Mott & Bow Reviews

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Mott & Bow

Overall Rating

3.3

55 Customer Reviews

Summary

Mott & Bow manufactures and sells premium denim at allegedly lower costs than big brand names. Learn what customers are saying about this company.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

3.3 Stars out of 55 Reviews
5 Star:38% 4 Star:20% 3 Star:7% 2 Star:1% 1 Star:32%
62% Recommend This Brand
Start your review of Mott & Bow:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Oct 20, 2017

Amazing Quality Jeans

By Jordan W, NYC, NY, Verified Reviewer

I love these, they're my new staple jeans in my wardrobe. The Customer Service was stellar in proactively letting me know of a minor delay (thanks, guys!) and my pants arrived without issue.

I purchased the mid-rise skinnies in black and the color hasn't faded (or bled onto my hands/legs) at all so that's great. I'll say that if you're a runner (or have leg muscles at all) the skinnies are super form-fitting. I personally love the fit though!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Oct 20, 2017

Low priced premium jeans

By Melanie M, San Francisco, CA, Verified Reviewer

I bought the mid-rise dark blue and bond black skinny jeans, finally found 2 pairs of jeans that I can honestly say are wonderful.Comparing these to Paige Jeans, it's the same quality and they're comfortable but cheaper.

I honestly would buy these over Paige Jeans any day because they fit perfectly. Plus, if you are curvy at the hips, they'll make your butt look good. Trust me. I am 100% happy with these jeans and would recommend them to anyone who wants to own premium jeans at a decent price.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Oct 20, 2017

Best black denim that I owned ever!

By Joyelle W, New York City, NY, Verified Reviewer

I was hesitant to order a pair from Mott and Bow, especially because I wear 28-inch length and there is no option for a "try on" size on the style I wanted. I'm so glad I ordered regardless! They fit perfectly and make my legs and hip look great. They are the most comfortable denim ever. I wish the other colors fit the same way though. I also got Jane (medium blue) but they were definitely much tighter than the black pair, so I had to return.

Please make all the sizes consistent. I'd buy every single color available if other colors also fit like the black pair!

I'm 102 lbs/5'2 and the size 24/28 is perfect. Hope this helps someone out there thinking of buying Mott & Bow jeans.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Oct 20, 2017

Mid Rise Skinny Jane Medium Blue

By Rebecca R, New York City, NY, Verified Reviewer

These jeans are great! The waistband is a little roomy and the thighs are pretty tight, but they have enough stretch that it all works out. I'm 5'0 and always have trouble finding short jeans. One thing though, I recommend Mott & Bow make 28-inch inseams in all of their women jeans as it's only available in select styles.

On the other hand, the jeans I got are pretty spot on and I'm happy with my purchase. I could use an inch shorter inseam but overall they're good quality jeans that I don't feel the need to have them hemmed.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Oct 20, 2017

Really nice skinny jeans

By Heather M, Atlanta, GA, Verified Reviewer

I loved the feel of these jeans. I ordered a size down but did not need to; they were a bit too small. I did not reorder my regular size because the calves are VERY narrow and these are hard for me to put on. They are truly skinny jeans, so if that's what you're looking for, go for it!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Oct 18, 2017

Very skinny, but nice jeans!

By Raquel S, Verified Reviewer

I don't have small calves, not fat but they are muscle-y. I could not get my legs all the way through the pant legs. The waist would have fit fine, but I couldn't get them up over my legs. If you have skinny pencil-like legs these jeans are for you.

On the other hand, they're really nice jeans for the price. They look amazing and feel more expensive but sadly, skinny jeans are not for me. I'll give their 'boyfriend' jeans a try.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Oct 5, 2017

Beware

By Ana Nguyen, Atlanta, GA, Verified Reviewer

I was really excited about buying these jeans. And with their program, you can pick two sizes and return one, which seems like a great deal. However, the jeans run a little bigger than what you would normally buy. So both of the sizes I chose were wrong.

I emailed them for an exchange and got charged $7. After a week of waiting, they emailed me saying the jeans didn't meet the requirement, meaning I can't exchange it. If I want the jeans mailed back, it'll be a $40 charge including labor fees.

Just be careful with the sizes; it's better to get it right the first time if you don't want to go through all this.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Mott & Bow, Inc.

Nov 28, 2018

Hi Ana, thanks for the review. When using our home try-on program, we recommend getting the same size you normally wear on other brands and going one size down for the try-on pair. We also recommend keeping the pair that fits a bit snug at first because all premium jeans give in about half a size with wear. The $7 charge corresponds to the standard shipping costs for main orders. We always cover return shipping for main orders and outbound shipping for exchange orders. We hope this helps clarify. Let us know if you have any other questions, we'll be happy to help!

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 18, 2017

As comfy as my yoga pants!

By Catherine , Verified Reviewer

Not exactly like yoga pants, but pretty darn close! I just received my pair in the mail yesterday and immediately tried them on. I am so glad they send a second size just in case since I can run between sizes depending on the brand. I love how they already feel like I've owned them for months. SO COMFY, I could live in these.

For me, the jeans run true to size. I typically wear a 26. The waist a touch large but that's my own problem for being between a 25 and 26. Also, for being 5'4, the inseam is great as well for cuffing. I am really impressed with these jeans and hoping my other non-Mott & Bow jeans wear holes soon so I can order more pairs of these!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Sep 18, 2017

I love my new Mott & Bow jeans

By Frances, Verified Reviewer

Although I wish I had sized down my extra pair instead of up. That said, I did keep my 27s, and I do like them. I usually wear a 27 or 28 in most pants. They keep their shape, unlike most similarly priced jeans out there. They have enough stretch, but not so much that they become distorted.

I can actually wear these more than 1x before washing/drying so that's great! If you're looking to get a pair from Mott & Bow make sure you go a size down.

I must say I'm happy with the jeans and will get more in the future.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Sep 18, 2017

Super comfy, if they fit you

By Arthur Chan, San Jose, California, Verified Reviewer

If you're looking for stretchy and comfy jeans, search no more! I'm accustomed to hunting for jeans with high elastane content and nothing beats these. Soft to the touch and very very stretchy - for jeans. They are super comfy. I'm accustomed to hunting for jeans with high elastane content and nothing beats these. Soft to the touch and very very stretchy - for jeans. Fitwise, they fit around my waist at the same size to my 3301 slims.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Sep 18, 2017

Birthday Jeans

By Joyce, Verified Reviewer

I needed new jeans because I've lost a few inches in my hips over the last year. These fit great. Super Soft. Pretty good length on me actually! I like the rise and the wash. I kept the size 27. I'm 5'3", hips 38" waist 32" around 129lbs. Hope this helps future shoppers. I'm not 100% sure what size I am to know if they run true to size, small or big. But I typically wear somewhere between 27-29.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Sep 14, 2017

Perfect for business casual.

By Alice, Verified Reviewer

These jeans fit well and look good. They are suitable for my day to day at the office (tech company) or on the street. For the price, they seem perfect. There is just the right amount of stretch to be comfortable sitting down. Not too tight or loose.

The stitching is a bit plain but that's fine for the price.

I own a more comfortable pair of jeans but they cost 2x as much. And it's possible these will wear in a bit.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Sep 14, 2017

Comfortable and fit great!

By Maria, Verified Reviewer

I'm curvier on the bottom and I must say was skeptical about these jeans. I've been too lazy to go to a local store, so wanted to give these a try since I had seen positive reviews everywhere. They do not disappoint. The cut for me is fantastic, and goes up high enough to cover my muffin top -- bring on the white t-shirts! I will say that I also got the Mid Rise Skinny. Those fit great as well, however, I am a different size in each style.

Customers should keep that in mind when trying them out and definitely go with the try at home pair for first time orders.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Sep 14, 2017

They finally did it!

By John, Verified Reviewer

I love Mott & Bow jeans and I'm a loyal customer to the brand. They had this special style that I like but they're no longer manufacturing it which is a bummer because I love the stretch on those. So I write an email like two months ago asking for them to reconsider in making more jeans like those and they listened.

I appreciate a company that can take feedback and makes positive changes. The just introduced a new style with the 4-way stretch I like so I'm placing a new order today. Kudos to them!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Sep 14, 2017

Great looking jeans, but…

By Travis, Verified Reviewer

The jeans are high-quality and comfortable as they claim they are. However, I wish the jeans came in 31-inch length so I didn't need to take them in for alterations, but realize this is an inventory nightmare.

Consider offering alterations at an additional price! I'd pay more and buy more from you.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Sep 14, 2017

Good jeans/poor shipping

By John, Piak, Verified Reviewer

Really nice jeans, they're comfortable and good looking. The black pair of jeans I ordered is of better quality than other premium jeans I've owned (7 for all mankind, Paige, etc).

Mott and Bow should consider giving more shipping options. 10 days to 2 weeks to deliver my order is not acceptable. Happy to pay for next-day delivery if that would've been a choice. Other than that, the jeans are good quality and are worth the money invested in them.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Sep 14, 2017

Super comfy if they fit you

By Arthur Chan, San Jose, California, Verified Reviewer

I'm accustomed to hunting for jeans with high elastane content and nothing beats these. Soft to the touch and very very stretchy - for jeans. Fit wise, they fit around my waist at the same size to my 3301 slims. I also got a pair of SLIM - OLIVER - RAW, but if you know about raw denim you know this won't stretch at all.

Relatively the Wooster jeans I ordered as well are made to be a little bit slimmer due to extra elasticity, therefore, don't freak out if it's more tapered than others. Allin all, I'm happy with my purchase and I'll be buying more jeans from Mott and Bow, that's for sure!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Sep 14, 2017

Liked these jeans but…

By Diana, Verified Reviewer

I liked these jeans. They are great jeans, but I just don't think they're worth the money. I fell into the whole "slimming" thing but all they are is just tight, stretchy jeans with not a whole lot of slimming. You can tell the quality is good but I don't think it's worth the money. Unless you have that kind of money to spend on jeans, then go for it! Just don't fall into the whole "slimming" train.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Jul 11, 2017

Awful customer service

By Tony, California, Verified Reviewer

Company has corrected this issue after multiple back-and-forth emails and being directed to the management staff. I've changed my review from 1 star to 3 stars.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Mott & Bow, Inc.

Nov 28, 2018

Hi Tony, thanks for upgrading your review! We're happy we could help and look forward to serving you again in the near future. Please let us know if we can be of any further assistance.

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on May 26, 2017

Not a fan of the $12 fee

By Matt Hawkinson, Chicago, IL, Verified Reviewer

Took a shot in the dark with ordering jeans online. They fit very tight, and material was different from what I saw online.

Here is what the cost is if you don't like the jeans:

Total Order: $113.20.

Shipping Cost: $7.00.

Restocking Fee: $5.00.

Total Refund: $101.20.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Mott & Bow, Inc.

Nov 28, 2018

Hi Matt, thanks for the review. Please keep in mind that the $5.00 restocking fee is charged once on the whole order, if and only if the entire order is returned. Also, the restocking fee is waived from returns made for store credit. Let us know if you have any questions, we'll be happy to help.

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 14, 2017

Worst service ever

By Jason, Verified Reviewer

While the jeans are of decent quality and they have some nice washes, it is simply not worth the time and hassle of going through the rigmarole of finding the right fitting jeans. Their jeans do NOT fit true to size, nor do they offer a detailed fit guide like most other online companies.

One pair I received was tagged a 29 x 30, and the actual measurements were 31 x 29. When confronted about this, the customer service rep stated that there are "shrinkage tolerances" and was neither apologetic nor helpful about getting the right fit.

Since this pair was already an exchange (the first pair I ordered in a different style didn't fit right either), I had to pay out of pocket for the return shipping. On top of this, they use slow standard shipping. The process of receiving and returning my order took well over a month!

I ended up returning everything and asking for a refund. They said they would do this once they received my return, which was several weeks ago and I haven't gotten anything yet!

I finally e-mailed them back today, and they said my request is being processed and I'll have my refund by the end of the day. How convenient. We'll see if that happens. In all honesty, I feel like they wouldn't have given me anything had I not contacted them.

I have never dealt with such incompetent customer service in my life. Mott & Bow claims that they offer a fair price on their denim, but be prepared to pay the remainder with your dignity.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Mott & Bow, Inc.

Nov 28, 2018

Hi Jason, thanks for the review. We're sorry to hear about your experience. This is not common in our service. Could you please email us to help@mottandbow.com? This review doesn't contain any information on how to contact you or your order number. Thanks!

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 15, 2017

Disappointed in customer service

By Brittany Avants, San Antonio, TX, Verified Reviewer

I just ordered my first pair of Mott & Bow jeans yesterday and have already run into a problem. When I added the jeans to my cart, I also added a "try on" size. Although there was a "try on" size showing on the page, the cart still showed 1 item, which I thought was normal since you are not paying for two pairs of jeans.

When I checked out the system it made me create an account, which I did. After creating the account, I notice on the checkout page that it listed my pair of jeans but there was no mention of the "try on" size, nothing that said "try on" size: blank; just no mention at all. Since I had never used this site I before I assumed (which I take responsibility for) that the "try on" size just didn't show because the cart showed one item and you don't pay for "try on" sizes.

I placed my order, and when I got my confirmation, it showed the jeans I bought but then it had, "Size: No try on size." Customer service closes at 6 pm Eastern Time, which my order was placed after that, so I sent an email immediately asking if they could add the "try on" size prior to shipping. I have yet to receive a response to my email, so I decided to call this morning. I was basically told it was my fault and there was nothing they could do; that if the jeans didn't fit I would just have to return them, which they charge a restocking fee for because I only bought one item (restocking fees are charged if the full order is returned).

I am going on a trip which I wanted to bring the jeans on and although I understand I can reorder the jeans in a different size if these do not fit, I do not have time to wait for a second order. I honestly felt this was an easily resolvable matter on the merchant’s end, but apparently, customer service isn’t a high priority here.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Mott & Bow, Inc.

Nov 28, 2018

Hi Brittany, thanks for the review. We're sorry for the confusion with the try-on program. You will see the option to add a try-on pair to your order right after choosing the main size (just look for the drop-down menu below the main sizes and next to ''Free Try-On Size''). In case you want to modify your order during non-business hours, please send us an email and we'll make to sure to do our best to accommodate all the requested changes. If you place the order during business hours and need to make any changes, please contact us within thirty minutes of placing your order to make sure we catch it before it ships (+1- 855-798-9009/ help@mottandbow.com). Let us know if you have any other questions, we're always happy to help.

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 13, 2017

They don't publish negative reviews

By Rick, California, Verified Reviewer

I wrote a 3-star review of one of their jeans, and after verifying my email address, the review has still not been published several days later). No wonder they have 5-star reviews on all their denim; they hide the negative reviews!

They are decent jeans, but they are not perfect.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Mott & Bow, Inc.

Nov 28, 2018

Hi Rick, thanks for your reviews. All reviews are posted in our site, sometimes it may take a bit of time for the review to display after it has been submitted, so that may have been the reason you did not see it. Sorry about that! Please let us know if you have any questions, we'll be happy to help.

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 9, 2017

Poor quality, poor customer service

By Jill Trehub, Boston, MA, Verified Reviewer

I purchased jeans as a Christmas gift and the zipper broke after the third time wearing these jeans. Mott & Bow would not replace the jeans, and offered to refund $20 instead, and asked me to find a tailor and fix them myself.

I was extremely disappointed that they would not stand behind their product and replace the jeans. They were defective, and they should have replaced them. These are expensive jeans, I would not typically spend $100 on a pair of jeans, and would expect to wear them more than three times.

They have poor customer service, and they have lost my family as a customer.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Mott & Bow, Inc.

Nov 28, 2018

Hi Jill, thanks for your review. We use YKK zippers, worldwide known for their great quality; we're sorry you had an issue with them. Since we don't have a repair service, we provided credit for you to take them to your local tailor, we offered this option as it's faster than waiting for a replacement, and it's also an easy, inexpensive and quick fix. Please let us know if we can be of any further assistance.

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 22, 2017

Not for me.

By Jon, New York, Verified Reviewer

I ordered the first pair of jeans. I tried returning them, and they stated that I couldn't because I used a discount code. When I called their customer service, I spoke with the same two people. The jeans were terrible quality.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Mott & Bow, Inc.

Nov 28, 2018

Hi Jon, thanks for the review. Could you please confirm if the code applied was ''final sale.". This is the only code for which returns are not allowed. Let us know.

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 15, 2017

Love my Mott & Bow jeans

By Erica, Atlanta, GA, Verified Reviewer

I tried one pair of Mott & Bow high rise women's jeans, and I love them! The are very tapered at the ankle, so I love the slimming silhouette. I am 45 years old and had a 21-year-old niece ask me where I got my jeans. They are very simple and stylish. I am ordering two more pairs now.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 9, 2017

Horrible service

By OK, Minnesota, Verified Reviewer

I'd give them zero stars if I could. I returned two pairs that I got for Christmas because they were too large. They sat in the box on my dresser until I could ship them back. Mott & Bow stated that they smelled and would not be accepted. Now they are charging me $40 to ship them back to me.

It is a company with awful customer service. I'd buy from anyone but them. The bottom line is, if you buy from them and encounter an issue, you are screwed.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Mott & Bow, Inc.

Nov 28, 2018

Hi Minnesota, thanks for the review. We apologize for this bad experience, which is definitely not reflective of our service. Could you please email us to help@mottandbow.com? This review doesn't include your email or order number, and we'd like to contact you and make it right. Thanks!

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted
Showing 28-54 of 55

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.