About Meaningful Beauty

Meaningful Beauty is a line of anti-aging facial skin care products that promises its secret antioxidants, derived from a rare melon, will deliver Cindy Crawford's glowing complexion to users in just four short weeks. In fact, Meaningful Beauty was created by Dr. Sebagh, Cindy’s French dermatologist, after he’d gained notoriety for the treatments that she credited for her gorgeous skin.

About a decade ago when the American supermodel teamed up with her doctor to make a serum promising secret ingredients that could slow down the signs of aging, ladies perked up with interest. The duo wanted to create a product line based on the treatments Sebagh was famous for using, and designed Meaningful Beauty to be a quality skincare regimen, which could effectively help women feel beautiful on any budget.

The Meaningful Beauty Promise

The Meaningful Beauty product line promises to help your skin look younger, both now and in the future by:

  • Helping to smooth the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles
  • Adding radiance and brightening your complexion
  • Preserving your skin's existing youthful vibrancy
  • Protecting your skin from environmental aggression and free radical damage

Meaningful Beauty’s promises touch on everything a woman wants to improve about their skin as we age. Additionally, the site claims that if their products are used as directed, results will be visible in as little as four weeks.

But is there any evidence to support these claims and show that Meaningful Beauty products are worth the price? Consider the following:

The Magical Melon in Meaningful Beauty

The makers of Meaningful Beauty claim the key to their products’ restorative abilities is a proprietary ingredient named superoxide dismutase, or SOD.

Not dirt, but close. They claim SOD is a super-antioxidant cultivated from rare melons grown only in remote areas of Southern France. Meaningful Beauty’s site goes on to claim SOD is ”one of the most powerful antioxidants known to science.”

An internet search for “Southern France Melon” however, revealed the not-so-rare Charentais melon, or the French cantaloupe, to be a source of SOD. In an article separate from their site, Dr. Sebagh claimed this rare French melon attracted attention because it stays fresher and firmer longer than other varieties.

The site goes on to say that superoxide dismutase packs an extra powerful punch because it contains a “first generation antioxidant which preliminary studies suggest prevents the formation of new free radical species.”

Other Ingredients

Meaningful Beauty isn’t all SOD, however, and the other ingredients raised some concern, as they aren’t listed anywhere on the site.

There was a brief Meaningful Beauty scare that still resonates in some reviews, where consumers spoke out about the ingredient Cyclopentasiloxane as a possible “cancer causing agent”. Cyclopentasiloxane is a lightweight, silky silicone compound that is widely used as an emollient and conditioner in skin and hair products. While it has been known to cause cancer in female rats, there is no evidence that the chemical compound carries the same risk to humans, and the rumor has since been refuted both in Amazon reviews and blog posts.

What You Get

For $39.95 plus shipping and handling, you can purchase a 30 day kit, which includes a five piece system and three bonus gifts. The package includes:

  • Crème de Sérum
  • Skin Softening Cleanser
  • Antioxidant Day Crème
  • Brightening Décolleté/Neck Treatment
  • Lifting Eye Crème – Advanced Formula
  • Travel Size Glowing Serum
  • Cleansing Spinning Brush
  • Wrinkle Smoothing Capsules - Advanced Formula

For those interested in making a bigger investment, for $149.85, you can purchase a 90-day supply of Meaningful Beauty, which includes an additional two products:

  • Glowing Serum
  • Eye Enhancing Serum

What If You Don’t Like It?

Unlike other infomercial products, Meaningful Beauty does address its return promise right off the bat. In short, if you aren’t completely satisfied with your Meaningful Beauty products, containers can be returned within 60 days of receipt, and a full refund of the purchase price (minus shipping and handling) will be issued, even if the bottles are empty.

Our Meaningful Beauty 2 Month Test

We tested the Meaningful Beauty kit to see if it delivers on its promises:

For more product tests & tips: Click here to subscribe to HighYa’s YouTube channel

How Are Consumers Reviewing Meaningful Beauty?

Meaningful Beauty has been around for nearly a decade, so there are quite a bit of reviews to pull from. We searched through YouTube and Amazon reviews and found that, while opinions on Meaningful Beauty varied as widely as the reviewer’s skin types, there were a few consistencies in these reviews that are worth noting:

  1. Skin Softening Cleanser - Multiple Meaningful Beauty reviews stated that they were surprised by the consistency of this product. It’s a creamy liquid that doesn’t foam as most cleansers do, which made some users feel like it didn’t remove makeup as efficiently. Those who used the product for longer periods stated it was non-irritating and helped make their skin feel softer.
  2. Brightening Décolleté/Neck Treatment - Some users delighted in the luxury of having a separate neck cream, while others complained about the extra step. It appears that the product is rather thick and sticky and takes some extra time to sink in.
  3. Lifting Eye Crème - Comments say that while this product feels nice, is non-irritating, and absorbs quickly, it makes a little-to-no noticeable difference in eye skin for those who consider their eyes a “problem area”.
  4. Antioxidant Day Crème & Crème de Sérum - Meant to be used during day and night, respectively, these two moisturizing products are the heart of the Meaningful Beauty product line. They are reported to make skin feel silky, which may be the result of a silicone additive, which caused such concern in Amazon reviews. Those users with dry skin reported being pleased with these moisturizing products, while the reviews from those with normal or combination skin reported moderate to heavy breakouts after extended use.

One last note regarding the reviews: There are enough comments to raise a red flag about consumers experiencing difficulty when attempting to stop their automatic monthly charges, either due to:

  • Being charged for the 3-month supply when they’d only ordered the smaller package,
  • Having negative experiences with customer service, or
  • Not receiving their packages at all.

These reviews may be worth noting if you're considering purchasing Meaningful Beauty products.

Bottom Line: How Meaningful Is Meaningful Beauty?

Meaningful Beauty attempts to address one concern many women have in common: How to proactively fight the visible signs of aging skin. Beyond that, their line doesn’t seem to address individual skin types, product preferences or even allergies. On our personal opinion, for that reason alone, it seems Meaningful Beauty’s promise is a little less potent.

If you have dry skin and sensitivity to harsher chemical ingredients, such as retinoids like this YouTube reviewer, Meaningful Beauty products appear to prove to be a luxurious addition to your daily routine. It’s thick, rich creams and serums seem designed to create a feeling of beauty; as much during application as after prolonged used.

However, if your skin has ever been prone to breakouts like this user, the softening ingredients in Meaningful Beauty may cause clogged pores and irritation.

Meaningful Beauty products seem to please those users who delight in the ritual and process of skin cream application, but the general consensus among Amazon reviews is that those “rare melon” enzymes don’t seem potent enough to provide results consistent with their claims. Additionally, in our opinion, those looking for a noticeable difference in their current skin texture, and not just promises of prevention, are likely better off consulting a dermatologist for individualized recommendations and care.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

30 Consumer Reviews for Meaningful Beauty

Average Consumer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 2 3 star: 2 2 star: 1 1 star:  23
Bottom Line: 17% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 30
Sort reviews by:

  • 18 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • South Carolina,
    • Aug 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Upon ordering this product, I had 60 days to try it and if I didn’t like it or if it didn’t work, I was able to send it back. Well before my 60 days were up I didn’t like the product and found no results, so I mailed all product back. I have been going back and forth with a rep and a supervisor, I am unable to receive my refund because of the fact that I used a gift card. I do not have that gift card any longer, they said they have to refund your money in the form that it was paid with, then she goes on to tell me that in the fine print when you order it says "Do not use a gift card!" There was no such statement of that when I placed my order. They will not refund my money in any other form, plus let me note, I paid for shipping it back to them. I will never recommend this product or company! So basically a total $48.05 of my money went out the window.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Happy with the product

    • Virginia Beach, VA,
    • Aug 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have used this product for a couple years and I am satisfied with the product. Yes, this is a renewal program (most of the online products are now) but if you go into being aware of this, you have the option to cancel. If you get the product in the mail and you don't want to be charged for a recurring charge, then call the day the product arrives and cancel your account. I have never had any trouble with the customer service.

    Yes, it is customer service and they will try and keep you in the program, but if you tell them no (it might take a couple times) they do understand that no means no. The product has a very pleasant smell, it has never caused any breakouts on my face out and I do have sensitive skin. It goes on smooth, it feels light on the face and not like the heavy cream. I will never look like Cindy Crawford, but I do like her product. It might not have gotten rid of the wrinkles I already have, but I do feel like it has prevented me from getting more.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 29 out 39 people found this review helpful

    Consumers beware! Meaningful Beauty charges without permission.

    • Myrtle Beach, SC,
    • Jul 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Please read my complaint I sent in below to give you all an understanding of the company you're dealing with! This is my story...

    On Friday, 7/6, I contacted you all via online chat and specifically stated that $47.74 was pending on my credit card that was NOT AUTHORIZED BY ME and that I wanted the subscription CANCELLED EFFECTIVE IMMEDIATELY! The original purchase back in May was a Mother’s Day gift and it was to end there. I didn’t request for an automatic monthly renewal, which I had very blatantly stated when the first order was placed. I also told the customer service rep to STOP ANY FUTURE ORDERS (including the one that was pending) and to IMMEDIATELY REDUND MY CC! I am a single mother and CANNOT AFFORD THIS! I was told “ok I will take care of that now”. Today, while at the grocery store with my 4yr old my CC was declined!!! Embarrassing to say the least but HEARTBREAKING to try and explain this to my toddler! Now, Bc MEANINGFUL BEAUTY, DID NOT HONOR MY SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS BEFORE the order was pushed through, not only have you caused an upset within my small family BUT MY ACCT is now overdrawn by $82.74 ($47.74 plus $35 overdraft fee). I AM LIVID!!!!! I want this fixed NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!! You all owe me $82.74! This is your fault and the only reason it’s overdrawn is Bc your transaction went through, against my instruction. I took a screenshot of the acct so you could see what damage has been done. You are responsible for the overdraft fee as well. If you would have done what you agreed to do, this wouldn’t have happened!! I am furious! And before you give me some shallow explanation and try to flip this around on me the consumer, make sure you can explain it to my toddler when he ask why you took our money and he couldn’t get his cereal!!!! REFUND MY CC CARD NOW!!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 34 out 37 people found this review helpful

    Recurring payments

    • Rockford, IL,
    • Jun 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have read the reviews and see the same complaint, and it’s more about the customer service than the product. I would try this but refuse to be stuck in a recurring payment that could mess with my budget. I feel if this, or any product for that matter, is that great, I should have the choice to call and order. Do not force people into buying, that tells me it’s just another scam. You want me to try your product, give me one price, I will pay that, decide if I like it, and maybe buy more.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 41 out 42 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Jun 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I ordered Meaningful Beauty over the phone in February 2018, they told me the total price for the 7-piece set would be $62.00. I specifically asked if that would be my total and they said yes.

    I got the product, and my daughter and I used it. She liked it, and I didn't. I canceled my order on March 2, 2018, and I received a cancellation notice as confirmation. However, today, June 5th, I noticed they charged my card March ($54), April ($54), May ($54) and June. The charge in June was for $60.00.

    I called them, and they told me the total price is $160.00 for the first shipment, not $62.00. Then the customer service person told me they charged my account in June in error, but that I will be receiving more products and they are in the mail now. She said she will remove the charge of $62.00 but nothing else. I specifically asked the customer service agent when I placed my order if $62.00 was going to be the total and she said YES. It is partly my fault because I didn't check my bank statement specifically for their name and didn't find until today. However, I did ask if that was the total charge of $62.00 for the entire first set and they said yes!

    I am very disappointed in the way this was handled! I did not agree to anything more than $62.00, and they still kept charging me even after I canceled the order on March 2nd! They have a very deceptive practice, and I fell for it!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Mostly good product and experiences

    • Virginia,
    • Jun 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been a customer for almost a year now. Regarding the products, they worked better than OK, but, not as fantastically as they purported. I will continue to use them, as they're better than the Olay Regenerist system I was using.

    When I called to order my initial kit, I'd researched it online first after seeing it on TV for months. I also quizzed the customer service agent (sounded like he was in India!) regarding recurring shipments and their costs. I mean, really...really...who doesn't ask these kinds of questions?! It's a no-brainer! Even if I hadn't done my due diligence, I would (and did) ask a lot of questions and clarifications of the customer service guy. He tried to double talk me, quickly, but I made him slow down and repeat everything. Those of you who didn't, look in the mirror, you're far too trusting and assumed a lot without verifying you were on the same page as they were (which you obviously weren't).

    I do feel badly for you all that have commented about extra charges (you pay in three monthly installments) as well as those of you who unknowingly received your recurring shipment and charges to their card. You learned a costly lesson, but, you now know how to avoid it in the future.

    Yes, I do believe the company was a bit more than slick in their conversations with you, but, you were also party to those phone calls. With me, at least, the customer service agents had to summarize all the info at the end of every call (where they spoke very fast!). This is where I asked them to slow down and repeat clearly for me. All misunderstandings were then addressed and fixed. Not to mention, I had the name of the person I was speaking with each time!

    I wish you all the best of luck, and sincerely hope that I didn't just screw up my good luck with them!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 9, 2018

      Cheryl K.

      I made it VERY clear to the customer service rep when I ordered the five-piece set, that it and ONLY it, was what I wanted to order and not monthly or every three months order, notwithstanding her efforts to convince me that it would save me money. The initial pricing being locked-in for future orders. I want to try the product before committing to being a continuing customer, so while it was very kind of her to try and save me money, I responded, I want ONLY the order advertised on TV.

      I'm Canadian so the pricing was $49.95, not $39.95, plus no free shipping and handling, but $6.95 for it. I was quoted a total price of $64.34, including federal taxes of $7.40. The rep was named Ella and she confirmed she was in the Philippines when I asked her, recognizing her accent. Automatic renewal every 90 days came up in the conversation numerous times and was clearly declined by me, also numerous times. My point is that knowing the order reps name and location, clearly and repeatedly refusing that option, receiving the total price broken down at my request, and a customer care phone number in the event of, or problems.

      After reading the reviews from others here, I'm not convinced that I won't fall victim to what others have experienced. There are at least four telephone numbers for this business, can any or all of them be reached if wishing to cancel? From what I've read here, all the information, phone numbers, the agent's name and transparently clear instructions against automatic renewal, this company will do exactly as they wish, leaving the customer holding the bill and trying to resolve the recurring expenses on their credit card.

      According to the reviews, all the information I've outlined here and what others have reported, it sounds like frustration and greedy hands on my credit card might be my future with this company. At one point during my phone purchase, when the salesperson began offering two more products for $10. I told her that I was about to cancel my order because what should have been a simple transaction, was becoming complicated fast. I went ahead with the order, and because of your reviews I have a better idea on how to protect my interests, (calling to cancel the day product has been received, for instance) and learned a lesson-read the reviews BEFORE ordering.

      Thanks to all who shared their experiences here. Many products advertised on TV indicate payment must be made in US or Canadian dollars. There was no indication that $39.95 would become $49.95 in Canada, and only US orders shipped free and are $6.99 for shipping and handling for Canadians and that the three-product bonus would be a two-product bonus for Canadians. This should have been clearly indicated during the ad, shown on channels Canadians get. Why would they chance to eliminate the large Canadian market by being truthful in the ad, when phone ordering allows their reps to up-sell more product.

      I haven't tried the product, but doubt it, unless the product is magic and miraculous, I will be doing business with them in future due to their questionable ethics, deliberate ambiguity, and hard sell by a customer service rep, who called me ma'am throughout the conversation. It's not relevant, but I HATE being called ma'am. Wish me luck and good luck to us all. In truth, I'm feeling a bit like a sucker who just got played and I don't like it. I was told I would receive my order within ten business days. I wonder how much damage can be done to my credit card while I'm waiting?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 52 out 54 people found this review helpful

    Deceitful company

    I placed an order for the Beyond Essentials Kit 30-Day Supply for my sister who is in a rehab facility in Seattle (she had a major traffic accident in April 2017). I didn't see ANYWHERE on the online order page that this was going to be a recurring order and to my surprise see a charge for $48.38 on my bank account today.

    I called to cancel the order and was grilled about how my sister likes the product and can't we transfer order/account/credit card to her. She does not have any credit cards and is not in a position to return the product (she's in Seattle, I live in Florida), so I'm stuck with TWO more payments for a total of around $170 that I did NOT AUTHORIZE.

    This is VERY deceitful and disappointing. I do not like being taken advantage of and even if I or my sister LOVE this product, would never order again or recommend.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 25 people found this review helpful

    I LOVE this product!

    • South Lake Tahoe, CA,
    • Apr 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hello. I have been using the MB line for over five years now. I use the eye cream, day cream, and serum daily. I am 42 years old and it took me a long time to find a product that works this well for me. This product line makes me look younger and my skin feels amazing. I have sensitive skin and eyes, these creams are non-oily, light, and makes my skin supple and hydrated without any irritation. I think the price is very reasonable compared for example to Avon, and the results are far more better. Thank you, Cindy, for sharing your secret! I was not paid to write this review; this is just my honest opinion.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 41 out 45 people found this review helpful

    Pushy sales

    • Illinois,
    • Apr 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the $39.95 + shipping Easter weekend TV special. The lady went on and on and would not stop talking. She was a high-pressure sales Asian lady. This alone was a turn-off and made me feel the product should speak for itself. Nope, she explained it's set up on an auto-renewal if you don't call to cancel within the first 5 days or when you receive your order, which is exactly what I plan to do. That number is 800-927-0047. If the product is as good as advertised, I will re-order on my own timeframe from Amazon. As of yet, I will not recommend.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 50 out 51 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    I ordered two starter kits, not an auto-refill. I was not impressed with the product. Thirty days later I get a box with a bill for over $170 plus. I called and told them I didn't order anything else, and I was told I was put on auto-refill. I checked my Visa account and there is another $170 plus for the second kit, which I have not received in the mail, which I will be returning at my expense. I don't spend $170 plus in a whole year for lotion or makeup. Not a nice way to take advantage of customers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 51 out 55 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    I purchased product in December 2017 and received it days later as expected. I was automatically signed up for reoccurring product and billed again in January, February and March. I never received items for the last three months and did not want reoccurring items. When you order this product you will be signed up for continual shipments and there is no option on the website to cancel. You have to call to cancel the shipments.

    The practice is deceiving and not something that is made known to you until you start receiving bills for product you didn't order.

    When I visit the website the order details for February and March don't even show up, however, the bill shows up on my credit card.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 30

Write a Review for Meaningful Beauty!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review