that they would not be able to match my color. I came in with light golden brown. When they were finished, I had medium brown-red on the crown and the rest of my hair was light golden brown. A disaster!

I was told that they DO not pull the color to the ends of the strand and that is called "single-process color".

My expectation would be that the stylist would inform me that they would not be able to match my roots to the ends.

They agreed to "fix" the problem for free. Now, my hair color is some weird red/med brown and my hairline is copper.

BTW, my scalp is very itchy so I'm not sure about their natural products.

In conclusion, I'm going to have to go to a real salon and have the color corrected back to my original light golden brown.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 23, 2020

Disappointed

By Bev S., Seattle, WA, Verified Reviewer

A while back your company raised the price. Although I wasn’t too happy, but since everything was the same, I accepted the increase. Today, after opening the box, I find the shampoo and conditioner sizes have been made much smaller. You may think that changing from plastic to coated foil is more environmentally safer - it isn’t. I have short hair and found that your color activator has decreased in volume. Just had enough to cover all. Sorry to see this company cutting back. Hope you take this review seriously and return back to the awesome company it was.

Regards.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 7, 2020

Hair loss

By Teneal A., California, Verified Reviewer

I first used MR over 2 years ago. Over time I noticed my hair thinning and strands falling out more often than usual. I just thought since I was getting older it was normal. Then, a couple of weeks ago, I was going to a Christmas party so I thought I would dye my hair to cover my grays and look nice. My hair is falling out so much. My hair used to be so thick. I can see my scalp. When I run my fingers through my hair, it feels like there is barely anything there. It just keeps coming out. I've been saving the hair that has fallen out in the past week in a bag and the amount of hair is heartbreaking. I am devastated. My scalp is tingling and it's all I can think about. If I'm going to keep losing it until I am bald? I am 43 years old. I am going to the doctors to see if there is anything I can do. I do not recommend trying this hair color and taking that risk to ANYONE.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 27, 2019

HAIR LOSS!

By Elisa T., St. Louis, MO, Verified Reviewer

This company is absurd! I used MR for an entire year before I realized that in the back of my head, my scalp was totally showing through! I can’t believe it took me so long to notice that I was balding on top and in the back! I guess it was gradual and happened a little with every time I dyed it. Now I am unmistakably balding, which is so traumatizing. Because I’ve been growing my hair out, I quit going to the salon. So when I finally returned, in tears, my hairstylist said, "Oh wow. Oh man, I’ve never seen your scalp show through before." I’ve been taking biotin supplements for six weeks and see NO change at all. I’m devastated.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 17, 2019

Beware of using MR

By Kathy S., Chicago, IL, Verified Reviewer

I used this brand for a few years. I really liked the color and the process. Some time after switching to MR I started losing clumps of hair.

I saw doctors, got medical tests, took supplements, saw more doctors, did hair treatments, etc. You name it, I did it. I continued to use MR hair dye and my hair continued to fall out. I had thick beautiful hair when I started MR, Now my hair is much less dense, and thin. It never occurred to me that this "safe" "nourishing" MR color was causing the damage. Until while doing some research, I found out what they substitute for the ammonia, which is ethanolamine, is very damaging and has been found to cause hair loss. I was shocked. I stopped using this dye as soon as I found out several months ago. I am so upset that a company that touts itself as being a safer, better alternative uses a chemical known to cause hair loss.

I would not wish hair loss on anyone. I have yet to see if it will be reversible. I strongly do not recommend this product.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 20, 2019

Disappointing, overpriced and no different than store-bought!

By Marcie A., San Diego, CA, Verified Reviewer

Disappointing, overpriced and no different than store-bought!

I really dislike the time I spend on coloring my hair and wanted to find a product that would eliminate how often I needed to color. After hearing about Madison Reed’s hair product and the claim that the color would last about six weeks, I was all in and I decided to give it a try. What a disappointment! The color lasted one week!

I decided to call customer service to share my experience and was told they would send another kit but to up the processing time to 55 minutes…which I did. No change, same results.

Bottom Line: Would I recommend this product to a friend…NO! Is it worth the money you spend for the product…NO! My only recommendation is, if you decide to try the product, keep your receipt!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 15, 2019

Great experience and great color

By Jody P., West Brookfield, MA, Verified Reviewer

I am surprised about all of the negative comments. I’ve used Madison Reed hair color twice since the beginning of October and have had great results both times. The first time I did the all-over color and left it on for the 45 minutes as instructed due to hard to color grays, I couldn’t believe how soft my hair was afterward and that softness along with the color lasted until my next coloring 5 weeks later. This time I just did my roots, let it stay on 40 minutes then pulled more color thru to the ends for the lady 5 minutes. Again, great results. I’ve been going to a salon every month for my hair color for well over 20 years, and this color meets and even exceeds my expectations. My hair has never been this soft and the gray coverage is spectacular. I would highly recommend this product.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 25, 2019

Mislead

By Regina T., Georgia, Verified Reviewer

I used Madison Reed after a friend swore it was all-natural and made her hair soft. I had some highlights I wanted to cover up. I used it, and almost immediately, my scalp started to burn worse than it ever has with traditional hair color. Also, it started washing off after one wash and the areas where my highlights were are almost a greenish tint. The worst part is that it ruined the ends of my hair. I have a haircut in a week, and I seriously don't even want to wait that long. I'll have to wear it up until then. I'm actually furious.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 24, 2019

Incredibly bad customer service

By Gloria H., Texas, Verified Reviewer

I can't speak to the quality of their product because it arrived way too long after I ordered it, and I returned it because I had already had my hair colored by the time it arrived. But when I tried to find out what happened to my shipment, I had an incredibly difficult time with their non existent customer service. First I tried to call. Got to listen to "on hold" music for more than 20 minutes so I gave up. I called during normal business hours. I tried 3 more times and gave up. I tried their live chat option and got nothing. I sent an email and did not receive a reply for 2 days. That email was just a standard system generated reply. On the fifth phone call I finally reached a real person who told me there was nothing to be done until I returned the item. How can I return something I never received? Their hair color product might be the best in the world, but I will not buy from or support a company with such deplorable customer service.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 3, 2019

Split hair and no gray coverage

By Chloe B., San Francisco, CA, Verified Reviewer

Don't use it. After one use the end of my hair turned white and split.

I had to cut off 2-3 inches of my hair to make the mess look decent again. Who wants bangs that are 2 inches long? What a mess. It burned my skin during the application and after one week the grey hair is back.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted
Showing 12-22 of 47

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.