Madison Reed

Madison Reed

Overall Rating

1.7

53 Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Summary

Madison Reed is a home hair dye brand that claims to give you a perfect shade without exposing you to damaging or dangerous chemicals. In this review, we analyze this brand and its key claims to help you make the right decision.

Pros

  • More than 50 shade options
  • It’s possible to “test” shades online before buying
  • Transparent ingredients lists for each product
  • Subscription program available for convenient delivery

Cons

  • More expensive than similar ammonia-free brands
  • May still cause adverse sides effects
  • Some customers state the dye isn’t true to color

Customer Reviews

1.7 Stars out of 53 Reviews
5 Star:11% 4 Star:1% 3 Star:1% 2 Star:18% 1 Star:66%
13% Recommend This Brand
Start your review of Madison Reed:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Aug 20, 2020

My hair is falling off

By SLC C., Douglas, AZ, Verified Reviewer

I ordered the color they suggested but it came out very reddish and did not cover my grays. They contacted me and sent me a free box, tray, and brush. I am going to throw it away! Shortly after I colored my hair with the first box, my hair started falling off in clumps and it is now extremely dry. I am not sure what I am going to do at this point. My hairline has receded quite a bit and my hair looks overall awful.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Fast shipping

Representatives are very nice

My hair is falling off

My hair is very dry

Did not cover my grays

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 15, 2020

YIKES

By Wendy B., San Diego, CA, Verified Reviewer

Don’t try this Madison Reed right before you have somewhere important to be. This is was my first try with Madison Reed and I used the 7NCG Genova Red, which was the color that the quiz suggested to me, as well as the provided shampoo and conditioner. My hair came out WAY darker than expected, not red hardly at all, and feels like straw. I have been dying my hair with L’Oreal Preference Mega Reds MR1 Light Intense Copper, which is also a level 7 dye (with a 20 vol developer, both from Sally Beauty) for over 5 years, so I’m not a newbie. This Madison Reed color is more like a level 5-6. Really disappointed and frustrated that I have to correct this dye job and hopefully not damage my hair. Proceed with caution.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Fast shipping

Resulting color was not as described

Hair felt like straw

Irritating on the skin (more than other brands)

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on May 26, 2020

Hair loss - Madison Reed color?

By Joan H., Houston, TX, Verified Reviewer

My first and only application of Madison Reed color was 5 weeks ago. I was very pleased with the color and application. I have thick medium length hair. Three weeks ago I noticed an alarming amount of hair in my brush, drain, and on wood floors. The only new product I have used was MR color.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on May 15, 2020

My hair is falling out!

By Stacey F., Montana, Verified Reviewer

The first time I used this product, I was slightly disappointed that my hair appeared darker instead of the burgundy shade I picked from the quiz. Still, I was really impressed with the box presentation and also, how soft and shiny my hair was. I left a great review because of that. So I contacted them and a very nice consultant suggested a brighter red. She gave me specific instructions on how to apply the new color when it arrived. I waited a few months to re-dye just to be safe, and also make sure the red took, even though the original color had faded within a week. Immediately after dyeing and washing the dye out, my hair started falling out in clumps! Like...right at the root!

It’s now been a month, and it’s still falling out like crazy! My once thick, curly hair is now super thin. You can see my scalp in all the places it has fallen out. I’ve also had intense headaches, burning, and even woke up one night in a cold sweat. It is absolutely devastating to see my hair fall out like this, and feel so off physically. I was 100% fine and loving my hair right up to the moment I used this. Now I have to go to the doctor tomorrow to see if anything can be done to save my hair! And by the way, the red never took. My hair color was the same as before I dyed it!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 24, 2020

Direct competitor?

By Kimberly C., Missouri, Verified Reviewer

Why not compare Madison Reed to eSalon? They are direct competitors. As a reader, this is what I most want to know. I have used both and would pick one of these over any grocery store brand.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 22, 2020

Not so good for covering gray

By Ellen L., Charlotte, NC, Verified Reviewer

Disappointed in my gray coverage. Going to have to color it again. I think the product needs to stay on longer but I followed ALL the directions for gray coverage. It seems that the required 45-50 minutes should be adequate. There’s not much else to say but this post requires 180 words so I’m just typing to fill the requirements.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 20, 2020

My hair fell out too!

By Tracy J., Dublin, CA, Verified Reviewer

I thought it was me, but my hair fell out for months after using the Madison Reed product back in 2016. I had to cut my hair significantly and stop using hair color altogether. I would not recommend this product.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 25, 2020

Very disappointed

By Hara C., New York, NY, Verified Reviewer

I was very excited to try Madison Reed as I was tired of spending money at the salon and the drugstore brands seemed to fade after a few weeks.

Everyone there was very nice AND they totally ruined my hair color.

I went to the salon for the "Roots" service.

What they don't tell you: You need to have your hair dyed single process with their product for the "Roots" service to match the rest of your hair. They are very limited in the shades of color that they offer. If you have medium to dark brown hair you should be just fine.

I expected a salon that specializes in color would tell me that they would not be able to match my color. I came in with light golden brown. When they were finished, I had medium brown-red on the crown and the rest of my hair was light golden brown. A disaster!

I was told that they DO not pull the color to the ends of the strand and that is called "single-process color".

My expectation would be that the stylist would inform me that they would not be able to match my roots to the ends.

They agreed to "fix" the problem for free. Now, my hair color is some weird red/med brown and my hairline is copper.

BTW, my scalp is very itchy so I'm not sure about their natural products.

In conclusion, I'm going to have to go to a real salon and have the color corrected back to my original light golden brown.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 23, 2020

Disappointed

By Bev S., Seattle, WA, Verified Reviewer

A while back your company raised the price. Although I wasn’t too happy, but since everything was the same, I accepted the increase. Today, after opening the box, I find the shampoo and conditioner sizes have been made much smaller. You may think that changing from plastic to coated foil is more environmentally safer - it isn’t. I have short hair and found that your color activator has decreased in volume. Just had enough to cover all. Sorry to see this company cutting back. Hope you take this review seriously and return back to the awesome company it was.

Regards.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 7, 2020

Hair loss

By Teneal A., California, Verified Reviewer

I first used MR over 2 years ago. Over time I noticed my hair thinning and strands falling out more often than usual. I just thought since I was getting older it was normal. Then, a couple of weeks ago, I was going to a Christmas party so I thought I would dye my hair to cover my grays and look nice. My hair is falling out so much. My hair used to be so thick. I can see my scalp. When I run my fingers through my hair, it feels like there is barely anything there. It just keeps coming out. I've been saving the hair that has fallen out in the past week in a bag and the amount of hair is heartbreaking. I am devastated. My scalp is tingling and it's all I can think about. If I'm going to keep losing it until I am bald? I am 43 years old. I am going to the doctors to see if there is anything I can do. I do not recommend trying this hair color and taking that risk to ANYONE.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 27, 2019

HAIR LOSS!

By Elisa T., St. Louis, MO, Verified Reviewer

This company is absurd! I used MR for an entire year before I realized that in the back of my head, my scalp was totally showing through! I can’t believe it took me so long to notice that I was balding on top and in the back! I guess it was gradual and happened a little with every time I dyed it. Now I am unmistakably balding, which is so traumatizing. Because I’ve been growing my hair out, I quit going to the salon. So when I finally returned, in tears, my hairstylist said, "Oh wow. Oh man, I’ve never seen your scalp show through before." I’ve been taking biotin supplements for six weeks and see NO change at all. I’m devastated.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted
Showing 12-22 of 53

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.